(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,

I find it more fun than the kindermusik. Charmaine likes it a lot more cos there's more actions? For the Kindermusik, there's a lot more singing, i.e. the parents singing so the babies a boring. For the Positive Babies, there are a lot more actions. My gal's really active so she enjoys it.

cookie
YaYa the SOX thingy all because of the Enron case. Talk about external audit make me boil as I have to shorten my maternity leave earlier this year for them. Not only that still have budgeting, reforecasting a few times every year just because the boss can't make up his mind what he wants. and some more the IAS keep changing their policies.

Agree with you totally, choose the wrong profession because they said this profession the safest loi. Too late to change profession already.

Clare,

I am still pumping twice a day at work. Can get abt 400ml - 600ml. I find this schedule quite okay for me on okay days cos each pump only takes 10mins. I latch my gal on in the morning and at night. I intend to maintain this schedule cos the PD that I went to encouraged me to continue bfing my gal till she's 2 yrs old. I am not so ambitious but I really planned to continue bfing her as long as possible. It's really convenient when we are out and when we are travelling. Plus she's a really healthy baby. Even when she has running nose, she's not grouchy and behaves very normally.

SL

dunno if the bouncer I saw is combi one but got lots of jap words on the box... its a pooh sort of car that is placed on a trampoline like stand.. that's the bounce.. if u take the car off and put on this other tray it becomes a rocker, then if u remove that it is like a car that the child can straddle and push along... the tag is listed as "offer" 129 .. i dunno the price before.. but was tempted to buy for my girl..

RE: eggs
Can start at 6mth if no allergies.. but if u r worried abt allergies... then better start later.. btw only egg yolk

sysac,
ha ha...ur description of the Cephas licking the durian is so funny!

Flo,
Mel is so fast! Can stand without support liao!

Cookie/Yuen Yuen,
Me in accounting too. But really glad my co not affected by SOX or I will go crazy.

Re: Pumping at work
When I gave up pumping at work, my supply dip so fast that soon I have nothing for JW even though i originally wanted to keep the morning & nite latch on. So sad to let it go but my bb fusses a lot coz he can't get enough from the latch on. Sigh...so no choice...have to stop.

see so many mummies at the toy fair..having fun...ha ha...Tracy, I also bought the musical chair...so how huh....anything need to be done?

today bring Christabel to pd and dignose with eczema. Pd suggest I switch formula from Similac to NanII but Christabel doesn't like it, drink only 60ml and scream, no choice change back to Samilac and she finish the whole bottle and go back to zzz.......

RE: Eggs
Didn't know it is not good to eat egg. Jamie loves chawamushi very much and keeps screaming for more.

RE: Fisher Price Recall
Mummies, I have search for the pic.
Here's it is:

500428.jpg

Cookie,
Sigh..why ur SIL like that. Next time let ur hubby talk to her or else it will strain ur relationship with her. Can u keep Kaelyn with any reliable relatives?

ling
how does eczema look like? like rashes?

may
mine also very little. still look botak leh... everyone guesses she's a boy!!!

may,
U will be comforted if you see Janelle. She has much less hair than Jamie!! Her hair doesn't really seem to grow...looks like i've gotta give up hopes of her having nice hair by her 1st birthday!

Clare,
I think pumping at least once at office is better than not pumping at all. Also, are you sure you're not having blocked ducts? There was also one period of time when I only managed to pump out 50-80ml per side compared to the normal 80-120ml per side due to blocked ducts and a not so efficient pump. The breasts always feel very full but nothing seems to come out when I pump. It was very frustrating. After I unblocked the ducts and bought the pump in style advanced, I nolonger have problems and can still pump out a total of at least 150ml even after latching on Ariene. If you stop pumping altogether, the supply will just keep reducing until eventually, the factory stops producing. If you really want to continue to bf till 1yr, must perserve. Right now, I'm pumping every night before sleeping (about 11pm), morning 6am, 11am, 3pm. Even weekends when I'm not working, I will still wake up at 6-7am to pump just to keep the milk flowing.

Check the website and found eczema :
Itchy rash usually on cheeks or chin, but may show up on the head, trunk, back of arms, or front of legs; dry thickened scaly skin or sometimes tiny red bumps that may ooze. Most common in families with history of allergies or asthma.

durianlover,
Went to the taka fair on sunday night after calling u and we bought the aprica potty instead. It is very cute. Looks just like a miniture adult toilet (longish) with a handle in front. The potty is also convertible to stage 2 when baby is older and step stool when they nolonger need the potty anymore too. Too bad (to my hb's relief), we did not have enough time to linger longer. So many things to see and buy! My hb keep hurrying me along so I only managed to buy the potty and some pigeon stuff and baby food.

