(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

celine

if your baby drinks mostly via direct latch, how do u know how much he drinks? Mine is 100% on direct feed, and so I have absolutely no idea how much he drinks, but I suspect not a lot, coz he is done in less than 5 mins and refuse to take the other side. He's a feather weight at 7.8kg. I only can observe if he takes solid well cos that I feel that is a more tedious process and a lifetime habit(as compared to milk sessions). I've personally went thru' difficult times of seating a baby down to finish a meal and I've heard how little many toddlers eat and how long they take a finish a meal...

.ky.

Celine,
My boy and your bb can be good friends.

He takes 140FM wif cereal in the morning.
120ml for afternoon.
A bowl of porridge in the evening.
120-140ml before bed.
1 dream feed 120-140ml.
(Depending on dream feed time, maybe another 90-120ml before morning cereal)

The terrible thing is, sometimes practically hv to "force" him to drink by feeding wif spoon.

Oddly, if i mix milk wif cereal, he will eat. If i feed water, he will suck, immediately change to bottle, he will chew. haiz............

re:Milk intake
wow! all the babies taking soo much milk too! esp Aden...woah! i'm impressed.

SY,
since it's only S$1-S$2 less for the cali bb, think i'll jus go scotts shopping centre creme to get it. think they ve the stuff there. thanks!

SY,
Shipping charges for VpostUSA is $9.99 base charge and $6.99 per kg for first 10 kg, $5.99 per kg thereafter. Do note that they charge by volumetric weight, meaning if ur item is light but the box is huge, you'll be paying for the huge box, so need to ask them to pack the items into a box as small as possible. Prices quoted are in SGD.

May,
oh dear, don't blame yourself, am sure you did the very best you could to shield Jamie, at the cost of a torn ligament no less! take care of the torn ligament, it will take a while to heal...

Sophia,
how is your mum? Has she been discharged already?

been a busy weekend.... after all the hype of the IMF meetings, we decided to go Suntec shoping Saturday coz of the little shoppers there... We parked at City hall coz we thought we wouldn't be able to enter into Suntec... bad move, coz we had to walk alll the way to Marina Square, then Millenia walk before we could enter SUntec, gave up halfway there... haha. Sunday was better, we tried to enter directly into Suntec and made it.. wow, the place was like a ghost town at about 11am... only started filling up at about 1pm... but still quiet compared to the jam packed crowded you see normally, great for shopping! We saw planety of families with babies though, think all the mommies have the same thought, great time to shop with baby!

Wendy,
okies, I'll bring your bag on friday then.

RE: Kindermusik trial
Venue: Tanglin Mall Studio, Kindermusik http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/location_schedules.htm
Date: 22nd Oct, Sunday
Time: 12pm to 12:45pm

1. Sleepingdeer (CONFIRMED)
2. Clare (confirm)
3. Cookie (confirm)
4. SH (confirm)
5. Flo (confirm)
6. Chicken little (confirm)
7. wenyl (confirm)
8. Rena (confirm)
9. SL - confirmed
10. Tracy - confirmed
11. SY - confirmed
12. Denmy - confirmed

Waiting List
1. Sunny
2. MH

The kindermusik trial is confirmed! I have 'booked' the teacher liao, I will make the payment about a week before the class, and the mommies can pay me when we meet or transfer over to me. If you have made the payment, and you couldn't attend the trial session last minute, Kindermusik will arange for another trial for you and bb

RE : Healthy Times

Promo going on, in case anyone interested.

We are having a promo on babyjars and oatmeal cereal starting from Wed this week.
For babyjars, there is a 8 pack promo. The 8 flavours that is in this promo pack are:

Juicy Golden Pear
Orchard Peekaboo
Strawberry Kiwi
Peach Muesli Banana
Garden Fresh Carrots
Baby Sweet Peas
Cabana Banana
Island Fruit Jumble

Each pack is going for $15.60 (that is $1.95 each, usual price at $2.30 each)

Oatmeal Cereal is now at promo price of $5.95 each...all while stocks last.

ky,
rest assured. 7.8kg is not featherweight. My girl's weight fluctuate between 7.1kg to 7.5kg and she's not short. She's 69cm.

Have not been reading the thread... try my best to reply all..

Lisa >>Thanks for bringing the bag.

Wendy >>Thanks for picking up for me. U can squeeze my items into the red bag la.. for easy carrying for you

Flo >>> wow wow Mel is really really very steady!!! I also have a push walk at home.. and Kaelyn try to walk a bit on ite.. but it's slippery even on bumper mat so we never let her try much incase she fall flat.

