(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sl,
Thanks for the Top 100 Baby Purees.
Naturally, if your credit card is issued in Singapore, it will be detected as a non-US issued card, doesn't matter whether the billing address is an US address. Some websites are very strict, they do not accept orders from foreign issued cards at all, even though you have added the VPOSTUSA address. Some are slightly more flexible, they will accept if your card has an US billing address. Websites like Old Navy will accept as long as the foreign card has an US billing address.

Yuki,
How old is your Ashley?
I have a pink Girl's long sleeve top from Old Navy shipped to me by mistake. Think maybe can fit a girl of 3 years or so? If you like, I can give it to you.

May,

no worries.. i am sure that mummies here will support you...

RE: Payment to esther,

I am making payment to esther today, so SFS and Sandra.. i will pay esther on your behalf...

clare,
heehee, you are so funny. we don't own a car but we always use my FIL car on weekends. I got my licence in 1997 but have not been driving a lot. think I will need to go for a refresher course when I need to drive. I can understand how "kan cheong" you are. ya, orchard area is very scary, I would think shenton way/raffles place/outram is also not very good because it's a bit confusing. maybe because I am a northlander ya, think you won't be venturing to johor soon.

mummies, need to check with you gals. have anyone tried giving corn to your babies? I puree it using a blender and mix it with other vege. I am not sure if babies can digest it well because it's doesn't seems very digestible.

queen, I read that you give mushroom to issac. what type of mushroom did you give? the fresh button mushroom or those shitake type?

Hi Queen,

Thanks! That's nice of you! Ashley is three years old but her size is more like 4 or 5 years old ;p

See if other mommies here who have a gal at that age? If no takers, i can get for my niece who is two months younger than Ashley but her size avg.... Ha Ha. My ashley is chubby lah.

Hi mongs,

I used to give ashley corn but you must peel away the 'skin'.... the 'skin' is hard to digest. It can be quite tedious to do so.

I know i asked before how to prepare ikan billis soup base for babies.... i didn't have time to read the replys as megan was hospitalised thereafter i posted the questions....... Can advise me again?

Pai say. Thank you very much.

Thanks all mum... very accomodating ot the dates.
I can make it 13th Nov!!!... I will apply leave now to avoid disappointment!.

What: SCRAPBOOKING -- Getting Started with our BABIES!!
Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura, Unit03-21

**Workshop #1**
Dates: 13 Nov 2006
Time : 10:30am - 1:30pm (3hrs)
Cost: $35 (inclusive of all materials except adhesive tape)

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie-OK
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May - Ok
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little

**Workshop #2** (under pending)
Dates: 25 Nov 2006
Time : 2:30pm - 5:30pm (3hrs)

1. wenyl - ok (If sat class cancel, will go for 13 nov)
2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

Re: Fall

Clare,
So glad that Ashley is ok. The first time JW fall was at MIL place. When I heard abt it, I was sad too but generally still ok coz he looked fine by the time I get home in the evening. Barely a few weeks later, he fell off the bed again (this time at my own place). Goodness so heartpain. I cried when I heard him wailing in pain.

Wat a big difference hor. I think it was better when I didn't see him lying on the floor with my own eyes. ;p

Bao Bao
you want to join us on the scrapbooking workshop? pls advise me soon as i need to submit the list of mummies attending to them soon. thanks!

Tabbie
sure thing! your friend can join, think the rest of the mummies wont mind. =) am waiting for reply from MWL on the confirmation of the workshop on 25 Nov, hopefully they can do it. but i think they might open the workshop to other people inorder to have a bigger class. do wait for my update.

May
i personally think it will be better to leave your girl here and you and hb can concentrate in sourcing of product. 3D2N too short le. if you minus off the flight time, you really dont have much time left to do your hunting.

Clare
weeeweee! steady ah. congrats on your first drive! i seriously thinking of signing up for driving test...

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare -Ok
2. MamaChan -Ok
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie-OK
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May - Ok
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little ?

2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

From Rachel :
Do advise me on your attendance. not to forget, mummies, PM me your name and contact number! meanwhile, we need to make payment before 22 Oct, will indicate my bank account no. via email once i recieve your PM. thanks!

Sori Rachel, I have pm u my name and contact no.

