(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracy

thanks for hghlighting. will go search for one to stand in first before seeing PD this sat. i have a long list to ask him liao.

wendy

check with you hor. you bring your Ariene to Dr Ng at Kidslink right? earlier you mentioned you are charged for $80+ for 5 in 1? he charged me $100+ leh...*scratch head*

rachel,
was about to ask the same question too

Dr Ng also charged me $100+ for 5 in 1 jab.

RE: gathering

DEar all,

let's carry on with the 27th gathering

these are the following who can attend from the previous posting.. venue will be at phoenix hotel garden cafe.. if I am correct.

high tea time 2.30pm

re gathering
i wan to go also but need to know the timing.

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) Celine + bb
12) SY + hb + bb
13) sandra + hb + bb

RE: gathering

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) Celine + bb
12) SY + hb + bb
13) sandra + hb + bb

Place: phoenix hotel garden cafe
Time: 2.30pm
Price : 19.80 +++ approx $23

rena,
i have amended the list as I won't be able to make it. thks!

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb

Hi Tracy,

This is what Cephas has for lunch everyday:

1tbsp of Chor Bi (unpolished brown rice - powder form) with 4oz of water. Stir in saucepan for 3-4mins until it turns into puree state.

OR

3-4tbsp of Heinz baby puree. Heat up & then feed. Will cfm let u later what I usually buy for him. I buy 2 types (Pumpkin/Carrot/Beef & Parsnip something). Cannot remember offhand.

If normal milk feed, he drinks 210ml. For lunch, I will make only 150ml of FM. He will drink it after he finishes his Chor Bi or Heinz food. He's not on any baby juice. I only give him water or FM.

He feeds 4-5 times a day at 4-5 hr intervals. He sleeps at abt 10-11pm until 7-7.30am the next day.

It started out like that since he was 4 mths old. No change. When he turns 6 mths old on 2 Jun, going to introduce a bit of porridge. Cook until puree state with powdered ikan bilis.

Rachel,

My PD gave Physiogel Cream when bb had some rashes on neck. It is hypoallergenic, contains no colourants, no perfume & no preservative. Can be found in pharmacy, like Unity. Cost abt $22 per tube (75ml). Quite effective.

U can get Lactacyd from pharmacy too. Dun buy the feminine wash. Get the normal one. I used it for bb when new born till he was abt 3 mths.

celine,
yup weekdays my MIL place too noisy so the most she nap is an hr. weekends at home, she will sleep like 4-5hrs.

Hi all mummies...been so bz...had diarrhoea yesterday...haha...and guess what...lost 1kg thereafter....

My elder boy was down with a bad bout of gastric flu a week ago...sigh...so....not much sleep in the night...

Just brought the younger one for his 4th month jab...he nw weighs 7.7kg and is 67cm long...

Milk supply
My milk supply only dips slightly when my menses is abt to come...then after the menses clear up...the supply will go back up again....I only manage fo pump twice a day at school....the first pump will yield abt 300ml while the 2nd pump abt 220-240ml...

tracy,
ic... my boy is still pretty much to the Eat, Play, Sleep routine. After he drinks, he will play for 2 hours then sleep for another 2 and the routine goes. This goes on for the day.Nite time he will Eat and Sleep.

re:baby bath and shampoo
Anyone using baby bath and shampoo from Amway ( dunno spelling correct or nite) my colleague not a member of the brand but using it highly recommend it cos her gal use already no long smell sweaty and sour.

krissie
each night he wakes up twice 1a.m. and 4a.m. and I give 120ml each, normally he will drink about 115ml as there is always some left so did not give more.

my elder girl wakes for niggt feed till she is 4 years old despite on solid, i also mix cerel in her last feed of 280ml, she still wake up. If don't give, she will sit up and hit me till i get up to make milk.

was complaining to my mother last night on the night feed and she said it in the genes as i also used to wake up for night feed.

If night feed going to continue till 4 years then means i have not sleep through for 8 years, scare, scare.

rachel, sunny
100+ meh? Maybe I remem wrongly. I need to dig out my old receipts and pamphlet and check. He wrote the prices down on the pamphlet.

