(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sleepingdeer,

My tabby has the same pink romper!

May,

Your MIL is scary!

may
ger also had v rash outbreak that time. We still couldnt pinpoint what caused it. Coz he took the 5 in 1 jab and Pneumococcal jab.. then had fever, so took paracetemol. We asked PD, he didnt think it was the jabs or paracetemol which caused it. then, brought him to Skin Centre to see specialist. He said that it could be a reaction to the vaccine.So, unless Jamie's rashes worsen again, dun think they can tell what caused it. Dun know whether blood test could confirm the allergy though.

hi cookie..
hope kaelyn is feeling better now. When i feed medicine to caleb, i will use the syringe. I will give abit of medicine, then feed some water to flush away the taste. Continue the whole process till i finish feeding the medicine.

rena,
okie, i'll meet u gals at seiyu nursery, 3pm. my hb has great doubts abt me bringing megan out alone.

so mummies pls excuse me if u see me arriving looking very hot n untidy...hehe

tracy, dun worry about looks lah.. we sahm can understand. haha..at first my hb also worry me bringing bb out for the first time but after seeing that i am so independent now he trusted me..

babylon
ok noted.. if require will sponge or bath her with room temp water.
U know la.. 1st time both my hb and I encounter bb fever.. both blur blur one. Just tried our best knowledge without gng to the extreme.

sept bride3
Do you feed the water using syringe also? or using bottles to feed the water? ya my PD also suggest this is 1 way to feed.

Rena
u are right lor.. I already bought a box of cooling pad. I told my hb w wanted to buy, he also say he thought of buying 1 box to stand by.. but end up, both of us forgot...haizzz

Re: kaelyn
hmm.. after a nite of cranky sleep though kaelyn fever went off the whole day ytd.. but she was more cranky than when she had fever...strange.
last nite.. she seems to have block nose, lotsa sound from sleep and when she flip, she will cry...haizz
This morning she is feverish again.. body is warm. Finally we mix the fever medicine into the milk and Thankfully she drank ALL!! Yippie. Not cry or struggle.. probably she is hungry. Really happy finally find a way she could take it calmly.

Advise : if bb has block nose.. will it be better to sleep in non aircon room??
While when Kaelyn has her fever, we let her sleep in low aircon room to keep her cool but now with block nose also.. how to improve block nose?

Hi Esther
The leappad BP is already closed but I will keep u informed if the supplier can get 1 more set for u. However, pls note the waiting time cos the 1st batch just arrv after many weeks of waiting. Now, I m waiting for the supplier to consolidate the 2nd batch of orders. It may take weeks again.

Me too! I want the kit please. Many thanks!

ovulation kit
Wendy x 5
Denmy x3
rena x 40
durianlover x 1
Cookie x 10
Mong Ai x 5
Florence X 5
Clare x 5

pregnancy test kit
Queen x5
Wendy x5
Denmy x5
rena x 15
durianlover x 1
Cookie x 5
Mong Ai x 5
Florence x 5
krissie x 8
Clare x 5
wenyl x 5

Rena/Denmy

Thanks for organising the swim gathering! It was really fun! Caeden enjoyed it (haha, not as much as his daddy) but he was so tired when I put him in his car seat, his head just flopped to one side. It was a busy weekend for us.

Cookie
Oh no, thank God Kaelyn is better.

Actually I think if sick, better not to sleep in air con room.

My MIL said there's been mysterious bouts of fever going around among the young children and nobody knows what's the cause for it. My little niece also had fever on her 1 yr old birthday and was admitted to KK. KK couldn't detect the cause for it.

Re SAHM gathering

Hi girls. dont think i can make it to the gathering, i'm coming down with something. throat felt scratchy yesterday and developed into bad sore throat and running nose today.

Best i not join in case i spread my germs! I'll join in the next time round.

P.S: Tracy..bring megan out, have a good time and prove your hubby wrong :p

SSF;
Ya, i did..my PD just prescribed hydocortisone cream and told me to moisturise dry areas more often. I've been using the mustela hair and body shower gel, but switch to a bath oil when he kena eczema cos gels are more drying. i might give Sebamed a try..

cookie,
When Ariene had fever, I continued to let her sleep in aircon room cuz its quieter when all doors and windows are closed and the cold air can help dry the nose abit and so nose is less blocked ( we have a plasma cluster air filter in the room). My PD gave me some nose drops for her when she had blocked nose and I believed it helped alittle cuz she was less cranky and could sleep. Otherwise, she refuses to lie down cuz cant breathe properly. We also bought the pigeon nasal aspirator to help her clear mucus in the nose.

