(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re Foot Stamping at Tabbs
Just a suggestion, the materials used eg. markers/papers/cardboards etc should all be Acid Free just like what they do for scrapbooking so that if anyone of you wants to add a picture in later with the foot print, it can be kept for a loooooong time. =) If can, get those 12x12 scrapbooking papers cos if you decorate very nicely with foot prints n photos, u can get those special 12x12 wooden frame to frame the whole art work up. Very nice. =)

MamaChan,
Sorry to hear about your mum being in hospital... but most of all THANK GOD that it was detected early! From what you said I am sure she will be fine in no time... u take care yah dun stress n tire yourself out k. =)

flo

Thanks so much for the mooncake form! Got it!

RE: photo shoot

I dun mind in Nov.. but I will be away from nov 10-22 in the USA So I may not be able to make it for the group photo.. If i can't make it for the group photo... can i arrange a shoot with my family with ur friend?

Mama-Chan, glad your mum's condition is detected early. Rest well too so because you will be tired juggling between work, kids and mum. Everything will be just fine for you.

Sunny, you too take care. Dun worry too much as I fully understand how it felt as it happened to my mil last year who is bubbly and independent and got the stroke.

SH, what list are your circulating ?

Wendy Ng, I also stay in CCK. If you have a gathering on Friday, please let me know in advance I will adjust my working days as I usually goes to office on thur and fri.

BP/CCK gathering

I'm trying to organise a gathering for mummies staying in BP/CCK. Can I please have a rough idea of who stays in this region? I'll start the ball rolling.

1. Wendy (Slinky), BP (Jelapang)
2. Durianlover, BP (Jelapang)
3. Rachel, BP (Senja)
4. Edd2Jan, BP (Senja)
5. God's child, BP (Jelebu)
6. Sysac, CCK (Yew Tee)
7. sally cinnamon (Yew Tee)
8. ky, Yew Tee
9. Chicken Little (CCK, Yew Tee)

Chicken Little

BP/CCK gathering

I'm trying to organise a gathering for mummies staying in BP/CCK. Can I please have a rough idea of who stays in this region? I'll start the ball rolling.

1. Wendy (Slinky), BP (Jelapang)
2. Durianlover, BP (Jelapang)
3. Rachel, BP (Senja)
4. Edd2Jan, BP (Senja)
5. God's child, BP (Jelebu)
6. Sysac, CCK (Yew Tee)
7. sally cinnamon (Yew Tee)
8. ky, Yew Tee
9. Chicken Little (CCK, Yew Tee)
10.sunny (Yew Tee)

MamaChan/Sunny
MamaChan glad to hear that your mom is fine. Yes diet and exercise is very impt. My mom's blood pressure is on the high side as well. Do ask them to take less salty and oily food. Celery and grapefruit juice is great. Get them a good pair of track shoes and encourage them to go for daily morning/evening walk. My mom is still not that discipine, usually will be very "hardworking" just before and after her rountine checkup....haiz

I did something very bad last nite.
<font size="+1"> I FELL down WITH JAMIE in my arms at chalet!</font>
I was crossing the drain and I trip and fall. I try to shield Jamie as much as I can. Jamie had a big cry and I tried my best to get up. My friends help me up and carry Jamie. After washing my hands, I quickly check Jamie. Blood was coming out from her saliva. I was so shock and didn't know what to do. Hubby rushed over. He was very angry and say.. let pack up.. I bringing both of u to hospital. I was in dazed and just follow. But jamie cried awhile only.

Reached KK A&amp;E children's clinic, Jamie was diagnose with a bite tongue. Called my mum to come and pick Jamie up so that she can go back to sleep.

I then went over to the women's clinic, was very angry with the doc and nurse there. I have got abrasion on my both knee caps. My right elbow is very painful when bent. They tell me that they only look at PREGNANT WOMEN.. ask me to go Tan Tock Seng to check and x-ray. I ask, if a pregnant women fall down, will u all check. The doc say yes..check the womb to make sure the baby is alright and will do x-ray. if it is fractured, will send to Tan Tock Seng. Then I ask, now I am not sure if I am fractured, she say I think u are fine as u can still move ur arms. I am abit pissed and went to Alexandra with my hubby as it is nearer my place.

While there, the doc disgnosed that I have a torn ligament after x-ray. So I will be on MC till next Wed. Sigh.. what a chalet!

Thank god that Jamie is fine. Hubby was very angry with me for this incident. If Jamie were to have any head injuries, he will be very mad with me. And I also dunno how to explain to my in-law.

Mamachan,
Hope ur mum is better now. Take care of urself, dun stress too much. Daren and ur mum needs u.

