(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

o yes,
btw, Keenan has been looking quite yellow the past 2 weeks. Brought him to the PD and it was nothing serious cept that he's been fed too much orange food. So he's banned from carrots, pumpkin, tomatoes, papaya for the moment.

queen
I think u're referring to mamachan's hb
Got me alittle confused reading ur post. My hb has never been in the govt sector, only me.

co-sleeping
Ariene has been sleeping in her cot but in our room with us since she was born. We tried putting her between us to sleep at night before so that I can lie down n sleep while she has her night feeds but she doesn't like squeezing between us as she has no space to kick left and right. Also, she'll end up crawling all over the place if we put her on our bed cuz she knows how to get down the bed and start cruising around the room and play. I tried pushing her cot to another room for her to sleep in the afternoon before but she refuses to sleep and ends up playing with her bolsters on the cot. Maybe I'll try again after I've cleared up the rubbish in her room (which is now our storeroom). I think its about time she sleeps in her own room, after I've cleared up and cleaned up the room. Got very inspired to clean it up and decor it after seeing the pics posted by May Wong (I think). Anyway, been procrastinating for too long and therefore accumulated too much rubbish in the room already.

attention seeking
Nowadays, Ariene has new but terrible ways of seeking attention from us. Every morning, she'll throw her bolsters n pillows at me to wake me up. If I ignore her little "bombs", she'll start coughing. If I ignore her coughs, she'll stick her fingers into her mouth and do the "vomitting" sound. So terrible.. I guess she enjoyed the full attention we gave her when she was sick and vomitting 3 weeks back.

denmy, from the archives, I think this is the latest list :

1. Mamapanda
2. Denmy
3. MamaChan (robinson centre)
4. Durian Lover
5. Chicken Little

Chicken little will be collecting for me and durianlover.

yellow colouration
I notice Ariene will also look alittle yellow if she eats too much squash and papayas so I try not to give her too much yellow foods consecatively. Babies do get Vit A poisoning. Even I also cannot eat too much yellow foods or my skin will yellow. I was born with quite a serious case of jaundice.

Phew! Just got back from my MIL's place. Had dinner there and quickly went about decorating the place together with my hb. We manually blew up the balloons with our lungs and mouth, 29 of them in all (red, blue and yellow), placed up the Happy Birthday banner together with the 1st Birthday Mobiles. Hb and I went to Party City at H.V to look at some helium balloons and we finally decided on the singing Elmo balloon =) We were deciding between the air-walker or the singing one, but decided the singing one might be cute. Will update with pictures after my celebration tmr.

Cake Ave
After reading all the reviews, am keeping my fingers crossed and hope that the cake would turn out well. I opted for the simple #1 with Daren's name on the cubes. The guy at Cake Ave called me to confirm the spelling of Daren's name. I did thought of calling them in the afternoon, but keep forgetting as I was busy.

Rena
Oh dear, Sumo sick? *kiss kiss sumo* Hope he recovers soon. Has he been over at your MIL's often these few days? Anyone in the household sick over there?

Queen
No worries about Issac being slow in speech. Daren also same here. He likes to go "Deh' and pointing at the same time in the direction of something which catches his attention. So far, he have yet to fully verbalize Mummy or Daddy, just calles us "Eh" or just whine towards us. But he can sign a little like "More biscuits" or "Milk".

MamaPanda
Mel will normally "talk" to her soft toys in the cot every morning when she wakes up but if I didn't wake up after 1/2 hour, she'll also start throwing her soft toys, pillows and bolsters at me to wake me up. Sometimes she even use her leg to kick me as I place her cot beside my bed.

RE: yellow colouration
I try not to give orange food to Mel everyday also. My cousin used to give her grandson carrot everyday until he turned orange. In fact a chinese physician ever advise me not to take papaya everyday cos I turn yellow quite easily too.

MamaChan
U look all set for Daren's party tomorrow. Have Fun!

Also for all the bbs having bday party tom (Caleb & Celeste I believe) have a great time too.

Rena,
well, i gues virus is in the air. He'll be well soon.

SY,
when wld the trial be?

RE: Co sleeping
My boy has been sleeping between us since birth. He wld cry if awake when we leave him to sleep alone on our bed when we are out in living room watching TV. Have to keep a lookout as he wld crawl towards light looking for us. However, if he wakes up in the morning, at times he wld cry for us or juz lie there playing wif bolster. Depends on mood. Failed terribly trying to get him to sleep in the cot.

RE : Breathing through mouth
I realised my boy also like that. No blocked nose watsoever too.

