(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Breakfast:

1)Clariss- cereal (gerber banana or Heinz high protein or HT cereal with fresh banana)-1/3 chinese bowl & 120ml EBM
2)YX - HT cereal/grinded brown rice porridge - 1/3 chinese bowl + 150 ml BM
3) Sarah Mae- cereal (The Heinz Apple Muesli one) or sumtimes bread with cheese, sumtimes Annabel Karmel's Cheesy egg with tomato recipe)
4) Xavier - cereal (HT cereal mix with 160ml FM)
5) Ariene - 250ml EBM / heinz multigrain cereal (2tbsp + 70ml EBM) followed by 150ml EBM / 2 bananas + 180ml EBM / 1 avocado + 200ml EBM
6) Isaac - Cereal (4 level tbsp HT Oatmeal/Heinz Muesli + 70ml EBM), sometimes Bread with egg as mid-morning snack.
7) Daren - 210ml FM at 7 am and 180ml FM at 10am (weekdays - IFC doesn't provide breakfast), weekends: 210ml FM at 7am, 9am 4 chinese tablespoon HT Multi-grain cereal mixed with 120ml FM.
8) Zachary - 210ml FM @ 7am & EB Oatmeal Cereal with 2 cubes of apples/papaya/banana/avocado
9) Clarisse - 150ml FM and 4-5 teaspoon of HT/EB cereal mix with fruits like banana and apple.
10) Ryan-150 FM and 4-5 teaspoon of Heinz Rice cereal (which he is rejecting now)
11) Megan (Tracy's) - 180FM @ 7am
12) Cephas - 240ml FM at 7am Bread (plain/cheese/egg yolk) or sweet potato or mashed potato @ 9.30am

Weight/Height

1)yx - 9 mths, 8.2kg, 71.5cm, TBF
2)Ariene - 9 mths 0wks, 7.5kg, 72cm, TBF
3)Jamie - 9mths 1day, 9.1kg, 73cm, FM
4)Clarisse - 9 mths, 8.4kg, 72cm, partial BF till 8 mths thereafter FM
5)Damien 9 mths, 9.2kg, 74cm, FM
6)Clariss - 9 mths 3wks, 8.2kg, dun know ht (go back & measure), TBF
7) Ryan - 9 mths, 9.1kg, 72 cm, TBF
8)Megan - 9mths 1 week, 7.8kg, 72cm, Partial BM till 7th, FM thereafter
9) Megan (Tracy's) - 9mths 1wk, 8.1kg, 73cm, FM
10) Cephas - 10 mths 2wks, 9.5 kg, 75cm FM

tracy,
poor thing.. maybe u can buy urself a sea horse futon n put in Megan's room so u no need sleep on the mat again? It can also be offered to guests in future when they sleep over ma.

ak
i gave my gal cherry tomato since she's 8 mth. so far so good.

queen
how do you separate the yolk and white to steam har? BM will lose nutrition after steam?

denmy
you sound very stress and tired. take care ya!

sept03bride, re:desitin
i'm using desitin original (40% zinc oxide). personally i find it a very good product. gets rid of the redness in <1hr n totally seals off moisture. Some moms dun like it cuz its sticky, coats the bum n hard to wash off with water but I felt thar's what makes it effective. if water washes it off easily, so will urine isn't it? Anyway, its super effective for night time use n when bb has diaper rash. Ariene slept through with poo before n did not get a single spot of rash.

Sandra,
Janelle's still having runny nose and phlegm. The doc said it's not related to the fever. More prob because of the haze that irritated her nasal passage (something like that). So don't worry, if all goes fine, Sarah should fully recover after 2-3 days of rashes. Hopefully no runny nose! The rashes are really awful-looking, can understand. It's called "jia ma", ie. false measles. It's normal for babies to get that after a bout of high fever. Doc says when kids are about 2yrs old or older, they no longer break out in rashes after their high fever. Hang on in there!