Wenyl,
Yes, you are correct. So Keenan has a total of 3 jabs. Whereas my elder boy (6yrs old) only has 1. My previous PD charged $175 and this present one is $170, not much diff in price but this present one doesn't charge consultation fee, which does amounts up...

Rachel,
Could it be ezcema? Like what Cookie suggested, you can use Lactycyd or Oilatum for bb's bath, instead of the regular soaps wich can be quite harsh. For over the counter cream, u can try E45. I used to use that for my elder son when he was BB, together with Oilatum for his baths.

Sunny,
Can put a few drops of Karvol or Oilbas onto a tissue and either place tissue in bb's pillowcase or anywhere near bb so he can smell the vapour. It's got eucalyptus content in them. With Oilbas, u can even use direct on skin or in baths. Can get at pharmacies.

Re: amt of lactacyd to use.
Rachel
the instruction say pour 1 cap of the wash into the bath tub with water..
Iknow so mummy pour only half cap..
I pour 1 cap so mine use finishes very fast...

After his 4th mth jab and pnuemococcal jab 2 days ago, Keenan seems very lethargic and lost his appetite. He was a little warm yesterday and I gave him some paracetamol, afraid tt it might be the onset of a fever. He slept more than 12 hrs last night from 8.45pm to 9am this morning... direct latch in the morning and mid-morning. Couldn't finish his 250ml of FM at 1.30pm (only took 120ml), now struggling to feed him 220ml of EBM... he seems to be rejecting this feed altogether. Any bb's like that after a vaccine?

Yuen Yuen,
hahah so funny when u say your daughter will sit up n hit u until u go make milk in the middle of the night... so is your mother secretly laughing now that her daughter's daughter is doin the same thing as what her daughter did to her??? haha...

cookie / wenyl / denmy

thank you so much for the advise and information! will get it on my way home today. xie xie! =D

denmy
im not sure whether is it ezcema leh. hopefully just normal heat rash...

cookie
my hb is a member of Amway. but im dont know they sell baby product leh, haha. but i must say their product is good bcoz been using their facial face, shampoo and others. if you want i can ask my hb to buy for you. jus let me know =)

queen,

my ms has been dipping too. Think it's because of stress and irregular pumping schedule. When I first went back to work, I can have 3 -4 letdowns during 1 session, now at most 2 letdowns. I am thinking of pumping at 3am again but really need to sleep now that I am working. Not sure how to improve the situation also. Especially when my gal's only 4 mths. I need my ms to be enough to feed her for at least another 2 months.

re: cereals

i think there's brown rice cereals that you can try.

denmy
i understand that baby after jab normally will be abit lethargic and lost appetite. will sleep more too. did he have fever after you gave him paracetamol??

they will sleep more in order to build more anti bodies to fight the virus. mine slept alot after his first jab at 3 months, abit stone stone too. try monitor and if his condition dont get better, give your PD a ring lo.

wenyl,

did you enjoy yourself in Perth? I also thought of bringing my gal somewhere but she's a cranky baby so afraid that she would tear the plane apart with her screams ...

Re : Gathering on 27th May

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb
13) God's child + hb + bb

Thanks Rena for being co-ordinator again!

denmy,
my gal was extremely tired after her jab on monday too. she slept for 5hrs straight upon reaching home. but come evening, she became super hyper-active. didnt sleep till 1am! she felt alittle warm, but i took her temp it was normal so i didnt give any med.

the next day she's back to normal.

Rachel, Tracy,
he only had 40ml of EBM, wasted 180ml...tried latching him on also reject! And you know what? I mixed a little of the leftover EBM with 1 tblspn HT Brown Rice Cereal and try to feed him... he gobbled all up!!! And he cried for more....so i mix another spoonful and he finished 1/2 the amount. What's happening? Does that means he is ready for semi-solids already? He sucked on a banana yesterday when I put it at his mouth.

mashy & queen,
thanks for the tips on how to get letdown. i shall try.
Am really hopeless at it! Must train my mind to relax and get letdown.

