(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Cindy
Glad to know things are better now.

u are very rite about the filtering part...
and seriously I think my HB is doing lotsa of the filtering job between me and his mum :p

Kriss
Ok I will monitor, hope she will be better and not leak so much milk with the new teat later on.
Kaelyn also merlion with cough or self choke.. really scary.

sysac
your boy veyr handsome
really mature looking.

Tracy
your dog really sound need attention.. very headache hor...
but at least he/she is not anyhow doing business every where of the house.
I must say it is indeed strong and smart..heehee with the stunt.

RE: taboo abt sleep...
I'm somehow pretty taboo abt saying how well bb sleep.. for fear that bb will become naughty at nite.. although this could be old wife tales but it REALLY can happen sometimes.
Went out with my mum and she started asking if bb sleep thru etc etc... usually when pple ask I would give simple answer like she is ok..

To my suprise, My HB replied saying bb is great la.. she never wake up la in the nite la, not even once.. etc ect.. I stop him from saying further and told him, he DUN remember doesnt mean it never happen because I was the one who feed her when she fuss, he merely make milk and fall back to sleep rite away...
Jsut now bb fisnish milk.. yell and cry and scream for a long long time couldnt get into sleep!!!it never happen before!! she fuss but never like this

Before hand another fuming thing happen, bb just manage to sleep for 20mins when PIL came home, they started pushing/kicking her infant seat where she is sleeping...and started talking loudly around her. bb has no choice but to wake up and my MIL quickly say "Good morning Good Morning" to bb prevent her from sleeping back.I was really mad watching but decide to leave it since feeding time coming soon.

After feed Kaelyn was yelling and screaming for a long time refusing to sleep. She is probably over tired. MIL wanna come into the room to take over the bb, I pretend to not hear her and ignore her. She keep telling me: bb wants to sleep.. OF COURSE !!! she is the one who wake bb up from her sleep.
I was very pissed and told her.. bb did not get enough sleep just now, not sure if she know I actually meant SHE woke her up for no reason.

Finally bb calm down and sleep.. less than 10 mins, she scream and yell from her sleep again wan to be carry. my HB?? sleep on the bed like dead log, dead to bb screaming.. I was soooo angry that I HAD to scold him and get him to settle bb crying
and yes I'm putting blame on him for his "speech" this afternoon.

p/s: for a moment.. I was kinda worry that Kaelyn want my MIL to comfort her and not me. If that happen I will be very very sad...tts why I never and couldnt give up or pass kaelyn to mil. Fear that kaelyn might just calm down immediately. I wonder if I'm a bad mum...
Feel blessed that kaelyn finally calm down in my arms. I think I really need to spend more time with her to strengthen the bond.

paisey.. need to let out steam here again..

cookie
i m the opp of u! my hb is quite taboo abt what we say in front of bb but i m not. i always tell him if we are taboo, then bb will also be taboo abt it. so despite the fact that we always say he's fat, he's still growing fat!

my boy finally flipped! he flipped yesterday and he has been enjoying this new found freedom. he kept doing it the whole day until we are so busy making sure he doesn't break arm or leg...

re bumbo seat
my boy doesn't seem to like the seat much. his thighs are too fat for him to go in and out of the seat properly. how?

cindy
glad things are ok for u. sometimes it is really stressful when parents and hb dun get well. i had that situation a few days ago and was really upset with hb. he knew i was upset and made the effort to call me in the day to ask me abt it. he usually won't call me when he's at work so i m quite appreciative abt that.

dun mind me asking but how's your r/s with your hb?

denmy,
i have PM u regarding the meal planner

re feeding solids
i think my bb wants to take solids. his milk intake has been going down. infact ,he is kind of disliking BM but tkaing FM well. and he will keep staring at our food and will want to eat our food.

can check with you whether you are letting your babies sit in walkers? i thought there's some things not very good abt it? MIL wants to buy one but i m not keen on one.

cindy,

glad that things are right again. ya, sometimes we need to filer things that hb said and things that our parents said. That's what I do. Sometimes I also buy small things, like cakes, etc. for my parents and said that my hb bought them. I think guys are not so thoughtful as girls so I tend to do these things and give my parents a better impression of my hubby. : )

