(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Chickenlittle
your mil really is a nice lady. i bet she is a very good mother, mil and grandma...

SY
sigh... your mil really hack care you >=[

Really cannot catch up with all the postings...only managed to scan thru!

Queen,
Isaac really looks so cute and funny in the pics! Hahaha
My gal loves tissue paper. If she's quiet for too long and i go check on her, chances are it's because she's pulled out some tissue paper and is playing with it!

SY,
Ooh maybe your MIL really having menopause? If i were you, i'd also be unhappy with what she says and does!

Re: pull up pants
May i ask what's the purpose of pull-up pants? Is there a need to 'upgrade' from diapers to pull-up pants??

do your baby refuses to nap? in terms of rejecting to nap and will fuss and cry in protest.

Dylan started to refuse to take his evening nap, which is 6pm. for the past 2 evenings he simply refuse to nap when place into his sarong. will twist and turn and cry. even when we tried to carry him and pat him to sleep he also dont want. any reason why he is reacting in this way? bcoz of this he totally skip his evening nap, thus when it comes to nighttime he was really cranky...

chillies
serious?? your MIL will call your mum once a week to complain?? can't believe it....

SSF,
can PM me the contact for BP for HT? i m thinking of getting more barley cereal cos my boy likes it

chicken little
your MIL really nice to u..no wonder u miss her

Re: MIL

I am very fortunate to have a good MIL. She really ask the maid to cook nutritious food for me during my pregnancy and cook bird nest every other day....to the extent that my BIL commented that she cook more bird nest for me than for his wife....even now that I am still on TBF, she will make it a pt to cook soup and fish and call me to tell me to come home to eat cos I need to produce milk for her grandson....so funny.

Re: Cereal
Krissie, my son also has been refusing cereal for the past 2 weeks...i dunno what to do or what to replace the cereal with. Any mummies got any ideas what I can give him for brekkie if i dun give cereal? This started shortly after Heinz baby first rice cereal (the blue packaging) went OOS in a lot of places. So i had no choice but to try a variety of different brands all of which he rejected. Now it is back in stock, I got so excited that I bot one carton (12 boxes) but these few days he also rejected it....any mummies interested in buying over from me before i open it to market pl?

SL, pls can I have the recipes too?

ak,
JH also likes the heinz bb first cereal. he din like the subsequent one that i gave him. now i m giving him healthy times barley cereal and he likes it

your MIL really good to u!! maybe i m not a very good DIL in my MIL's eyes.

Re Brown Rice article
I think it is ok to feed Brown Rice but not excessive, like EVERY MEAL EVERY DAY. I am still keen to feed Ashley Brown Rice so that she will learn to eat that even when older, but will probably get mum to cook it like 2-3 times a week max?

sl, sent you a PM already.

Rachel, I think Dylan is starting to consolidate his naps. Try and put him to sleep at night earlier? Have dinner and milk earlier then go to bed. My friend, who reads a lot about sleep, says 9 to 12 months is when babies start to have lesser but longer naps. From 3 naps to 2, then to 1 eventually at 12 months.

Tracy, if no takers for the EQ M size, I'll buy from you.
Megan's hair looks quite cute lah. Not tut at all!

Re Scrapbooking Gathering
We can all buy a standard kit so that we have the exact same materials n papers to work with for our 1st project, not so headache. Alternatively, I do have all the supplies but too much of a variety may lead to more confusion? Anyway I will try to see if Spot Light carries a cheap starter kit (eg $10 max) for us to begin with. In any case i will still bring my barang barang for that "extra" personal touch to our individual works. Meanwhile mummies we must start organising n print out some photos for the project... preferably with a theme eg. Baby's First Bath, One Day Old... etc. Maybe we can even standardise the theme for the gathering? =)

God's Child,
Scrapbooking paper sizes are ususally 12x12 and 8x8. However, there are no rules which says u cannot use the black album n paste the pictures in like what u suggested. However, if u intend to keep that for a looong looong time, the rule is all paper based materials n markers/pens used MUST BE ACID FREE. You can get very nice "Photo" Albums with black Acid-Free pages from those expensive paper shops (eg iPrint? Can't remember the name) or can try Art Friend also but not so nice loh. Other deco like ribbons, laces etc need not be acid free. Aluminium foil is tricky... i am not sure abt it being acid free or not...

