(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sleeping on pillow
==================
God's child - adult pillow ( super flat kind and broad,prevernt her head fr rolling off the pillow)
Chicken Little- Babysafe infant pillow
durianlover - normal Aussino baby pillow
SY - Babysafe infant pillow (though he ends up somewhere else usually)
SH - Babysafe infant pillow

Not sleeping on pillow
======================
SSF
sept03bride
MamaChan
Yuki
durianlover
sunny ('cos she will roll all over the place, can't zzz at fixed position)
wennykoh (she has been sleeping on her tummy down since birth so can't use pillow)
ky (not for my 2 boys)
denmy (might start him at 1yr++)
wendyheng (He cant slp in fixed position too)
babylon (can't slp in fixed position)

Cookie,
I have a bedtime routine for Shannon, switch on nightlight, give milk, then wipe face and body, change to pyjamas, give goodnight kisses, place her in the cot with teddy and pacificer, switch on baby monitor and leave the room.... initally she would struggle and move around alot, but now she is ok. If she starts crying and whining, I will usually know that something is wrong, like teething maybe, coz it's not usual for her to do that... sometimes when she can't get to sleep, I just pull up a chair besides her cot, and let her play on her own. As long as she can see me, she will keep quiet, and after a while, she will get tired and fall asleep on her own...

Sleeping on pillow
==================
God's child - adult pillow ( super flat kind and broad,prevernt her head fr rolling off the pillow)
Chicken Little- Babysafe infant pillow
durianlover - normal Aussino baby pillow
SY - Babysafe infant pillow (though he ends up somewhere else usually)
SH - Babysafe infant pillow

Not sleeping on pillow
======================
SSF
sept03bride
MamaChan
Yuki
durianlover
sunny ('cos she will roll all over the place, can't zzz at fixed position)
wennykoh (she has been sleeping on her tummy down since birth so can't use pillow)
ky (not for my 2 boys)
denmy (might start him at 1yr++)
wendyheng (He cant slp in fixed position too)
babylon (can't slp in fixed position)
sleepingdeer (have 2 babysafe pillow, now one is used as a cushion in her high chair, one is in her playpen for fun, faint!)

re: wings
I let charmaine tried the wings last night. She's quite okay - didn't cry but the wings are way too big for her! Need to find a way to tighten the straps but difficult to do with her moving around leh. How?

Flo,

can pm me the mattress contact..thinking to get that mattress for damien as well..

this morning was terrible co sleep with my 2 boys on my tiny little queen size bed..

i can't sleep in the center coz afriad that one of them might fall off from the bed..if i placed damien and duncan together...end up..duncan will make damien to be bloster......duncan is also another child that can't sleep in fixed position...

my body is aching..and feeling so sleepy now

Morning Mummies!
Wow! So many differing views of letting maid know of the webcam. I guess it's really up to individual in this case. If you maid is not here yet, it's good to install before she arrives. But chances are, she'll most probably find out about it if she's diligent in cleaning all the corners of the house.
I feel that the adverse reaction might be worse if she finds out that we've been secretly spying on her at a later stage then to let her know in the beginning.
To know her real personality, I'm sure after 3 - 4 months, we'll start to see the true colours more and more as time goes by, dun need webcam also can see. How well-behaved can one be for a long time? Hehehe. Like, when we 1st met our hb, our then bf, we were all on our best behaviour. After park-tor and getting married, all the bad, the good and the ugly all come out liaoz.

Anyway, that's my 2 cents worth lah.

Re: MWL Power of 3

upon request, do up a list here for mummies who are interested to get the cutter & tool kit from MWL.

purchase any 3 items of the same brand and shall entitle to 25% discount. promotion till end of Nov.

** Cutterpede - ~$44 after discount, originally $58+
1) Denmy
2) May (Yes.. thanks in advance)
3) Cheng (Yes please!!)

** Deluxe Tool kit - $67.46 after discount, originally $89.95
1) chickenlittle (normal toolkit , original 60plus)
2) mamachan
3) Denmy
4) rachel
5) Flo
6) Rena (normal toolkit, original 60 plus)

Denmy,

Good news, can buy liao, got 6 pax hee hee

Babylon,

Charmaine sleeps very straight like her daddy. Sleep same position , wake up oso same position. Blanket intact and still perfectly straight before and after sleep. ha ha.