Breakfast:

1)Clariss- cereal (gerber banana or Heinz high protein or HT cereal with fresh banana)-1/3 chinese bowl &amp; 120ml EBM
3) Sarah Mae- cereal (The Heinz Apple Muesli one) or sumtimes bread with cheese, sumtimes Annabel Karmel's Cheesy egg with tomato recipe)
5) Ariene - 250ml EBM / heinz multigrain cereal (2tbsp + 70ml EBM) followed by 150ml EBM / 2 bananas + 180ml EBM / 1 avocado + 200ml EBM
6) Isaac - Cereal (4 level tbsp HT Oatmeal/Heinz Muesli + 70ml EBM), sometimes Bread with egg as mid-morning snack.
7) Daren - 210ml FM at 7 am and 180ml FM at 10am (weekdays - IFC doesn't provide breakfast), weekends: 210ml FM at 7am, 9am 4 chinese tablespoon HT Multi-grain cereal mixed with 120ml FM.
8) Zachary - 210ml FM @ 7am &amp; EB Oatmeal Cereal with 2 cubes of apples/papaya/banana/avocado
9) Clarisse - 150ml FM and 4-5 teaspoon of HT/EB cereal mix with fruits like banana and apple.
10) Ryan-150 FM and 4-5 teaspoon of Heinz Rice cereal (which he is rejecting now)
12) Cephas - 240ml FM at 7am Bread (plain/cheese/egg yolk) or sweet potato or mashed potato @ 9.30am
13) Mel - 60ml BM + 5 scoops of EB Oatmeal/EB Multigrain/HT Oatmeal/HT Barley cereal + 3 tablespoons of blueberry/pear/pumpkin/corn/green pea or 1/2 avocado.

AK,
Mel also rejected her cereal for the past few days. The moment we took out the cereal (we normally put it inside the small avent milk bottle so that we can warm it in the food warmer) she would fuss, kept shaking her head and refused to open her mouth. Yesterday, put the cereal in the avent milk bottle initially, she again refused to eat. Later put the cereal in the chinese bowl (which my mom normally use to feed her porridge) instead, she finished all!!! So we reckon she's rejecting the container not the food!!!

Breakfast:

1)Clariss- cereal (gerber banana or Heinz high protein or HT cereal with fresh banana)-1/3 chinese bowl &amp; 120ml EBM
8) Zachary - 210ml FM @ 7am &amp; EB Oatmeal Cereal with 2 cubes of apples/papaya/banana/avocado
13) Aden - 200 ml milk at 7.30 or 8 am then will sleep liao so no solid for bf

Weight/Height

6)Clariss - 9 mths 3wks, 8.2kg, dun know ht (go back &amp; measure), TBF
11) Aden - 9 mths 1 wk, 11 kg, 77 cm, EBM except 1 FM feed if daddy takes over the night.

Tracy,

I moved all my study table out from the study and left my sofa bed there. Set up the playyard with the bumper mat in study. In case my parents stay overnight at my kids' room was thinking I can still leave aden in the playyard with mattress and I can sit by the sofa bed in case he needs me. Otherwise I will move my playpen out.

Denmy,
Take care! U sure sound busy!

Mamapanda,
My fren's PD ever said cannot use Desitin Original for everyday use because it's far too strong. Can only use it if baby gets nappy rash. As a protective measure, use the Desitin blue instead.

RE: Baby no appetite
ANyone's baby ever had no appetite? Janelle's appetite has dropped drastically ever since she fell ill. She eats sooo little now i'm getting kinda concerned. Just a few teaspoonfuls each meal and she doesn't want anymore
Even her fav foods no longer entice her!