BTW, unless its really absolutely necessary, try not to sponge or bathe baby in cold water on your own when baby is having high fever. Better to bring her to the hospital and let the nurses do it. You don't want to risk pneunomia or hypothermia, esp when the blood vessels constrict too fast due to rapid temperature change.

Hi Esther,

Hope I'm not too late to add on:

ovulation kit
Wendy x 5
Denmy x3
rena x 40
durianlover x 1
Cookie x 10
Mong Ai x 5
Florence X 5
Clare x 5

pregnancy test kit
Queen x5
Wendy x5
Denmy x5
rena x 15
durianlover x 1
Cookie x 5
Mong Ai x 5
Florence x 5
krissie x 8
Clare x 5
wenyl x 5
Angelk x5

hi cookie,
for feeding of the water, i use a spoon.
i'm using the pigeon spoon. Caleb likes to drink from that spoon.
Hmm, when caleb has fever i asked the doc what they meant by well ventilated room cos i would think air con room is quite conducive.
The doc said, no air con, and open up all the windows and on the fan.

Cookie,
No prob! Hope it can cheer Kaelyn up! Hope she recovers fast. It's a pity we didnt really chat during the swim meet. Everyone was kinda busy with our babies.

cookie,
my PD said to sleep in aircon at abt 26deg. his logic is at least temp is maintained the same throughout. nowadays air outside not good, changes quite fast from hot to cold etc.

he gave me a nose drop for her blocked nose. only used it once but it helped.

Was just wondering if we are TBF, how can we best conceive? I hope to TBF my son till one year old but was already thinking of TTC now....but so far unsuccessful leh....

Introducing solids
When can solids completely replace a milk feed?

Mummies, tell u gals a really sad incident- We found out yesterday, that one of my husband's uncle's (my FIL's young cousin) 14 mth old son passed away on Saturday morning. Their only son - very heartwrenching. The cause is due to Influenza A strain. Scary bit is that they brought him to Glen Eagles on last Monday to see their PD when his fever hit 39 degrees. He lapsed into coma for 5 days and passed away on Saturday morning. So sad - just learnt to talk and walk some more. Parents very shocked. So be wary of common cold symptoms. U never know... =(

SH

I've no idea. Read this in the Feb mummies thread leh. Think it happenened in 2002. Dunno whether they've stopped producing in China already.

Sandra Chu,
I happened to watch the news yesterday and they were saying Influenza A virus & pnnuemonia (Spell??) is on the rise... i was still asking HB if we should let AShley take the Pnnueomoccoal (pardon me my spelling very terrible) jab... and now i read about your relative's 14mth baby's death... really soo sad leh...

So u all think i shall bring Ashley for the jab... =(

Clare, I will also let Sarah go for the pneumococcal vaccine. Think it's better to be safe than sorry. I think I'll go mad if something happens to her.

wendy,denmy,rena,durianlover,cookie,mongai,florence,clare

OVULATION KIT

hi mummies, i found it.. cost $2.50 for 1 strip.and must buy min 3. so you guys still keen .i attached a pic. pls let me know asap coz hb going back soon. will buy by 2mrw.

queen,wendy,denmy,rena,durianlover,cookie,mongai,
florence,krissie,clare,wenyl and angelk,

PREG KIT

ok mummies, bought already.. but the one i showed pic is sold out so bought another one. also made in USA. apparently this one is better. also attach a pic.

BTW..IMPT.. i hope its all for personal use and not for resale..coz i dun want to exploit their cheap medical benefits also. i also did not mark up to all the mummies here. ( unless they see tat i'm a foreigner and charged slightly more ex )

pls reply me asap ok..coz i dun have all your emails...to pm so many pple, i'm too lazy also
459672.jpg
459673.jpg

Hi esther,

I'll stick to my 5xovu and 5xpreg order. Unless the ovu come in packs of 3, then give me 6xovu. Thanks for buying it for us.

pneumococcal jab
Ariene has already completed all 3 jabs of pneumococcal. ONly need 1 more booster shot next year when she turn 13months. PD told me its highly recommended way back when she was 3months old and I gave it to her as I rather pay more than to wait. Although I can save alot more if I wait for her to be older (less jabs required) but what if she catches the virus before she was vaccinated?

