(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi mummies..

i am working from home today. Poor Caleb is down with cough and flu over the weekend. was so cranky and refuse to drink milk and keep coughing throuhgout the night. felt so miserable for him. brought him to see a PD today and i hope he gets better soon. havent been smiling alot lately.

sleepingdeer - the HT contact called and no they are not extending the promo further
however, he has taken down my email addr and will email me if there is any promo going on. sigh..guess we just miss it!

god's child - no buyer yet for my birkenstock thongs. i did went to an outlet and try the size and it was OK but when i tried wearing it, it seems bigger or maybe the sandles has defined base that i need to push my feet forward and at a result, the back seems to have abit of spacing.

cookie - wow..so fast 10 yrs! time flies ya. yes i agree..man can be so insensitive at times. all we ask is just a simple gesture maybe even a card is good enough to make our day. not necessary diamonds or luxury gifts. haiz!

rena - sorry to hear abt ur hb gg away. but i am glad to read further that he felt bad abt leaving you guys. i think what u said make sense, he is working extra hard now to make u and sumo life better. so as a wife, must be more understanding although its difficult at times. we will be ur listening ear always..don;t cry..always think of sumo and that shld make ur day!

queen - the still rd crabs are so good..haha of coz ur mil don't want to miss it. now that you mention, it is making me drool. i went to the famous one at Ang Mo kio last week and i still think still rd one is better. hee..

ivory - i don;t mind buying from you the 3 packs of HT if no one wants. I can collect from CCK. Let me know.

cookie
think its the norm for our baby to be more emotional since they are getting more alert and sensetive to their environment.

one of my friend's girl are getting more and more of a cry baby and very attention seeking. like what my friend mentioned, they are growing up and becoming more emothional, soooo.... sigh bo pian liao. think its a phase bah.

Hi SSF,
okies, no worries.

I'm ordering HT by Wednesday, collect at BBt batok and Clementi.... or those who can wait and going to the tumbletots class on 9th, I can bring it along... PM me if you wish to order... thanks!

Hi Cookie,

I think it's only normal. Now that they are more grown up, they are experiencing separation and strangers anxiety. It's only normal so don;t worry.

Megan cry whenever she see me walk away. Last sunday, she woke up early so hubby cariied her oputside so that i can sleep. She cried very loud and hubby commented that she seems very sad when she was outside. But i really need to sleep cos i have been waking up every night for her feed....weekend is for to to catch up my beauty sleep.

Your MIL is really funny. Maybe can tell her it's interferring with your work.... Don't call when not necessary?

cookie,
i tink hor, u should correct ur MIL if she tells Kaelyn that u do not want her blah blah blah.
If my mum or MIL says that, i will surely say them 1.
I'm very sensitive to such comments. Hahahaaa
Her behaviour is also getting out of hand. What does she expect u to do when she lets her listen to ur wailing BB? She should be doing her best to calm the BB down mah.. y let the poor BB suffer.
I must say that u are very patient with your MIL.

crying bb
i think BB at this stage becomes a crying machine. They cry at the slightest thingie. Caleb cries when i walk away to the kitchen, to toilet or anyway. So now i try to drag his walker to the kitchen whenever i need to be there. I bring him to my fridge area and show him the fridge magnets, keep him entertained. Heehee..
But I buay tahan when he wakes up in the nite for milk crying..last time he will not cry 1 leh. Just make some noise to inform us that he needs his milk.

Rachel
OkOk.. hmm.. now kae is not feeling well.. I have to sayayng her even more.. and let her be cry baby for now

Y
oh.. seems like promo over.. so when we order any discount? or just free delivery only?
I PM u...
If no discount.. then I will just buy from NTUC will do. Thanks

Cookie,
Discount over. Cos i need the baby jar food and cant find in NTUC. Lazy to go town.

No prob. Next time got promo, I "jio" u okay?

cookie,
My boy tried the apple and quite like. Thot of letting him try the barley cereal as well. U tried?

Ask a dumb question. The barley cereal is it the barley that we use to prevent heatiness??

Yuki
hmm...I better not tell her that.. scare she get the wrong signal next time serious matter also dun call.
it's ok for her to call but.. dun understand she has to let bb cry and just let me hear.. whats her point?..

tracy
kekeke.. 10yrs.. a decade.. that make myself sound very old :p time really flies...

sept bride..
hahaha I'm definitely not patient kind of DIL :p

Hi Rachel,
replied you liao, hope you got it, the file is quite big..

