(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbie
My colic ever mentioned there's a shop in RP MRT that have all these collectibles. I think he saw the light saber there before. If u interested I can find out the shop name for you.

Good Morning Mommies
Some jokes to start off your Monday blues

Why is it that people say they "slept like a baby" when babies wake up every two hours?

If a deaf person has to go to court, is it still called a hearing?

Why do we press harder on a remote control when we know the batteries are flat?

Why do banks charge a fee on "insufficient funds" when they know there is not enough?

Why does someone believe you when you say there are four billion stars, but check when you say the paint is wet?

Why do they use sterilized needles for death by lethal injection?

Why does Superman stop bullets with his chest, but ducks when you throw a revolver at him?

Why do Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?

Whose idea was it to put an "S" in the word "lisp"?

What is the speed of darkness?

Are there specially reserved parking spaces for "normal" people at the Special Olympics?

If the temperature is zero outside today and it's going to be twice as cold tomorrow, how cold will it be?

If it's true that we are here to help others, what are the others doing here?

Do married people live longer than single ones or does it only seem longer?

Do you cry under water?

How is it that we put man on the moon before we figured out it would be a good idea to put wheels on luggage?

Why do people pay to go up tall buildings and then put money in binoculars to look at things on the ground?

Did you ever stop and wonder

Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, "I think I'll squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?"

Who was the first person to say, "See that chicken there... I'm gonna eat the next thing that comes outta it's bum."

Why do toasters always have a setting so high that could burn the toast to a horrible crisp, which no decent human being would eat?

Why is there a light in the fridge and not in the freezer?

Why do people point to their wrist when asking for the time, but don't point to their bum when they ask where the bathroom is?

Why does your Obstetrician, Gynaecologist leave the room when you get undressed if they are going to look up there anyway?
Can blind people see their dreams? Do they dream??

If quizzes are quizzical, what are tests?

If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?

If electricity comes from electrons, does morality come from morons?

Why do the Alphabet song and Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star have the same tune?

Did you ever notice that when you blow in a dog's face, he gets mad at you, but when you take him on a car ride, he sticks his head out the window?

Does pushing the elevator button more than once make it arrive faster?

Re: ChinaTown-baby cheong sam- Colour run??
just wanna check... esp with God's child, have you wash the bb cheong sam bought from China Town?
I went to bought on Sun and the seller keep stressing might colour run and advise me to wash ONLY after CNY, then he stress again if colour run he cannot guaranteen.
I suspect maybe some customer went back to complaint on the colour run so he is stating this disclaimer in the first place.

I really wanna wash it before wear but very scare it might colour run big time.

Anyone has expereince?

Cookie
I was there yesterday too. The aunite also told me the same time. What size did u buy? I bot L but still can't figure out if it's too big. Looks very baggy and the armpit whole seems big but the length is just ok. Is it suppose to wear like a top or dress? A bit confuse...heehee

flo

if u could find out for me re: shop, that would be nice.. now got no time to shop for hubby, he always complain that i'm a good mommy but lousy wife now cos no time for him.. so much catch up..

BTW, thanks for the jokes...

CL
its okay i still share with you.. I'm wondering if I should get more that's all... I can pick up during the exhibition, cos having a convention at suntec at the same time.. hopefully can sneak off and pick it up...but bundle b comes with the shampoo so you taking the shampoo? I only want the bath can?

RE: soy sauce
what's this thing about soy sauce.. recently my mom was introduced to this organic baby soy sauce (if there's such a thing..) by a friend..and she wanted to buy... i was like hello of all the organic things u can buy why buy something like soy sauce? I haven't introduced bovril or marmite cos personally as a kid i hated these things even tho it was quite popular. i remember there used to be a jar of bovril in the school canteen when I was small.. but then that was a real long time ago!!!

cookie, flo

I got the same dress.. the lady advised the same thing.. wash will cause the red to run onto the white piping, she even advised me to dry clean after wearing the first time! I bought medium and its a bit baggy too like korean dress..my girl is short so its worn like a dress..i think celeste looks cuter in it but i couldn't find anything else i liked.

