(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel, mamachan,sl,wenyl,
thanks. have decided to take half day off and bring her to see PD later. on the way check 9M development as well.

god's child
Ariene is quite "slim". Only 7.4kg, weighted this morning. She's in 25th pecentile. Her tummy is only bloated when she has wind in her tummy.

SSF
How can we collect the HT stuff from u?

chilles
Can I have a copy of the excel file too? I'll PM ju my email addy

Durianlover
Sorry only saw the postings now. Did u see the ride on in my living room just now when u came? I bought it from Isetan during a sale for 116. Saw the same one at Tom and Stefanies West Mall selling for $129. So far, only these 2 places I saw sells this. Its quite rare. Its a Combi 4-in-1 playgym-push walker-ride on-rocking horse.

SH
hahaha, really made me happy after watching JW's swimming video clip. he sure is very very happy =D
now im even more keen to bring dylan go swimming soon.

DEAR ALL,

CRAB FEAST

Shall we change the crab feast to 24th october which is a holiday?

Lets do it man!

Venue: celine77 house ( if it is ok? if not any mummies?)
Time : 6.30pm

1) Rena + bb + HB

SL
Hmm... I totally agree with your last sentence :
BUT at the rate I am buying stuff, difficult on 1 income. : (

Flo
wow your job changes worst than me, I hope your new boss is going to be a good one now onwards.

Yup like that u say...Perhaps I will just send my resume to those executive search and see if they have good lobang.

Re: Updated resume...
Errr.. Anyone has any updated resume format to share with me??
My last resume update was like 6 yrs ago...and totally look old fashion!

Re: Kaelyn accident again...
Last ntie when I went home... MIL say Kaelyn just fall down....this time with bleeding lips.. so poor thing and heart pain.

When I reach home, kaelyn already finish crying and very smiley when see me and wan to be carried so i reckon she has get over it.

But I noticed the back of her hand has dry blood stain, MIL was very worried too.
What happen was I have a FP toy which when press, the interia will spin and make noise.
kaelyn was happily pressign with both hands... and at the same time raise her butt in the air.. suddenly out of balance her fall face down onto the toy.. and I think her lipwere knock onto the toy and lip is cut by her 2 front teeth...

The sucking pad is bruise and bled and the inside of the lip also has scratches...really heart pain to see those blood.

MIL keep saying dun let her play the toy already.. and she very worried also.
But I suppose.. kaelyn need to go thru these stages and fall and alittle hurt is inevitable.
But really need to be with her when she play these days.

Mummies, got a question - Sarah has been making funny sounds lately, a little wheezing-like sound (through the nose). Also, she's starting to snore at night. Is this due to the haze? She's also getting more and more cranky. *sigh* I'm getting worried.

Last night she could not sleep in her cot (for the 1st time). Had to bring her to our bed. She kept making alot of funny sounds. Really dunno y.

hee hee,

this is elijah's lantern.. funny music thou.. tracy i actually wanted to buy the Pooh Bear.. but the music is so cheena..

536502.jpg

See Elijah can hold a balloon
536503.jpg

sandra
Ariene and Janelle were also blowing air out from their noses some time back. Not sure abt Janelle but Ariene has stopped doing that already so I think Sarah should stop after a month or so. We have video clips of them doing that in our blogs. U may want to see if its the same thing u're talking about.

UNable to sleep in cot
My girl has also been howling everytime I put her to sleep in the cot. She has a bad habit of falling asleep on the breast and refuses to wake up no matter how I slap her tigh or tickle her. But, the moment I lift her up and bring her close to the cot, she'll start crying. But, I'll just turn her to the side, let her hug her grumoy bear and bolster and pat pat her backside then the ZZZ monster will take over.

cooking beef
Someone was asking how to cook beef porridge? I posted a beef porridge recipe with claypot some time back before I bought the pigeon porridge maker. However, if u're not using the beef stock for any other dishes, you can just double boil the porridge with the beef inside for about 1 hr. After I bought the pigeon baby porridge maker during the taka fair, I use that to double boil her porridge. Conventional double boilers are too big and bulky. The pigeon one is small (just right for cooking baby porridge) and can be used in the rice cooker to cook with your rice. I put it in a medium pot to double boil though. A worthy investment.

