(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie
Am thinking of using Daren's smiles as my theme. Try to see if can get any since his birth till now. Or at least can use Kaelyn's princessy moments or pictures of Kaelyn at each milestone, rollin, sitting, crawling, standing, etc etc.

for breakfast, can give things other than cereal and milk?

sandra
saw you giving things like egg...sounds so yummy! do u cook for sarah everyday?

hee, for me it is the opp. i got my license before hb so i m the one stressing him!!

sleepingdeer,
thanks. hopefully no need to change plans.

cookie
must bring 7 photos of baby's first?? must go n dig...

Thanks all mummies...for your suggestion and advice.
Ok.. think I will dig all the photos and probably bring 70 instead of 7...hahaha..

Ok..
Cos currently I develop all in 4R sizez.. maybe got to develop some in various sizes hor...

Good thing there are time left for me to prepare...wait no mre I better start preparing..

weee.. today haze is REALLY bad!

breakfast poll

1)Clariss- cereal (gerber banana or Heinz high protein or HT cereal with fresh banana)-1/3 chinese bowl & 120ml EBM
2)YX - HT cereal/grinded brown rice porridge - 1/3 chinese bowl + 150 ml BM
3) Sarah Mae- cereal (The Heinz Apple Muesli one) or sumtimes bread with cheese, sumtimes Annabel Karmel's Cheesy egg with tomato recipe)
4) Xavier - cereal (HT cereal mix with 160ml FM)

RE : Spoon Feeding
I hv been spoon feeding milk. My boy simply refuse to drink from bottle. However, doesnt work all the time. Gotta mix cereal for last feed and afternoon use baby biscuits (1 mouth biscuit, few spoonful of milk). Very messy, use at least 2 bibs!

RE: Teething
Yeah...4 now...heehee

breakfast poll

1)Clariss- cereal (gerber banana or Heinz high protein or HT cereal with fresh banana)-1/3 chinese bowl & 120ml EBM
3) Sarah Mae- cereal (The Heinz Apple Muesli one) or sumtimes bread with cheese, sumtimes Annabel Karmel's Cheesy egg with tomato recipe)
5) Ariene - 250ml EBM / heinz multigrain cereal (2tbsp + 70ml EBM) followed by 150ml EBM / 2 bananas + 180ml EBM / 1 avocado + 200ml EBM

Hee! Hee! My daughter's a big eater. She'll normally have breakfast at abt 9.30-10am and lunch at 12-1pm. Lunch for her will be 1 bowl thick lumpy shredded beef/chicken/pork/fish porridge (cooked from 2tsp rice), sometimes, mixed with vege like baby spinach/broccoli/cauliflower/carrot . However, no matter what I feed, her weight still remains at 7.5kg but her height is now 71.5cm, measured last week at the clinic.

breakfast poll

5) Ariene - 250ml EBM / heinz multigrain cereal (2tbsp + 70ml EBM) followed by 150ml EBM / 2 bananas + 180ml EBM / 1 avocado + 200ml EBM
6) Isaac - Cereal (4 level tbsp HT Oatmeal/Heinz Muesli + 70ml EBM), sometimes Bread with egg as mid-morning snack.

ak,
You should just start with 6-12 months. I think the reason why FM is categorised into differnet months is that research has shown that babies in different phase of growth require different proporation of some of nutrients/vitamins. For eg. there is more iron content in 6-12 mths FM than in 0-6 mths FM.

breakfast poll

6) Isaac - Cereal (4 level tbsp HT Oatmeal/Heinz Muesli + 70ml EBM), sometimes Bread with egg as mid-morning snack.
7) Daren - 210ml FM at 7 am and 180ml FM at 10am (weekdays - IFC doesn't provide breakfast), weekends: 210ml FM at 7am, 9am 4 chinese tablespoon HT Multi-grain cereal mixed with 120ml FM.

breakfast poll

7) Daren - 210ml FM at 7 am and 180ml FM at 10am (weekdays - IFC doesn't provide breakfast), weekends: 210ml FM at 7am, 9am 4 chinese tablespoon HT Multi-grain cereal mixed with 120ml FM.
8) Zachary - 210ml FM @ 7am & EB Oatmeal Cereal with 2 cubes of apples/papaya/banana/avocado

Mummies, which brand of cheese you all use? Laughing cow?

ya, i m interested to find out what brand of cheese you use and where to buy?

mamapanda
wow.... ariene can finish 1 avocado?!!! amazing!

rachel
no problem lah... after the class remember to show me your masterpiece hor. hehe...