Oops, posted almost same time as flo. here i post again

Breakfast:

13) Mel - 60ml BM + 5 scoops of EB Oatmeal/EB Multigrain/HT Oatmeal/HT Barley cereal + 3 tablespoons of blueberry/pear/pumpkin/corn/green pea or 1/2 avocado.
14) Aden - 200 ml milk at 7.30 or 8 am then will sleep liao so no solid for bf

oops.. forgot to mention u can wash off the desitin with soap or rub abit baby oil on the bum before soaping her bum.

sesame oil treatment for nappy
heard from colleague rubbing sesame oil on bum can get rid of rash in less than 2hr. I've never tried it before cuz my girl only had nappy rash once when i forgot to change her diaper for >10h

i use desitin original for night time usage only, so should be ok right? Day time I use J&amp;J and secura (same composition as desitin creamy)

Denmy

Must be tough handling 2 kids + pregnancy. Take care. If Queen can't squeeze in your A+D cream, let me know cos I may ask my SIL to get for me.

Durianlover,

Aden's appetite for milk and cereal dropped tremendously after his discharge from hospital, it took alost 3 weeks before he gained back his normal intake. So as long baby has wet diapers and passing stool I think they are ok. Just have to be patient.

Denmy,

Hang in there. Let me know if you need help. My mum quited shortly after yours ha ha and with immediate effect man. So lucky I have nanny to take over Charmaine on the days I worked.

Weight/Height

11) Aden - 9 mths 1 wk, 11 kg, 77 cm, EBM except 1 FM feed if daddy takes over the night.
12) Melody - 10 mths old. Taken @ 9mth old checkup - 8kg, 70 cm, EBM (started to add 1 FM feed on certain days since 4 weeks back).

Denmy,
JIA YOU!! U sound so stress. 1mth passes very quickly. As u are busy, remember to eat more nutritious food ok? Hang on there.. we are here and will pray for u thru this hard period.

denmy
what happen? how come your mum decided to quit on you and your kids? where will your new place be? if you need any help, let me know. we stay so near.

durianlover
hope janelle is better

i realise JH appetite also dropping. dunno whether is it due to teething

re breakfast
wow, some of the babies sure have interesting breakfast! i shall try to give JH more interesting breakfast. i just started him on his second solid meal.

re cheese
any suggestion on which is a good one to buy? i want to let him have some cheese but hb not keen

tell u something funny. JH loves to sayang everyone and everything except me. when u ask him to sayang his toys, he will lean his head forward and rub them. he even does that to the picture on my PJ. but hwen i ask him to sayang me, he will turn away. this morning, he even pushed my face away. so sad hor

Weight/Height

12) Melody - 10 mths old. Taken @ 9mth old checkup - 8kg, 70 cm, EBM (started to add 1 FM feed on certain days since 4 weeks back).
13) Jing Heng - 9 months old. 9.5kg and 71.5cm @ 8 month old checkup. partial BF

Phew! for a moment i thought my boy was short as I know Daren is already 8.1cm. now i feel so much better after looking at this growth chart. hee..

Weight/Height

13) Jing Heng - 9 months old. 9.5kg and 71.5cm @ 8 month old checkup. partial BF
14) Caleb - 9 months. 8.3kg and 73cm. FM

denmy - pls take care and prioritise your action items. dun stress yourself too much and ya was wondering too why your mum quit on you. doesn't seem to be the best time for that. but i believe she has her reasons for so.

Sy - wow your boy know how to sayang already. so cute! my boy till now can only signal bye bye. haha..

gee ..looking at Denmy's plight, i hope my mum never quit on me. i will really need to depend on her for support. as my sis in law will be giving birth next mar, i think my MIL will be busy with the newborn baby. and shld i find a new job...i cannot be as flexible as before to be able to work from home. haiz...anyway, i do believe GOD has bigger plans for me. everythg happens for a reason..maybe GOD think i shld chg a job and enjoy the retrenchment package. anyway i will stay positive although there isn't any response from the many resumes that i sent.

