(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Queen,
Wat i meant is if u do pump at nite, then try using those to feed bb. See if he drinks or not. LIFO - last in first out. Anyway, dun stress urself too much!

RE:Gathering (swimming)

Let's put a cap to max 20 sets of families. If anyone wishes to pull out, please remove your name so other interested mummy can come. Thanks! We'll wait for Rena to come back from KL to sort out the logistics.

Where: Waterplace Condo @Tanjong Rhu Road
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday. So more, even better, all bbs can swim...
Time: start coming in at 4.30pm; swim at 5pm+. Not too late cos scared no sun... ?
Food: Potluck or Cater?

Swimming Gathering
1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
4. tracy + HB + BB (not swimming but going)
5. REna + BB + HB
6. rachel + BB + HB (not swimming but going)
7. Cookie + BB+HB ( not confirm if swimming or not)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (if 1st July or later)
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (not swimming but going )
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. MamaChan + HB + BB (TBC, best if end july)
13. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
14. queen + HB + BB (TBC)
15. valerie + HB + BB
16. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
17. MayWong + HB + BB (TBC, not swimming but going)
18. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
19. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)
20. SY + HB + bb (TBC)

<font color="0000ff">RE: Studio Photo</font>
Denmy,
it was taken in IMM Image Presentation.
I took up package when I give birth to Jamie at TMC. It was $98 for FIRST DAY PIC, one pose with quite a number of size. Then they sort of FREE one 4R photo for 4mth,8mth and 12mth old. Go back to take the pic. If u like it then can purchase from them at $10 for one 4R. They take photo for family and sibling too.

Silver Package ($50)
1 Person
1 Pose
4 x 2R (Wallet size)
2 x 4R
1 x 5R

Gold Package ($108)
2 persons
2 Poses
8x2R
4x4R
2x5R
1x8R

Diamond Package ($188)
4persons
4poses
12x2R
4x4R
4x5R
2x8R
1x10R

Since there is a cap and my hubby still cannot confirm he is working or not. I will withdraw first.

RE:Gathering (swimming)

Let's put a cap to max 20 sets of families. If anyone wishes to pull out, please remove your name so other interested mummy can come. Thanks! We'll wait for Rena to come back from KL to sort out the logistics.

Time: start coming in at 4.30pm; swim at 5pm+. Not too late cos scared no sun... ?

Swimming Gathering
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
5. REna + BB + HB
9. Clare + BB + HB
13. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
15. valerie + HB + BB
16. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
17. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
18. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)
19. SY + HB + bb (TBC)

queen,
if I remember correctly, you don't have a fridge in your work place and is using the portable type of fridge. not sure if the freshness of the milk will be affected but what I know from my own EBM experience is that there will not be any smell from the EBM if it's store in the fridge for 1 day (overnight). thawed milk have a slight smell but it's not an odour. if it's store for 2 days, there will be some smell (similar to the smell of the milk that the baby vomit out but not that bad). if the milk have that smell, I don't give her at all. I throw away 60ml yesterday because I think it's not fresh already. my MIL was quite willing to let Clariss try it but I don't want to risk. maybe it's good to smell the milk first coz baby are very smart and they will reject the milk if it's spoilt. If not, then maybe your Issac is really fussy about the milk. Just my 2 cents worth.

Denmy/SY,
I also notice my boy is less excited when he sees me since last week. Same reaction when I carry him when back from work. But always smile and look at my mom, and super kaypoh, like to watch maid do her household chores. I tell myself not to get too affected by it although a little sad.

SY,
JH has really grown! I think he's chubby cute now where previously he is more the handsome look.

May,
Jamie looks totally adorable in the basket. Think I'll spin by the place when in IMM to have a look. But bb must cooperate right? Somehow quite difficult to capture smiley pics of my boy... think we have no skills.

Rena,
Have a good trip! So lucky that Sumo is a disciplined bb. My fussy one is quite a challenge, even my mom is really stressed up taking care of him.

