(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

I have got the pic from the web so that u all can refer to it.

MUNCHKIN FRESH FOOD FEEDER
433254.gif

MUNCHKIN FOOD GRINDER
433255.gif

sl, durianlover,
I got it at the big NTUC at Marine Parade, where the old library was. They have a Munchkin section there. I got the mini food processor there too. Very useful for single feeds, especially if you go out or go on holiday. All you have to bring out is a portion of steamed fruit or veg or pasta or even meat, a feeding spoon and the mini food processor. When it's time to feed, just dump everything into the chamber and start grinding. The puree will end up in the bowl part of the grinder. Just remove the shaft and blades and you can feed straight from it. I also bought the Healthy Times Brown rice cereal there.

Wenyl,
Aiyo, yesterday I also never stir him and he woke up at abt 5am for 1/2 hr, but went back to sleep as I bochap him. Keenan also woke up at 8am and I latched him on. Then he slept until 12am... messing up his feeding times...

haha May,
I go and take pictures of my grinder and food feeder... stupid me... can get from the web hor.... duh....

re: Superman Returns
Asking on behalf of my Superman-siao HB: anyone knows when and where will the 1st premier of Superman Returns be screening? He die die wants to be one of the first ppl to watch...

denmy

Thanks for you info on the grinder.. i saw the munckin grinder the other day and was wondering if it was strong enough to grind meat and other food.

Re: electric food processors
Anyone got good recommendations on which one to use for making puree? Now got GSS, I see there's a philips mini one for abt 50+ and oso a Braun one for around 60+ in the papers the last few days... dunno which one to get. I am quite excited about making puree and food for my girl... only one more month to go.. before can start feeding her solids!

tabbs,
it's only a small manual one and the blades are not very sharp. I guess it's good enough for light-duty meals. It should be able to grind meat but the texture won't be as fine as with an electric food processor. The texture of the puree can also be adjusted with tightening or loosening the knob at the top.

denmy
do u find the Munchkin Netted food holder useful? I saw it, but hot sure of its usefulness,, so nvr buy. If useful, then i buy.

tabbs,
I bot the philips mini blender, shld be the same one that u saw, green in colour. haha.. haven used it yet. will update u when I've tried it.

wow, seems like quite a few of the mothers have started or are well prepared for starting on solids. Clariss showed a lot of interest in food at our dining table. we went to foodcourt a couple of times and she is always very excited, swallowing her saliva and moving her mouth in those chomping motions. invited a lot of laughs from those sitting around us. we find her very 'ke lian' gave her a tiny pc of bread but realise she don't know how to swallow, she play around with the bread in her mouth and finally spit it out. so funny. intend to start on solids when we come back from the Port Dickson trip the following week.

wenyl
how about playing some soft music? swith on your musical mobile? place the colourful crib bumper or cloth book at the side of the cot to attract bb's attention?
i did that and my gal will either look at the musical mobile or the colourful crib bumper, then zzz her own.

ya, i am also pondering whether to buy the munchkin food grinder or philip one....

Sunny,
U can buy the philip one to put at home. For the Munchkin Food Grinder, I think it is more useful for outdoor.

RE: Feeding Solid
Think most of the mummies are getting ready to introduce solid food to baby already. Me too.. yday I tried to put half scoop of rice cereal (very powdery, from DUMEX) into Jamie's milk..she managed to finish the whole bottle of milk!! But when I mix into a bowl to feed her, she dun like it. I think must try everyday but my hb still ask me to wait till 6mth.

Denmy,
I was browsing thru the website,happened to see then tot of putting the pic here..hehe.

Is it very messy to let keenan handle the food holder? I am afraid the Jamie might squeeze the juice out from the net and it becomes very messy.

I'm very sad!!! My boy is sick again and this time the symptoms of flu is much worst!! My heart very pain ah, seeing that he can't sleep well due to breathing difficulties with ultra blocked nose and this time the mucus like very thick yellowish green. And to think he was much better at our last gathering! I really wonder what did I do this time. Now am gonna home quarantine him liaoz even when he does get better.

may
thanks. i wonder if my mil will wanna use the philip one... 'cos you know lah, old ppl tend to use manual...

mamachan
yellowish green mucus indicate body is heaty... mayb you wanna feed him more water? once a while i will give my gal 'jin ying hua' to drink. you wanna try?
for the mucus, you might wanna buy the nasal suck to suck his mucus out so that he will feel more comfy. i bought farlin brand. find it not bad. it's the one with 2 long tubes.

clare
thanks thanks.. abt the bumer mat offer

Demny
know nothing abt superman thing.. can't help.