Breastpump and pumping at work,
I used to have the Medela Dual Electric Pump which I did not like as I find it slow and not so efficient as I can only manage 1 let-down using the pump. After I bought the Pump in style advanced, I can pump with 2 and sometimes 3 let-downs and much faster. Mummies who have trouble pumping their milk may want to consider this investment. BTW, 1st few years is selling the pump-in-style advanced for 699 only because theirs is the US version and require a transformer (provided by them) to convert the voltage to our voltage. However, that can be overcomed by using your own adapter with a built in variable output selector. IF u choose to buy the original medela power adapter from them, its an additional $100.

Re: car seats
Thanks for the replies. Looks like I must check out BB Hypermart and the Britax Royale brand. I'm really clueless cos my current one was a hand-me-downs from my boss so didn;t really look out for any in the past.

Re: Recipes
I bought one bb recipe book by a Japanese author. Also had Tabbiesus recipe of egg yolk with milk. But not steam method. I'll try steaming it this weekend.

<1> Mix 2/3 mashed egg yolk with 2 tablespoon milk
<2> Mix 5g of blended potato puree with <1>
Blend to desired consistency by adding little warm water for younger babies.

BTW, when can bb eat cheese? Is it true that we must start introducing textured food so that bb can learn to chew? I am still making my purees quite fine..

Clapping hands
Ariene keeps clapping her hands today non-stop, especially after I laugh and clap my hands together with her. Somehow, that makes her very happy and she'll clap her hands even harder. Very cute. Quickly whipped out my hp and videoed down the historic moment she suddenly started clapping her hands at 2pm. Hee!

Standing
Ariene keeps wanting to stand up nowadays its becoming hard to make her go to sleep nowadays. The moment I put her on the cot, she'll roll over, crawl forward to the side, push herself to a sitting position then hold on to the bedrail and stand up. SOmetimes, in the middle of the night, I'd get a shock from her because I can see a human head "hanging" in mid air in the dark. Last time, she used to just hang her head on the bumper mat to look at us. Now, she just stand there and look and keep quiet.

Thanks Sysac, will go check it out. =)

Have been REALLY TIRED lately. Sarah Mae's been acting VERY STRANGE. She's so cranky nowadays and hard to please. She no longer sleeps thru the night, and she doesnt drink her milk nor eat her meals like before. Have to distract/entertain her before she will even open her mouth to eat. My PIL say that it's because I bring her out pretty often. So now she'll cry/fuss if i dont bring her out everyday. Is there any truth in that? I really thot it could be because she's teething. But NO SIGN at all. *sigh*

Sarah also cannot crawl yet. She attempts to but always go backwards. I think she's not very advance in terms of motor skills. Maybe cos she has a clumsy mummy. =)

Breastmilk (Total)
1. Wendy, Ariene (Toothless)
2. Durianlover, Janelle (toothless)
3. Florence, Melody (toothless)
4. Valerie, Kirsten (5 teeth, since 4mth plus)
5. Queen, Isaac (Toothless)
6. Celine,Edgar (Toothless)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
8. Chicken Little, Aden (Toothless, but 1 bottom incisors popping a tiny weeny bit at 7 months now)
8. xjysg, Keith (2 bottom incisors, since 6 months)
9. Tabbiesus, tabby (toothless)
10. Mel, Gabriel (2 bottom incisors, since 6.5 months)
11. Sleepingdeer, Shannon (toothless)
12. Lingbel, Christabel (toothless)
13. Wenyl, Ethan (2 bottom incisors, since 7mths)
14. Mongs, Clariss (toothless, but think her bottom incisors cutting cut, can see a bit whitish)
15. sl, Charmaine (2 bottom incisors, since 5mths)
16. sandra chu, Sarah Mae (toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)
1. Rachel, Dylan (2 bottom incisors, since 6mths)
2. Tracy, Megan (toothless. total FM since 7M)
3. SSF, Caleb (2 bottom incisors since 5Mths(breastfeed till 4 mths)
4. YuenYuen, Bryant (Toothless. Breastfeed till 6 mths)
5. MamaChan, Daren (toothless, TBF till 6.5 months, now on total FM)
6. Zhimin, Clarisse (2 bottom incisors, since 6-month. Partial breastfeed until 7-month, now only latch on at night for fun)
7. Denmy, Keenan (2 bottom incisors since 6 mths, bf until 6 mths)
8. krissie, gerald (toothless, can't see teeth but can feel it).
9. sy , Jing Heng (got 2 white spots at the bottom before he turned 7 months, still partial bf)
10. Clare, Ashley (Toothless)

