(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

ky
haha, it's abit hard to do all that when we're still based in Singapore. Coz my mum will nag me to death! And so will my MIL's side, though my MIL will just keep quiet. The grandparents want to show off their grandchild. But when they fall ill, they'll start to question why I never take good care, i.e. give barley water, etc etc when I do instruct my maid to do so alternate days. It's like the correct things/measures taken are never enough for them. Quite fed-up at times, more so with my mom.

babylon
Was it you who mentioned over a mass MSN group chat sometime late last year about IPL for removal of underarm hair? I would like to know more and the pricing. Can kindly PM me please? Thanks!

haha haha sl.... great! haha haha.. actually i got frens who give birth as well./.. but none of thm in jan sia... all end of the yr... i suppose to give birth on 1st day of new yr.... but to busy... so i had it one week b4 hand...

LadyChua
A warm welcome to you! Hope you'll enjoy interacting with the mummies here. =)

babylon
Ok, thanks! Will take a look.

Rena
Looks like you all had an enjoyable time! Little sumo looks happy.

sunny & zhimin

I dunno whether to count myself lucky or not. My boy is allergic to lot of stuff. So usually the people will not try to feed him food without our permission just in case he gets sick. hahah.

All except my MIL lah. She tried to feed him Yam paste (ou ni) to him on CNY eve. So sweet leh. I said no and she still moved forward with her spoon, trying to reach my boy. Then my hb said no and blocked her. She still tried to move over him and only withdrew after a few nos. Then she must end with, 'ai yah, your daddy and mummy don't allow you to eat lah. so cannot eat'. sigh, sowing discord between my boy and us.

have not logged in for nearly two weeks!

Here's Shannon's CNY photos...

704144.jpg

First Angbao from daddy and mummy

704145.jpg

what's the oranges for? Gongxi gongxi?

704146.jpg

Ok ok, Gongxi ni.... Happy new year!

mashy
i get upset by those kind of ppl loh. 'cos if anything happen to my gal *touch wood*, i am the one who is taking care and spending $ and not them leh.
those who understand one, will tell my gal, 'next year lah. now you still cannot eat' when she kept pointing at food.

sleepingdeer
shannon is getting prettier!

after you bath your baby, how do you dry your boy/gal's hair totally? let it dry naturally? hairdryer?

Hi Rena
welcome back! The photos looked like you had fun! Envy envy!

Queen,
oh dear, poor Issac, how is he feeling now? Hope he gets well soon..

sunny.... i using let my son' hair to dry on his own.... mmm don believe in dryer ba... cuz baby hair so soft and silky... doesnt wish to spoilt it

Queen,
Oh dear....dont worry. Wishing Isaac a speedy recovery!

CL,
I use the Quest. Tempted to buy the mod but my hub din like the design. Initially wanted a volvo, then upgrade to a truimph but bought a Quest. heehee....its a good buy to me. Wait for sale then buy. I understand if u dun see the design u want at Robinson or JL, they can order for u.

Sunny,
wow, your gal is soo good, self wean off...? I'm trying to get her off the breast slowly, but I keep wishing she will self wean, think will be so much easier...

Re; Drying Hair
i towel her hair dry so that it' a little damp and it will dry naturally...

RE: words
Shannon's favourite word now is Apple... everytime she wants to eat, she will go 'apple apple'... though she may not want apple but something else... we sabo her, and just give her apple when she asks for it... haha...

ladychua
welcome! i scare that my gal catch cold with wet hair though it's towel dried liao. ya loh, i think using hairdryer will spoil the scalp one.

sleepingdeer
she auto doesn't wanna latch leh. i am quite happy at one side lah, 'cos meaning she's no longer dependant on latching to zzz.
another side quite sad loh, 'cos she's no longer wanna latch liao, feeling quite lost. and going out for long hour will be troublesome now, got to bring more things along e.g. pump, milk, etc etc.
you introduce her FM already?

RE: baby sticking to ILs
sorry if I'm lagging behind, just finished reading the posts, but really wanna add something here...

