(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY/durianlover
for me, i did not feel anything when they inserted the urine catheter. but was abit pai sey, as in it took quite sometime to clear my blabber. the midwife was like standing there waiting and end up she left to get something and when she was back, i could still heard water pouring out into the container... *faint*

ak
me too. was quite lost when the midwife said i am ready to push. cant feel much below my waist and i took quite sometime to get the hang of pushing.

Durain lover
I can't agree more with you... the Urine catheter is horrible... the cervical examinations is worst!
I had induced epi and natural... I hate the cervical examinations most. I susepct I might have some tear around Vaginal after endless time of check over 17-19hrs (canot rem)

I saw the headings of the article by baby centre.. should we dicipline our babies...
but I din get to read it cos my off ban baby centre website...grrrhhh

Ok will take note cannot smack baby...for the few times we smack her, she dun seems to be bothered at all.

Sunny
I dun dare to tell my MIL to mind her language and action... I'm afraid she will get defensive as if I'm saying she is teaching kaelyn bad things.

Rachel
Ok Lunch together...
I thought we suppose to check out spotlight and even check out the wings!

SH
i think like what tracy said, can get a push-walker that could be converted into a rider. for dylan, he seldom push his push walker too. instead of pushing it to walk, he insist on climbing onto it *faint* so currently he play with the activity panel more.

agree with what you think, me too refuse to use walker and my mum did not insist. my mum will place him in the exersaucer when she got to do some housework. athough he will complaint but no choice for him la. =p

tracy
which hosp were u at and who's your gynae? My tablet for inducing was inserted by my gynae. The cervical examination was quite a terrible experience but the breaking of the water bag and insertion of the tablet was ok for me. I delivered in Glene and my gynae prof Ng is very experienced. My colleague whose boy is 12 this year was also delivered by him.

SY/durianlover,
yes, I totally agree with you that the insertion of the urine catheter was the worse experience. I can hardly remember the labour pain even though mine was without epi and my gynae has to remove my placenta physically with his hands cos mine stuck to the uterus but I really dislike the feeling the insertion of the catheter.
I also can't urine after labour but the nurse said they will have to insert back the catheter and I was like, "oh no, relax relax" and finally can urine. phew!

ky, I didn't know IUD is like that, that is no difference from abortion. so sad.

babylon,

i give birth on the 29th .. so we may be room mates too..haha

KY,

are you taking the doula course?

Chicken little,

Where did you give birth?

Re : Giving birth
wow, seems like taking epi is also a very bad experience hor... eeekkkks... well, thankfully and miraculously,i went natural wfout epi and survived... well for me, was a mind game - kept telling myself if my mum can go and have 3 wfout it, y shld i??? anyway,when i wanted to take epi,was also too late la... aldy 8cm. pain like siao! HB also dumb dumb stand beside me and dun even dare to see when my contractions came. i was holding on to the bed rail so hard and scratching it!!! the urine catheter sounds horrible...

Mamapanda,
i gave birth in TMC. Gynae's Dr. Yvonne Soong, same as some of the gals here.

Re:Urine Catheter
eh...didn't feel anything when they inserted that in. my fren was saying when removing also very pain but i didn't feel anything also. jus remembered the nurse said take a deep breath, then she pulled it out.

re: Healthy Times BP
had faxed in the list last evening, waiting for them to get back to me on the stock. meanwhile, can indicate your perfered collection method? thanks

1) Bukit panjang, Senja rd (night time & weekends)
2) CCK, ave 3 (weekday)
3) IMM (working hour)
4) tupperware party 12Nov
5) Scrapbooking workshop 13Nov

1. Rena -13Nov
2. Denmy -13Nov
3. Sleepingdeer -13Nov
4. God's child
5. Wenyl
6. Sysac
7. Mamachan -12Nov
8. Durianlover -Senja rd
9. Mamapanda -Senja rd

RE: Urine Catheter
It is painful when they pull it out. Insert it is ok as I have contraction at that time.