Breakfast:

15) Caleb - 210ml milk at 9a.m

polls:

Weight/Height

14) Caleb - 9 months. 8.3kg and 73cm. FM
15) Caleb (sept03bride)-9 months. 10.6kg and 71.5cm @ 8mths check

Breakfast:
15) caleb (sept03bride)-180-220ml of chorbi+milk at 8.30am

Cephas is at my mum's this week. My SIL gave birth on Sat. In order to allow my MIL to help her out fully, I put Cephas in my mum's care tog with my maid.

He's having a good time there while HB &amp; I are missing him badly at nites. It was heart wrenching when I left him on Sunday nite. I even cried (so useless)! Mum told me " U want to bring him back or not?" I told her " No, I have to live with it. Next time, he's going to NS..."

Visited him last nite. Looks like he's having lots of fun there. In a way, I 'm glad he's so adaptable. Can sleep anywhere &amp; being alright with my parents.

mamapanda, chicken little,
yup, didnt expect i'll ever need to co-sleep with meg on mattress so no extras. shall prepare one for such 'emergencies' in future.

Denmy,
hang in there.. sounds really tough for you. Hope u can settle all ur stuff n move into a new place soon.

I can understand abt ur mum quitting on u. i jus spent 1wk at my mum's n it makes me appreciate my MIL so much more.

During my stay at my mum's, immed when i reach home after work, she will disappear downstairs to help my dad at the shop despite my dad telling her he can handle alone. I'll ve to battle to wipe my gal n ve my dinner myself with running after her in between to cushion her falls. She refuse to stay in the playpen. Basically, after 6pm, my mum ditches me. Weekend also. So it further cfms that my mum can't look after kids cos afterall, she didn't look after us when we were young.

When Meg poo 4x that day n was wailing at night, i told my mum its teething process. She can ask me,'oh, u mean teething is like that?' Gosh...

On Sunday night, i had stomachache n was alone with my gal. no choice, i let her sit outside the toilet to watch me poo (sori its gross). but she kept crying n crying.

Then my mum complain abt being stressed having to run up n down n thus got gastric. So during the wknd her face was black, she vent her anger on the dogs, saying looking at them make her so 'sian'.

So, yes, thank god for my MIL!

sysac - haha so funny that you mentioned NS. seems like its still years ahead *grin* for me, i let my son stay over night every thurs at my MIL place. in the beginning i also miss him as the house is really quiet and empty without him. but then i am also thinking it be a good time for some quality time just you and your hb alone. i also take the opportunity that he is not ard to change bedsheet, clean the hse and do some of my own stuffs. so looking at it, one night although seems miserable, you tend to be more productive and acheive more things without baby.

sysac, your boi so good. Mine oso ok can stay with sil , can stay overnite with nanny anyone as long as he has someone to sit by him to chit chat.

Tracy,

I understand how u feel. I oso very helpless when my mother quit on me last week. So I handled my 2 kids on my own and my hb constantly sms me to ask me to hang on that he is coming home. My sil oso keep checking on me to see if i ok.

I still remember last time my mil will take over the baby and let me eat in peace. For my mummy, the moment i step home she wash her hands off. I quite fed up but cannot blame her because she never look after me too. No wonder i call my nanny mummy first.

Chicken Little,
I can definitely identify with the part of mum washing hands the moment we step into house. Exactly same situation!

mommies

if u need something from usA.. i am going on nov 10.. as long as not to big hor.. i can help bring back.... Just let me know what is the expected price.. i see if i can help u find it...

HI Mommies,

Demny,
oh dear, you sound really strtessed out. I know how difficult it is to take care of our babies full time... somemore, you have to take care of your older one, and home, and bizand preggie at the same time! Hang in there!

Sandra,
it's fake measles that Sarah Mae is having... can ask Wenyl too, Ethan had it the last time.