Sherene
Yes I only have 2 boxes for you from tracy who got it from Cindy.
Oh u get the magnet also rite...
Oh it's ok... my HB was so scare he pass to wrong person..kekeke...
Japanese meh... hmm.. I prefer him with the qiu qiu tho...hahaha...

Sophia
Glad to know your mum is good...will keep her in prayer. Dun worry things will be ok.

May
it sure is a scary accident. DUn blame yourself ok like all the mum say.
Kaelyn also bite her tongue before.. there was once day.. I say blood in her saliva I think she bite her tongue and I cannot see the tear in her mouth.
I think this might happen to bb?
Anyway both og you are fine now. sayang sayang Jamie more these few days.
Hope your leg heal well too... tear in laigament can be serious.

SY
wow JH know how to call mama already??? I'm still waiitng for kaelyn to call... dunno when.. she only cry then mama mama... I dun think she is calling me tho.
Aiyo.. JH so handsome even though is in potty...kekeke.. smile so sweet at camera..
Seems like a good potty!!

SY
the potty looks good. with the high back support, JH can sit steadily. mine has low back support only. so, i got to support my gal when she poo...

Celine, don't worry. Sarah has not taken the bottle since 3 months old. Totally rejects the bottle. So, nowadays I have no idea how much she drinks - but I know it's probably very little cos she doesnt really drink for long when she latches on. At least u can gauge how much Edgar takes.

tracy
Have u checked the price at scott shopping centre? Which shop selling?
As compared bbflued pricing and little dreamers pricing.. there is a lot of difference.

Little dreamers selling Calendura cream for $24.5
Whereas bbflue selling.. $16 or 18?? which is $1.50 more than what they price in the marketplace for BP.

In case scott shopping centre.. whcih U plan to go abt the same price as bbflux... let me know which shop also ok.

Just sharing with you.. cos I find littledreamers.com.sg very exp lor compared to the website SY mentioned. I not sure abt other price tho.
Maybe before u go down.. can check the pricing on little dreamers as well as bbfluex then u know if scott is selling reasonable.

Hee sorry I kaypo here..

Gals, I hv an idea - Fri if bad weather, shall we meet at the Airport for coffee/tea? I really want to go botanical gardens but cannot go cos hubby needs me to pick him up from the airport at around 5pm...=(

Ladies, let me know which is the final venue for the gathering on 22 sep.

My husband took leave and if we managed to finish packing the house by noon for the renovation, i can bring my kids down to join you guys.

May - Hope U & Jamie are better now

Sophia - Hope your mum is better too. U take care!

Maid - Wendy Ng recommended A1. I have a friend's niece who owns a maid agency at Coronation Plaza. I'll be going down this evening to look thru some biodata for a maid.

As some of you may know, my mum was diagnosed with breast cancer 2 weeks ago. It has been a long & stressful month since she started her check-ups leading up to the diagnosis. She's had surgery & is recovering well. Have to continue other tests & probably treatments.

My Mil has been taking care of Cephas fr Mon-Fri since last week. On top of this, my Sil is giving birth soon. Got to relieve her fr taking care of a 10 mth old & a NB.

That's y I am getting a maid. Once my mum recovers completely, I will put Cephas & maid under her supervision.

Whoever needs an addt'l agency to scout for a maid, Just ask me for the contact.

Flo,
Wow Mel is sooo cute... i realised whenever daddy says "come come" she will actually wave her hand up n down... haha... I remember Tracy ever posting a pic of a Disney 3-in-1 walker/activity panel/bike, have been looking around for it for few weekends already still cannot find... haiz... after looking at your walker think i shall get a similar one can liao no need too complicated.

From Flo:

Hi Mommies
RE: bb photo shot
Should we decide on the day for the bb group shot? Either a Sat/Sun in Nov (from 11 Nov)? Maybe we can plan our durian party @ the botanic garden on the same day? Personally I perfer a Sun cos Sat is visit ILs day. For the indv shot, my fren is suggesting to set up a yahoo group account and she'll coordinate the dates from there.

