(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Morning Mummies!

re: **Wings**
measured Dylan last night, from floor level to his shoulder. its 29cm. think for Dylan, Clare's feather wing will do just fine. but... Dylan is a 90 percentile baby. or you can say he is a big built baby.

for smaller built baby, Clare's feather wing might be too big.

SSF
dont worry, i had took care of Dylan all by myself 3 days too and im proud of myself =p so if Rachel can do it, so can you!! hahaha jia you!

Rena
Elijah sure is sweet looking, oh yes, he is looking more n more like his papa.

queen,
I was an Air Traffic Controller with CAAS for 3 years but I left in 2000 cuz I developed some hearing problems. It was really nice working at Changi Control Tower. Can see sunset sunrise at work too. Anyway, its not as glamourous a job as the public thinks it is. Too much of office politics and predominantly male so the pilots are always very delighted to hear female voices. However, there're some nasty grouchy pilots who thinks female controllers can be bullied, so, gotta manage these people. Maybe its a blessing in diguise u didn't get the job. BTW, it comes with a 6 year bond.

MamaPanda,
Really! Wow! The reason why I wanted to be ATC cos I have this fascination with aeroplanes. Don't ask me why. Wanted to do Aeronautical Engineering in UK after 'A'-levels but that time Asian financial crisis so decided to stay in Singapore instead. Didn't have the opportunity to go into Aerospace industry after graduation.
Hmm, office politics? Like backstabbing and all? I'm used to male dominated environment, even now in my current Engg job, 90% of my colleagues are male. Even now, with a baby and all, I'm actually thinking whetehr should apply again. But it will be difficult right? Anyway, did you have to pay compensation for breaking teh bond?

queen,
I was released of the bond due to my medical condition so I didn't have to pay anything. Well, I liked Air traffic control but it can be quite disheartening at times, esp on the days when u have to work on public holidays and weekends. The working hours are in a 4 day cycle as such :

Day 1: 1pm - 8pm
Day 2: 8am - 1pm , 8pm - 8am (day 3)
Day 4: off

So, if u're unlucky, you may be working on all the public holidays. Also, at least once a month you'll be working on both saturday and sunday. Also, if your off-day is on a weekend, be prepared to be recalled for duty as you'll be on standby. The perk is, you'll be paid quite a lot (2.5x or 2x your daily pay, cant remem) if you're recalled. Also, once a month you'll be off on sat and sun. The best thing is you get to shop and watch moviews on weekdays without the crowd cuz your off days are mostly on a weekday :p

Mamapanda,

then do you happen to know a lady call corrina?

Rachel,

Just before going ot church i comb an a toot hairstyle for elijah .. and let him wear his new clarks shoes and he look good.. so handsome hor.. pp say he look like 2 year old rather than 10 mths

rena
I might if she was there from 1998 - 2000. She's from Tower, SATC or Seletar? I remember faces more than names though cuz its been so many years. If u got her photo, I'll be able to identify her. Btw, u still haf our old marymount photos? I wanna see

Can i check with you where you got the famous Lo Mai Kai at Tabb's gathering from? I suddenly am craving for it... TIA.

rachel - ur cruise is today rite? enjoy ur first trip abroad wf dylan!!! have fun and must post pics for us to see when u r back k!

Rena - handsome handsome... wow, he has got so many clothes... how big is his wardrobe???

denmy - haha having cravings so early into your pregnancy. hee..

ak - ok thanks for the tips on bringing sea sick pills. that reminds me of my return trip early this yr to Bintan also and I was feeling nauseous. Almost at the verge of vomitting. I be sure to bring some this time round. thanks!

queen - wow..they really tekan you. after all that and say you are not eligiable just because you are not Singaporean. aiyoh, didnt they check your resume in the first place? ya its making me sick too after the interview. really wasting precious time i could use to spend with my precious son.

rena - i agree your son really have your deep dimples. hehee...hmm..now, he looks more like you lei. he looks so grown up with his hair gel to the side.

babylon - hang in there! there will be better jobs available in the market.

rachel - told my hb yesterday if he can postpone his biz trip till my mum returns and he said most likely can. as i seriously don;t think i can handle with him alone for 48 hrs. i will go berserk. haha...