Aden oso sleep within a fixed position in the playpen, ha ha he will toss and turn but still back to same position.

When I was sleeping over at my sil's place with her kids during my house renovation period, her 2 kids very funny one, they are everywhere, in the middle of the night, you keep hearing they drop out from mattress to floor, bang on the wall, but still crawl back then start all over again. I always laugh at night

Let the maid know abt webcam in Denmy's home
=============================
1) MamaChan

Don't let the maid know
========================
1) SSF
2) Wenyl (tats the whole purpose of a webcam. Haahaa! Cos they come in small & unnoticable sizes)
3) wennykoh
4) Chicken Little
5) God's child
6) sleepingdeer
7) ky

Have you gals saw a video of a maid hitting a little girl on a sofa and dragging her around? It's more than just a few mins of video. I didn't have the heart to watch the whole thing and heard the ending's worse. Some people told me maid would show true colours after 6 months when they start getting day off and full allowance. Once, I was pretty upset with my maid and wanted to use money to motivate her. She refused and asked for trust when I asked her what she needed from me. My next-door neighbour would tell me that my maid would just spend time playing with ds#2 when I'm out... so I do think an unnoticeable item (be it a webcam) would help see what good or bad the maid is doing and you can reward her or encourage her accordingly. Besides the babies are too small to tell u anything. even my 3-yr old have problems narrating an incident to me sometimes.

Chicken_Little, yap, ds1 goes to The Learning Ladder across from 10-mile junction. me no expert. wanting to do more LOs but sadly so far it's only 3 as I'm spending more time on other stuff :-/

can someone advise what's the craze about eyelets? isn't brads and buttons so much easier to use?? sorry, never done eyelets before.

.ky.

been out of touch with the forum this week due to upcoming company stock take today and tomorrow. so jus scanning thru n can't really post much. sorry....

Re:photoshoot
my MIL champion! jus told us last evening got wedding dinner to attend on sunday! so i gotta make the photoshoot a quick one and rush home to change...

Re:talking
my gal is one chatty baby. she can now say:
"ah ma, ai-yah(the maid), mum-mum, daddy, ki-ki(my dog), mummy (very rare), baby, ah-hwee(my BIL hahaha), everyday (i keep asking her wat happen everyday??, oh....

i kept reminding hb to watch his *&%^$ language in front of her..

keke, figures are coming in liao...catch up later again.

Well mamachan,

i have a friend who told the maid that she has install web cam.. each time she come home and ask what the bb has taken for meals and if he has shower.. can you guess what she say.. see the cam lar ..why ask me..

Yesterday JW woke up at 4.30am suddenly and decided that the shadows on the ceilings are really funny and interesting. He started talking and pointing to the ceiling. After a while, he got more awake and then started kicking and banging his legs on the bed happily. Then he proceed to get into a sitting position. Faintz...

Me and hb tried to put him back to a sleeping position, but he will just get up again, all the while smiling and talking to himself. Don't know how long he kept it up coz both hb and myself so tired that we fell asleep. 1st thing we woke up is ask each other..."wat time he zzz ah", only to realise neither of us is looking after him. ;p

Heng he nv try to crawl off the master bed....

Tracy,

Talking
coz i overheard my 3 years old boy using this word "ta ma de"..i think he learnt the these from my hb when he is talk. Now we really watch out our word when talking.

SH,
You mean JW alos co sleep with you...

Rena - wow, tat maid superb wor,talk as if she very 'sak sak' aiyo...

Tracy - oh my... megan is so smart, can say so many words! my gal stil at single syllables and the occasional once in a rainbow moon - double syllables.. her fave lately is da-da.. and when her barney VCD ends wf the TV screen being blank, she will yell loudly EH! eh.. ar! eh... *faintz* was fighting wf her daddie over Tv yest, HB wanted to watch LOST vcd but his dear gal wants Barney... end up HB lost! hahahah
cos he cant stand her going eh eh,ar ar... hee

Tracy,

You are so right to do that. I always stare and told my hb off when he goes %%8&&@@ in the car. Told him he wouldn't want Aden to pick up these as first words. Charmaine will oso go " Daddy, that is a bad word, cannot say like that leh"

I'm new to this thread. Facinating to hear about all your experiences! My son's 10 months now and he still replies on sucking(me) to sleep. Want to wean him off but not sure what's the best way. Any advice?