RE: Yellow/Orange Food
Err..we practically gives carrot or pumpkin every meal. Lunch and dinner. Not too much. About 1/2 inch in thickness of carrot per meal. Too much???

chillies
hmmm, I think one good way to check if you are giving too much is by checking their palms and soles of the feet. IF looks a tad too orange, might mean too much already.

Co-sleeping
So far, I don't have much problems with that since 5 months when I officially graduated Daren from our bed (coz BF him then and convenient for me to demand feed) to sleep in his own cot in the next room. He's used to it since but we monitor him via the baby monitor.

I think it'll help to intro a sleeping "friend" to them in the cot i.e. teddy bear or their favourite stuff toy. Daren has two favourite stuff toys, one teddy bear and one white seal. I sort of taught him to sayang them so each time i place him in is cot, he would go straight for those two and "manja" with them by rubbing his head against them. After a while, he would fall asleep with his hands on them. I personally find that it works for Daren in this case. =) Hope my 2 cents worth can help.

MamaPanda
Your description of Arienne getting attention is so funny. Reminds me of my boy doing the same by faking his cough which got me paranoid during the period of time where he always fell sick with cough and phlegm.

Chillies
I guess if he doesn't look yellow then should be fine.

Rena
I guess weather has not been good latelly, alot of ppl are falling ill. Hope Elijah get well soon.

Rena,
Elijah & Ethan really buddy buddy leh. Ethan was down with fever too. Dunno how he kanna the fever cos we brot him to my inlaws plc on wed evening for dinner & it was raining heavily. Then, over there he fell & hit agst the coffee table. So I really dunno if the fever is caused by the fall or the weather. But really Thank God for the fast recovery cos the fever was gone by today! Pray that Elijah will quickly recover. **sayang sayang**

thanks, SY

mashy, j now is 9.3kg lor... how heavy is caeden now ah?

sm x when he fell or wat then he insist wan me to carry lei so bo pian gotto carry... got 1 day he v cranky whole day keep wan me carry then i carry him quite a lot that day. end up i nx day got spotting... then i bed rest whole of nx day then after dat ok

rena
poor sumo....sigh, when our darlings fall sick, really heart pain for us! hope he gets well soon

mamachan
sounds like u r all set for the party! what is a singing balloon by the way? sounds very interesting. does it sing happy birthday

i tried to intro a 'buddy' toy to JH also but nothing seems to work. but he is quite ok to sleep iin his own room and cot in the day. at night he will sleep in our room. hopefully when the day comes for him to move to his room, he will be ok.

mamapanda
wow ariene sure knows how to get your attention! JH every morning will also just cruise ard to play. nowadays nothing can keep him quiet already

wenyl
poor ethan. lucky he recovered already. think the weather has been really bad.

flo
hee sama sama, my aim is to leave office on the got everyday

bulma
u got anyone to help u to look after your boy? best not to carry too much.

re yellow/orange foods
JH takes carrot or tomatoes quite often but think so far ok....cos i put only a little bit each time.

ask a question. is kiwi a citrus fruit?

SY,
I wonder too. Cos boy had slight cough once and GP said no citrus fruit. Thot kiwi not citrus and fed. Who knows, cough like nobody's business the next day.

Birthday Bash on 3 Feb 2007
Venue : Singtel Recreation Club ( Comcentre - Somerset)
Lets count down 29 days to our big event.

Mummies, need your help to confirm the number of pax so I can go negotiate the buffet price.

As we need time for the voting of the picture contests. Please please pm me your email address so I can invite you to join the yahoo group. Mummies from the group but not joining the bash are welcomed to join in the voting. Please give me your email address.

Nick No. of Pax Signed in to Yahoo Group
AK Yes
Annie
babylon Yes
celwong Yes
cheng two + 1 bb Yes
Chicken Little 2 + 1 kid + 1bb Yes
chillies 2 + 1 bb Yes
Clare 2 + 1 bb Yes
Cookie 2 + 1 bb Yes
denmy 2 + 1 kid + 1bb Yes
durianlover
estherlee
Flo 2 + 1 bb Yes
God's child 2 + 1 bb Yes
Krissie
Linda 2 + 1 bb Yes
MamaChan 3 + 1 bb Yes
Maywong 2 + 1 bb Yes
mongs
queen
Rena 2 + 1bb Yes
sept03bride 2 + 1 bb Yes
SH 2 + 1 bb Yes
SL 2 + 1 bb Yes
sleepingdeer 2 + 1 bb
SSF 2 + 1 bb Yes
sunny 2 + 1 bb Yes
Sy 2 + 1 bb Yes
Sysac 3 + 1 bb Yes
Tabbiesus 2 + 1bb Yes
Tracy 2 + 1bb Yes
Valerie 2 + 1 bb Yes
Wendyheng 2 + 1 bb Yes
wennykoh 2 + 1 bb Yes
wenyl 2 + 1 bb Yes
Yuki Yes
Zhimin Yes
SandraChu 2 + 1 bb Yes