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare -Ok
2. MamaChan -Ok
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie-OK
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May - Ok
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little Ok

2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare -Ok
2. MamaChan -Ok
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie-OK
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May - Ok
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little Ok

2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok
4. Tabby's friend -OK

Hi Durianlover and Wenyl, thanks for your assurance. Sarah's fever went up to 39 degrees last night. It keeps going up and down - I'm so stressed. Worried that it might be meningitis. Wat's the difference in symptoms huh? I'm so worried and paranoid cos I havent brought her for her pneumoccocal jab. =( Should have done so earlier...

Didnt sleep at all cos sarah wanted me to carry and nurse her throughout the night. *pengz* Worse thing is that can't sponge her cos she'll scream the house down. Heart so pain to see her in discomfort due to the heat. Medicine also dont want to eat. Tried spiking her food but she got no appetite to finish. Really dunno how... =(

This morning MIL asked me if she can bring Sarah for a walk downstairs even though she has fever. I said no. Guess what she did? She went to my FIL and said to sarah that 'ne'evermind, lets ask yeye whether can go out or not'. Wah liao - I'm the mother leh... really pissed off with her. Worse thing is that FIL say can go, so she just brought the baby out to bake in the sun. *grrrrrr* My blood still boiling now.

Thanks Rena. Will give u the money next we meet.

Tabby, u can arrange the class with Rachel. She's liasing with my friend about the classes.

Tabbie/Sunny/Wenyl
bad news. for the weekend slot, we need to have a mimimum of 8 in order for a private workshop. currently there is only 4 of you for the weekend slot. unless you ladies can make it for weekday, which only need a minimum 4 person. pls advise.

May/Mongs/sleepingdeer/chicken little
Got your PM. Thanks!

Clare/Rena/Denmy/Cookie/Flo
can PM me your name and contact by today?

SY
whats your surname?

Hi mummies need some advise

Recently there is a job opening in my company and was thinking to apply for the position since I am not very happy with my work ever since I come back from maternity leave. Was very disappointed with the work as the Head of my department given my empty promise.

Recently my boss just get promoted, if I go ahead and tell him that I am interested with the internal posting..would he think that I am not giving him my support

can anyone advise if parking to Plaza Singapura on a weekday morning is free for 1st hr? Any idea how much the carpark charges? I remember quite sometime ago it was. Am thinking of going down to MWL on a weekday to look-look-see-see.

As mentioned before, on scrapbooking, a fren recently started and she's very hardworking at it. Her advice for newbies is to start doing something simple before going for the class. She went for the class before. First 1.5 hr, theory and after that, everyone is trying to finish her masterpiece and she find alot don't know where to start including how to cut the photos. So, if u have done something on your own already, u can better make use the time to ask questions and to make use of some of the more sophisticated equipment there.

I'm quite hesitent to start myself as it takes up (1)time and (2)cost. Very tempting though when she showed me her masterpieces. There's an openhouse tomorrow afternoon at this place : http://www.velvet-cat.com/ and a number of mummies who are into scrapbooking are going, just sharing.

.ky.

Sandra,
Ethan's fever went up to 39.9 deg at one time. Freaked us out! U need to constantly monitor & sponge her using normal tap water. No ice water. Areas to sponge are around the head, neck, armpits & groin areas. Those are the hot spots. Monitor closely at nite cos the temp tends to go up high in the nite. I have to force feed him medicine using syringe. Its like going to a battlefield everytime it comes to feeding medicine. Dun feed right after food. Ethan threw up twice when i blur blur feed him after meal.
Hang in there gal! The fever will usually go away in 3-4 days time.

Sandra,
Have u tried pasting the cooling pad on her forehead? I understand the difficulties of feeding medicine. Meg had this mysterious fever last week too. Thank goodness it only lasted a day but the fever went up and down very quickly. Already got me very worried so can imagine how worried u r now.

Your ILs really shouldnt ve brought her out at all!! She's having fever for goodness sakes. They should know better wat..

My PD told me to look out for any ulcers in her mouth.

Hope Sarah gets well soon. You take care too.