Y,
i'm not sure which kind of barley it is, but my gal likes it, she has both the oatmeal and the barley cereal... not sure whether it is due to the cereal, but after I started her on it, she can poo much easier... perhaps more fibre than rice cereal which I used to give her..

rena, sunny
You two had confinement nannies right? Do u mind PM me your nannies' contact number? My friend's wife giving birth and looking for confinement nannies.

Gathering
Anyone staying in CCK/Bukit Panjang area meeting up with Rena in the near future?

sleepingdeer
Would u mind helping durianlover and I collect our preggie kits? Its been long overdue and Rena stays in Bishan which is alittle too far for us. Thanks.

Rena, sorry for the delay.

Hi Cookie, congrats on ur 10th year anniversary. It really should be celebrated - not easy to reach that mark.

Sarah also getting very whiney lately. I guess there's no cause for worry?

U're really an amazing woman to put up with ur MIL. She's horrible.

Rena, hang in there. Ur hubby really shouldnt be so insensitive to ur needs. Have a good talk with him when he comes back.

What time are u going to be at botanical Gardens tomorrow?

Queen, Cookie

Sweetpea is also known as snow pea.. looks flatish.. more bian...Sugarpea or snap pea is more pong pong or rounded.. Green pea is supposed to be the most rounded but I have never seen green pea in the pod form.. Sugar pea is supposed to be a hybrid of sweetpea and green pea..

Can find sugar/ snap pea and snowpea/sweet pea at cold storage or the larger NTUC
493902.jpg
is snow pea/ sweet pea
493903.jpg
is sugar/snap pea

Hi Sleepingdear,

can i check with you what oatmeal you give BB? Is it the same kind that adults eat? Quaker oats?

Hi Rena,

Hope you are not too upset with HB still....by the way, I still owe you money for the kits? I collected from Denmy but she asked me to pay you. I sent you an email but you didnt give me your account number?

hi wendy,
i had a confinement lady too. she's peranakan. her children are in sg, hence doesn't need to chop passport. i have pmed u her dil's contact.

ak,
I give my gal the Heinz baby iton enriched high protein multigrain mix. Its fortified with Iron and vitamins and is made from oat, wheat and soy flour. Some mothers here using Earth's best wholegrain cereal. I think the adult oatmeal not so suitable for babies to eat yet.

ak, i give my boy earth best oatmeal cereal. He quite like it compared to the hipp white rice cereal.

krissie, brown rice paradise (@tanglin mall) has got a wide range of cereals.

Any mummies giving five grain rice or millet to their babies? Thinking of starting my boy on them soon.

So many days didn't come in here. Had been busy with stock take. Work till 1am since last thurs. Very tired. Missed Jamie very much.

RE: MIL
So sick.. she come my house stay cos we didn't go her place. Threw sweet wrapper and kitchen paper into my toilet bowl. Hubby saw it and scold her for choking the bowl. She scold back and say it won't. Sigh..sick of all these actions. Saw her feeding Jamie with Soya Bean Curd..not the curd but the SYRUP!! Lucky hubby scream at her. He caught her feeding Jamie with the mint sweet inside her mouth, she bite abit and feed jamie. Hubby scolded her for giving sweet stuff and not being hygenic. I am too tired to be angry..so I just sit there and see.

So busy these few days - hardly had time to log in.

rena,

I have signed up for the kindermusik trial on sun. My gal likes parts of the positive babies class. I wanna try out the kindermusik and see which one she likes better. I let you next mon if I would like to join the jan mummies for the kindermusik class?

Btw, i asked the babies and cream pple - they told that for every referral, i get a free session. Is that a better offer? If so, we can refer each other and share the free session?

I find that some segments of it not very gd for my baby, i.e. playing with the bells and scarves cos i think she's too young for that.

Just to share on some of the stuff that we did during hte positive babies class that we can play with our babies at home as well. ...
1) To relax the babies - can rub on their tummies
2) There are some songs with moves that we can sing - can sit bb on our laps then sing the "put your right hand in, put your right hand out" song and put the baby's right inwards and outwards.
3) To also play with babies using the bubbles - supposed to be good for training baby's eye-hand coordination. Charmaine had a lot of fun with the bubbles - she's amazed with them but I think not too gd to use that too often, after all, the bubbles are soap plus water right?

