(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Denmy,
re: BP for Spinach
500g ($9.25) per person.
Collection either from my shop or Pasir Ris. Also, as it's perishable, i would suggest that once the delivery date is set, must collect same/next day.
Please add your collection method also. THanks!
1. Denmy (The Sandwich Shop @Robinson Road)
2. cookie
3. sl
4. Flo (The Sandwich Shop @ Robinson Road)
5. Rena
6. Mamachan (The Sandwich Shop @Robinson Road)
7. queen (The Sandwich Shop @ Robinson Road)

Tumbletots class/Gymboree Classes
god's child, the classes I think is to help bb with their development in terms of motor skills i.e. crawling? via engaging them in play using props. I used to observe these classes whenerever I pass by any of the branches. In fact, one of my church friends who used to work in tumble tots, mentioned that one way to "teach" bb to crawl is when bb on their tummy and they don't know whether to move, we hold their legs and do an alternating movement (left right left right) as though they are crawling. Gives them an idea on how to crawl.

Wenyl

Oh poor Ethan, is his fever very high? Teething? Hopefully he gets better later, hope to meet u and him tomorrow.

Thanks wendyl
I will buy myself and try out...
My MIl say.. no place to sun dry wor.. haizz...

Flo:
Did u PM me the order form?? Seems like never receive your form...
Did I miss something?

wow lotsa posting.. need to catch up during lunch time..

Cookie

Yes, I have emailed the forms out yesterday. Did the rest of the mummies get it? Is the same form I MSN you yesterday. Let me know if you didn't receive it. Will email again

Flo,
thx for the milk intake advice. yesterday megan's intake went back to almost normal. drank total of 800ml. but this morning again drink only 100ml. last evening i intro heinz organic pear/apricot to her. she loved it!

re:sitting up
MIL told me megan sat up by herself in the playpen yesterday
but only once so far.

Flo,
Thanks! His fever was 38.5deg this morning at 5.30am. Went down to 37.8deg. Now he is sleeping. I was looking forward to tomorrow's cooking gathering. sigh! But I dun tink we will go cos dunno wat's causing this fever & I definitely dun want it to spread to others. Better be safe than sorry. If its teething, still ok. But I really dunno if its virus.
I will check with hubby later regarding the mooncakes order. When is the last day for this 25% disc?

re gymboree @ Tanglin Mall 3rd flr,
i have juz signed up for the trial at gymboree.it's this sun 6 Aug 12.10pm. any mummies interested can call 67355290. they have another class on sat at 3.40pm. 45min class. both parents are allowed to join the class. but must wear socks. they do not have a local website but u can find out more information on their US website http://www.playandmusic.com. the class that is suitable for our bb is Level 2 6-10mths.

Tumble tots @ Specialists Centre, Orchard Road
Rena, u keen to go to the one in Orchard? They have classes on Sat. One at 10am, the other at 5.45pm. I can try calling and ask for availability of space and how much they charge per trial class. Any other mummies keen in trying tumble-tots out as well?

The Programme @ Tumble Tots

Each 45-minutes session is designed to develop children's physical skills of agility, balance, co-ordination and climbing through the use of brightly coloured Tumble Tots equipment. This programme also incorporates music and language skills through use of action songs and rhymes.

The Key Objectives

General Motor skills
Self confidence
Self discipline
Social Awareness
Its Importance

Child psychologists and educators agree that a structured program in movement should be a part of every child's education.

Programme Structures

This programme is progressive in its methods. Recognizing emotional changes and stages of development in a childs life, each class is structured to cater to different physical skill levels, behavior and emotions of the age groups.

Gymbabes (6 months to walking)
Key Benefits of the programme
- Create environmental awareness through exploration
- Strengthen parent-child bonding
- Assist sensory development
- Overcome stranger anxiety

Mamachan - im interested! which date? its good to let the babies meet up at classes... haha... next time when they grow bigger, can go to art classes together!! i loved art classes when i was young and i will definitely enrol her in one..

mamachan,
i was planning to try out tumble-tots at Sin Ming, very near my MIL's place. was juz finding some time to drop by the place to enquire more.

