(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracy,

your doggie is so cute! My Charmaine likes white dogs too. She would "play" and stare at my sis' dog when she brings him over.

Florence,

for me it's the other way round. I can express more in the afternoon. Somehow even though my breast is very full, i find it very difficult to express in the morning.

Rena
i understand wat u mean. Just cant accept d sudden change of things.

Potty training
My son is also on potty training too. At first he is not so use to it.. he will give us this puzzled expression like wat r u all doing to me?? i need to poo... but, his pooing schedule is not fix(sometime alt. day, sometime 2 days once) so we have to try to poo him aft ea feed. Most of d time he will still poo in his diaper. When he is cheeky (no poo
), he will make tat "hummm" sound wiz me... very cute...

clarye,

I will be trying to potty train sumo soon.. can ask your mummy for tips?

SL ,

you can start on potatos or pumkin first

hi all mummies
wow did not log in for 1 afternoon and see so much posting

Rena : I really wish to go to the swimming but hubby not too keen
...probably next time...

Rachel, after so much encouragment from all mummies here, I hope U feel better now. But I think U are super nice already....cause if my hb were to raise his voice to MY CHRISTABEL, I will make sure he is the one sleeping on the sofa...not me!!! ha ha....

Hi sl
, I order 5 books altogether, but need to confirm the availabilites, will PM U when my order is confirm together with my contact detail

Hi Sleepingdeer,

Re Potty Training
Mum basically sets it as a routine every morning to "sit" her on the potty before giving her milk (we started off with putting her on potty say 10mins AFTER her milk when she's happy n satisfied). If u see the pic clearly, mum actually "clamps" the potty in between her thighs and sits Ashley on it outward facing, hands holding on BB's thighs and BB resting on mum as support. She will then tell BB time to poo and goes "Mmmmm... Mmmm... Mmmmm..." to encourage her poo. She puts Ashley on the potty at ard the same time every morning and every evening (which is the timing when she usually poos nowadays) and I guess its still back to the magic word ROUTINE. Ashley actually likes sitting on the potty n somehow when she starts talking n making lots of eh eh noise... we will hear her poo poo coming out soon after as well haha...

To me cleaning her up AFTER she poo is the challenging part... Mum will cross her legs with 1 hand and lift her up slightly sideway and at the same time use the other hand to wipe her bum with tissue. Actually by pooing on the potty BB's bum is quite clean so dun really need to be afraid that our hand would become dirty. But it takes lots of practice la... the first time I put her on the potty and she pooed I was so happy but when it comes to cleaning her butt i was so helpless I called out to HB to wipe her bum while i lift both Ashley's legs up... haha so funny Ashley must be thinking dunno wat her mum trying to do... =P

clare,

I will try for the next week see if he poo.. but these few days his poo is rather hard so i think it is due to the cereal plus he doesn't like water..haiz

Re : dream feed
Can any mummies enlighten this blur sotong mummy what is dream feed? Do U mean night feeding?

Clare: Thanks for the tips, will try on Christabel.

krissie,
Thanks much! Maybe I can collect from you after work. I stay near Hougang.

Re: Teething
Seems like many of us are experiencing cranky bbies. My boy also like that, super energetic and like to bite hard into my hands. Can't feel anything on his gums leh.. is it considered teething? He has problem getting to sleep every night. My hb says to go get the sarong swing.

May/Pochacco,
Can your bbies fall alseep without sarong? Eg. when bringing them out; in the night

Re: SAHM
Envious the kind of bonding you can have with bb. My boy's first choice is my mom then me. Though I feel a little disappointed sometimes, I know it is justified. Afterall, my mom takes care of him most of the time. Moreover, I stopped bf early so bb lagi dunno who is mommy. For those who are still bfding, so continue. It is proven that bbies can recognise who their mom is with the sense of smell vs bottle-fed ones. Infact, bottle-fed infants can't tell mom, dad and stranger apart during the first few weeks of life!

Cindy:I am very lucky I can still BF Christabel. Everyday after work, when I go back home, I can see that she rec. me and keep smiling at me
...this is the BEST moment!!!!

lingling
dream feed is when bb still in sleeping state..
feed bb milk while she is still sleeping.
when u put the teats into her mouth.. she will start sucking..even after I burp her she will still be sleeping..keke
then place her back to cot to continue her beauty sleep.
she dun even know she drink in her dream feed.

cookie,
did you ask the qn on bb rejecting dream feed? My bb also not as willing now. Maybe take in 30ml and don;t want anymore. I will wait for another 5 mins before trying again. This can sometimes repeat 3-4 times before he finishes 120ml. Hee.. so little hor. I see some of my friend's bbies who loves milk really gobbles them most of the time. Can hold their own milk bottle and refuse to let go. But they have another set of problem, can drink so much that puke milk after that. My bed kenah other bb's puke a few times liao.

cookie, thanks for explaining but why do we do tht? Sorry but never cross my mine B4....cause I always think BB sleep...I am very happy....so why do we want to feed bb while she is sleeping...isn't it better to let bb sleep? Also will bb wakes up when feeding?