RE: Scrapbook Class Lunch
I won't be joining u all for the lunch.

had faxed in the list last evening, waiting for them to get back to me on the stock. meanwhile, can indicate your perfered collection method? thanks

2) CCK, ave 3 (weekday)
3) IMM (working hour)

1. Rena -13Nov
2. Denmy -13Nov
3. Sleepingdeer -13Nov
4. God's child -senja road
5. Wenyl
6. Sysac
7. Mamachan -12Nov
8. Durianlover -Senja rd
9. Mamapanda -Senja rd

gods child
NO wor. I say epidural is very good. Effortless birthing experience for me. Just watch tv, chit chat, sleep and wait. Like I mentioned, I did not take full epidural but half epidural so I can feel the contractions coming and timed my own pushing so it was very fast n painless. I was also walking within 6 hrs and sitting down almost 1 hr post labour. If I have a #2, i'll still opt for epidural cuz less stress to mother n baby.

heehee mamapanda,
next bb i will still try and go all natural without epidural. Din manage to do it the 1st time, hopefully by 2nd bb, i can do it! hahaha

My experience with Natural birth

In fact natural without epidural is not so scary leh. I went thru natural w/o epidural, the pain was jus like a mixture of menses cramp + food poisoning kind of stomach cramp. Still durable for me

One reason could be bcos my menses is always veri painful thats why I'm immuned to this kinda pain lo. I will always be on MC due to cramps from my menses. Therefore, quite lucky my menses only comes in every 5-6 months. Super irregular.

2) CCK, ave 3 (weekday)
3) IMM (working hour)

1. Rena -12Nov
2. Denmy -13Nov
3. Sleepingdeer -13Nov
5. Wenyl
6. Sysac
7. Mamachan -12Nov
8. Durianlover -Senja rd
9. Mamapanda -Senja rd

Rachel,
mine should be on 12 so i correct it already..hb say i kiasu buy so many.. i buy first mah if not want to go japan then cannot find

Strange, I don't seems to remember the urine catheter....hmmm....is it possible i didn't have it...or maybe the epidural took away all the sensation. I super ks...go in only less than 15min ask for epi liao ;p

Thanks for the advice on the push walker. Maybe I go hunt see if got cheap ones

2) CCK, ave 3 (weekday)
3) IMM (working hour)

1. Rena -12Nov
2. Denmy -13Nov
3. Sleepingdeer -13Nov
5. Wenyl - 12 Nov
6. Sysac
7. Mamachan -12Nov
8. Durianlover -Senja rd
9. Mamapanda -Senja rd

2) CCK, ave 3 (weekday)
3) IMM (working hour)

1. Rena -13Nov
2. Denmy -13Nov
3. Sleepingdeer -13Nov
4. God's child
5. Wenyl
6. Sysac - CCK or Senja Rd
7. Mamachan -12Nov
8. Durianlover -Senja rd
9. Mamapanda -Senja rd

our orders are in! they will deliver by this friday. so those collecting from me over the weekend can do so. payment wise, got to wait for them to inform me of the final figure after discount.

Collection point:
2) CCK, ave 3 (weekday)
3) IMM (working hour)

1. Rena -12Nov
2. Denmy -13Nov
3. Sleepingdeer -13Nov
4. God's child - senja road
5. Wenyl -12Nov
6. Sysac - CCK or Senja Rd
7. Mamachan -12Nov
8. Durianlover -Senja rd
9. Mamapanda -Senja rd

cookie
we remind her in a way that ALL OF US have to watch out when we talk and do things in front of baby. we didn't specifically refer to her. haha... also scare that she got offended.

re: giving birth
me went thru natural birth with pethidine. thankfully, everything went well and i managed to zzz for abt 2 hrs or mayb i felt drowsy after the injection. the labour hour is about 9hrs. i find that massaging the back during contraction really helped. hb was the massager that day. haha...

