(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Help! My bb has been fussing at the breast recently. He will clamp on & pull instead of drinking properly. & he will also keep struggling. The only time he will drink quietly is when he is half asleep. Has anyone gone thru this b4?

RE: Kaypoh Baby
My girl will peep thru her sarong when I am rocking her to sleep. I am watching TV while rocking..she peep thru and watch till she fall asleep.

RE: MIL
SO MAD today with my MIL. She called my mum up to ask how is Jamie. And she told my mum she gonna ask hubby not to bring Jamie for jab this thurs. And guess why? Reason is bcos if Jamie go for this jab, most likely she will have fever and she cannot attend the wedding dinner of one relative this Sat! SO MAD with my MIL... dun jab not bcos she is concern abt Jamie's health! She want us to bring her to the wedding dinner so that they can go around showing pple their grand-daughter!
I dun feel like going this sat.. but hubby dun seems to be happy abt it. It is a distant relative and dun wish to entertain. Imagine..the person is my MIL's cousin's daughter !! Even my mum's cousin marry I didn't attend already.Urgh..so mad!!

RE: Dream
I dreamt that my in-laws make me angry and I quarrel with hubby. Went back to my mum's place, my dad makes me angry by kissing my gal (he is having flu). I was so angry that I jumped off the building.. so stress even in the dream! I told my parents about this and they scolded me for being a paranoid.

Celine77,
Books are all subject to availability. She can only confirm reservations for the 30 sets of Leappad, not the books thou.

Queen,
Oh dear! Did he fall from the side where u place the pillow? I always place pillows & bolsters around Ethan when he sleeps on our King bed in the day too. Now it makes me worry.

Sleepingdeer,
U can find HT biscuits in NTUC. I bot 1 box from the branch near my hse. If u want, I can help u buy & pass to u the next time we meet. Just sms to let me know.

SH,
My boy also like dat. Sometimes he will suck & pull away, then he will look around the room. He gets easily distracted nowadays. If tat happens after a few attempts to latch him, I will just express out & feed him from the bottle lor. I realise he will only guai guai latch on when he is really really hungry or during nite feeds. Hopefully its just a phase.

Haven't come in for a while and wah piang, so many posts to catch up on!

Wah, May, you really sound very stressed! Take time off and relax if you can, otherwise not good for bb too.

Re: Teething Symptoms
Kirsten has 2 front teeth on her lower gum. She first had foamy poo with white particles when she was 2mth plus. She's pooing quite often, used to be around 2 times a day. For the last 2 weeks, she's pooing like 3 or 4 times a day and smells more like animal poo now. And she keep chewing her thumbs and anything she can grab hold of. Oh ya, and she cries quite badly too!

Re: SAHM gathering
Think I should be able to make it!

I don't think the HT biscuits will get choked cos it's so hard that you need a lot of force to break it. it's better to give a whole piece to bb cos it's quite wide and long so it's unlikely that it will get shoved that deep in bb's mouth. but of cos, a bit wasteful lah: they don't even eat much of it except licking and biting the outer crust.

SL
Actually Mel is much better with strangers now cos my mum bring her down to "gai gai" everyday since I started work. In fact she likes to coo with other babies when she's out. Juz that we dare not take the chance of leavin her alone with my in-laws, in case she cry again.

May,

You're so funny. I guess all grandparents are like that lor, they just like to show off their little precious. My mom likes to bring my gal down everyday and feels happy when people say her baobei's very cute. No point getting angry with hb bcos of this.

SH
Mel did that at one stage too. I guess maybe her gum is itchy cos she's teething. But she's quite naughty, when she did that I gave her a stern look and say no, she would give me a grin and bite hard. My fren warned me to be careful cos it may cos infection. So whenever she does that I'll stop the feed as a punishment. Apparently it woks, She has stopped doing that for a while

Queen,

Hope Isaac didn't fall too badly. Babies will surprise you with what they can do. Mel somehow managed to fall off the bed with me sleeping on one-side and using pillow to block the other side. After her fall, I bought this bed rail from kiddy palace, is quite good (there's a sale now, selling at $35.95 if I remember correctly).

