(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi mummmies,

cookie,
i bought my munchkin food feeder from Bugis Junction...

Krissie,
Shannon was born on 29th Dec... she seems small for her age, but when I use the Mt. Alvernia Health book to check, she is in 50th percentcile leh? Just nice...?

Durianlover,
yeah, United Square is truly for mummies, all the baby and kids stuff there!

Tracy,
yeah, can take pics together! Are you the one who got the Bumwear dress for Meagan? If so, we can dress them in the same dress?

Denmy,
must be all the yummy food you have been feeding Keenan... he must be as big as Sumo now!

Hey Mummies,

anyone need a just opened can of Friso 2, with just little milk powder scooped out? Want to give it away... The thing is, I'm going on a cruise on 12th July... and I have a big tin of unopened Friso 2... I'll be opening it just b4 my cruise to scoop out a little to bring with us for Shannon's cereal, coz I can't bring EBM with me, no fridge in the cabin... so gonna mix the cereal with FM. I have no idea what to do with the rest of the milk powder, coz we hardly use FM anymore, and I am sure I'm going to throw away the big tin after one month of opening it... so if any mummy using frisco 2 now, and dun mind the just opened tin... let me know, I can bring it to the swimming gathering and pass it over.

krissie,
megan's born on 11th Jan. she'll turn 6mths next tuesday.

sleepingdeer,
yes yes, i ve the pink bumwear dress for megan.

rachel,
does dylan ve batik print clothes to match??

Where: Waterplace Condo
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son (CONFIRM)
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
3. tracy + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
4. REna + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
5. rachel + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
6. Cookie + BB+ HB (CONFIRM)
7. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (CONFIRM)
8. Clare + BB + HB (?????)
9. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
10. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (???)
11. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM)
12. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
13. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
14. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
15. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
16. SY + HB + bb (?????)
17. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
18. Sandra (sunraye) ????
Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) + God's child + Valerie
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena + Wenyl
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) +

THOSE THAT HAVE ???? beside your name please confirm with me as I need to order the catering..

PRICE: tentitive 20 dollars per person as we are renting stools and tables.. plus the renting of the function rooms..

my account number 148-11348-9 (POSB)

Re: Percentile for weight / size
I also use the Mt A health booklet to check baby's weight n height percentile, but don't u find it a little difficult to check coz the lines very close to each other? I think Janelle's in 50th percentile, but seeing the size of other babies here, perhaps i read the chart wrongly. She's only 6.84kg, 63.5cm at 5.5months. Lost some weight during the time she fell ill!

Florence,
My gal loves to stand leh. Don't think it'll cause any ill effects on baby right? Thought it'll strengthen their leg muscles instead!

Durianlover

RE: Standing
That's what I thought but MIL and hb very paranoid keep saying will cause bow legs if let them stand too early
kao_confused.gif
. Anyway Mel had a close shave this morning, toppled off her cot. She was pushing herself into standing position by holding on to the rail. I thot she looked quite cute and wanted to take a pic. Before I knew it she topped over the rail. Luckily I was fast enuff to catch her before she land on the ground headdown...phew!!!

Sep03 bride,
If Caleb is shorter, then he must be fat-fat lor... heehee...No leh, PD didn't say to watch Keenan's weight. In fact, I asked PD if Keenan is overweight and he said he's ok, can't possibly put a baby on a diet right?

re: Moody PD
PD was probably not in a pleasant mood that day. When I asked him silly questions like "which FM brand is better" and "is it true that when we want to switch FM brand, we have to replace it 2 scoops at a time", he said all FMs are the same as all try to "imitate" the composition of BM. In fact, made by big labs, they are very safe for bb's consumption and we do not have to worry what brand we give. Choline, taurine, DHA etc which are added are in very minute quantity and it does not and will not make any difference to the baby. He even added that these FM companies claiming to have all the extra ingredients do not have substantial research to prove that an 18 year old, having after drunk a certain brand of FM has grown to become someone more intelligent etc...

He then said that if I want to switch brand, just switch it. No point switching gradually, as it doesn't make any difference in terms of "ingredients"... So I told him the tastes are different between the 2... and he said that bb will drink eventually if he is hungry!!!!!! And he said he gave his babies whatever FM samples he got at the time. Wa lao!!!!