Re: Giving Birth
I also asked for epidural after 2 hours of very regular contraction pains. HB was the one who asked me to take actually cos he say see me so xin ku. The pain came so frequent with short breaks in between I thot I was about to give birth soon, but the nurse told me I was only 2 cm dialated I immediatly gave up... cannot imagine another 8 more hours of even worse pain! I would say ABSOLUTELY NO REGRETS hee hee... cos I was able to relax n sleep, HB also slept and I was concious through out short labour and was even able to see BB clearly (wearing specs) in her gooey state n even recognised MY NOSE on my little precious when she was brought to me hee hee... will defitely opt for epi again for no. 2. =)

But still... I must say I TOTALLY SALUTE those who went without epi... I had the easy way out so I know I won't dare NOT opting for it the next time round. =P

I went thru 13 hr labour and after 4 hrs, nurses tell me still got 6 hours to go, i tht make my money's worth, betta go for epi. So funny cos the lady next door apparently never go for epi and screaming the place down and the nurses were complainin.

Babylon, Glene got osim chair? My ward dun have leh....my hubby just slept thru out my labour cos i went in at 2 a.m.

Mamapanda,

got half epi???? Sounds like a good option hor? I was so numb i cant even turn my legs! regarding carthether...not much recollection

Re WINGS
So how mummies?? Can we decide or mummies want to go concourse see the wings n decide only after 13 Nov?? I checked with my colleage. She said ordering from her after the 13 shouldn't be a problem but it would be good to let her know asap cos she needs to arrange as the stocks are in JB where her events company is based. This Fri is her last day with my co. She also said she should be able to give further discounts for Wing 2 (Feather) if the no. hits above 20.

sunny
Ok ... think one day must come up with something to tell MIL how bb imitate us and how we have to be careful.

AK
I'm not sure if there are anything call half epi.. I think also involve the skill of the doc who adminiter the epi onto you.
The doc who usually work with my Gynae is very good. I do not feel pain when the epi is injected, I can feel the fluid flowing but it's was ok.
He also told me a good epi is when paitent can still feel her legs.. so he ask me to wriggle toes.. and if totally no feeling.. then will not have strenght to push last one...
My birth experience was quite a good one I would say. Hvae a good doc for epi and a skillful gynae.

Hi all mummies going for the photo shoot and want wings for baby.
How abt we do a poll...again.. since we have more option now.
Just think abt what we have seen :

feather Wing 1 - post by Amy (bigger)$25 b4 disc
feather Wing 2 - Post by Amy (smaller)$16.50 B4 disc
butterfly wing 3 - post by Amy $18.50 B4 disc
Butterfly wing 4 - post by Chicken little $8.00 AFTER disc
Feather Wing 5 - post by Clare $19.50 more disc more than 20pc
Butterfly wing 6 - post by Clare $12.50

Please think abt the above and cast your vote :
1)

Customised Romper
http://www.absolutfaith.com/afgetrompers.html

My colleague confirmed with her friend that they can customise baby's name. Will provide sample pic before printing. I will ask if they have a pics of a completed piece.

To get bulk discount, have to be big quantity as they are currently on promo rate liao. 15-20 to them is not big. Need to know the estimated quantity then they can tell you whether they can offer a discount

They have a stall at Hyatt (Hyatt Hotel fair) tomorrow (10-7 pm) and Friday (9:30-5pm). So can drop by if you're keen!

ak
I also only know abt it when my anaesthetist Dr Boey told me what he intends to do for me. I was grateful that he didn't numb off my entire lower body. I could move my legs, feel contractions, etc just like giving birth without epi yet, I don't feel any pain. He's seriously damn SOLID doctor. I had planned to go natural with epi initially but after hearing screams of women from other wards, I chickened out. When they ask me which doctor I want, I didn't know who to choose cuz I wasn't prepared for it and by stroke of good luck, they allocated Dr Boey to me. Will definitely opt for epi again by Dr Boey.

cookie,

please hold on first...yesterday i saw at my neighbourhood selling the Feather Wing @ around $12.90. I will go back to the shop and check again...but i am not very sure about the size..will go and measure with them

Re: urine catheter
I think u only will feel the pain of the urine catheter if you don't have epidural. If u're under epi, won't feel any pain at all. When i flinched as the urine catheter went in, the nurse said very good already. Some pple end up screaming?! Dunno true or not! But she did say most pple already hv epi when they need to insert the catheter, so dun feel anything.

