(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Mommies
Wow so many postings have a hard time trying to catch up. Is piling up faster than my task listhaha

Queen
Re: Rotavirus
Although is possible to catch the virus again, apparently it will less severe. Regarding introducing salt and sugar, my PD also advises me no hurry, can delay even when they are about 3. The later you introduce, less tendency theyll have sweet tooth. My nephew is now 7+ and he still can take very bland food.

Queen, Sunny/mongs,
Yes Mel also self weaned, just suddenly decided not to latch on one day.

Tracy/Mamachan/SL/Wenyl
Glad that Daren is feeling better. Hope Megan, Charmaine and Ethan get well soon too. Wenyl, Ethan has not recovered from his cough since the bday bash?

flo,
u r right! Down since after the bday bash. Tats exactly 1 mth! We hv brot him to see Dr Sim 3x & Dr Ong 2x. He recovered on eve of cny but the flu & cough came back after 2 days of visitations. Tat's why I feel so sim tia everytime I feed him so many different medicine each time I come back from pd.

Cookie
Dont worry; your bb will be fine. I also heard many cases of false alarm. My friend went through so many tests throughout her whole pregnancy and really stressful for her and hb but in the end the bb is perfectly fine and smart. Guess thats the flip side of technology advancement.

Tracy/SH
Mel also likes to eat her Elmos eyes. If fact her Elmos eyeball is almost gonehaha

SSF
Aiya, I missed the video too! Mel will help to throw her diapers but sometimes shell pick it back from the dustbin.faintz.

Actually my hb wanted the name Chloe initially. Is a nice name but my colleagues daughter is also called Chloe. Plus was telling hb sure come across the name Chloe in almost every issue of bb magazine, so decided not to use the name in the end.

SL/SY
Actually $1k is quite cheap to buy a pl in NPS. My frens BIL donated $10k to one primary school with gifted program in order for his son to get a pl there.

Mamachan
Apparently the church route is not guaranteed. My ex boss is very active in her church (Methodist) but her gal didnt managed to get into MGS thru the church.

CassCL
Congratulations on your # 2!

Wenyl
Oh poor Ethan, have u considered trying chinese medication? But I think alot of flu bug around, many ppl are falling ill during CNY period

Sept03bride/May/Sunny,
heehee, Ive kept the mattress for the time being. Sunny, Mel is just like YX. She needs to roll all over her cot before she sleeps and if put her on the mattress/our bed shell end up exploring here and there and refuse to sleep too.

Chicken Little
How much do I owe you for the GIA stuff? Is Mel's bday bash gift exchange present with you or Rena?

Flo,
Ever tried once but E hates the medicine. Dunno how to force him to drink that yucky stuff. Else, I dun mind going for tat....really. Ever thot of trying tuina at YuGuo but dunno if it will work. Seems tat no one here tried tat leh.

Celine77
You tempting me with the slide. I think men all the same, was asking hb should buy or not, he said wanna buy, buy lor...haiz. But my hse is small leh.

Wenyl
I think no harm trying lor. I think mommies in some other thread do try and some has gotten quite good feedback. Is heartaching to see him sick for so long rite.

Wenyl
Oh dear, Ethan has to be neubilized? *sayang sayang* Really hit the spot when you mentioned really heart wrenching. Now it gets harder to feed them medication, last time Daren was more co-operative, now, each time we cradle hold him, he'll look around and see what's been prepared and start to cry and fuss and struggle. Hope precious Ethan is not like that and will give you an easier time. Will keep Ethan in prayer as well.

I think this time round, the bug in the air during CNY is one tough bug! A few children/babies I see at the clinic also kena neubalized. Do be careful, I hear that a pneumonia strain is going around.

Haha! My hb just said the same thing to me. He was dozing off when I asked him to look at the slider. He said he got no objections but where to put? I hate the idea to put at my inlaw's plc but their's is most ideal. So, I jokingly told my hb buy & put outside our flat, convert the lift area to a mini playgrd. He say I siao. So he hvnt really go to zzzz land.

Mamachan,
I tried all methods feeding him direct medicine & he will merlion out everything including his dinner. So now I will portion out 2oz milk & add in the medicine. He can take it well tat way. U may wanna try that. Its easier but must make sure he finish all the milk. Pd says only bring him back to neubilise if still got cough/phelgm after 1 week. So scary to know tat the pneumonia strain is in the air. I saw another toddler needed the neubiliser while at the clinic today.