Good morning mummies! Wow..so many posts!

Flo,
nice...thanks for the jokes to brighten up a Monday! Some of them are strangely true...like how we put man on the moon first then come up with wheels on luggage..hmmm..

Cookie, Flo,
My mum jus bought a cheongsam looking dress for my gal with sleeves and she say color will run so she offered to wash for me. She will soak in vinegar first to let the color stay before washing it. Not sure if you wanna try this, but if it doesn't work then uh oh...

My SIL also bought a dress for Meg, and Meg has a silk pants suit bought by my mum from China. I think she has so many clothes to wear this CNY I can change her morning, afternoon and evening!

cookie, flo, tabbi
the dress comes with a panty? there are pink, maroon, blue?
i saw it on saturday. the lady also advised me the same thing. end up, i didn't buy.

Re : Cheongsam dress

i handwashed the cheongsam before she wore it for photoshoot and also after tat to prep for CNY... no probs leh... color stil looking fresh and red!!! the auntie also din tell me tis the other time when i bot leh...

actuali its supposed to be a top tat comes wf the matching pants.. but i thot she looks nicer in it worn as a dress,more girl-ly... MIl thot the pants look nicer though... guess its up to each individual bah... flo, for the L size u got,mabbie can sew the armpit area higher lor,if not very windy leh... heehee

i went to buy a pair of GoldBug leggins for celeste,but got cotton one this time... the one tat she wore for the photoshoot very slippery leh if go CNY visiting... cos its those smooth material. so kiasu mummie after thinking hard went to get the cotton one to prevent her fallin down in others' house...hahaha tink too much rite???

Florence,

I think L is too big for Charmaine. Planning to go back to change to M cos the armpit is like super big. Tabbiesus, my dad made the comment "never mind if it's too big, can wear like korean dress after all, all things korean are in fashion now." Huh?

Cheongsam dress
That dress is realli nice. I was very tempted to get it as a top for Charmaine if the size L is big. I was there yday to change Charmaine's set to a smaller size and bought a short sleeve one for Aden

I think you wear with the matching panty very nice especially with diaper it will show a bit and so cute when they walk.

Tabbi,
Ya I taking the shampoo since you only want the bath. If nobody shapes with you for bunle A, I can share with you too. Ha ha I shall use the moisturizer.

re: food during CNY

I was also thinking about Charmaine's food during renunion dinnre... Cos we are going to my hubby's aunt place for dinner, not sure what she would be cooking. I was thinkinf og cooking Charmaine's porridge and just bring it along...

Food During CNY
SL, I am going to wake up early to prepare Aden's lunch and dinner and pack in the thermo flask leh. Will just bring out during visiting.

sl,

whenever i bring renee back to my mum's place on sunday, i will also cook porridge and put in thermos for both meals...unless not enuf time then will feed her jar food.

wont take the risk of letting renee eat other food for now...dun want to spoil her tastebud.

Tabbie
My colic can't rem the name of the shop. He said is just beside the escalator going up to Std Chartererd Bank Building within Raffles Pl MRT station. He said he saw it at Taka Kinokuniya before as well.

Re. soy sauce and outside food
During mealtimes, sometimes we would feed Isaac bits and pieces of adult food, can be chicken or fish. Or when we eat cakes or biscuits, will also let him try a bit. Or when we drink soft drinks, we'll let him lick the rim but do not let him drink. I think all babies are naturally curious, every now and then, I feel it's ok to let them try for the taste, and small amounts wouldn't hurt too, though probably not give them adult food as a complete meal yet. I find that Isaac has no problem accepting his plainer porridge even though he has tasted a lot of tastier adult food. If the concern is for health reasons (like maybe harmful to babies' organs if consumed in large amounts), I understand but in any case, I do not understand the rationale about spoiling babies' taste buds leh... Cos babies grow and it's all about discovering new taste and new textures in food. Be it saltish, bitter, sweet or sour?

Re. porridge
I find that putting porridge in Thermos turns very watery after awhile, could be due to all the shaking while travelling. If want to cook porridge, best to cook it with less water and that the rice is just soft enough for our babies to eat so that it 'travels' well in Thermos.
I usually cook ang moh puree and put in Thermos instead if need to give Isaac meals outside of home.