Cindy: But I think mummy will always be mummy, no body can ever replace mummy....

cookie,

my gal doesn't reject dream feeds cos that's the only one when I latch her on. : )

But I do find that my gal's wt gain slowed down so in a way, she's slimming down. Can see that her double chin's gone. Checked with PD - PD said that after the 3rd mth, bbies should slow down their wt gain so I am quite okay with it especially since Charmaine is in the 90 percentile since her second mth.

cookie,
did you ask the qn on bb rejecting dream feed? My bb also not as willing now. Maybe take in 30ml and don;t want anymore. I will wait for another 5 mins before trying again. This can sometimes repeat 3-4 times before he finishes 120ml. Hee.. so little hor. I see some of my friend's bbies who loves milk really gobbles them most of the time. Can hold their own milk bottle and refuse to let go. But they have another set of problem, can drink so much that puke milk after that. My bed kenah other bb's puke a few times liao.

RE: Pampers Premium selling at $69.90 for 4 packs of M size (48pcs)

Just went Carrefour and bought it. Even cheaper than Sheng Siong and CK...
Mommies, should be careful of diaper expiry dates. I bought a pack of parallel import Pampers Premium from CK last week for $21.90 (pack of 56pcs, with urine indicator strip). Went home opened the pack and realise the cotton is already yellowing. Check the expiry date and it says 3 years from manufacturing date. It was manufactured in Oct 2003!

cindy,

I am sure that your bb will recognise you and love you. like ling ling says, no one can replace mummy. I only see my gal for less than 3 hrs each day. Cos I leave for work half an hour or at most 1 hour after she wakes up. When I reach home, it's quickly bath her, feed her and put her to bed. But she really recognises me and is super nice when she sees me coming back from work in the evenings.

Wow! So much postings to catch up on!!! Also dunno where to start reading.

Rachel
I hope everything is alright for you and hb. Men are like that, always letting their frustrations get to their head 1st before anything else. Even my hubby at times also vent his anger but not because he is directly angry with Daren, but mainly because he is frustrated that he can't do anything to pacify bb.

Semi-Solids
I read that before 6 months, should give bb fruits/veg/cereal one food at a time. Mixing should be done after 6 months and after sampling various foods. In fact, if introduce vege, introduce the yellow types before the greens i.e. sweet potato or potato, carrots then the green peas, spinach, and then lastly fruits. Also to avoid citrus fruits as might cause allergies.

Sleepsense book
Any mummies with success with bb sleeping through the night using this technique?

Hi Clare
My granny also did exactly d same training method to my son. As for me when it comes to me to poo him... i kan lang kan bo... ;o)

TBF Mums:
I really envy all mummies who r still BF their bb. I had a very bad start wiz BF. d lactation con came on d third day of my delivery to guide n teach mi hw to unblk my ducts... it was so painful tat i almost cry... d 1st 2 day of expressing always start off wiz mi crying in pain cuz i kept thinking tat my ducts r blk n tat was y d milk dun come... untill d 3rd day, i could nt tahan anymore, i rang up d LC n than i realise i need to pump every 3hrs to stimulate d milk production... i was very angry tat d LC did tell me this b4 hand. Thereafter, d first 2 wk of my confinement, i had post-natal depression... i would cry every am when i saw my HB gg to work... i kept worrying abt my low supply of milk... i kept questioning myself y... n worse, my son wouldnt latch on... for a no. of times, i really really want to stop BF, but my HB kept giving me support n encouragement to contd BF. than i went on to take supplement to increase my supply but it only increase by 10-20ml. My best supply for a day is only 240ml. Therefore, my son only had BM 4 2 feed. Pathetic isnt it... i perserve n contd for 3 mths and stopped totally last mth...
BF mummies, pls do not give up... try to BF as long as u can... it is really a gd bonding btw mummies n bbs.

Java/Florence
Sorry to take a long time to reply, was reading through th 12th June archive. Re: Job yes yes, I've been working with this department in NUS before I was pregnant. Have to travel to and fro via ferry. Florence, I don't work with corals, more on water quality monitoring which is P&C.

