(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Miscarriage

Hi mummies, last week, i tested myself positive and due to pains on and off, i decided to visit the gynae for a check. The gynae told me if i had caesarian and pain..she's concerned about ectopic pregnancy. So she did an ultrasound but did not see anything at all..so she said maybe i'm not pregnant. She then had me do a blodd test and it came back positive.

Yesterday, I experienced some pain and later in the afternoon, realised that I was bleeding. I was very worried so went back for another check. Gynae performed another ultrasound though he says its only 5 weeks, may not be able to see anything. Well, true enuf, nothing on scan.. so he says to be safe, we should do another blood test.

He mentioned that blood count ( or something like that) should double every 48 hrs for a pregnant woman. and the test came back, it only increased from 1200-1400
so he says i may have some problem and may have a miscarriage.

i have no idea if i had a miscarriage already or not...talking to the people here is a real killer...its always maybe..maybe,

now i got to wait till sat morning to check and then he says we will decide wat to do from there..so if miscarriage why am i waiting for sat?? wats happening to me?

sl,
that's one of the best thing abt natural birth. can eat immediately! For me, they starved me for very long! I was literally begging to eat cos i was super super hungry. Imagine an emtpy stomach for more than 12hrs.

Mamachan,
your birth experience very similar to mine. same day too. was telling my hb that daren can walk liao. he said oh then hopefully meg soon cos the last time daren crawled first, then meg started a couple of weeks later. Hehe, daren n megan good frens.

Hi esther,

i did encouter before during my during early stage of pregency thr ultrasound cannot see anything. Maybe your next checkout try to drink more water before you went in for ultrasound or alternatively ask for v-scan.
I also did the blood test and was confirmed that i was pregnant.
Btw, did you gynae give you any hormane jab...

esther,
oh dear. are u still in pain?? can u seek a second opinion there? are they trying for natural miscarriage or wat?? sounds quite silly the medical team. update us ok? take care!

hi babylon,

i know that at early stages, sometimes, you cant see anything thru the ultrasound scan..the thing is that my blood did not double as it is supposed to be in a normal case

he didnt give me anything at all...now i dunno anything..just got to wait till sat

i feel hungry after giving birth...worst thing was when i was pushed back to my ward...i think i pass by the kitchen..
those gave birth in gleneagles..did you pass by the kitchen?

tracy,

i have pain on and off...the only other opinion i can go to is this jap gynae and her english is not fantastic...i think i will still have the same problems as with this gynae...i really dunno wat to do now...thanks

Hi Esther

Or maybe you can request the gynae to do the viRgina scan on your next visit. It will be more clearer.

For my case, my gynae was able to see the little sac with a little dot blinking during my 4th week. He once told me that normal U/S on tummy cannot see that.

Hey Esther, if ur pregnancy hormones are still steadily increasing, I think u should still be alright lah. My level was actually 5000, supposed to double if baby was alright. But dropped to 1250 or sumthing after the emergency surgery.That's y doc say I've lost the baby.

Try to relax and rest more k? Importantly, u have to be positive no matter, the outcome. Hang in there. =)

hi sandra,

it's not increasing steadily....for 5 days only increased by 200..so gynae says its not normal...my bleeding has blood clot...i think not much hope...

btw..i hope u are feeling better already

Hi esther,

Dun worry too much, whats most important now is to relax and kip calm (thou its not easy to do it).

Juz wait for the results to come out on saturday.

Oh dear esther, I really hope against all odds that ur pregnancy will make it. Too many bad news lately already. =(

Physically I'm slowly recovering-still feel giddy from the blood lost but otherwise still coping. Emotionally, I still feel sad whenever I think of what I lost. I still tear. But most of the time I dont think about it because my hubby refuse to let me dwell on it- he keeps making me laugh. I guess, the kind of pain I feel can only be understood by other mummies who have experienced the same. Taking each day as it comes.