SY
Other things abt bb is ok lor..
Somehow I'm just very taboo talking abt bb sleep..heehee.. maybe I'm phobia from my nite wakening during the intial part and praying every nite I will have good sleep :p
Of course.. I also keep saying bb hair like wire hahaha.. her hair din turn soft either.

re:walker
I also heard something negative abt bb in walker but I cannot remember what.
I have a hand me down walker in the store room too.

cookie,

I can understand how you feel. I also secretly felt happy sometimes that bb wants me and not mil. My mil cannot calm her when she's crying badly.

Hi cookie,

Read from somewhere that having the bb in a walker will actually cause the bb to learn to walk slower cos he can get everywhere he wants with the walker mah.

Cindy,
glad to know that your HB and mom have made an effort to get along... Must let know know that bad blood between the 2 of them will affect baby too. If you don't mind me saying, seems like you and your HB have issues too, better work things out.

cookie,
you are not alone! Now that my MIL is taking care of my boy, I'm also paranoid that he'll eventually be closer to her. When I'm at my in-laws' place after work, sometimes I'll be unhappy if my MIL wants to carry him, whether he's mang zhang or not. But actually my MIL is quite nice lah, she'll always offer to carry him while I eat my dinner and then only after my HB and I have taken our dinner, then she'll eat hers.

Re. Bumbo seat
Bought a 2nd hand one and colelcted it yesterday. Isaac doesn't seem to like sitting in it too long leh... he also has the tendency to lean forward, and worse still start biting the bumbo seat! My HB thinks that we are wasting money getting the Bumbo!

Re. teething
I think my boy is teething cos he's always chewing, not sucking, his fingers. Give him the pacifier, he also don't want. When carry him in shoulder burping position, he'll start 'biting' my shoulder. Think maybe his gums are itchy. Would those teething gel help?

Re. walker
I hear from my colleagues that there are 2 types. One is the usual round kind with wheels wehich we ourselves would hvae probaby sat in when we were young. The other is kind of a push-cart kind where baby needs to push to walk. My colleagues say the pushing kind is better But I have never seen those kind leh... Have you all?

SY,
my Isaac is also very selective nowadays with regards to his milk. Beginning to reject BM more often and my MIL had to replace with FM when he rejects the BM. No problems with FM. Most of the time, he rejects the frozen EBM. He's also drooling a lot and mouthing away when he's at the dinner table with us. Very very tempted to start on the rice cereals, but trying to wait till 3 weeks later. But I couldn't resist buying the Heinz rice cereal yesterday!

Cindy,
Happy to hear the news from u.
Maybe u can spend more time with hubby telling him how u feel when u are sandwich between? Then he will know what to do when he is unhappy with ur mum next time. Cos I told my hubby..no matter how unsatisfied with his mum, I will not scold,shout or reprimand her straightaway. As it is always very difficult to get sandwich between.

Queen,
RE: Bumbo
How much u get it for? I feel like getting one for my gal too. If it is within my budget, I dun mind buying over from u.

RE: Teething
Nowadays Jamie is drooling alot too. She is behaving the same way as Issac. I have noticed one of her tooth is appearing. Bottom left is appearing. But I tot normally is the MEN YA that comes out first??
425471.jpg

RE:Walker
My mum bought a walker for Jamie. It is a 2-in-1. Now she cannot reach the floor yet. So we are using it as a rocking chair first. Here's a pic of the walker.
425472.jpg

tink this is the updated list for the gathering:

1) rena + hb + bb (confirm)
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb (confirm)
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb (confirm)
8) Tracy + hb + bb (confirm)
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb (confirm)
13) God's child + hb + bb

cindy,
glad to hear things are fine now :p

re:walker
there was an article in 'mind your body' couple of mths back. it says using a walker is like forcing ur baby to learn to walk when they are not ready. having a walker also makes them tend to tip-toe. a psychologist i know, says that we should let our babies crawl as long as possible, cos crawling actually trains their motor skills n something in the brain. in fact, he recommends that adults crawl once in awhile too!

my MIL's place has a walker too, but i ready made known v early that no walker for my baby. they wun accept my 'scientific' reason, so i jus gave a silly excuse that walker wait make my gal walk with 'open' legs, not nice. haha, they accepted this reason.