Re: feeding solid
reading all mummies starting or almost prepared for solid feeding.. think I better find time to go buy the necessary stuff too.

SY
flipping:
over these weekends... Kaelyn also wake up in the middle of nite to flip *faint*
Cos usually I will automatic wake up to check on.. then around 4am.. suddenly I woken and saw in the dark her head rise up... realise she flipped.
I have no patience to flip her back only to wait for her to flip again.. so I caryy her to sleep on the bed with us..and I use my hand to stop her from flipping and finally 30 mins later she fall asleep too.

MamaChan

the other time my bb oso kanna flu..the pd said that he got some infection...coz yellow mucus..did you bring him to the pd yet?

I really had hard time..he got it for 2 weeks...see GP, PD oso cannot recover..

end up we go to one GP at BT timah, then recovered.

the doc help to suck his mucus out and given some antibiotic, then recover

hi Mummies,
bought Shannon out to lunch at Taka today, she was very well behaved and sat at the table with us in her Bumbo...

Sl,
I still dunno whether to get the ergo or not leh... while it was good, i didn't get a chance to practise with my gal, coz she was zzzz away in her pram... so I still have no idea whether she will like it or not...that said, i find it good coz it seems like it can be used until they are 2 - 3 years old! I suppose I will think about it... dilemena! If not for the hefty price, i would have gotten it. Seems like they fairly flew off the shelves that day at Bay* supplies, when I went, there was only 3 left!

Durianlover, Wenyl and Sandra,
yep, me too, seems like there were still many things i didn't get a chance to see at the fair...

Wenyl,
are you still thinking about the ex-saucer? Me too, keep thinking whether to get it or not...

Tracy,
yes! That's the dress... I got the orange one, coz Shannon has TOO many pink ones already haha... I got a matching Bandana but the lady didn't have matching orange shoes...
Next outing, we should dress Megan and Shannon in the same dress uh?

Sandra,
hope your MIL realises honey is not suitable for bbs.... sometimes it IS so difficult to tell our MILS anything... coz they always think they know better and never listens... the sling takes time to get used to... until now, I can only do the Kangeroo, have to practise...

Clarye,
I bought the Baby whisperer today! Gonna read it...

sleepingdeer
you're so lucky, shannon is so guai, can sit still in her bumbo. We cant eat in peace when we go out now..

hi Krissie,
think it was a fluke... probably the next time, she will be screaming away.. haha. Probably this time she sat quietly, coz there was so much to take in, the new environment, tempting food in front of her which she can't eat...

Tracy and Clarye,
can give me your email address? Want to send you the photo...

clare
i think i saw you at the fair on fri...
you bought swimsuit for ashley is it?

denmy
a doc also suggest that i use those sleep positioner for my bb to prevent him from sleeping. over the weekend, i brought him to my room to sleep and put him on a mattress beside my bed. he din flip so often. sometimes he will flip to the side and fall asleep. but once he's awake, he will flip and any thoughts of falling back asleep got to be banished.

so the methods clare suggest works? but my bb doesn't wake up at the same time everynight so a bit hard to use the method...

valerie
i dunno whehter my bb is teething. he has been biting things really hard and crying until very poor thing...

cookie
yah, when they start flipping at night, it can be a pain!!

mamachan,
hope your boy is better soon

re starting solids
what solids shd we intro first? seems like got a lot of things that they can eat!! do we start with rice cereal first or start with purees?

denmy
thanks for sharing your experience on the munchkin stuff. think it's good for going on hol esp when need to prepare their food.

Re: munckin grinder
I just got mine from Metro PAragon 20%off there! I think a lot of places on sale so quite worth it to buy it now

Today was having an early father's day celebration at Lawry's during lunch and my girl look at us eat so ke lian, i ran downstairs to the supermarket to buy some mama biscuits for her to munch on. Wah, she so addicted wouldn't let me take it away, some more tried to snatch it away and hold it herself! So funny! Wish I had my camera then!

Its so exciting, soon we will be able to share recipes on puree! Can't wait.

Re: starting solids
well most people suggest starting on rice cereal first. It is the least allergenic. Some brands available are heinz and gerber. It is better to start off with very bland food first. That's why these two brands of rice cereal are good cos they are without sucrose/sugar. Frisocreme like rena mentioned is sweet. After starting this, you can slowly introduce other solids e.g brown rice and puree ( mainly cooked apple, pear etc) but introduce at least 1 week apart so you can see if baby is allergic and you can identify which is the cause of the allergy. If starting on canned baby food puree first, should try to choose single ingredient first so that you will know what to avoid if it causes any allergic reaction. Brown rice is very popular esp the organic brands like earth best and healthy times but some feedback is that its a bit heaty.