Just some stuff to share.

queen,

your mil is really one kind - just like mine.... hiaz. We stay in the North - when we visit some aunties staying in the North, 15 mins drive away from us. She wants us to go to the West, where she stays to pick her up then drive to the North to the auntie's place. After dinnner, which can last till 11pm sometimes, she wants us to drive her back then go back to the North again... hiaz.

btw, where's the still rd crab? really that nice? i like crabs!

sandra
I too think that 10th should be celebrated.. but dunno what up my hb's mind... but I'm going to be cool abt it dun wan to ask anymore.
Amazing woman..?.. hahaha if I'm at home, I will probably lost my cool totally.

Sometimes I really couldnt read old folk's mind.

celine
thanks, but tanglin mall is not v convenient for me.

ivory
wah, so far.. think I'll give it a miss.

re organic store
so happy, just discovered a new organic grocery store at great world city (B2). They sell HT (incl jar puree), veg, fruits. Bought 2 bunches of brocoli for Ger and it cost me $5. A bit exp lah.

may
your MIL really incredible..
I will screm if my MIL does that.

Tabbie
thanks alot for the pea introduction.
I will go Cold storage to hurt for them this weekend.

Re: MIL
I dunno if my MIL is plain lazy or what...
Seems like she can ONLY add 1 ingredient to the porridge for Kaelyn.
today.. she only add mince pork and nothing, there are lotsa veggie and stuff in the fridge.

I'm not that patient really, I have told her many many times can mix items for bb to eat.
she just wun listen...
I wanted to know what she cook for bb, so I told her the leftover porridge its ok I will eat them when I come home...
but every day when I'm back she already finish washing the pot use to cook porridge.
when I asked.. she say she cook only JUST nice for kaelyn.. pls my bb only eat at most 3 tablespoon...I cannot believe she can only cook that little.
I dunno what is she hiding....

The 2 times where there are left over.. they were plain porridge,.. nothing inside.
Sometimes I really worry abt how my MIL take care of my bb.
Should I be worry?
sorry abt the complain again...

I really dunno how. MIL is driving me crazy every wkend. Do this kind of silly thing. Told hubby that my blood pressure will go high every wkend. Feel like screaming at her but have to respect so I just keep quiet. Really hope that she won't come to stay with me, else I will die of heart attack one day.

RE: Mattress
Some time ago one of the mummies were saying that she got lobang to get mattress with side that prevent baby from rolling out right? Still got the lobang? Nowadays Jamie dun like sarong..she keeps wanting to sleep on our bed.Hubby and me are thinking of getting one for her.

Wow! Wow! Wow! So many posts to catch up on.

cookie
Oh dear me. I hope Kaelyn is alright. good to know she doesn't show signs of anything serious. Help me sayang her k? 10th year anniversay should celebrate! to benchmark the journey that you've taken. Looks like you have to surprise him instead?? It's really not about the money, I guess we women just want to be surprised.

Rena
Cool down cool down! We are here to listen to you and hear your heart. I can empathize with you...though our hbs may not do much around the house, their presence really matters to us. Pity I'm working, if not will join you for the botanical gardens outing. Then again, maybe can take leave and check out the place.

Tracy
ACtually when over at your MIL's place, also good that they can feed Megan, than you can take your time to enjoy your dinner mah! Maybe Megan see them also sian so quickly eat and get over and done with her food.

queen.
Wah! your MIL so big shot ah? Hope you and hb have cooled down already.

SH
Well done! For taking the 1st step to driving again. Just keep practicing short distances, over time you'll gain more and more confidence and am pretty sure you'll get back your driving skills and instincts. Very soon, you can be independent to travel around with JW.

Two bowls of porridge
I was out in the evening with some gfs to catch up over dinner, leaving Daren with hb. My hb power, broke all time record and fed Daren 2 bowls of porridge. The Ikea's children's bowl. *faintz* I got a shocked of my life. I told my mum and kena scolding that we tried to be over ambitious with him and dunno what we're trying to achieve... I think it'll be the 1st and last time that we'll ever attempt that ever again.

Re: Blog
hi mummies. To share Jun Wei's blog.
http://stonelamb.blogspot.com/

Can I put some of your bb links on my bb blog? I am going to pull those from Tabbie's site (at least those names that I know are from this forum).