Sigh... i tok so much machiam like i expert hor?? In fact i have not even start a single page... so sad... really hope to get started SOON!! I have so many ideas... I intend to do 1 album for baby and another plain "Black Book Album" (just like what God's Child is planning to do) for my studio wedding photos (those proofs which i got from the studio after selection)... JIA YOU!!!

SY,
Yah, my boi also used to like the heinz first rice cereal....now he seem to have forgotten he likes it so he's rejecting it. I ask my maid to mix a bit of apple sauce into it tomorrow and see how...but i was so KS n bot one carton (cos previously everywhere sold out).

MIL
Actually I dated my husband for 13 years before we got married. So my MIL n I r very close. Last time when my FIL travel for biz, I wud stay over and sleep with my MIL and we wud chat late into the nite. So I guess we became frens (strange thing to say but quite true). She treats me very well and I reciprocate too. Now that I have a son, all the more i treasure my relp with MIL as I'm afraid next time I will get a DIL that will be disrespectful to me....hahha...this is me thinking ahead....

you long zi

Actually I wanted to go You long zi when I had my son. My SIL/BIL went to him for their two kids....but all i hear is "before a certain age cannot go swimming", "Before a certain age cannot travel", "Before a certain age cannot go out at nite"....

So my hubby took the stand that we wouldnt go to him and that he would name our son....which is good cos when Ryan was 3 mths, we brot him swimming liao and when i am on leave, i take him swimming everyday...also, we brot him travelling too and we neednt worry abt this and that....and we have no qualms abt bringing him out at nite...

clare
thanks for the article on brown rice. i think i will mix white rice with brown rice for my gal instead of feeding her pure brown rice (long and round type + lentil) for her meal.

noticed that my gal didn't gain much weight since last month...

Re: Job
I'm with my company for 6 yrs now.. I like my job! Though I'm in Accounting dept but I not exactly day in and out the same. Of course there are routine task but I get to do new things or involve in project every now and then and that make my job interesting.
Its the management I wish could improve. In my 6 yrs, change 5 bosses. Except the 1st boss, the rest merely work to cover their own butt or push responsibility.

I'm ok with being busy...(of course I want my time with Kaelyn) but its rather disheartening when the boss din appreciate the effort of my team.

Just now had performance appraisal with my boss on my team and myself. Just make me even more sick abt his management style...

Clare
heee you really sound like expert in scrap book. Though I always failed my Arts.. but before bb arrive I have already been thinking abt doing one...I even kept my positive preggie test (thrown away now), wanted to make it part of it.
Guess I procastinate too much...nothing is done till now

Have standard theme and start kit sound great to me!! Look slike I have start gathering stuff ....

SY
weeeee... your MIL sure is irritating...

AK
Very good for you to have wonderful relationship with your MIL...
I dun even chat with my mum into late at nite

SSF
no hurry... have a good trip to Japan... I want to go for holiday too!!!

Hi SL
I'm interested too. Can email me at [email protected]

My son use YOU LONG ZI too. He said he has to learn swimming after he turn 3. If b4, someone must be there to watch over him. He is also not allowed to see live stocks killing and horror movie.

Mamapanda,
Saw the pic u took at tabbs gathering. I'm the mummy standing next to u in yellow top and green pants carrying my son. ;o)

SSF,
Saw from your blog that you brought Caleb to Mt Faber - Altivo for high tea. Do they have high tea during weekdays? My MIL wants to go Genting next Mon & Tue. So I am taking leave with hb to take care of bb....wondering where we can bring him beside shopping.

Does anyone has any suggestion?

Btw, just want to share a clip of JW swimming.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2gWfu7A5omU

ssf/ mummies

I will re-post the nepia address to send back the nepia coupon to get the NTUC voucher again... so you all no need to search under archieve.

Nepia Hong Kong Limited
Raffles City
PO Box 1783
Singapore 911760

send in 10 nepia coupons with self addressed return envelop (with stamp).

Buffet

Just now someone asking neo garden how much discount for the catering over msn... I have the brochure with me now, it is 20% discount during one week before or after 1st/21st
birthday & baby full month date. Buffet must be $300 on regular price & selected menu.

For mummies with baby girl

I read september issue of "family", they advertised one online clothes shop for baby & kids, the dresses and skirts are all very nice, but the problem is they don't put the price and size on the website. Not very user-friendly. But I am so tempted to buy clothes for clarisse again!

