(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

denmy,

sorry late reply. no particular food to avoid.. just heaty food in general, we're more prone to fever than the regular kids.

jan mommies,
the park gatherings are so sweet and lovely! *envious*

Hi Tracy,

I've been using Drypantz for Cephas when we go out since he was 6 mths old. It's good cos it's neat & easy to use. BUT, Cephas likes to wriggle when he sits. Sometimes, the pee will leak onto his pants. Chun chun everytime it happens, it's in HB's hands. So he does not like Drypantz but I do! Left a few pcs. Got to use sneakily :p

re: sick babies & super tried mummies
hang in there! your babies will recover very soon. in the meantime, mummies do drink lots of water and fruits too.

mamachan/tabb
all talking about food. err... how about bumper playmat? since we having activities for our babies...

re: 23rd mini gathering
any mummies want me to share the cost of the food?

Hi all mummies

Long time nv log in and chat liao.
My son is 8 mths plus liao. but he stil waking up at nite to drink water. hai in the past he wake up to drink milk but now no longer liao but instead he wake up drink water. still waking up in midnite? any idea how to let my son slp throughout the nite? My son learning to crawl now. hehe

wendyheng,
welcome back! yes, long time no see.

since its only water he wants, have u tried ignoring him n letting him go back to sleep on his own? or pat pat him back to sleep?

Hehe mil helping me to look after him for the nite feed. But mil alway feed him water loh. hehe. but i thinking is there any better way to let him slp on his own. as mil will be tired too ma. hehe. when i working the next day mil will help me look after him for nite feed so that my hubby and i can have a good slp to prepare for work in the next day.

to those whose babies are sick ... yes, please take care of yourselves. pls be positive about the entire situation. Your baby feels the tension and stress ... I've gone through it and still trying to cope with it. My 3.5-yr old is someone who keeps going through a running nose/phlegm cycle every few weeks ... most recently, recovered barely a week and it hits him again. we've tried neubilizer, aerochamber, keep room clear, vaccuum mattress, GP, PD, nutrition (soups, no cold drink, no fruits, etc), lots of exercise ... and now xiao er tuina. have to take it easy and be positive ....

.ky.

SH,
re: Freezer storage time for purees
Fruits 6 mths
Vegetables 6 mths
Perees w milk 4-6 weeks
fish 10 weeks
Red meat & Chicken 10 weeks

let me post this out first before I pur Shannon down for a nap...
RE: kindermusik trial
Okies, anyone else interested?
1. Sleepingdder
2. Clare
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Flo
6. SSF
7. Chicken little
8. wenyl (TBC)
9. Rena

I've called up Tanglin Mall. they charge $25 for the trial, currently they are setting up a new class starting Sunday, 12pm, so we can join the class for a trial.

Otherwise, if we can get 10 confirmed babies, they can arrange a trial class just for us on the weekend, timing subject to availabliity. I am trying for Sunday afternoon, but the lady says have to say whether there is teachers available.... I'll try Sat afternnon too.... so what say you, ladies?

walker
I've not let Ariene use the walker yet but I'm thinking of getting the Combi 4-in-1 walker for her. Saw it at Tom and Stefanie's for $129 I think. Still looking around for a good walker. Any recommendations?

Drinking from trainer cup
Sat, I tried letting Ariene use the stage 3 trainer cup with straw. Apparently, she liked the straw better. Drank lots of water. She played around with the cup and spout too much when I gave her the stage 2 spout. So now, I'm letting her use the straw cups already.

Thanks for your encouragement and concern. Daren's fever is down but hovering aroung 37. something degrees. He's sleeping much better coz we moved him out to the living room area in his portable sarong and I sleep beside him on the daybed and just turn the fan on, no air-con for him and me. Now hor, I really think that no use to rely on hbs to help us with anything. Should they volunteer to help in any way, I consider it a bonus liaoz. My hb sometimes very zhi dong and sometimes, sigh, dunno what he's thinking. But I guess I should credit him for the days that he is initiative.

Rena,
Oh dear, hang in there, I know it's not easy to handle a sick and cranky baby and more so when we mummies are tired out in the process too. Like what Flo suggested...maybe try chinese physician if Sumo doesn't show signs of improvement?