Durianlover,

re: descaling
Yes, must switch on and run steriliser as per normal to decsale.

Milk intake
130ml too little ah? But last time she only drink 90ml leh.. 130ml like increased by 40ml already. My maid say sometimes she never even finish the 130ml. I'll ask her to increase to 140ml then 150ml see if she can finish.

mamachan,
aiya, too bad, the timing is abit off for me. coz it coincides with edgar's nap time. and since there is one nearer to my place, i'd rather go to that one. it's a pity, else our bbies can meet up again!

Denmy,
re: BP for Spinach
500g ($9.25) per person.
Collection either from my shop or Pasir Ris. Also, as it's perishable, i would suggest that once the delivery date is set, must collect same/next day.
Please add your collection method also. THanks!
1. Denmy (The Sandwich Shop @Robinson Road)
2. cookie
3. sl
4. Flo (The Sandwich Shop @ Robinson Road)
5. Rena
6. Mamachan (The Sandwich Shop @Robinson Road)
7. queen (The Sandwich Shop @ Robinson Road)
8. SH

Where in Pasir Ris to collect? If delivery on weekend, then i can get my hb to drive down to collect since i live in pasir ris. But if weekday, may have to collect at your shop unless i collect after work. Sorry ah...so many questions ;p

SH,
can call and order from Cannon Avent (tel:63919191). They will ask u to send them a cheque then they will mail you the critic acid. i heard from fren that mothercare sells it too but i've never seen it.

rena,
actually i oso prefer music than gym. but seems like the gym classes oso incorporate music. so i tot of trying out some of the gym to see for myself.

to all mummies,
Besides the following schools for short classes, are there any others?
JWT Kids Gym @ UE sq
Gymboree @ Tanglin Mall
Tumble tots
Kindermusik
Rythme in Me @ UE Sq
The Little Gym @ Forum Galleria

Re: descaling sterilizer
Last time i used vinegar to descale but didn't use so much leh...only like 100mls in all (vinegar plus water). Now it's 100mls vinegar plus 200mls water? Sounds like a lot but i guess no harm right? i'm gonna descale later! Very long never descale my steriliser liao!

Wendy,
Maybe Ariene has small stomach so she takes more meals but smaller portions? Hee dunno. But can try giving more. Janelle drinks 220mls, that's why i thought 130mls sounds little. But then again, different baby different eating habits!

wenyl,
hope Ethan's fever goes down soon! Fever is always quite worrying.

god's child,
thanks for info on the sweet potatoes! Shall buy and try it out

Rena
OIC...heh heh, okiez. From my understanding, think Tumble Tots also uses music and language to engage them in play.

god's child
Hehehe. I'll go enquire 1st and post it here later to see when's the next best date available. See if this Saturday got space or not, I'll enquire during my lunch time.

Standard Chartered Run
I remember that it's a yearly thing. I wanna challenge myself to do the 10km run, wanted to do it last year but was pregnant. SO am thinking of this year. Any mummies interested? Can train together. Haha. Then maybe got excuse to get hb to get a jogger stroller.

MamaChan,

Actually i think my boss was upset with me....sigh. Though i don't think I want to go clarify if he really understands or just plain upset.

My MIL complained that my boy poo 3 x yesterday (usually he only poos once every alternate days or even up to 3 to 4 days without poo-ing). MIL says bb poo poo is green green...so must be scared by staying at my mum place. So helpless...coz i think she is telling the truth...since he was screaming so heard yesterday. She also commented that my bb very tired...like whole nite never zzz properly like dat.

Yet my mum insisted on going near bb although bb seems so scared of her. I told my mum to go easy with bb & let him warm up slowly. She refuses to listen. Sigh how.

But thank goodness, bb is better yesterday nite at mum's place than the 1st nite there....i am comtemplating trying to take leave & bring bb home to his familiar environment. But unfortunately, a lot of work to do.