RE: Baby Falling down
Happen to come across this para from the book Rising Girl, thot it would make mommies here feel better about their bbs falling off the bed

"It's impt for parents to understand that children may be even more likely to have accidents if you constantly protect them from experience. For eg, a child must learn how to fall over in order to learn how to stop herself falling over. I cannot stress this enough - falling over is an important and necessary childhood experience!"

Will be flying to BKK tonight!

SY,
Your MIL really too much. HOw can complain about you to your mother? Quite disrespectful to you and your mom. Does your HB know?

Ak,
Wah... you are so close to your MIL! Is she the modern MIL kind? I can't imagine sleeping with my MIL and chatting late night with my MIL leh.
For breakfast, you can try giving very soft bread and hard boiled egg yolk mixed with milk.
But I think still not too good to have eggs every day... maybe every other day.

RE. MIL
My MIL has never made any bird's nest (or any other special soups) for me but can still tell me that 'she heard' that it's good to take some during pregnancy. Even say can buy those instant ones and drink. Well, she never make and never buy. It's my mom who bought and made bird's nest for me.

Re. MIL's favourite DIL
MY BIL is getting married and MIL will soon have another DIL. This fiancee of my BIL is quite friendly and chatty, also know how to sweet talk a bit, a bit 'teh teh' kind. So I think my MIL quite like her loh... Heehee... we shall see whether she gets special treatment when she gets preggy.

Re. You long zi and chinese name
Had thought of getting a chinese name from You Long Zi, but in the end, both HB and I do not really 'believe' in those 8 characters kind of thing so gave up the idea. Also because we are very lazy to go see him... hahah. Anyway, my boy's chinese name is Zhang Jun Jie similar to the Chinese pop singer JJ Lin... me and HB were cracking our heads and discussing the chinese name (after cracking our heads to settle on Isaac) in the car while listening to JJ Lin's CD. Then my HB jokingly said 'aiya, why don't we just call him Jun Jie!' And I thought, sounds quite nice with the surname... so settled! Heehee...

Sl,
sure, can get anything your want from ON. But must wait for me to come back from BKK next Tues... Our ON items from the last spree should be here by next week.

AK,
You are indeed very fortunate. I've ever heard of ppl that are closer to their MIL than mom. I guess not many MIL can be that opened minded and treat DIL as a daughter rather than "outsider". Of course it takes 2 to clap, I've also seen very good MIL being treated badly by their DIL.

SH
JW looks so cute. He really enjoyed the swim har. Where did u get the float? Have not brought Mel for a swim yet...not so much cos of You Long Zi (haha) more cos of my PD...kept reminding me not to bring Mel for swim until she's older

RE: You Long Zi
My nephew was named by him and a few of my frens' kids too. I realised that almost all the same one, like can't go swimming, can't go travelling, can't be scared by dogs etc. But one of them is the most siong one, I think can't go home later than 7pm until 3..so each time the parents bring the bb out is a mad rush.

SY
What do we need to prepare for the aquaduck class? Do we need to bring our own float?

Cookie
Re: Job
I can empathise with you. I'm also with my company for 6 years, change 5 bosses, change 4 dept and change 5 seats. Is really frustrating cos you have to "prove" yourself each time you have a new boss, get use to their culture and personality (I've had Chinese, Indian, Kiwi and now Irish bosses). Some have really fiery temper and some are super nice that all the other dept push the job to my dept (end up is us "the worker" who suffered). I ever had a boss that is based in Hong Kong (& the rest of the team too) and I'm all alone in Singapore like a lost child with no one to fight for my rights and most ppl dun even know who my boss is!!! And is worst when it comes to promotion and increment at year end cos there is no continuity. Actually I wanted to leave the co since 3 years back (even to the extent of not getting a new job), then I had quite a good new boss so stayed on. Then later got preggy and actually was very determined to get out after I'm back from maternity leave this year. Actually got a job offer but turned it down after much consideration. Partly cos with a new co have to work hard initially to prove myself and also tough to take urgent leave (which is crucial now that I have a bb) and also I just transfer to another dept and a new boss yet again. So far things have turned out better and am keeping my fingers crossed. But that of course I still leave my option open when the executive search firms call up

Queen
Have fun in BKK!! Oh btw, being kaypo are you bringing your own eggs? Sorry for being super KS cos there are so many reports about bird flu in Thailand altho is not scientifically proven that the virus will spread via egg.

