(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Clare: I got a IKEA high chair for our gal, it serves us well...we also got the big IKEA lime green round table for the kids when they are big enough...

I find that the table may be a bit small if they are going to do work there...e.g., colouring, painting etc...Just my thoughts...

ps: my gal not slipping yet too...

Thanks to those who had signed up with me...

fyi, I have just noticed the members jumped by 58 in 2 hours time...cool...

re: motherhood exhibition

I am going tomorrow - already took leave to bring gal for jab. Will post the good offers tomorrow.

re: high chair

clare,
i saw the thread on the bp for high chairs. I would get it if there's a mummy to share the delivery with. I read in other threads that this canetons high chair is the same as the jane high chair which is more ex. $149 during robinsons' weekend sale which is already over.

just went to Suntec for the porriage buffet with my parents and Shannon... yum yum...

Also bought a swimsuit for Shannon... $36 at MOthercare... they are having sale now... Then I went to the Family Link on the 3rd floor, and saw Seafolly Baby... wah, I thought, chiam! Sure regret buying the Mothercare swim suit, coz tons of variety at Seafolly... who knows, after 70% the swimsuits are still $40++ !!! So happy with my choice...
Go look around, the lady at Mothercare told me that Centrepoint branch has the widest variety, which is true... coz SUntec branch was pathetic.. heng I saw one that I liked..

Sandra, Valarie, Wenyl,
sigh, today, had argument with hubby, he said that bb should avoid crowded places until she finishes her jabs.... so I guess Motherhood exhibition is out unless I go myself... you gals continue planning first, I see whether can join you all or not, by myself! If I can get the car on Thursday or Friday, then I can be your driver..
Update you all tonight again...

sleepingdeer
did you go to the book fair, too?
i bought some small hard books for bb. got alphabet, numbers (1-10) and bear bear stories one. per series is $9.90 (UP around $30).

re: flipping
my gal still doesn't wanna flip. after reading mummies' experience, i have no complaints at all. :p

Tracy, mamachan,
is it? Daren looking at my Shannon.. hee hee, even though she super 'Tao' that day huh? The more boyfriends the merrier... haha, oh dear... people must be thinking Shannon's mummy was very 'hua xin' when she was single...!

Mamachan,
my stylist is also Gary leh! But is there only 1 Gary at Chevous? Coz I dun know his surname... I know he goes Church regularly, he has a gal and a bb son, that's the one? The one who moved to Novena and came back to Chevous? I've been with him 4 over years also.. hee hee, so jiao if it is the same one...

Sunny,
no leh, didn't go book fair... was a virgin outing for Me, parents and Shannon, so we didn't stay out too long... bb was also tried, fell asleep on the way home

Postings flying fast!

Re. Flipping
Now that my boy has mastered the art of flipping, it's dangerous to leave him unattended on the bed and sofa. Have to watch him constantly or stack the sofa and bed with pillows. Don't worry about your BB if they haevn't flip lah. I don't think this is considered a very important milestone. Eventually they'll flip.

Re. Menses
I'm not menstruating yet too. Still on TBF. My Isaac doesn't sleep through the night, between 9pm to 6am, I'll still have to wake up once to latch him on. But no menses doesn't mean not ovulating right? Recently my appetite is very good... dunno whether that 2nd one is on the way. I hope not!

Re. BD
Sometimes will still be in the mood. BD nowadays is not so much to satisfy the lust but to fulfill the need to feel physically connected with HB. But agree with Wendy, very dry down there when BD, either that will dry up very fast. So BD is really a chop chop finish affair. Think one of the mummies here recommended using 'Play' by Durex. Tried it and yah, it last longer than KY.

from bab*joy....

Come spend your weekend with us!

DISCOUNTS AND OFFERS

"BUMPER" PLAYMATS ~ 15% discount
LANGUAGE LITTLES ~ 15% discount
JACK & LILY ~ 10% discount
DADGEAR ~ 10% discount
FANCI-FREE ~ 10% discount

New addition for DadGear for pre-order during the Exhibition!

