(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

porridge and wind
My aunt who's an experienced baby sitter told me not to stir the porridge too much when feeding, ie, if porridge is thick, don't stir until porridge is thin/watery. Stirring porridge too much will introduce wind into the porridge. Applies to everyone, not only babies.

Mamachan
Is your leg better now? I can imagine your scare. 2 months back, my 2 years old niece fell down my stairs head first. Lucky my dad was nearby and managed to catch my niece in mid-air and she fell on his chest instead, otherwise, I cannot imagine the damage! Just last week, I also caught Ariene climbing the stairs and she managed to climb 3 steps and was about to fall backward on the 4th step before I caught her bum and saved her. Stairs are really scary.. keep bugging hb to install the stairs gate but.. sigh.. so now I just use 2 panels of my play pen to set up a "temporary" gate to prevent her from climbing the stairs.

need some help here. my fren's baby is rejecting those frozen BM. guess its due to the fishy smell. is it advisable to mix those frozen defrosted milk with fresh BM to make him drink? thanks for your advice!

RE:kindermusik trial
glad everyone enjoyed it.I found Shannon to be quite rebellious, dun want to do what teacher tells us to do, just wanna do things her own way, aiyah, next time got to school how?
Anyone interested to sign up?

Next Gathering
I am really itching to go Botanic gardens but the haze is still there, sigh! i guess it's shopping gathering...

Mamachan,
how is your leg? Sprained ankles are soooo ma fan... I have a weak left ankle, and it always bothers me.... take care!

Cookie,
haha, babies are like that... they tire themselves out very quickly when they are crying. That's what happened to Shannon on the take off to Perth in the plane... one minute wailing her lngs out, the next, slumped againt my lap dead asleep... dun worry...

Mamapanda and Mongs,
your cereal is here with me. Can collect anytime.

Mongs,
I'll be going to the scapebooking class so if you want me to pass to you then, just let me know...

tracy
From my personal experience reg frozen EBM :
1. If ur friend has enough EBM, discard all those which are > 2 weeks old. EBM stored for 3 weeks tend to smell fishy.

2. When defrosting, do not overheat it. The fishy smell is less if the milk is heated up to about 24-27deg. Initially I was also skeptical about feeding my girl chilled milk but it turned out fine.

3. If possible, dedicate a freezer just for storing EBM ONLY , ie, buy a new freezer/fridge, to prevent contamination.

4. Not advisable to mix FM/EBM or frozen EBM with fresh warm EBM. Not sure about defrosted EBM and chilled EBM though but personally, I don't think so..

The above were advised to me by Yen Ping, LC from KKH.

Oh mommies,
Re: confinement lady
does anyone have good confinement lady to recommend? My fren is giving birth in feb, and she's looking for one... thanks!

Tracy,
how about mixing with FM?

Mamachan

Glad to hear that both you and Daren are fine. Better go to those chinese sinseh for treatment if not the injury will keep coming back if not properly heal.

Mamapanda
Better get the stair gate fast cos Ariene is getting more active.

Hi Mommies
Just something funny to share on a Monday morning altho it feels like TGIF...heehee.

A man was sick and tired of going to work every day while his wife stayed home. He wanted her to see what he went through so he prayed: "Dear Lord: I go to work every day and put in 8 hours while my wife merely stays at home. I want her to know what I go through, so please allow her body to switch with mine for a day. Amen." God, in his infinite wisdom, granted the man's wish.

The next morning, sure enough, the man awoke as a woman. He arose, cooked breakfast for his mate, awakened the kids, Set out their school clothes, fed them breakfast, packed their lunches, Drove them to school, and stopped at the bank to make a deposit, went grocery shopping, then drove home to put away the groceries, Paid the bills and balanced the check book.

Then it was already 1 P.M. and he hurried to make the beds, do the laundry, vacuum, dust, and sweep and mop the kitchen floor. Ran to the school to pick up the kids and got into an argument with them on the way home. Set out milk and cookies and got the kids organized to do their homework. Then set up the ironing board and watched TV while he did the ironing. At 4:30 he began peeling potatoes and washing vegetables for salad, breaded the chops and snapped fresh beans for dinner.

After dinner, he cleaned the kitchen, ran the dishwasher, folded laundry, bathed the kids, and put them to bed. At 9 P.M. he was exhausted and, though his daily chores weren't finished, he went to bed where he was expected to make love, which he managed to get through without complaint.

The next morning, he awoke and immediately knelt by the bed and said, "Lord, I don't know what I was thinking. I was so wrong to envy my wife's being able to stay home all day. Please, oh please, let us trade back."