The books that denmy recommended are very good for advice on what to start.

SY,
Oh yes me bought a yellow iPlay swim suit for Ashley... was with my Aunty & Mum... = ) Did i see you?? Sorry ah coz i very blind one...even when on my way out Cindy had to call me otherwise I didn;t even realised she was right in front of my face! Hee hee...

Sunny,
Ashley is 5 months & 1 wk+ & she still can't flip too... absolutely showing no interest at all infact... since some of the mummies here say flippin is technicaly not a milestone so i'm not too bothered. Sometimes i really hope she would flip but then again after hearing so many stories of babies flipping in the middle of the night so i guess i shouldn;t complain... = P

Re Food Grinder
My mum & Aunty bought the "dunno what brand" food grinder from the Motherhood fair... they say can grind untill VERY VERY fine so very good. Dunno how true coz demo always good one but after bring home different thing liao... anyway will let my mum n aunty try then feedback see how good it is.

Can i ask how much is the munchkin food grinder? = )

sleepingdeer,

shannon's such a gd girl! unlike my Charmaine. She cannot make it at mealtimes. How do you train Shannon to sleep in the pram?

re: ergo carrier

Actually I was really tempted to get the carrier. I wanted to go back to the exhibition to try it out today. But I didn't manage to go today so decided not to get the carrier. It's so ex.

krisse,

I join your club - we haven't got a chance to eat in peace as well, especially since Charmaine doesn't even want to sleep in her pram. She wants to be carried while she sleeps!!!

re: flipping

I realise that my gal can only flip to her left only but not her right! Is this normal?

This morning when I woke up, I heard some noises from the cot and went to see - realised that Charmaine has woken up and flipping to her tummy. I think should really put bumpers in her cot.

Denmy, my HB is a movie buff. He says that Superman will open around father's day. Asked ur HB to check golden village website. He always check it for movie release, so I think info should b quite accurate. =)

Mamachan, hold on and persevere. My bb also always kena cold becos of my hb's nephew. The other time just before we met up at Phoenix Hotel she also had been down with the cold for 2 weeks, with thick greenish mucus and all. Very 'heart pain' also to watch her sleep at night. Her breathing became so laboured. Worse thing was that hb's nephew always pass the germs to her via my ILs. So, she's been sick like 3 times already in 4 mths. What to do? We mummies just have to stay strong for our bbs. =)

Wendy, nice meeting u also at the expo. Will try to use the sling more so that i'll get use to it. Thanks for the tip. =)

Sleepingdeer, ur shannon really quiet gal. Both times i see her also so guai1. U're really a lucky mummy.

I think my bb has been teething. She's so cranky and poor in appetite. Not suckling properly. *sigh* I just bought her some teething rusk and will try to start her on some solids also. Bought heinz and gerber baby food over the weekend. Gave her a little rice cereal just now and she seem to like it. Will try again tomorrow. Funny how she rejects the bottle but didnt mind feeding from spoon or drinking from cup. hehe...

krissie,
the munchkin fresh food holder is good for bbs who's just starting on finger foods. It acts like a seive, so big bits will not end up in her mouth, which can be quite dangerous. As for mess, sure will have bb's saliva and juice from the fruit/veg dripping down, which is not too bad as compared to giving bb a piece of biscuit without the food holder. I've tried Keenan on HT teething biscuit and Gerber Zwieback Toast. HT is hard and only melts into a creamy paste on the surface, so it's quite safe in terms of choking but it's quite messy. Gerber Zwieback Toast softens very easily when contact with bb's saliva, so must watch BB carefully. When the toast breaks into a 1-inch piece, better take it away. In case the whole lump ends up in her mouth... then siao liao... and it's very very very messy, even messier than HT cos the soften bits will drop everywhere. I bought Pigeon Brown Alga Cracker today. It says from 6mths on the box, so I will only give it to Keenan then.

sunny/babylon/sleepingdeer/SY/Sandra
Thanks for your advice and concern for both me and Daren. He looks better today, kept perspiring, hopefully he perspire out the "flu" as well... according to what our mums and grannies believe. Last night in the wee hours of the morning was really scary, coz we have a night light on, so when he wants to feed, I'll just let him suckle and can't really see his face. During one feeding could hear that his nose was super congested, I waked my hb up to use his mouth to suck out the mucus and when we switched on the light, to our horror, there's one big blob of semi-dried mucus covering one of his nostrils! Was terrible! Hopefully he sleeps much better tonight.