Formula Milk
1. Babylon, Damien (2 bottom incisors)
2. Cookie, kaelyn (2 bottom teeth, looks like almost full grown. Since 5mths)
3. SH, JW (2 bottom teeth. Just came out)
4. Sept03bride, Caleb (1 bottom incisor, 6mth)
5. Sysac,Cephas (Toothless)
6. Esther, Renee ( 2 bottom incisors..since early August )
7. Mashybrainz, Caeden (2 bottom teeth)
8. rena076, elijah (toothless)
9. Maywong, Jamie (2 bottom incisors,since 25Jul)
10. Cindy, Lucas (toothless)

ling
thanks for the info. does your bb do scratching?
my gal has some rashes at arm area, but she doesn't scratch and seems totally ok to her... i wonder if it's ezcema...

sunny,
My girl has it too. PD says its probably heat rash due to the hot weather, sweat and drool. However, if your girl's skin is dry, the rashes may become mild eczema and get fungal and bacterial infection. So, must keep baby moisurised and dry. If need to, bathe her more often, apply moisturiser, then powder.

Wendy(slinky),
Hahaha... your description of Ariene is so funny! Were you all snoring? I realise Lucas will stare at my hb when he snores kekeke...

Now Lucas still doesn;t know how to crawl nor climb but I will really have a headache when he eventually learns to as I co-sleep with him half the night and he is used to falling asleep on big bed rolling here and there (with the Safety 1st bedguard and my bed 'containing' him now). Don't think he can get used to cot. The last I put him there he keeps wanting to stick his head through the rails and starts banging... think he doesn;t have the concept that he can't get through it.

Cindy,
Yes.. my hubby S-N-O-R-E-S. Sometimes, I have some fun with my girl making snoring noises when daddy is not around and she'll giggle and laugh over it. Haha.

hi Cindy - did u sms me on sunday? my SIM card is spoilt and i lost all contacts. I tried sms and calling back the no but no one answered. I was actually planning to collect the J&amp;J stuffs on sunday. can u sms me your no?
most likely i will collect by this week. will go to your place. thks ya.

Wendy/Sunny,
Lucas kena what you just described every now and then on his neck. I apply Zaricort prescribed by PD. Clears within 3 days, but not advisable to use too often.

Initially I also couldn't understand how to be moisturized yet dry with creams, but I found Physiogel Cream quite effective at that. Not exactly dry but seems to work at providing a natural protective layer to skin.

Re: BB Hair
Anyone using a separate shampoo for hair already? I am still using his body wash for hair and am wondering if should switch cos his hair getting longer... but so inconvenient right? Now one bath tub everything settle. With shampoo how? 2 tubs?

Sunny &amp; Durianlover,
seems like we have the same worry for our gals.. hope they will have longer hair for their first Birthday.

RE: Picasa Program
Finally got time to play with the program..this is one of my work..hehe

500509.jpg

SSF,
Just sms you. No worries

I was napping when you called and sms back only much later. Btw, I think u have a lifetime supply of liners haha...

Cindy,
I've been showering my girl since she was 4 months old. I've also been using a seperate shampoo for her hair since hew newborn days. In the past, I used to wash her hair first with the bath water, throw away the water, then refil the tub with fresh water to wash her body. When she outgrew the old tub, I bought a bath tub with a removable plug for the water to drain off. Now, since she can sit on her own, i just let her sit in the tub with her duckie and shower her like how I shower. However, I stopped using a seperate shampoo and used the Balneum Wash which I use for her body to wash her hair. Its not so drying for her hair but more like I'm a lazy mummy..

wendy
you are really hardworking in pumping! now that ariene takes solids, won't u have a lot of excess milk?

cindy
i used separate shampoo for hair since i realise my boy sweats a lot and it keeps him cleaner....i use GAIA

btw i emailed u to tell u i will go to your place to collect the stuff. thanks very much!

SSF, do u wan me to pick up your stuff for u as well? Can sms me at 98378394.

my boy eats food that is quite textured, he doesn't like it watery.

when can we intro cheese and yoghurt?

sandra,
my boy also went thru this phase where he doesn't sleep thru the night at all. he is still doing that now. sigh...

SY,

very handsome boy u have. So envy of his hair.

Cindy,

What I do is use the shampoo, then scoop water out of bathtub to wash hair then remaining water for bath.