RE. Chinatown
Went down yesterday... didn't see nice CNY costume for baby boys. The baby girl ones are very nice! Compared to those seen at Metro, I the Metro ones are of better quality and workmanship, though the Metro ones are more expensive.

Esther,
Will you still be travelling to Vietnam? Or are you there now? would liek to buy more preggy kits...

Queen,

Porridge

So far so good for mine..its still ok..doesnt turn watery..maybe alot of ingredients! heehee

Preg Kits

I will be going back to Hanoi on 25th Feb...provided all turns out wekk for my detailed scan on Wednesday..but my hb will be coming back this thurs..how many do u need? I can ask him to buy for you.

Outside Food

Hmm...I guess what i feel is that coz outside food are always tastier, if they eat it too often, they may start to reject the ones we cook at home. Of coz, i am not against letting them try tiny bits of outside food now and then...

once, i let her try the bread from my burger and then the maid started feedin renee her porridge lunch and she refused to open her mouth..i tried giving her the bread again and she was so happy..well, since it was bread, its ok..but i think i won't want too much of outside food to spoil her now..

Chicken little

Yay, then can i share 1 bundle A and 1 bundle B with you? If you cannot go collect during the fair.. i can collect.

CNY food

I will be bringing tabby's food out in a thermos flask.. she doen't know how to eat adult food yet.. her food is still pureed... but she likes to play with adult food...

Esther

Hope everything goes well for your scan.. i went for mine already last week. How are you feeling now? Hope you are feeling better than last time at the bday bash..

Ok Tabbi,

Noted. Will arrange and see who can collect on that day then.

Adult Food
We were eating the Junk food KFC at home yday, usually when we eat we let Aden sit with us but feed him his baby biscuits. But he got fed up and keep looking at our food and go "mum mum" so we gave him a bit of the mashed potato without gravy. He just take a few tea spoons (not full) and revert back to his biscuits.

Tabbs,

I hope so too. Everyone is expecting a boy so I feel alot of pressure
Even my 10 year old brother in law. He was asking me last night if this one will be a boy. I told him I dun know yet and besides even if I know, I won't tell him. Wait till the baby is delivered! He was so angry. He asked me why we can't choose a boy!

Hmm.. your detailed scan is rather early right? Your EDD is mid July?

Queen
RE: Thermos Flask
I think the porridge must be piping hot when u put into the flask. Also it doesn't last more than 4-5 hours. I'll normally put inside thermos flask if I am going to feed Mel within the next 2 hours. If it's going to be much later, I'll put semi-cooked porridge in the tiger food jar for it to cook fully on its own.

RE: outside food
I guess is fine to let them taste but the problem is having a "double" std when I tell my mom & ILs can't and then I do it. If u give others the leeway as well, soon the "ocassional" will become everyday!

Esther
I think Mel also starting to demand for more tasty food as well. Was feeding her lunch the other day and she kept shaking her head when left with a few spoonful, so I thot she had enuff and didn't want to force her to finish. Then a few min later, she reached out for the bread loaf on the table and asked me to take out a piece for her.

Flo,

Babies are getting smarter each day. They are already telling us what they want..well, at least what she reached out was for bread, not some junk food.

I remember my girlfriend telling me her colleague used to use dried scallops to cook her babies porridge..then when they went overseas for holidays, she refused to take her bland porridge..so from then on, its always tasty porridge.

Esther
Haha, that's becos I have not let her try any adult food yet. She was so aggressive the other day, wanted to snatch my potato chips and when I pass her the bb biscuit container she just threw it on the floor. Anyway, my ex boss told me dun feel bad about depriving them of all these adult food cos they will "self introduce" when they go to school.

esther,

Can you ask your hubby to help me get preggy kits (5) as well as ovulation kits (10)?
btw how much are they huh? TIA!

Flo,

Same her, so far, I've only let her try the plain bread from my burger ( no sauce ) and also lick once from her Bday cake..I let her do tat for meaning...