Hi Ivane,

Welcome to this super active thread. When is your son's bday and what is his name ?

My neighbour's son 3 years old still sucking to sleep oso. Hmm very tough, u mind using pacifier as substitue ?

wanted to post a map of Eco gardens where we'll be doing photoshoot, but I think too small, haha... maybe I will attach it in the Yahoo gorups

Basically, you either go in by SMU or junction at Serene centre, at CLuny Park road. There's a smallish car park at Cluny park road, sometimes may be tough to find parking, but can still try... if not, then can park at old SMU, I hope the car park there still can park!

My son's name is Matthew and he was born on 19th Jan. Don't really like the idea of pacifier. Anyways, I did let him try try for fun and he hated it
. Nothing beats the real thing I guess. Heard of the let-him-cry-to-sleep method. Is it advisable? Very xin-tia one leh.....

Sl
It was nice meeting you last night and your gal is very sweet :>

I let aidan try on the wings last night (with rompers) - have to distract him, if not, he will be tugging at the wings. I think we will have an interesting sight on Sunday, when all the babies have their wings on. Looking forward to meeting everyone here for the 1st time!

kao_welcome.gif
Ivane

Cheng - here's a pic of celeste in her play yard at my inlaws',bit blur cos using HP to take... hws aidan in the yard? look forward to seeing u too on Sunday!
588579.jpg

Let the maid know abt webcam in Denmy's home
=============================
1) MamaChan
2) SY

Don't let the maid know
========================
1) SSF
2) Wenyl (tats the whole purpose of a webcam. Haahaa! Cos they come in small & unnoticable sizes)
3) wennykoh
4) Chicken Little
5) God's child
6) sleepingdeer

actually this is a question i asked my fren before and she said she will let the maid know. i can't remember the explanation she gives me but the maid will know that there is a deterrent. the webcam serves more as a deterrent than a monitoring tool in fact.

another fren who installed told me to install one pointing to the door. she did that so that her maid knows she can see if she tries to go out.

ivane
hi welcome, i used to have this problem that my bb needs to suck to sleep. what u can do is to get someone else to put him to bed. do it for a few nights. last week i fell quite sick so due to circumstance, my bb kicked this habit. it will take a few days and u need to be very determined. no matter how much he wants to latch after i was well, i did not give in.

cookie
abt co-sleeping, pple have different views. it's true that some kids end up not wanting to sleep on their own when they are older. i used to take a strong view agst it until one of my VP told me his story. he and his wife also agst it until one day, his daughter fell from the cot while trying to climb out to go to them at night. from them on, they let her co-sleep. and when she reached a certain age, his wife explained to the daughter and managed to get her to sleep in her own room.

tracy
megan is so smart!! JH only started saying mama and only when he is upset that i walk away..haha...the rest is still baby talk

yah man, i always tell my hb to watch his language in front of him!! and he still forgets. told him i must fine him next time

ivane - welcome! welcome! btw we are having a birthday bash for all jan 06 babies in end jan or early feb. pls feel free to join us as well. watch out this space for more details to the party

wendy_koh - the diapers will arrive on tues noon..so will sms u again. and thanks for giving me the nepia seals
any mummies who don;t need it, can pass to me ya. i will pay for the postage.

Making Memories Deluxe Tool Kit

In case mummies are wondering what is the diff between deluxe and the normal kit. Making Memories Deluxe Tool Kit includes:
craft knife,
6 crafty knife replacement blades,
glue pen,
hammer,
hole punch with 3 head sizes,
universal eyelet setter with 4 different heads, tweezers,
set of 4 needles ? 1 large, 1 medium, and 2 small,
paper piercer deluxe, stylus, 6?
metal ruler, and a black setting mat
Comes in convenient metal case.
588609.jpg

Normal Tool Kit for comparison
Eyelet setter
Hammer
2 paper needles
Round-ended pliers
Interchangeable hole punch
Reverse-action tweezers
Paper piercer
Tin case
588617.jpg