Oh yah...one complain. This morning...my mum playing with my boy...i walk away to prepare his milk in the kitchen. then my mum loudly tell me boy, "OH! MUMMY DON'T WANT YOU LOR!" I was so upset! I told my mum so many times not to tell my boy this kind of things & yet she keeps doing it. Sometime she will be carrying baby & rocking him while repeating non-stop "Mummy bu yao ni (don't want you) already) :-(

Or it will be "mummy says cannot carry you....mummy says blah blah blah....all the negative things abt mummy. How can she tell that to my baby?? Maybe i too sensitive...maybe they don't understand....but i just don't want my baby to keep hearing this kind of negative things abt mummy. So unfair! like mummy torture him like dat!

When i told my mum once again not to say that to baby....she just ask "why cannot?" *fumed*

last night was a bad night for me, hb and dylan too. as usual put dylan to bed at 9pm after his milk... fall asleep on his own within 10 minutes.

around 10pm, dylan cried out loud (or should i say screaming) while i was pumping. went into his room to check on him, was screaming away and its painful to see him like tat... never in the past is had happen. so we thought it should be teething, quickly let him bite on a cold teeth, he dont want. hb carried him but he just kept crying...

later remember one mummy mention to use a cold towel and let bb suck. so hb quickly took an ice cube and wrap it with his hankie and true enough he quiet down and suck angrily at the hankie. end up we spent 30 mins to clam him down...

gave him pacifier and he manage to fall asleep. woke up at 1plus, 3plus, 4plus and 5plus! crying away...... this morning he was still sleeping and we had to wake him up at 710am, cried the first thing he open his eye.... sigh...

so this is teething?? did not expect it to be so horrible... think got to buy teething gel to standby for tonight.

when i left my mum place for work just now he was still tossing in his sarong... haizzz

Re: SAHM Gathering
Sharing the porridge with Sumo?
1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan
3. Florence's Melody
4. sleepingdeer's Shannon

TOy's fair at Taka
Btw, I was at Taka yesterday...(Rena, so chiao to bump into you there!) and there IS a toy fair going on in the basement.... silly me went to have lunch first and by the time we finished, Shannon was cranky and needed to go home... so the whole objective of going Taka to llok at toys was not accomplished... mummy is a greedy pig...

Mamachan,
I'm interested in the tumbletots, but have to ask my hubby whether he wanna go or not, coz weekends are daddy time with Shannon.... do they allow 2 caregivers in the class?

SH,
have to agree with you that bb should not hear such negative things about their parents, it may sound like nothing, but it does impact the child in one way or another... maybe explain to your mum that bbs are very smart nowadays, they actually do understand what we are saying...

RE:descaling sterilizer
I'm using pigeon and instructions are 60ml water, 60ml white vinegar, pour it in and on it for one cycle... really really clean, all the rust comes out.. My hubby is very ON and he makes it a point to descale once a week... it irkes him that I always dun do it... hee hee...

Re: Period
wanna ask mummies who's period came back... was it regular as before? My period came back last month, and now it's late by one week despite cramping! My hubby and I keep thinking what-if thoughts.... oh no...! If it doesn't come by tomorrow, gonna test... stressed stressed... cannot be hit bulls-eye so soon right?

SH,
so sorry to hear wat u go thru with ur mum. like wat sleepingdeer say, it's really not right for ur mum to say things like this about u. i'm juz wondering y ur mum say such things. is she displease with u or something?

rachel,
i'm oso zombified these days coz edgar wakes up crying almost every hr. all i can do is latch him on. i'm really beginning to wonder if it's due to teething...

Demny
I will collect the veggie at Pasir ris.

flo
I email you my order.. got abit of changes again.