Flo,
Mel is so cute! So good can push and walk already.
Saw her in the covered long pants. Will she slip with learning?

May,

I hope Jamie is feeling better now. It's not your fault so please don't blame yourself ok? Which mother would want to hurt their own kids??

You just rest well and don't worry too much about answering to your in-laws. I think you just have to tell them accidents do happen and you also dun wish for it to happen. period.

Hi May
Hope you have recovered from your shock. Don't blame yourself, it was an accident and you didnt want it to happen either. Motherly love is the greatest, even in such critical situation you'll do all you could to protect Jamie even in the expense of your own safety. As the case has proven, Jamie managed to escape the fall relatively unhurt while you tore your ligament. I guess your hb screamed at you at that moment cos he's worried about Jamie and was in a state of panic. Guess he must have felt bad after that. Is a normal initial human reaction I guess, if you are in his shoe you prob reacted in the same way. So dun down feel bad about it, just rest well and hope you have a speedy recovery.

RE: covered long pants
We let her walked barefooted when she first learn to walk with the push walker cos she wasn't very stable then esp on the marble floor. Now that she's much steadier, she doesn't really slip anymore with socks/covered long pants.

Thanks Esther and Flo,
I am better now. But still feel abit guilty over Jamie's tongue injury.

RE: Maid
My hubby intend to get a maid. Can those mummies with maid please advise.

1) Estimate how much spent for a maid monthly? (Eg, food, basic nessesities)
2) What other things like tax or levy to pay and how much?

I am trying very hard to convince hubby not to get one.As I am worry abt the expenditure that we are spending each mth.

Reason: MIL already not happy that we move so far. I hand Jamie over to my mum to take care and they also not happy. If now we get a maid, MIL sure scream and blame my parents for not wanting to take care of Jamie.

Hubby want to get one so that both me and him can have a good rest at night. And we will not need to do housework.

May,
Ya...do rest well and don't blame yourself. Like Flo said, I am sure u did the best to shield Jamie already else your injury won't be so bad. Take care of yourself

Sophia,
Glad to hear that your mum is dealing with the mild storke well. Remember to take care of yourself too!

May,
Accidents do happened. It's not something that you want as well... so just be careful next time. I'm sure your HB is just yelling cos he's worried about you and Jamie.

Flo,
Wow, Mel is really fast in motor development! She's born in December right?

sl / tabbie / rena / Flo / May,
I have placed orders for the Old Navy Spree already...

Re. Victoria Secrets Spree
Krissie, you still interested? Any other mummies interested?

Sophia,

Will pray for your mum's speedy recovery. Don't worry so much. As you have said, she discovered it early.

May,

Take care of yourself. You don't mean for the accident to happen. Your hubby might not be really angry with you but rather he's upset that both his loved ones are hurt.

May

Take care! It's not your fault. Don't blame yourself.Like what Flo said, you already tried your best to protect Jamie and your hb was probably too worried to think rationally.

May,

You have done very well to protect your gal. I oso made Aden fell from sofa 2 weeks ago. Accidents do happen and it is not your fault. Rest well.

As for maid, just consider why you need the maid for. If the maid will help you in housework and let you have enough rest to enjoy the time with kid , why not. As for answering to mil, I am sure there may be grievances in the beginning but as long as it is beneficial to your family, just go ahead

Hi Flo,

You make me looking forward to the day my little Aden can start walking.

May,
Hope u get well soon! I'm sure Jaime didn't even know what was going on...

Flo
I'm so impressed by Mel's motor skills... U must be so happy to see her walk to ur room.. haha..be careful.. now she will know how to look for u liao...

my girl hasn't started cruising yet.. she just likes to hold the walker to stand or she likes to flip it over to spin the wheels and see the underside at play with the screws?!!??

RE: bouncy baby play gym
Guess what.. i was at taka today and they are selling it at 89.90! So mommies who were still considering to get it u can pop by there

edd2jan,
how are u? haven heard from u for some time!!

JH looks quite fat in the pic with all the layers of meat..haha...

Flo,
i m ok with sun shoot cos sat is also IL day for me...

hb couldn't believe his ears when he called mama but since then he din call anymore...

i got the pushwalker already..he learnt how to press the music on the second day and he can pick up the balls to play...he loves it! but JH is veyr funny. he only knows how to press the music when he is behind the wheel.

sleepingdeer,
i m so excited at the botanic gardens gathering..finally can see all the bb!

mamachan
is your mum better already? when can she be discharged?

may,
hope u and jamie are both better. must be really scary at that moment....

for maid, this is my estimate
1. salary - 300 (indonesia maid)
2. tax levy - 200
3. increase in utilities - 30 (they will wash and cook more often)
4. grocery bills + household stuff - 300-400

For item 4, this is quite high cos we cook, clean the floor and toilets, laundry everyday.

my maid doesn't take care of bb at night cos she's alone in the day and i prefer her to have the energy in the day.

tabby
really they are selling it at 89.90?? hmmm....

