(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sysac
with regards to that, if you download from website, the file size will be small and not suitable to be use. will be blur when there is a need to blow up the photo size. so best is to get the softcopy from Joycelyn, which will be of high resolution.

Rachel - Tks. Will send u another photo then
Have u chosen yr photos?

chickenlittle
for your reference, till date i had only recieved photos from SY, rena and denmy.

re: **WORLD OF WARCRAFT**

am helping hb to ask here before he go and post somewhere else. have this original full version and expansion pack to sell off. have not install before, thus 100% new set. do check with your hb or guy friends whether they want to buy. price neg. interested party do let me know. thanks! =)

Rachel,

I waiting for my photos to be ready. Once it is up, I will select from there and get the soft copy from Joycelyn. Waiting patiently now.

Must see JH's one up first then will be Aden's soon.

sysac
no problem =)
oh, i had went through and shortlisted the ones i like. now waiting for my hb to move his butt over and pick the final ones before contacting Joycelyn.

Hi CL - Neck long long rite? I was like that too b4 Cephas' photos came on :p

Rachel - Will go back & see his nicer photos in my PC & send you one.

chickenlittle
hee, cant wait to kick start on designing the momento. yes yes, i remember you mentioned before got to wait patiently for Aden's photo to be out.

sysac
sure! =)

Hello mummies...

Haven't post the past few days.
Been a hellish few days for me.
Isaac has gastroenteritis.
Started on the 3rd day of CNY. He vomitted out his porridge dinner and bedtime milk feed at 12am... we rushed him to KK A&E. Doc told us to monitor and prescribed paracetamol and lactefol. She said that diarrheoa and fever may developed. So true enough, the next day, Isaac had high fever and vomitted another 4 times. Whatever fluids he took (wich wasn't much in the first place), he vomitted. When his fever hit 39.8 degrees, me and HB rushed down to KK again. Isaac was given a suppository and sponge bath immediately. After that, A&E doc gave us a choice, either wait outside and try giving him fluids in 15 mins interval to see if he can retain the fluids for the next 1 to 2 hours or admit him into a ward for overnight observation. HB thought might as well admit him since we wouldn't know what to do and no point waiting outside the A&E. So Issac was admitted. But in the end, we discharged him at about 11+ pm cos his fever was gone and he could retain the milk which we fed him in he evening. And he couldn't sleep well on the hospital cot. Ok... so we went home. He was fine in the night. Then yesterday, the diarrheoa came. He easily pooed at least 15 times. Today he's still having diarrheoa. Very tiring and anxious few days for me and HB. Isaac was very lethargic, especially on the 2nd day, super sticky. Wants me to carry the whole day. While me HB has to do all the background work like washing all the soiled baby clothes and our bedsheets due his poo and vomit. And we are always questioning ourselves whether we need to bring him back to the hospital for the 3rd time etc cos whenever we thought his condition is improving, he'll vomit or poo a lot or his fever will come again. And then we are constantly worried whether he will be dehydrated from all the water loss and whether he is taking enough food for sustainence. Within 3 days, his weight has dropped from 9+ kg to less than 8.5kg now.

RE. KK
Me and HB were extremely dissatisfied with their service. When Isaac was in his ward and the medical officer came around to check on him, he does not have Isaac's medical records with him at all and had to ask us to repeat the story again as well as Isaac's past medical history. THat's one. Another thing is Isaac was unfortunate enough to be in the same ward (we didn't manage to get an A1 ward cos the class is full) as a monkey malay boy who along with his parents think that they are staying in an A1 ward and making a lot of noise till 10pm! I had to stand OUTSIDE the ward and pat Isaac to sleep. My HB complained to the nurses to ask them to quieten down and requested to change a ward. They promised that they wlll arrange for it once a patient in the opposide ward checks out later. But they eventually did nothing. So my HB got fed up and wanted to discharge Isaac (by then Isaac's fever has gone down and he could retain his milk and he cou;dn't sleep well on the hospital cot anyway) and requested to see the senior doctor for discharge. We had to wait another 1and a half hours for the doctors to turn up. Actually, this is the 2nd bad experience we had with KK. When Isaac was admitted for jaundice at 7 days old, upon discharge, the doctor found out that they had forgotten to do a blood test and did one at the last minute. We had to wait 3 hours at that time for the test results to come out before taking Isaac home.

Sorry for the LONGGGGG story.
Just feel like letting the out the past few days' pent up stress.

Let's start a BP for the Baboz highchairs lah.