Queen
Re. You long zi and chinese name
Same here me and hb also don't really 'believe' in those 8 characters kind of thing so didn't go to you long zi. But we are a bit more hardworking, went to library to borrow chinese name books (cos both our chinese not very good...haha). In the end we decided on Hanyun, han(2) as in as in 'nei(4) han' (internal virtue) and yun(4) as 'yun mu (3)' (rhythmic). We wanted her to have internal beauty and because both me and hb are not musically incline we wanted her to have some music sense...haha. So we had her English name translated from her chinese name. We were still deciding between Cadence and Melody and before we could decide my nephew went round telling the others bb name is Melody (cos we asked him which sounds better) and that's how Melody got her name

Hi mummies...I'm down with bronchitis...just a couple of days ago, my baby was also down with cough...now my turn...

All mummies gotta take care...I started with flu-like symptoms...then i attributed it to the haze and didn't bother about it...then yesterday morning, the haze got better and I also felt beta so didn't think much about it either...however, in the afternoon, when the haze turned bad, my condition took a turn for the worse....then my throat started to become very painful...last evening when I saw a Dr, she said that I was down with initial bronchitis...now my chest feels tight and have difficulty breathing...so...dun delay seeing a doctor...sigh...

Also the PD advised that babies should be kept indoors, preferably in an air-conditioned environment due to the haze...so mummies, pls take care of yourself and also our little ones...if possible, dun bring baby out unnecessarily....

SY
can get the HT barley cereal from organic shops. There is one at great world city which sells it. btu OOS v fast, call before you go. 68361855 Where do you stay?

Queen
Thanks.. Hb and I sort of decided to leave Gerald here with my mum cause we're really worried that he'll be sick there, then my hb won't be able to concentrate on his work. So, won't be getting winter wear for him. But, i dun mind getting some T-shirts for him if the rest of the mummies are getting something. Enjoy your BKK trip..
Me going next mth. heehee.. you must share with me when u come back.

ak
I've no idea. was thinking of trying out bb oats, hopefully he'll like that.

Val,
I'll reserve the EQ for you. No need to pay lah. Where do you stay? How can i pass to you? I'll be in Hougang for the next whole week at my mum's.

Joanna,
Oh dear... hope you recover soon. Take care! Yup, the haze was pretty bad yesterday. But noticed that my are in punggol wasn't as bad as my MIL's in Bishan.

Re: Teething with Fever
last evening reached MIL's, was told Meg is feverish. Temp is 38.5 so we fed her fever med. Almost immediately after the med, the fever jus went down. So strange. Then back home at 10pm, fever is back at 38.5 again. So we put cooling pad on her forehead. Quite quickly, fever subsided again.

Poor gal sooo tired she actually fell asleep bent over in sitting position in her cot. 11pm fed her milk. 11.30pm she woke up. Pat pat. 12.30am woke up. Pat pat. 3.30am wokeup..fever again. fed fever med but out of 2ml, think she spit out 1.5ml..

This morning no fever. Is it teething?? She was drooling lots. Felt her upper gums, slightly swollen. Told MIL give her fever med again later at 10am then if fever ever reaches 39deg to call me. *touch wood*

Hope its jus fever due to teething. 38.5deg is not toooo bad right? she was still playing and laughing.

Tracy
According to my PD actuallly teething shouldn't cos fever. So you better monitor Megan.

Joanna
You take too

quick question,

any mummies using the lucky baby stroller that is advertised in straits times under john little sale today? It is selling for $99. I am keen to buy but just wanted feedback.

Tracy, also monitor if Megan's appetite is affected. Give more fluids if need to.

Joanna, hope you recover soon!

My friend's PD mentioned that this year, the haze is worse than previous years because it contains more toxic fine particles so the cases of bronchitis at his clinic went up by 50%. Stay indoor as much as possible and even if at home, close all windows, turn on air-con if haze is really bad.

SH,
JW looks so happy! i m going to forward the clip to hb so he will be more motivated to bring JH to swim. hee, can bring them to swim together next time

joanna
do take care and hope u recover soon!!

queen,
i already told hb abt my mil complaining to my mum and he is not happy abt it. i guess it makes his own mum look bad as well cos half her claims were groundless. anyway as long as hb dun stand on her side, i dun really care abt anything else.

enjoy your trip in BK!

ak,
your MIL really nice. i guess my MIL scared i take away her son so she has never really tried to be very nice. and it is a vicious cycle. when i feel wronged i find it hard to be nice as well. so i guess the best thing is to keep my distance from her.

flo,
i think no need to bring anything but can bring your own float if u wan. let me go and dig my emails..