Queen,
your case of jealousy is very mild and normal, I get paranoid even when MIL so much as touches, and play with my gal! Coz the green eye monster comes up behind me everytime I see her with my gal! Everytime I stay at home and my MIL is around, I will strive to spend every min and sec with my gal so that my MIL doesn't have a chance to 'grab' her from me... Talk about psycho right... so I jump at the chance to go out or go over to my mum, that's when I can relax... so dun worry, I think I'll be the first in line to see a shrink... heehee...

sunny

me too when we meet such people lor. It's not their kids mah, so they've nothing to be concerned about. And they always love to say things like last time 'i fed my kids this and that when they are just 1 yr old'. sigh.

my MIL said that last time when my hb got sick, she will rush to the doctor at the first sign of illness. She was kind of complaining how come I haven't brought my son to see the dr when he was coughing. sigh.

I also wish ah. Coz that would mean that he's seldom sick. My boy is sick so often until i dunno when it starts and when it ends. So now that he started coughing again, i just feed him the same meds lor. anyway, it'll be the same prescription if we bring him to see the dr. Haha, I told my MIL if we were to do that, we'll be at the dr everyday. hahaha.

Sunny,
yup, I give her FM in the morning nowadays through straw, she can gulp down about 150ml, but she still wants to latch on sometimes... chiam!

Ky,

Yes, its amazing star. I'm sending Ariene there. I queued for june 07 class already but its full so, can only be on waiting list but I'll should be able to get into the Jan 08 class.

mashy,
You MIL and my FIL is exactly the same. Unfortunately, I'm quite a hot tempered person. Try my patience a few times, I'll flare already so my hb knowing my temper, will try to stop his dad b4 the volcano erupts. Hee. But, if my hb not around, they'll see ash pouring out of the volcano and the "sky" will be very dark and omnious.. >:-|
Luckily after a few eruptions, now he abit more kuai already, dun dare to anyhow try feed Ariene cuz the moment he mention want to let Ariene try eating something, he'll sense the tempest coming and stop suggesting anything.

Mamachan,
My hb and I are also very sick of this CNY thing. HIs parents keep telling us need go here go there last minute, upsetting all our plans. Also, my FIL scrapped his car already so he expects my hb to be the driver and fetch here fetch there. Worse still, my car is a 4 seater so have to take out the baby seat and hold on to Ariene. NOrmally, if she sits on the car seat, she behaves herself and will even nap on the seat. Without it, all hell break loose. On top of that, they're completely oblivious to Ariene's rest times, so in the end, we had a super cranky and bad tempered baby by night time who kept waking up cuz she was too tired to eat dinner or drink milk before sleep and kept waking up at night for milk feeds.. faint.. By the 2nd day, both my hb, Ariene and I were real pandas already. We've decided that nezt year onwards, we'll go overseas.

Mashy,
haha, I dun mind but what if the green eye monster becomes bigger, then I not only have to keep a eye on my gal, I also have to siam my baby away from MIL... haha..

mamapanda

at least now he knows to watch the 'weather'. hahah.

it's rather dangerous for u to hold on to Ariene leh. Should have rejected them saying that Ariene needs to be on the car seat. And it's against the law to carry her in your arms. So far whenever my boy is in the car, i reject all calls to give pp a ride if I need to remove the car seat. Strictly no. Told my father once to kaki take taxi home with my stepmom. No compromise.

My ILs wanted us to ride in their car too with my boy. But first few times refused coz no car seat, so now they don't ask anymore.

Perhaps tell them in passing that you just realised that it's illegal to carry Ariene and let her ride without a car seat. Can get fined etc. Then next time you can reject them openly lor.

sleepingdeer,

You're not alone, I feel the same way you do too. I don't like it when my ILs are playing with Ariene too but that's partially because I feel they're out to oppose me and do everything in my restricted list. I like to go to my parent's place where I can R&R. Guess the way we're being brought up is different and I seriously don't like the way my ILs handle Ariene and I'll not forget the episode whereby they brought Ariene home with poo n pee dripping from her diapers all over her stroller (they never took care of my hb when he's younger, left him to his grandparents). No way I'll leave Ariene alone with them. They don't respect her meals, her nap times and they don't discipline her at all cuz they're afraid Ariene will not "like" them anymore if they scold her or when they do scold her, they must mention mummy say cannot do this, mummy will scold, or worse, dun listen to mummy (that erupted the volcano immediately). I really hate going to my ILs place every Sunday.