Re: Bathing
Ky, I no longer bath Daren the newborn way, very siong! Especially when they have more strength to wriggle their way out of our grip at times. He likes to stand up and I have to bathe him standing up and i'll shapoo his hair, and like Esther, use the shower head (not too strong spray) and rinse off the shampoo and body soap all at once.

bathing
I've also been bathing Ariene like that since she was 3 months old. In the past, I asked my maid to help hold Ariene in a sitting position but ever since she can sit up on her own, I'll just bathe her alone sitting down. Just use shower head wash off shampoo and soap.

Chenoa, Cindy,
No... I don't go to the SCO concerts anymore. Yes I still have those cassettes!!!! Cindy, I try to locate you in the 1989 year book but to no avail.... you should be in Sec 1 right?

Chicken Little,
Your cousin's name doesn't sound familiar leh... but if you show a photo, i'll probably recognise her.

re: Baby Rice cracker
Can I have 1 of each please? Thanks!!!!!

Flo, ky, sleepingdeer,
re: boy sleeping on his own
thanks for your suggestions. I was asking for ky, not my Ethan. btw, ky who's the boy har?

SY,
re: push walker
It's quite heavy and sturdy so it doesn't push easily. You may want to take a look b4 deciding since we live near each other.

cookie,
o dear, hope Kaelyn is much better today. Keenan merlioned also when he had his fever last week. And that was the day after we sent the maid back!!! Imagine all the cleaning i had to do all by myself??

Can I have the photos please. My hotmail can take 2mb, no prob. thanks!!!

CassCL,
Richmond is nice... can bring Rory to Kew Gardens all the time then. Afternoon tea there with warm scones with jam & clotted cream is my favourite. Then we can also stroll and feed the gigantic geese at the same time to make them follow you in a single file... so cute!
Another place you might wanna go for yum cha, chinese/ singaporean supermarket is Colindale. They also have a foodcourt there.

Flo,
I feed Keenan the yoghurt cold, but not straight away from the fridge.

re: Botanic Gardens Gathering
Wawawa... having lots of fun and I'm missing out again. Cannot, next time I MUST go.

any mummies experience the same as me? baby alr 8 mths plus yet still wake up in the nite... any better suggestion? Help me and my mil please

Rena - i will share wf u the cost. Let me know and i will pay u k... do hang on there... sumo will be well soon. wf so much TLC from you, its very soon!

Wendyheng,
re: bb waking up
what time does your bb wake up every night? If its the same time, then it seems like it has become a habit for him. I;ve tried using this method on Keenan b4 and it worked. What you need to do is to break the habit by 'waking' him up 1 hour b4 his usual time by rubbing his tummy or something. U don't have to actually wake him up but just stir him a bit. Hope this helps.

Hi Denmy,

You in which class for year 1989, me in class 3I, Huang Baojin, tu tu look.

I could not make it for the 50th anniversary dinner at sun tec in oct , u guys going ?

the rice cracker got salt so not many mummies wants so i not buying in carton liao

Sleepingdeer,

I am fine during weekends for the trial lesson

Wendyheng,

actually if he does not make too much noise or cry a lot for the water just ignore him and let him flip and turn till he sleep on his own

PC still down at home so lots to catch up... will prob print out n read on my way home later... have sms Rena's contact to repair my PC, hope he can do it soon... a weekend without PC at home think both HB & I felt a bit lost.. haha...

Flo,
Thanks for helping to coordinate the Kindermusic.. keep me posted okie??

Re Bed or Mattress
I noticed Ashley loves to sleep on her side and will toss n turn before drifting off to dreamland... but her cot seems to be too small for her so nowadays I let Ashley toss n turn n fall asleep on our master bed before transfering to her cot. HB & I are contemplating whether to do away with the cot n buy a matress for her istead. But this will mean we have to remove our master bed frame too so it'll be her mattress next to ours on the floor. Thing is we are thinking of transfering her to her own room after she turns one, which will be in another 4 months time, so should I leave her in her cramp baby cot for another few more months n buy a proper bed for her later, or should I get the matress now n everyone sleeps on the floor?? Mummies can share how is your sleeping arrangement now?