Some reading reference for mummies from my colleague

Author / Title
===============
1) Annabel Carmel - The Healthy Baby Meal Planner
2) Robert E. Owens with Leah Felon - Help Your Baby Talk
3) Dr James Dobson - The New Dare to Discipline
4) Dr James Dobson - The New Strong-willed Child -Birth through Adolescence
5) Ng Sing Maui - Nutritious Chinese Food for Infants, Children &amp; Youth
6) British Red Cross, Hodder Arnold - 5 Minute First Aid for Children
7) Dr Jane Gilbert - Potty Training - Making the transition without stress or mess

hi mommy's

I just got permission from DH to let my girl go swimming with u mommies...

Can I add my name to the list?

Swimming Gathering
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
5. REna + BB + HB
9. Clare + BB + HB
13. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
15. valerie + HB + BB
16. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
17. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
18. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)
19. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
20. Tabby + Hb+ bb

mongs,
you have a point. You are right. I used the Fridge-to-go cooler bag and throw in 2 ice paacks somemore. By the time I reached home, it's about 13 hours already. I also wonder whether it's because my EBM is not fresh by the time I bring it home but when I take out the EBM, they are actually quite chilled most of the time. And doesn't smell at all. So I think it's ok? Agree that if it's freshly expressed at night and store overnight in fridge, the milk does not smell. But if I pump in the morning or noon at work, by the time my boy consumes them, it could be more than 24 hours already. So may smell a bit... didn't think the smell was bad. A bit like regurgitated milk or fishiness. Even my HB says doesn't smell too bad. Sigh, i really dunno my boy lah. So fussy. Dunno whether I should just start weaning.

Rena,
Enjoy your trip!

May,
Jamie looks really pretty in her studio pictures!
I'm keen to take a family one though...

May - Jamie reali looks so sweet and cute! i like the one she is peeping out from the basket!!!
i think i will also go check it out... im sure HB see aldy also 'xin yang yang' to let Celeste take...haha

May,
very nice! quite affordable too. i saw one studio in forum, quite ex. i'm keen to take family photos too. ya, i remember them going round TMC to promote.

queen,
this morn i give my gal freshly expressed milk n she finished it much faster than defrosted ones. the milk my MIL feed her is at least 3 wks old, after warming up, smells alittle bit fishy, but once cool abit, its okie, metallic smell. i tink ur boy boy is fussy. if really no choice, give FM, dun feel bad abt it. but keep storing up your milk, he might wanna drink it again.

hello clare,
see the flash cards that I made myself. The red marker that I am using is Copic brand. there is also refilled being sold at Art Friend. however, it's still not thick enough so I have to write 3times to broaden the letters. you can see the overlapped part.
432293.jpg

432294.jpg

Hi queen,

Heated ebm will have a smell - some babies are more particular abt it. Have you tried heating the ebm then cooling it to room temp before letting bb drink?

Hi Mongs,
Thanks for sharing your flash cards... your handwritting very nice leh... dun think mine would be as nice... that's why i thought its safer to print dun wan Ashley to see ugly handwriting from mummy. =(

sure Demny,

i will sort out once I am back.. we can also add a waiting list colunm from experience there a many last mintue withdrawers..

I will be back on thursday

Queen,

I used the fridge-to-go only for transporting milk from office to home and to my mil's place when she takes care of my gal. I leave my ebm in the office fridge. Have you considered getting a small fridge to put in office for your own use? I am considering cos the pantry fridge got pple opening and closing the fridge all the time and I am worried that the constant opening and closing might spoil the milk.

well cindy,

I had my fair share of crankyness too but as I have time at home to train him..but dun worry slowly they will learn..

queen: if he does not want to drink, maybe u wanna mix it with FM and slowly reduce the FM? heard that the FM is quite sweet nowadays...

Valerie - are u still haveing spotting? my spotting stopped after 4 days , but after 3 days of clear discharge, the spotting is back again today!!! its totali furstrating...at first was brown and thot it was old blood, but then after a while its is now pinkish red...
kao_frustrated.gif

queen
i have the same problem as u on and off. the difference is that i have a very patient maid who will persist in giving him the EBM even though it would save her so much trouble by giving him FM. for one whole week, my mum was telling me how much my boy like FM compared to EBM. though i felt quite unhappy to hear that, i still persist. Think once they start on FM, they have something to compare.