Hi mummies who give bread, is it the normal sunshine/gardenia bread?

Queen, I gave Ryan the 6-12 mths similac, he had a bad reaction. Threw whole feed (and in my view all of breakfast, lunch and dinner) out, had rashes at elbow joints and legs and tummy and sneezed 12 times in a row....so i was thinking that perhaps the protein level in 6-12 mths is too high for him and i shd give him 0-6 mths to introduce FM to him first....my baby has never had FM except for one day when he was six weeks old...he took to it well then.

Worse thing was when i called his PD to explain what happened, the PD told me i shouldnt be giving him milk and even commented that milk is bad for him....I wrote previously abt this before if you mummies recall....

curious to find out babies weight, height. my gal now is slightly above 50% percentile:

1) yx - 9 mths, 8.2kg, 71.5cm, TBF

Re:HT items collection

Attention! the following mummy
Mashy - ???
Wendyl - Collected
Wendy Ng - KinderMusic class via Sleeping deer
Sleeping deer -Kindermusic class
Flo - Kindermusic class
Mong -??

Your puchases of HT item via SSF is with me now.
I'm stayed in Pasir ris, work at beach road...
Will gng for Kinder music (22nd Oct) and Aqua Duck (29 Oct) and Scrape Book workshop (13 Nov).
If you are also attending the above class.. pls PM me to bring along OK...thanks!

Let me know how we can arrange to meet up ok.

Pls PM cos I scare I might miss your message here.

1)yx - 9 mths, 8.2kg, 71.5cm, TBF
2)Ariene - 9 mths, 7.5kg, 71.5cm, TBF

My girl just hit 9 months today
Her weight is 25% percentile..

nyny, re:avocado
yep.. i tried giving her 1/2 avocado but she kept crying for more so.. gave her the whole avocado. Sometimes, if dinner's not enough for her (1/2 bowl thick lumpy porridge), I'll top up with 1/2 avocado.

ak
when you intro FM to him, did you mix part BM and part FM? ratio 1:1? Usually should mix 1st to slowly get his stomach to get used to the FM. Either that or you might have to try a different brand of FM? Can try promil gold? I think it's not too bad. If still have such severe reaction, might have to try soy-based milk?

Cheese
I bought the Kraft Cheese wedges at COld Storage. I wasn't too sure what type of cheese that laughing cow brand is made up off.

ak
My PD told me to use lactose free FM like Isomil if I decide to wean Ariene off BM as the lactose content in BM is relatively low and much easier to digest compared to cow milk's lactose. He said its not advisable to give Similac Excellence as a first FM after BM.

Cookie

Initially I am also worried that she will vomit out the milk because she cried so hard and loud, but seems that she is fine so I carry on... normally I will feed her around 9pm and go to sleep straight after.

I read some books, they suggested that parents can also stay in the room, but sit further away from the cot and comfort the baby like "baby, it is time to sleep" and do not pick her up. But I think this method can't work on Clarisse, when she sees either me or hb she will cry pitiful again.

Rachel,
I have transfer the money to u.
Transfer Ref: 879044422

RE: SCRAPBOOKING
I will get the adhesive tape from there then. Will be using the theme "MY FIRST TIME" hehe.. I will bring Jamie for her first haircut this wkend to add into the collection. I haven't cut her hair since she is born as she has very little hair. Now abit out of shape so trim abit.

Jamie is 9mths and 1 day as of today.
Here's her measurement:

3)Jamie - 9mths 1day, 9.1kg, 73cm, FM

Valerie

Can check with you if digital scrap book needs any software to start with? I have seen some works by other mummies, and it seems very nice... very tempted to start doing it.

3)Clarisse - 9 mths, 8.4kg, 72cm, partial BF till 8 mths thereafter FM.

breakfast poll

8) Zachary - 210ml FM @ 7am & EB Oatmeal Cereal with 2 cubes of apples/papaya/banana/avocado
9) Clarisse - 150ml FM and 4-5 teaspoon of HT/EB cereal mix with fruits like banana and apple.

Repost as i posted same time as May

4)Clarisse - 9 mths, 8.4kg, 72cm, partial BF till 8 mths thereafter FM

Can check with you all do you all control how much your baby eats? Like you only prepare this amount of porridge, after you finish feeding if baby cry for more you will NOT give him/her anymore even there is left over?

Or do you feed untill baby shows signs that he/she is full? For e.g. he/she turns his/her head away when u place the spoon in front of his/her face.