So interesting that 9-10months after our delivery, we're suddenly "reminiscing" our delivery experiences!

rachel,
Thanks for organizing the HT BP! How much should i pay you? Can i collect on Sat say 11pm-3pm? I'm also collecting eclairs from Senja Rd ard that time

Durainlover
I had epi... and I still feel the discomfort of urine catheter... not shooting pain but uncomfortable. Maybe due to I had epi.. thankfully!

Mamapanda, which hospital did u deliver at? I dun even know who my anaethesist is...but if i do have number 2, i will ask for Dr Boey. =)

I still remember asking my gynae if i shd have epi and he say up to me...when actual day come, everything in a blur and I just sign all the papers in the delivery ward and felt very scared as all those documents just have so much risks stated and all that disclaimers...

Anyway, perhaps the anaestethist was not bad but when he left, I seem ok and only after he left that i reacted badly and the nurses didnt know what to do and made things worse.....

Mamachan and Wenyl,

Thanks very much, I received your NTUC pts today...so happy, headed to NTUC to get my plates...

Mamachan, think u stay quite near me...

Re Customised Romper
ChickenLittle, in that case how much is per piece and how much time do they need to get it printed and delivered? Cos the photoshoot is only 4 weeks away!! Ooh so exciting... Pls help ask for a sample pic too thanks!

I was thinking about the wings on naked babies... we would need to strap or even "wrap" the ribbons of the Wings round the babies so that the wings would stay. In this case, would naked babies still look nice? Or perhaps the strap could be better "hidden" if the babies wear a white romper?

SY,

No worries. Hope that the jar food is okay with your boy. Then you don't need to bring over - can always buy in Oz. Coles stocks Heinz Organic.

I see that mummies are sharing labour stories? Mine was natural without epi as well. My contractions are short and relatively painless so I can't push my gal out. She was vaccumed out. It was quite funny cos my hubby would stand at the machine and read from the chart then tell me that okay, my contractions are coming, push, push. But still, the contractions are only 3 cycles. The urine catheter and cervical examinatsion are different stories. They are really uncomfortable. But immediately after delivering the baby, the feeling's really shiok.

re: wings
err.. I can't really remember which wing was which. Can we consolidate the photos?

re: push walker
I have the playskol push walker which I think it's too light, doesn't really give good support. Are the other brands better?

I was out of action from the thread the whole day. Just managed to skim thru the postings. I apologize if I did not answer to some of you all.

SH
I didn't get any push-walker for Daren or walkers for that matter. Coincidentally, we found him to hold on to the Ikea plastic stool and pushed it and walked from one end of the media room to the dining table (one of the rooms had been knocked down to join to the living room)! Of course have to let him do it under adult supervision. He just loves to do that with the plastic stools at home that I have to stack them up in one corner. He likes to do that too in my mum's home. I try to guide him to "walk" by holding one of his hand, but only when I saw how stable he was in walking when I held both his hands. BUt the one hand hold is only for a few couple of steps coz I realize that he would start to lose focus and balance and start pivoting around. Another thing we play with him is the game of "Chase", where he gets excitable and tries to run away with my aid when my hb pretends to be a cantonese speaking godzilla.

Tracy
Dunno if Daren will be able to demo at the tupperware party. For now, it's like see his mood. But he practices alot more in his cot. Think he knows got cushioning if he falls.