re: work, work, work
sigh... am feeling super down on my job. after recieving my boss's email made me feel ever worse.
been with this company for coming to 4yrs, there are times when wanted to resign and look for many other offers. recieved a few offers when im preggie with Dylan, all turned down, thinking that it will be better to stay put since im going to have a baby and will need to have my maternity leave. like what cookie and other mummies said, the new environment and many other reasons just kept us back...

my job require me to work on 2 saturdays per month. have used up all my remaining maternity leaves on the past saturdays. thus i proposed to my boss whether i could top up the hours by working longer hours during weekdays so that i could be free on saturdays to care for dylan and go for gatherings. end up he gave me no option by saying i can remain my current working hours and no need to work on saturdays, BUT will remove $200 from my salary!!! $200 for 2 saturdays! im upset...

should i go for this and forgo $200? or just drag myself through the saturdays? with this $200 I could buy so many stuff or save it up. moreover my salary is not that fantistic in the first place...

rena
hohoho, the ballon is branded wor. of coz, elijah is as cute as before.

sandra
dyaln had this wheezing-like sound sometime back. but after a few days it stopped and till now no more of it. so you may want to monitor first? of coz going to PD will settle all your worries.do sarah cough or having flu lately?

fussing to sleep in cot, i think it do happen to our babies from time to time.

Rachel,
yes there is a scrapbooking shop at PS called MADE WITH LOVE. Used to be "hidden" next to Best Denki on the left towards the toilets. Recently they expanded and will be moving to a more prominant shop space on the 4th/5th floor but the last i heard its still renovating no idea if they are opened already. In any case, the exisitng "hidden" shop should still be open. =)

Wah $200 for 2 Sat... your boss really terrib;e wan to Ke TOK you only... u need to work FULL day on Sat?? If its only half day I'd say just drag yourself there... if its FULL day i may consider forgoing $200 if no other option... Weekend very precious with bb leh...

rachel
Can understand how u feel. Ultimately, U'll have to decide for yourself if u really need that $200 or u prefer to be at home with Dylan. I took a $1.7k pay cut to work 3 days out of 5 with half my full-time benefits only. Worth it? Financially, of course not. I'm still heavily loaded with work and still working at home on most thurs and fri. But, I get to be at home with Ariene more, so, I accepted it because I feel that extra 2 days is more important than $1700.

Cookie,
Oh dear poor Kaeyln... can imagine really heart pain to see the cuts n dried blood... =(

Thank God so far Ashley only had minor falls but I guess what Flo said is very true... only by falling do they learn how NOT to fall... my HB always remember what Batman's daddy said "Why do we fall son? So that we learn to pick ourselves up again." so I will tell HB tonight he too can have his own words of wisdom to Ashley next time... "Why do we fall girl? So that we can learn how Not to fall again..." Err... sounds weird? Hahahaha...

if u feel that your bb is feverish feed more water. there was one day when i came home and i find JH feverish. immediately gave him his feed and water and he feels normal again.

tracy
hope meg is alright!

cookie
poor kaelyn, but like what flo posted earlier, they must learn to fall or they won't know how to stop themselves from falling. but it's just that as parents our heart is so pain...

rena
sumo looks so cute!!

rachel,
that really sucks....why dun u try to find a new job? sat are really precious with our babies...and $200 is a lot of money....

Thanks mampanda and rachel for ur advice. Will monitor and see how.

Clare/ Rachel, MAde With Love is my galfriend's shop. I can try to ask her if she can organise a scrapbooking class for u gals or not if u like. Maybe can get discount for u.

Clare
thanks for the details =) will check it out tomo!

sandra
REALLY!! that will be good leh. clare, what you think? heehee whats your friend's name ah? maybe can get some discount from her tomo =p

clare/mamapanda/SY
well... my saturdays are FULL day, thats why it really sucks if i were to work and my weekends are totally burn by half! yes i know the time spent with our babies is so much precious.

think at the end of the day, i will forgo this $200 and in the meantime send out my resume. maybe its god's will, telling me its time for me to move on and step out of this place for good. at least i must tong till year end to get my bonus! hope for the best bah.

thanks mummies! for your advise and pointers. am really glad im in this thread and have you gals =)

mamapanda
you used 8 days per month of the time to be with Ariene, in exchange of 1.7k. thats a brave move. but know that nothing beats the time with our babies.