Sandra
*grrrr* i will be boiling mad too! sarah still have not recover and how could they bring her out. plus the haze have not clear off completely...

possible to force feed sarah with the medicine?

sandra,

i ever encounter once that damien's fever went up to 40.2 degree...i have to be very heng xin to keep sponging him..regardless how he screamed...

Clare..
Your first drive is soooo funny.. esp the car park part.
I remember I did the same too when I first got my car...heehee...
Happy driving...

Rachel
I already PM you

Babylon
Is our boss also the HOD whom u are unhappy with?
If your boss is nto the same person.. maybe can tell him how u feel. Hopefully he support your transfer?
If he is the same HOD.. anyway he gae u empty promsies.. so why bother abt him thinking u not supportive?
But any chance to check with and sound out the HOD of the other internal dept of accepting your request should u make an official request to transfer?
I only worry.. what if U ask for transfer but at last din work out and u still need to remain in the same position and face your boss then it might be a bit awkward.

Clare,

Your first drive experience is so cute. I only started driving my colt recently but only within neighbourhood man. Parking very lousy. Hubby always ask how i pass but he forgot I used to drive him around when we were in U and dating.

Babylon,

You able to talk to boss first ? I feel can express your concern first. Then give him a hint u want to transfer lor. Like I want to move or tender I always prepare my boss first before dropping the bomb but it all depends on your relationship with the boss

Sandra,

Keep sponging and wear light clothings. The last time when it reaches 39 and could not go down for Aden I rush to hospital liao

babylon
do talk to your boss, let him know he is not the reason for your leaving. of coz, it all depends on your relationship with him and what kind of boss he is. if he is the kind that can speak out to, it will be good. Good luck!

Amy / Wenyl
got your PM. thanks!

Sandra - ur FIL is too much! mabbie u shld get HB to talk to his parents... if Sarah is aldy running high fever, common sense says = keep indoors! wat are they thinking bout #$%^&*

Re : Baby sleeping on her own
so glad tat celeste is able to sleep on her own for 3 days consecutively! its so cute watching how she gets to bed... she will stand and cruise afterwhich she will lie down and play wf her bolster,then she will grumble bit bit and turn here and there to 'park' herself in a right position to sleep... so funni! my wrist gets a break from pattin her..yipee!

God's child
yippie good for you!
kaelyn only sleep on her own when she in on my bed.Refuse to sleep in her own.
I need to break this bad habit of hers...

Sandra Chu,
Oh my! How can they bring ur gal out when she's got fever?? Somemore weather's so hot these days! Poor thing. Hope she gets well soon!
Janelle's appetite dropped drastically when she had viral fever...till now, she's still covered with rashes and appetite hasn't returned. Am getting a little concerned. Hope she can eat more soon.
The fever will fluctuate a lot depending on when u last fed her paracetemol. Usually after abt 4 hrs of feeding her fever medicine, her temp will start to go up, so i resorted to giving a smaller dose of the medicine 4 hrs after, instead of waiting for the 6-hr interval. Doc said it's fine to do so, as long as i don't feed her more than 9.5mls of fever medicine within a 24hr period (Janelle is 8kg). U may want to consider giving the fever medicine earlier if her temp goes up to more than 39degrees. But if she has problems taking the medicine, gotta think of creative methods! Like put it into her milk?? Or dilute it? Or something like that? Can also use a fever coolpad to bring down her temp! And sponging her is a very effective way to bring down her temp...so hv to be hard-hearted and continue to do so even if she screams n cries! Press on!

yuki,
Hmm i never really noticed my gal's nipples leh! Ha...but i think now still a bit young, so doesn't matter that they're inverted right? Will probably 'outgrow'.

god's child,
congrats! Care to share how did u manage to "train" Celeste to sleep on her own?

Sandra
Hope sarah is feeling better already...
I will be very pissed too if I'm in your shoes.
I also dun think viral infection take 5 days to erupt.

Durianlover/cookie - i actuali enjoy patting her to sleep til i realise my wrist are aching and could not do so anymore..wats more,i thot it over tat i cant pat her forever, somehow it has to happen... thus, i used Rena's method :
Dim environment for baby,lights off (but i do have a dim night light on)
for Rena, she suggest tat we leave the room..but HB and i just slept in our bed while she is in her cot.. just let her play on her own, and she will know tat no one is gona b bothered wf her... after a while, she just went ZzzZzz on her own... i din realise its so simple!

god's child
Celeste so good girl! mine been howling the house down for the past 2 nights...