FLorence
With regards to Infant Care. As of now, I've been a cruel mummy, training baby to sleep in the cot in the daytime instead of his usual sarong. He'll just cry and cry and cry...very ke-lian. Tried bottle feeding him but like unsuccessful. Think I'm quite impatient as it takes really awhile for him to drink and only like 2 OZ out of 3oz. Today, my aunt came over to help me babysit him (for the 2nd time) while I went out to have the day to myself, he's ok except when coming to the napping part he was really resilient. Cried and cried for nearly 1hour 15min. I was around during that time till the last lap of him finally dozing off. I forced myself to be "heng xin" as infant care got no sarong for him to sleep in, only baby cot, so I have "break" him in his sleeping habits. Been following the sleepsense book which one of the mummies shared with us and using the technique to implement longer sleeping times. The nights have been successful for me...out of the 5 nights, 2 nights he slept through for very long! The rest of the nights, he'll wake up for his dream feed. =)

sl,
I hope so too

Btw, my boy's weight gain indeed slowed down. I also notice that his limbs and neck are getting longer too. He is also in the 90% in the last check at 4mths. To maintain at 90% he has to reach 9kg by 6mths which I think may be more difficult considering how fussy he is now - not interested in milk nor sleep, just want to play all the time.

MamaChan,
In your opinion, should I introduce the sarong to my boy? My mom complains that he needs to be rocked and carried all the time to zzz while hb can't stand his crying. I tried to let him cry out on the bed but in less than 10 mins everyone will charge to the room and try to pacify him hiaz.. makes me feel like I am the cruel one.

On the other hand, my fren whose bb was very difficult says that bb'es will wean off sarong/rocking by themselves after 1 yr old. Is it true?

My hb says this friday go kiddy palace to find sarong, I am still thinking abou it cos it is almost like a 'point of no return' decision right?

CIndy,
Yes..my gal can sleep without sarong outside. My mum trained her to sleep on matress during daytime. Patted her till she sleep, but it takes time cos she will be very cranky.

Hi Cindy

Really no hard and fast rule about the sarong. For me, I'm opened to any ideas so long my bb sleeps well. But because I'm gonna place bb in infant care and they only have cots, so I'm trying to train him to sleep in the day without the sarong. Anyway, since I let him cry himself to sleep at night, come day time (this is very recent, past 3 days observation), he doesn't sleep very well in the sarong...in fact must keep rocking him lest he stirs and wakes up. My hb also initially cannot stand bb's crying but I got him to read the sleepsense book and made him realize that the best gift as parents to him is the gift of being able to go to sleep yourself without so many external "props" i.e sarong, carried to sleep, nursing to sleep, etc etc. For me the breaking point came when I keep having to wake up to nurse him (though he sleeps while feeding) and I become like ultra sleep deprived.

Must be unanimous decision b/w u and hb bout letting your bb cry to sleep...not easy, but won't damage your boy so long he's fed and all. Really up to you.

Sandra
DOn't have to feel bad about not feeding your bb for long periods of time. Most impt is that u had breastfed at all! Be it 2 weeks, 3 months, 6 months or a year. I'm sure there are other ways to bond with baby i.e via play, massage, cuddling

sl
my boy's weight gain also really slow. Now at 5 months, he only put on like 300g of weight? I think also due to poor appetite when he's sick and I was so worried that he's not getting enough. My MIL keep saying that he lost weight each time she sees him...I hear also very sianz. But on the bright side, so long baby is sleeping well and active and healthy is what's most impt.

Rena
Does sumo takes well to being spoon fed water? My MIL told me that should after every few mouthfuls of cereal, spoonfeed some water. Daren quite receptive to that, think also coz my mom "trained" him to drink water since newborn with spoon. See if it works for him =)

Wenyl,
I've updated my collection point at Raffles Place but maybe i can collect direct from you at Bishan. When is the last day to confirm collection point with you?

Flo,
Thank you first! What time do you knock off? Is the collection at Prudential Tower itself or can be Raffles Place or T. Pagar MRT or even Robinson Road where I am? <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Leappad_Orders--14-6-06.xls (23.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

re leappad
lingbel
thanks for converting the file to excel, also thanks to whoever (is it wendyl) for adding my list of additional books.

wendyl
It's ok, my friend will wait for the leappad. she'll keep it for her gal.

Re: dream feed
Cindy: yes I'm the one asking abt rejecting dream feed.
Last nite my bb ok.. drink the 150ml not complaint hope she will stay that way.
when she fuss.. we will try again but when she started crying..we will quickly let her be. Dun wanna wake her up from her dream...