Durianlover/Queen
Could it be that they are overly tired or hungry when you try to put them to bed? I also had a hard time trying to get Mel to sleep on her own when she was about 5-6 months old. She would wake up at 1-2am and refused to sleep until 4-5am. Really very tiring, was really zombie in the day as I need to work. My mom even volunteered to take care of her at night for me. Looking back Im glad I stayed firm. I did stay in the room with her initially but off the main light and just on a little lamp on the bedside. So when she cried, I dun carry her out but just hug her (cos she would stand up, wanted me to carry her out) and if I carriedher, Ill have a tougher time putting her back into her cot again. I just tell her to be a good gal and its time to sleep, so when she cool down a little, Ill laid her flat on her cot and gave her a soft toy to hug. When she stood up and cried again, I repeated the process. The whole process could go on for 2 3 hours on the first 1 2 days but it got shorter and shorter over the days. I think after one week she sort of like get the idea is time to go to bed but mommy is always there for her. Now shell automatically hug and play with all the soft toys in her cot when bed time is up and I just on the night light, play her fav lullaby CD and kiss her good night and leave the room. Most of the time, she will go into her lala-land within 10-15min. I guess every baby is different, so you need to try different methods to see what works best. Jia you!

SL/SY/Flo,
$10k to get your kid into a gifted program school is consider cheap liao. It is rumoured that the school of my choice is so rich with such donations that the standard market rate of $10k is nothing to them. They are looking at something like $30k.

Esther, CL,
Come to think abt it, I cannot make it to the fair. Gotta make sure Ethan gets washed and has his lunch and some other logistics b4 we leave for Gymboree class. Can you keep a look out for tandem strollers for me? I am pretty set on the Phil and Ted's twin jogger and The First Years @ Paragon is selling it at $899. If you see one at the fair selling it less, can let me know please? Or any other similar strollers too. Thanks a lot!!

Durianlover
Sometimes when Mel screams when I put her in her cot (esp if she still wanna play with her daddy), I'll use her puppet Elmo to distract her. Pretending that Elmo is singing and talking to her or if not give me a toy in her cot. When she calms down, I'll lay her flat on the cot. Maybe u can try it out if it works on Janelle.

SY
Just finished browsing JH's pic, so handsome. So who's the lucky gal that has booked him =p

Denmy
Ya I do hear some of the more elite n snobbish school's "contribution rate" is going around $30k.

Florence
Haha. Yah, I thought so too, but anyway, am not too keen to have Daren go through ACS lah. The boys there mainly all from well-to-do families.

M & B Fair
Most likely might check it out on sunday after church.

RE: Fair
Mummies, there are some fair going on.
Mother & Baby Fair at Suntec this weekend
Taka Baby Fair start on 8 March.

SH,
Hahaha you're very funny!! U'll sulk to JW? So cute! Haha. Yes i agree with you that they understand. I guess i'll try your method! Nowadays i just put Janelle on my bed and lie down with her and hug her till she sleeps. Less tiring for my back! Then i transfer her to her cot when she's asleep. But middle of the night she'll surely wake up and i'll bring her to my bed again.

Flo,
Thanks for your suggestion! Yes i've tried the soft-toy-distraction for Janelle but it doesn't work. The moment i stop playing with the toy she will yell for me to pick her up. I really think she hates her cot now. No idea how it developed to this stage esp when she used to be so easy to put to sleep!

SY / Cookie,
Yeah agree that diff methods work on diff babies with rgds to sleeping....so for now i shall just let it be that Janelle wants to sleep with us. Though it's a bit 'disturbing' coz our queen-sized bed is too small for 3 of us, considering my hb and Janelle are both very messy sleepers!

Wenyl,
Poor Ethan! Hope he gets well soon!
Hey i have tried Yu Guo for the tuina when Janelle had phelgm/cough when she was abt 6 months old. We went 3 or 4 times. I felt it didn't make much difference but my parents felt it was good leh. So they kept encouraging me to bring her back...in fact, my parents brought her to the tuina when i didn't have the time to do so. It's really crowded! But u can give it a try since Ethan's been sick for so long. Furthermore, Yu Guo was recommended to me by a friend who swears by its effectiveness!

wenyl
i brought my gal to either JE or bt batok to see sinsei before. those 2 are quite good.
pm me if you need the contact in case i miss the posts here.

re: sleeping
since my gal was around 11 mth, she would make sure that we are beside her before she falls asleep or set to the sleep mode. after we put her into the cot, about 10 min, she would zzz.
before that, we just had to put her into the cot and walked away, without making any sound, she just zzz like that..

re: reading to bb
anyone set routine to read to your bb before zzz? how long is your bb's concentration timespan?
as a lazy mum, i just started few days ago. my gal can just sit on my laps for less than 1 min, then she would crawl here and there, then i got to call her back to pay attention.

sunny,
Thanks! JE & bt batok too far for us. I will probably try YuGuo in Kembangan. Thanks ya!