Other products available during the Exhibition includes

ALEX Toys - Award winning toys
BabyRock Sling - Comfy carry slings

VENUE: SINGAPORE EXPO HALL 5A, BOOTH C10
DATES: 31ST MAY - 4TH JUNE
TIME: 12N - 10PM
ADMISSION IS FREE!

Hope to see you there!

Gods child,
My spotting lasts for 3 to 4 days, also changes colour. Dunno what it means I also want to do pap smear but with menses and spotting, not sure when is a good time to go. Any advise?

Sandra, I should still be going tomorrow afternoon with my friends. Maybe you want to arrange with sleepingdeer and see whether you want to go together?

Sleepingdeer, dont need to get upset with your hb lah. He is just being protective. My HB also scared of me going out with bb alone but since Im going with friends, he got nothing much to say

sleepingdeer,

my hubby's going with me to the exhibition tomorrow. Anything that caught your eye? perhaps I can get it for you?

hi! hi!

i am interested in the swimming gathering.

but must mummies wear swim suit ? abit shy lei. hehe..can we just wear shorts and stand in the baby pool?

valerie,
Pap smear can only be done when you are clear of menses and spotting and having normal discharge.

SSF,
KY is a water-based lubricating gel. It is commonly used during BD for additional wetness. It can also be used for ease of insertion of suppository (medication) through the anus. For eg. if BB is having high fever, some PD will prescribe fever medication in the form of suppository to be inserted into BB's bottom. Supposed to be more effective than oral medicine. But MH and I talking about KY in the context of BD lah.

RE:BD
Yap..getting less frequent than before pregnant. Have anyone tried the new DUREX Vibrating Condom? I have tried the other brand from 7-11 but not yet from DUREX. Something interesting to improve BD as nowadays we are all so busy and tired with work and baby.

Re: BD
My first BD was without lubricant and it was totally horrid. A couple of days later tried with it and it was like magic. Prob cos quite cooling and wet when using it so can slip into the 'mood' pretty quickly hee..
Still, the number of times I've BD-ed since bb was born can still use one hand to count. Really so tired. I can conk out at 9pm anytime. Think prob not exercising so cannot get rid of the lethargy. Everyday I try to rush back to put bb to bed. With me around he'll sleep at before 8pm and till 7.30am, without me he'll refuse to sleep till 9.30pm and wake up around 7am.

sleepingdeer,

No prob - will hunt for the ergo carrier. i am also interested. : )

re: bd

I don't like KY as well. My gynae actually prescribed another lubricant for me which I find better than KY. It's Aqua-something.

re: bb sleeping

cindy,

perhaps you wanna read the sleepsense that durianlover(?) emailed to me. I think it makes a lot of sense. One of the things that the bk advocate is to put the bb on a before bed ritual so that it's easier for them to fall asleep by themselves. In this way, mummies can get a rest as anyone can help to put bb to bed. I am trying it out now. Hopefully one day, it will work so that me and hubby can go pak-to again one night. : )

Sleepingdeer lemme noe when u're going - I'll go with u.

Re: BD
Yup, the first two times I tried BDing after birth of bb was a nightmare. Had to stop cos too painful n dry. Tried with KY on third attempt n it helped a great deal. Nowadays also no effort to try to BD.

Schedule revolve around putting bb to sleep n getting some Me time. Hb also never attempt to get close to me anymore. Abit sad that we're no longer that 'siao' about each other already. *sigh* Looking forward to the day that we can be lovey dovey again.

sl,
I did get the sleepsense ebook too and tried to advocate it. He was able to fall asleep on his own on my bed when I was taking care of him every night during maternity leave.. discovered that he would stare at my bedside lamp and drift off to slumberland. But after starting work, my mom would help me put him to bed and that kind of messed up the ritual as she would rock him and put him in his cot thereafter (he can;t fall asleep alone in cot as we've kinda used to use it as a nappy changing and milk feeding place vs what the book says - cot is for sleep only).

so busy past few days no time to login and soooo many thread to catch up
In case U miss any of your qns.. PM me hor..