May,
re: bb's milk teeth
yes, the bottom incisors will appear 1st.

Queen,
re: BB walker
Your fren is correct. The push-type will be better. Its normally A-shaped from the side, with an activity centre on it's front. Vtech does a good walker. My elder boy used to have one. Here's a pic I found on the web:
425510.jpg

SY
not getting walker. Hb read that it's harder for bbs to walk by themselves when they hv the walker. also read that its v dangerous for bb.

Hi May Wong,

I am consider to sell off my bumbo seat. (Aqua color). Condition 10/10.
Lightly use and by bb does not seem to like it.

Queen
In fact now that I started work.. not seeing MIL whole day I'm ok with MIL. She is also like your MIL.. will let us eat first to take care of bb, whcih is very nice of her.
When bb not sleeping and wanna play, I dun mind them carrying or play with her lor..
Just when she trying to sleep, dunno why they cannot be considerate.
hmmm... I'm panaroid all the time..heehee.. very insecure mother :p

HI mummies,
Didn't bring my laptop home over weekend and WOW! so many postings. I've confirmed the prices of the jabs at Kidslink. Brought Ariene for her jabs on friday and here's the breakdown :

1. 5-in-1 $105
2. Rotavirus $95
3. Prevenar (pneumococcal) $168

Total $368 + 5% GST = $386.xx

no consultation charges.

wendy,
The pneumococcal is $168 each jab or is inclusive of all the 4 jabs?

re : rice cereal
advice, please. hv u gals started on rice cereal for yr bb? do u mix the rice cereal into milk and let bb drk from milk bottle or spoon feed?

Re:Walker
yep, i read that walkers actually make babies learn to walk the wrong way, and impedes their learning to walk... also, it is extremely dangerous, the most number of accidents which happen to bbs happen when babies are in walkers. I dun mind getting the one that Denmy posted though, as long as we keep an eye on her while she leans on it..

Ok, Rena, I will help to book for 26 adults and 13 baby prams first. The rest, please put down your names or confirm your attendance on the list, thanks!

2) Java + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb (confirm)
13) God's child + hb + bb

Queen,
I also bought a second hand one a few weeks ago. but clariss also don't quite like it. my MIL also don't like it coz she needs to be around when she is sitting in it.
425569.jpg

sorry I can't make it to this gathering. have another gathering at night. don't want to tire Clariss out. you gals enjoy yourselves.
2) Java + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
9) MamaChan + hb + bb
10) SY + hb + bb
11) sandra + hb + bb (confirm)
12) God's child + hb + bb

QUeen, Cookie,
Re: MIL
same feelings as you as well. I dun like seeing my baby happy and smiling in my MIL arms... haha... but another thing I notice is that Shannon is getting very spoiled under the grandparents' care... she demands attention ALL the time... now we cannot even eat in peace with her besides us, coz she wails for attention! The moment we look at her, and talk to her, she stops wailing and gives us a megawatt smile.. aiyah! So spoiled! Yesterday while I was at the zoo, she bullied my hubby mercilessly and kept demanding to be carried and my poor hubby's marshmallow heart just allowed her to wrap him round her little finger... such power for a little terror. Am going to discipline her once I start work, and she is going to think that mummy is a big baddie... sigh.

queen, cookie, sleepingdeer
I think most of us are experiencing the same things. Ariene is also very attention demanding these days. She would cry very longingly for attention and wants to be carried all the time. Consolation is she only wants me to carry her and she'll cry even harder if anyone else (husband included) carried her. Now, my left biceps bigger than right biceps already.

Initially, my FIL would stop eating and go to her and amuse her but she still wouldn't stop crying. Meanwhile, my husband and I would give him the black face and tell him he's not helping with the situation and he'll spoil her. Now, after a few nights, my FIL realised what my husband and I told him is true.. if u don't respond to her cries, she'll stop after awhile. My MIL don't dare to go to Ariene as she "kenna" from me before already.

somehow we mummies are the 'hard-hearted' ones, as we can bear to let the babies cry. same here for me, if she is cranky, i jus let her cry in bed while i standby to pat her. i refuse to carry her. after crying for awhile, she will drift off to sleep. my hubby n PILs different. they insist on carrying her, then they get stuck carrying her for an hour plus!