Re: Reading to bb
Same here. Ethan will only sit for a short while & he will start flipping the pages or try to move away from me. Their attention span is very short now. But it is a good habit to cultivate from young. Sometimes when he wakes up in a good mood in the morning, he will grab a book & start flipping the pages. I saw him nodding his head this am as he flips the pages.

Flo
after mel refuse to latch, how long do you take to stop giving her BM totally? did she still take BM after refusing to latch? and how's your switching to FM schedule like after that?

mamachan
supernanny suggested letting baby slp in the cot till they're 3. So, I'm thinking of that, will see how la.. maybe we can update each other again when they're 2plus..
the way you put Daren to slp sounds v much like me.
I also off the lights, feed him milk, pray to him (haha.. long prayer, as i feel that it makes him slpy). Then, give him water, clean his teeth, then he'll be rolling, while i sit next to the cupboard. then, he'll go to zzzz.. the thing is sometimes, he take v long to zzzz, like >30mins, then, poor me, hv to sit in the room till he slps.. while he is rolling, he will sometimes spot check to see that I'm there. IF he realise that i'm not ard, then he'll scream for me again. I noticed that if he sees that i'm there, then he slp faster, so i hv not successfully tried the crying out method yet.

tracy
Gerald also had high fever once and the doc inserted the medicine into his backside, then, my mum said that the fever went down quite quick. Think this medicine is more effective.

Zhimin
what did teh M&B mag say abt the sleeping issue?

durianlover
hmmm.. your case sounds tougher.. does she nap in the cot, it's easier, if they nap and slp in the cot, so that they know that the cot is there bed and they know that when they're in the cot, it means time to slp. Then, think your case wld need more time. Coz from birth Ger slps in his cot, so, he knows that the cot is his bed.. last night i tried Mamachan's method and tucked him in with his teddy bear. I said, bear bear will slp with Gerald, ok? heehee... but, i still didnt leave the room la.. left twice before that to take hot water and his cloth to wash his teeth.. For Janelle, it seems that she already has the habit that when she wakes, she will slp in your bed. Think maybe u can try when she wakes, trying to make her slp in her own cot, while u slp next to her. We have a mattress in Ger's room. So, on bad nights when he wake for v long, we will lie on the mattress to rest / slp while waiting for him to slp.
BTW, I agree with SH's suggestion, sounds good.. graduated approach, not so tramatising for them. I always feel that since we allow them to fall aslp in a certain way for so long, we must change the approach with care. Qt impossible for her to accept u dumping her in the cot afterall, you've been carrying her for so long.

Wenyl,
Have you tried Eu Yan Seng? I brot Meg to consult when she had cough with phlegm last year and the medicine was quite effective. I'm planning to bring her again when she finishes her antibiotics this wknd. Her cough still has phlegm but she's coughing less now.

There's one EYS at Hougang Ave 1.

wenyl,
hope ethan gets well soon. maybe avoid bringing him out too often until he gets well since there seems to be viruses around these days.

re school registration,
i heard from my sil who's trying to enrol her daughter in Nanyang Pr for 2008, that they don't even entertain parents that come forth now. Even the registration form for volunteering work is taken off the website. Coz they have so many old girls that their enrolment are always full. And they don't even need donations as well. And heard from my hb that his colleague paid 50k to get his boy into ACS! Gosh, when did enrolment become so difficult?!

cough bug
I've been coughing badly since Sunday and still coughing, esp at night. My hb is only sick. Thank heavens Ariene had not caught the bug. Not only babies are falling sick, adults too are falling sick so, mummies, please take care of yourselves.

reading
I've tried reading to Ariene but she's more interested in flipping the pages and attempting to tear the book so I gave up cuz it only serves to make her more awake than sleepy.

reading,
same here. edgar's attention span is only like 5secs, afterwhich he will flip the page, or take another book out. but he knows where is his books corner and when i ask him to take his books, he knows where to go. now, instead of giving his story books, i show him picture books instead. it catches his attention span longer. for eg, now when i show him the objects book, he will say duck when he sees one and "roar" when he sees a lion. and the book shows things like clock, ball,fish tank, table and chairs.

