(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Yuenyuen,
my colleague jus told me she saw this cream sold at Tangs for post-natal stretchmarks. she didnt really get the brand, its like "strid..." located at a counter next to MAC. it's $200 plus per tube but quite big tube, been used by stars like charlize theron, gynweth paltrow etc. if u are considering laser, y not try this cheaper alternative first
they also sell eye-cream, supposedly very effective too.

Rena,
ya, level of hygiene at my MIL's is really bad. i don't know how they differentiate between clean and diry hanky! when i reach her place, i jus pick up all the hankies and dump into laundry basket. that's y my baby always look oily and dirty at the end of day.

Rena - How much is too much? u gave according to the recommended scopes in the instructions? 3tbsp? for me, i only give Celeste 2tbsp cos shes small eater and her milk intake per feed only 90-120ml.

Tracy - Eeks! unwashed bibs are so so so dirty. i had smelled an unwashed bib of a day and it stinks and its sourish!!! from then on, i clear the bibs at the end of the day and put them in the laundry for the maid to wash. tell ur MIL tat they shld be changed daily so as to prevent skin irritation... it reali does!

god's child
m hb thinks i'm too fussy. last evening when my nephew was kissing my gal's hands and feet, i glare at my hb like telling him to stop the boy. m hb jus looked at me and said,'what's wrong.' my hb's family is those who take for granted everything will be alright, until something goes wrong then jus go 'uh oh!'

rachel,
did u order the bumper playmat? hee hee, the guy jus delivered mine to my office. so happy!

Cereal: my boi has 2 small meal of brown rice and he constipated for 5 days... i already stop giving him....
brought the heinz rice cereal to try...

Wenyl - what are the things to prepare to bring bb oversea? how much you spend in perth?
thinking of gg oversea in jun and tot of bring my son there but i scared he will be naugthy as he alway cry before sleeping and wans yao yao... do you think it is a problem?

pochacco,
most of my luggage space is filled with bb stuffs. we brot along all the thicker clothings, thinkg it might be real cold for bb. ended up using a few sweaters only. bring along some of his fav toys. I kiasu, i even brot his blanket & pillow. heehee. we spent abt A$500 over there. mainly for petrol, food & some light shopping.

Krissie
gerald 's rash is due to sensitive skin? so what your PD advise you on to avoid it from coming back? he gave you any cream to apply?

Denmy
think Keenan is ready for semi soild liao bah. since he eat all the amount you gave him.heehee if baby dont want they will normally spit it out one. maybe you can slowly intro like every other day and only one feed. if he really like it then it might be a good sign too bcoz he is willing to eat more =)

Wenyl
i like the smell of vaseline snow! hee, been using it when i was a small kid.

Cookie
sure thing! just let me know if you need help.

tracy
eeee... your MIL so dirty fellow. heehee
my mum is totally opposite of your MIL. she can change 2 to 3 hankies in one day! keep saying dirty dirty, not good for dylan's skin.... i checked the hankie its like only stained with abit of milk leh... anyway she is the one doing the washing, so i dont say too much too. just highlight to her cant be too clean also if not baby resistance to dirt and other stuff will be low...

heehee i actually ordered 2 bumper playmat!! got warning from hb... but told him one put at home and one put at mum's place mah. he cant stand me =p actually its me who cant resist the temperation when saw the playmat so nice and cute!
got 1 delivered to me 1 week ago, have been spreading it out in my living room since it reached. sad to say there are still folding lines leh, but checked with ye ching and she say it depend on how long it had stand folding up. so mine will need longer time lo. today they will deliver another one to my mum's place. so happy! =D

re: flipping,
my gal is going to 5 months in another 7 days but she still has no interest to flip. I am not too worry as it's not a milestone. like for Tracy says, some kids will just sit up like that when they are really. but I do try to put her on tummy so that she will strengthen her upper body.

Tracy
when I go home.. I will also throw all hankies and wore bb clothes into laundry basket to ensure there are daily change of hankies etc..
Sometimes my MIL may not get new hankies from bb drawer also. But got to close one eyes lor, I jsut change them everynite.
My MIL also will use the same hanky as wash cloth to bath bb for few days in a row.. I always need to change the wash cloth regularly.