Rachel ,

I think you should resign all together..

RE: cut hair

haha just now i was staring at elijah 's hair and realise that i better cut away his side burn coz look funny so i cut it off.. haha and we both have fun as he is enjoy it as i cut and sing and play with him..

536600.jpg
536601.jpg
536602.jpg

mamapanda - it will be at Tampines my place. Where do u live? You may want to ask some others to help you collect?

rena - sumo is so cute and happy with his balloon. hee..

rachel - wah ur boss is really not understanding at all. $200 for 2 sats is alot for a half day work. if its me, i will still drag myself to work. like u said, 200 can be use to buy lots of stuff for baby. meantime, u may want to slowly find a better job.

Sandra
oh, hope nothing too serious with Sarah Mae. Like what Rachel and MamaPanda suggested, to monitor, if still worried, good to go PD for peace of mind.

Cookie
Kaelyn so poor thing. Must be really heart pain to see the blood and cut on her lips. But like what some of the mummies mentioned, they don't fall, they won't learn. Just have to watch out for them when they are playing. They still cannot be left entirely on their own. Assure your MIL that KAelyn is a smart girl, she won't repeat things to go through more pain again.

Clare
Hahaha! You really have a good sense of humour with hb. I was stifling my laughter in office when I read your post. It's like the Flying Dutchman on C95 going ," Words of Wisdom for the day is this..."

Rachel
Oh dear...how can your boss turn on you like that with no flexibility? You must be fuming mad. Are the Saturday's you're supposed to work be for full-days or half-days? If half-day and you don't mind, can drag yourself through it, if not then really up to you if willing to forgo that $200 or not, though we can do alot of things with that $200.

MamaPanda
Wah...you really very wei da! Pay cut of $1.7k? That's alot! But really, I agree with you that all the time in the world to be spent with our bbs is more important.

Scrapbooking
Sandra, if you could check with your friend how much do they charge for the classes, it'll be great! At least logistically, we don't have to think of how far to travel to get this done but we all can go to town.

rachel,
With 1.7k less income at home now, we really have to watch our spendings. Otherwise, its still manageable. Just be a bit more giam with ourselves. I dont really splurge on ariene but I don't stinge on her either. We just stinge with ourselves - no more going to the wine bars, no more restaurants, no more couple nights out - just stay home play xbox together or rent a movie watch at home. $200 is not really alot enough to create an impact in your monthly income, so, just bear with it until u find a better job elsewhere ba.

MIL

Yah, my MIL is the real modern type. She is not old fashion at all and she has got very good taste...so sometimes when she goes shopping, she makes it a pt to buy me something...a top, a skirt etc. I think part of the reason why our relp is good is also becos of my hubby. He is her favourite son and she has told me this many times and I can also see that she favours him. And I also love the same man so we have one very common ground...hahahah

When I read some of your posts that your MIL favours the other DIL, i can sympathise cos while my MIL is v nice to me, she can be quite harsh with her other DIL...and that has resulted in some quarrels between her other son and MIL.

At the end of the day, my bottomline is that if i love my hubby, try not to put him in a difficult position where he has to defend his wife or mother...

Krissie,

I tried oats but not successful also....maybe my boi not the ang moh kind...need to take a chinese brekkie

Re: you long zi
I think there was a thread last time abt you long zi and most of the mummies realised that his comments were almost always the same...at nite cannot go out, cannot go swimming etc...sometimes it is unavoidable and after you hear this kind of comment, i guess u will feel uncomfortable bringing ur bb out at nite or swimming etc...

SSF, re: HT BP
Anyone staying in the BB/BP/CCK region collecting from u? U mind PM me your addy and hp num so we can arrange? BTW, when can we start collecting? My hb works at Tampines so maybe u can also meet him at Tampines mall or SIngtel building or nearby to pass to him.