Denmy (denmy)

thanks for your advice. so your baby slp throughout the nite? Hai my son waking up timing is not alway the same that y hard to predict loh.

sleepingdeer - Thanks for organising the kindermusik trial class. once u have the details, please let me know. i am fine with this weekend except following sat which falls on 23rd sept. thks!

wendyheng
it all depand on how your boy respond. you know best on his waking up pattern. like what other mummy suggested, its either you let your boy fuss and let him fall back to sleep or stir him an hour before he woke up.

share with you on how i break dylan's woking up habit. in the past will latch him whenever he fuss and cry when he is small. slowly as he gets older, his feeding duration changed from 3 hourly to 4 hourly. still at that time he dont sleep through the night... he will woke up at least 2 times, the max 4 times to fuss and cry. its when he was 5 months old then i start to intro dream feed.

he had his last milk feed at around 830pm. at around 1130 to 12 midnight i will dream feed him 30ml (tats the max he could take as he will reject the bottle after down 30ml) its helps to cut down on his woking up from 2 times to once only. another thing i did is to increase his intake for his day feed. this helps too. slowly i drag the dream feed from 12 mid night to 3am.

at 6.5 months i try an error and stopped the dream feed. as expected, he fussed. i gave him water only. after a few nights he completely stop waking up and sleep through. yipee!

hope my info helps.

Rena

Hang in there gal! It's most jia lut when bb are sick.

Clare
I think if you have a mattress and everyone sleeps on the floor, you won't be able to 'kick' Ashley out of your room next time. I've many friends with this kind of sleeping arrangements. Most were able to only get their kids out after they're at least 2. Some even till 4yrs old.

clare - like urs..my cot is also too small for Caleb as he likes to rotate round and round and at some point, he will get stuck. so now he sleeps with me on the bed surrounded by pillows to prevent him from falling and his poor daddy is sleeping on the floor. his cot is now use for storage, placing hb mattress and blanket. hee..thank GOD, i didnt buy a cot..it was a hand me down from my frd as i know this day will come where he will bunk in with me.

wendyheng - have u tried feeding ur bb night cereal so that he gets full and can sleep better in the night? I tried the mamil night feed(which is rice cereal). supposingly to make bb sleep longer and better. you may want to try a tin and see if it helps. for me, Caleb does not wake up in the night..except when he misses his pacifier. but we wanted to try out the night feed to make him fuller.

Clare

Dylan still sleep in his cot. i find theres still room for him leh. dylan is not small in built so i find it surprise that Ashley's cot is too small for her now. beside 1 big and 1 small bloster (he hug the small one) and 1 pillow, his bed is quite bare. so till now we no intention to shift him out of his cot in his own room.

i personally think you might want to wait for Ashley to sleep in her own room and get her own bed.

Hi Clare,

Ya tendency Ashley will not want to go to her room. Now my sil is sleeping on mattress with her kids in their room they are 6 and 3 years old. Very difficult as they feel insecure

I shifting Aden to join his sister after he get used to the play pen.

Sleeping deer,

is it possible to book the class next week instead as sumo may just recover only so would like to wait a few day more....

Wendyheng..

it has been a long time... what are the methods you have tried? i think many mummies here may be able to help but you have to let us know what are the methods you have tried...

Mamachan,

Dun blame yourself.. at least daren has few months of BM compare to sumo... he only had 3 weeks...

RE: Thanks

Thanks for all the encouragement.. i just brought SUMO to the PD still has to be nuberlise and continue to take medication.. the fever is gone but wheezing is still there plus running nose too.. haiz.. stress.. he has lost 300 grams.. boo hoo.. luckly he has enough to lose..

RE : Tumble Tots
Was rushing like mad and woke my boy from nap. He was still blur when the lesson started. It was so interesting to finally see all the mummies and babies in real. I must say I'm so impressed wif Melody. She can from sit move on to cral so well. My boy is still "shaking" the butt. Nowadays worse...he will have one leg up hanging in the air!!!

I guess my hub is those shy type and find it weird. I find it odd being with him attending the class with too.

My boy was totally knocked out at night. Slept from 7.30pm to 9 the next day.

Rena chew (rena076)

I don really try any method yet. As my mil is e one looking after in the nite as she said sometime baby thirsty so she just feed him with water then he slp back liao. but i noe she dote him ma cant bear to let him cry on his own le. hai so i have no choice but to follow.

SSF (missy)

no we just feed him with milk 220ml around 11 pm during the nite. sometime he wake up between 4 - 5 am to drink milk again but sometime he don wan to drink just drink water. can i feed him with the cereal around 11 plus. i afraid my mil will said too full not good for digestion le. hehe then how ah?

rachel (moon77)

oic. actually really depend on babies ah. hai i'll discuss with my mil first ba. as she's alway e one feed him with water but till now he still wake up for water then back to slp again. hai as my mil wont bear to let him cry le. hehe don noe wat to do le. thanks for your advice. :0 Actually my son drink his milk at least 4 times a day even he had his porridge in the afternoon and evening but he still wake up. or maybe he really thirsty ba like my mil said so.

