(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re. ON Spree I
Ready for collection! If you are in Spree I, pls check your emails!

Cookie,
Yah, if split into 2 bills, then have to pay separate base charge as well. But still work out to be cheaper still cos the GST is ~$34 and on top of that need to pay a $9.99 base charge if consolidated.

Re. ON spree & GST
No need to pay GST liao... cos managed to get the orders split into 2 bills. .. IN case you missed out my earlier posting on this.

Latest Tumble Tots Update - Mummies kindly check the dates that you're supposed to attend.

19th August - CLass Full
1)MamaChan + hb + bb
2) sl + hb + bb (only if after 14/8 cos before that not in town)
3)sept03bride+hb+bb
4) Tabbie + hb + bb
5) sunny + hb + bb (TBC)
6) SH + hb + bb
7)Clare + hb + bb
8)Wenyl + hb + bb
9)Rena + hb + bb

26th August 2006 - CLASS FULL
1)Flo + hb + bb (only if the class is @ 2pm)
2) Tracy + bb (this sat if 2pm ok. 5.45pm can't make it. other sats after 1pm ok)
3)Cookie + hb + bb (TBC- OK if not on 19th AUg weekend)
4) celine + hb + bb
5) God's child + hb + bb ( only if after 5pm )
6) Chillies + hb + bb
7) Denmy + hb + bb
8) Rachel Lim + hb + bb
9) sleepingdeer + hb + bb

I've already compiled the list and sent it to Veron at Specialists Centre Tumble Tots. Will be waiting for her favorable reply in terms of timing.

Mashy

Caeden so good boy can kwai kwai sit there and read book, my gal is only interested to tear the pages or bite the book...."faintz"

Cookie
Re: Playyard
Personally I find it quite useful and Mel can really entertain herself inside for quite a while. She was having such a good time inside Elijah's playyard yesterday cos he's got lots more toys than her

Rena
Thanks for the warm hospitality. Mel has such a great time that she slept from 9pm till 8am the next morning.

Denmy
The soup is really good. Mel was too tired to eat yesterday after we came home. In the end I finished the small bowl that I scoop out to feed her....heehee

Found quite a yummy and nutritious snack from Market Place. From japan, 2 packs is equivalent to 100ml of milk. Lucas likes it a whole lot better than the Healthy Times one.

Here's a pic of it
479135.jpg

And him with his hard HT bite
479136.jpg

Hi mummies...

Re. MIL
Sorry need an outlet to complain again...
Yesterday evening my boy doesn't really want to eat the porridge that she has made. So far she has made porridge 3 times and Isaac doesn't eat much all 3 times. She uses the double-boil method and add either potato soup stock, ikan bilis soup stock or just cook with chicken & fish meat. I tasted the porridge, quite all right, bland but still have some taste. Anyway, so yesterday evening she complain that ISaac does not want to eat. So my HB told her that the day before when I made porridge, Isaac finished most of it, though the first time I made porridge, he didn't seem to like it too. My MIl also commented that she giave him one of the butternut squash puree that I have made and he loves it cos it's sweet. Dunno my MIL cannot take it that Isaac doesn't want to eat her porridge or what, this morning when we brought Isaac over to her place, first thing she ask me what I put inside my porridge. I said some carrots, powdered silverfish and dried scallops. Then immediately say I shouldn't put dried scallops cos it's saltish and shouldn't make the porridge too tasty for baby. I said, I just put a bit to give the porridge a bit a taste cos did not cook porridge with stock. The porridge is as bland as what she has made. She doesn't seem to believe me, and keep harping that now baby can only eat porridge cooked with chicken/fish and add chopped veges. And then she said the other day when she used ikan bilis stock to cook porridge, it's too tasty and Isaac doesn't like also. Win already loh, bland says he doesn't like. Tasty also say he doesn't like. Then how? Then she commented again that he likes all those sweet purees that i made, like sweet potato and apricot purees. I said he also likes tha potato & broccoli puree which is not sweet what. Then I told her my mum says that if cook porridge with fish, can mash up the fish and give some to Isaac, then she said cannot, too young to eat fish. My HB told her that doctor said can eat fish liao... then MIL claims that she tried to mash up some to give Issac (dunno true or not), but he can't seem to swallow. Say better to wait till he can walk then eat meat??? Pls lah, my mum says when me and my siblings were 5 months old, she already started cooking Ma You fish in porridge till very soft and gave it to us! Wah... I really cannot take it man! But I still didn't talk back but on the way to work just now, gave my HB an earful man!