Rachel
Do you have Yi chen number? I'm still waiting for my Animal bumper mat.. not deliver yet
and I lost her sms message cos I change hp

re: flipping
dylan oso dont seem to have any intention to flip. even if push him to his side also no movement...
so like what many mummies said, no hurry and just let them be. they will know what to do next =)

for me, i totally dont crawl and just go straight to walking. actually its my uncle who keep putting me stand against the wall since i no intention to crawl.... ended up i start walking when im 9 mths old heehee

cookie

tracy gave you the number liao.
think bcoz still waiting for the stock to come in bah. she only contact me yesterday on my dino occupation palymat. give her a ring and check with her lo, she is quite friendly.

re:flipping
one of my fren's PD said most babies will follow parents in terms of when they flip, crawl, stand etc. cos my fren's son only started walking when almost 2yrs old! actually her hb was like dat, that's y.

Hi all - finally went shopping yesterday, after such a long time. Was quite a challenge entertaining baby and trying out outfits at the same time. =)

Baby finally flipped on the eve of her 4th month birthday. Cute. She keeps flipping from her back to her tummy and calling out for help when she gets bored staring at things from that position. hehe...

Took her to the GP for immunisation yesterday morning (she's officially 4 mths old yesterday). So expensive - $195++ for the booster jab and the rotavirus vaccine. Is it about the same range if I go to the PD? We actually had been going to the PD at Mt E, but parking is so tough there that we decided to just go to our GP outside our place. But he doesnt really offer any other advice about when to start solids and all, so now wondering if I should go back to the PD...

Sarah Mae's 7.3kg, is this an average weight? She's been running a low grade fever the whole of yesterday and haven't had much appetite since the jab. So I suppose it's a common thing faced by most of the mummies here no?

Krissie, when my BB was going thru a growth spurt she also drinks like mad during the day. So maybe ur bb is looking for 'comfort food' at nite? =) Try not to let BB sleep too much during the day especially near evening time lor. When u tire the baby long enuf, bb have no choice but to sleep soundly at nite cos too tired mah...

Mummies, what is the basis behind shaving baby's hair at 4 mths? I keep hearing it from everyone, but am choosing not to do it cos I don't believe that BB's hair is dirty. Plus, she has so much hair and looks so cute with long hair that I dont want to make her botak... I mean, y did God give her so much hair in the first place if we were supposed to cut it all off on the theory that the hair is dirty? My hubby is annoying me cos he keeps wanting to cut her hair off... grrrrrr..... >=(

Rachel/tracy
Thanks for the no. I called her.. she will be delivering probably next week
happy happy...

re: bb shampoo and bath
Rachel.. I think so ley, I never see the actual thing but I heard them saying the Green cap and the yellow cap.. so must be the same one.

cookie
i will be buying the shampoo and bath. if really good then will recommend to other mummies =)
btw, checked the price and its resonable.

sandra
have the same thought as you on shaving off the hair. how can baby hair be dirty?! i love touching dylan's hair bcoz its me who gave him this! very fine and soft...
but sad to see everyday that he is dropping quite alot of hair! end up his hair now looks patchy... sigh. so ppl say its better to shave off everything and let them grow evenly. my hb also keep wanting to shave off bb's hair...
since Sarah has thick and beautiful, keep it!! hold your ground! you are her mummy leh =)

sandra,
my gal is only 6.5kg, 68cm a 4mths. so i guess 7.3kg is of a good weight.

i shaved my gal's hair cos anyway she's got little hair. my fren claims that after shaving got nicer hair..not sure how true.

tracy,
my gal's also 6.5kg at 4months

sandra,
i also don't see the logic in shaving the hair, especially if it's some sort of superstitious reason! So i'm keeping my gal's hair as it is even though she's balding.

rachel,
i think i may also buy the Amway baby shampoo and bath to try out since i intend to get some other Amway stuff too!

Re: no poo
my gal hasn't poo-ed for 6 days already. Brought her to PD just now, PD checked her anus and said she's okay. No constipation or anything. It just means that she's been digesting her milk really well so didn't poo. Just leave it and not be too anxious! And she put on 200g in 1 week. So weight gain is still good

durianlover,
can try the 'use cotton bud to tickle anus' trick to see if she poos. they say it works but be prepared for sudden explosion of poo!

queen,

I saw from the other threads that HT and EB's cereals are good ... are they ex? I thot of going to NTUC at J8 to buy HT cereal on sat.