RE:bumbo

as you all know sumo is big at his thigh but he is quite ok with the bumbo just that cannot sit for too long.. personnaly I found that ht bumbo is good as I can leave him ont he floor unattended and I can do some cooking..

RE: gathering
Sleeping deer, thanks for the booking..

rena,
actually preferably there should be someone tending to your baby when he is sitting in the bumbo. I definitely needs to be around when Clariss is sitting in it. I think she is too slim, so she can push her buttocks up and arch back her head to get out of it when she very bored with the seat. very dangerous.

Tracy, I agree with you. I tried to teach my girl to sleep on her own by putting her on her bed when she is drowsy but not yet asleep. as usual, she fuss and wants to be rocked or nursed to sleep and I refuse to carry her. my hubby can't stand her crying after just 5 mins. very heartache for him. I said that I am going to try the method again when he is off to her few days retreat.

I think my bb enjoy the quality time with me on every weekend.
Sat morning woke up at 6am.
Sun morning woke up at 4am.

And this morning when l left to work at around 7am..he is still soundly asleep.
My hubby was teasing me tat bb would like to spend to quality time me..
OMG..I m lack of sleep now.Sleepy..sleepy

Tracy, Wendy, mongs,
You're so right, the mummies are the hard-hearted ones.. haha... I think it's coz we know our bbs are smart enough to know that when they cry, people will sayang them, whereas others like PIL and hubbies think they are in need of something badly when they wail.

Rena,
no problem, I will book 12 couples first, since Mongs cannot make it...
2) Java + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
9) MamaChan + hb + bb
10) SY + hb + bb

Re Gathering
HB backed out now that its not going to be a Fathers day celebration... he say so funny what is he going to do while all the mummies talk I said just eat n look after BB loh... still trying to persuade him worst come to worst i forsake him n bring my mum instead!! = (

2) Java + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb (confirm)
6) durianlver + hb + bb
9) MamaChan + hb + bb
10) SY + hb + bb

Clarye,
tell him the rest of the daddies also the same lah... my hubby also going to take care of bb and eat while I chat with the rest of the mummies... tell him it's good that Ashley interact with more people..

well clare ,
you tell him that we are doing both together lor..
and let him know that in order for you to enjoy he should be there and it is quite sad tha daddy is not around to carry bb

Hi Sleepingdeer / Rena,
Yah loh i tell him he's not alone wat all other daddies also like that... but i guess very few men would feel comfortable to go out with a bunch of people they dun know... somehow i always imagine if mummies sit in a room with our babies very fast we will all be chit chatting away... but if leave all the daddies in the room with babies... maybe 1 hour later go in still very quiet hahaha.... will try to use "our POOR Ashley..." to bug him again. =OP

Re: MIL

My MIL was at it again! Yesterday, my boy was rubbing his eyes. She said 'oh, think he wants to sleep'. Fine, put him in the cot. Then she kept talking to him and starring at him while he's lying on the cot and said 'eh, he doesn't want to sleep lah'! Hello! Of course lah, kept disturbing him and talking to him, how to sleep.

So irritating. I told her repeatedly to go away and let him sleep but she still hovered over him. Finally have to chase everyone away to their seats while I pat him to sleep. And he fell asleep shortly.

She volunteered to help me babysit my boy. She can forget about it! My hb seems 'sin ruan', wanna let her take care. But no way! With her kind of pattern, my boy will never get to sleep!

A fren gave me a sit-in walker & another fren gave a push walker. Then the article came out in mind your body abt the sit-in walker not being appropriate for babies. Now, it's a white elephant in his room. Cannot get rid of it cos my fren comes over regularly. Will let Cephas use the push walker when he's ready but not the sit-in walker.

Hi cookie,

Kaelyn has really nice hair. Cephas is still growing out his hair. His is really GI-Joe crew cut style.