Mamachan,
Sorry to hear abt ur mum's hospitalisation. Thank God for early detection. Wishing her speedy recovery! U hang in there okie.

Flo,
Ur gal is verrry steady pom-pee-pee leh! Gonna show my hb the video cos he wasnt keen on getting the push walker. Ethan is just learning to cruise around his cot but only in the clockwise direction.
By the way, I m getting hb to fax the mooncake order form to Marriot this week. Do I need to cc u my order as well??? Pls kindly advise and thanks for sharing this good lorbang with us. *muak!*

wenyl
tell your hb the push walker is good. JH loves it!! and i think it improves his motor skills. there's this basket where u put the balls in and it will roll out to another place. he actually can tell where the ball comes out and he will bend to pick up the ball from there to put into the basket. and i noticed he likes blue color more...

May - must have been a veyr bad experience..but im sure Jamie is gona be fine... dun worry, children hav tendency to bite on their lips/tongue while learning to walk and crawl too... i guess ur HB is just too anxious for BB and of cos u too..if not, he wont have brought u to hospital
as for maid, i think its good..cos aft a hard day's work, quality time wf baby is more impt than hsework..however - quality of maid matters alot!

Flo - VERY impressed! oh my... she's walking!!!

Sept03/Rachel - went cycling? weather doesn't seem to be too good lately, had planned to take Celeste swimming,got float n pump ready but alas... rain rain rain...

SY - JH looks so cute in tat potty... where got R? cant see leh..very well hidden..hee

Sleepingdeer,

Thanks for givin me your HP no. I will see you on friday.

Venue: Botanic gardens, meet at food court
Date: 22nd September, Friday
Time: 3:30pm to 5:30pm thereabouts

1) sleepingdeer + bb
2) wenyl + bb
3) rena + bb
4) Wendy Ng + bb (+ maid maybe)
5) Tabby's mom + tabby
6) SY + bb + maid maybe
7) AK + bb +maid

May, dun blame yourself cos you didnt mean to trip and fall...

Re: maid
Salary $280 if indo, $320 if Philippino
Levy : $200
Food : Guestimate $200 (depending on what u buy for her to eat and how big her appetite is?
electricity : $100...my maid very on, keeps on doing laundry, sometimes can do 3 times a day and then immediately throw into dryer...so my electrical bill is $400 every month!

1) sleepingdeer + bb
2) wenyl + bb
3) rena + bb
5) Tabby's mom + tabby
6) SY + bb + maid maybe
7) valerie + bb

Denmy, you will try to join in right?

1) sleepingdeer + bb
2) wenyl + bb
3) rena + bb
5) Tabby's mom + tabby
6) SY + bb + maid maybe
7) AK + bb +maid
8) valerie + bb

Flo, wow, Mel is sooooo steady!

Sophia, please take care of yourself too! Good that your mum is health conscious, a good example.

May, your hubby must have been worried sick. Why are your in-laws unhappy? They didn't seem capable of looking after Jamie, anyway...

SY,
Thanks for the link! The toothpaste BP is much cheaper than wat bbfleur is offering us at $10. The BP organiser says $8.50 does include the finger brush.

Tabby, SY
Mel also kept playing with the activity panel initially, took her a while to realise is meant for her to push and walk with it.

SY,
So you are buying the toothpase thru the BP at the market pl instead?

Queen
Thanks for the ON order. When are you placing VS order? BTW, Mel is born on 15 Dec

RE: Maid
Hubby want to get a Filipino maid. He say only need the maid to take care of Jamie during the day. While Jamie is sleeping, she can do some light housework as he won't need her to wash our clothes everyday. Maybe once every two days. As for cooking, think have to lor..cos Jamie needs nutritious food at this age, she can't be eating out with us everyday. So this is the breakdown that he assume:
1) Salary - $350
2) Levy - $200
3) Food and misc - $300

Val,
My in-law thinks they can do better job. But Hubby and me dun think so. Even I suggest..if dun hire maid, we ask his mum look after Jamie. No choice but to see Jamie once a week lor. But Hubby say no.. he dun think his mum can handle and we will both miss Jamie alot.

Val,
Yes, I will try my very very best to join. But will not put my name down 1st la... in case I disappoint you gals again.