May,

I also had fun with picasa, very interesting program and it is free

Sandra,

Aden has the same problem. For feeding his cereals, I have to use a bottle to make him open mouth n give him the cereal. Then for milk, I always give to you when he is really hungry. Aden really prefers milk to cereal

Clare,
I think initially if you change your pumping schedule , the supply may dip a bit. However, once the signal is received on the new schedule of pumping, the milk flow should be back. When I work from home, I express every 4 hours. But when in office I will express only twice. Timing almost like Wendy's. For Aden, he is on total EBM. When I go for my trip end of this week, I plan to express every 6-8 hours depending on my itinerary for the day. Then will work on expressing every 4 hours after the trip to bring the supply back. By the way, during menstruation, the supply will dip too. Dun be surprised some people like me though still bf are menstruating.

Thanks for all the compliments, I am sure your bb will be able to stand in no time too

Rena,
Sumo may be one of those bb that skip the crawling stage all together. A number of my colleagues bb dun crawl at all and jump striaght to standing and walking instead.

ChickenLittle
My gal is one of the oldest bb here, born on 15 Dec. Actually by bday and EDD she doesn't belong to this thread but I join this thread cos mommies here are very warm and helpful...keke

Tracy
My bro has 2 french bull dogs too. My gal likes to look at them but we have not let her crawl on the floor whenever the dogs are out in the living room cos sometimes they will slivate all over the place.

SY
Your JH is so handsome, have a lot of hair too!

Cookie

Kaelyn is a brave girl. Keep on encouraging and praising Kaelyn I think it helps to build up her confidence. Whenever Mel tries to do some new "tricks", she'll give us this "proud" look when we praise her

May, Sunny &amp; Durianlover,
My niece used to have very little hair when she was young, it just mushroom suddenly after she turned one...so be patient

Ling

My gal also dun like Nan HA 2, was trying to wean her off but whenever I try to add 1oz of the forumla milk to 3oz of breastmilk, she won't drink too

Wendy
Your description of Ariene remind me of Mel...keke. I'll think will try to stand all the time initially cos they found a new way to "look at the world". Mel used to stand the moment she's awake and when you try to put her to bed, she kept wanting to stand up. Now she's getting lazier, sometimes she'll lie on the bed for a while before she really wakes up...haha

Flo,
keke, at least french bull dogs don't run as fast as my crazy dog, but yes, they do salivate all the time ya? my dog has been locking himself in the kitchen by closing the door on himself the past almost one week! we've been improvising the door but have not gotten it right yet...

our worry is that he'll bark alot in the afternoon when he locks himself in. esp when it rains, he will panic. told him thousand times jus don't meddle with the door lah! obviously he doesnt get it...

Ling,
I think jus check your musical chair/table see if it is the improvised version. I'm sure the products sold in s'pore are ok, but beta to check.

FP Laugh and Learn Music Chair
Mummies who bought the chair, please do not fret. The repair kit or rather, piece is inside the box. Later SSF will help me to load up the picture which I took to show you all. JUst make sure the instruction sheet inside has a Step 10 to add that piece on to the chair.

It is a good buy after all. Yeah!

Crawling, Sitting and Standing
Daren crawls efficiently all over the house now. He learnt to sit up on his own before crawling efficiently. The initial stages was very cute, he would crawl a little in a circle before sitting, like need to find a landing spot for him bum. He nows like to crawl to chairs and pull himself up to standing, however, he still needs to support himself. He likes to play this game where when he stands, he tries to let go one hand, followed by the other and then fall on his bum, and then try the whole thing again and again, especially during night time.

this morning my MIL was telling me megan knows how to avoid my younger nephew. he's always snatching her toys, squeezing her etc. so now she can crawl, whenever he appears in front of her, she just sit-up and change her direction to avoid him..hahaha.

Sophia,
does daren still falls backwards knocking his head? that's one of my greatest fear when letting megan crawl on her own. ya, megan too learnt to sit-up first, then proceed to crawl. but she hasn't advanced to the standing with support stage yet. oh great, we can meet daren again this sat!

RE: Gathering

THis week we will not have any botanic garden outing as i think we are all tired from the toy snatching.... but we had fun...

Lets do it next week.

i had fun yesterday..but very tired coz carrying sumo for so many hours..

Tracy

Yes the female one will slivate alot more esp if she's panting hard after my nephew chase her all over the house.

RE: Snatching toys
My gal will also know how to fight back now when her cousin who's 6 1/2 months older wants to snatch her toy. Mel is normally quite friendly with other bb but I think she never really like to play with her cousin cos she has been "bullying" her since young.