wenyl,

oh no...tat will be too long..coz we are not back in singapore so often to collect also.. so its ok..btw can i just check how much did u guys get it for? and if i were to buy outside, where can i find it? toys r rus?? where??

sandra,

its really sad to hear bout it.. i think we all have to be very careful..my heart goes out for them. knowing that the docs in singapore are so much better is already a relieve.. imagine here in vietnam..when renee has a flu..its always viral..and they will say no medicine..no antibiotics.

lucky i gave her the pneumoccocal vaccination when she was 4 mths old.. and even bought the rest of the vaccines here so that she can continue with the vaccines ( over here, no pnuemococcal vaccines ! )

Mummies...

im going CRAZY!!! my stoopid maid has again threatened to 'fire' us!she has been saying things like'dun feel comfortable working wf us' a few times and tat if we dun want her, pls send her back to agent and not to airport... but the matter of fact is - i have been a reali NICE employer... let me ask u, which person wld be as stupid as me as to grant a half day off on Sunday when a maid comes saying : Mdm, im very bored, can i go to church? i let her go, and its not the first time i granted her extra off, on top of her 1 off a month! she took things for granted...

she hardly address me, always show black face when she hears of family prob back home in indon. we do sympathise and talk to her, give her time of to de-stress...BUT wat bout us? she is causing me undue stress on top of work and study stress...
im breaking down... i have given her so many chances after so many lies...

yesterday was the final final straw,i asked her to pack up to go gai gai.she say she dun wana go and came up wf excuse she not well (hellllooooooo, we haven heard her say anytin since morning and she can happily listen to earphone music while doing work)... but we cant leave her at home cos its not our home, its my inlaws.. and under tat same roof, there are 3 families (incldg my bro-in-law).i told her we cant cos i dun want things to happen and then she get the blame, its protecting her and us... she then went:your dun trust me! how to continue work here for 2 yrs if like tis? your din tell me when i first came, if not i will be able to accept wat you say now.i also have feelings,i also have a daughter.. WOW, tat got me MAD! i told her:its not tat we dun trust you, if not, we wldnt have left our most precious Celeste wf her at home.its tat we dun hav a say cos its not my house! and bout the rules laid out when she first came, i told her wats the point, if i want to list, even a roll of toilet paper also not enuf to write... and having laid down hp rules (only can use at nite), she also use in the daytime!!

and now, i dun feel safe leaving her at home wf the maid.though MIL is ard, but MIL is always attention focused on my niece (9mths) and the maid on Celeste. i may b paranoid but i am cracking my brains as to who can help me look after her while i get a replacement maid which will take 2 weeks... my mum is not ard aldy, so i reali do not know who i can turn to... u think infantcare can help out for a short period?

God's child...

oh dear.. your maid sounds horrible and unreliable.. I just got a maid too altho she's not perfect.. she's not that bad even if she's not happy, she will not give me black face... I think i wouldn't be able to stand your maid's attitude..but I guess u are now more worried about who can help u care for your child right? I have no experience with infant care myself but my friend has and says its not so bad... if not, maybe u can take leave for a short while to tide u over the period? I guess it must be hard for u to have to stress over such things... hope it works out for you..

god's child
i think u should ask ur maid to leave. Seems to me like she has no intention to work for u lor.
She like so bo xim to work like that. I will not leave Caleb to such a person lor.
Can u ask the agency to change maid? And can u dun release the current maid till the new maid is here? When the new maid is here, probably u can take a few days leave and 'teach' the maid.

sandra/rachel/tabby/sept03 - HAIZ HAIZ... me hav to wait for the new one lor, stil in the midst of interviewing... reali vy vy stressed out now.. to think i have been reali nice to her..

Sandra - thanks for the offer but its alrite cos i stay in the west..wont wana trouble any of you... mabbie cos u din know how my Celeste feeds... its tedious and arm breaking cos she needs to be carried ard..some mummies at the gathering aldy witnessed it!

can u imagine she is so sensitive to the extent where she complained to MIL tat i dun trust her wf Celeste cos i kept insisting on bathing and feeding Celeste when i am home. WTF! whos the mother here? of cos i shld do my part when i can... why is she complaining even when im giving her a break??? my fault again???

Well.. im just praying that God will keep Celeste safe and protected during this period while mummy thinks of sometin.. being in this kinda unwanted mess, its stil good to know tat your are here listening to my complaints... thank you all...