Mummy who has not indicated your attendance or sign in for the yahoo group, please do so. Pricing of the buffet to be negotiated and voting to start next week

tabbiesus - Caleb is fine. thanks for asking. he is all ready for tmr's bash
btw, i just returned from gynae visit today and took the glucose test cos my previous pregnancy, i was diagnosed with Gestational diabetes. sad case...my sugar level was high also. so doc told me to watch my diet. sianz...back to my daily blood test again. i don;t have much appetite and yes i do feel nauseous at time. how abt u? i will be due in Aug.

see a lot of birthday celebrations ... how do you ensure that it's memorable & special for your child?

also, don't mind if I ask this ... any mummies here bfg and dont have their menses yet?? how often do you nurse/pump each day?

.ky.

ky
I'm still breastfeeding n I've not had my menses yet. I latch/pump on every 4-6 hourly, depending on demand.

May

So sorry for the delay... i realise that Tabby after falling sick now looks different... when i take photo of her with daddy... dun look so alike liao.. I think I withdraw from the contest can? Sorry hor...

Rena & Wenyl
Elijah and Ethan get well soon!!

I heard from my colleague that after the epidemic of GE going around, now alot of babies having fever and cough.. so mommies becareful.. some more there are some parents who still bring their kids out when they are running fever! I have a friend who brought their kid to see a kids show just becos they bought the ticket already and the child was running a fever...

SSF
Oh dear, so cham! Take care! I am due for my OSCAR next week.. maybe can see if its a boy or girl... my nausea almost all gone and i feel less tired recently which is good, but I'm almost 13 weeks already.

Chilies

better check the palm or sole.. use your own to gauge.. my tabby's nose turned orange cos ate too much orange food... that's when its not so good... i had to stop all orange food for 3 months for it to clear... now looking back at the pic of tabby can see the nose is orange.. look so weird..

Bulma
I still carry my baby... i dont think its a problem, maybe when i'm more advanced, i will feel uncomfortable carrying her, but now as long as i dont have any pain, i still carry her.

I'm so tired out today! We had lots of fun catching up with our friends whom we've not seen in quite awhile. Daren enjoyed himself tremendously today, with lots of aunties and uncles to play with him. He was intriqued with the #1 cake that we set before him. The cake I got from Cake Avenue turned out not bad. Really nice. All my guests were raving about the cake! I had to place the fondants myself on his cream cake so just randomly anyhow placed the balloon fondants on it =). During placing Daren's name on the cubes, we were saying Daren, some of my friends and I and my maid heard Daren saying "Daren!!" Wah! But it was a once off thing. Like him saying "Balloon" during the party, playing with them. Think he always surprises us with all these once off demo of his "words"

I can only get my pics posted on Thursday or Friday. Got a photographer friend to come by and help take pictures of the simple event.

Daren got lots of cool looking clothes and a few toys and 70% of the gifts were ang baos! Hahaha! We joked that it would be his education fund =)

ky
I think the birthday celebration is more for us to remember and enjoy. The babies are still too young to remember anything except from photos/videos they can see when they're older, so make sure u take lots of photos and videos to show them in future

ky
Hmmmm, for me, I know Daren enjoys balloons, so we got lots of them all blown up and let the balloons lie all around the floor at the party. Watching him play and amuse himself and enjoying himself brought alot of joy and photo moments. You could try at times to just keep showing them pictures of what happened on the day itself etc. Like what MamaPanda said, it's more for us to remember and enjoy.

My hb and I sent out a mass sms invitation to our guests stating "You are cordially invited to join us in celebrating Dareb's 1st birthday as well as end of Survival: Parenthood Season 1" Haha, some of our friends had a laugh at that. So during the party, we announced that Season 2 would start at the zoo =) Coz we'll be bringing Daren out to the Zoo on his actual bday.

Tabbiesus,
It's ok. So I will close the application already.

I will load up the pic. Voting will start soon..will post the instructions asap.

VOTING BEGINS NOW TILL 14 JAN 2006 @ 10PM
======================================
Instructions:
1) Join Yahoo Group, Log in
2) View the photos of 4 catagories
3) Cast your vote according to the below format
*It is ok to cast vote for ur own baby
*One vote per mummy per catagory

Format: Nick - Daddy Look-a-Like, Mummy Look-a-Like, Princess, Prince

Vote according to the number indicated below each photo.

TOP 3 of each catagories will be voted again on the Bday Bash.

