(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbiesus,
OOOh Tabby is soooo cute on the swing by herself!! This is one of those special moments which you would LOVED to capture on video and its sooo beautiful... Urghh... how i wish HB would agree too get a video cam... =(

Haha Tracy and Rachel,
fully agree, as what I mentioned, Shannon has a Smile Switch ON/Off button.... at home, it's ON, once she steps out of the house, it's OFF...

Tabbie,
Tabitha is sooo cute....! looks like your little family had loads of fun!

Help... I really can't decide.... shall I bite the bullet and book SIA coz of their great services though the timings are not good? 1:20am flight out to Perth, which means we have to wake Shannon up at 10pm after she falls asleep at 8pm, and bundle her off to the airport, and try to make her sleep once we get on board...

Or should I go for Qantas, which flies at 725pm, just nice for her dinner, last milk feed and sleep at 8pm..? Argh, *pulling hair*

Go for better service or better flight schedules?

sleepingdeer
hahaha ON and OFF switch =p

actually if its me i will take Qantas, timing is very important for baby i think. if i will to wake dylan up and distrube his beauty sleep im afraid im looking for trouble! heehee

btw its not a very long flight right? how many hours? Qantus so far too me is quite good too =)

sleepingdeer,
i'll definitely go for QF. reach perth also good timing. SQ reach Perth wee hours of morning also not suitable for shannon. 4hrs flight right?

the last time i went with company to perth, we took night flight, reach perth early morning, straightaway drive to bunbury..heehee..almost knock down a kangaroo cos all falling asleep. very dangerous actually..perth roads quite dark leh.

anyway, whether the airline service is good or not very much depends on the cabin crew at that time too. my flight from SIN to HKG, crew was good. HKG-SIN not as good.

Clare
I totally agree with you.. hope my HB will agree too..
it's such good memories.. imagine.. next time when bb grow up we show her.. her first swing..her first etc and all and how "young" mum was then..oohhh...

Tabbie
keep fliming!

Sleepingdeer,
Me too would vote for Qantas. Its only 4 hours onboard so dun really have to worry much about the service... and SIA timing really bad cos by the time u settle yourselves & Shannon down at hotel it would even be much later whereas Qantas arrival time is great for Shanon to be well rested for the fun days ahead. =)

thanks a lot for all the advices. It's really very encouraging. ya, rachel, I think I sort of have decided to go. it's just a matter of how to continue to bf and how to make the transition as smooth as possible. I am quite reluctant to wean her off my breast so I may take up sleepingdeer's suggestion to change her feeding routine slightly and ask my hubby to get her to sleep. have to talk to my hubby. I have not discuss this with my MIL but i think she should be fine cause she encouraged my SIL to take up a promotion that required her to travel once a few months. eventually I think my baby will stay with my MIL when I am not around instead of sleeping with her daddy. quite a few points to iron out.

mongs
glad that you have sort out your thoughts and decision. know it is tough to come to a decision but sure it is the best you can achieve =)

understand how reluctant you felt in weaning your girl off. i been through that and true that im sad as now that my boy dont recoginse my breast any more...(gave me a funny look when i offer my breast to him) but i comfort myself that this will come sooner or later.

plan as according to your schedule but try not to stress yourself out if things dont go the way you plan it to be. believe that your girl will be in good hands when you are away and yah better let your girl stay with her ah mah than you hb. hahaha man sometime can be so helpless with baby!

thanks for the great advise... okies, will discuss with my hubby when he gets home...

Babylon,
must be sooo relieved to hear that Damien is drinking milk again, very glad he's a-okie!

Mongs,
yup, that would be a good first step... fo rme, Shannon's last feed is about 745pm, she will ususally drink until she starts dozing off... but once I see that she doesn't want milk anymore, I will sit her up and burp her, then will wipe her face, and body, and change her into pyjamas... this ensures that she doesn't associate latching on with sleeping...she will normally be super cranky by then, coz all she wants to do is sleep, and her parents are wiping her face with water! Haha, anyway, we do use a pacificer to smoothe her, coz the suckling helps calm her and let her sleep... I think you mention that your bb doesn't like pacificer? So it may be a little tough at first if you decide you dun want to introduce it to her again... but hang in there, am sure that she will get the hang of it fairly soon!

Not very convenient to come to the forum at work.

I'm very sad leh. Last 2 days, when I go and fetch my ds from the infant care, he refused to look at me leh. I look at him and he'll turn away. I turn to the other side to face him, he turn away again. Refused to acknowledge me.
But he'll still smile at his daddy. Makes me so sad...

Hi Wendyl
I am soooo...ssd and disspointed no more leap frog, I should not have given up during the 1st lot collection. I tht the stock will still come just a bit later....

Anyone got good part time maid to intro? Preferbly staying in the west.
Hb intend to get one for me so that I won't be tired. Also I think he is lazy to help out as well..hehe..