Funnily, I've been feeling nauseaus lately- dunno why I still hold on to a flicker of hope that baby is still there even though I'm just being silly.

Hi Esther...take care and rest more....relax a bit ...maybe now is too early....dun worry abt "what it should be" cos when I was pregnant, I keep hearing that it shd be this way and that way and it all makes me very worried....I'll pray for you that everything will turn out fine.

Sandra....you take care too....

esther- oh no...sorry to hear about it. I hope you are feeling OK. PLease continue to update is OK? Gee..seems like there are so many problems lately with our Jan's mummies.

Caleb is down with flu and cough and just came back from PD. oh btw Cookie, I saw Kaelyn at the coffee shop with his ah gong..is that ur FIL? hee..she looks so cheerful and bright with her big black eyes

Tracy
Haha. Maybe Daren inspired Megan to do the same? I think babies our age learn from each other and hope to keep up with one another in their playing. I know my gf's 11 month daughter was crawling past Daren very fast when he was just leopard crawling at 7 months, it frustrated him coz he couldn't keep up. Then from there, he started to crawl on his knees, slowly, but soon became very efficient in crawling.

esther
Hang in there k? I'm so sorry that I couldn't offer you any help or solutions online last night.

Sandra Chu
It's really nice of your hb to make you laugh to help take your mind off the matter. Don't worry, if you two are ready for another baby, the Lord will bless you both another bundle of joy, 100-fold return of what you lost. So we'll be looking forward to another Michelin baby in time to come. heh heh

Thanks AK and MamaChan for ur wishes. =) I m really trying to be cheerful and strong. Just that my body is not recovering as fast as I want it to. So m constantly reminded of my loss. Maybe my pregnancy hormones still not settled yet- baby blues without the baby.

Sandra Chu
Hmmm, are you going to do a mini-confinment? Think that might help your body to recover faster. Think DOM will help too, even though I think that was the most nasty drink that I ever had. Tell you something funny, during confinement, my mom asked me to drink DOM. So i happily poured some into a medicine glass (think shot glass), and naively gulped it down as I used to see the models do during TV commercials. I went, "OMG!!!!" I choked and felt my ears and throat burning! My mum and hb saw what happened and laughed, asking why did I do that. I said "Isn't that what they do on TV?? I've been tricked...cheat my feelings only" So from then on, I was really weary of drinking DOM...i think Tequila Shots tastes better. =

Haha... Sophia u're funny. I also kena tricked by it the first time I took it. I'm currently doing a mini confinement but it feels worse somehow. My stitches are really annoying me. Still painful and all. And everytime I get up from bed, I feel giddy. Now I know how u gals must feel after c-section. =)

Sandra,

i know wat you mean...somehow u just feel like it may still be inside..but please do take good care of yourself...u take care of the stitches too ya!

Ak/SSF/Sophia

thank you mummies for all your concern..i just hope now i can get a definite answer by saturday then decide wat to be done then

sandra
your hb is so sweet....trying ot make you laugh so that u will not keep thinking abt what has happened.

hope that u r recovering well. do take good care of yourself and ocme in and update us.

esther
oh dear, so sad. i went thru that as well. at 5 weeks i was having some spotting and when i did the VE, the gynae couldn't see my sac so i had to do the blood test. the hormone level must double to prove the pregnancy.

must really be carefuly what we say and do in front of our babies. my fren told me this story where the parents like to say f*** and in the end the baby's first word is f***

Sandra,

the homones need some time to recover so does your body.. that may be why you feel nause..

Esther,

dun worry too much .. as worry does not help but worsen the case..

Hi Esther

Sorry to hear about your situation. Are you still bleeding? You might wanna consider getting a hormone jab from your gynae. Did she put you on complete bedrest? She's asking you to wait till Sat to try for another ultrasound probably and hoping to see an improvement if foetus is growing. If the baby decides to self-abort, there'd be a lot of bleeding with muscle cramps.