SH
Talk you your mum.. at least she is your mum probably easier to talk to like err.. MIL.
Hope u can sort it out with mum

mashy
oh dear =(
look at the bright side, PD said "likely" but not confirm its asthma. hopefully this will go away after a few days.

one of my friends 1yr plus old girl has asthma but now its a mild one. so she has to be extra careful when the weather turn cold. no letting her girl sleep in air con room and not letting the fan to blow directly at her girl. everytime her girl start coughing she will be on high alert and on her toe all day long... haizzz

celine

i think dyaln is teething, can feel his 2 front teeth cutting through his gum when i put in my finger and he will use them to chew angrily on my finger.

dont know when this will end... or have to go through each time a tooth is coming out?? oh man, heart pain.

can you see or feel edgar's teeth?

SH

ha! your boy and mine can clap hands liao. he super scare of my FIL! we conclude that its due to my FIL is very tan. at first dyaln will wail once he set eye on my dad and FIL(both of them tan till look like malay), but after sometime of warming up when my dad play with him while we carry, he is fine with my dad now. can even scream with delight when my dad carry and play with him. so think its just a matter of time for bb to adjust themselves.

my FIL oso same as your mum, dont listen when we warn him. end up dylan cry once he saw my FIL. will cry till eye puffy and red, then my FIL will give up but after awhile he will again insist on carrying dyaln... haizzz. i cant say no right?

talk to your mum and make your thoughts known. she will understand sooner and later =)

mashy,
oh dear...

the last time my PD also asked me if any of us have history of asthma in our family, which we don't ve. cos he says megan is wheezing too.

mashy
oh dear... maybe u wanna seek 2nd opinion just to make sure the diagnosis is correct.
Hope Caeden get well soon.

SH
I agree with celine.. perhaps there is some unhappiness in your mum thats why she keep pass those comment.

sleepingdeer

got my menses back but not regular yet. recently had some pinky spotting but now its gone. so now i always will have pad in my bag, just in case it decided to give me a surprise! haizzz

so you and your hb hope to hit bull eye? heehee =p

rachel,
no leh, i can't see any teeth yet. but he loves chewing at things. he's chewing his fingers every single second. i even tried letting him chew my finger and he loves it. i must say that his bite is very strong coz it hurts! does that mean he's teething??

sleepingdeer - when my menses first came back, it was also super irregular.. late for a week then reduced to 5 days then 3 days... after 3 cycles, now its back to normal again... oh, the what-if thought very scary right... i also worry bout having another bb so soon, so muz b more careful lor...

Mashy - like wat cookie said, mabbie u can bring him for second opinion. if it reali is asthma, then gota take more precautions. but dun worry,childhood asthma does go away as the child grows.my own sis n cousin had pretty bad case of asthma and they are okay now... take care!

celine

yah think tats the sign of teething lo. drool alot and chew alot. haha yah understand how painful it can be when they chew on our finger. dylan even will bite hard on my finger and shake his head! like trying to saw my finger into half!

drooling like nobody business. sometime my shoulder can cover with his saliva or my shirt at the shoulder area will have one big patch of saliva... haizzz

Hi Rachel, God's child, Mashy,
noooo.... we dun want to hit bulls eye yet... maybe another year later.... the thing is I keep counting and counting the days, so I 90% sure it can't be bulls eye, but I get panicky everytime Aunty doesn't want to come... okies, will wait and see how for another few days before testing...

rachel,
but he has been drooling and chewing for almost a mth already leh. esp drooling, he started since 3-4mths old. so i really don't know if he's cranky due to teething. juz hope that he will sleep well again soon...

Mashy,
Yah. I wld also go get a second opinion. Luckily I did that when my boy had UTI. The 1st din even suspect it.

Rachel,
Oh my god. Very poor thing when baby cries like dat. But will teething cause such big reaction?

SH,
Haiz...its very difficult to get parents or IL to listen to us. They will not think anything wrong wif their thinking, approach etc. They will tell u, U turn out fine isnt it??? I kept telling mum not to feed milk at every little stir at night. That will make my life miserable if I were to wake up every now and then to feed. She's messing up the feeding. She simply refused to listen. Havent been getting quality sleeping for ages!!!