I'm really glad that i have a good mil loh. hehe at least she really dote my little boy and she cares for us too. that y she suggest that she look after for me during nite feed. I think not all mil is so good loh. hehe so i hope i can find a way to let the naughty slp throughout the nite so my mil wont need to wake up to look after him during the nite ma. hehe

have but can get free from PD to try mah. My boy din like it. Err...not really. He was okay and now he rejects milk. Urgh!!! Gotta coax and feed using spoon. Sometimes oso dun wan unless mix in cereal. I will add small pieces of bread to trick him to drink milk. haiz....sian!!!

I know got promo from Dumex, but 1 tin get another free. Call the hotline

Actually at first i thought maybe is coz of diaper so he waking up so i buy nepia for him to use during the last feeding but he still wake up for water. so i dont think is coz of diaper or maybe he's too active ba. hehe :0 I heard nepia can absorb so i buy but still e same. So now i use back dryper loh. hehe i forgot how to spell. sorry more cheaper ma. hehe

chillies (chillies)
so your son slp throughout the nite too? so good. ah. When is the next gathering so i can bring my son out if i can make it, but can i join?

nah...still wake up. IF he can finish his last feed will be able to sleep through but now he din want to drink.

Yup. Pampers more costly

chillies (chillies)
oic thanks alot. hehe. Like that i must try maybe buy a small tin. but e latest is around wat time i can feed him? 11?

Mashy,
Ya that's my greatest fear... though we still very much like Ashley being us in the same room now but eventually she will have to learn to sleep in her own room and if we move all the the floor, Ashley might be "stuck" with us for a loong loong time...

Rachel / SSF,
My cot is also passed over from friend and I realised its smaller compared to other better cots i've seen in reatil shops. It also cannot be converted to a bed as baby grows so I will eventually still have to buy a bed for BB.

wendyheng
you are very fortuate to have your MIL to help you thought the night. its very tough and tiring to care for baby during the day, not to mention having your sleep being distrubed just to feed baby water.

from what you mentioned, your boy might simply be out of habit to wake up. water is not full to last him if he is really hungry. in order not to let your MIL suffer, you might want to get your MIL to agree to let your boy to fuss abit for him to get back to sleep. try for a few nights. or you can take over these few nights and see hows the result. of coz you will lose some sleep but its worth it if this work out well right?

rena
sure sumo will gain back his 300 grams. you are a very strong mummy, your darling boy sure will take after you and be a strong baby!

wendy

Huh? U mean nepia leak is it?

For me, we use Pampers Premium at night. We fig that since with a cheap diaper need to change, the total cost of 2 cheap diapers add up also same price as 1 Pampers, so might as well use pampers then no need to wake up to change.

rachel (moon77)

Hehe actually when he's ab two mths i alr thought of training him to slp throughout the nite but mil said maybe he's hungry then now 8 mths still e same. but most of time he wake up in midnite wont drink milk but drink water or pat him back to slp. Hai i dont think my mil will say ok to let him cry at nite. that's y i headache too. hehe. .

wendyheng - i bought my mamil night from ntuc. cold storage shld have them too. hopefully it works for ur bb. as for the next gathering..i know its on 23rd sept at someone's home in Holland V. check with the rest coz i cannot make it.i dun think its bad for digestion since its is design for night feed. shld be fine
my boy also taking it. like u, my MIL is also very good.she will cook nice porridge for my son...threadfin fish, self scraped fruit juice, spinach etc. make sure my boy has the best of each meal. she will boil the brown rice first..take the water to cook the porridge saying it has more nutrients. she also take the trouble to buy the higher grade ikan bilis..remove those bones and grind into powder for me to bring back to store. so like u, i feel very bless to have her

mashy brainz (mashybrainz)

No i mean nepia still e same loh. not really that absorb le. hehe. ya i agree with u too. hehe
so your baby slp throughout nite?

Clare
ic. you might want to buy a mattress (super single) for Ashley to sleep alone on the floor in your room first. not advisible for you and your hb to remove your bedframe to sleep with Ashley on the floor bah. like what mashy said, it will be tough to get Ashley to "move out" from your room then.

were you and hb think its time to let Ashley sleep alone, think it will be easier to shift her own mattress into her room.