439104.jpg

Mel tried very hard to push through the bedrail but was unsuccesful...heehee

hi mommies

So many posts!! Can't catch up

Queen
How is Isaac? u must have been so worried... I guess we mothers will have to learn every step of the way... don't know who more pain... the baby or our hearts...

My girl oso started to flip non stop recently so have to really remember not to leave her alone in bed... sometimes its so easy to forget...

flo
the bed rail is really a good idea!

<font color="aa00aa">Since our babies our getting older, here are some games we can play with them, i've highlighted a few which sound interesting and fun, from </font>http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/baby/babyactivities/1479310.html#1

4 to 6 months
At this age, your baby will become a lot more physical, learning how to roll over and even sit up. She can now hold, handle, and mouth objects, and she'll spend a good part of her busy days doing so (meaning extra vigilance is needed on your part).

Games can get more physical now. Your baby might enjoy knee rides or tickle games. She's also more responsive to you, making noises and meeting your eyes.

Smell the Spice Rack
You're in the kitchen, trying to throw some kind of dinner together when your baby starts wailing. Take her over to the spice rack and introduce her to the intoxicating scent of cinnamon. Rub some on your hand and put it up to your baby's nose. (Don't let it get in her eyes or mouth.)

If she likes it, try others: Vanilla, peppermint, cumin, cloves, nutmeg, and many other herbs and spices have intriguing fragrances that your baby might love. Other household goods are fragrant, too: Dad's shaving lotion, Mom's hand cream. Sniff out everything yummy just be careful not to let your baby eat it!

<font color="0000ff">Bubbles, Bubbles Everywhere</font>
There's something magical about bubbles, and at this point your baby can see far enough away to focus on them. Blow bubbles when she's getting fussy waiting for the bus and watch the tears dry up. Blow bubbles in the park to attract older kids who'll caper nearby and entertain your baby in the process. Blow bubbles in the bathtub or out on the porch when it's late afternoon and your baby is cranky. Bubbles are unbelievably cheap, easily transportable, and endlessly fascinating for babies.

<font color="0000ff">I'm Gonna Get You!</font>
Your baby is old enough to have a sense of anticipation now. And no baby can resist your coming at her mock-menacingly with a threat of hugs, kisses, or tickles. Here's what you could say: "Hey, Andrea! I see you over there sitting up! Well, that just makes you closer to my lips and I'm going to come over there and kiss you! I'm going to steal a kiss, baby! I'm coming! I'm coming! I...gotcha!" Then cover your baby in smooches.

In our house we threaten to eat the baby and punctuate our advances with lip chomps on her fat little feet. A delicacy! When your baby's older you can modify this game to include a chase around the house this works wonderfully as a way to get your child out the door when you're in a rush.

<font color="0000ff">This Little Piggy</font>
Touch your baby's toes in turn, starting with the big toe. Say, "This little piggy went to market, this little piggy stayed home, this little piggy had roast beef, this little piggy had none. And this little piggy went wee-wee-wee all the way home."

As you say that last part, run your fingers up your baby's belly. This game is useful for putting on socks and shoes or distracting your baby during diaper changes. You can also play this game in the bathtub with a squirt bottle targeting your baby's toes.

Tummy Time
By now, your doctor's probably nagging you to get your baby on her tummy, and your baby may be protesting vociferously.

Get down on the floor with your baby. Look her in the eye as you lie on your own belly. Lay your baby down on a towel and use it to gently roll her from side to side. Try saying, "Oops-a-daisy, Oops-a-daisy" as you roll her.

Fly, Baby, Fly!
Now that your baby can hold her head up, it's time to hoist her into the air. You can play that she's a rocket ship, flying her over you and making realistic rocket noises (dads are great at this). You can play that your baby is in an elevator, which advances up floor by floor before sinking quickly to the bottom (my husband likes to bump noses with our baby and say "Ding!" at this point). Or pretend that your baby's doing a helicopter traffic report.