Think he's starting teething. Now he will attach his gums to our shoulders when we carry him and suck real hard. Can feel his gums moving on our shoulders.

Walker:
my brother also got a used walker from his gf's place for my bb. My mum placed BB inside the walker, and he managed to push a few steps.
I protested to the idea but haiz.. it helped my mum in a way cos she is busy cooking dinner for us, so she cannot juggle. BB seems happy to be inside so we shall see how it goes.

brought BB to the PD for his 4th month jab on Sat. His wt is 8.6kg and length is 64 cm. I'm quite worried cos his neck is not very firm yet. But doc says not to worry, will be firm soon.
Doc also says BB should flip soon.
Also confirm that I will not be starting cereals for my BB now. I have allergies to quite a no of things, hence doc suggest to hold till BB is 6 mths old.

Mashy
hmm.. now I know... it's seems a norm for grannies not letting our bb sleep in peace..heehee

For Grannies who dun see bb often I can understand their action.
But my MIL is the main care giver during weekdays, she is still doing such thing. I cannot comprehend.

RE: pushing walker
I also more pro to the pushing walker.. I saw some selling in dept store, can be use as walker to push and later also a ride on like motor bike.

My mum was telling me she has a walker in her pl used by my niece and nephew now for kaelyn. Next time go her place kaelyn is play with...

Come to think of it.. during our parents time, we would have used those walker before too.

like to share on my past 2 days incident...

had a very tiring and worried sick weekend. last friday after returning from my mum's place, dylan fuss to nurse and as usual i nursed him and expect him to doze off shortly. but he suddenly got serious and let out gas. after checking he actually poo. so start changing him with hb holding on to dyaln's legs, all along he seems happy and kept looking at hb to chit chat.

noticed his testicals shrink till quite small and i even got hb to take a look...... suddenly he just pee and the color of the pee really shaken me! it pinkish brown!! and comes with it some whitish color tissue like particals! i was so scare, for the rest of the night he was abit feverish. 37.1 degree C

Saturady morning... he pooed and its another round of shock to me. his poo is very watery and fill with many white color particals. went to see PD and told him all the things that happened. his temperature was 36.8 degree C. PD said it should be due to teething that his poo is watery, causing his body water content to be low, thus causing his pee to be pinkish. asked us to monitor and if it happen again must go back to him. in the end we still go ahead with his 4th month jab... as PD said its ok to have it.

for the whole saturday and sunday he was cranky and did not sleep well. his milk intake also decrease sharply... from 120ml to as low as 60ml...temperature 37.2 degree C. i did not get any peaceful rest too zzzzzz

thank god today he's back to normal and his temperature went down to 36.6 degree C. but his milk intake still low leh... lucky not more pinkish pee anymore...

Hi Rachel,

What a scare! Glad that Dylan is fine now. Thanks for sharing. Will need to take note of this cos I suspect Cephas is starting his teething period too.

He will kind of "bite" into our shoulders when we carry him. Can feel his gums moving. Previously, he will only "lick" our shoulder.

rachel
37.1C is not feverish. Fever is 37.5C and above right?

Sept03bride
Wow! You baby's weight is good ya? My girl is also 64cm but only 6.3kg, already up 600g from last month!

hi rachel,
must have been a very nerve wrecking wkend for u.
Will every bb go through this phase during teething? It seems very scary.

sysac / mongs / wendy / sept03

now feeling really burn out... but at least now he's ok and i can set my mind at ease.

indeed was a scare for me. really heart pian to see him feeling so uncomfortable. he kept frowning and dont smile or laugh at us those 2 days... sian sian and cranky

yah know that 37.5 and above then is fever but he is hot at touch. especially his whole head and neck area. his hand and feet was very warm too. keep checking his diaper for any unusual color (which im do not want to see) and trying to give him more fluid. still very worried bcoz since his milk intake decrease so is his body fluid......

now start to give him a teether to bite on, he will be very eager to put the teether into his month and bite. i think will possible he will want to put the whole thing it haha. he still cant aim the teether in nicely into his month, so always get angry after a few try..