Did a table for easy comparison. Hope it is correct

<table border=1><tr><td>Tools</TD><TD>Deluxe</TD><TD>Normal </TD></TR><TR><TD>craft knife,6 crafty knife replacement blades,</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>glue pen,</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>hammer,</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>hole punch </TD><TD>3 Head Sizes</TD><TD>Interchangeable </TD></TR><TR><TD>universal eyelet setter </TD><TD>4 different heads</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tweezers</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>paper piercer deluxe, </TD><TD>4 needles</TD><TD>2 needles </TD></TR><TR><TD>stylus, 6?</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>metal ruler, and a black setting mat</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>Comes in convenient metal case.</TD><TD>Metal</TD><TD>Tin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Round-ended pliers</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

somehow your play yard looks much bigger than mine :> Aidan enjoys playing with the door, he likes to swing it inwards and out. I will try to post a picture tonight :p

Look forward to seeing you and Celeste too.

Re: MWL Power of 3

purchase any 3 items of the same brand and shall entitle to 25% discount. promotion till end of Nov.

** Cutterpede - ~$44 after discount, originally $58+
1) Denmy
2) May
3) Cheng

** MM Deluxe Tool kit - $67.46 after discount, originally $89.95
1) mamachan
2) Denmy
3) Flo

** MM Normal Tool Kit - ~$50 after discount, originally $60+
1) chickenlittle
2) Rena
3) Rachel

mamachan/denmy/Flo
do let me know whether you will stick with getting the deluxe tool set yah. got to inform MWL on the amount of set we getting.

mamachan
fyi, for Frequent Shopper Member card, after the 25% discount, no stamps will be issue. i checked the flyer last night. only for their Scrapaholics Anonymous Member, stamps will be issue after 25% discount.

Cheng - cos i din make it in a rectangular shape... i actuali make it a big diamond where theres more space for her to walk... ( as in holding the panels and walk

Re : Neo Garden
The 20% promo ends on 15 Dec wor.. the girl says even if we order now,also canot... cos they cant tell if the 20% stil applicable then... gota check closer to date..sigh... hope it will stil continue...

God's child,

Neo Garden. Usually it will continue or lower to 15%. Any case, you can oso use my VIP card for 10% if required. I think the transport fee will be waived for 50 pax n above.

Ivane
a BIG welcome! Matthew is born on the same day as my boy, Dylan =)

do come in here often as our thread runs real fast!!

as for the cry-out method, did that to my dylan and it took him 3 days to get the idea that he could to fall asleep on his own. the first night took him 45mins, second night 30mins, third night around 15mins. in the past when i still BF him, he oso need me to latch him on inorder to fall asleep. now he can fall asleep on his own and sleep through the night. of coz, its up to you to decide whats best for you and matthew =)

Re: toolkit (deluxe vs normal)

just to share my views (I have the deluxe one)
- if choosing between deluxe and normal, one major difference is that the deluxe has different heads for the eyelet setter - this means that you can use eyelets of different sizes. for the normal set, you can only use the std size.

You can also consider just buying the setter instead of whole set. I think I saw the eyelet setter at $20+ (I saw at the Art Frenzy store). I find that besides the eyelet setter, I have not used any other tools from the kit :p

Just to share my experiences, hope this helps!

god's child
i use another caterer called seyu which is quite good. comparable to neo garden and they are flexible abt no of pax. heard from some other pple govt functions also use them. if u wan the contact let me know.

Chicken little,

seems like the delux more worth hor.. what to get the delux? if get delux is it necessary to buy the cutter?

racheal,
i believe that you will be having class for the basic and advance.. you think i can just join with out paying for the basic.. you think they can cham siong? as i have the materials huh?

Tracy ,

Could you pass me the receipt and materials on sunday? thanks

pls help if you can, to circulate around:

MISSING DOGS
588672.jpg

Since 22-November-2006 / Last seen @ Pandan Loop
IF YOU HAVE THEM OR ANY INFO PLEASE CALL US AT

9068-3600 / 9850-3369 / 6278-8456

THEY ARE OUR FAMILY

PLS HELP US

THANK YOU

Chicken little ,

you got the vip card .. can borrow? but applicable or not.. for christmas season?

btw i decided to use for neo gardens for the major birthday instead of rasel as rasel only offer the chirstmas menu..

Rena
Wah@! Your fren's maid really attitude! Obviously from the episode could tell she has attitude problems. If it's for me, I would warn her that the monitor is for me to do random checks to make sure all are well at home, not that I don't trust her, it's our way of doing things. If she's not happy with that, then bye bye!