7 to 9 months
Your baby's becoming an expert at sitting and may soon be crawling as well. Encourage these physical feats by celebrating each new milestone: "Joshua, you sat up! Amazing baby!" Include a big hand for the little fella.

The ability to transfer objects from hand to hand and the fabled pincer grasp are part of your baby's increasing hand control (which means you'll be forced to carry a container of O-shaped cereal with you at all times for the next year).

Your baby also begins to understand that when an object disappears, it hasn't fallen off the edge of the earth. This discovery makes games like peek-a-boo a favorite.

<font color="0000ff">Touch It, Hold It, Bang It</font>
If your baby has one object, he'll bang it on the table. If he has two objects, he'll bang them together, hold them up to the light, squint at them, bang them separately on the table, hit the table with both at the same time, see if the object sounds different when hit using the left hand rather than the right hand, and on and on.

Help him out by handing over objects that make interesting sounds: hollow containers, metal spoons, bells.

Pay attention to tactile sensations as well: Your baby will be fascinated by a greeting card laced with glitter or the slickness of Mom's enameled jewelry box. A baby with strands of cooked spaghetti to play with wouldn't notice if a bomb went off.

I Can Control the World
Babies love cause and effect at this age, as in: I do this, the light comes on. I do that, the light goes off. Showing your baby how to work light switches, remote controls, cell phones, and more will thrill him but can make life more difficult for you when he insists on being held up to work the lights yet again.

Instead, you may want to offer a toy phone or remote to satisfy his craving for control, or a jack-in-the-box to provide a thrillingly surprising result. Or, let him manage his environment by filling a low-lying cabinet or drawer with safe objects and letting your baby rummage around. Make sure there are no sharp edges or other dangers (dressers with drawers pulled out can turn over on a child) and then let your baby go to town.

Obstacle Course
If your baby's crawling, scooting, or walking, he may enjoy the challenge of having to move over things. (This is great for developing his motor skills, too.) Pillows, phone books, tired parents, and laundry make good obstacles. Sleeping cats do not make good obstacles.

So Many Variations on Peek-a-boo
The classic: Hold up a towel between your face and your baby's and ask, "Where's Sam? There's Sam!" over and over again. You can vary this game in a million ways. Hide behind a door and make your baby push it open to see you. Hide behind a chair and pop out first from above then from the sides. Go behind a corner with another person and alternate who jumps out and yells "Boo!"

Keep a selection of hats behind the couch and pop up wearing a different one each time. This game will make your baby laugh like the main character in Reefer Madness. A surefire laugh-getter is to put a hat on your head, hiding your eyes, and let your baby take it off, saying "Oh!" in surprise each time he does it. (This will also guarantee that you'll never wear a hat in peace again.)

<font color="0000ff">Roll Play</font>
Babies are fascinated by balls and how they move. You'll get a big laugh by juggling or tossing balls up in the air and letting them hit the floor while you make a silly sound effect: "Whoops!" Roll a soft ball toward your baby and watch him grab and squeeze it. Eventually, with encouragement, he'll roll the ball back toward you. And someday he'll be able to kick and toss the ball or drop it into a big bowl or bucket. For now, bounce and roll.

sorry to bomb the thread, just wanted to let u all know that vitakids at forum galaria called me RE: stock of earth best's cereal (got brown rice, oatmeal, multigrain)... u can pop down there if u are interested in getting.. or call to reserve...

from my last experience with my first son that he fell from bed...

just to prevent it to happend again..we throw away our divan..and all of us sleep on the floor with matress till now..will not buy any be frame till they grow older...

Hi Mummies...

Re : HT biscuit
Thanks Rena &amp; Valerie for re-assuring... will head down to buy a box for Celeste later..hope she likes it...its always so fun to watch them experiment new food!!!

May - u do sound stressed wor... actuali the wedding dinner thingy, i think all grandparents will think tat way. its always a good event to 'show off' their lovely grandchild... but if u are thinking of 'quaratine' Jamie for a while since she just recovered, you also have a stand!