Re: Brown Rice

Oh no, when I feed him cereal, it'll be brown rice day in day out for every meal until I finish the pack.Then I change to something else.

rachel,
dun be too chong dong. Have a final discussion with your boss 1st. Try to nego on the amt, $200 is too much.
If he really refuse to give in, u give in 1st and look for a job. Dun resign 1st.

Mamapanda - yes there is chicken_little who stays at CCK. they will deliver on 10th oct. yes sure ur hb can collect from me. i be home.

i have PM u my address.

Sandra Chu,

Monitor bb for a few days first.. is she a c-section bb? try not to bring bb out these days.. the haze is so bad.. that is why i am keeping elijah at home..

Flo,
My friend gave me the float. But i saw it at a lot of place. Toy r us, kiddy palace all have :)

SY,
Yah yah...we can go swim together :)

SSF,
Thanks for all the information. Will go. Maybe after that go Sentosa as well if weather & haze conditions good.

Hi mummies...thanks for all your concern...still dun feel good....but will see how things get in another few days...sigh...

supposed to celebrate Mid-Autumn Festival with In-laws...but in my current state...i'm feeling too sick to go anywhere...so sian...I think my MIL tried to get my hubby to bring both my boys down...but hubby insisted that he had to look after me at home as I will be all by myself and he won't feel "Safe" about it...

Cookie...hope Kaelyn is ok...when I read your post, I recalled the time when my elder boy fell off his tricycle when he was barely 8 mths old...At that time, I was still staying with my in-laws and had no helper...I placed him in the tricycle we bought for him while I prepared his porridge in the kitchen...to my horror, while my back was turned, in less than 2 seconds, he tried to stand and the whole tricycle toppled over with him in it...his lips bled too but no bruises other than that...whew....Then the second time was when he fell off the bed when he was 2 yrs old and fractured his collar bone...

Hai...these are things that we all do not wish for...naturally we will feel heartpain and ache...

mamapanda...James is 8.6kg at 9 mths but his head circumference still quite small...I checked with PD...he feels that as long as the head circumference grows...we should not feel too worried about it....he also joked that I would not want a disproportionate baby...with a big head and a small body...

James looks tiny cos he's really long. He's 73cm as of 9 mths...so although he is nearing 9kg...he looks far from it...hehe...

Okie...drowsy from all the medication...if I hv typo errors...it muz be from the medication...mummies...take care and have a fantabulous Mid-Autumn Festival with your loved ones....

Err...issit SY or SL that has bought the toothbrush and paste thingy? Can pls sms me so I can pick up from you? I may not be able to get it this weekend though cos still feeling very unwell...sorry and thanks for the trouble

rena
the photo of sumo so cute!! he will sit still for u to cut hair ? so good boy

nowadays JH fav word is O. i must really take a pic of him saying it. it's so funny.

sandra,
wow, that sounds great. if you fren can org a class i think it will be fun.

ak,
my mil claims that she loves her son more than her daughter but so far not really true from what i can see. she sides with her even when she's saying nonsense. u know my sil ask my mil to invest in stocks and when make money she sold the stock away and only gave her the amt she started with? she will still defend her and say as long as no loss good already....

septbride
not la, wont be chong dong. heehee cant break my rice bowl yet. yah will talk to my boss, if he stays firm i oso bo pian.

mamachan
yah will do with it first. $200 might not be a big amount but it sure helps in my savings and spending power. =p small $ + small $ = BIG $

SY,

he is quite Guai.. he just sit there on his rocker theni sing him songs and he just let me cut.. so we had fun cutting hair

thanks for all your concern =) * touch touch*

i will REN for now... year end is just round the corner, will tong till year end and get my bonus and bye bye to my boss. can you imagine a job without staff benefit and still need to be his part time admin...... i confirm could not bear to tear myself from dylan and drag myself to work a full day on saturdays.

so for now is... REN

SH
Thanks for the info on the float.

Rena
Elijah is forever so cheerful and oh a branded balloon...dun pray pray...keke

Sandra
Ya like what most mommies said perhaps you wanna monitor Sarah first.

Cookie
Poor Kaelyn, is always heartache for mommiy but since she's smiley I suppose she's ok. Guess is part and parcel of growing up.