Oh dear. Sounds like my baby is a little overweight... =) I don't think she's very tall - haven't measured, but she looks very short and stocky. Neighbours call her bak yi (meatball).

She's starting to shout alot these couple of days. My galfriend said that babies will start showing their lifelong characteristics from 4 months onwards. I think my bb is bad-tempered like hell. She took all my hb's horrible traits...

Good to know that some of you share my view on shaving bb's hair. Thanks for support - I'll ask hb to go fly kite. =)

sl
dont worry, your little one will know when to do the next step of growing up. and for sure will surprise you and make you feel over the moon!! =D

durianlover
you need any help in buying? since we live so near. i have been using Amway products for quite sometime le.

rachel,

my bb also in patches. She has 3 patches - one in the centre and 2 at the sides. I have actually heard 2 girls commenting one day that my bb's hair style's cool like we purposely cut her hair that way. We didn't! The rest just didn't grow as fast.

Hi Sandra,
funny leh, who gave the idea that bb's hair is dirty? Seems like nonsense to me...
I also did not want to shave my gal, coz she had long thick hair when she was born. Unfortunately, she developed cradle cap, and the hair started falling in clumps, so in the end I had no choice but to shave it off. Dun shave if it's not dropping...

sandra,

If yours is a bf baby then you don't need to worry abt her being overwt. That's what my PD said. We also worried that my gal might be overwt since she's 6.3kg at 3mths - that's more than double her birth wt of 2.8kg. The PD said that since I am tbfing her, it's already. BBies only solely BM lose their fats very easily.

I shaved my gal's hair to make the taimaobi. my idea is to keep the taimaobi for her till she goes to sch then can give her as a first-day of sch present. : )

usually I will give 2 scoops of creal and 1 scoop of milk powder but yesterday I give 3 scoops of creal and 1 and half milk powder.. the scoop is the enfalac scoop...

today I try to follow the instructions on the can but realise that it is too watery and sumo doesn't like so end up threw away..

RE: gathering

so is everyone ok with the gathering??

RE: gathering

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb
13) God's child + hb + bb

Place: phoenix hotel garden cafe
Time: 2.30pm
Price : 19.80 +++ approx $23

Rena, thanks for organising the gathering. Need to check with hb before confirming. Still have to convince (blackmail) him. Let u know soon.

rena

Im on too! thanks
btw, is it better if we state beside our name - CONFIRM? so easier for you to keep track of the attendance?

sl

haha, so cute! must be really cool to have that hair style heehee =p so now your gal's hair is growing evenly liao lo?

HI

ANYONE BUY FISHER PRICE TOYS ONLINE? IS IT SAFE? THE PRICE INDICATED IN THE WEBSITE IS IT IN S$???
IF BUY FROM FISHER PRICE DIRECTLY SINCE LIKE CHEAPER LE. (THAN THOSE SOLD IN DEPT STORES)
ANY ADVICE

Durianlover

Letdown for me is non-existent. What letdown? I manually squeezed all the milk out. Don't even need to look at my boy etc. It's just that with the warm towel and massage, got more milk coming in and more easily.

Tracy,
How true with the milestones... my elder boy actually started flipping at only 5 mths and walking late at 14mths. I didnt start walking until nearly 2 years old

sl,
Keenan's hair also like your girl's: 1 tall patch like grass on top and 2 little patches on the sides...haha

re: Amway baby bath and shampoo
Where can I get these? What's the price like? Is the bath gel a non-rinsing type where we add into the bath water?

denmy
you got to get them through member or you can walk in to their showroom to purchase. if you interested i can find more info and let you know. the price is like $6+ per bottle.

casey
aiyoh! Lisa has such big eye! sweet girl!