Re : Swimming gathering
Yeah! HB say we can swim liao... hes more excited than me, keep wanting to find nice swimwear for Celeste.he juz din like wat i chose!
kao_angry.gif

Re : Apple juice/ mixed fruit cereal
any mummy aldy giving your babies these? MIL say its so boring to give Celeste only brown and white rice, she say to intro mixed fruit for dinner while brown rice remains for lunch...

Morning Mummies.

Thanks Flo! = )

Tabbiesus - Thanks for the games! I'm printing out for my HB to read cos he's the official "toy" to Ashley... hee hee...

Re Unbalance breasts

Any mummies experiencing obvious difference between left n right breast? Mine is SOOO obvious i dun even know where to start... =( My left side has been the "good n efficient" one; no problem with breast feeding since day one but leaks easier and capacity not that great. I was only able to latch Ashley on my Right side (without a nipple shield) when she pass 2 months old. Rt side seldom leak, in fact it gets blocked very often but the capacity is VERY GOOD and has been the main provider of milk (almost 2 times compared to the Left). For the same no. of hours after emptying both sides, you can really see the Rt breast becoming much more fuller than the Left. And difference in size can be so onvious i sometimes dare not wear figure hugging T-shirt cos ppl can really tell the difference if they look long enough! So pai seh... =(

Last night my Rt side gave me problem with clog ducts again... pumped 1 whole hour but the lump still there... no choice went to bed and woke up early to pump again... so painful but Thank God managed to clear.

I try to remind myself to be thankful for clog ducts cos it means I have milk for my BB... but I'm worried if the difference in size would continue even after I stop BF?? I was thinking if I should go see my gynae... any advice?? = (

Oops!!! tink me send e same time as celine....

Wenyl, pls add my order 4 leadpad in blue colour...collection pt at woodlands. thks

Hi Wenyl

Have updated mine. Have added the collection point on the book sheet as well cos realised that some mummies are only getting the book. Connz, have updated yours for you.
mime_msexcel.gif
Leappad Order
Leadpad_Orders-439199.xls (23.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

tabbiesus,
thanks for posting the 'entertainment' list. yes, my gal luvs to be be smooched by my hubby. she'll laugh loudly. she's also very entertained by my older nephew. he jus needs to dance around n she will laugh..

re:earth's best cereal
i've jus got the cereal from vitakids too. my nice fren bot for me. i'll keep it till i finish the heinz rice cereal.

May,
i'm facing something like u. got wedding lunch buffet this sun, but my gal having jab on sat so i said we're not going. my ILs kept saying can lah, i objected, cos my gal needs to sleep alot after the jab.

Queen - Hope Isaac is okie

On Sat, I slept with Cephas on the bed with pillows at all the strategic points. I dozed off for a while. When I opened my eyes, he was at the tip of the bed with that pillow on the floor. Fortunately my legs were still there to block his fall. My heart took a dive man!

Now, he's flips fwd &amp; bkwrd &amp; the movements are really fast.

good morning mummies
wow so many posting today...
sl: Thanks for updating for me and helping me to collect. My mum stay at Ave 3, near the MRT station. Just let me know Tues and Thurs is a good day, just let me know and I can meet up anytime at ur convinence.

Rena: Interesting posting U got, I read many articles tht encourage to give bb solid/semi solid after their 6 months...hmmm....anyway had already introduce to bb cereal at her 5.5months nd Christabel sure enjoy..

May: I think all MIL is like tht, I didn bring Christabel to hb niece wedding dinner cause my mummy had offer to stay overnite at my hse to take care of Christabel...(Mummy is Great and always the best...Always there to help...). MIL a bit dissapointed..anyway had bring Christabel over to the 'tea ceremony' during the day...so I think OK la...

