(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SH
It's good to set a fixed routine for bb coz children thrives on routines. If not, things will get out of hand and also, bb will be more cranky and tired if they don't get enough sleep or learn to fall asleep on their own. What Rachel said is true, the crying cannot be avoided.

I used to let my boy nurse to sleep and can take a very long time! And when he starts to finish feeding and still not sleeping, I got really desperate and decided to adopt the Sleep-Sense's method.

The 1st few nights really not easy but subsequently, it gets better as their crying time gets shorter. So be heng xin for only 1-2 weeks and bb will adjust accordingly.

Y - my boi too.... these 2 days suddenly dun wan any milk.... feeding is like 5am - 1pm or 2pm to 11pm. each time 180ml... dun know why... my mum resort to feeding him cereal with milk... so fan...

haha, SH,

welcome to the club of kicking and beating..
sumo has been kicking mummy and daddy up when his sleeps with us on the bed... poor me kena evry day coz every morning daddy will put sumo to sleep with me coz he lonely.. then my boy with give me all his kung fu..

RE: swimming..

duno I want to swim or not coz too fat.. my tummy still flabby yucks

Sandra
I'm also quite paranoid when Daren didn't seem to put on much weight...more so when he was sick for nearly 2 weeks! It didn't help that my MIL each time she sees Daren (during the period he's sick) and keeps saying to him in front of me that he's lost weight.... very sianz.

My hb told me don't bother what others say as each baby different but I told him to try to understand, this is not other pple, it's your mom!! And she keeps comparing Daren to when my hb was a bb, how easy to take care lah, etc etc especially when comes to drinking milk, my hb when bb drinks alot and focused on drinking...

mamachan,
yup, can't stand it when MILs do such stuff..my MIL also likes to mention things like last time my hb dun ve rashes..he dun this, he dun that...argh!

now that my gal caught the cough n flu from her, haha, i get the chance to keep saying in front of MIL how poor thing my gal is, keep coughing n running nose etc..evil me..

re:robinson's baby fair
saw on papers today robinsons got sale for some items. Graco stroller UP$169 now $119, foldable booster seat, portable bed.. the portable bed looks interesting but can't use past certain age i think.

Tracy
Haha. I know what you mean... but at the end of the day, everyone wants the best for the little one...just that at time we mummies gets the blame of not doing a good job parenting.

Rachel / mamachan,

Hb & I actually did tat for abt 1 week. Leave bb in the room & let him fuss & cry for 10-15mins. He will fall asleep. But he wont sleep thru the nite. He will wake up 2 more times between 12-6am & needs to be latched or carried. Just hoping he will not wake up till 6+am lor. But these 2 nites, he seems hungry when I latched him on in the middle of the nite. Dunno if he is going thru growth spurt or teething?? Tomorrow seeing PD for his 6mth HepB jab. Gonna ask PD abt it.

Re : Baby's weight
Sandra - Sarah's weight is good ar... dun think you need to worry.anyway PD did say baby cant be forever drinking so much, cos they will self regulate their weight gain. my celeste is lighter than yours so dun worry k..

Re : Menses
Whew... my 'auntie' late for 5days, make me a little kan cheong. when i saw celeste this morning, was asking her : dun tell mummy another sibling coming hor.. wah, just nw go ladies got a little pink!
i am not preggy! stressed ar, if preggy again...
nono.gif

sleep through the nite meaning from wat time to time?
Currently my bb will sleep from 9 or 9.30pm till about 4pm. We will feed him then he will go back to bed and wake up at 7am.

2 days no login liao...work is really stressful. Lucky today is Friday.

menses
My menses still not here yet. Scare 1 day suddenly come and caught me surprise and I am not prepare yet.

god's child
actually i dun mind to pregnant again, kinda really enjoy pregnancy. Also sibling can grow up together...probably tough in the beg. Althoug hardship at 1 shot and after bb No2, I can close shop liao, but than menses still not here yet, so cannot plan for No 2 for the time being....