Hi Sunny/Wenyl - I read to Cephas in the evenings too. He received some interesting books (interactive kind) as his BD presents. So far, he's been quite alright. He will usually sit thru the entire book (5-8 pages only) before he gets up to do his other stuff.

Someone gave him a Barney Sing Along Book. It comes with an attached microphone that allows you to sing along with the music. I used it last nite & it was quite funny cos he imitated me after a few rounds of seeing me sing into the microphone. After that, he wld play the music & make funny animal noises into the mic.

Sunny, wenyl Mamapanda
Haha, look like all our bbs are the same. Mel will grab the book from me and flip the pages herself. When I try to read the page shes on shell quickly flip into another pagehaiz. But theres one morning I saw her flipping the pages in her playard and seems to be reading to herself, kept flipping the pages and say 'bear bear' cos the book has lots of bear in it.haha

Sunny
Mel refused to latch on whens shes about 10+ months if I recall correctly but refused to drink FM. So I just expressed out and bottle fed her and gradually introduced FM to her. By the time shes about 12 months, shes totally fine with FM. So I stopped expressing when shes about 13 months.

WAh.. so fast planing for primary school.. for me no need to think coz hb wants elijah to go to st andrews lor.. coz he old boy.. but good also coz no need to think so much..

RE: reading..

elijah likes to flip the books on his own and like ethan he will nob his head at picture and shake his head too so funny..

Flo,
Mel's present with Clare. She suppose to pass to you.

SY,
I still have your vouchers which is from Cookie since you have picked it during the bday bash.

Who is the one who has picked Flo's pressie ? The pressie still with me leh.

GAIA products, we will do the calculations when I meet you guys for the collection.

Babycare Festival - So the items I need to look out
1) Maternity clothes - SSF
2) Britax Carseat - Tracy
3) Tandem Strollers - Denmy

Anything else ?

chickenlittle,
Can help me look out for Aprica and combi Strollers too? I'm looking at getting a lightweight stroller, either Maclaren Volo, combi or aprica. While you're also looking at car seats, let me know too. I also need to look for another car seat cuz we're getting a 2nd car and I dont think we wanna go through the hassle of removing and installing car seats between the 2 cars.

OOps.. forgot.. if available, feeding bras too.. Need change some of my feeding bras cuz too worn out. I dunno wad brands are available there but if you see Thyme or any other comfy looking brands, let me know too, ok?

Krissie

M&B this issue has a Sleep Special, I have not read through yet, now my reading time is only 20 mins MRT ride from home to work haha... but the topics are as follows:

Wide Awake - The Scoop on High-Need Babies

Reader's Story - My Baby Didn't Want to Sleep! An M&B mum's Vivid Account of her "Velcro Baby"

Bedtime Bliss - Your Guide to a Good Bedtime Routine

Hush, Little Baby - Tips on Tackling Common Sleep Problems

10 Minute BB Clinic - Night Night Sleep Tight Help Baby Sleep Through the Night

Rest Easy - Creative Sleep Solutions

Bedside Manners - Nifty Nursery Accessories

Your Sleep Problems - Sorted - Answers to Your Slumber Worries

Re: Sleep Problem

When Clarisse around 8-month old, she has really bad sleeping habits as in she needed us to rock her to sleep at night, usually I need about an hour carrying her and rocking her to sleep, and left me with all the backaches. By the time she fell asleep, It has already been around 11pm to 12am. And in the middle of the night, she will wake up and cry and refuse to sleep again unless we carry her to our bed to sleep. All 3 of us don't have quality sleep and also my stress level was very high. That's why urge me to do something to rectify.

I think setting up the routine is also very important. Making sure that baby understands it is time to sleep...

Now Clarisse's night time routine is as follows:

Take a bath.
Change into pajamas.
Kiss Daddy goodnight if Daddy is at home.
Milk Feed (sometimes at the same time I on some classical music for her)
Clean the mouth.
Off the light.
I will roll a while with her on my bed.
Then tell her it is time to sleep.
Carry her into her cot. (Sometimes she will protest)
Stroke lightly on her body and tell her "good night"
Leave the room (Leave one dim light on)
Usually she can fall asleep within half and hour.

Sometimes when I changed her into pajamas, and need to kiss Daddy good night at the living room, she already can't wait for the milk feed liao, like not very sincere to kiss good night to daddy like that, very funny, she is like just faster complete the task and faster go in the room.

Esp when baby older, I think should be easier for them to understand the routine.

Hope the above help.