Miscarriages happen in 1 out of 4 pregnancies. This number came from my gynae. I had a miscarriage in between #1 and #2. Before it happened to me, I had complete faith that life wouldn't be so cruel to me but it did. It's very very cruel to say this but if a baby is unhealthy, she'll choose to relief her mummy of that burden, and allow a healthy sibling to come her way. That's how I seek consolation myself. At the time I didn't feel so bad as I had #1. And in comparison to many others who have problems even having 1, I feel blessed. Even healthy mummies have unexpected issues, so there's nothing much that you can or cannot do. I have so many unanswered questions to date coz I've lost more than one baby. I'm still doubtful of how much we know of human life and gynaes certainly do not have all the answers or solutions. btw, I had bleeding for my miscarriage too and when I was preggie with Keith.

I know nothing that one said would ease the pain or the worry ... I always feel very sad when I hear of lost babies.

there's a website for parents who have lost their young ones before http://www.childbereavementsupport.org.sg/

Rena ... nope, I'm not taking the doula course :>

.ky.

Sandra
Hope that DOM incident made you laugh. Do get plenty of bed-rest, try not to walk around too much, really have to trust your MIL this time round to really care for Sarah Mae. My mum made me have alot of bed rest after the c-sect so that I can recover faster. I guess you'll have to nurse Sarah Mae lying down. The stiches will take awhile to heal, be patient yah?

SAHM Gathering
Rena ah, I was looking through the archives to see if I missed out on any info on the SAHM gatherings at Vivo city as mentioned over MSN, dun have leh... maybe next time just post weekly what you girls plan to do and where you all going? So at least if any of us happen to be on leave, can join you ladies =) Is there a fixed day that you all meet nowadays?

esther
i took the blood test and waited 2 days for the result and the result turned out positive. my gynae gave me hormone pills to take everyday until week 8. it was a little scare for us but in my case, things turned out positive.

try not to think too much. a lot of things are beyond us. do take care

esther,
If u want a second opinion, maybe you can try my gynae, Prof Ng Soon Chye. He specialises in fertility problems.

Dear Sandra
I feel that you have been doing very well.. you are calm and strong despite what had happened. keep it up...Continue to stay strong for Sarah... think abt her whenever you feel sad, take your thoughts off.
Your HB is doing a good job to make you laugh and distract you.

Dear Esther
Mean while be very careful or what you do... dun give up hope yet. I hope Sat will be a Good news day for you.
Take care too.

sandra_chu - you may want to get a post c-sect kind of girdle to be put on top of your c sect wound. last time i forgot to put it on and it was so painful and everytime i lie on the bed, i really don;t want to get up as it hurts so badly. but after i put on the girdle, it helps to lessen the pain alot when i move. u may want to consider getting one or lend from any c sect mum here? as for mine, i got it from my cousin so I do not have one. hold on there...you are doing a good job and u are really very strong!

esther_lee - i pray that you will have good news on sat. please update us and don't worry too much!

Mama Chan,

hee hee we got so carried away that we forgot to post.. especially after a long break ..

I do not do if we are still going on friday as Ethan is still unwell and i may need to go office on friday ..

We will do a weekly posting

RE: ELIJAH's BIRTHDAY BASH

I am cordialy inviting all my Jan friends to Elijah's birthday on the 23 Dec.. 90% will be at the East ... location will be advise later.. please mark on your memory.... hee hee...

As i need to prepare for the food, Kindly add on the list.. thanks..

PS: jsut a small gathering for Elijah with his friends for is birthday so no need presents please..

1) Denmy's family
2) Chicken little's family

Slot is available on 12th Nov, Sunday, 4.15pm. Please indicate if you can make it. Thanks!

Re: Positive Babies Trial

Cost: Trial session @ $26.25 / 8 sessions @ $210

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Clare
6. Queen (how much & when?)
7. Flo
8. Cindy
9. Denmy
10. Sunny
11. ky

Esther,
Sad to hear that. Have more bedrest at the meantime. Don't worry so much..we will wait for ur good news on Sat.