Rena...no problem...just letting you know in case there is a bug in your email....

SSF...no problem, cos i experienced it real bad last round so dun wan you to suffer....worse of all, the cruise ship i was on, i think 2 engines broke down so they had to go on the remaining 2 engines and hence it took twice as long to reach...wah biang...can die....

Haha Demny,
your little one is giving you cravings liao? THe Lo Mai Kai is from Tiong Bahru, from the famous Pau? Mamachan got it....

RE: Gathering for SAHM and FTWM / PTWM ( those who are on leave)
Think Mamachan and one one more mommy, was it Chicken little? They said maybe they can make it...

We will be going to vivio city.. on friday at 2 pm.. those who wish to join plesase update your name so we know who to expect.

1) rena + bb
2) sleeping deer + bb
3) wenyl + bb

Denmy
Yes yes, I got the famous Lor Mai Kai form the Tiong Bahru Pau store at Tiong Bahru Market. They have one more branch towards Outram MRT.

RE: Gathering for SAHM and FTWM / PTWM ( those who are on leave)
Think Mamachan and one one more mommy, was it Chicken little? They said maybe they can make it...

We will be going to vivio city.. on friday at 2 pm.. those who wish to join plesase update your name so we know who to expect.

1) rena + bb
2) sleeping deer + bb
3) wenyl + bb
4) MamaChan + bb

babylon,

that is great news.. good luck to you...
cheers...

SSF,

hee hee i did not gel his hair but while his hair is still wet i comb it to one side.. hee hee

re: wings
going by the measurements, clare's wings seem a bit big. How abt the wt? if the wings are heavy, would the babies topple over?

rena,
sumo's really a mature looking baby! He reminded me of Hao Shaowen...

Hihi mummies,

juz wondering if there's anymore slots available for scrap booking? i'm interested leh...

rena,
i oso bot the same clarks shoes for edgar. so cute ya! =D

Sharing some quotes i've got:

Cafe @ SIM Namly by Kriston Catering.
- check out the photos at www.kriston.com and go to the Namly Cafe.
- basically its $400 for rental of the venue for 4hrs. this includes tables, chairs, skirting etc. (based on my request for 100pax)
- food is per head, and dependent on the menu selected.Ranging from $16-$28 per head for cocktail or lunch.

CJS Catering
- have used this caterer for couple of family functions. food is not bad.
- ranging from $8 to $15 per head.
- drinks at $0.60 per head
- transport charge $25.

Mummies interested in the menu, pls PM me.

tjhin
U hvae to resize the photos such that the file size is less than 60kb. A rough estimate would be a file size of 300x200 pixels, depending on the quality of your photo.

Celine77
you wan to join in? do give me a ring or sms. i will be away from tonight to friday. if you are interested, i need to let MWL know so they can prepare the material pack. PM you my contact.

SH
thanks for reminding me about the timing

#Tupperware Party 2# - This Sunday, 12th November 2006
3 places available for those who wanna join in the fun.

Tupperware Party 2 @ MamaChan's place @ Redhill, 12th Nov, Sunday. (Limited to 10 families due to space constraint)
Time: 2:30pm

Features:
Cooking Demo of peanut cake.

1) Rachel + hb + bb *Coming!, preparing cereal for Dylan*
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb~Coming!, no need porridge
3) Chicken Little + hb + bb + my 4 y.o Gal Coming!Yes to porridge but dun need a lot because Aden very unpredictable
4) Rena + hb + bb -coming! yes to porridge
5) Tracy + hb + bb - coming! no need porridge.
6) Wenyl + bb only. No need dinner. Tks!
7) SH + bb+ HB (coming! yes to porridge)
8)
9)
10)

Bumper playmats:
1) MamaChan - 1 piece
2) Rachel - 1 piece
3) Angie - 1 piece

Refreshments:
1) Polar Puffs - Chicken and Curry Puffs
2) Tiong Bahru Char Siew Pao
3) Drinks - Tracy

Mummies on the list, kindly update if you can make it. The offer for your bb's share of porridge still stands. Just let me know.