Thanks mummies

Durianlover;
Must say i'm very lucky, no MS at all for both this pregnancy and the previous one. EDD is 14th Aug.

Rena;
No worries, just drop me an sms when u've made the transfer. I hope the hat and mittens fit Elijah. Any photos of him wearing it?

Hi CL
Re : Babycare Festival
can help me check if there's milk powder for pregnant or nusing mothers, esp if there's Friso (can check for price?)... thanks!

Mamapanda, MIM will be there ... but they are offering $5 off $50 purchase with a coupon.

Hi Mamachan, thanks for the link. I've managed to call up a hotline the other day and got some re-assurance that my mum's actually quite happy, and I'm doing the "right" things. thanks!

.ky.

RE : Playgroup

Have re-dig this out from the archives.... so far no response yet. Am hoping to see if can be started in 2-3 weeks time, coz this month I'm more free.... Tx!

Any idea how the planning can be done (eg activities, ownership, rotating schedule)? I've put my availability down.

If to rotate house, then there would be a need to transport the materials around (materials eg Art & Craft materials, Music & Movement materials, etc)

1. Mashy
2. Tabbies
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Wenyl
6. KY - weekday AM (Mon/Wed/Thu) preferred. house at Yew Tee. can open on weekday AM
7. SL - weekend
8. SSF
9. Mamachan
10. Denmy

Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do
1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E),
3) snack time
4) cleaning up (all to help).

The group cannot be too big though. So will have to keep to below 6.

bad skin,
i need help here! my complexion has gotten very horrible over the past 2 months. i used to have pretty good skin but now, i have those tiny pimple like bumps on my forehead and having bad breakout at my chin area. there's no change in my diet or skin care products. so i'm really puzzled what caused the change. can any mummies advice or give me contacts of dermatologist??

mashy,
ya totally agree that it's crazy. Heng ar! my hb is old boy so i dn't have to worry about edgar. at least for now. if my next child is a girl, then jia lat liao. anyways, we think about that when that time comes! :D

celine

so old boy means no need to donate money ah? heng, then i shall have to send my ds to my hb's old sch and if i've a gal next time, i'll send her to mine. haha.
No need to worry then.

re: sleep
ya, agree with zhimin that routine is important for bb. after i started reading story books to my gal for few days, there was one day, i didn't read to her, she would refuse to sleep and cry. after soothing her unsuccessfully, we finally recalled that we forgot to read books to her. after reading to her, she would keep quiet and fall into zzz.
then yesterday, my gal will hold my hand and guide me to her room to put her into her cot. hopefully she would do it everynight. keke...

sysac
wow... 5 - 8 pages are alot!

celine,
There's a famous one at Tampines. She's a GP but alot went to her for skin. Maple Clinic. U can see the quene even before the clinic opens. She uses her own products which I quite like.

Flo,

Mel got the prize for Mummy look alike so got the photography prize plus the Baby foot imprint set right ? Did you received anything else ? If no, then I will do a present swop for you and SY. Means nobody pick your name. So you take the voucher , SY take the prize lor.

Heng Nanyang is a for boy and gals.
Hee hee so once Charmaine got in and I dun even need to worry about Aden. I ask my fren to check it out before. If old gal/boy, no difference in joining the alumni or not. So save the $$$ for our kids.

Just cross finger that not that many old gals for Charmaine's registration.

Babycare Festival - updated items I need to look out
1) Maternity clothes - SSF
2) Britax Carseat - Tracy
3) Tandem Strollers - Denmy
4) Car seats, Nursing bras, Lightweight Strollers - Mamapanda
5) Milk powder for pregnant/ nursing mummy esp Friso and price - KY

If not I have a PDA then I can update you mummies online ha ha. Wait for my update tonight hor. Me going for dinner today before going home.

Sunny - Word big big & max abt 2 lines only. Plus can pull flaps out or move pics around the pages itself so 5-8 quite okie lah.

Oh yes, I also have 2-3 books with pop up pics. Cephas is quite fascinated with those so he'll sit quietly & touch the pics while I go thru the words.

Not those with tiny words and then read until out of breath kind. I also cannot take it :p

Re: Reading

My boy loves books too. He'll flip them, and 'ah ah' try to read them. Funny thing is that he looks at the words rather than the pics. And sometimes he'll flip it upside down to 'read'. haha, so funny. I've so many books now, he's got his own mini book library.

Btw, M&B mag has a few pages of advertisement plus a schedule of what's going on at the Bb Care Fest. Rem to take a look before going down.