Sandra,
Thatls so terrible. Hope the family is coping well....
Hmmm...maybe i should consider the jab too. I don't think i can take it either if anything happens to my boy. Does anyone knows when the jab can be taken?

god's child,

hmmm... sounds like your maid is not really willing to work for you. Would it be possible to ask the agent to change maid? I think if you get those transfer maids, no need to wait for the new maid to arrive. However, must be careful - find out the real reason why the previous employer don't want the maid. Some of them are not bad. I had a transfer maid before who worked for us for 9 years and we are all very happy with her. The reason for her transfer - the old lady whom she's supposed to take care of just didn't like her. : P

SandraChu,
my heart really goes out to ur relative. i think i'll go mad if anything happens to edgar... now it really makes me think if i shld let edgar take the jab too.

god's child,
don't think ur maid is suitable to be a domestic maid. let her go to work for some mean employer then she will regret! :p don't get to stressed over it ya.meantime juz try to find a relative or friend who can baby sit ur bb for u while u get a new maid loh.

sandra,

that's really sad! Hiaz. It must be real hard for the parents.

any idea how to tell the influenza A virus apart from the common cold?

I think I will get even more paranoid after hearing all these cos my gal's not really an easy baby so sometimes when she fusses, I really have a hard time telling if she's merely fussing or because she's not feeling well.

on a lighter note, I have finally booked air tix to Oz in Aug. : ) But I can't book Charmaine's air tix online. Need to go to the counter in person to do that. : (

We only manage to get night flights out. So must really pray that Charmaine will behave herself on the flight and not bother the other passengers. :p

And on Sat, we are going to Malacca for a rehearsal!

Hi Esther

RE: Ovulation and Pregnancy Kit

Yes, can you help me to get both. If ovulation kit comes in set of 3, then u help me to get 6. Thanks alot

Re: LeapPad
You can get it at Toy R Us or Kiddy Palace. They were having a sale selling at $79.95 (the org price is $99.95). Not sure if the sale is still on.

Hi Sandra

So sorry to hear about your relatives. I'd be devastated if I were the parents.

RE: Pneumococcal Vaccine
There was an article in the papers in May this year and is highly recommended for kids to take the jab. Actually I wanted to get Mel vaccinated in May after reading the article but am not sure why my the PD said to wait until she's 7 months old (after she finishes her Polio and Hep B jab). Seems like some of the bb have taken the jab earlier.

Anyway here's the news article.

The disease affects 18 in 100,000 children under five years old in Singapore each year and can cause disability and even death -- yet few people know about it.

Forty-two-year-old Heng Soo Yeow knows the importance of early vaccination against the pneumococcus bug -- in 1999, he lost his three-and-a-half year old son, Darryl, to the disease.

The boy came down with common flu like symptoms, which are also symptoms of pneumococcal disease, in April that year.

Within weeks, his condition worsened and he developed a lung infection as well.

Darryl died about three weeks after he was first diagnosed.

Mr Heng is not taking any chances with his other three children, aged between three and eight years old, and will have them vaccinated with a new vaccine launched in October last year.

Said Mr Heng, "Prevention is better than cure. Don't wait until the last minute when they get it -- then it may be too late ... I do encourage parents with the means to get this vaccine."

The Paediatric Society says vaccination is important as a quarter of those who get the disease will develop complications.

These include infections of the brain covering, blood, and lung, which can lead to learning disabilities, paralysis, brain damage, and even death.

The vaccine, which is about 87 percent effective, will not only protect children who are vaccinated but also reduce their ability to transmit the disease.

Pneumococcus is commonly found in the nose and throat of healthy children and adults, and about 60 percent of children are thought to be carriers.

While not everyone will get sick from the bug, carriers can potentially infect others via respiratory droplets through sneezing, coughing, or close contact.

Because symptoms of the disease are similar to those of the flu virus, the Paediatric Society says that early vaccination for children is encouraged, as parents and even doctors can mistake the disease for the common flu and may treat it as such.

It added that side-effects of the vaccine are minimal, usually resulting in fever.

Said Associate Professor Daniel Goh, president, Singapore Paediatric Society, "The infection in its early stages can also be quite subtle and be difficult to differentiate from common illnesses, and hence prevention is very important.

"Now that we have the availability of a vaccine to prevent this significant infection in young children, I think that the awareness should be brought up to the general public as well as practitioners, that patients who are at risk can receive preventive therapy."