Motherhood Exhibition
This time round, I went back today together with hb (while Daren at my mum's) as it's last day to collect my free Motherhood Magazine and bought a Baby Monitor set from Mums & Babes with 20% off. Went to the HT booth and bought lots of stage 1 pureed baby food (apple, pear, banana, sweet pea, sweet potato) and even left my contact for them to send me a catalogue. So next time want to organize BP for HT products, can do so. Am quite happy that I bought something useful from there.

sl
I think it's quite normal for babies to learn to flip on one side. My boy started with flipping to the left too in the beginning, now after a few weeks of being able to flip, he's now trying to flip to the right which he's been quite successful.

RE: Flipping
SL and Mamachan,
My Gal flip from right leh. Till now she still cannot master the skill of flipping on the left. Hmm..wonder if these flipping is a way to let us know they are left or right handed?

mamachan,
I also went back motherhood yesterday. didn't see the HT booth. aiya, should have venture around more but our eyes were focused at getting one thing which is the baby jogger. we finally bought it at $439. original price $599. now no excuse not to go jogging. we can finally jog together as a family.

clare
same here! at one side, hoping her to flip but also scare of the need to wake up mid of the night to check her. :p
flipping is not milestone? meaning bb can start crawling without start flipping?

sunny,
I did all that u mentioned....
played some soft music, placed "teddy bears" crib bumper & cloth book at the side of the cot....but he will still fuss & cry for a while before ZZZzzzz at nite. Sigh! I guess its gonna take awhile for him to learn to doze off by himself w/out the struggles.

Last nite, I tried feeding EBM from the bottle while he was lying down in his cot. When he finished the milk..... surprisingly he soon dozed off to dreamland!

Sleepingdeer,
So qiao! We also went taka on sun but after lunch at inlaw's. We were there around 3-5pm. We let Ethan try the exersaucer at taka again. We decided not to buy tat cos somehow my hubby & I got the same feeling that bb will get bored with that. Then it will become a BIG FAT white elephant cos its quite bulky. There's also a safety 1st car rocker chair there at taka too. We found that more interesting but cost $199! Too ex! After that, bb slept in the pram & we continued shopping & bought him a fisher price gym set. There's 20% disc for all regular priced items. So happy! Gonna let bb play that later today.

sleepingdeer.
me wanted to buy other colors of the dress for her but simply can't resist pink!

your gal so guai can sit in bumbo quietly..

we juz went airport last night for din at Fish & Co. with frens, our princess didnt wanna stay in the pram. daddy had to carry her n eat at the same time..then she decided she wanna stand n entertain everyone...notti gal!

wenyl,
my gal used to be able to doze off on her own, but recently my FIL spoil the market by rocking her to sleep everytime, so now every night we ve to rock her too!

i told my hubby to let her cry it out, but he can't bear to do it. yet when he carries her, he get agitated so in the end, I have to do it.

re:flu
flu bug is going round, i'm down with flu too. started with sore throat which went off, now the flu is here..

and my gal had to wake up at 3.42am last night..think stomach uncomfy, cos she was crying and farting at the same time..took me an hour to put her back to sleep..hubby turn into porky pig liao...

wenyl
hmmm... if that's the case, you got to let him learn to doze off himself already.... just monitor how long he cries before you go to attend to him loh... i let my gal cry about 15 min before i attend to her. she fussed a lot before she wanna zzz when she's about 6 wk old, and i just ignore her and let her cry.:p bad mummy hor?

clare
the bulk purchase of bumper mat already over? sob sob... wanna get the mat for my gal, too... any spare one? :p
is it difficult to arrange bulk purchase?

mongs,

you went back to buy the jogger from mums and babes is it? I also thought of going back yesterday to try out the ergo carrier but too lazy. : )

sunny,
no lah...we not bad mummies....only a bit hard hearted at times! haahaa! I also let him cry & fuss. Till now, still fuss & cry. Sometimes me & hb hear until heart pain lor!

sl,
u can go down to bay* supplies on weekends to try their ergo.

hi sandra,
juz tot if u are interested in going to slimming centre, i have got a marie france package which my dear darling bot for me but i didn't get to use it at all coz i'm back to my pre-preggie figure already. i'm willing to let go at a very good discount. let me know if u are interested =)

Hi SL,
Shannon is a BIG ka po... so when she sits in her pram, she will look left and right.... until she gets tired to the point that she will doze off on her own.... but that is if the scenery keeps changing.. ie pram moving!

sunny...
same here. this am.... he woke up at 5.30am. i let him cry until dunno wat time. cos i too tired to get up. hb also slept till 6.30am then went to attend to him. haha

Hi Celine, I am interested but need to find out the details like how's the package like (time consuming or not) etc. And whether they are machine based or pill based etc. Will pm u my number and u lemme know the details lah. Thanks. =)