Mamapanda,
Yes. U told me already via email. I have receive it. Thanks.

RE: SCRAPBOOK
I have done one but yet to paste the photo into it. It is a pre-pack DIY set which I have brought from Bras Brasah Popular Bookshop Level 5. Any mummies interested? I can bring it down during the class. A pack is $40 include materials and step-by-step guide. WHich I find it quite useful for mummy like me who is lazy to think of how to decorate the book.

Hi Durianlover, I remember u mention that Janelle kena viral fever- 4 days fever, 2days rashes and now running nose and cough no? Just wondering did ur PD say why it's like that? Sarah also had fever for 3 or 4 days and now breaking out in horrible rashes. I don't know why like that. Looks like some sort of measles like that... *sigh* Should I start preparing for the running nose and cough? AAAAAAAArrrrrrgggghhh..... I'm so overwhelmed by looking after her. I wish I can run away and join the circus. =(

hi mummies..thanks for the payment. Below is a summary update. cheers!

sleepingdeer - $14.84
Ivory - $9.90 (received)
Cookie - $25.80 (received)
slinky - $19.87 (received)
Wenyl - $30.59 (received)
Flo - $32.15 (received)
mashybrain - $10.72
mongs - $21.68 (received)

Queen,
Can I join your drugstore BP but I need to get A+D cream instead of Desitin. That's what Keenan has been using and it's damn good on his bum bum...

really really long time no log in here liao... it's been a very hectic, and depressing few weeks. Ever since my mum has called it quits on me and the kids, I have been looking after them myself: from making breakfasts, cooking dinners, looking after Keenan f/t, to doing homework with Ethan. On top of these I still have to squeeze time to do my shop admin work. I sometimes even have to bring Keenan in to work and leave him there while I meet suppliers.

Meanwhile we have some major plans coming up. We are going to move out so that we can get a maid to help me with the children and housework cos my mum absolutely hates having a maid living with her. But b4 that we will have to renovate our new flat 1st... so it's gonna be at least 1 more mth b4 all these happens and things start being normal again. I'm so tired... even though my pregnancy is not giving me much problem currently but I'm starting to feel the drain liao... I just hope that we can move on with our lives soon b4 my tummy gets bigger and it will be too much for me to cope.

ak,
wah, 1st time I hear PD say milk is no good! I think it's still important to give milk at least as a form of supplement cos it's difficult to ensure that the solids we give to our babies are completely well balanced and contain all the necessary nutrition required. So milk will provide whatever that's lacking in the solids diet. Back to FM, like what MamaPanda and MamaChan suggest, you can try soy-based FM or try low lactose FM first. Since Ryan has almost never tried FM, it's good that you mix FM with BM for a start, then slowly increase the FM:BM ratio till 100% FM. BTW, have you started weaning for some time or is it a sudden complete stop to BF?

sunny,
I will beat the egg yolk and mix with BM and steam it (tabbiesus' recipe) like chawamushi. Else will cook hard boil egg and remove the whites and mash the egg yolk to mix with BM. Bread, usually it's just white bread or cheese bread, but must be soft enough. I'll just tear the bread into small pieces and give direct to Isaac. He knows how to mash and 'chew' in his mouth before swallowing.

Denmy,
sounds like lots of going-ons in your life now...
Must take care of yourself and the princess (hopefully
) in your tummy despite being so busy...
I'll probably close the drugstore spree soon.
Will let you know whether can squeeze your order in ok? Let me know how many tubes you want to buy?

Queen,
I post my order here 1st, in case other mummies also wanna buy other products instead of the 2 items which you have stated in your BP thread. Let me know if it's OK with you. Thanks!!

NICK: Denmy
Email Address: [email protected]
Item Name: A+D Original Ointment, Diaper Rash and All-Purpose Skincare Formula 1 lb (454g)
URL: http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=13117&catid=26911&trx=GFI-0-MWS&trxp1=26911&trxp2=13117&trxp3=1&trxp4=2&btrx=BUY-GFI-0-MWS
Quantity: 3
Total Amt (SG$): US$9.49 x 1.65 x 3 = S$46.78
Collection Mode: TBC

Rachel,
$$35.00 transfer for scrap-booking done. Ref: 879286452; 17 Oct 2006 12:32 AM

Sleepingdeer,
How much to pay you for Kindermusik har?