Here's the list I have so far:

1. Flo, Melody
2. Rachel, Dylan
3. sleepingdeer, Shannon
4. Lingbel, Christabel
5. Celine, Edgar
6. wenyl, Ethan
7. sl, Charmaine
8. Tracy, Megan
9. Sept03bride, Caleb
10. God's child, Celeste
11. babylon, damien
12. Clare, Ashley
13. valerie, Kirsten
14. Rena076, Elijah
15. Queen, Issac
16. MamaChan, Daren
17. Cookie, kaelyn
18. sunny, YX
19. Tabbiesus, Tabitha
20. SY, JH
21. Sandra, Sarah Mae
22. Sysac, Cephas
23. Denmy, Keenan/Ethan

Can I use the email address that you have been using for our MSN?

So use Yahoo or MSN acct? Then I have to check in regularly.

cookie,
thanks for the info on the cali bb prices! will check before i go down, then when i'm there, i sms u the prices. there's a shop there called Creme that carries cali bb.

Clare,
oh dear, i posted a pic of some walker? alamak..i cannot remember at all. haiz...

Mamachan,

BB can take marcoroni/mee swa already? Hmmm....need to mash or not?

Rena,
JW drinks as little as sumo...i getting worried if i am under-feeding him. Is it possible to underfeed a baby. will they cry to let us know or not?

ky, i'm a FTWM, so during the day, he's bottle fed. he will drink at most 200ml. so when i'm home in the evening, i'll latch him to sleep. and he only latches for less than 5min. can't even empty 1 side. so i know he definitely drink less than 100ml...

chillies,
ur boy is much better than edgar lah. he drinks at least half a litre... i oso have to force edgar to drink. like u, we'll use a spoon loh. so tiring when comes to feeding. when comes to semi solids, he's oso not very receptive. he like his fruits mainly, doesn't really like cereal, porridge etc...

sandra,
how long is ur "not very long"? coz as they grow older, they are more efficient in sucking. so althou the duration may be short but she may have drank quite alot already. for me, i know exactly how much he drinks coz i know how much capacity my breasts has. after he latches on, i can feel that it's not empty. sometimes not even half. i really feel very sad that he isn't drinking much, coz i have stored up so much in my freezer. yet now, i probably have to throw them away...

Ooops... so sorry Celine, I didn't see the part with 'for boys less htan 10 kg'. I cannot take it liao... Keenan is more than 10kg. pai seh... :p

celine,
He loves porridge. Will open the mouth big and scream if I am slow to feed. My boy really headache wif feeding. Has never been easy since birth. Milk time is headache time for mummy. There was a period when i brought the bottle in front of him, he wld frown and waved his hands in protest. Its dat bad!

Now, I bo bian, gotta give biscuit or bread together wif spoon feeding milk.

Out of curiosity, how heavy if your boy? Mine 8 months+ abt 8kg only.

Re: kaelyn's feeding

8am - 150ml or less milk
11-1130 - 3 scoop of cereal with 60ml milk + puree sometimes
2pm - 180ml milk
5-6pm - 2-3 chinese spoon of Porridge
8pm - 180ml milk
12mN - 180ml milk (sometimes)

Kaalyn is not eager with her solid. Takes only 3 table spoon at lunch or dinner. For milk, probably only around 600-700ml or less.

wendyheng
there is another BP that is going on for the first teeth toothpaste which is cheaper. U want to get from there instead?

wendy ng,
but i will need to have some USA address for the shipping right? I did sign up for a VPOST acct but never went to use it...

for eg if i wan to get anything from amazon, i need to fill in the VPOST USA Address right?

i bought the walker at isetan... after discount is $76.

cookie,
he call me only becos he was crying too..haha..after that i dun hear him call liao...

the potty is not bad. the back is quite high.

chicken little,
think most pple say he looks more like my hb....

sysac,
hope your mum is recovering well.... u getting your maid soon?

Demny,
actually i'm not sure if keenan can fit. the measurement is W21cm (stretchable w elastic band)L24cm. Butt area is around 29cm. Let me know if Keenan can fit or not

Chillies,
edgar oso love his biscuit. that's the only thing he will willingly open his mouth. Edgar is 8mth tmr and weighs slightly less than 8kg.

celine,
haha.....our babies almost same pattern. My boy when younger actually strong enough to push my hand away in such that the bottle flew across the room. Now if he doesnt want his cereal any more, he will use tongue to block or blow all that is fed out right into my face. Urgh!!!

RE : TV Addict
When he's watching his fav VCD, he will turn his head when blocked. Even when I'm carrying him away to bath, he will still try his best to find a way to watch until TV totally out of sight!

Re: Store selling branded clothes
I think previously we tried to compile a list of store selling cheap branded clothes...
Anyway Ytd I went to marine parade and check out the store. They have quite good quality of Carter's and Oshkosh yoga pant like for babies for just $5.00.
I bought a vintage look green with flower Oshkosh pants for only $5.00. Label intact somemore.
Just wanna share quite a good buy.