Did your diet change prior to Isaac rejecting the milk? I know it feels really discouraging esp when we take so much time and effort to pump. what i do now is to drag his feeding hour so that he will be really hungry and won't be fussy. he will still fuss a bit but at least will finish most of the milk. did u check the teat? sometimes the wrong teat will cause problems too. my boy was fussy when we used the same number teat for both EBM and FM. after change teat, he's much better

i need help!! my boy keeps waking up at night cos he wants to flip. how?? i wake up abt 4-5 times a night cos of this.

SY,
u having flipping problems? i had that the first few days she flipped. gradually she stopped n only flip when she's awake. so i guess its a matter of time..

re: bb photo
all so cute!!! make my day =D

queen
think your boy is plainly fussy on the taste. dont be discourage, hold on and jia you!!!

MH
we can mix EBM with FM meh?? was told by a few people not to do that...
btw i tried tasting the left over of FM before, its actually tastless. instead my hb said my BM taste sweet haha

SY
agree with tracy its a matter of time for your boy to settle down with his new found skill. in the meantime.... think you have to tong for awhile lo.

re: flipping
think my dylan is going to achieve flipping in near future!!! these 2 days had observed that he will turn on his own to his side making 3/4 turn. the only thing is his arm is blocking the way to allow him to make a full turn. so once he figure out to move his arm out of the way, fun time will start for him liao!! nightmare for us.... hahaha

so many postings!

Clare,
thanks for the book titles... looking at one of the title on first aid reminds me of something which I want to do.... any mummies and daddies interested in signing up for baby first aid classes? My hubby and I are looking around to join a class to learn bb first aid... just in case.. touch wood!

Queen,
3 bottles is alot, you must be very 'sim tia'! I call BM liquid Gold, coz it is as valuable as that, every drop maters to me! When I was using the fridge to go, I added 1 ice pack, and that kept the milk fairly chilled until I got home, about 13hours or so... so maybe not the fridge to go... does he have a problem with cold milk from the fridge, or just freezer? i do notice that freezer milk does smell after thawing... cold milk is not so bad.. MH is right, maybe you can mix and slowly reduce the FM amount? That's what I did with my gal, coz I couldn't pump enough Bm for all her feeds.

Rachel,
it's actually good for bb to mix FM and BM together while drinking
Coz the contents in BM will aid in digestion of the FM as well, it's okie to mix... my gal seldoms drinks total FM, I always mix, if not TBM...

SY,
your boi boi is super handsome! Super cute, and so chubby! Want to pinch his cheeks!

May,
very pretty pics leh! Jamie can really smile at the camera, if it was my gal, you'd see frowning pics all the way...

Clare and Tracy,
paiseh, haven't been able to download the pics yet, coz the PC is in my gal's room, and if she's asleep, I can't use it... will do it this weekend for you gals!

Mongs,
your handwriting really nice! Mine is like.. cannot describe... my ex colleague once said that if she and I ever lost contact, she would be able to find me by recognising my handwriting... it's that bad... haha..

Re:passport photo
I also need to do it for Shannon, coz we planning to go for a cruise in July! Yeah! Love cruises..... eat and sleep and eat and sleep....

Tracy,
hee hee, your hb really sentimental, I also saw the Qian yi feng surprise wedding, was touched lah, but not to the point of crying...

MH,
ya, I agree with Rachel, I think EBM is sweet. FM I didn't try but I think maybe it's more fragrant.

queen, if your milk smell like regurgitated milk, then I don't think it's advisable to give Issac. EBM that is stored overnight at 4deg should have a very faint fishy smell, barely can smell it. regurgitated milk smell is very distinct and should be quite strong. ya, like what sl suggest, have you consider buying a small fridge? if you look around at yahoo auction or ebay, maybe able to find a cheap one. I heard those people staying in hostel trade their fridge around at less than $50. Or how about bringing more ice packs? Or maybe u can experiment during the weekend, to feed him with bottles of EBM that expressed and stored immediately in your fridge overnight and see if he rejects, if he still reject, then you can eliminate that possibilty that you EBM is not fresh. I think the most impt thing is to find out why he rejects your milk. if he is plain fussy, a bit of coaxing will be good to have him down the milk but if the milk is not fresh, I don't think u want to force it down him. We all want the best for our babies and I think it's impt to establish the findings to make ourselves comfortable. just some suggestions.

rachel: supposed not to if you want baby to drink BM first...but in queen's case, since her baby prefer to drink FM now, I think if can trick baby to drink more BM, it is better than none...

mongs, rachel: BM's sweet. I know it since I taste a droplet myself when there is a little bit left on the pump

my baby was down with cold yesterday and she did not finish her milk too...end up throwing away 100 ml...so sad...