Flo,
Keenan is 100% chinese leh.....

re: barley
i no expert lah...have to check with my mum. She said that normal Chinese barley has been "fried" and it's for boiling barley water. Pearl barley is for cooking desserts like "Foo3 Chok4 Tong3 Shui" (Cantonese)

Krissie,
re: apple juice
You dont need to steam the apple. Just extract the juice with a fruit juicer and mix it with 3 parts water.
Initially I would mix with 5 parts water cos I find 1:3 quite sweet...

esther,
re: Avocado
Can give avocado at this age. No need to cook, just choose a very ripe one. Avocado on its own is not so yummy, you might want to mix with other no-cook fruit like kiwi, banana or papaya. I always give avocado with banana or kiwi when we go out as they are no-cook fruits, so its very convenient lor....i bring along my sterilised Munchkin food grinder and feed straight from it.

re: Sleeping bag
I use BabyGro sleeping bags on Keenan becos he can end up at the other end of the cot in the middle of the night!! Keenan doesn't roll over at night. I use a sleeping positioner on him...also, I think becos he is just a lazy baby, doesn't bother to flip. When he sleeps, he sleeps...heehee

Rena,

Is your account no 148-11348-9 or 148-11345-9? I have the latter in my fund transfer list leh....

My mum might be coming also... she wants to kaypo and see all the bbs there....

177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D

10. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (???)
14. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
15. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
16. SY + HB + bb (?????)
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) +

THOSE THAT HAVE ???? beside your name please confirm with me as I need to order the catering..

PRICE: tentitive 20 dollars per person as we are renting stools and tables.. plus the renting of the function rooms..

i just started my girl on peas today and she's so cute, i used pure pea puree and she opened her mouth to eat cos she was expecting rice cereal which she likes, but then when she tasted the peas, she gave this funny "yucks" look, but she still continued to open her mouth to eat with each spoon, but made a yucky face after each bite, until finally after a few bites she made a fake vomiting sound, so i switched her back to rice cereal. I think I will have to mix the peas with rice cereal so that the taste isn't so strong. But she looked really cute tasting something new!

I used the handheld braun to puree and its quite good cos the skins were quite mashed too so no need to sieve further. I added a little bit of BM to make the consistency a little more watery.

Next week I will try carrot...

denmy

Don't be surprised abt ur PD's response, my friend who is a PD also said it doesn't make a difference. All the same. She uses promil cos she says baby only likes promil. So i guess whatever your baby is happy with, its fine. No point forcing bb to drink FM he/she don't like. My girl started with Similac supplements initially. I oso just used whatever FM samples I got to feed her cos only supplementing occasionally so each tin opened for long time, so end up throwing away alot. I just switched her from friso 1 to similac follow on, just like that, didn't do it in stages..but mostly I use FM with cereal cos with BM the consistency is too watery and hard to feed.

tabbs,
What's the model no. of your Braun blender? I remember you mentioning that you got it at Best Denki, right? How much?

do you give fruits/vege for the 1st solid to your bb?
or you give rice cereal for few days, then after that follow by fruits/vege with rice cereal?
my gal turning 6 mth next wk. still have no idea on how to start solid. :p

Durianlvoer,
Bbs schedule haywire after falling sick

I am glad that he is able to drink more after he recovered from his flu..now he was drinking 4 5 oz milk of milk and 4-5 times per day and taking 2 x cereal with any fuss like before I used to complain. Hope that he can put on back his weight that he lost.
But I have to wake up 11-12 pm to feed him and 3-4 am for another feeding.
He used to have his last feeding around 8pm and last till 4 am the next day.

Pacifier
I realized that Damien is addicted to his pacifier, afraid that he cant wean off in later stage.
During the nite he wake up and will fussed around if the pacifier is not in his mouth and it happened 3-4 time every nite.
Now I need to wake up very often to put the pacifier back to his mouth.
Hardly get enough sleep nowadays.

denmy,
yes Caleb is pui pui. Haahaa.
My PD was saying, if Caleb cannot finish his milk,then don't force him to finish. He has reserves in his body.

solids
have just stared caleb on cereals yesterday. Hmm.. duno whether he likes it anot cos no expression on his face.Look blur blur. How much cereals do we feed the baby? Do we limit the no of spoonful that we are feeding? Sorry for the questions but i'm a lost mummy..

babylon,
i'm having the same problem as u regarding the pacifier. gotta wake up a few times to put it back into his mouth. sometimes he doesn't even want it and want me to latch him on. headache sia, i'm like a walking zombie everyday! so sleep deprived!!!

hi all mummies,
hv been so busy and so much post!

RE : Semi Solid
I also juz started. no idea how exactly to go abt. Tried wif Gerber cereal but i think i put too little cos still watery and it doesnt dissolve totally. To clarify qns

(1) We gradually increase the cereal amount, as in like 3 teaspoons today, 5 the next....???