Went to the shop of that push cart stall which I found in Bugis. Found out they also have the wings that Clare has found. The feather wings' dimension at 40 cm by 33 cm. BP price at $15, original $20 but need to choose properly, because I chose this out of 3, some turn yellowish, she says she has 50 pieces for us to choose from.

Front and Back of the wings I saw at the stall
570495.jpg
570496.jpg

Front and back of the wings Clare found
570497.jpg
570498.jpg

Aden posed in the wings, front, side, back view. 1 front view of the wings I saw. Hubby feels that the feather one better , the one I found more like dragonfly.

570499.jpg
570500.jpg

570501.jpg
570502.jpg

I feel the strap around the arms will not be comfortable and Aden has red patches on his back after I removed the wings. Better to wear romper then the wings

I WANT THE FEATHER WING!! oppps..orry abt the cap cos I'm excited

Aden look so cute just like little Angel!!

oh but poor thing... he has a bandage on his hand??

Hi Chicken Little,
wow, thanks so much for the demo, and Aden as the model, so adorable! I think the feather wings are a all right size huh? I agree the butterfly wings makes him look like a dragonfly...

How mommies? I love the feather wings too....

Hi Sleepingdeer,

That is the smallest feather wing in the shop. Well we can always make a trip after the scrapbook class to choose.

She has many other wings , more of those fairy ones (butterfly look)

Actually dragonfly looks cool.. hor so far no one try yet. Thanks Chicken little and poor little aden for the demo..

What color are our little ones going to wear? what about the custom made romper? any news

Sleepingdeer
I love the feather wings too.
we can go down to choose the wings on Monday.

Chickenlittle
Do they have 50pc such small wings for us to choose? or their 50pc is of various sizes?
Thanks again... aiyo.. the more I look at Aden the more adorable he is...

Hmm,

Me now enjoying the peace with hb over a cup of tea. Both kids sleeping on their own in their room. Hee Hee.

Cookie,
I never see all the wings, she took it out from a room. She says she has 50 pieces of this particular feather wing for us to choose. This shop is more like a handicraft shop.

Ya actually he din touch the wings at all when he was posing for us. Just trying to crawl which he cant. Banging the floor with his bandaged hand. My hubby oso love it at the first sight. The top is rounded so I cannot feel anything sharp. The ends of the feather are not thick so should not be poking.

Ooohhh! I want the feather wings! Aden looks so adorable! Thanks for taking the trouble to post it up for us to see! Picture speaks a thousand words!

I tink we shld let the babies wear rompers for their comfort. White will be good but I dun have any plain white rompers! Anyone got lobang for rompers with their names printed on it? Then we can easily indentify the babies.

THE WINGS ARE FABULOUS!!!! OOops! Haha, I'm so excited to see little Aden with our wings. Thanks Chicken Little for letting your boy model for us. Really gives us the BEST picture of how the outcome it would be.

Pity Rachel went for her cruise tonight, if not she'll be estatic of the actual live model.

Aden is really such an angel.

I love the feather wings too. Showed my fren and she loves it too
Thanks Chicken Little for modelling Aden in it. He looks fabulous! Hope Aden has a speedy recovery

I think Clare has the contact for the romper rite?

#Tupperware Party 2# - This Sunday, 12th November 2006
3 places available for those who wanna join in the fun.

Tupperware Party 2 @ MamaChan's place @ Redhill, 12th Nov, Sunday. (Limited to 10 families due to space constraint)
Time: 2:30pm

Features:
Cooking Demo of peanut cake.