Val,
No probs for the EQ lah. I've got your HP. Sms you my no. soon.

Meg's appetite for milk dropped from 690ml to 510ml yesterday. But this morning she drank 120ml at 6.30am. So appetite's still fine. Skipping cereal and porridge today. MIL will also boil barley water for her today.

So her lantern festival will be spent at home with me. Daddy has to go temple..and guess wat, her wini the pooh lantern "melted" cos i placed it near the room wall facing the evening sun. removed the plastic last night n there was this horrible rubber smell..haiz..

sl,
sori i took sooo long to get the photo. its already lantern festival..paiseh.. here it is. my fren bot it for $6 near immigration dept. taka sells it for $8.
536415.jpg

Tracy
Oh dear...hope Megan is feeling better. Teething I think the fever won't be so high bah. Sounds like viral infection to me. Any other symptoms other than that she's drooling? any coughing? Hope her temperature remains down. The lantern, my goodness, the evening sun so powerful? Can cause her lantern to melt.

Really Bad Haze
Yesterday's haze was really bad. Smelt like the entire Singapore was doing some burning like that. These few days have been keeping Daren indoors as soon as we fetch him back home from IFC and not bring him to anywhere else. Guess it's just me, hb and bb at home tonight.

sychua - i have PM you HT contacts.

SH - haa..so u view my blog. hee..so happy! yes i brought my boy to Mt Faber - Altivo. very nice place to chill out. there is the ikea high chair..so no worries abt ur baby. i ordered chicken salad and its available on weekday too. weekday lunch they have lunch set which comes with dessert, main course, soup and drink. abt 22++++. i saw some ppl eating the english breakfast which has a 3 tier of muffin/cakes on a silver plate. looks nice! its abt $22 plus for 2 person. the food is not cheap but with the scenery..it's quite worthy. u can try there and if you want..u can take a cable car to sentosa. its also the first stop for the cable car. car park is free..so go ahead and enjoy and spend your day there.

queen - enjoy your trip!!!

zhimin - thks so much for the nepia address!

Tracy,
Same here. Ethan kanna fever last nite. Fever comes & go. I tink it is viral fever again. Sigh! PD says if it still persists by tmr, bring him in. *Argh! Gonna burn a big hole in pocket again* Wat a way to celebrate his 1st lantern festival. Hiaz!

Btw, teething doesn't cause fever.

hi medela pump mummies...

some lobang for you to earn extra cash for those who have used medela pump before. there is a group survey conducting medela pump users. Survey will be done in a grp. They will pay you $150 in cash for your effort. However, you will need to go down twice and do some homework. INterested, can call Irene at 9183 5006. cheers!

Joanna
get well soon!

Val
thanks so much for your info! comes to think of it... dylan really could be consolidating his nap time.

ok, i will feed him milk earlier and put him to bed earlier. hmmm... 830pm... its gonna be a mad rush for us. now he goes to bed by 9pm.

tracy
hope megan will be clear from fever. think it could be the haze and other things.

Clare
you really knows alot. =) yah a starter kit for each of us will be good. if not really not idea when to start and how to start. =p
btw, you mentioned before there is a shop at PS selling many decorative papers right? where is it located? am going there tomo for my hb's friends gathering so want to get some nice materials first =)

I have emailed to all the mummies requested for the recipes liao. Pls let me know if I have missed anyone.

Tracy,

Hope that Megan is better. I think as Sophia mentioned, my PD also said that teething doesn't cause fever. Monitor the situation first?

re: work
cookie,
I can so understand how you feel. I also super-sian at my work. Very busy without the equivalent rewards. Arrowed for so many stuff yet at yr-end appraisal no credit given. Hiaz. But I lazy to change. Moreover, I am really quite keen to be a SAHM when my gal's older, at around 3 -4 yrs. That's when they would start to remember things. So I have told my hubby to work harder so that I can resign when she's 3 yrs old. : )

BUT at the rate I am buying stuff, difficult on 1 income. : (

SSF,
Thanks for the lobang - will call the person.

SH,

Junwei's really 1 happy swimming baby!