My neighbour is organising a mini Halloween costume party for our babies in our estate on 28th Oct, Sat 5pm to 6pm... just a short gathering to see our lovies dressed up and take some funny photos b4 they grow up! If any mommy is free on that day, you are welcome to join us
, just let me know

I haven't bought Shannon's costume yet, probably drop by Toy R Us to get a honey bee or ladybird one... my neighbour bought a pumpkin costume for her 1yr old gal, can't wait to see all the the funnny babies

Re: baby crying
After 3 nites of good sleep...
Last nite kaelyn wake up in the middle of the nite again. She started fussing and I ignored her...the fuss become cry, then yell and wail...
So loud in the middle of the nite...just 5mins seems like forever.
Suprisingly my hb was still sleeping away!
Too kelian to hear her cry... I was covering myself with the pillow and also afriad she might wake my MIL. Although HB has told MIL dun come knock on our door but affecting old folk sleep is not a good idea.
Finally... total failure, asked HB to pick her up and play on our bed.
haizzz

Tracy,

Dunno next time will we be like our own mummy man.

Yday because of haze, my hubby says put everyone in our room. Naturally all play then doze off in the same room. Hb with son on own mattress on the floor and me share bed with my gal. Quite fun so hb says we will practice weekday in own room but weekend we will have the cozy family concept

Denmy,
Gosh..that really sounds hectic. Do take care of yourself!

Cheese,
Can bb eat the normal cheese we eat? The kraft single kind or is there a special kind for bb?

Cheese
When we give cheese to baby, personally, I think try to give it together with other foods i.e potato or with bread rather than on it's own. When I use the cheese in the pasta recipe I shared, I didn't use the enitre wedge, I just took a small piece about 1/2 tablespoon and mixed it with the pasta. I gave the Kraft Cheese in Wedges form, that one is sugar free, I've yet to come across one that is salt-free.

SSF
eh...daren is not 81cm lah...dun scare me leh. He's only 71cm as of 7 months, I'll be bringing him to PD this Friday for his 2nd pneumococcal jab and also to let the pd asess his 9th month growth. I used my digital scale to weigh him and he's about 9.3kg.

Denmy
Oh dear. Did your mum say why she wanna quit on you just like that? If you need any help in any way, let us know k?

Re:cream cheese
I remember someone mentioned we can give Cream cheese?... was it recommended by PD?
pls refresh me..
What about the cheese from Laughing Cow.. you know those type - Jolly Bean used it in their Cheese Pancake...
I thought that doesnt taste sweet or saltish.

come to think of it.. perhaps I will try cheese potatoes for kaelyn one of these days.

cheese:
i have not introduced cheese to caleb yet. I'm not sure which 1 to give. Cheese seem to be very savoury and tasty. Probably abit too salty. My colleague was recommending me to start with 'Laughing Cow' cheese, but i'm hesistant.

Mamachan,
the kraft wedge, issit those in blue packaging?

Breakfast:
16) tabby- 60ml EBM + 3 heaped tablespoons of barley/ oatmeal/ brown rice cereal + fruit (1 peach/pear/ apple/banana) at 0930 . Last milk feed is at 0600 latch.

re: cheese

I'm using the laughing cow brand.. if u are worried abt the salt content, u can use the laughing cow cheese slice light which is what i use, but i have also given the laughing cow plain cubes too.

I have used it to make cheesy pasta sauce, with EBM and Cheese... which i put over pureed pasta, beef, brocoli..

tabby
thanks for the offer. will PM u if i need you to help get anything.

i will be going to sydney. if anyone got any shopping list, let me know as long as it's not too heavy.

re cheese
maybe i will try the laughing cow one...i want to make potatoes nicer for him so maybe adding cheese is an option

cookie
kaelyn can't beat JH. my sis came to stay over last night cos my hb away and she says he's terrible! woke up at 12 to fuss...then very funny. at 5 + my sis woke up and say JH is a good boy, never fuss. i told her she missed the 1+ and 3+ fussing already...

chicken little
your hb's family sounds really close knitted. even your sil checks on you to make sure things are ok!

mamachan
81 cm really tall leh..

sept03bride
Yes yes, it's in the blue packaging with some cartoon drawing of a cheese on it. I personally find the Laughing Cow cheese sweetish and saltish leh.

cookie
Yah, I also got a shock...was wondering when did Daren become 81cm. I'm not sure if he grew any taller over the past 2 months. tried measuring him at home but seems like same height. when my hb grabbed him and i lay out the measuring tape, he gave us that "what are you doing" look. So funny, he thought we are changing diapers for him but he knows it is not the usual place.

cookie
my colleague's boy's height is 1 meter at 8 mth + !!! i was so shocked when she told me. pity her, don't know how she handles such a tall boy...