Re:swimming gathering
response is good hor..heehee
Demny > thanks for organising, sandwich is fine, catering is fine too!!

Tracy
heehee... can u send me the pictures? I want to see them!! your description of megan and kaelyn so cute... :p

Denmy
Wld love to join for the swimming gathering but can only confirm nearer the date as my hb works / has classes on some weekends.

RE:Gathering (swimming)
Where: Waterplace Condo @Tanjong Rhu Road
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday. So more, even better, all bbs can swim...
Time: start coming in at 4.30pm; swim at 5pm+. Not too late cos scared no sun... ?
Food: Potluck or Cater?

Swimming Gathering
1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
4. tracy + HB + BB (not swimming but going)
5. REna + BB + HB
6. rachel + BB + HB (not swimming but going)
7. Cookie + BB+HB ( not confirm if swimming or not)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (if 1st July or later)
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (not swimming but going )
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. MamaChan + HB + BB (TBC, best if end july)
13. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
14. queen + HB + BB (TBC)
15. valerie + HB + BB
16. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
17. MayWong + HB + BB (TBC, not swimming but going)
18. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
19. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)

I think sumo is a no nonsense baby.. he drinks and eat fast.. and when play he will be full alert to play .. and when it is his nap time or bed time.. he will just sleep..

yesterday sumo was so funny.. after finsihing is milk my FIL carried him sitting on the sofa and talking to us.. suddenly sumo was dozing off sitting down.. so funny his action just like an adult catching so sleep on the bus.. when his head drop he got a shock.. but just continue to sleep as usual..

last evening at abt 7pm, my gal started getting sleepy so i put her back into the playpen with pacifier. she was still fussing about. my FIL said she wanna sleep, gotta carry pat pat. i said huh, no need lah. he said like dat faster mah. i was v v tired already, i jus shot back 'u carry lor, i dun wanna to carry.'

have been so busy at work.. not much time to log in and chitchat.
Wow, the gathering seems like alot of fun. My hubbie refuse to go with me & i dun have confidence to bring my DS out alone..very pek chek.

Hi Tracy,
can i see the gathering pics as well? Love to see all the cute cute bbs..

Tracy
thanks.. I received..
actually I really blur.. think kriss sent me also. me never look at the pic yet.
Ya so funny... both gals :p

Re: lubricant...for BD
can use Play from durex... find it better than KY la.

lubricant
Play from Durex dat good ah? Maybe I'll try buying dat one. KY quite sucky leh.. its kinda sticky when dry so makes DB worse once it dries up. As if its not dry enuff down there.. complete turn off. The last few times is hubby got mood but once it starts, I no mood already cuz too much "friction". Haha.

BD & lubricant
very jia lat leh, basically no bd after bb is here. No mood+very tired every day. The 1st few times of BD quite painful, really very dry. We used durex lucbricant previously, not sure if it is Play though

re: sleepsense program

been carrying it out since last thursday. so far so good... at least now dylan dont wake up 2 or 3 times through the night *thank god*

nurse him before putting him to his cot, meanwhile has to make sure he is awake when putting him in. will give him his little pillow for him to hug and pat him a few times before leaving his room. he will rub his face with his pillow and slowly drift off zzzz

last time have to nurse him till make sure he is totally knock out then will slowly and carefully put him to his bed. will wake up a few times though the night and need to nurse and rock him to sleep again..... those were nightmare for me...

now he still woke up and cry, but i dont attend to him at once. will wait for 5 mins and walk in to check on him. normally its bcoz his pillow is not beside him, so i will slowly place his pillow against his face and at once he will quiet down and drift off again. hopefully when he is older he will reach out for his pillow on his own =)

4am plus he will wake up again and i will nurse him (anyway if not i still need to pump out), change his diaper and he will be awake when i put him back to his cot again. after rubbing his face with his pillow, off he goes to wonderland. around 715am he will be up and alert, in a happy mood too.

all thanks to this sleepsense program, im getting more rest now =)
thanks durianlover for sending me this book!

hopefully when dylan reach 6 months, i plan to drop the mid night nursing so he can sleep through the night! *cross finger* haha

have been so busy at work!!

rachel,
glad to hea that your bb not waking up so many times liao. my boy likes to sleep on his side now so sometimes he will make noise when he doesn't get to sleep on his side

swimming gathering
would love to go!