Janelle hasn't poo-ed for 5 days already

Clare
Ya.....my mum told me that I was a hungry bb, there was once, in the middle of the night, when I was about 4 months, after drinking 200ml of milk still crying, she don't know what to do so bring to hospital. The doctor looked at me, make 200ml of milk, gave to me and I slept soundly after that. Guess both my kid got my genes. die lai.

Wendy
Flipping - my bb also same same, don't know how to flip back and yet still want to flip on tummy, everytime need me to help him back and he even find it fun. He also attempt to move by bending his head and push forward, something like the motion of a worm. Can still move forward but I worry that he will have flat nose in future.

sl,
When I first returned to work, I could get 2 letdowns within 20 mins and per pump can get about 220ml. Now I could only get 1 letdown for a 30min pump, thoguh stil lbe able to get about 200 - 220ml. Only recently, drop to 180ml. My boy's intake has increased from 110ml to 140ml, so not enough already, so with my current MS, only enough for 4 feeds, sometimes only 3 feed. I have to do a midnight pump to get the 5th bottle for his day feeds. Good thing that he skips the midnight feed nowadays, so still can pump out for the next day.

Denmy,
my boy goes for monthly jabs at the polyclinic and he gets fever everytime. Yah loh, he will be sian sian, feeding also half-hearted. Will also cry. Very heart pain to see him when he has fever.
I just closed the Old Navy Spree. Placed orders liao... maybe next time?

Re. brown rice cereals
Been thinking of getting Earth's Best or HT. But they are a bit pricey. Is Nestle good enough? I see that Nestle's Brown Rice cereals is recommended from 6 months and above only.

sandra, durianlover,
thanks for the compliments!

durainlover,
maybe u try hand express? massage the nipples first and then press on the ducts. i find that hand express first helps to get better let down.

denmy
nope i din shave him. as long as his hair not dropping, i m not planning to shave him. only let him trim his hair

which PD u brought keenan to?

krissie
my schedule is similar to yours. i get up and pump and my boy also gets up at 4/5am recently. worse, yesterday he got up at 4,30 and refuse to sleep...

Queen,
Aiyo, I actually have a list ready but thought I'd come later to order.... let me know if u are doing it again, k?

SY,
It's Dr. Sim at Elias Mall...

Rena,
re: gathering
So sorry... I cannot make it if it's 27th May. Bringing my elder boy to a kids SSO concert...heehee

queen
I read that nestle cereal is sweeten, might not be too good for babies in case they develop sweet tooth in future.
Earth best and healthy times seems very popular with mummies in this forum.

Re: MIL
Sigh.. just now came back was talking to MIL and ask her if bb any sign wanna flip. I told her when bb awake in the afternoon, dun always put in bounce can put her on mattress so she can try to do stunt... must give her opportunity to explore abt her body. Always put on bouncer or infant chair very restrictive.

MIL told me.. oh dun let her flip so early!!.. I was like huh? then she say by rite it's abt time she should be flipping now... then say if she start to flip now must always flip her back, troublesome la, then maybe she will regurgitate milk la, put her on mattress she will roll to the floor etc ect...then started give reasons blah blah..all trying to justify not to let Kaelyn flip.
In the end still say : I see kaelyn is the kind who dun wanna flip and go to sit up straight away kind.
hmm. I was a bit no happy lor...I think we should at least let bb try on their own and let them decide what they wan.
Sometimes I really cannot tahan my mil.. just becos in her mind she dun seems to wan kaelyn to flip.. she just come up with reasons to oppose flipping.. and yes I do know every bb develop differently but she has been using this reason to justify things she dun wish to happen in my bb...

Rachel
my colleague higly recommend their baby shampoo and bath lor.. so I thinking of trying after I finish my lactacyd stock.

Thanks for the offer but 2 of my colleagues are members so will be easier to get them to buy I think. Incase I need your help will you know

Rachel,
No prob. If its due to minor heat rash, u can use Vaseline snow (Xue Hua Gao). It helps for my bb. Cheap & effective too.

sl,
Mine is also a cranky bb, especially nowadays, he has a bad habit of crying before falling asleep. The trip is both tiring but filled with nice memories for hb & me. We knew we wont enjoy ourselves if we leave bb behind. So we made up our mind to Just Do It. BB did crank abit on flight (not due to ear pressure but I tink due to confined space). I tried to make him comfy & lie him down on the empty seats, propped with pillows & blankets. In Perth, the weather now is very cooling & bb enjoyed being outdoors. He easily falls asleep on his stroller without much fuss.