RE: ON spree
I can help to collect for mommies attending kindermusik class this sunday, aquaduck class next Sunday or scrap-booking class on 13 Nov. Let me know lah

Cookie
Yes will collect the HT stuff from you @ the kindermusik and not tumbletot class. Me such a blur sotong. Thanks

5)Damien 9 mths, 9.2kg, 74cm, FM

Cookie,
I will collect the HT items at the scrapbooking class on 13 Nov. thanks.

6)Clariss - 9 mths 3wks, 8.2kg, dun know ht (go back & measure), TBF

A small correction..

2)Ariene - 9 mths 0wks, 7.5kg, 72cm, TBF

7) Bryant - 9 mths 3 wks, 9.5kg, 73cm BF till 6 mths thereafter FM.

Long time never log-in due to shifting, I think at least 3 weeks. Finally kind of settle down into the new house already. Surprise that my elder girl who co-sleep with us previously did not give us any problem on sleeping by herself in her own room from day 1. Thanks to all the mother who have given me advise on how to get that done.

Growth chart
7) Ryan - 9 mths, 9.1kg, 72 cm, TBF

Mong and Flo
Ok noted.

Mong>> As my availability for the MWL workshop is tentative. At the mercy of my boss, In case I cannot make it. will try to pass to someone else who are attending the class.

Demny
Poor you... so hectic and tight up, No wonder havent hear from you such a long time.
It's must be very tough for you... it must be really to take care of so many things at a time..
Continue to be strong for your little princess and the 2 handsome prince ok!
Ask your hb to help you out more if possible.
If you need my help on anything just call me la...ok!

Queen,

Yah, my PD come from same school as my gynae who also believed milk is no good especially for Asians. He feels that 80% of asians are lactose intolerant and that if it is good, your body won't react this way. He feels that as long as BB taking 3 main meals a day, it is ok.

I didnt know I shouldnt start on similac str away...as you know, if I ask my PD, he will simply say dun give. I am still TBF Ryan and only tried once FM 2 saturdays ago. He threw it up. Last sat, I tried again, he complete reject. So it has still be TBF. I want to wean him as my travel schedule is hectic and now I'm worried as I am flying off to Seoul in 2 weeks time and do not have a store of BM anymore!

Mamapanda,
Thanks! That's what I did....i bot a tin of isomil to try again this weekend...

Mummies who say mix half half, you mean mix FM and BM into same bottle?? I thot not suppose to do that? Hmm....maybe i try...

breakfast poll

9) Clarisse - 150ml FM and 4-5 teaspoon of HT/EB cereal mix with fruits like banana and apple.
10) Ryan-150 FM and 4-5 teaspoon of Heinz Rice cereal (which he is rejecting now)

By the way, mummies who give their BB tomatoes, isnt it one of the allergenic food that you should avoid giving until one yr old?

Growth chart
8)Megan - 9mths 1 week, 7.8kg, 72cm, Partial BM till 7th, FM thereafter

wow so many surveys going on:

Growth chart
8)Megan - 9mths 1 week, 7.8kg, 72cm, Partial BM till 7th, FM thereafter
9) Megan (Tracy's) - 9mths 1wk, 8.1kg, 73cm, FM

10) Ryan-150 FM and 4-5 teaspoon of Heinz Rice cereal (which he is rejecting now)
11) Megan (Tracy's) - 180FM @ 7am

ak
The period when we shouldn't try to mix FM to BM is more for when they are nb to 5-6 months. But as they approach the 6 month mark, we were advised to mix the FM to BM in the same bottle, to slowly transition bb's gut to fully accept the stage 2 FM. It's also the same for bbs who are on the stage 1 FM transitioning to stage 2 FM. Hope this info helps.

Last night, i had to sleep on bumper mat. Now body aching. Megan didnt wanna sleep in her cot last night. Not sure if its due to change in place cos jus moved back home after 1wk at mum's.

i had to 'recreate' in our study room, the same look as my mum's place. I placed her still crying on the mattress n switched off the lights. She sobbed awhile then fell asleep quickly. I tried squeezing on the mattress with her (oni 1pc avail) but our princess decided not to share n 'kicked' me off. So i spent my night on the bumper mat.

Oh and guess where's hubby? Asleep in bedroom on the huge bed.. I know lah, jus return from overseas tired lah.

I hope she can adapt back to home environment soon.

tomatoes
I also tot I read somewhere tomatoes, esp non-organic tomatoes not suitable for infants <1yr old. As for cheese, I'm unable to find salt free cheese anywhere leh.. What cheese to use? Can use parmesan or cream cheese meh?