1) Rachel + hb + bb *Coming!, preparing cereal for Dylan*
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb~Coming!, no need porridge
3) Chicken Little + hb + bb + my 4 y.o Gal Coming!Yes to porridge but dun need a lot because Aden very unpredictable
4) Rena + hb + bb -coming! yes to porridge
5) Tracy + hb + bb - coming! no need porridge.
6) Wenyl + bb only. No need dinner. Tks!
7) SH + bb+ HB (coming! yes to porridge)
8)
9)
10)

Bumper playmats:
1) MamaChan - 1 piece
2) Rachel - 1 piece
3) Angie - 1 piece

Refreshments:
1) Polar Puffs - Chicken and Curry Puffs
2) Tiong Bahru Char Siew Pao
3) Drinks - Tracy

Mummies on the list, kindly update if you can make it. The offer for your bb's share of porridge still stands. Just let me know.

Mamachan,

The porridge is for dinner ? If it is for dinner then dun have to prepare for Aden liao. We have to leave early for the positive baby trial.

WINGS:

Rena, the dragonfly wings, Aden oso posed in it leh. The first pic on the top left is the one in the dragonfly wings.

Customised name romper:
I have more questions on the romper from absolutefaith via my colleague and requested for a pic of the customised name romper. Since 2 Nov no reply, just sent an email to ask my colleague to help chase for answer.

Chicken little,

what i was saying is that no one has every dress there babies as dragonfly before.

RE: Work

Actually i like my work but it seems like i need to do sales too .. frankly i so not mind doing admin work or run errands.. but as i do not have a maid and being able to go to work is really under the mercy of my mil and bil..

It seems like i really can only go to office 1 time a week .haiz..

wow, nice wings ar.
Thanks chickenlittle for letting aden demo on the wings.
I love the feather wings, turns out very well in the pic.

Chiken Little,
Thanks for letting Aden model and showing us the pictures! He looks so angelic!

Do the red patches fade after a while? Does Aden feel uncomforatable wearing the wings on his bare back?

Re. Wings with romper or without
Actually, I still prefer without...

ChickenLittle,
Wow thanks so much for posting the pics... VERY NICE!!! My colleague has resigned moved back to JB and hence was not able to pass me the wing for demo. Thank goodness you found it hee hee... Okie i shall tell my collegue we can get it for $15 n see if she can give us a better price. =)
Btw is the shop at Bugis too??

Re Romper
If we can have plain white with customised name that would be best. Hopefully we can get good news from the supplier soon. I saw white cotton rompers from Mothercare on sale at $15 per pack of 3 last week. Dunno if still availble. Otherwise we will need to start sourcing for plain white ones soon.

Like the feather wings too. Very cute boy u have there chickenlittle. =)

I'll probably go with the majority as to baby's outfit for that day. Will come in and read posting whenever I can. Don't feel too good lately.

Chicken Little & Aden,
Thanks for modelling the wings! Confirm the feather wings are nicer.

i like the idea of romper with customised names.

Sandra,
i hope you are feeling ok. Take Care!

Rena,
will you be ordering Cal Baby anytime soon? Coz my cal cream is finishing, and I intend to order.... if not, can teach me how to order? Perhaps i can do a Bp for our thread only if any other mommy want to order.... doesn't seem to be any BP going on, especially after the eggie incident...

Queen,

Yes the red patches goes off after a while. Actually he feels nothing about the wings, din try to pull it off too.

But I think on the day of photo shoot , the babies will be pulling each other's wing. Ha ha

Sandra take care of yourself. Have a good rest

Clare,

The shop is not at bugis. They used to have a push cart at bugis. Now no more. The actual shop is at Owen Road Blk 44 #01-311

Customised Name Romper:
Aiyo, I kan cheong spider, ask my colleague to chase and I oso sent direct email through webby to ask. Currently their promo price as per web is $12 per piece. But never see the customised piece on web so cannot visualise