SH

11pm is very very late leh mummy...
the ideal time for them to rest for the day is around 8pm. routine is very importance, if you had watched the program Super Nappy you will know the importance to stick to routine. totally agree with what mamachan said, last time got to nurse him to sleep till i myself cannot tahan...

err.. sad to say. if you want him to sleep well, the crying and screaming have to bear with it. but its not forever. come to think of it... its the skill of learning to sleep on their own that they will have for life!

sandra
hahaha, i saw for myself the 'power' of your girl's voice during the last gathering. cute! she is a very cheerful and happy baby =)

dont worry about weight gain. bb at this age will have their weight gain slow down, thats what my PD reassure me of. as long as she is happy and alert thats most important.

wenyl
maybe you try not to latch or carry him when he wake up the second time??
yah, you check with PD first and see what he say.

re: sleeping

I managed to get my girl to sleep at 9 the past 2 nights but I still need to nurse her til she's asleep. I dunno how to get her to sleep without comfort nursing...

Problem is my girl naps at 6pm, will scream and fuss if I don't let her sleep then.. then she wakes up by 7pm and then I will wipe her down, change her to pJs and start dimming the lights in the room. I will give her a massage with the Johnson and johnson sleep lotion and let her smell the lavender... haha like aromatherapy massage and i wil notice that she will rub her eyes and sometimes even yawn..I have tried to put her down in her cot but if i'm in the room she will make noise, otherwise she will keep quiet for a while then after 10min will ngia ngia cry for attention. Can tell she's tired but she just don't want to sleep. May even try and play with us/ daddy. Only way to get her to sleep is to nurse her at 8 for her final feed of the night in complete darkness. She will then sleep by 9pm. Only then will i have some time for myself.

I think i am too weak hearted... and problem is my girl girl seems to know oredi... last time can just ignore her in her bed cos she won't make noise but now she's really notti, will flip in bed and then scream or will 'choke' on saliva and cough cough...

mama chan
sleep sense
Sorry, if I repeat ask question cause I haven log on for 2 days so a bit blur blur to catch up. Like to ask, what to mean by letting bb sleep on their own, is there a method that we can follow to let bb learn sleep on their own?
usually after latch on Christabel, I will carry Christabel and sing song to her for 5min, when I see she is a bit zombie, I will pat her on her cot till she fall a sleep. Will this make her learn to fall asleep? What worry me is if I continue to carry her after milk, will this be a routine for her and she wil demand to be carry...now she is only 7Kg, afraid when she is 1 year or so...probably more than 10Kg etc...and still need to be carry B4 can fall asleep wil faint leh....

hi mongs....ya..they grow without us noticing it...after this experience...I realise I must bring my elder boy for outdoor experiences more often...he is so scared of the water...Shannon is much braver...sigh...maybe gals really mature earlier and faster than boys...

I had bodyache after I got back...haha...Can't deny the fact that I hv become old liao...

Maybe one day we may meet up at the esplanade where Shannon n Ryan have their lessons!

Sysac...I may bring my boys down to the Changi CSC first....nearer my plc...hehe....will keep you updated!

Re: Sleeping

For the past 2 nites, I brought my gal into the room and off the light @ 10pm. For the first nite, she was still awake after she finished her feed (latched on) and only managed to sleep @ 1am (I stayed with her in the room with all lights off). Last nite, she fell asleep @ 10.30pm while I latched her on. But woke up for her dream feed @ 11.30pm and 1.30am (she cried in her sleep but the moment I latched her on, she suckled & went back to sleep). Then she woke up @ 3am again but this time she was awake after she finished her feed and screamed when I put her back into the cradle, so I left her on the bed (I ignored her so she just coo and flip on her own). She "scream" for milk again @ 4.30am and fell asleep after I feed her. So if she fall asleep after I latched her on @ 10pm, should I continue the routine? If not, how? Also if she wake up again at nite and cry, but with eyes closed should I latch her on? Somehow in recent weeks, she seems to drink very little in the day (can stretch her feed from the usual 120ml every 3 hour to 4-5 hours on the same amount). But come nite time, she's always hungry. Keep wanting feed every 1.5 - 2hr. Any mommies having the same problem?

So how? cos in the day we try to feed her every 3 hour, she can like drink only 50 to 70ml then refuse to drink.