Anyway, I feel that if did not cook porridge with stock and just cooked with chicken meat and fish and not feed the meat, how nutritious can the meal be right? Isn't it just mostly carbo from rice? I rather give more cereals.

queen,
hmm...i think ur MIL is jus jealous dat Isaac's not taking her food. she really shld ve more patience and try again and again, adjusting her porridge to his liking. sometimes we wonder how come they manage to bring up their own children but when come to ours got so much complains?? they shld be more experienced already...haiz..

my MIL made porridge for megan ysterday too but she admitted its not soft enough so megan spit it out and refuse to it. she will attempt today again.

re:playyard
hb dun approve the playyard cos no space in our house, which is quite true lah..i went home measure here n there, can't figure out where to put expect smack right in the centre of our dining room which dun seem right...so no choice, not buying

Cindy,
marketplace is the one at paragon basement? haha, does lucas like the HT biscuit? Megan simply throws it down for my dog to eat all the time...bonus for my dog but after dat his poo poo is soft n yucky...

Rena
No worries abt the CB BP

Cindy
Market palce where? City Hall is it??
Lucas sooo cute!..
btw the biscuit contian, any salt or sugar or not?

Queen
Cool cool... *fan fan*.. you are rite.. I read from somewhere, if just use meat to boil and not feed, not much nutients. The nutients are in the meat...can't rem where I read it from.
Hope you feel better after letting out the steam...
Hmm.. I already give up.. just let my MIL do wat she deem is right.

Sunny...
I was saying my MIL wan tto cook porridge hor...
Last ntie went home.. she already cook and fed kaelyn porridge.. super fast...

tracy/cookie,
Yes, the one at paragon, $4 for 16 packs (each pack has 2 biscuits). Din check if contain sugar/salt or not.. hmmm better go home and check, maybe that's why he likes it. Though when i tried it tastes very plain, only got milk taste, melts in the mouth without sticking onto the roof palate. This one he actually swallows and eat. Will open mouth and 'follow' the biscuit when we wave it infront of him haha... The HT one he would just lick and make funny faces - more like a teether toy than food.
There's a variant for 7mths onwards, think that one has fish.

wenyl
Where can we get the play yards u mentioned in the url? I'm trying to buy a play yard big enough to go around my bumper mat but I've not been able to find any so far. Do u know how much it is?

sleepingdeer,
U're organising a play yard BP? Can I know the details like dimension, brand, design, price, etc? I want to buy a play yard.

queen,
re: ON Spree 1
Transfered $74.10 to your OCBC account this morning. Forgot to take down the transaction ref.. anyhow a notification email from bank has been sent to you.

Besides the locations you listed in your email, is there a possibility for others near town? Where's your work place? otherwise I opt for Jurong Point (weekdays though).

Like Tracy said, you MIL could be jealous lor. To the other folks, cooking meals for their grandchild is like a sacred task which they take pride in. She must have felt rejected especially when she's the one taking care of Isaac most of the time. But, she is really defensive and maybe doesn't talk sense anymore.
My mom yesterday also introduced 2 new foods to Lucas: egg yolk and beef. I gently told her in the evening that should not do so as may not know which item is the culprit should there be allergy or constipation. She says we young folks so troublesome, but then agreed that what i said made sense.

finally got time to log on in HK... typhoon here.. so windy.. but still got time to go shopping har har.. super sales! Saw some cloth books that normally sell for 15+ now selling for less than S$10, and couldn't resist buying clothes!

Denmy, Cookie..
Received ur transfers! Thx...

Denmy
I dun have the enfapro supplier's contact.. so far only got Similac n Friso.. I'll try n source the enfapro supplier for u from my PD friends.