======================================

1) Maywong - 6,3,2,1

<font color="ff0000">SORRY MUMMIES.. Please ignore my voting post earlier on.
Please log in to Yahoo Group to POLL instead.</font>

Thanks Mamachan for telling me about the poll. Stupid me dunno abt it.

May
No lah, don't call yourself stupid, guess most of us are new to yahoo groups. But the polling/voting there is better as it saves the hassle of having to tabulate the scores =)

this thread sure moves fast

Vania's bday is tomoro and the big celebration is next Sunday. Tomorrow is just cutting cake at home. Thought should at least get her a big baloon, after looking at all the nice pics. Cant really plan much because she has just recovered from chicken pox and we were both quarantined at home for 2 weeks

so excited seeing the big combined bash coming up.. too bad we cant join
Vania would have a big chance of winning daddy look a like le hehe since she is exact replica of hb when he was baby. Showed her hb old photo and she thinks it's her.

have a great Sunday mummies !

hi mummies...i have made my votes. what a hard decision to make for some. haha..i was laughing with hb on some pics that REALLY look like their mum/dad. so cute and fun!!!

ok i be heading down to Aloha loyang for Caleb's big bash later. will take some pics and share with all.

Chicken_little - thanks so much for your help yesterday to get for me the balloon and party packs. dun know how to thank you mann! you are just so nice! my hb was saying...how come ur forum frds all so nice! haha...

MamaChan,
Sure sound like Daren had fun during his birthday. Only managed to put together a last minute celebration for JW but he enjoyed himself anyway! :)

He missed his afternoon nap. Hence immediately after dinner, he was rubbing his eyes. The moment i put him to bed, he knocked out in less than 2 minutes i think. Record time!

Me too. Cast my vote liao. Tough decision hor.

SSF,
No problem since I was heading there and you are coming to collect the romper from me. Hope you have a good time celebrating with Caleb.

Birthday Party
Today is the first time Aden miss his morning nap. So he actually tong all the way. I knew that by the time the cake cutting, he is super not cooperative lor. Ha ha so we din get any good pics at all. Will try to get a few pics to post. Hopefully. Lucky most guest gave him clothes as pressie. Daddy says got 1 year supply liao.

Happy birthday to all babies, congrats on surviving season 1!

I also voted liao....i think some are clear cut winners!!

May I know if any of you bot the little tikes car that was on promo with NTUC? dunno if can still buy...

AK,

I bought the little tikes car in their first promotion around Jun. Usually there is a cut off date. Can call them up to double check.

Updated on attendance List and sign in to Yahoo Group.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>No. of Pax</TD><TD>Signed in to Yahoo Group </TD></TR><TR><TD>AK</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babylon</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>celwong</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheng</TD><TD> two + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chicken Little</TD><TD>2 + 1 kid + 1bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>chillies</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>estherlee</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>God's child</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Linda</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>MamaChan</TD><TD>3 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maywong</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>mongs</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>2 + 1bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sandra Chu</TD><TD>2 + 1bb</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sept03bride</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>SH</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>SL</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunny</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sysac</TD><TD>3 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tabbiesus</TD><TD>2 + 1bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>2 + 1bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Valerie</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wendyheng</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>wennykoh</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yuki</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhimin</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Sandra, Annie and Krissie not in yahoo group yet.

AK,Annie,Babylon, Celwong, Denmy, DurianLover, Mashybrainz,Mong, Queen and Yuki, please advise your attendance.

Anyone else joining else ?

my gal's birthday celebration is over. everyone enjoyed themselves a lot and my gal didn't cry for nap for the whole afternoon and didn't wanna sleep after all guests had gone back. can see that she's really tired but happy. and same as me.

the cake from pine garden was good! the design was as per what i requested. just that the words which were made of sugar were not well taken care of by them, so, it's a bit 'seng yet'.

641317.jpg

641318.jpg

chicken little
His name called daviern Lin loh. unique name le. hehe

My son only slp one hr for the whole day during his birthday. hehe. Believe he's enjoying himself ba.

re: poll
i have voted. contest for 'mummy &amp; bb look a like', quite difficult which one to vote. :p

CL
my gal also missed her afternoon nap the 1st time on her party!!! luckily she's not cranky. mayb she's too tired + weak to get cranky. :p
really hope she can recuperate her energy and be naughty like before again!

rena
how's elijah now? hope he get well soon. it's really heart pain to see bb sick and lost weight....

Wendy,

After you sign in to the group, you click on Jan06Mummy.

This will bring you to our particular group. On the left column, you will see message, photo, post etc etc. Click on photos, it will show u 4 albums. Take a look at the pics. Then you go to poll, to vote