Price: US$10
Shipping (to be shared): US$10 or US$15 (registered mail, will prefer this as it's more secure)

1) Mashy, 1, Red
2) Cookie, 1, Red

re: Safety 1st exersaucer
can i check did any mummy have packed and keep away the exersaucer le? dylan no longer want to stay inside since he can now patrol the whole house with ease.
having some problem in removing the toys installed on it. the last time was happily installing all the toys but now sweating away in trying to remove them. the catch below each toy is so tight that we dare not use too much force to pull them out. worry the catch will break. plan to keep it away first before he is old enoughh to play the step2 of the exersaucer. help!

Rachel
Kaelyn photos is out long time but I have yet to select and contact Joycelyn
(
Once I get the photos will see what u can do for me

Maybe u can share share your work done for other mum so I have I ideas... :p

Chillies
Sorry to read abt your loss.

rachel

i haven't kept the exersaucer. now instead of putting him in the exersauer, i let him play with the toys outside. he still enjoys playing with them.

chillies,
My condolences to you and your family as well for your FIL's demise.

Here's a photo of Isaac in his CNY finery:
700512.jpg

Queen
So sorry to read abt issac... Is he better now? keep sponging him if fever still there.
Take good care of yourself too... have to be strong for him.
How did Issac had gastroenteristis, was it a virus or bacteria infection?

queen,
oh gosh! i hope issac is better now. truly understand how tiring physically and mentally it is to take care of a sick child. do take care of urself too. and i'm appalled to hear about the service kk provides. how come it takes 3 hrs juz get the blood test result? when edgar had his blood test for his jaundice, we barely waited for like 45mins at gleneagles. which i already tot was damn long.

rachel,
i haven't tried dismantling the exersaucer but since edgar was 7-8mths, he didn't want to be in it already coz he'd rather crawl around. so i just left it aside. he doesn't play with it either.

mashy / cookie,
Isaac is still having diarrheoa. I counted, as of 5pm today, he has changed 10 diapers. Had a scare at 6am today cos he regurgitated his 5am milk feed. Decided not to go back to work cos was so worried, though tomorrow is my last day at my current job and I still have tons of things to clear. The whole morning Isaac was lethargic and wants to nap after every 1 hour or so. Suspected that he has stomach pain or that he is very uncomfortable due to stomach wind. So I gave him some medicine which is supposed to get rid of the stomach wind and rub Ru Yi oil on his tummy. He seems better, more active now.

cookie,
That's the thing. Maybe we should have stayed the night at KK as the docs mentioned that the next morning, they will do a blood test to determine whether it is bacterial infection (such as samonella) and take a stool sample for test to see if it is rotavirus (which they think is most likely rotavirus). But we discharged early cos of the lousy service in KK and that Isaac is waking up every 30 mins on the hospital cot and crying for me to hold him.

mashy/celine77
the exersauer is at my mum place, she been nagging me to pack it away but now am stuck with dismantlig the toys. although dylan on and off still play with the toys when he 'happen' to passby it, my mum still insist to keep it away.

queen
i totally understand what you and your hb went through. dylan had it a few months ago and it actually spread to me, hb and my mum. so you and hb must be careful and take care of yourself too! remember to wash hands after handling issac and his poo and puke. hang in there!!

cookie
yet to do any baby poster for the mummies here wor. am waiting for god's child, mamachan and 'long long neck' chickenlittle =p

do send me one photo of Kaelyn for the momento first =)

Queen,

What about bringing Issac to seek a second opinion with his PD ? Maybe if given the exact medication for the right diagnosis with test done will help him faster.

queen

with issac having such bad diarrhoea, will need the isotonic drinks right?

ya, perhaps u should seek 2nd opinion. Personally, i don't fancy going KKH coz like u said, i also think that their service is very bad. I would rather head over to Mt A.

queen
oh yes, hope this info might be of some help. dylan's diarrheoa went on for 1 week and each time sure will kena his cloth due to his overflow and watery poo. so we went back for the second visit to the PD. was given Smecta (Dioctahedral Smectite)to help clear his diarrheoa. was told to hide it in cereal or soy milk when feeding to him. after one day, it really improve a great deal.

MamaPanda,
Wah...that boy is terrible! Thank goodness Ariene is not hurt.

Actually I am also worried that my boy will grow up to be a bully. He is super aggressive. When I scold him, he will turn away and pretend not to look at me. But then he will deliberately repeat the action and then look at me. It's a lot harder to discipline him when my PIL are around, coz they will very xin teng that he is crying and give in to him. Urghh...how?