RE : Hippychick
Eh...i saw someone used it during the bday bash. Is it good? I'm very keen to try.

RE : Speech development
Haiz...my boy is not as good in the area. Most "mum mum" "ah pa" and "ah da" . Not interested when i teach him. He's more interested in opening my drawers and cupboard. U let him see it once....cham.....Juz realised he can play peekaboo. However, he uses the back of his hand to cover his eyes...heehee

RE: Sticky BB
My boy is ok wif anyone. Even some relatives saw him for the first time and carried him out of my sight. He's fine. I carry and sayang other bb, he's fine. Wave goodbye immediately when i pass him to my aunt in the morning. He's only sticky during nap/bed time. Wld search for me. When he wakes in the middle of the night, automatically crawl and lie on top me. Refused to let me out of sight in the morning till he has "enough" of sayang.

sleepingdeer
mayb i talked to much about weaning her off when she reached 1, now, she self-wean. sigh.... luckily, she still willing to drink EBM.

mashy
few days ago, my FIL brought my gal downstairs and her finger got bitten by parrot! that nevermind leh, he even kept quiet and didn't tell us about it. only when we noticed it and asked him if he bitten my gal ('cos he likes to bite my gal's finger, grrr...), then he told us that she got bitten by parrot. gosh.... my hb, me and my MIL were so upset with him.

sleeping deer,

shannon so cute... my elijah only know how to say go where and keep asking go where... i was so angry with him just now coz he cry until he vomit again coz refuse to sleep..

sunny

bitten by parrot? gosh, what if the parrot has bird flu. Terrible FIL. He's crazy leh, how come he likes to bite your gal's fingers? bian tai. Feel so angry for you.

Janmom
Wah, cannot walk can do somersault. Shen Tong

Anyway, i m not joking...very headache. thats y was wondering any babies here do that. can have some pointers to guide/stop her from doing again.

Me home today from high fever. 39.1 degrees. Felt so terrible walking to the clinic and back. Doc gave me 2 days mc and he says i should not sleep in the same room with family members since the virus like quite strong. Urghh....unfortunately i was sleeping in same bed with bb yesterday nite. Hope he doesn't catch anything from me.

Re: Porridge
Recently JW is refusing his porridge. I wonder if he is bored of it already. Does anyone has any other recipes to share so that I can persuade him to eat again

car seat
ya, I told everyone that but they refused to listen. If I get fined by TP, I'll make sure they pay for it then they'll stop it cuz they're stingy people and the fine will definitely send the message across.

Safety wise, told u they like doing things at the expense of others already. They're the type that will stubbornly refuse to listen unless they see the coffin. What's worse, my hb is the guai kia type, dun dare to tell his dad NO. Few times, my hb braked Ariene almost fell down and my MIL keep trying to "carry" Ariene across to her side (my car back seats are 2 individual bucket seats.. sports car la..) and I had to keep telling her NO until I got fedup and screamed NO. Worse, Ariene kept fussing and crying from all the lack of sleep and I was really very unhappy n pissed the entire day.

Anyway, no more of this nonsense already. Once I start work in NTU, I'll buy myself a car so they can sit in my hb's car for all I car. My darling will sit in my car, safely tucked n strapped in her car seat.

Hi Demny, yup- checked with MIL and she said that she did bring Sarah to PP last Friday. Goody, let me know when u gals are going down next. I'll bring Sarah along. Do we have to book in advance?

Valerie, think my husband mentioned that he met u guys at a colleague's wedding. =) Such a small world. We'll be getting a maid too - still thinking about whether indo or filipino, humph...

Yuki, yeah that was the Korean restaurant. Actually we didn't think the food there was good. There's one along East coast road/ katong that's better. It's a small outlet but very authentic and the service alot warmer and better than the bbq one.

Babylon, Krissie,

Sorry I just saw your PM today. Don't know if still in time to give your contact for the focus group. I have PM you my mobile number. Can you forward me your number, name?

SH,
Have u try chicken alphabet soup, beef/pork pasta, shepard's pie (with beef/pork), chicken+leek+cheese+butternut squash, fish in cheese sauce, egg porridge before? I rotate these n porridge so Ariene doesn't get bored. Never tried lamb for Ariene before.