God's child, Rachel, cookie
RE: similac.. no deadline cos its considered staff discount.. direct from the Similac supplier to hospitals so very safe.. I will call the supplier and confirm the exact price? Can u PM me the address u want it delivered to.. I can't give u the supplier's contact cos its a staff discount only, i gave my friends her contact before but she wouldn't give the same discount... btw.. just to add.. i not making money here hor..

just started my girl on papaya.. so yummy, i just got the small hawaiian type.. and scoop out to feed her.. first time i did it plain and she could almost finish whole papaya (actually after scooping out only one small bowl).. and she smack her lips too... and it really helps with the poop! kekeke....

RE : recipes

I just got a book from HK that has baby porridge recipes in english and chinese

Here's a sample recipe

Lean pork congee with papaya and egg yolk
ingredients
1/2bowl papaya
1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon mince lean pork
2 table spoons of rice

1. soak raw rice in hot water for more than 1 hour b4 making congee
2. add abt 7 cups of water into pot (adjust water amt if u want mushy rice ie less watery porridge)
3. chop papaya into small dices, or for finer texture, mash papaya to puree
4. boil egg and mash the egg yolk. do not feed bb the egg white
5. when congee boils(ie when u see it bubbling) add minced pork and keep strring to prevent minced meat sticking together..
6. just add the papaya puree/ dices and mashed egg yolk before serving

If ur baby needs finer text.. can scoop out the meat and mash or puree before putting back into porridge..

For yummier porrigde.. they suggest u use stock to boil the rice... recomended stock.. fish stock if ur baby has started eating fish.. if not.. pork stock also can

MamaChan,

It just became a tentative 2 month stationed overseas. One week turn to 2 weeks, then now possible 2 months. :-(
*sob sob*

Bb is better now at mum's place but i think i better try to pick up driving again....

SH
Wow! 2 months business trip for hb? So erratic hor? His company always does this to him?? So funny, he must have only enough clothes for one week, now 2 months. Don't fret, maybe we mummies try to meet up with you on weekends, so you don't feel so "confined" in? What say the rest of the mummies?

Queen (and all having troubles with MIL regarding cooking for your babies),

I'm not trying to help anyone out here. I'm just trying to reason out things, so just spare me a few minutes.

I do agree with ur MIL that you shouldn't put dried scallops in the porridge for Issac. Babies are used to eating bland tastes so its ok for their foods to be bland. Not only does dried scallops have no nutritional value, it (and other dried seafood - ikan billis included if its not eaten whole) is very salty so shouldn't put in their foods, even if its just for the stock.

Their kidneys and liver is not so developed yet so, additional salt and sugar will put alot of stress on their liver and kidney. I've also read before that we should try to feed baby plain water and less fruit juice (and do not feed honey) cuz they're sweet and makes the baby develop a preference for sweet liquids (which is not good). What your child prefers to eat when they're older depends on what u feed them now. If they're used to the natural tastes of foods without additional salt or sugar, they'll be less picky with foods in future. Good eating habits start young.

Well, maybe u all may not agree with me, but, I'd rather not take the chance and stress my baby's liver and kidney. I'm going slow with her solid food schedule and my baby is still a vegetarian till now. She has not tasted any meats yet except egg yolk. I'm still feeding her plain porridge/cereal with fruit puree or mashed egg yolk and she loves it. There's no need to hurry with the menu since u have their whole lifetime for them to taste different foods, right?

Juz brought my boy for jab. Weigh only 7.6kg 69cm. Rather small to me. Told PD that he doesnt seem to like milk now. Prefer water actually. Weird boy. Told PD he doesnt sleep through and she gave me the tin of mamil night. Hee hee...dont have to buy.

RE : Egg
Can eat yolk not white har?

rena - wow, a pic says a thousand words! thanks for showing us... so u juz put the cup on the wok, is there any base at the bottom?i have that mug too, bought from watsons cheap cheap...and big enuf for porridge cooking.. mabbie try out tmr. tat means dun even hav to blend the porridge lor???

Rena,
Thanks for the pictures!
Does Sumo sleep in the play yard too?