The Lord, in his infinite wisdom, replied, "My son, I feel you have learned your lesson and I will be happy to change things back to the way they were." God answered: "You'll just have to wait nine months, though. You got pregnant last night!"

sleepingdeer,
thanks. I think i collect it this sunday when I am on my way to jurong west. I visit my mom every sunday.

all your girls are so girly and pretty. my clariss is always being mistaken as a boy. think her hair is too short. it's so often that I don't even bother to clarify nowadays. my hubby objects to her wearing clips or headbands.

552180.jpg

Flo,
Good story! i'm gonna email that story to my hb...hahahaa!

Tracy,
i threw away all my EBM that is more than 1 month old. All fishy-smelling. I hv decided that when i hv my 2nd child, i will not pump so much anymore...no point coz end up throwing all away.

sleeping deer,

my confinement lady is good.. if you want i can pass you the contact.. pm me ok.

Mamachan,

Oh dear, how is you foot now? i can understand how it feels...it must be very scary for you .. do becareful when come down the stairs..

RE: Posing

Yesterday was my nephew's birthday so the whole family went out for dinner.. and during the photo session .. my nephew was blocking elijah as elijah was standing just behind him.. guess what happen ? elijah was tring to push him away and to smile at the camera at the same time... my hb and mil wintness it and they were all laughing.. elijah is really funny .. he like to smile at the camera.. even when he is crying and you take out the camera and say smile.. he will stop crying and pose a smile then continue to cry again.. haha so funny..

mongs,
clariss looks so happy! Her hair actually looks styled! Did u trim her hair?? Dun worry, my Janelle is worse. NO HAIR!! She has no hair on the top of her head so she looks like a balding old man :p

On cord blood, if I'm not wrong, the lady who wrote in believes very strongly in gentle birth. I'm not saying that you should not trust what she's written. But do your own study and go with your own judgement. She believes in 100% natural birth (ie no c-section, no episotomy, no epidural, no drugs or interference during birthing, etc).

She does express her thoughts quite strongly across in another forum. It may be quite difficult to achieve what she supports; sometimes it's quite scary to read what researchs has shown otherwise (eg are vaccinations really necessary and what the consequences are) ...

.ky.

I'm letting go of my Medela PIS (complete set with backpack, it's not the advanced version) with a boxful of plastic milk bottles (apprx 30). Am unsure how much to price it. Do pm me with your best price offer if keen. Condition : 7/10 (bottles : 9/10)

.ky.

re: Scrapbooking Workshop

What: SCRAPBOOKING -- Getting Started with our BABIES!!
Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura, Unit03-21

Dates: 13 Nov 2006
Time : 10:30am - 1:30pm (3hrs)
Cost: $35 (inclusive of ALL materials)

1. Clare -Pending
2. Mamachan -Paid
3. Rena -Paid
4. Denmy -Paid
5. Cookie-Pending
6. Mongs -Pending
7. Sy
8. Rachel -Paid
9. Flo -Paid
10. SH -Pending
11. Sleepingdeer -Paid
12. May - Pending
13. Tracy -Paid
14. chickenlittle -Pending
15. Wenyl -Paid

mummies, am aware that some of you who had transfered earlier, the fund had yet to reach me. if possible, do check with your bank?

was informed of bounched back transitions, do be extra careful with the details of my account. hopefully dont go to other people acount leh =p

rena, recieved yours. thanks! hope your fall did not cause much harm to your back. take care.

May/Cookie
have not recieve. aware you are amoung the few who did the transfer to me early. but till now no news leh...

phew... finished reading all postings. had a busy weekend and last friday was on leave to care for Dylan alone (hb oversea). talking about sticky baby, Dylan had become one. totally could not be alone and must have me by his side. will crawl all the way from his room, through the living and into the kitchen where im busy like mad doing the washing and preparing his meal... will kept crying while crawling and looking for me...

even to the extend he wanted to come into the toilet with me when im really super high tide! no choice but to shut him out and he kept knocking the door while sitting outside *faint*

re:Tiger Food Jar
wow, never know the food jar can cook porridge! had the 0.9L one but yet to use it. ok ok should put to test tomorrow and so i can bring along when going for my cruise trip!

re: Dumex Mamil Gold Step 2, 400g

any mummy want the sample tin? finally got from them after so many months. giving away since dylan drinking Similac.

Mamachan,
Oh no. Hope the sprain is not too bad. Thank goodness Daren is ok. I am a "chor lor" mummy so whenever I carry JW, I have this fear that I will fall down with him.