Mamachan,
Understand how u feel, really hope hb can take over once he is back cos u are already very tired for so long right? hmm.. give him some time lor. Jet lag is very terrible and he must be too tired after everything. Hang on there..u are already very brave to handle Daren when hb is not around !

Hi may
Sleeping deer pass me a contact of Agent that recommend part time...
I got mine from her.. paid $60 Agency fee and the maid she recommend me is good lor.
Even my picky MIL find she do cleaning well.

of course since u in the west.. Agent may recommend others. Last time she told me she has more contact in the west area and a few of them very efficient one.
If u need the contact let me know.

Lingling,
I remember u gave up ur set cos u wanted sl to collect for u & sl happen to be in the 2nd batch. At tat point of time, nobody (including the supplier herself) would have thot that the stocks would stop coming in. Really sorry that u missed the boat. I also wish that more stocks be available for all of u so that I can close this BP sooner.

cookie,
wow! Heard about the fireworks festival...
and had wanted to go. But my HB say a hassle brininging baby to squeeze with people. Next year we shoulkd all go! Used to go NDP every year when I was in secondary school. Love the fireworks.

does anyone knows what ngor he (fish) is called in english. I am not a market person. So if need to go supermarket to buy, need to know english name leh.

cookie,
does ur part time maid do house in the east? How does it work? With my hb going overseas so often, we hardly have time to do housework. so i wanna try to convince him to get one. though i think he is quite resistant

Queen
Yup agree.. next year lets all go.
wow.. go NDP everyyear! I have never been to NDP before...

SH
I believe it's called thread fin..
But my MIL say got 2 type... 1 yellow skin 1 black skin... and I forgot wich is not nice. Sorry this pc of info doesn't help.
But to me not much difference.
If you can go Wet Market and buy will be best I guess.. cos fresh and also you can ask the fisher more question

oh my mashy,

U must be very upset. i understand wat you feel...the last time my bb does that to me is when i started bringing him to my mum's place to stay at nite (coz my hb has overseas assignment). somehow he really hates that place initially. cried so badly. then i brought him to my MIL place in the morning when i went to work. at nite when i go pick him again, he did not want me, turn away from me too. I was so sad, i nearly wanted to cry.

& i told him cannot like dat one. Like dat, mummy will be very sad. mummy love you so much. just that daddy have to work so no choice you have to go to wah po place.

Don't know if he understood. But i felt like i have to tell him. He begrudging let me carry him though i can see he's still not very keen.

Then after a few days, he started going back to normal liao.

So maybe jus give your baby a little more time?

Re:cooking for baby
My MIL has bought the "new" rice for porridge and last nite I went to soak oevr nite.
This morning at 745am bring the water to boil before place it in slow cooker.
added some dry apricot and wolberry as well.
By 9am.. the porridge already pretty nua!
I was expecting the process will be real slow. I'm testing out how slow it can be today...but seems alright.
Think it's becos is "new" rice and also the soaking overnite helps.

SH

Think maybe he's showing his displeasure at me leaving him there lor.
Same as u, I also told him that he like dat will make mummy very sad. Today he's slightly better. Will look at me liao. But still need a little effort to get him to go pass that blank stare.

mashy,
cheer up. at least he is improving. I am sure he will get over it soon coz he knows u still love him very much. just no choice, have to leave him there.

cookie,

thanks for the information on the fish. can help let me know how part time maid works? how often they come....?

btw, wat is "new" rice? would soaking help to cook faster?

ngor hee , is called threadfish..

cookie,
usually i will soak the rice for a few hours and let it dry over night then i mill it.. even faster to cook
i willl prepare every sunday of the week and one cup can last 1 week..

Sleepingdeer,

one bad news, i may not be able to attend the postitve bb class am down with flu yesterday.. quite a bad one.. not sure if i will recover by friday.. the virus is pass by my stupid uncle..who purposly come near me and bb.. luckly bb immunity system has been build up and much stronger than me.. each time i go near him have to put mask .. so sian and today hb bath bb and take care of him last night as i slept in the other room..

Hi May,
yup, my contact has alot more contact in the west, so should be able to get a good one for you if you wanna, either let me or cookie know lah... in fact my contact was my pt-time maid previously... haha, she's quite good... just let her Lisa or Amy recommend you....

Cookie,
so good to hear that your maid is good...

Do you know if letting bb stand now would cause them to be bow leg? My boy keeps wanting to try to stand. If we don't let him, he will throw a tantrum...so don't know if it's ok to let him stand...