Wendy,
it's not that I'm rushing on the solids.
I have never added additional sugars or salts into Isaac's meal. So far, can't be help if the sweet potatoes, butternut squash puree, grapes, apples are naturally sweet right? As for the porridge, I don't believe in feeding plain rice porridge cos basically, plain porridge has no nutritional value except carbo. If do not want to add in vege or meat into the porridge, should at least cook it with pre-prepared vege / meat stocks (with no added salt). It's good that you serve it with egg yolks. And it's not true that ikan bilis or scallops have no nuttitional value. Ikan bilis is high in calcium while scallops provides protein. I add silverfish/ikan bilis/dried scallops in powder form not so much for the taste but because it provides the nutrition not obtainable from just eating plain rice porridge. And since BB cannot eat them whole, the next best thing is to grind it and blend into the porridge. The amount added to the porridge is not enough to make the porridge as tasty as what adults will like. The porridge is still bland, with only a tinge of taste from the ikan bilis /scallops.

Just to add that the PD at KKH which Isaac has seen a few days ago recommended that Bb from 7 months should start having more semi-solids feeds which should include a variety of food such as egg yolk, potatoes, vegetables, carrots, a bit of mashed fish/chicken if BB can swallow, as well as papaya, apples, pears.

Wendy Ng,
I bot the playyard from Cheong choon thru a BP. So the price I paid is $140 for 6 panels with extra door. I tink sleepingdeer & Denmy are going to get from the same shop too. But the price is slightly higher at $165. The shop's tel no is 65323855. Dunno if they still have any more stock.

busy busy...

Celine and Wendy,
yup the one I got is the same one that Rena posted.... no BP, just was asking around for mummies who wanted to share.... in the end got Denmy to share and my play yard came yesterday! Super fast... now waiting for weekend to come to fix it up, hee hee, my MIL doesn't know yet... wonder what she will say when she sees it set up!

Celine,

Rena and sleepingdeer,
Re :play yard and bumper mat
Can I check with u, is 6 panels enough to go round the bumper play mat? How big is the play area of ur 6 panels? My playmat is 190x130cm. I dunno if 6 panels is enough to go around it if not I have to get 8 panels (2 sets).

Anyway, I just called Cheong Choon and have confirmed that if we want 6 panels, have to buy 1.5sets so need to find someone else to share. So, assuming 6 panels is enough, I need to find someone to share with me. The cost of the play yard is $110 for 4 panels so for 1.5 sets, its $165. Anyone want to share with me? I want to buy 1.5 sets with the extra door, so I'm looking for someone who wants to have 1.5 sets too with the extra play set.

Queen,
I see. If the ikan bilis is added in powdered form, then its good cuz if its just for the stock, then its nothing but sodium cuz u have eat the bones in the ikan bilis in order to eat the calcium. However, I'm not so sure if scallops is a good form of protein for babies as the sodium content is still very high. Isn't it better to use meats as source of protein or powdered soy beans instead? I agree with u that plain rice porridge is only carbo and nothing else, dats y I serve it with mashed egg yolk.

Hi, wendy. I shared with you. Hopefully today can confirmed so that we can get the play yard tomorrow
. I can get the set with the extra playset. Pm you my hp already.

Hello rena,
can I collect my 5 ovulation and 5 pregnancy kits from you tomorrow? please pm me your address. thanks.

wendy and queen,
gee, I thought egg shouldn't be intro so soon? I know egg white should be after 1 yr old but egg yolk can intro already at 7mths?

Wendy,
Where to get powdered soy beans? You mean like soy formula? Yah loh... if can get protein from meat better still, that's why my mum say can startto give mashed fish (but my MIL so resistant).

mongs,
can give hard-boiled egg yolks already.
Egg whites cannot yet.

Queen
hmm. think depends on individual bb. I have a friend intro fish at 7 mths and bb seems a little allegy to it so she stop it.
I read from wholesome food website, meat and fish can only start later.
but read annabel karma, can start as early as 7mths...so...hmm...

hi celine,

my hb just said he wants the extra playset instead of the extra door. Is it ok with u to get the extra door instead?

mongs
Egg white is highly allergenic but egg yolk is on par with meat and fish according to the allergy chart my PD gave me. Since my girl is ok with egg yolk, shouldn't be a problem to most cuz my hb is allgeric to shellfish and i'm lactose intolerant so Ariene has 30% chance of being allgeric to foods too. Dats y I'm very slow and careful with feeding her solids.