Chillies
Hmm.. so far so good. But he always make feel like I'm a paranoid mum. All concern ask him.. he will tell me it's ok.
When I was very concern if Kaelyn eating too little and drinking too little.. he always say its ok.
SO far ok.. except I seems like an overly kan cheong parent.
SSF and SY are using him as well.
This PD is actually my CG leader's ex-classmate. My CG leader is also PD but not in pte practice.
He goes to this friend for Jabs for his children too.
His charges are rather reasonable. when i go for Jab, he dun charge consultation. Last visit when Kaelyn has flu and cough was abt $36.00 (I think). medicine and consultation.
Ho ho.. his nurse gave me 2 tin of FM.. wow so worth it :p

Cookie,
haha! So I am not the only one who seems paranoid in front of Dr Sim! He always say we too kan cheong coz even when JW is sick and lethargic at home, he will turn into a happy baby and play with the PD when we bring him there.

So strange

Cookie
its for the bday bash momento, so look for one that is taken around the period when kaelyn is 1YO. file size has to be above 300kb. best is around 800kb to 1MB =)

Am still on leave for this whole week and there are so many posts to catch up today!

Chillies,
my condolences to you and your family.

Queen,
Oh dear, I hope Isaac is better today? Rachel's recommendation of the Smecta is quite good. Whenever I have diarrhea, this works the fastest for me too. Hope Isaac recovers soon!

Rachel,
I'm waiting for the pics from Joycelyn then will email to you hor.

My mum's left eye was bloodshot and she had blur vision on Wednesday so consulted at polyclinic. They referred her to TTSH and she just called me at 4.30pm that they put her to A&E. She might need to be admitted. I hope everything's ok. She was grumbling that she's hungry but we can't enter A&E so I told her to just ask the nurses for some food cos she has gastric problems.

Yet to hear from her on the latest whether she's admitted.

Cindy,
This year seems to be a 'girl' year so got chance for you! My SIL's sil is expecting a gal. From the look of the shape my younger SIL is in, think she's expecting a gal too. Her hips are much wider, tummy already showing at 10 wks and her complexion is still as good.

I realise that age really makes a difference when preg. My younger SIL is 27 this year and now into her 10th wk. She really breezed thru her 1st tri! No signs of morning sickness and her appetite is super good! She can eat one pack of char kway teow and half a pack of duck rice! I remember when i was in my first tri, i had no appetite, sleeping all the time and lost 2kg.

But she hasn't offically announced yet till 3mths cos 'pantang' and my hb insist I not tell anyone about it. :p I guess telling you gals on the forum not counted lah hor..

Flo,
Meg has figured out how to step onto the toy rack drawer too. *faintz* Even when i move the drawer away, she will push it back and step up.

Thanks for the concern for Isaac. I guess he's better compared to the last 2 days. It's just the diarrheoa that's not improving. I'm concerned cos he's appetite is not good and worried that whatever he takes in gets passed out.

ak,
I'm not sure how he got the virus. The doc said the virus is everywhere, faecal-to-mouth transmission, airborne, food borne and surface borne. And it's difficult to prevent a baby from being infected. I suspect that Isaac got it from contact with dirty surfaces outside. Before he contracted this gastroenteritis, he had actually just recovered from another unknown infection where caused fever and the lymph nodes on the left side of his neck to swell. And just 2 days after he recovered from that fever, he got the GE. So I think his immunity was weak to begin with and probably was more susceptible to the GE virus.

Rachel,
Dylan had gastroenteritis too? What kind of diet was he on during the sick period? the GP which I have seen recommended temporary switch to soy milk so I bought a tin of Isomil but Isaac hates the taste!

Tracy / Rachel,
Thanks for the info on Smecta. If Isaac's diarrheoa does not improve by tomorrow, I'll bring him to a PD.

Tracy,
Oh dear, I hope you mom is ok.

Queen,
OMG, hope everyone at home is feeling much better now. It is very tiring not only for the boy but the parents too. Take care!

Tracy, Flo,
Keenan is climbing onto the 2nd step of Ethan's bunk bed ladder liao. So scary, cannot walk but can climb!!!

Here are more pics of the boys in matching CNY clothes:

700690.jpg

700691.jpg

700692.jpg

CL
i was also checking the website for JH's photos but not out yet...

SL
u checking out delcare? maybe i will pop by too but got to be after 1st Mar cos i have deadlines to rush before that

queen
poor isaac. any reason for the gastro problem? hmm, i can help give some feedback on KK. my fren's hb works there.

hope isaac gets well soon! must really be quite fed up with all the waiting esp when our darlings are sick...

rachel
i kept the exersaucer already but we din remove the toys. we just took out the seat and brought to my mum's place to store...

chillies
hee, like what the rest say, Dr Sim makes u feel like a gan cheong mum but he is alright. charges are reasonable too. for follow up, he charges like $10 i think.

denmy,

Your boys are so cute and handsome!