Very paranoid hor. Do take care and do see a doc if leg still painful

Rachel,
Alamak. Just checked. Funds really kena returned how? Those who successfully transferred the funds, can help by giving me bank & branch code?

Flo,
If I place order by this Fri, delivery should be the following Fri.

Baby Spinach:
1)Denmy
2)MamaChan
3)queen
5)
6)

hi mummies, since most of our bb already 9 - 10 months old now..and most of the bb here are bottle feeding.

Just wonder how often do you all changed to bottles? Coz realised that most of damien's bottles turn abit yellowish..

So far i had only changed the teats every 3 months.

Add on to rachel post..
i also have Dumex Mamil Gold Step 2, 400 and friso 900 gram..pm me if any of you want it. Collection point at bt batok or jurong east.

Just got back home with Daren from the PD. His cough got worse after his jab last Thurs night over the weekend, got quite phelgmy...better get it settled before the tupperware party. Oh, I checked with the PD with regards to Daren's food intake. He feels that eating lunch and dinner, 1 bowl of porridge each is not enough, need to add in breakfast cereal for Daren in the morning, the most morning milk feed give lesser. I was like thinking,"how to give? I just make up for it for more milk feeds since the IFC that Daren attends have their own policy of only giving one solid meal a day." The PD suggested i try adding cereal into his milk for his morning milk feed. Will try tomorrow morning see if he's receptive to 1st thing in the morning is to eat cereal or if he's ok to suck the cereal mixed with milk.

Sprained foot
Thanks for your concern and well wishes. WIll try to get it "fixed" by today.

Rachel
The encounter you shared about Dylan and you at home is so funny! I can imagine, coz it happened to me too! In fact I think our babies at this age really getting more and more sticky. I call Daren my kitten sometimes. heh heh

SH
I know what you mean by "chor lor". Coz I'm one too. heh heh. This chor lor mum here was so hiao yesterday, wore kitten heels out while carrying Daren. Think I long time never wear heels liaoz...guess my heels somehow got "caught" at the edge os the stairs, that's why nearly tripped down the stairs.

hello mummies!

Babylon,
I asked the same question here on bottles/teats before. Mine also turned yellowish and got advice from mummies here that once bottles turned murky or yellowish, have to change liao. Changed all the bottles after like 4 months I think?

Tracy,
My Isaac had this same problem with frozen EBM (sometimes also had problems with fresh ones, dunno why, but mostly frozen) back before he started on solids. At first, my MIL will throw the milk away if he rejects and give FM, damn heartpain. Then I told her to pour some some and mix 1 or 2 scoops of FM. Strangely, after mixing, he'll finsh the bottle. But since he started on solids, I have been able to give 100% fresh EBM everyday, only once Isaac rejected. I'll use frozen EBM for his cereals instead, the fishy smell is hardly discernible when mix with cereals. Have your friend's baby started on solids?

Flo,
Funny story! sometimes we macham like men's maid and sex slave! Haha...

RE : Sticky Baby
Haiz, my boy is so not sticky. Juz wondering if he knows I'm his mom! Who ever offers to carry him, he wld be more than happy to go. Even stranger. Only once in a blue moon he wld look for me.

queen,
thanks. my fren's bb is only 3mths so still on full BM. Told her to try giving the fresher batch of frozen EBM to try. Anyway she got ample supply so if he really rejects the older EBM, gotta discard and give newer batch. She's trying her best to maintain fully BM n avoiding FM. :p

Hi Rachel,

I resubmitted my fund transfer again just now. Email you the ref no. liao.

Hi SH,

I used branch code 336 this time. Previously when I did the transfer dun have this code, only got Jurong East MRT 015. So hopefully it went thru.

cookie,
my elder DIL is Renee la... kekeke

Flo,
Your joke is so funny!!!!!

Mamachan,
O dear, are you alright. Better go get your foot checked.

re: sticky bb
Keenan also super sticky nowadays. cannot leave him in his pay yard on his own. Will start screaming like he hurt himself as soon as I turn my back on him. However, all bb's are different. As far as i can remember my elder son was exactly lilke yours now. Anyone can carry him, even a stranger and he'd be more than happy to follow them home. I was also very shocked when I went visiting in HK with him for the 1st time, and my relatives there just took him over and brought him home to play without me. Meanwhile I met up and have coffee with some old frens. Was away for 3-4 hrs and he didn't even cry for me a bit. so there you go, Chillies....