(2) Do you give fruits/vege for the 1st solid to your bb? or you give rice cereal for few days, then after that follow by fruits/vege with rice cereal (sunny's qns)

(3) I ask PD about steaming fruits, she said no need cos all nutrients will be lost, just scraped and feed. Are they too young for that?

(4) How many times do we feed semi solid?

Paiseh I'm really lost. Hopefully my qn not too dumb. :p

Re: barley,
My mom says the round pearly China type is 'liang' without causing phlegm like the normal barley. Dunno if it's true or not but we've been giving him some every few weeks - mix with FM.

krissie,
Lucas loves the car, will make fuss if we take him out of it although he doesn't really know how to press the buttons yet. He especially likes to push the accelerator - car will vibrate and he'll chuckle haha...

With semi-solids introduction, how much water do you feed your bbies each day? My boy doesn't like milk and I am afraid that the extra water will make him feel even more bloated and cannot drink milk after that. He gets bloated really easily. Drink 30ml also got wind and can burp real loud.

babylon,
yaya tell me about it man! i don't think any eye cream will work on my dark eye rings!!

re infant car seat,
any mummies here using it? got any advice or feedback? i tot of of getting one for edgar coz he usually fall asleep in the car. currently i have a carseat but it's meant for birth till 4yo. so everytime i take him out of the car seat, he will awaken. dat's y i'm thinking of getting an infant carseat whereby i can detach it from the car.so as to not disrupt his sleep. do u think he'll still fit into the infant car seat? i'm afraid he will outgrow it very soon.

My boy got constipated again.
His poo was so hard and he cried and cried after we 'bullet' him. So xin tong. 2 small hard balls popped out after trying very hard. Poor thing.

I'm going but will be late coz gotta attend a wedding which ends at abt 1pm! So think can only be there from abt 3pm. Yah, let me know which acc to transfer to.

Cookie, can I share the tub with u? I can bring along lactacyd for bathing.

177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D

10. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (CONFIRM)
14. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
15. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
16. SY + HB + bb (?????)
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) + Mashy

hi flo & durianlover,

is it really true about the standing thingy?? oh no.. renee also loves to stand..if she lies down she'll start making alot of noise..i ever asked my pd about walkers as apparently walkers are banned in the US..they say that it will cause bow legs also..but my pd also not true!...

denmy,

sleeping bag,

i also use the sleeping positioner but i thot with the sleeping bag, it will be so cramped up to still use the sleeping positioner so i am quite hesitant to use it. but renee has been kicking her blanket recently. can i also check wat aircon temperature do u set it to and do u let keenan sleep in long sleeve and long pants pjyamas set?

Introducing more variety of foods

demny,

sorry ah so many questions for you..

i know that we have to introduce food 1 at a time..so does tat mean if i do peas today which is new, i should not introduce another food till at least 4 days later??

by the way, a picture of renee .. hopefully she will have a chance to meet up with the other babies soon..

454286.jpg

hi mashybrainz,

i hope your boy is better now. actually wat causes constipation in babies?? he doesn't drink much water?

i think all mummies are the greatest beings on earth!!

esther,
renee is so sweet and pretty..

standing,
actually Caleb loves to stand now. When we picked him up by the shoulders, he will try to stand liao. He loves to jump jump on our laps as well. we try to support his weight with our hands and try not let him stand full weight on his legs.

celine,

thank you thank you thank you

but she has a bad temper..when she wants it and doesnt get it, she'll kick up a big fuss!!i was telling my hubby that i hope she wont be the spoilt kid that rolls in shopping malls in future when i refuse to buy her wat she wants!!

sept03bride,

thanks so much!!

ya renee does that too..she just refuses to sit...do u think it's alright to let her stand so much all the time..after wat i read bout wat is posted here..i'm a little worried

tracy,

thanks! aiyo when renee was a little younger , her hair was also long and she was wearing a dress and still people were also asking..is she a girl or a boy!!!

like my friends say..most gals look like their daddies

sorry account number wrong

177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D

14. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
15. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
16. SY + HB + bb (?????)

my account number 148-11345-9 (POSB)

been MIA for the past 4 days, my mum sick with fever, flu and cough. so took leave to take care of dylan.

esther
welcome !!! pretty pretty gal you have. glad she is well now =)

Florence,
wow close shave! U mean she can attempt to stand up already? That's fast. Must watch out now!

babylon & celine,
my gal is also addicted to pacifier! Sigh. Same thing - she used to wake up in the middle of the nite and needs the pacifier to go back to sleep.