Flo,
Yes, Mel is very steady leh!!!! Keenan can't even pull himself up yet.

I have collected the mooncakes this afternoon liao. Paiseh leh, made you call me to check if I was going down... I had spoken to them on Friday evening and told them I was going on Sunday liao, but they insisted a time, so I told them 10am lor...the lady there very kan cheong spider. Didn't know their mooncakes are so HOT... anyways, thank you very very much for this lobang. Appreciate it!!!

May,
Good to hear that Jamie is ok. Poor you actually. If it was me, I would also do all I can to shield my baby. So your hb also in a shock too la. That's why his 1st response was crude lor. Don't blame yourself. Just spend your MC time to sayang Jamie more. *pat pat*

re: Maid
my household bills also increased by $100 since the maid came. Also very HARDWORKING, washing non-stop. Grocery-wise, it's probably up by 20% as she eats what we eat.

SY,
thanks for checking with the supplier re: freezer cubes. I realised that each cube is only 1oz and my Keenan takes abt 7-8 oz each meal, so it's not so cost-effective if I have to buy a few of then at 19++ each... better off with regular ice-cube trays.

As for the books from wonderbox, when are u closing the BP or are you trying to achieve the $2600 target? I saw quite a few books that I want to buy. Will let you know soon. k? TIA

JH look so happy in his potty. Does he go on it at a fixed time everyday? Have you successfully trained him to poo poo in his potty? Where did you get the Chicco potty? How much har? Think I want to get something similar for Keenan.

mamachan,
glad to hear your mum's beta now. haha, can see where you got your positive attitude from.

May,
dun blame yourself over it. accidents do happen n its only human for other parent to be angry. we would be furious if it was hubby too.

eh..dunno if its appropriate, but your incident brot to mind my fren's at pasir ris. it was pretty dark as we were going to the carpark. i saw a huge drain, followed by a small stepping gap then a small drain. so i warned my fren, 'oui, got big drain ah.' next min, i heard 'aiya!'...she avoided the big drain but jumped so far, she landed into the small drain. *faintz

Flo,
wow wow! so impressed by Mel! i'm so inspired to go buy her a walker now. haha maybe after work go baby hypermart/kingdom.

Re:potty
ystrdy afternoon at SIL's, meg gave her poo-poo face n MIL quickly rushed her onto the potty. abit went into the diaper, then 'bomb!' she poo into the potty.
she didn't quite get it, so she kept trying to get up fm the potty. hmmm..looks like i shld go get a potty soon too.

Re: Milk intake
aiya, my MIL nvr tell me meg drinks milk at 10am AND 3pm evryday. so past wknds i've been skipping one milk intake for her. so in fact, meg is drinking:

1)7am-180ml
2) 10am-180ml
3) 12noon-cereal + 90ml
4) 3pm-150ml
5) 6.30pm-porridge
6) 10.30pm-180ml

wow...that's 780ml of milk..

Tracy,

Meg is drinking well.. sumo schedule is as follows

1) 6/7 am - 150ml/180ml ( depends)
2) 10 am - cereal
3) 1 pm - porridge
4) 3 pm - milk 150 ml
5 6pm - porridge
6) 9pm - milk 150ml

and at his weight of 10kg he actually dun drink much.. only about 450ml

Ok, this is Aden's schedule for the past week

1) 4/5 am - 180ml
2) 7 am - 200 ml
3) 11 am - 200 ml supplement with porridge or cereal
4) 2.30 pm - milk 180 ml
5 5.30/6 pm - milk 200 ml supplement with cereal
6) 9pm - milk 180 ml

Sometimes No. 4 and 5) feed may be 3 pm and 7.30 then he will go into dreamland.

His weight is 11.3 kg as on 9 Sep.

So much to catch up on.

Thanks to all mummies again for your love and prayers. Thank God for all of you.

May
Oh dear me, I hope you and Jamie and hb have recovered from the shock. Such things do happen and I know you have tried your best to shield little Jamie. Come to think of it, I have this small phobia "what-if" I fall down the stairs while carrying Daren or trip over something etc etc..scary thought and I try to make sure I'm careful where I place my foot.

Maid
Am seriously thinking of getting a maid to help out with housework and look out for Daren in the day. As it is, I'm paying about $160 ($40 per Sunday) a month for the cleaning lady on top of the $450 IFC fees. Seems like it might be better if I get a maid. I'll probably leave the maid and Daren at my mom's.

One of you mummies mentioned this agency very good? A1 or something?