DEMNY
my colleague say the shampoo she will wash off in another pail of water..
As for the bath, when her bb is young, she just drop a few drop and non-rinse. now her bb is 21mths, she will rub on body and rinse off.
I believe these shampoo and bath are of PH5.5

Think this Amway product.. hmm.. is somekind of MLM if I'm not wrong.. usually member then can buy.. so can see who si member then buy lor.
Think Rachel hb is member.
My colleagues is member.. so I'm asking her to buy but must wait for her go down and buy cos she will consolidate all the orders to make sure her trip there is not "wasted"

Re. bumper playmat
For mummies who have them, how big is it? Is it good? The price is putting me off a little, my HB sure make a lot of noise. Cos he thinks use ti lam good enough leh...

sl,
yah, thinking of buying the HT / Earth's best rice cereals. Do you think it's cheaper if we do a bulk purchase direct from US and have them ship here via vPOST? Thing is I dunno how much it cost here in Singapore. Thinking of letting my boy try a bit during weekends. Maybe in another 2 or 3 weeks can start to replace one feed daily.

Tracy
Aiyo your MIL really dirty lei, my mum very clean only, sometimes I feel she is too clean, can charge bb up to 7-8 times aday including during the night. A bit of milk on the shirt only, change. so many things to wash.

Queen
Me also using ti lam lei. I tried th biolyn shampoo yesterday, not bad not too oily but since tried only once so hard to comment. SGD38 for 250ml. MIL said it helped her and read from website that it is safe for pregant/nursing mother. I am not sure about the safety of wella hair tonic for nursing mother.

Re : Breast milk
Want to stop pumping BM, so told my mum to slowly start introducing more FM, bb on 50% BM and guess what, she was watching news or some program just now and came to tell me best to give BM till 6 months. Faint.... now want to stop and she said better to give....

HT/Earth's best rice cereals
Missed some of the earlier post. May I know where to get them ? How much is it ? I gave my girl rice cereals (Nestle - from 4 months) but now don't seems to be able to find them as the new tin state from 6 months.

Very tempted to try to give solid so that I can drop one of the night feed, need to recover from panda eye here.

YuenYuen,
This Biolyn shampoo can help with hair loss?
I'm hoping the hair loss will stop soon on its own, but I can't seem to find a lot of replacement baby hair. So a bit worried.
If you still have MS, try to persevere another 2 months. Whatever that's best for your baby!

I also dunno where to get HT/Earth's Best cereals. Can any mummy here tell us?

Hv to let off steam. Bloody mad with the hb today. BB caught the cold from the nephew again (3 times already) *simmer*. So, naturally she's extremely cranky. The stoopid man tried to pacify her by carrying her. But less than two minutes later (when he can't stop her from crying) and was too lazy to find out y she was crying, he started to yell at her to shut up. The poor bb got so scared that she started to cry even harder until no more voice. So poor thing. And he had the cheek to claim that she's old enuf to be disciplined. Discipline?! For what f*** discipline (excuse my language)?! I'm just so angry now - Not talking to him. Sometimes it's hard to figure out how I ever thought he's perceptive and patient etc. Self-centred bugger...

sandra,
cool down....perhaps ur hb did that coz he doesn't know how to deal with her crying? haha. men are not as patient i suppose! i still feel babies this age are too young to be disciplined.

Re: poo
my baby finally poo-ed today. Major one. You can imagine...after 6 days of no poo...it really stinked big time.

rachel,
i'm also Amway member but haven't bought anything from Amway in a long time (think about 1 year already!). But i just checked out the baby bath thing, seems like it's more suited for kids and not babies...so i guess i shall hold my purchase till my gal is older!

mashy,
how come u hv no letdown? Don't really get what u mean....then how to pump if no letdown? very difficult to get the milk out.

yesterday i had to massage breasts n nipple n aerola for like 20mins before i finally got letdown. Super slow leh. Trying to improve on that!

Re: bumper mat
can someone enlighten me on what's a bumper mat? Roughly how much does it cost?

yuenyuen / queen,
NTUC sells HT cereals at ard $6.80. Hard to find EB. EB cost ard $5++. I tink u can only find it in some organic shops, like Supernature in Orchard. But I read that it is always out of stock for EB.

I bot this brand called Bellamy's bb organic oat cereal while in Perth. Cost me only ard S$3.80 per pack. I bot 2 packs only cos I wasnt sure if its good & bb likes it or not. It states for 6mths onwards. Now have to wait for another 4 more weeks.

I m so eager to intro bb to semi-solids cos nowadays he seems to lose interest in BM & whenever he sees us munching our food, he will also move his mouth & salivate.