JanMom
My boy doesn't do somersaults except for one time where my maid told me that he rolled over. But he has this habit to bend his body over and look in between his legs. He'll do that several times at various spots in the cot. Like doing some yoga pose like that before bed time. I always ask him if it's to help him sleep better.

MamaPanda
At least now your FIL abit more "dong3 shi4" and can tell the weather =) I know what you mean by all the timings are upset. Daren didn't get to nap much during the 1st 3 days of CNY. But I made sure he napped un the mornings of day 2 and 3. If not, he'll sure wake up crying in the middle of the night due to being overtired.

sleepingdeer
Shannon looks so sweet! She's very guai, can hold the 2 Mandarin Oranges and pose for the camera. Daren will throw the orange on the floor to see if it can bounce once I placed in his hands.

New Words
Daren had learnt to say and respond with "Ok!" and imitated my hb to say "Aiyah!" It's really funny hearing Daren say that. But now, he's more into going "Cat" without the T sound and imitate to meow like one.

Talking about car seats, my FIL have a habit of strapping kids in the front passenger seat on a booster seat with the seatbelt fastened across the kid. Very unsafe for little children as they can still slip out from under the belt. He once brought hubby's 3 yr old nephew out and he jam braked. The poor boy flew forward and hit the windscreen. It cracked. Thankfully the boy was fine. I thought he'll learn after the incident, but now, he's been bringing sarah out without my knowledge in that seat. Ai yoh. I always worry till high heavens. Sometimes, I thought that maybe they're just going out for a walk downstairs but he'll drive her to someplace else. Very worrying. I told PIL many times about the safety of the baby in the car before and my MIL can tell me that I over-worry. Have to relax. REALLY exasperating.

sandra
Its not only about slipping under the seat belt. If you got an air bag in front, the child will be killed instantly by the impact or by suffocation if the air bag activates during an accident. Very dangerous.

Sandra
It's best to really persuade your FIL not to do that. A church friend of mine passed away a few years back in a car accident. The post-mortum showed that he had severe cuts to his neck form the seat belt. So be it adult/child, should always be cautious, more so when it's a toddler! I really don't understand why old men are so stubborn and keeps thinking they are right all the time when they are obviously in the wrong.
Always better to be troublesome to install car seats etc than to lose a life!

Re: Learning Vision
Just want to check with you mummies, if you've had any feedback on them? Am thinking if it's a good place to put Daren there since they have a branch located in NUS and considerably near to where I work.

Mamapanda,
yup, the irritating and funny things that ILs do, sometimes, really cannot follow their reasoning... imagine my MIL resisted putting up grilles coz she says Shannon is too young... and the real reason? Coz the view will be blocked.... sigh...

Sandra, mamapanda and mamachan,
YESSS! Airbags are really dangerous, in fact as long as they are not strapped into car seats it is very dangerous... unfortunately, I still see lots of mommies carrying their babies in the front seat, sometimes, they even let them stand in their laps in the car, oh gosh! I cannot imagine what will happen if really E brake!

mashy
'cos my gal likes to point at every single thing that she sees, so, my FIL thought by doing so, my gal will stop....

sleepingdeer
oppss.... i am one of those mummies who carry my gal in the front seat. but i only do that when we bring my gal to in laws' place. luckily, passenger seat no airbag....

May, Yuki,
I'm also not for Kumon. It's pure drilling and practising. Very dry and boring for the kids. If it's Maths foundation you're looking at, I'd suggest Mental Arithmatics aka Abacus. Ethan has been doing that for just over 1 year liao and he is able to use mental abacus in his problem sums calculations. It's very very useful. To date, he is able to do double digits multiplication in his mind faster than me and my hb!!! And he is only in P1. Average age to start Abacus is 5 years old. So mummies, when our babies get to that age, dun forget to sign them up!!!

JanMum,
U mean your bb gal starts to cry? Wow... very clever at her age, already understands things liao!!

Welcome to our thread, LadyChua!!

Rena,
poor Elijah, maybe he protesting that he's back in boring SG! Hee hee... the weather in japan must have been shiok for him as well... SG must seem like a heat wave to him now... ;)