Hi Tracy,
think I will try it again with Shannon as the last time was 2 months ago... hope she still enjoy it as before.

Slot is available on 12th Nov, Sunday, 4.15pm. Please indicate if you can make it. Thanks!

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Clare
7. Flo
8. Cindy
9. Denmy
10. Sunny
11. ky
12. sleepingdeer

Hi Esther,
sorry to hear that,try to rest as much as possible since you are spotting... during the first 10 weeks of my pregnancy, I was bleeding almost every day. My gynae gave me hormone jabs as well as pills... have to say it was a very scary experience, going to the toilet everytime to check is heart stopping.... hang in there, don't worry too much...

Sandra,
SSF is right, you can get a girdle to 'hold' the wound in its place, it really helps alot. Rest well!

Mamachan,
haha, yup, we were supposed to go Vivocity tomorrow, but Ethan is feeling unwell, so probably postponed to next week.... SAHM, when is a good day? Next friday, 230pm onwards?

cookie,
Oh ya.. I forgot.. Professional medical help in Vietnam is abit restricted..

Esther
Will u be considering coming back to Singapore? I also had bleeding duringmy 6th week and my gynae warned me that I'm in the danger of a spontaneous abortion so I had to be given hormone jabs twice weekly - one in the tummy and one in the bum - until my 13th week. It was quite a nightmare but all turned out well.

hey esther,
sad to read about your situation. I cannot give much advise except to rest well and have a positive mindset. Not all is lost at this point of time, hope is still around!

Erm.. are we having the tupperware Party on 12th Nov?

rena
so exciting and time really flies!!! i will check with hb whether we can make it cos my dad's bday is on 22nd so i also need to check on when we are celerbating

how's your job so far?

re vivocity outing
hmm, maybe i can join u guys next week cos i will be on leave. just back from my trip and will be on leave. let me know the time

i having problems logging onto MSN. so missing out a lot!!

Tracy

1. Chicken Little
2. SY (oK)
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Clare
7. Flo
8. Cindy
9. Denmy
10. Sunny
11. ky
12. sleepingdeer

Sleepingdeer,
So i put u as OK for 12th Nov?

1. Chicken Little
2. SY-OK
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Clare
7. Flo
8. Cindy
9. Denmy
10. Sunny
11. ky
12. sleepingdeer-OK

Hey gals thanks for all the encouragement, the girdle sounds like a good idea-but I think I can still tahan a while more lah. My main problem is the dizziness and the weak feeling. Realy wish I can take a pill and get all my strength back. Hee... I don't know if C-sect is the same as Laparotomy (different from laparoscopy), but they could be similar lah.

Rena, count me in
PS: jsut a small gathering for Elijah with his friends for is birthday so no need presents please..

1) Denmy's family
3) Sandra's family

SAHM gatherings-

Would join u gals the moment I can. Really think I need to go out and walk walk to clear my head.

Esther,

i was also given hormane job during my pregency (damien) coz i am having spotting and also due to my last miscarriage.

Mamapanda, a laparoscopy is a small operation compared to a laparotomy. Gynae at first wanted to do a laparoscopy but because I was dying, he had no choice but to do a laparotomy instead cos it's faster to cut me open across the abdomen to stop the bleeding and repair whatever that is damaged.

1. Chicken Little- OK if the instructor allow Aden to attend with a bandage.
2. SY-OK
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Clare
7. Flo
8. Cindy
9. Denmy
10. Sunny
11. ky
12. sleepingdeer-OK

sandra_chu - yes my c sect wound is also near the bikini line. i guess its the same. yeah go ahead and take a breather. you well deserve a break!

Rena - wow..sumo is turning one! time flies indeed!!! OK, I will put my name down. I shld be able to attend if there is no last minute pre xmas party or my hb not travelling.

1) Denmy's family
3) Sandra's family
4) SSF's family