Tracy
Megan is really drinking well! Daren's schedule is as follows:

1) 5/6am - 180ml milk
2) 9/10 am - 180ml milk
3) 11am/12pm - 1 bowl porridge/marcoroni/mee swa by IFC
4) 2pm - 180ml milk
5) 5pm - 180ml milk
6) 7pm - 1 bowl porridge
7) 9/10pm - 180ml milk

god's child,
i got that potty from CK Tang. The brand is chicco.

wenyl,
the push walker is Fisher Price one. I got from ISetan cos they have 20% off now. buy $50 worth of FP product can get free gift also

does the BP include the finger brush? i din see anything on that. if it includes then it is much cheaper.

DEnmy,
just let me know the titles u wan. i m trying to hit 2600.

i can't remmeber how much is the potty but shd be ard 10 bucks.

actually he doesn't go on his potty at a fixed time. i tried that initially but no results so what we do is to put him on each time he give his poo poo face. it actually works in the sense that he will only release his poo when we put him there. yesterday he din even dirty his diaper when he pooed!

tracy,
JH is like that initially but i realise that when he really wants to poo, he will sit properly. only after he finish he will keep trying to stand.

mummies who want to order cali bb, this is their reply. is it cheaper a lot?
For aloe vera cream and moist cream, min 15 tubs at $1 less listed
price, 25 tubs at $2 less listed price. Delivery to one location.

i realise JH takes very little milk compared to the rest. he has only abt 4 milk feeds and the night feeds are usually much lesser...

may,
which walker you're using? I was thinking of buying the combi walker cum ride on but i see the wheels like so smooth, dun dare to buy.

sleepingdeer,
u're going to botanic gardens? Can i get the bag on friday at botanic gardens instead?

ariene's milk intake
5am - latch on (estimated at least 150ml)
9am - fruit/vege puree + 200ml/250ml
11.30am - 200ml
2pm - (cereal mixed with 100ml EBM/meat porridge) + 150ml
5pm - latch on / 200ml EBM
7pm - meat+vege puree + latch on
10pm - latch on
(12am sometimes) - latch on
(3am sometimes) - latch on

Despite the amount my girl is eating/drinking, she's still only 69cm, 7.1kg to 7.5kg. PD say she got high metabolism rate (sounds like hyperactivity to me)

saw that the BP for the first teethtoothpaste includes the toothbrush. i presume that refers to the finger brush? it is definitely cheaper.

actually i saw from another BP that they get from drugstore.com. it is abt USD 3.99. do we want to get from there instead? but i m not sure how to use VPOST USA

SY,
I was trying to organise a desitin BP earlier cuz I wanted to buy desitin from drugstore.com but nobody responded. If u're interested in getting from drugstore.com, I'll help u organise it cuz I want to buy my desitin and ship it here via vpostUSA

hihi mummies,

seems like all babies are drinking well except edgar. he only drinks like 300ml a day. mostly via direct latch. i don't know if he's rejecting the bottle or becoming a night feeder. during drinks only like 60ml x 3. any mummies w bb doing the same?

SY,
Rena &amp; I will not be joining u for the BP from bbfleur. Gonna order from the mktplc BP then. Thanks anyway!

BP for 1st teeth toothpaste with finger brush
Note: 6 sets needed to hit the BP price of $10 each
1. SY - 1st teeth toothpaste with finger brush
2. Maywong - 1st teeth toothpaste with finger brush x 1
3. Flo - 1st teeth toothpaste with finger brush x 1
4 wendy heng - 1st teeth toothpaste with finger brush x 1
5. SH - 1st teeth toothpaste with finger brush x 1
6. JoJopiglover - 1st teeth toothpaste with finger brush x 1

SY,
I came up with a list already. I might get from Amazon instead and ship in via VPost... can I know if anyone here has done that?

May,
for maid -:
salary : $330
levy : $200

one-time charges
agency fees : $0 (<--- most have charges)
6-monthly checkups : apprx $20
air ticket home : apprx $300

power supplies bill : mine is up by $40
food n misc : very negligible coz we cut back on eating out and eat in more

If you are a working mum, u get maid levy rebate on income tax ... I don't get any

With a maid, I get more rest and personal time. I cloth diaper my #2 and get her to do certain activities with him while I work with #1. My key concern when I was looking for 1 is to get someone who can look after a newborn n I had very high expectation. went thru' some very trying time with my maid, but things have settled down. I can leave my baby alone with her at home for couple of hours to run errands. My maid loves my kids and though she's still a stranger, the stress level I had (which is more than these financial numbers) have gone down a lot.

It's actually a very reassuring feeling for me now as I did not have that luxury with my #1. But this is a process u have to think if you are willing to go thru'

.ky.