Sleeping deer
thanks thnaks.. haven't u enough for recommed Judy to me. I ask the right person

Rena
Oic.. during weekday.. my MIL dun use cockery pot.. she use craypot to make porridge.
No wonder I use double boil method for 3hrs then nua enough..kekeke.. I never soak or grin my rice beforehand

jus back from taka baby fair. here's wat the have:

1) Avent. eh, dunno got offer or not. i bot teats (2pc pack) for $4.72.
2) tiny love toys (abit only) 20% discount
3) sassy toys (abit only)
4) fisher price toys (plenty) but once again, dunno cheap or not. jumperoo @ $179. i bot 4 fisher price toys. all chosen by megan herself n one elmo soft toy.
5) safety 1st exersaucer @ $129.90 so cheong choon still cheaper
6) kidzloft i-play swim diapers (S size only). i bot waterproof bibs (4 pc @ $9.90),a pillow ($7.90), carseat padding.
7) Graco strollers
8) Pigeon
9) Britax carseat (one model only)
10) Aprica strollers
11) cheap cotton romper pyjamas @ $7, rompers @ $4.
12) Gaia products
13) Piyo-piyo

anyone got experience with Aprica strollers? i'm thinking of getting one n may take fri morning off to go buy it. tried it n find very light. made in japan shld be ok lah hor? haha i work in japanese co so biased.

SH,
think Flo asked her PD before abt standing now n the PD said it's ok, won't cos bow-leggedness. think most of our babies r now trying to stand.

Went to Taka Bb fair. LOusy...

The GAIA no discount. It's buy 2 bottles and get 1 small bottle free.

Think BP better.

Rena
What happened to the california BP ah? Can PM me? Thanks!

tracy,

aprica is light and expensive but i dun think it is steady enough..
it has lots of function and comfortable but still think that mac is better..

Mashy ,
Californa BP is on the way only two items out of stock that is all..

Cookie,
I PM u already.. let me know the contact ok?

Sleepingdeer,
Thanks for the recommendation.

Ling Ling,
This website was posted before already. It is indeed a very sad thing.

mashy
so sad abt GAIA no offer..
I'm gng taka fair on Friday with friend...

Tracy
How much is the model you wanna buy?
I know aprica very expensive!
Oh yes it is very light.. and durable and expensive of course..
The old hand me down I pass to Demny is Aprica also.. used for like 7 yrs already and after servicing still serve it's purposes.

Did you go to the fair with megan alone or with HB?
So scare I cannot stop myself from buying toys for Kaelyn...kekeke...

Tracy / Mashy,
I was also at Taka fair this afternoon. I also bot the waterproof bibs & a FP slamdunk toy for bb. Was disappointed with the Gaia offer. The Britax carseat has 2 models.....we were eyeing the Royale model. But dunno if the price there is considered cheap or not. Will bring bb down another day to try on.

Anyone here using Britax carseats?? The seat looks comfy but dunno is it too warm for our weather. Any feedbacks?

cookie,
U've got mail! I like Aprica for its lightweight so me can handle.

yes, i went with meg n hb, reached there at 10.30am already quite many people. meg was abit cranky so i shopped mostly alone while hb push her around.

then we went to taka nursery feed her cereal. a Japanese lady left her boy at the edge of the changing table n he fell onto his stroller then onto the floor!! all of us had a shock! he's older than our babies but less than a yr old bah. aiyo...but he didnt cry.. me, i will panick and rush him to doc immed!

Wenyl, mashy
u gals were there too?
i also bot the waterproof bibs!

Wenyl, i have one chicco carseat, suede material very hot! so at taka we bought a cotton padding to put over it. but i've heard britax and maxi cosi one of the best brands for carseat. my chicco one very hard to take her out esp when she's sleeping.

Rena,
i tried your Mac, i still no strength to carry it. u r very strong leh.

Rena,
my hb say laptop no need router leh..cos laptops kinda built-in? my SIL can bring her laptop to my MIL's house and log-into internet without plugging in any wire.

Stroller
Any bb here using combi stroller? I bought one for Damien but he really hates that stroller, he fussed a lot when he is inside.
he prefers his elder brother old stroller Graco.
Thinking of getting another stroller for him maybe the Graco brand.
Tracy Are they selling Graco stroller cheaper?

Babylon- i saw Toy R us selling Graco at $198.. citisport model if im not wrong.. looks light weight to me...mabbie u can chk it out..

Re : Carseat
im using Britax and it reali is very comfy,bought it when Robinsons was having promo on it. Not the Royale one, too exp for my pocket,but this one we have good enuf aldy...

Celeste can crawl! She can call MAMA!
i was so glad yest when she started to be able to crawl in the morning.. and in the afternoon, she was going MAMA in her high chair ( the PAPA came 2 weeks ago aldy )..OooOoOoh, my heart just melted...

Rena,
I'm also looking for wireless router for my home.
If you not interested in the one cookie recommended, let me know ok? Then I'll contact the seller.

babylon,
I'm using a Combi 4.2kg stroller. Isaac is ok with it but his feet are sticking out already if he sleeps on full recline. My cousin-n-law hand me down a Graco one, but that was so super heavy! So we bought this Combi one to bring to Europe the other time.

Tracy,
Wah, Aprica??? That's like almost $1000 for a stroller! It's good and light loh, design also very nice. If you have the budget, why not?