Yes I agree with you that we don't need to feel bad. Soon, they will be drinking coke in school..etc.

But for now, I can it clear to everyone in the family that Renee is not to be given any food not approved by me..

Esther

My scan was done at 18 weeks the earliest time for the FA scan.

I can understand your pressure.. dun let it get to you.. cos boy or girl still will love!

RE: CNY
does anyone know if there's any yu sheng that's made with cooked abalone? Does it always have to be raw fish (okie la.. i know called yusheng for a reason but... )? That means i can't eat this year ah... so sad...

Tabbie
Abalone Yu Sheng
My mom will normally buy those pre-pack yu sheng from NTUC and added her own abalone inside

hi Tabb .... just don't eat the raw fish pieces lor.

Anyone whose babies don't like fruits??? amazing but mine doesn't. tried papaya, apple, banana, grapes... give a funny face and don't want a 2nd spoon ...

And he likes to lick the floor when I put him down to crawl. He'd rather walk than crawl ... anything I can do abt that?

.ky.

Esther, Flo,
Same here, Meg is getting greedy too. But she's still rather polite so far. When i'm having chips, she will peep into the bag then slowly reach her hand into it.

My MIL's porridge is always very very tasty, even i love it cos she adds in fried onion, dried scallops and dried oysters. While my mum's porridge is super bland in comparison with no added stuff aside from meat and pumpkin. But thankfully Meg the greedy one takes both rather well.

Celine,

No problem..i think preg kits cost $1 and ovu kits are $1.70 if i recall correctly.

Any more orders? need to let hb know asap..

Tracy,

Wow, your mil's porridge really very tasty lei!! I'm sure adults will love it too! Thank god Meg is ok with bland food as well..

Hi Mummies,..

RE: Valentine gift

I bought hb a box of Dark chocolate (NEW FLAVOR) from Candy Empire : and with Valentine card with me and Gracie pict. I do some decor on the card with the pict...and I will ask Courier service deliver to him on this wednesday morning....

Hb bought us a pair of BOXER...light blue ( for him ) and light pin ( for me )....

Hi Mamapanda,..
You are right that Magerine is bad for our health...... Father in law not allow us to take it....and also Vegetable oil. As he said those are MAN SIN THU YAU...

Hi Babylon,..
Oh heartpain....sayang sayang Damiennn hope he ok...

Hi Cookie,..
Good to hear you are ok now....Cheeers....take care and always be a happy mum....

RE: soy sauce

Tabbi , i think there are such. coz my mil use alot of organic MSG and claiming that they are healty and per can is about 30 dollars wah lao .. MSG healthy.. i really am not too sure about it...

RE: thumb sucking..
elijah is also thumb sucking big time.. he bascially suck untill hi thumb has lumps and turn red.. a few times it has turn brown like those of recovering bruises

Esther,
I'll like to have 8 preggy kits...
Will they expire?
I want to try conceiving in June liao.

Flo,
I don't have Tiger Food Jar leh.. .I have the Thermos. In terms of keeping the food warm, the Thermos is pretty good, can last at least 3 hours. But I dunno why the porridge will turn very watery and the rice become very mashy. I thin kit's due to carrying the Thermos and shaking it while walking or something. Just like when we eat porridge, if stir too much, the porridge will become runny.

Tracy,
wah! Very tasty porrige indeed! My MIL also like to put dried scallop into Isaac's porridge... though I seldom do that. Thankfully, my porridge is less tasty and Isaac will still eat.

Nowadays, I'll make 1 pot of ikan billis + soya bean or chicken stock and freeze them into ice cubes. I'll thaw some and dilute with water to make porridge. Will add red dates and wolfberry for some sweetness. I think quite already tasty enough.
Else sometimes, to be a bit different, I throw in sweet potato only like those taiwanese porridge. Then I'll pan-fry cod fish in butter, mash it with the sweet potato and add into the porridege again. Isaac also loves this.

Flo
Finally I bought M size.. I wanted to buy L ( being KS mum) but when I wore M size over Kaelyn.. my HB say wow very big hor and Kaelyn has her dress in it, still loose. So we bought M size think can only wear once!