Professor Goh says early prevention is also important as the pneumococcus bug is becoming increasingly difficult to treat with antibiotics and penicillin.

Before, there was no vaccine for children below two years of age; the new vaccine, however, can be administered to children as young as six months old.

It is available at hospitals and clinics, and costs about S$170.

Pneumocccal disease affects not only children but adults as well.

But children below the age of five are more susceptible to the bug, as they have lower immunity to fight off the disease.

A survey of 200 mothers last year found that 92 percent were not aware of this potentially fatal disease.

To reach out to parents, the week-long campaign will include talks and exhibitions at shopping centres around the island, as well as television and print advertisements.

Actress Wong Lilin, who has two young children, will lend star power to help create awareness of the disease. - CNA /ct

SL

You are so funny. Hope Charmaine performs well for her rehearsal

RE: Influenza A virus vs common cold
I remembered receiving a booklet on the difference between the 2. Will go home to dig out the booklet and have a read. Will let you know.

SL

RE: Influenza A virus vs common cold

Influenza is an infection caused by a virus called the influenza virus. It is usually a more severe illness than the common cold which is caused by other respiratory viruses. Influenza typically has a sudden onset with headache, chills and cough followed rapidly by a fever, appetite loss, muscle aches, and tiredness. On the other hand, cold symptoms are limited to the upper respiratory tract with runny nose, sneezing, watery eyes, and throat irritation. Gastrointestinal symptoms, such as nausea, vomiting or diarrhoea, can sometimes accompany influenza, especially in children, but these symptoms are rarely prominent. The term "stomach flu" is often incorrectly used to describe gastrointestinal illness that is due to other causes.

There are three main types of influenza:
a) influenza A,
b) influenza B, and
c) influenza C.

Influenza A and influenza B are associated with annual outbreaks and epidemics. Influenza A usually causes more severe illness than influenza B and can result in pneumonia, hospitalization or even death, especially in the elderly and those with chronic illnesses. Influenza A has also been responsible for all previous pandemics (worldwide epidemics of influenza).

Influenza C is very rarely seen and is associated with only mild sporadic illness.

U can check out MOH website for more details

http://www.moh.gov.sg/corp/about/faqs/illness/details.do?cid=cat_faqs_illness_flu&id=8257623

hi florence,

ok will get for you the ovulation kit as well. thanks for the info on leappad

WAT BOUT ALL OTHER MUMMIES THAT WANTS THE OVU KIT??

Re: prevenar jab

This jab is against a bacterial infection called Stretococcus pneumonia or pneumococcus like what Florence posted. Influenza is caused by a virus so even if u jab prevenar, won't protect baby again influenza leh.. but those mommies who had the flu vaccine and BFg may have passed some antibodies to baby.

Better be careful mommies, cos a bad flu virus and conjunctivitis has been going around recently.

tabbiesus,

hmm...its ok i managed to read thru the forum and found that one if the mummies have a recommendation to buy the leappad.. from this seller from yahoo.. she's selling at $65..so i am checkin with her now..

are you also looking for it?

sept_bride - my boy(also Caleb) likes to drink from that pigeon weaning spoon as well
i bought 2 sets and place one at my in law hse.

mashy - i checked that the heinz cereal that i bought normally from cold storage is made in AUSTRALIA. i think and hope it only happens to those made in CHINA and HK. Gee...i simply just don;t trust ANY food from China. terrible mann...last heard was the milk powder made from china that cause bb to be obese and sick and now these. just cannot tolerate and understand those ppl who try to make quick money(by producing bad quality) and hurt those little ones.

god's child - wah ur maid is really testing ur patience. better send your baby to somewhere else for the time being. i don;t really trust her too...even if to make a drink..i will definitely make myself

hi esther,
ok pls help me get 1 set of 3 ovulation kits, plus 1 pregnancy test kit. Thanks!
Actually i think that if the rest of the mummies don't reply in time, just go ahead and get the 3 ovu kits for them each. If there's extra, i'm sure some of us don't mind taking over

cookie,
Poor kaelyn! Hope she's better!

ak,
i'm also wondering the same thing as you about how to TTC while TBF. So far no menses yet and i don't think i'm ovulating, so abit tough. Plus i intend to BF till baby is 1year old.

god's child,
Wow ur maid really one kind! If u really need infantcare, they do provide such short-term services. I've checked out before - just need to register 1 week in advance.