SH
hoho, think my guess came true that your transition bounched back. if not, the transfer should not take so long.

ok , i checked with tracy. she did her transfer and the fund reached me on the same day! her was posb account. the bank branch code she selected for my uob account was 7375-336. hope this helps. *cross finger*

May/Cookie/Mongs/Chickenlittle/Clare
do check whether the branch code is 7375-336. thanks!

I am buying things from bb gap for Elijah's japan trip.. those who wants to tag along please let me know.. thanks

chickenlittle
thanks! so sorry for the trouble. i will keep a lookout!

Flo
like to check regarding the dress code for our babies group photo shooting. any dress code in mind? think we better have one soon bah, so can have sometime to prepare n hunt for it? =p

chillies
if u remember i posted earlier that dylan can go with anyone as long as he can play. but recently he just turned sticky and a cry baby...... sooo, yours might made a change too!

Rena,

you getting coldwear for Elijah ? I can go dig what I have for you first. What can fit Aden can fit elijah hor. Because Aden's cousin pass to him then not going anywhere this year end leh.

baby GAP at Shinjunku year end got sale one. Dun buy so many go there then chiong. I chiong last year for Aden and Charmaine liao

Rena,
Japan!!!
Envy leh, holiday or following HB on business?
Baby Gap there cheaper?
But ask you to buy will increase you luggage load leh...

rachel,
yah... would be nice if we have a colour or theme for the group photoshoot. Any ideas?

Rena,
Which part of Japan you going? Nice leh. VivoCity got a baby GAP there. U buying online? Will it work out cheaper?

Denmy,

I am getting the sales items plus a warmer jacket for elijah.. it should be cheaper coz free shipping for 100 dollars lor..

Oh no.. dear all,

I am going to japan only during chinese new year.. buying clothes now for elijah to wear over there..

queen
i remember someone mention to let our babies dress in all white, like little angels playing in the greens

i personally think this is very nice. best will be we are able to source for little wings for them to wear! haha

Rachel,
I'm all for 'Little Angels in the greens'. Can we do a BP for the wings then? Anyone wants to volunteer organising it?

Denmy
hee, happy to know you are happy with this idea. but im not sure where can get this angel's wings...

might need to check the web and ask around. price wise, shall need to work out whether its better to buy or its good enough to rent. hmm, any mummy have this kind of lobang?

Rachel/Queen
I think Clare mentioned previously to custom make some T-shirt or romper. I think the little wing idea is cool. Any other suggestion? Just realised it's barely one month away!!!

Hi MamaChan/Denmy
In that case, pls include me

Baby Spinach:
1)Denmy
2)MamaChan
3)queen (Robinson Pt)
4)Flo (Robinson Pt)
5)
6)

Queen, I collect for u?

sorry to check, how many bottles do most baby using now. Damien now using 6 bottles for milk and 1 for drinking milk.

Lucky i got standby bottles for him..and think it is also time for him upgrade his bottles...he still using the 4 oz (small bottles)...

too many postings to catch up!!

mamachan
hope u r better too! nowadays i dun wear heels when i have to carry JH. scared i cannot balance myself!

rachel
so sorry that i have to pull out of the class. but dun think can handle my work if i take leave on that day

re photo shoot
sounds so cute if they all dressed as angels!

babylon
i have 3 big bottles for milk and 2 small bottles for water. so far the bottles look ok. not really yellowish.

tell u something really embarassing. on fri, i brought JH to ntuc alone and while i was looking at cheese for him, i heard a loud bang and i turned ard to find 2 bottles of sauce on the floor with one broken. Jh's naughty hand had swept them onto the floor! was so embarassed. offered to pay for it but the cashier say no need...next time must really be more careful

just to share something. today i brought JH to PD and i asked abt his dropping milk intake. PD's view is that it is ok as nature intended for them to move to eating solids. so if mummies are worried abt their babies dropping milk intake, my PD's view is that it is ok. he feels that it is a bigger problem if they do not want to take solids and only want to take milk

Flo,
*faintz* me organize BP? :p

Babylon,
u still using 4oz bottles?? my bottles are still clear. do u use normal detergent or those tollyjoy/pigeon type? i'm using tollyjoy's. i think it wun discolor the bottles as fast.

i ve a total of 6 8oz bottles. i leave 2 bottles at MIL's n 4 bottles at home.

Queen,

may i know which service apt u stayed at in bangkok n if u think it's good? got stove? i'm bringing bb to bangkok in 3 weeks time so wanna book a good pl.

mummies, any tips on weaning BB? i bot isomil for ryan but he staunchly refuses to drink....i mix 30ml FM n 110ml EBM, he also knows it is not the real stuff n reject! help......