I'm thinking...wash the pant first see if colour run badly or not.. if not then wash the top too.

for mum who asked :
the bb cheong sam come with matching panty... not the triangel panty but like boxed short - square shape.

Sunny
i think the 3 available colour are red , light pink and a dark pink.

Tracy
thanks!.. i was telling my HB.. cannot remember was it salt or vinegar in the water will help to stop colour run.
But I rem during my school time, I bought levis jeans and soak in vinegar but still colour run big time..
but I will try tonight.

KY
my gal also dun really like fruit from young. Maybe all fruit is a bit sour.. even tiny bit of sour my gal will give funny face.
but I manage to feed her some apple despite a bit sour last weekend.
Probably she is more interested in food now so willing to try...but still very fussy!

Esther,

Didn't realise that you are back! Welcome home and hope that everything's going well with the bb inside?

re: food
Sad to say, I let charmaine eat quite a bit of outside food. But thankfully, she still eats the porridge and mee sua we cooked at home without fussing. The thing is, she's a real chinese baby - loves porridge and mee sua and kway teow but not potato and pasta! The thermos flask that I have is very good - can last for at least 4 - 5 hours, doesn't turn watery either. In fact, on the contrary, I find the water or soup lesser.

Flo,

charmaine will also "demand" for food that she wants and learns to say no for food that she doesn't want. She loves all fruits and will demand for fruits by pointing at the fruit that she wants to eat then say very loudly "eh!"

Re: seaweed
Can babies eat seaweed? I fed Charmaine a small bit yesterday to taste and she loves it!

finally got some time ot take a breather. was in meetings the whole day

May
i think there's nothing wrong with u starting to discipline Jamie now. in fact i do that to JH now. when he's naughty i will smack him and put him on the bed and tell him not to move until i finish clearing his mess. sometimes he will fidget and try to give me a big smile or sheepish laugh.

recently i scolded him for upseting my things. so yesterday he remembered and after taking out all my things to play, he actually put them one by one into the box. and the funniest part was he even put back this box of sweets (which was not from the box) at the corner of the table where he took it.

i have been doing this for some time with him and i realise he can understand what i m saying. so dun feel bad that u r being strict. better that we start now then having to resort to cane etc later

CL
so we must send the photos to rachel again?

SSF
u so sweet to get the mont blanc wallet. i heard of the website before. how much is the wallet? hb just got one from the shop

cookie
i think it is vinegar that will prevent the color from running?

re food
wow some of the food that u mummies prepare sounds really yummy. i dun use scallops or anything for JH's porridge.

ky
JH likes fruits esp the sour ones...whenever i take a bit from his fruits he will be angry with me...

did u try putting his fruits in cereal etc? maybe he will take them?

esther
dun be too stressed abt getting a boy! such things can't be forced....

re feeding adult food
i realised i cannot keep giving JH what we eat at the table. the next time he sees it, he wll demand for it.

we gave him some japanese rice when we were having dinner on sat. and on sun when i was eating nasi lemak, he insists on havin the rice...faintz

Queen
So far I use Tiger food jar to put fully cooked porridge in. The porridge remain in the same state when serve except maybe a bit more nua but never watery.
Besides the porridge have to be piping hot when place in food jar, i believe the food jar has to be hot in the place..i.e. I will place hot water in it before hand to "warm up" the jar. The porridge will remain very hot for a longer time.

SY,
Yes, Rachel says pics we posted not suitable so she says better to have closeup pics of the baby. Maybe you can wait for Joycelyn's photos to be up for JH. I oso waiting for mine.

Thermo Flask,
I used Tiger oso not bad leh. It does not turn watery. Ha ha I think CNY I have to bring 2 flask. 1 Tiger and 1 Food Jar

i got a flask from a shop in Parkway Parade for about $10 i think. It's the kind where u heat the food with the flask in the microwave for a few mins then close the thing. It kept the food hot for a rather long time.

i tried it last weekend and the porridge was piping hot after 2 hrs. Could still see the steam.