Rachel
I second what Tracy suggested. Let's lunch and shop after scrapbooking class! Any other mummies keen?

ak
oh izzit? I've never come across your road name before leh. But glad that the bonus points reached you in time. I always go to Tiong Bahru Plaza to do my grocery shopping.

durianlover
With regards to smacking. I think it's in the ang moh culture to not smack their children but to talk rationally to them at this age which I think really, bbs can't really rationalize things yet either. But I do agree with distracting them or replacing other things to bring them away from the things that they are not supposed to touch. I guess it's really up to individual bah. But for me, I believe if we were to smack them, should not be done out of anger, coz the intensity of our strength is greater when we are angry.

Birth Experience
Wah, as I was reading through today's postings, I was thinking am I at the wrong thread. Haha. Reminds me of the time where I 1st joined this thread and reading all the birth stories.

Like Tracy, I too had to undergo emergency c-sect under epidural. But 2 - 3 hours into my labour pains, I opted for epidural after I learnt that I was still 2cm dilated since having checked into the hospital for more than 12 hours when I noticed spotting. I didn't feel any pain from the administration of the epi, think maybe coz I used the gas mask until I went really high. I talked rubbish! I only felt a cold sensation. Then after that, I managed to catch some sleep. Dr. John Tee from KKH was really pro-natual birth. Before he made the decision for me to undergo emergency c-sect, I was 6-7 cm dilated and he felt it was such a waste, but no choice coz Daren's heartbeat kept dropping with each contraction. Everything was a blur and before I knew it, I was freezing big time in the OT.

Hope for 2nd child, I can try natural birth again. Think should be alright as I don't plan to have #2 so soon. Maybe wait another 1 1/2 years more? heh heh.

Hi Mommies
Have been super busy at work the last few days, just quickly scan thru the postings.

RE: photoshot
Have been trying to get my fren. She just came back from hol and is now down with a bad gastric flu. Will get some advice from her regarding the wings, clothing (or go nake!!!) and the ground (on grass, cloth etc) when she's feeling better.

Tabbie
My fren did mention to me she needs the co-operation of the mommies to get the bbs organised and ready for the shot. Will ask her for a list of "to do" as well.

Re: push-walker
i also bought a Playskook push-walker (think it's playskool brand if i rem correctly) and it's also too light. Janelle is scared of it coz it moves too fast and is unstable. Oh well. But i realised that most push-walkers tend to be a bit too light and too fast-moving.

sl,
YOu're amazing! No epi and u can still say your contractions are relatively painless? Wow.

sl,
I know what you mean when u say"immediately after delivery, the feelings was shiok." I guess it's really something that only those who gave birth without epi can experience. to me, it's a feeling of relief, calm and peace. Though there was still some lingering pain but it's really amazing. the stitching afterwards is nothing. my colleague who gave birth wo epi told me before I gave birth that it's a "high" kind of feeling. I was like "huh"? recently, she gave birth 2nd time without epi. well, they are aiming for 5 kids and I guess she can cont to look forward to that "high" kind of feeling.

Re: Wing2
Hi mommies...
I realise I make a mistake when taking the phots of feather wing 2...
I think I have place it upside down the last time..
My hb was looking at the wing and tell me something is funny then I realise... blur me.

Later I will go take a clear picture with the right side up :p

durianlover,
I am not amazing lah. I guess the gas mask really helped. The flip side is also that I can't really feel the contractions enough to push so the gynae had to vaccum my gal out.

mongs,

you mean the gynae didn't use any LA when stitching!!! I have always been under the impression that he had! Gosh. I am beginning to feel the pain. Yup, I think I felt that way cos i was fully awake and alert throughout. The really good part for me was that I can move around immediately and had lunch in the delivery suite. I remembered asking the nurses if I should eat in my room instead cos there might be other pple waiting to use the delivery suite.

SY,

sorry I think I forgot to post the answer for the detergent. Yup, I brought my own baby detergent. I also brought along my own baby bottle cleanser as the bottles there are too big.