Mashy
Oh dear...will keep Caeden in prayers, hopefully it's not a case of asthma.

SH
It must have really hurt to hear such things coming from your own mum. If it's me, I would be very hurt too. I agree it's not good to at such a young age, be it they understand or not, to say such things, will only bring in insecurities as they grow older or make seperation anxiety even worst as the child might think when left with a relative for a short period, while you run errands, that you really don't want them anymore.

I think the older folks have very bad habits to say negative things to our children, perhaps thinking might have reverse psychology on the children to stick to parents more? Some how it's like passed down from generation to generation...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hear Ye! Hear Ye! One and all! Info on Tumble Tots for this Fall...

Where: Specialists Centre
When: Er...when we reach a consensus, but it'll be a Saturday for sure
Time: 5.45pm
What: Gymbabes by Tumble Tots, Trial Class
Cost: $23
For 1st time attending, 2 caregivers can accompany the child, subsequent classes, preferably one parent.

There will be about 2-3 trainers in the class. They'll try to keep the class small, to about 8-10 bbs. Currently, there are existing 5 bbs attending classes so that gives us about 4-5 spaces available.

If we like the class and plan to sign up as a group, they will try to open up a new time slot for us on the Saturday, i.e. 2pm so long we have 5 and more babies. Their current promo is 3 months for $264 and the trial class would then be FOC.

Any mummies interested? Kindly let me know.

1) MamaChan + bb

celine
think it will be in no time you will see some 'whiteness' on edgar's gum bah =) just a matter of when... remember that edgar and dylan is born on the same day =D

yes yes, pray hard that all will be back to normal very fast.

sob sob, mum just called. told me that dylan rejected my EBM after down only 140ml. prepared 240ml for his noon feed (in the past he could finished all). nowadays so tough for me to squeeze out that amount leh. all my sweat and effort!

mum tired to get him to drink but he will shake his head when my mum said " you dont want your neh neh is it??" faint......

so told my mum try to dream feed him since he is napping in his sarong now =/ hopefully my milk dont go down the drain.......

Y
dont know leh. me first time mummy, totally know idea what teething can cause. dont expect such 'big reaction' like what you said. how? sigh....

yah our parent just dont listen to us. thinking they know more. but when ask whats the sign and cause of this and that, most of time answer is "not sure leh" haizzzz

Re: Getting 2nd opinion

Hmm... to get the PD to say that it's not asthma? Think at this pt, better be safe and control it now. I also pray and hope that it's not asthma and just 1 bout of bronchitis. Somemore,both my hb and I didn't have asthma. But with the wheezing, think we just have to continue with the nebulizer to stop that first.

rachel,
hopefully he's cranky due to teething loh. else, it could juz be that edgar is a fuzzy little one... oh ya hor, dylan oso born on 19jan ya...
but ur dylan can sure drink alot of milk. the max intake edgar has drank is 180ml every 5 hourly. now he's only downing like 120-150ml.

mamachan,
oh, if they can open a new class for us for trial, i dun mind trying.

Hear Ye! Hear Ye! One and all! Info on Tumble Tots for this Fall...

Where: Specialists Centre
When: Er...when we reach a consensus, but it'll be a Saturday for sure
Time: 5.45pm
What: Gymbabes by Tumble Tots, Trial Class
Cost: $23
For 1st time attending, 2 caregivers can accompany the child, subsequent classes, preferably one parent.

There will be about 2-3 trainers in the class. They'll try to keep the class small, to about 8-10 bbs. Currently, there are existing 5 bbs attending classes so that gives us about 4-5 spaces available.

If we like the class and plan to sign up as a group, they will try to open up a new time slot for us on the Saturday, i.e. 2pm so long we have 5 and more babies. Their current promo is 3 months for $264 and the trial class would then be FOC.

Any mummies interested? Kindly let me know.

1) MamaChan + bb
2) Tracy + bb (this sat if 2pm ok. 5.45pm can't make it. other sats after 1pm ok)