Powdered Soy beans
We can buy dried soy beans from supermarket and grind them to powder ourselves. Alternatively, I've seen cold storage sell organic powdered soy bean before but cant remember which store already cuz it was long time ago. Or u can use soy beans to boil soup. Cook it with baby spinach then puree both beans and spinach together to feed baby. Sounds nutritious to me
I've been wanting to do this but I'm still along way to dat cuz I only have time to introduce new foods to Ariene on weekends so I've only tried like 6-7 foods with her. So far tried only apple, pear, egg yolk, rice, brown rice, carrot, banana, papaya, broccoli and chinese pao without the meat (she was drooling and hammering the baby chair at my char siew pao when we were eating dim sum so i pinched some skin for her after peeling away the outer skin - she loved it!). Poor girl.. been eating almost the same thing everyday

Cheese and diary products
Can babies eat cheddar cheese? I got some baby food recipes which are supposedly for 6 months and up but they contain cheddar cheese and baby yogurt as ingredients and I wonder if they're really for babies.

Hi mummies...long time no c...sigh...so many things have happened over the past couple of months....

first of all...just 3 weeks ago...baby James was admitted to the hospital for urinary tract infection...sigh....he was running a fever and silly mummy, me, thought that it was due to teething....I only started panicking when the fever rose up to 40 degrees and I realised that it couldn't be due to teething....

Dr says that he needs to do a scan called MCU to determine that the valve in his urinary tract is working properly....in the event that the valve is faulty, it will cause urine to backdrip and thus cause infection....sigh....if that is really the case, then he will have to be on antibiotics for 3 years....can u imagine the pain I felt....I still feel very bad about it....sigh....

Tomorrow is the day for the scan and I seriously pray that things will turn out well...I am really really scared....hope that it is really just a case of the bacteria being trapped under his foreskin....hai....

With all these encounters, I really tend to "love" him a little more and I really want to shower him with more love and attention....but at the same time, I know I cannot neglect my elder boy too....I am really torn.....hai!!!

How?

MamaChan / Y,
Thanks a lot for that! Yah...the boss a bit jia lat. I am hoping he can come back weekends. Though this weekend no chance liao :-(
Want to bring bb home on my own but worried that i can't cope....sighz....

cookie,
yah... definitely different babies will react differently to foods. So thing is must try and see lor. start with a little bit and continue for a few days, if no adverse reaction then confirm ok.

Wendy,
the soy beans are those normal yellow beans we use to cook soup right? As for cheddar cheese, also heard can give, but I'm a bit hesitant as well. But heard that it's good to give yoghurt, milder to the stomach than cheese. Maybe can try yoghurt lah...

Joanna,
So sorry to hear that James may have UTI. You must be very sad and stressed. But don't worry, I'm sure with the right medical attention and your TLC, James can cope well with it. As for your elder boy, guessed have to try to make him understand that his little brother needs a bit more attention... but I guess also have to make an effort not to neglect him. Can't really advise you since I'm not in your position... but I do hope things turn out well for you! Take care of yourself too!

Joanna,
Gosh! That sounds terrible. It must be a difficult time for you. Hope James is fine.
As for elder boy, maybe you can just explain to him that his little brother is sick so everyone must love him more so that he feels a part of it. Just a suggestion ...don't know if it is feasible since i only hv 1 kid now.

LEAPPAD UPDATES

Sorry mummies! The supplier just contacted me. She says still no stock for the leappad sets at the moment. Only have few books.
So, for those mummies who have collected their leappads in the 1st batch, the supplier is gonna deliver some of the remaining books to me tomorrow at hougang.

Sandra - 1 book (collect from Flo??) $15
Pochacco - 1 book $15
Tabbiesus - 2 books $30
Clare - 2 books (collect from Flo??) $30
Flo - 3 books (Woodlands) $45
Cookie - 3 books $45
Tracy - 1 book $15
Cindy - 4 books $60
Krissie - 3 books $45

Mummies, u can pay me when u collect the books from me. I will pay the supplier first when she delivers tomorrow.

Flo, u self collect at woodlands, correct? Can u help to pass the books to Sandra & Clare at Raffles Place? Many thanks!