Flo/Clare
waiting for your PM. thanks.

god's child,
wahh..so good. now at my mum's place, meg can roll herself to sleep on the mattress. The most is I sit on the mattress carrying her upright and swaying side to side. Can't help carrying her cos she will crawl to you and climb up with arms outstretched. She hardly sticks to me, so now that she wants me to carry, I very happy. heehee.

tracy
I know what u mean..
previously I was kinda bothered Kaelyn wasn't very responsive, now she is responding very well.. always out stretch her arms towards me, crawling, climbing onto me and grabbing my legs when she is on the floor.. even when I'm changing out of my pant!...
I really cannot resist baobao her lor..

God's child
perhaps I will try leaving her in the room for a try.. sometimes when she see me.. she will fuss and wanna to roll with me on the bed. She roll and I lie still of course..hehehe

tracy
with your hb not around, this time sure is a good chance for bonding. i understand what you mean.

sometime i wish dylan to be alittle sticky, rather than anyone who can play with him will do just fine. he wont look for me. not to mention about a good hug from him bcoz all he do when i carry him is being busy looking around or practicing his climbing skill *sigh* my energy just drain off like water when i carry him, its such a struggle.

last evening he refused to take his nap @ 6pm again. i credit that to my dad, found out that whenever my dad is home, he dont take his nap and wants to play instead. so as expected, once he got into his car seat, he turn on his volume and howl all the way home. refused to drink his milk even. ended up i had to sarong him and luckily he drank up while falling asleep. *faint* carried him out and burp him. for the first time, he fell asleep by resting his head comfortably on my shoulder. but im too tried to really enjoy this moment.......

*sigh* thanks gals... Tomorrow got hb's cousin's wedding to attend sum more.... *sigh* Very sian. Just forced her a little of the fever medicine and she vomitted again. Even if there's nothing in her little tummy she'll still find some liquid to vomit out. *sigh* Really dunno how to feed her both the medicine that I'm supposed to give her. =( So far only made it a point to give her the fever medicine since she's so feverish. The other one's for inflammation or swelling...

I think my MIL know that Im pissed of with her, she suddenly super nice... *humph*

Re: Plaza Singapura Parking

Yup, it's free for 1st hour last I went (last year). Should still be the same lah. Actually PS has the cheapest parking in orchard area. I remember parking there for one whole day (until just about evening time), only paid 3 dollars or sumthing. So before I had Sarah I used to park there and take train to taka etc. Hee..

Sandra
can dont go to the wedding?? worry that they will do the passing game with Sarah. no one can resist in carrying an adorable baby right? let your hb know Sarah needs to stay home in order to recover fast, instead of going out and never know what other things she will get in touch with. there are so many virus attacks nowadays......

do take care and jia u!!

TO ALL MUMMIES:

Before I was a Mum

I made and ate hot meals.

I had unstained clothing.

I had quiet conversations on the phone.

Before I was a Mum

I slept as late as I wanted

And never worried about how late I got into bed.

I brushed my hair and my teeth everyday.

Before I was a Mum

I cleaned my house each day.

I never tripped over toys or forgot words of lullabies.

Before I was a Mum

I didn't worry whether or not my plants were poisonous.

I never thought about immunizations

Before I was a Mum

I had never been puked on

Pooped on

Spit on

Chewed on

Peed on

Or pinched by tiny fingers

Before I was a Mum I had complete control of:

My thoughts

My body

And my mind

I slept all night.

Before I was a Mum

I never held down a screaming child so that doctors could do tests

Or give shots.

I never looked into teary eyes and cried.

I never got gloriously happy over a simple grin.

I never sat up late hours at night watching a baby sleep.

Before I was a Mum

I never held a sleeping baby just because I didn't want to put it down.

I never felt my heart break into a million pieces

when I couldn't stop the hurt.

I never knew that something so small could affect my life so much.

I never knew that I could love someone so much.

I never knew I would love being a Mum.

Before I was a Mum

I didn't know the feeling of having my heart outside my body.