Re: First aid class

Lisa and Demny >> I believe out 1st aid classis tomorrow ?!...But my HB is on MC today and tomorrow for Flu...
I'm not sure if I can attend the class after all.. Can I confirm tomorrow again? WIll there be surgcharge if finally I'm not able to attend?

SOmehoe I just noticed.. when I plan my schedule, there are always hiccup somehow.. haizzz..
I'm praying hard hard that the up coming classes arranged.. will not have any hiccups

All Mummies
My bb drink 180ml to 210 ml every 3 to 4 hr. Afternoon and evening eat porridge about half a bowl loh. but my son only ab 8 kg le. Hai too skinny le. Think look like us ba. cant grow fatter loh

wendyheng
Marine parade ley... very far for you rite?
It's the shop houses opposite the hawker centre- Marine parade Promonade, located opposite Parkway parade.

I believe at Clementi central there are 3 such shop selling these kinda branded clothes but must check properly for defect.
I think clementi is nearer to you.
But pop by if u are on the way. No need to purposely go down cos somethings nothing much.

cookie
what kind of first aid class? for babies? when is it?

got a problem. JH keeps biting me when he suckles..how? it's really painful. he will bite and pull my nipple so hard..arrghh

wendyheng
it has the fingerbrush included.

i will look for the BP and post the link again.

sy

sorry to keep asking u as i think u have not reply me regarding the c/s date for bp of books from wonderbox.com le.
Btw is it S$ or USD$???

chillies,
ya edgar will oso use his hand to push. he will turn his head frantically if we try to force feed him. only consolation is that he doesn't know how to "blow" the food out yet. else will be so messy! sometimes we try to make him laugh so that he will open his mouth, then we sneak a mouthful in. then he bo bian gotta swallow. keke

chillies
Kaelyn will watch TV only if I'm there to watch with her... when I block her she will move her head also.. but when I walk away she will turn and cry...
babies are alike..kaelyn will stick her tongue out to reject cereal or porridge or simply cry. her tears will flow big drop big drop... like so poor thing.
Maybe Gals more "Hum Bao" (cantonese) is it...

sysac
really hope your mum will have a speedy recovery. Really ain't easy when a close family member having cancer. I remembered how it was like when my late maternal grandmother was 1st diagnosed with cervix cancer. You and your family will be in my prayers too.

SH
Yup, baby can now take macoroni or mee swa already, just have to cook until it becomes very nua and easy to mash. In fact, should get this book called "Feed Your CHild Right" which I believe Rena also has this book, really caters to the Asian moms, on the type of food that we can give. I know the IFC serves them such food but I have yet to attempt cooking it...itching to try this weekend when my hb is free from the IMF.

Venue: Botanic gardens, meet at food court
Date: 22nd September, Friday
Time: 3:30pm to 5:30pm thereabouts

1) sleepingdeer + bb
2) wenyl + bb
3) rena + bb
4) Wendy Ng + bb (+ maid maybe)
5) Tabby's mom + tabby
6) SY + bb + maid maybe
7) AK + bb +maid
8) MamaChan + bb (hopefully Daren's cough and phlegm is much better, am taking time off for a breather)

wendyheng
i will close the BP when i hit 2600

for the BP on the toothpaste the price is in SGD.

for Wonderbox BP the price is in SGD.

celine77
nowadays JH will also push his milk away. getting very hard to feed. he really prefers to latch. sometimes i will give him his milk when he is sleeping in order to increase his milk intake. u may wan to try that.

Cookie,
First Aid for Couples tmr at 7pm.

Mother and Child Pte Ltd
#03-11 Tanglin Mall,
163 Tanglin Road
Singapore 247933
Tel/Fax (65) 6836-0063
[email protected] www.motherandchild.com.sg

I have called the lady and informed her that you might not be able to make it. And she says if you could call her in the morning tomorrow to confirm cos she has someone on waiting list for this class also.

Celine, Confirm cannot liao. Keenan wears clothes for 12-18 mths now. heehee

SY,
I tried dream feeding him but he will turn his head away. and my grouchy noises, like i'm disturbing his beauty sleep! so i stopped doing it...
i think i remember tabbisus posting a recipe of steam egg with milk. tot of trying that, so at least my milk won't go to waste, thou i believe most of the nutrients will be gone after steaming. but at least better than throw away ya.