Lingling.
I dream feed my bb becos.. she has drag her feeding time 3.5-4hrly.. so when she is awake can only feed 4 times.. which I think is little.
Last time when she feeding at 3hrly, her last feed can be 10pm whcih we will play with her and feed her last feed before she retired.
Now she is older,she seems to set a routine for herself to sleep around 9pm and last feed due to drag feeding time has become 11pm.. so we cannot play with her unitl 11pm.. she will be really cranky if she din sleep on time.
It was then that I realise... she can feed even in her dreams!!... wonderful!

Cindy
I was telling the gals last nite on msn I'm also concern my gal dun recognise me since I'm away 12hr day and probably like sl only see her 2-3 waking hours. Esp lately MIL keep tell me how bb has grown fond of her.. must cry for her baobao make me more insecure lor.
but they have assured me that no one can replace mummy.
So every nite.. I take every effort to make personal time together with her, and set nite routine with her and also pat her sleep, say prayer with her(tho she cannot udnerstand) etc ect and sing to her (she dun seems to enjoy it now hahaha and I never sing out of tune..keke)

I have a friend also BF her bb for 3 mths only and she also reassure me.. the bonding bb with mummy is very strong!... her bb is sticky chewy to her even now at 22mths. She must sleep with him if she is aroudn the house.

So let's work hard togetering to bond with bb ok. dun feel disappointed.
Haha.. last nite the gals console me.. now I console you :p

Re : Dream feed
Valerie - You know i get stares at times when i am in public patting Celeste to dreamy mode before i feed! they will mumble : how come sleep aldy stil feed???
once when my dad was wf me, he told me : nvm la, dun feed aldy... she sleeping . but she was only halfway thru the feeding.. guess its the undue pressue. even HB will always find a quiet corner to feed her in case of unwanted stares...
kao_sad2.gif

Re : Solids
ya, wat mamachan said is right. i checked online and with some mums in earlier threads.. yellow veg first... i will be introduing carrots this weekend for celeste in to her cereal.

But a question : Nestle has this mixed fruits cereal which i think has got orange in it ( cos the packaging has got an orange ), is it ok to give? cos MIL gave my niece's sample to celeste yest and said that she loved it! and i was asked to get a box yesterday to add on to the menu... wonder if the citrus element strong or not...

Good Morning all!!

Hi Sandra (sanraye1330),
Haha... yah the first few times I put BB on potty also ka lang ka bok... think of it also wan to laugh... now every weekend I'm used to it already. =)

Re : Potty training
we got a potty for $5.90 from Kiddy Palace for Celeste to train on...so when we realise she looks quiet or when she farts, my maid will quickly bring the potty and we will sit her on it. i place the potty on the floor and hold her by the arms. she will norm poo very soon after. once business done, she will struggle to get out of it.so i juz need to hold her up and wipe from her back. like wat Clare said, its quite clean and esy to clean... she can sit there unsupported for a few secs... its reali so funni seeing her poo poo fall out in a string instead of the normal mashed poo in her diaper!
took a pic also on her first successful trial. will upload later...

god's child
how many months is jamie already? if she's 6 months already I guess should be alright to intro her to the nestle with mixed fruits? Just have to monitor her to see if any allergies. For me I'm playing it safe coz I started Daren on semi-solids at 4 1/2 months. So once come to 6 months, I'll mix like the vege puree with his rice cereal.

cookie
If I'm not wrong, as bb grows older, the number of milk feeds will decrease. So don't have to worry. If I read correctly from a book, once baby starts on semi-solids... their milk intake about 600ml a day (also including the amount used to make rice cereal or other purees) So if you are feeding bb semi-solids already, don't have to worry too much.

Re Potty Type
My own opinion... I used to frown on those traditional no-frills potty that most of us would probably have used when we were young and thought that nowadays modern babies should get those fanciful ones with backrest, armrest, etc etc. But after we successfully put Ashley on her no-frills potty, I find that its really very cheap n good cos babies still dun know how to sit properly on their own yet and so all the frilly stuff with the new potties are really quite useless. Most importantly i feel that the modern potties are also too small and shallow (which somehow i think BB's poo or urine may splash all over their bum and makes wiping up even more tedious &amp; messy. Now that Ashley's able to sit (though still bit unsteady), mum sometimes will sit her on the potty, back resting against a pillow or cushion on the floor, and front face mum (who will still be holding her) so mum can talk to her. My next step when Ashley's can sit well enough would be to buy those "children toilet seat" which can be attached to our toilet bowl and train her to poo there so she'll learn where she's supposed to go when next time.