SY,

Ya my sil has taken over the role of my mil after she passed away. So she will make sure we have everything we need for our confinement and always standby to help take care of my kids when I need help. The only thing is she very hao lian but overall she is still ok. She is only 1 year older than me and 2 of us click very well with my hubby's sis who is 2 years younger than me. Thur we are even going to spa together. Quite lucky lah hearing those sil's stories. Only have to bear with her kay poh and many old wives' tales.

Sophia,

I thot my Aden quite tall but your Daren is really tall man. Aden's head is hitting on the bar when he sits down on the FP infant to toddler rocker. But I have the heavy weight boy.

Daren's Height
I think got some confusion here. heh heh. as far as I know, Daren is only 71cm as measured at 7 months.

Interesting recipe to share
I was surfiing the internet in the dumex nutrition site, came across their version of chawanmushi. Thought you mummies might want to try.

Fish and Vegetable Egg Cup

For babies 10-12 months
Makes 5 servings
Size per serving portion: 1/3 cup

Ingredients:

2 pcs. Eggs*, slightly beaten but not until frothy
6 level scoops Milk powder (use one suitable for your child's age) dissolved in
3/4 cup lukewarm clear chicken stock (boil the chicken with just some onions; do not add salt; strain before using)
3 tbsps. chopped steamed white-fleshed fish (take out all the bones; you may also use chicken
1 tbsp. chopped blanched spinach leaves
1 tbsp. cubed boiled carrot (cut into small cubes)

*or you may use 4 pcs. egg yolks if your baby cannot tolerate the egg whites or if you have a family history of allergies, eczema or asthma; if this is the case, give whole eggs only until your baby turns a year old)

Method:

1. To the beaten eggs, add in the milk powder dissolved in lukewarm stock. Add in the rest of the ingredients and stir until well combined.
2. Divide the mixture equally among 5 bake-proof custard cups or Japanese tea cups (1/3 cup per serving).
3. Cover the cups with foil and steam over low heat for 20 minutes until set.
4. Let cool until lukewarm then serve.

I'll try over the weekend and let you know how it turns out.

Breakfast:
16) tabby- 60ml EBM + 3 heaped tablespoons of barley/ oatmeal/ brown rice cereal + fruit (1 peach/pear/ apple/banana) at 0930 . Last milk feed is at 0600 latch.
17)JW - 200ml FM

So good. So many bb have breakfast. My poor boy never gets breakfast coz we are always rushing to work. So feeding him milk is the easiest. Maybe I should do breakfast on weekends for him.

sophia ,

Good receipe.

To make good smooth chawanmushi with no bubbles. Dun beat egg very hard. Try using a chopstick and write the letter "Z" many times. It will work.

MamaChan

When I first read it I was wondering if SSF made a typo or Daren is really 81cm. That's like 11 cm taller than Mel. Anyway I notice Mel is quite small within the group despite being born quite big.

RE: Height
Heard that BB's height @ 2 years old multiple by 2 will be their height at adulthood. Maybe we can take note and see if it's true

SH
Mel's breakfast is not so early. Is normally around 10am+....err then maybe should be called branch instead

SH,

The laughing cow chees can be found at supermarket easily. Plain is blue and green is assorted. My 4 year old gal loves it since it was served as snacks at JG during her playgroup class.

Flo,

My gal was about 90 cm at 2 years old , huh they will make her 1.8 same as her daddy how to find bf ?