RE: sleeping
Sorry me very confused what is considered sleeping on her own. So if I put her in a electric sarong cradle & give her a pacifier, she ngia ngia for 5-10 min and fall asleep, is that consider sleeping on her own?

MamaChan/Rachel,
I know 11pm is very late. But sometime no choice leh. If work late, by the time i bring bb home also 10pm already. By the time i finish pumping could be close to 11pm already.

As for letting bb cry, i don't know whether my hb or even myself can do it. I tried for a while, but then my hb will go and pick the baby up.....

Does letting them cry really work? If yes, then maybe i heng xin & try it. Though the last time i did it, bb got so angry that he just kept screaming the whole nite..... :-(

SH

I can empathise with you. Also sometimes is not a matter of whether want to be heng xin, cos my gal can really scream (even next blk can hear) so I am afraid I might disturb my neighbours esp so late in the night.

rachel,

Actually Charmaine is quite alright. She behaves very normally. She plays with us, laughs and smiles normally yesterday. Still smiling away at the PD somemore. But being first time parents, we are a bit kiasu so brought her to see PD lor.

According to the PD, there are 2 types of diarrhea - one with the virus and the other type with bacteria. The bacteria is more serious. Comes with blood in the stool and fever. Must really see doc. Charmaine's diarrhea is with the virus - no big issue. Just need to keep her hydrated. According to the PD, there's no way you can avoid this especially since now they clutch everything also put into their mouths. There will be more of this type of diarrhea in time to come. The PD also says that since she's a tbf baby, there are already antibodies in the bm to fight off the germs. That's why she's not affected by the diarrhea at all. So to all mummies out there who are still bfing, must preserve okay? BM is really the best milk for the bb.

wenyl,

you have to play by ear. What I do is that if the bb is just fussing, then I ignore her. If the bb is really crying, I will pick her up, calm her down and put her back on her cot again.

Flo,
Ha ha...same here. Do u know there was once the moment my bb cries, my auntie got so scared she passed the bb back to me. She says "wah...so fierce one ah". And that time, he wasn't even crying very loud yet!!

sandra chu,

no worries on the slow weight gain. Charmaine's wt gain also slowed down. The PD said that cannot keep growing at the same rate as the first 3 mths if not they will become giants by the time they reached teenage years.

SH/Florence,

I can join you guys. My gal's cries also real loud. There's once she cried when we were at a restaurant and the waitress commented that my gal's tearing the restaurant down with her cries. : P

SH
my gal is 4 1/2mth .
At first I thought it was by chance she manage to on the muscial mobile..but these days she seems like aiming for the on/off switch. Perhaps she is attracted to the colour.

Re: sleeping window
My gals's sleeping window seems to be earlier and earlier.. initially she sleep around 930, then soon she get cranky if she dun sleep by 9pm.. then 830 , then tonight I brought her in to change PJ at 815pm.. half way thru she start her terrible cranky cry.
Luckily my PIL went home early today... otherwise I will be doubly stress.
I even let her cry for a while not carrying her to see if she sleep on her own...(can't imagine of doing this with my MIL around) but she has expereince cry until vomit all her milk out, once I see her REALLY cry got to pick her up.
Comfort her and put her down again.. and cry again...
Usually these she seems to like on tummy, turn her over when she is still crying and miraclously she quieten down and fall alseep...weee...
I'm glad she can adjust to sleep on tummy, that means if she flip in the middle of the nite.. I probably dun have to flip her back.
Anyway once she deep sleep.. I flip her over and put her into the cot.

Cookie,
So clever, my DIL...
leck lui wor!

Florence,
Thanks! I'm at Robinson Centre. But I think I will collect from Wenyl at Pasir Ris la....

Hi SL,

The mattress is appx 172 X 92 cm and 6cm thick. The side wall is 20cm high.

P.S. How do you tell if a breastfeed bb is having diarrhoea since motion is still soft and liquid?

My MS took a very sudden dive from the already low 120ml (6hrly) to 60ml(10hrs).... wa piang... now i don't even have enough for one full feed... only using the 60ml to mix into Keenan's rice cereals. so pathethic!