RE:Gathering (swimming)
Where: Waterplace Condo @Tanjong Rhu Road
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday. So more, even better, all bbs can swim...
Time: start coming in at 4.30pm; swim at 5pm+. Not too late cos scared no sun... ?
Food: Potluck or Cater?

Swimming Gathering
1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
4. tracy + HB + BB (not swimming but going)
5. REna + BB + HB
6. rachel + BB + HB (not swimming but going)
7. Cookie + BB+HB ( not confirm if swimming or not)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (if 1st July or later)
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (not swimming but going )
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. MamaChan + HB + BB (TBC, best if end july)
13. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
14. queen + HB + BB (TBC)
15. valerie + HB + BB
16. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
17. MayWong + HB + BB (TBC, not swimming but going)
18. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
19. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)
20. SY + HB + bb (TBC)

but again, Sat is my going back to parents and IL place so need to confirm.

motherhood exhibition
any good deals?

are your babies naughtier when u r at home? my boy is like that...will not sleep and wants to be carried....

rachel,
good for u..i try to keep to routine also, but it gets messed up by my ILs so end up i have to follow their routine, which is carry pat pat. my wrists going to break already lah.

SY,
my baby is naughtier when my hubby is at home. tinks she knows that he will carry her when she fusses. when alone with me, its ok.

tracy
my wrists also breaking. quite a few pple told me they went thru the same thing and it took 6 months before the pain went away. my colleauge told me not to take too much beans stuff.

hmmm, my boy knows daddy will only play and not carry him. only with me, it's carry and carry. cannot even sit to play

sept03bride
your bb quite big right? if carry all the time, hand sure break...

hi sy,
that's why lor. My parents like to carry him around, plus my hubbie cannot bear to see him cry so when he fuss abit, he will carry him liao.
I always scold them.. heehee bad habit.

Rachel,
My boy sleeping routine also quite similar to urs. Have been following sleepsense for abt 1+weeks. Was telling Rena that I was hoping that he will really sleep thru the nite lor! So tat I dun even need to wake up at 2am & 4am/5am. I dun mind waking up at 4/5am to latch bb cos like u, breast will feel full & need to pump. Just wish tat he will at least break the 2am habit.

SY / tracy

the result dont come easy. the first 2 nights really have to be hard hearted and listen to his cry for at least 30 mins... and i can tell you that his cries are those powerful ones! think now he knows even if he cry his lung out also wont be carried and rock to sleep liao...

even thought of letting your bb cry? so the idea then will get into them that they are not the ones in control of the situation. this sounds bad but in the long run, all parties benefits!

tracy

understand on your difficulties to keep to the routine. my mum oso dont accept my way of letting dylan sleep on his own, as she cant tahan him to cry. but when it comes to night time, i will still make sure its carried out with my way. hard hearted mummy and daddy =p

SY

heehee the second photo your boy looks like gal gal. think becoz of the top he is wearing =p

babylon

your email add? i can email to you.

wenyl

me oso wish mine will drop the 12 am plus wake up time. been letting him cry and did not pick him up. hopefully he will get the idea and sleep through that time.

the 2am wake up do you let him cry to sleep?

SY,
wah thats' ALOT of hair! so nice...ur house also v nice leh...u made a platform at ur living room window? sori my k-poh..always wanted a platform at my window too, but windows are at a slant angle so not nice, never do..

rachel,
i've let her cry herself to sleep before when i'm alone at home with her, maybe dats y she knows n she wun demand that i carry her when its only the 2 of us.