Hi God's Child,
Yah so cute right when u see them Poo haha...

Oh just to add... my mum was also telling me try to put the potty at 1 designated place if possible and bring baby to potty instead of brnging potty to baby... in a way telling BB potty is not "mobile" and poo poo should not be done anywhere we like. But me sometimes abit lazy, especially when watching an interesting progrm on TV and its also time to put Ashley on, I'll ask HB to bring thr potty so i can hold her and watch TV at the same time... hee hee...

mamachan - my baby only turned 5mths on Sunday so i dun feel comfy bout MIL giving her mixed fruits... in fact, i wana cut the citric stuff out from her diet til 1yr old... maybbie i tell MIL tonite to put it on hold til later... my baby is Celeste, Jamie is May's baby..
its so fun getting ready to do puree, bought a new pot yesterday solely for Celeste's food...

Clare : the potty Celeste is using is quite shallow also but the simplest of all in Kiddy Palace aldy... we norm put a little water in it for easier flushing away after tat. after some thinking, mabbie i can ask the maid to put a little toilet paper so that it doesnt splash and stick... the potty i got is quite 'short' so bb's legs can rest on the floor. When your mum uses the traditional one, does Ashley's legs touch the floor? agree that there are some very fanciful ones which MIl say the seating position not very comfy..and also more $$$

Any SAHM in CCK area with a Jan 06 baby? I'm looking for playdates or gai-gai mates for my boy ...

pm me as I hardly read this thread ... so many postings!

Have 1 box of pigeon breast pad and 1 box of tollyjoy breast pad which I don't need ... think maybe 40-50 pcs each. pm me if interested. have not thot of how much to sell for.

.ky.

Looks like Cephas is quite a big eater. He drinks 210ml per feed (4-5 feeds) plus one intake of semi-solids for lunch.

Planning to cook Bak Kut or Ikan Bilis soup to add into his Chor Bi when he turns 7 months old. Going to try him out on mashed potatoes too.

I bought him to my ofc on Mon to pick up sthng. They all said he has a solid body frame. Asked me if I was feeding him steroids. Haha. I told them "Yep, injected directly into his thighs" becos they were all raving abt his fleshy thighs

Re: Potty Training
Wah, done so early ah? My boy still not very stable leh... I thought only 2 yrs old then toilet train? Gimme some tips on potty training. :p And hor, for gals still ok, how abt boys? Won't their pee be all over when they sit on the potty?

Re: SAHM
I'm a SAHM and looking for a job now. Will be putting my darling son in an infant care. As a SAHM, have to be very tight on spending. Can't splurge and go on shopping spree. Every cent counts. And, everyday also very routine and don't even have time to bathe/eat or poo sometimes. But it's the bonding experience that cannot be exchanged for anything in the world.

My boy has become Dr Jeykll and Mr Hyde for the past week!!!

In the day, he's an angel. But at night after his 9pm feed, he'll turn into a monster. He'll scream and scream until his face turns red, then his voice will turn hoarser. Nothing could pacify him. He screams with his milk bottle in his mouth, pacifier also rejected. So far only accepted my breasts but still will whimper on and on. And once I remove him, he'll scream again. Had a difficult time putting him to bed. Then at night, he'll wake up again to more screams. Dunno what to do... I need my sleep!

mashybrainz,
my boy has also been very difficult at nite for the past 2 weeks. dont' know y leh. in the day when my dad takes care of him, he's alright. but when come to sleeping time at nite, he will cry until no wound kind. 8/10, he does tat. i really don't know what to do but juz carry him and let him cry till he fall asleep. usually it's about 15-30min cry. i see already so heartpain. i wonder if there are "dirty things" in my room!! ~:|

god's child
OMG! I'm so sorry!!! pai seh... I'm getting all mixed up already. yes yes. celeste is yours. My aunt advised me to only give one food type at a time at each feeding. It'll be gentler on their stomache system.

sysac
thnk you can use a photo programme and change the background color right? =) cephas is so handsome!!!

mashy brainz
you might want to try the author of sleepsense's methodology. which is to let bb cry it out with our occasional coming in to reassure them? I've been applying it for the past 6 days already and it's working for me quite well. even now am implementing it in daren's naptime. Then again, your bb might be teething??

Celine

Haha, I was so scared until I was also starting to think that way too. Hahha!

Mamachan

Cannot leh. When he screams, if don't pick him up immediately, it escalates to the next level. And it's really very bad type, scream until no voice kind leh. I suspects so too. But dunno how to check leh. How do u know? I tried feeling it, but feels the same to me.