I am also spotting since yesterday but no heavy flow leh... could the sudden dip of MS be due to the spotting? Will supply come back up again? When will the heavy flow of menses kick in? pump only a few drops of MS dunno if it's even worth it or not.....

Denmy
I noticed that during my menses period, my MS is lower. When I am tired the MS also low...

Last time you bought the Munchkin grinder... is it suitable to grind food for baby below 6 months? Is the food grind to a very fine texture?

442996.jpg

Clarisse enjoying her baby einstein dvd... thanks wenyl too for helping me to buy... I realised that now my purchase pattern also changes a lot... now consist more on online shopping haha...

Zhimin,
Clarisse looks so cute in total concentration. How old is she? When I first put Keenan in his bumbo, he was a little unstable. So I stopped using it, thinking maybe later... then recently I bought a highchair for him and the bumbo became a "little" white elephant! His thighs are too big for the bumbo liao....

I like Clarisse's long john, very cute with the animal prints. Buy from where har?

re: munchkin food grinder
it cannot grind until very fine, as well as large amount. Good for taking along on hols or outing. So far, I find that it's good for grinding foods like banana, avocado, papaya, steamed apple, sweet potato, pear. results on butternut squash, spinach, not so good. Better off getting a mini blender as we will need it later for blending porridge, cheese, meat etc.

Hi Racehl,
wow, glad tat the sleepsense works for you...!

Florence,
mmmm, I think falling asleep in own electric sarong can be considered lah, but only problem is what happens when bb outgrows the sarong?

I use pacificer too, Shannon will only sleep when she takes the pacificer... my worry is how to wean her off it... headache... will think about it when the time comes...

Tracy,
yah, every bb is different, as much as i like to follow routine, sometimes really cannot... like today, SHannon woke up at 630am... and she's very sleepy now... normally she will stay awake till 10am.. but dun know why i keep seeing her yawn, so rather then play until she is overtired, I pop her into her cot for a nap.

Mummmies,
gave Shannon a HT teething biscuit yesterday, she LOVES it big time... keep ramming it into her mouth like a lollipop, then popping it out to look at it, then popping it in again...funny how her aim improves when she really wants something in her mouth badly. With her biting teether, it's every where else except in her mouth

RE: Swimming

Swimming Gathering

Where: Waterplace Condo @Tanjong Rhu Road
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
4. tracy + HB + BB (not swimming but going)
5. REna + BB + HB
6. rachel + BB + HB (not swimming but going)
7. Cookie + BB+HB ( not confirm if swimming or not)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (if 1st July or later)
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (not swimming but going )
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. MamaChan + HB + BB (TBC, best if end july)
13. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
14. queen + HB + BB (TBC)
15. valerie + HB + BB
16. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
17. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
18. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)
19. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
20. Tabby + Hb+ bb

Waiting list

1)Sandra (sunraye)

yesterday I was very angry with hb... whe we came home from my mom's place .. I did my usualy stuff ( clean bb up) then I put him on the matress to play but suddenly he puke so I quickly attend to him.. but hb was behind me scolding me for not keeping my clothes in the other room.. I was so angry...he thinks I am very free every day doing nothing...

inside me I was boiling and I jsut ignore him and change bb then feed him.. the whole night I ignore even this morning...

what kind of father he is .. many times I thnik... anyway.. this time I will not give in anymore...I am always the one giving in to him and saying sorry...and I think its time for showdown...

good morning mommies!

Rena
don't stay angry... problem is that u will stay angry but hubby still oblivious.. so bad for you to keep it inside, just ignore him lor.. men are like that, give them cold treatment, they even happier... my hubby the same sometimes, but I don't care, this morning i got to go to work and he doesn't, so when baby cried, I just gave him the baby and say feed her and run out the door.. give him a taste of what being a mother is like...

good morning!

jus return from PD. gotta postpone her 5mth jab to 2 wks later when the flu & cough settles. she's now 7kg, but still 68cm..never grow taller.