Re FM vs EBM
I tried my EBM and thought its abit sweet but overall still tasteless... but FM... YUCKS the smell already put me off... really duno why BB will like. =OP

Re Motherhood Fair
Me taking half day leave going to the Motherhood fair in the afternoon. Think some of you going too?? Hopefully can bump onto each other n say Hi... me wearing Pink today btw hee hee... Tata!!

sleepingdeer / MH

ic ic.. yah think in queen's case can mix EBM with FM and see hows the result. at least wont waste so much of her EBM *heart pain*

MH

oh dear... is she recovering well? BB having cold or flu or cough is so restless and cant sleep well as they have block/running nose.

i tasted my BM, salty at first, then swallow sweet...tastes strange to me..

re: baby photography
Ray Ong, the photographer in this forum charges $400 for 2hr shoot with 80images in 4R.

Hi SY,

My gal Megan kept fliping even at night when she has master the technique.

I also had alot of trouble putting her to sleep cos when she's not drowsy enough, the moment i put her down, she flip and then make a lot of noise.

It took almost a week... She's still fliping but these days after she flipped, she's able to fall asleep. So she sleeps tummy down nowadays. Initially i keep waking up to check on her, whether she has flip and whether can she breath........ quite worrying.

Just have to hang in there and let them flip if they want to. maybe you can pat her after he turn to make him sleep.

anyone thinking of bringing your child to those music or gym class??? very kiasu hor.

me thinking of getting my son to go and considering the following for trial lesson:-

1) Kindermusik
2) GUG
3) The Little Gym

Thanks for all your advice! Quite helpful I must say. I think it's not the cooler bag problem lah cos the bottles feel quite chilled and the EBM doesn't smell at all when I reach my in-law's place. Don't think it's my diet cos everyday eat normal food. Don't think it's the teat too. Yah, tonight I'll bring one of my EBM home and feed him tomorrow. See how. If really no choice, have to follow your suggestions to mix FM with BM. Does mixing make the smell less strong?

Mongs,
I have to say your flashcards look good! Take my hats off you for making so much effort.
me a really veey lazy mum... thinking of just buying ready made ones.

tracy - i have jus signed up for a trial lesson at kindermusik this sun at 1pm (S$25) as this is focusing only on music and movement... think my son will enjoy as he like music. so decided to go for the trial to see how.

may,
the pics of Jamie are really nice n she looks so pretty! My Janelle won't smile at the camera...she'll just look really serious at it!

SY,
oh u mean baby will flip in the middle of the nite? Oh my. My gal has just learnt how to flip but so far doesn't flip when she's sleeping. How about putting some bolsters round him to prevent him from fully flipping over?

Valerie,
how much was the anmum u bought from exhibition?

bad impression with GUG with their trial lesson, a lot of children in one class, no indivdual attention. If your child dun participate, too bad lor...service level sucks although concept is good...

pochacco,
i am considering julia gabriel. heard some good comments about it from friends. but have yet to go visit the school

re: julia gabriel

my gal was there (evans rd)for 5 lessions as she joined mid term. The teachers are quite ok and they will communicate to you on ur child progress and will try to involve the child. They will also suggest activities to do with the child. Poor reception service too. Better than GUG in my opinion

I thought so...but I reach there, there was about 9 children (mine is Parent and Tots class)...what a mayhem..they have two teachers in the class..but sometimes there is only one teacher in the room as the other teacher need to prepare material for the next activity.

u can read abt it here...
http://munchkukie.livejournal.com/32457.html

celine: I think better teachers than GUG from my brief encounter...