Cookie,
no lah, i just talk to visitors at the zoo, tell them more about the animals and conservation.. occasionally get to carry an animal around to show to visitors and let them touch etc... Been doing it for 6 years liao... it's my break from the stressed work life I have... hee hee...

Your MIL really very stubborn. If it were me, I sure black faced, the baby is MINE what, whatever I wanna do with her, it's MY choice!... grrrrr.... oh ho.... Maybe ask your hubby to tell your MIL again a few days later? Anyway, Kaelyn is still the youngest of the lot here, so dun worry, she have plenty of time...

Yuen Yuen, Wendy,
Shannon only knows how to flip from tummy to back, she has no interest in going back the other way... lazy gal...

Wendy Ng,
thanks for the reminder to lower cot level... I have been thinking of doing it, but have not got around to it yet... better do it this weekend...

Denmy,
maybe Keenan is getting ready for semi solids liao?

Rena,
I'm ok for 27th May gathering... when are you booking?

rachel
the rash sounds like gerald's rash. PD says is sensitive skin. not sure what trigger it though. can be anything.

sunny
nose drops to dry the mucuous. but, got from PD.

sunny,
my gal jus took her 2nd dose of rotavirus vacc. took together with her 4mths jab.

sleepingdeer,
so interesting to volunteer at the zoo! it's good to do something u like to keep yourself sane sometimes.

Denmy,
maybe he's ready for solids. since he enjoys it and no allergies to it, why not go ahead. better than him not drinking milk at all.

cookie,
my gal is now 4mths 1wk, she hasnt flipped too and gave up trying to flip. few weeks back she flipped once and that's it. she didnt wanna do it anymore. i jus let her be. but it's true some babies dun flip but go ahead to sit up. i'm living example
i flip once or twice, then sat up. i didnt crawl too, jus pushed myself on my butt to get around then at 9mths i walked..hee hee..me weirdo.

tracy/sleeping deer
My MIL is ok lor.. I mean now that I start see no evil, hear no evil adn I also appreciate her help with kaelyn.
It's just that sometimes I cannot tahan, when she set her mind on soemthing, she jsut come out with lotsa excuses or reasons to try to justify she is rite.
For all i wan.. is just let Kaelyn be natural and do what she wants. If she is really not flipping and proceed to do other stunt so be it. Just dun fix for her lor. Thats how I feel.

Thanks tracy.. my freind also told me her bb.. at 6 mths, crawl, sit, stand all come together

sleeping deer
It's really interesting!! your zoo duties. I didn't know got sure volunteer duties gng about..wow.

cookie,
MILs got their own mindset..haiz. my MIL likes to deny. my hb has told her umpteen times to make sure the boys dun throw stuff into Megan's cot cos she might jus put it into her mouth. we still find small toys inside her cot and when we point out to MIL, she jus said,'huh, is it?' then giggle.

last evening i found an "incredibles" toy and the cane inside.
kao_frustrated.gif

and the hankies n bibs used 2days ago not washed, jus left inside the cot. *faintz*

sleepingdeer ,

could you help me to book? for 13 couples so far..

thanks a lot..

RE: eating toes

my boy still can't flip but has started to hold his legs up and try to eat his toes..

RE: rice cereal

yesterday, I give bb too much cereal that he refuse his milk.. drank only two oz or 60ml from 1.30pm to 8pm.. then he took 150ml at 8pm and sleep till 5.30am...now is already 10am he still hasn't call for milk yet...

RE: MIL

Tracy, your MIL like very dirty one leh... will she use back the unwash hanki?????
MY MIL also one kind too.. when my niece sneeze so many times on my son she just laugh and the girl will also laugh then when I told her off she just sya that the niece is not having flu so its ok.. oh my god.. not only my MIL, my SIL also like that..why they dun teach the little manners