PD checked her ears, nose, throat, listen to lungs..said her lungs are clear so not so bad. gave her cough n running nose med and a nose drop. she got so angry when he put the 'ice-cream stick' into her mouth to check.

asked if she's teething, he said not yet, but gums are forming. and for pulling ears, he said its part of their growing up process, its self-stimulation jus like how they like to put things into their mouth.

now my SIL, BIL, MIL + 2 nephews got cough n flu..and last night all still eat chilli n pepper crab. i tink today they surely 'peng san'.

i was annoyed by my SIL ystrdy when she asked if i still BF meg when i was having flu last week. i said ya, cos it provides antibodies n i didnt take med n my flu was very mild. she said cannot, when sick cannot BF, will pass to baby, that's y now meg is sick!! i kept arguing that even docs will encourage u to BF and when i had high fever after giving birth, the nurses there also encourage continue BF wat!

and worse...my hubby agreed wif her n asked me to throw away those frozen EBM pumped for those days i was sick! i jus replied all finished already.

i dun understand how my SIL, a modern, highly educated lady with 2 kids can be so ill-informed! when i left my MIL's i immed scolded my hubby for not siding me. i reminded him that when i saw the doc for my flu, he cfm dat its good to continue BF.

Rena,
take it easy...like wat we said earlier, men will jus get on our nerves once in awhile..

ystrdy my hubby can actually leave my dog locked in the study room from 1pm-10pm! he came back for lunch at home since he was around thr then when leaving the house didnt chk..so..my dog made a BIG mess of the study rm n poor fella had no water for 9hrs..wah..it really took every ounce of my energy not to scream at my hubby.

he still can say, 'thank god its not that i left him outside the house.' !!!!!

so u see, Rena, men are dumb..

Hi Rena

Hope you have cooled down a little. Being a SAHM is definitely not an easy job but the sad thing is most hubbies don't think likewise. They believe how tough can it be just staying at home doing nothing except looking after bb (that's what some of my male coleagues feel!!!). But the fact is bb are very demanding esp at this tender age. During my maternity leave, I felt that time is never enough, before I could take a breather bb is awake again!!! I really admire SAHM. It's mentally and physically demanding 24/7 job. Maybe you tell your hb you need off day, take time off when he's not working go out for facial, shopping or have tea with frens, let him handle the bb all by his own, then he'll then appreciate the "sacrifices" you have made

Tracy u so funny But u're right. Men r dumb. =)

Rena, cool it... don't waste ur energy on hb - no point, he'll probably do the same thing again a few months (weeks) down the road. My hb also like that.

Mashybrainz/ Mamachan/ God's Child - thanks for your assurance. I know that Sarah's in the healthy weight range, it's just that as a mummy sometimes we can't help but wonder why on earth are they slowing down in their growth when we've been feeding them. A bit heartpain that she's not really super chubby anymore. I like her when she's round round. =)

Btw, I've done a blog for the little princess. It's www.sarahmaeloke.blogspot.com, it's for anyone that's interested in how she's doing. =)

Rena
Hey, hope you have cooled down already. I understand how you feel. I agree with Florence about having a day to yourself and letting hb take over the baby and let him be total hands-on. That's what I do with my hb at times when I badly need a haircut and get my things done. I still have to settle baby like bathe bb and feed and then pump before I go...and it is, at the end of the day, my hb told me that he knows that it isn't easy (from what I always tell him when he asks me why certain things not done) but he didn't realize that it was that HARD. so from there, he appreciates me more as a stay-home.

Tracy
You can tell your hb and SIL that there ARE DEFINITELY WHITE BLOOD CELLS which are antibodies in our breastmilk. How I know? Coz the girl doing research on the breastmilk whom I'm giving my milk to told me when I asked her. It's still ok to breastfeed bb when we're sick but there are some doctors who recommend that we wear those masks to cover our nose and mouth when feeding. Coz of those water-droplets that may come out of our mouth when we talk to bb while feeding which they may inhale in lor... like when my cousin who wanted to help me babysit daren, she's recovering from her sore throat and flu and thinks that so long she doesn't cough or sneeze into his face then it's ok...but sad to say it's not lor...that's how my boy got sick the 1st time round