Queen,
Oh dear! Hope that Issac's doing well now?
He's really beginning to look a lot like you.

Tracy,
I don't think age plays a big part. I was technically 27 when I was preggie too but my first tri was horrible. Very poor appetite, terrible morning sickness, very sleepy all the time... : P In fact, I am more afraid to go through the first tri than the labour.

Chillies,
Sorry to hear about your FIL. I think is better to bring your boy to visit your MIL more often, the reality will sink in once she settle down.

Queen
Oh poor Isaac, hope he's feeling better. Actually my gfren told me is better to go Mt A than KK in case of emergency. Charges are not much different but service is definitely better.

Tracy
Hope your mom is fine.

Tracy/Denmy
Haha, ya lor dun know why they like to climb so much. When Mel goes to my ILs pl now she can climb the stairs non-stop...so tiring for us! Now she even try to climb up and down the steps like an adult, front facing and alternating her legs with each step...haiz.

Denmy
Keenan really looks like a girl girl in the last pic.

Tracy/SL
Ya I don't think age play a big part. I was 33 when I was in my first tri but was quite energetic and no morning sickness. My fren was telling me each pregnancy will be different.

celwong
oh no going away for 6 months? u will miss your zach a lot i m sure....

my sis was in germany for 3 months but different part in germany.

tracy
i was 26 when preggie but had morn sickness etc in my first tri. so dun think it is to due with age...

queen
yah, dylan had that before. really scared the hell out of me and hb. it started with the usual morning woke up time when my hb picked him up for his morning milk feed, then we discovered he vomited in bed and it was all dried up... wah the smell was such a turn off...

later he vomited 2 more times and we rushed him off to PD. lucky thing is no fever for him. for the 1 week coming to 2 weeks time, i totally switched him to soy milk and plain porridge, nothing more. gave him glucose water too. all feeds were reduced to 50% of his usual amount. was told by my PD not to give fruits too, as their tummy now is very weak so better not to load anymore to stress up the intestine.

really heart pain to see him getting thinner. do note that diarrheoa will take around 1 week to clear, so long no more vomit and fever i think isaac will get back his appetite soon. about the soy milk, personally i like the taste and dylan takes it well too. hopefully issac can slowly accept the taste. you and hb take care too, don't be like me and my hb.

Tracy,
My last pregnancy was certainly more enjoyable cos I had time to pamper myself and was hungry all the time. This time, too busy with Lucas and work to really enjoy the pregnancy. Sometimes I even forget that I am pregnant! Especially so when playing with Lucas. But maybe cos I din really take good care of myself during confinement (or simply lack of exercise!), I definitely have less stamina now - turning 31 this year may be a factor too I suppose.

Re: Earth's Best
So scary, I have 3 jars with me and threw them all away although they were not the 'breakfast' variant that got recalled.

Queen,
This GE bug sounds real nasty. Hope Isaac get well soon. Maybe you can try some porridge water (old grandmother method) for him if he doesn;t want Isomil. I think you should give glucose supplement too in case dehydration.

tracy
keep me posted after you recieved meg's photo =)

i was 28 when im preggie with dylan. no morning sickness and appetite is just like before preggie. no craving even throughout my preggie days. so its really up to individual body condition rather than age lor.

hope you mum will recover very fast!

denmy
i laughed out when i saw keenan's last photo =p

celwong
its really very brave of you to leave zach behind for 6 months. i mean wah 6 months! gonna miss his milestones and his many many little "First"... you take care and do come here often when you reach Germany.

Rachel,
Yah, really heartpain to see Isaac getting thinner. He was already slim to begin with.
Yah, the vomit and poo smell is really the ultimate! Today me and HB both had to go toilet to lao sai... dunno coincidence or what. Anyway, we are doing ok, just tired.

Cindy,
yes, the GE virus is damn scary.

Re. Rotavirus vaccination
Though I'm not certain that the GE is caused by Rotavirus, but after going through these few days of Isaac having high fever, vomitting and diarrheao, gosh... maybe we should all get our babies vaccinated against Rotavirus and save our babies from the physical torture and save ourselves from the heartache.

Denmy,
The last picture is so funny! Was it deliberate? heehee, quite 'pretty'!

Re. KK vs Mt A vs TMC
So in future cases (touchwood), would Mt A or TMC have the facilities to handle child emergency? My HB really regretted going to KK. HE was asking me whether TMC would be better.