I didn't know how special it could feel to feed a hungry baby.

I didn't know that bond between a Mother and her child.

I didn't know that something so small

Could make me feel so important.

Before I was a Mum

I had never gotten up in the middle of the night

Every 10 minutes to make sure all was okay

I had never known the warmth

The joy

The love

The heartache

The wonder

Or the satisfaction of being a Mum.

I didn't know I was capable of feeling so much before I was a Mum.

yuki,
nice poem!!
Where did u get it from? Or did u compose it?

God's child,
Actually you're right about putting Celeste to sleep...i also used to pat Janelle to sleep. Then when i stopped patting, i realised she also could sleep on her own without me patting. Haha...well our babies are all growing up!

rachel
RE: scrapbooking

I can make it some other day after work.. but if no one else can make it, then I'll just pass on the class. Thanks for arranging.

Yuki
That's a very moving poem... i feel it is spot on!

Hi Durian lover and Tabbiesus,

Someone send me and email and i am sure we can identify with it so i share it here.

tabbie
ok, noted. will keep you update =)

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare -Ok
2. MamaChan -Ok
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie-OK
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May - Ok
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little Ok

2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok
4. Tabby's friend -OK

From Rachel :
mummies, for those who have yet PM me your name and contact number, pls do so. we need to make payment before 22 Oct, will indicate my bank account no. via email once i recieve all of your PMs. thanks!

any more mummies intereseted to join in on 25 NOv? MLW needs a minimum of 8 in order to start the workshop. otherwise, we can only cancel it......

RE: Scrapbook Classes
Saw Rachel stating that we have to bring own adhesive tape. Any particular brand of double-sided tape or Scotch tape should we buy?

yuki - thanks for the poem. wah..seems like we really can acheive alot before being a mum. is there any after being a mum? haha..maybe the list is too short!

rena - sorry pay wat to Esther har? if you are referring to the preggy kits...you need not pay for me as I bought for esther the boom box and we will quit on that. Right Esther? if it's somethg else, please let me know..sorry me blur blur.

re - HT BP
ok mummies..the goods will arrive tomorrow morning. i will meet up with cookie to pass her during the weekend. Please get from her ok. she lives at Pasir Ris. If any of you want to get it at CCK, you will have to wait till my return on 27 oct. please let me know if you want such arrangement by tmr noon or i will pass everythg to cookie as i do not want to keep you guys waiting any longer.

wenyl - your additional 3 barleys is in but your order of cinamon cereal is OOS.

sl / Rena / tabbiesus / Flo / May,
I'm collection our Old Navy items from the Post Office next Monday. Collection can be done from next weekend!

Rena / krissie,
Our VS items are here as well...
Colelction from next weekend onwards ok?

Oh sfs.. i should have ask you .. coz i paid already .. but never mind.. i will ask esther to buy me more preggy kits..hee hee

RE. Mushrooms
Sorry, can't recall who asked about this...
I have never given mushroom to Isaac, my MIL did. Think she gave button mushrooms, though Isaac doesn't seem to like it.

Yuki,
The poem is so true! Thanks for sharing.

Re. Free Old Navy girl's top:
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6795&pid=398978
It's size L, according to the size charts it is actually suitable for 9-10 years old girls... oops. Sorry, thought it's for baby girls.
Anyone of you here have cousins/nieces who can wear?

SSF,
My BP template also stolen from another mummy one... so no copyright.
Heehee, my HB also say ON should pay me for helping them do business. I bought so many things form them too.

Sandra,
Say your MIL quite selfish hor... There's no good reason for bringing Sarah down except that to satisfy her desire of accompanying her for a walk??? Anyway, hope Sarah gets well soon!

Durianlover,
Hope Janelle will return to her normal self soon!

rena - oh sorry u actually paid for me. so pai seh. forgot to tell u we both need not pay each other. hee..so u getting more kits? i think if mine finishes, i will get Esther to buy more too. as of now, i think 10 is more than enough as i have no plans to start one until i get a job.

queen - i am looking at the IsaBooties shoes which are soft sole and has very nice colours.
it's a bit pricey but with 20%...it seems reasonable. you can check it at http://mymiraclebaby.com.sg/store/index.php?act=viewCat&catId=6