Tabbie, hope you don't mind coz when i shifted to blog spot, I only kept your link. Now too difficult to search back to find all the other mummies blog's links. Btw, could you update JW's link on your blog? I stopped using the MSN one coz like you say blog spot easier coz can change date. I am still finding time to backdate some of bb first experiences

Mongs
I am from class 95C13 leh... so coincident!
Maybe I will try to cook the brown rice again over weekend... but my baby seems don't really like to eat.

Tracy
I also agree with the rest of the mummies, I think baby feels more secure with parents to misbehave.

Last week when I was back from HK, over the weekend I was so stress out in taking care of my baby. So stress until I nearly break down... was alone at home hb not in singapore, baby was so naughty and sticky to me. I can't step into toilet either, she would cry her heart out (not those pretend pretend one, really cry till very sad)... wanted me to carry her ALL the time... I was having stomach flu, my GP asked me not to get too close to baby, then I need to run to toilet many times, but baby just couldn't stop crying... then sat morning she fell down from bed... I alone got to rush her to see PD... at night she just refused to change her diaper and wipe down... I struggled with her for about half an hour still couldn't put her diaper on.

To be frank until now I still having phobia, very scare she cry. I dunno what causes her misbehave... probably she long time didn't see me so when she sees me she starts to bully me and misbehves... luckily this week she is more settle down.

queen, cookie, May,
re: MIL
wa... very irritating MILs leh... if my MIL was like that when she was alive, i think i vomit blood liao...

cookie,
re: crying
Keenan also became a cry-baby since his bout of fever in Bali. Became very clingy and needs to be rocked/pat to sleep. He seems to know how to manipulate us with his cries nowadays. Can really scream for attention when he needs it!

god's child,
Thanks a lot for doing the BP. I got my birks liao but yet to try them. Should be ok bah... i buy back the same size we are wearing.

sl,
thanks for sharing some stuff from positive babies. Now i have more games to play with Keenan.

cookie,
re: 10th Year Anni
Congrats, cookie. 10 years is a long time and deserved to be celebrated, I feel. Instead of waiting for the man to arrange something, why don't you do it? Like booking a table in a nice restaurant, and maybe checking into a nice hotel for the night, and ordering some nice flowers to be sent to yourself but bill everything to your hb of course!!!! kekeke....

re: outing with BB
there is something on this Sun and I might be bringing my sons there. Mummies, if you are free, I think it's good to go. It will be great bonding for the whole family.

Here are the details:
SSO in the Park
Sun, 27 Aug 06
6:00pm, Botanic Gardens
FREE ADMISSION
Synopsis:
Relax - Its Sunday!
Roll out the green carpet and get ready for an evening of fantabulous music brought to you by the Singapore Symphony Orchestra and Resident Conductor Lim Yau. Expect nothing less than the best outdoor music in Singapore!
http://www.sso.org.sg/imgsrcssobt_whatsongif/0607Season/tabid/1063/ConcertId/3553/Default.aspx

cookie,
actually, when i prepare porridge for Caleb, i really cook just enough. That is about 3 soup spoon amount wor. So maybe ur MIL also prepared in that manner.

Hi Wendy Ng,
no problem, then we'll arrange for you and durianlover to pick it up.. didn't know you stay in B. Panjang...

AK,
same here, I use HT oatmeal cereal which Shannon loves... I dun think can give adult oatmeal yet...

May,
oh dear, why your MIL like that? Really old generation thinking... I can tahan alot of things if it was concerning me, but if it has to do with my baby, I'll sure snap!

SL,
Shannon enjoyed the Positive babies trial very much, surprisingly... I was expecting the grumpy face to be totally present during the whole class, but how knows she was pretty alert and attentive... but her grumpy face came back immediately after the class... muhahaha...

Zhimin,
dun stress, relax.... I know it's tough listening to bb crying, but think of it this way, that's the only way they know how to communicate with you, sometimes crying doesn't mean they are in distress, they are just trying to tell you something... initially I get very uptight when I hear bb crying, but nowadays, i just explain to her what I am doing or why I must leave her for a while... she may whine and cry but I just take it that she is complaining.. hee hee

Cookie,
your MIL is weird, why only one indregient for porridge? Maybe that's why Kaelyn dun like to eat, too bland? I thot all MILs want to fatten up their grand children... hmm, maybe with the exception of my health concious MIL...

Mamachan,
so you gonna 'eat snake' and join us today?
Come lah if you can?