Queen : Issac OK? Christabel fell off from my bed too....cry until my heart wanna come out

Clare: I think it is normal lar...try to pump or feed more the left side to make it supply more milk and balance...should be back to normal after stopping breastfeeding..

queen,
oh..u mean soft-toy doggie? hee hee, i tot real life doggie. my gal is taking an interest in my dog these days. yesterday i left her in the bumbo n my dog walked past, my gal started calling out to him 'eh...eh..'

this is my silly dog:
439303.jpg

SAHM, now i koe wat it stands for. R ter alot of SAHM here? Juz wondering izit tough being a SAHM? During my 2nd mth, i'm starting to feel bored at hm.. i was telling myself if i were to be a full-time mummy, i will go crazy.. i'm d outgg type n cant stand staying at hm. Therefore, i salute to all SAHM. ;o)

I have always wanted and really envy SAHM. If $$$ allows, I really want to be a SAHM...watch and teach our bb grow each day make my life live to the fullest.....

sandra,
me too, i cannot be a full-time mum. now i'm still clearing my 3rd mth ML and every monday at home taking care of bb myself. very tiring. rather be at work.. so yes, salute to all SAHMs!

sandra, ling ling,

being a SAHM is tough and you really have to give up many things in life..n o more new clothes, cosmetics..blah blah

but everyday I look at my bb Elijah .. it is really worth it..

especially now that he is sick I really thank god that I am a SAHM and I can look after him better rather than putting him with others..

Ling ling will you be joining us for swimming?

morning ladies....

today is a super lousy day for me...
this morning around 2.30am had a very very heated quarrel with my hb. dylan started crying from 12.30am and all the way till 01.30am... finally dirft off to sleep. i got up a few times to check on him. hb got angry for being robbed of his beauty sleep, got up and went to dylan's room and start rising his voice. i quickly told him to go back to sleep and i will settle bb. he slam the door so hard and loud!!! this is it, its over my limit. i went in and questioned him why he had to do that. he kept quiet....

i left the room and went to attend to bb. finally he's asleep... but im still mad with that stupid man. went to living and try to sleep on the sofa. 2.30am dylan cried again, woke up his papa. he saw me on the sofa and wanted me to go back to bed. told him dont bother so much and go to sleep. he started rinsing his voice and warn me if i still dont go back to the bedroom he will sure woke up bb. at that point of time im really MAD! MAD!!! what is he trying to do!!?? i just replied " fine, is this what you want? ok i will obey."

woke up at 6am to feed dylan and all the way did not said or even look at that man. got his sms saying he is sorry, but what the use? after did something which you know you should not do it, yet you done it and said sorry after that? sigh.... and its not the first time.......

sorry... really need to vent my anger here. this morning mentioned to my mum about our quarrel and she said im fortuate enough to have such a good hb liao. my dad is even worse..... sighhhhh

Rena - have you given sumo apple before? i was thinking of adding a little apple puree into her white rice cereal for flavour today instead of buying a new flavour of mixed fruit cereal ( too many boxes of cereal lying around then )...and i thot the real fruit will be better! then i can add pear or apple as i wish... wat do u think?

clare
mine too. you are not alone =p think will be back to normal after stop BF bah. hope so.....

rena
how are you and sumo? feeling better? take care ya.

queen
you mean Isaac pushed the pillow? so strong!
thanks for sharing, think we cant under estimate bb. hope Isaac is ok.

rachel - calm down... guess your HB juz got alittle worked up... so long as its not always happening, do have a nice talk and let it not happen again... slamming doors can scare the baby and i think its not good for them... i think as first time parents, our husbands are also learning and adjusting so give them some time... unlike them, our mothers' instinct very strong so we naturally get into the role well!

Solids,
hi mummies would like to seek some opinion cos majority have started babies on solids now.
Do we start with brown rice with si sen powder 1st or those kind of Heinz rice cereals 1st? Which is better?
And after starting solids, do we reduce the amount of milk that they are drinking now?

rachel,

thanks.. sumo is getting better..

well husbands are like that they need more time to get into their roles..
try to explain to him that what he does is wrong..

god's child / rena

sigh... another reason why im mad at him is bcoz he did that before and he admit its not right. yet this morning he repeated. i know he needs time to adjust, so do i... he needs to work, so do i... he needs to rest and sleep well, so do i... its been so so long i have had a decent sleep... ...