Welcome Ivane!
Yes yes, welcome to you. Like what SSF said, we're planning for a combined birthday bash for the Jan bbs. Hope you can join us. It's like a big gathering for all of us here.

RE: Tool Kit..
Urgh.. too busy this morning cannot reply in time. Wanted to get the Making Memories Deluxe Tool Kit leh. Anymore pple want to share or withdrawing?

CHickenlittle
I realise my co din block SM ... maybe ytd networl problem.

Re: Sleeping problem
Sunny/SY/Sleeping deer Chicken little
Thanks for sharing...
I do have a routine with Kaelyn, will dim light, soft music, milk , cuddle abit... she will row on the bed and fell asleep except all these happen on our bed and not hers.

she has history regurgitation of her milk... any excessive crying will end up making her vomit. We usually carry her over to our bed after she sleep.
These days she is such a light sleeper... when we try to carry her.. she wake up immediately.
I should tink of how to correct this behaviour soon, without her crying excessively.

Kaelyn has no problem falling alseep on her own.. it's just the place that is the problem.
She dun require patting or carrying or rocking from young... just need a big space to roll around till she sleep. I din see it a problem when she was younger.

Perhaps the cot seem like captivity to Kaelyn thats why I'm thinking of perhaps letting her sleep on her own matteress might be a better idea.
I was mostly worried when co sleep with kaelyn that why everynite I have disturb sleep.. cos I dun dare to change postiion much in case I squeeze her.
kaelyn toss and turn alot too... not sure if she has disturbed sleep too.
the one who sleep like a log is my HB... snoring away.

Last nite I was so angry with HB. Cos I told him.. he wan co-sleeping just becos it's easy way out for him. Becos I'm the one with sleep with Kaelyn during the early nites.. while he continue to watch his TV and PC outside. He sleep soundly at nite while I have to worry the whole nite in case one of us squash Kaelyn.
Anyway since he wans co-sleeping, fine. He will be the one to sleep with her during early nites while I be free to do my things and truely watch a TV program.

During my MIL trip to China this Sunday... hope we can adjust Kaelyn back to her cot sleeping.

Rena and any mummies who needs the Neo garden's discount, can quote as Angie Oi, no: 06050184 exp Apr 2007.

Now I very blur about the tool liao. Buy deluxe scare a lot of things never use leh. I think it does not matter how many get deluxe, or normal just need 3 products from same brand mah.

For me I oredi have craft knife and mat liao so dun need mah. so for me normal better and I am considering getting the instant setter from clare's fren so should be enuff liao

RE: Maid
I heard from my friend that she just found out that her maid went out at the middle of the night. Cos last Friday, she happened to wake up and went kitchen to drink water..normally she dun. Then she heard the door open.. at first she is quite scared.. hide behind and see. Was surprised to see her Filipino Maid of 3mths coming into the house.
When she ask where she go? The maid say went downstairs to chat with a maid (whom my friend know). Then my friend say what's there to talk at the middle of night and how long has she been doing this secretly.. leaving her son in the room sleeping by himself. Then the maid say..just chatting, cannot sleep so meet downstair cooler. This is the first time.
My friend is so mad that now at night, she changed the lock. Then she have decided to change maid. Now shortlisting.
Sigh.. make me scared of hiring maid already.

Chickenlittle ,

then i will get the delux set lor..

RE: fall

Elijah had a fall again.. he was standing on the bed holding on to my knee cap but suddenly he lost balance and fell on my knee cap then his lips and gums bleed.. i am so scared to see so much blood on the tissue..

It's the 1st time I browse thru this thread. Wow... this thread run real fast!!!
Btw, I saw so mummies mentioned abt photoshot. Wat is it hah? Jus kpo hee...

rena
fyi, i did asked MWL regarding your case. the answer is NO. thats their policy, since the notice was given less than 48 hours. i tired my best. hope you understand.

btw, due to unable to meet the minimum headcount, the Basic class has to be cancel...

re: 11th Dec Scrapbooking Workshop
i had sent out email regarding the payment. please check, thanks.

re: MM Tool Kit
like what chickenlittle mentioned, we just need to get items under the same brands in set of 3's inorder to enjoy their 25% discount.

pls let me know asap. thanks!