Rachel
I suppose for $100 in exchange for a full day with Dylan is worth it. Do you have to work later than your official hours? If so, then perhaps you could give it back to your boss by going back on the dot everyday. Dun quit first, just take your time to look for another job since job market has picked up. Moreover, bonus is just round the corner. From personal experience, do take time to look for another job and make sure is really something you want to do before accepting it. If not you may end up jumping from one pile of shit into another deeper one.

Flo
yah its all worth it. Time just keep clicking and theres no U turn for us. On and off will need to work late, been avoiding it to happen by going to office early to clear my work. Yes, i will. will take time to look around and decide whats best for me. thanks for your pointers =)

Sandra,
Cld it be blocked nose due to haze? That was wat happened to my boy. Thot it was juz cough then to realise that it was allergy. Go see PD if it continues for a day or two. Haze is def getting worse.

SY,
Yes. weekly without fail. up to 3 times if my mom is unlucky. :p Complaining abt me is always top on the list!

SH
Thanks for the youtube posting, indeed very entertaining

BTW I think Mel can hi-5 with JW, will need 2 people to cut her finger nails, one to hold and the other to cut...haiz

Flo,
Haha. When she doesnt call, it wld mean she's VERY VERY pissed wif either me or my mom.

My mom after a while gets very sick of it but she din want to reject her calls. Not nice she said. I told mom juz ignore her and direct everything back to me. After a while MIL shld get it. But my mom always nice to other people except her own daughters. haiz....

Have decided to be more hardworking in planning Clarisse's diet... with the aid of Gina Ford's book... below is the plan I am going to start... any comments?

According to Gina Ford:
1) We can slowly reduce baby milk intake... but minimum still require about 500 to 600ml a day. If baby rejects his milk, offer him extra yoghurt or cheese and include sauces and pudding in his diet to ensure that his daily milk requirements are met.

2) Work towards establishing 3 proper solid meals a day.

3) Iron is a significant nutritional consideration at this time.

4)Baby should have 2 to 3 serving of carbohydrates a day.

5)At least 2 serving of vegetables and fruit a day, ideally more vegetables than fruit.

6)1 serving of animal protein. (a serving starting at approx 25g and increasing to 50g) Remove all fats and skin and bones from meat and poultry.

With some modifications to her plan, below is my plan:

Morning (ard 7am to 9am)
120 - 150ml milk
Cereal (oat, barley or mix grain) with fruits (banana, apple, pear, peach, avocado)

Afternoon (ard 12pm to 2pm)
120 - 150ml milk
Porridge with fish (Ngor He, Cod, Salmon) and vegetables (spinach, cauliflower, broccoli, pumpkin, sweet potatoes, potatoes, carrot)

Evening (ard 5pm to 7pm)
120 - 150ml milk
Porridge with fish and vegetables

Night (ard 9pm to 10pm)
210ml milk with brown rice cereal

The food prepared have to be free of salt, sugar and additive.

In between meals, can give baby some snacks as biscuit, yoghurt, fruit juice.

I am so upset today.. Mil say that the hair i cut is not nice then she decided to trim.. ahhhhh... now his hair look like shit and very jia liat... the worst part is that one side is thinner then the other.. oh no..

RE: angry

Oh one more thing i am angry about .. and that is my mil very pian sin... my thai sil company decided to ask her to leave due to her pregnancy and she can work for 6 more months.. wah.. my mil so kan cheong.. so she tell my bil that if she have no job then after her birth she can go to my hubby company to work!! wah lao!! how can !! what can she work as? Plus when i am not working why she never popose that i go there and work? mil very jia liat one lar.. my bil is staying at her place and they have no finance burden.. angry angry.. why the world is so unfair..

Zhimin,
I will smile and accept but will only wear at home. Not nice to reject if they already bought. My MIL offered to buy and I told her nicely that my son already has alot. I suppose if they hardly see u wear him in clothes they buy, they will get the hint.

RE : Spinach
Read this on net. I thot spinach is okay? I only know has to blanch spinach before cooking.

"Don't give beets, spinach, collards or turnip greens to babies under one year of age due to high concentrations of naturally-occurring nitrates which can reduce the baby's hemoglobin."

zhimin,
we can do a poll on the shower gel we are using on our babies.

1) clariss-lactacyd & sebamed baby liquid cleanser