cant concentrate at work... siao liao.... zzz

rachel,
somehow husbands will behave like dat once in awhile..

last night my hubby too. he had nothing to do anyway, jus watching soccer at 9pm. meg was fussing to sleep so he tried rocking her. at 10pm, she was still fussing n i was about to express my milk. he got so frustrated at her, i had to postpone my milk session n takeover from him. she eventually slept at 10.45pm. all i had to do was rock her awhile, let her fuss then put her down n pat pat.

and all this while, he jus sat there watch soccer! dun understand, he can watch soccer and rock her mah! make me postpone my milk session, in the end i had to sleep at 12mn while he slept at 11pm!!

explaining to them at that point when they angry no use. then again, after the incident you tell them, they say sorry, they feel bad...but one day, it all repeats itself..

Clare,

I've the same problem too. The malay masseuse I engaged during my confinement said it's normal cos even our hand sizes are different. Initially one is able to produces more than the other (tho she told me it was the other one that has a bigger capacity). Truth enough it was the other one that produce more when my supply stabilises &amp; yes sometimes the vol can be twice as much. Somehow, my supply is not constant all the time, I can have the same time interval but I tend to express more in the morning session than afternoon???? Not sure why too

tracy
your dog sooooo cute!!

May
I was catching up the post .. and read everyone said u so stress...
finally read what u post.. phew... u really so stress even in your dreams..
take care ok.
dun worry my hb always say.. dream is opp of reality. Cheer up!

Sleeping deer
hiya.. must qi siao lor.. bo keep angry also very cham on me.
But ytd my hb say sorry liao.. very rare hor cos my hb is the very "keng" type.. always dun say sorry one.

tabbie
Thanks for your list.. I printed out and bring it to read int he meeting later..hehehe
Faint!! I have meeting from 9-5pm today.. yawn..

RE: SAHM, I salute to you all too. I too dun think I can be a SAHM if I have a choice (am lucky to have my mom who's staying next block to look after my gal). Is a toughest job on earth...24/7, no off day, no annual leave, no financial security plus hb probably feels that he works so hard outside and you have a "easier" life at home!!!

But having said that I guess the most rewarding part of SAHM is to be there at your bb's every milestone which is PRICELESS

tracy

its just a matter on whether they bother to do it or not. mine can stay up late to watch soccer matches, giving up his sleeptime. yet when it comes to dylan he just dont bother to be a little more patient and sensitive. maybe its too much to ask???

he can still ask me why is dylan like that? hello, he is so young. he simply cant get to sleep on his own and he is asking for help. how he wants a barely 5 months old infant to behave? really fedup. or maybe at the back of their mind they know there is always us the mummies will take care and attend to our bb. so dont bother to make any extra effort....

Re solid food, attended a talk previously and said that is better to introduce veg before fruits cos the latter is sweeter and bb may reject veg if introduced later.

Re hubby, I suppose we need to "communicate" time again and again to our hb our "expectation and frustration" and hopefully 10% goes in each time and one day it will add up to 100%!!! So Rachael &amp; Tracy slim down, no point wasting your energy and killing your blood cell by getting angry over them.

Anyway found this website interesting....provide alot of useful info from solid food to handling spouse relationship in parenting.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby

Hi Rachel,

Hope everything's okie now. At least he knws he's in the wrong &amp; apologised. We mummies are more tuned to the crying &amp; the fussing. Daddies just expect the babies to be robots. Switch on to play &amp; switch off to sleep. Haha!

cindy
it's ok. i can give u the NAN. No need to buy from me coz it's only a small tin.
I will pass to you if i'm going for the gathering. i cant confirm yet. coz hb works on some weekends. btw, where do u stay or work? if convenient for both of us, i can pass to you first. I stay at Serangoon.

sysac

yah! what you said is very true. want to play, switch on. want to sleep, switch off! they think so easy meh >=/
nope things are not ok. i did not log in my msn so he cannot distrube me. now he keep sms me...... i wont let him off so easily this time. made me cried when he did what he did this morning...