Last nite was a 'breakthrough' though! After nearly 3 weeks of waking up at nite (coz she's sick) she finally slept through the nite. Last feed at 9pm, then woke at 7am for feed. Hopefully can continue that way.

esther,
renee is really very pretty! Such lovely big eyes

my gal also loves to stand! and she'll do a bouncing motion...stand up & sit down repeatedly till she bounces on my lap. Hmmm really will cause bow-legged? oh no.

can anyone be so kind to compile the recipe for semi soild??
have not start on it yet and am really empty with ideas on what to give except rice cereal... me lazy and blur mummy.
will really really appreciate if there will be one for me to refer to. saw from the past postings there are lots of yummy recipe some mummies mentioned.now dont know how to track liao. thanks in advance!!

been so busy until i haven had time to log in!!

think i will have to give the gathering a miss cos sat timing is really no good for me.

177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D

14. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
15. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
16. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
17. Sandra (sunraye) ????

May still drop by to say hi if i can.

durianlover,
my boy was waking up the past week at 2+ and crying very badly when he wakes up!!

my boy also likes to stand i m afriad he will be bow legged too. but if we dun let him stand, he will be very fussy.

rachel,
i only start on rice cereal so far. he will be os impatient and ends up crying....

my boy starting to recog pple and he will cry when strangers carry him. how do i help him to warm up to pple?

SY,
i read somewhere that you should allow the stranger to approach baby slowly first before carrying him. Eg, eye contact, smile at baby, talk to baby, play, etc, then only carry. Don't immediately let stranger carry. Try it...see if it works!

rachel,
i also as blur about semi-solids. No idea how to start and what to give. Yes i second rachel's request to start a semi-solid recipe booK!

babylon, my son too..hook on pacifier and in the middle of the night..he will 'aik' 'aik' and then we have to wake up to put the pacifier in back. don;t know when and how we can get rid of that habit. sigh.

esther_lee, ur gal is so sweet with the big round eyee. we can call her the "da yan mei" hehee..as for temper..my boy has a foul temper too..when he wants mean he wants. he will scream and cry at the top of his voice. my hb keep chiding me that i spoilt him too much :p

i also just started my boy with cereal..once a day and he really like it. i used the heinz plain cereal and added heinz carrpt puree a little. i have one qn though...the puree label states can last 2 days after refrigerate but its such a big bottle...must i really throw away after 2 days??

durianlover / SSF / mummies

err... one question. when want intro cereal. do we say my dylan is drinking 200ml per feed now, from this 200ml we take out 50ml and mix with cereal and feed bb. then the remaining milk let him finish?

will it be too full for him?

rachel,durianlover,babylon,SSF

thanks mummies!! u guys made my day

SSF,

my gal's nick is "xiao put dian" coz at birth she was only 2.4 kg.. i think so too we spoil our child...
oh no!!! if both our child go to the toys dept together..i think all other shoppers will leave from their screaming!!

rachel,

actually it depends on individual..thats wat i feel cause i read from books that you should give baby half her usual milk then give the cereal and then complete her milk.

i tried doing it for renee from the beginning ( started giving her cereal when she was 4 mths plus )..did'nt work for her..coz after the cereal she didn't want the milk anymore.

so now wat i do is let her finish her usual milk intake then rest for maybe an hr then feed her cereal. anyway 50ml is alot of milk to mix with the beginning portion of cereal.

i am sure there are some other mummies that does it other ways..

Re Swimming
With MUCH reluctance, I would probably have to miss this coming swimming session too.
HB having an seminar at Rasa Sentosa on Fri & Sat and so we'll be bringing BB to stay overnight. Will bring her swimming at the hotel pool instead but I know it'll be sooo much more fun at the gathering. HB's meeting ends at 3pm so if its still early I'll try to see if HB would be keen to drop by.

177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D

8. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
9. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (CONFIRM)
10. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM)
11. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
12. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
13. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
14. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
15. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
16. Sandra (sunraye) ????

THOSE THAT HAVE ???? beside your name please confirm with RENA as she eed to order the catering..

PRICE: Tentitive 20 dollars per person as we are renting stools and tables.. plus the renting of the function rooms..

Rena's acc no.: 148-11345-9 (POSB)

SSF,
last time i had a lot of complaints on my boy being dependent on the pacifier. but recently he seems to reject it and ihave nothing to keep him quiet at night when he cries.... think thye will just outgrow it one day. meanwhile, just got to tahan this stage

rachel
i feed my boy cereal first then continue the milk. i give him abt 3 teaspoons and 120ml of milk later. he takes abt 180ml of milk now. he won't really finish the cereal though cos he gets impatient and will start to cry halfway through.

confused,

sure you can just add on your name but make sure that you confim it too coz i am ordering the catering tomorrow