(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi mummies! Happy Belated Mothers' Day!
Sooo many postings! I m still trying to catch up with the readings. I just came back from Perth yesterday. Celebrated Mother's Day there with bb & hb. Very tired but memorable.

I didnt bring my Medela pump along, tinkg tat bb will latch on direct (which he normally does at home). But on the 2nd day, while we were travelling in the car, bb refused to latch on & started wailing in the car! I had no choice but to hand express out the BM for the 1st time. I never tried hand expressing before. Man! After 10mins, my poor hands were aching like siao & breasts so sore. As we drove passed a dairy farm, my dear hb can still joke tat I should say "HI" to the cows! Arghhhh!

Hi gals, have been so sleep deprived today. Baby got up at 3am till 6 sumtthing - crying and grunting nonstop...think she's having some colic problems. Dunno y. Thot they outgrow it by 3/4mths? Anywayz, crossing my fingers and hoping that it'll not happen again tonite.

May: U mean it's ok to take diet pills whilst BFg? I asked my doc b4 and he said best to wait till we stop BF. I'm also dying to lose at least 5kg.

SY,
ur Jing Heng so cute! And he's grown! And still got sooo much hair!

Wenyl,
wow so nice to go Perth!
Well but at least u managed to hand express

queen,
yes agree u do look slimmer in that pic as compared to previous pics that u posted. Hv u been losing weight?

Re: no letdown
i think i'm the only mummy here who cannot get a letdown during pure-pumping session. i can't get letdown - regardless of whether ducts are clogged or clear. I can only get letdown when baby latches on. It suddenly occurred to me yesterday that i shd train myself to get letdown without having baby to latch on...if not i can't be away from baby for too long leh! Since i can't pump anything out

Queen,
Keenan doesn't like frozen BM also. Like Isaac, he prefers fresh or chilled EBM or direct latch. My mum tried mixing 100ml of frozen EBM with 150ml of FM yesterday for his afternoon feed and he onlly drank about 100ml after much struggle...
btw, isaac does look like you a lot...

SY,
your boy still got lots of hair... u didn't shave him?

Mashy,
re: swimming logistics
my hb will bring bb into the pool and I'll standby and when he's ready, take him straight to the house to bathe. Yes, he'll be hungry after his bath. Think becos it so happened to be his next feed anyway and plus swimming, so extra hungry.

Wenyl,
So nice... can go Perth. So funny, the way you described how you hb as you to say "hi" to the cows...lol

I took Keenan for his 6-in-1 yesterday. He also had his 2nd pneumococcal jab. Stopped the Rotavirus despite after having a 1st already. Consulted the PD, he also felt it's not that essential for the Rotavirus. This time I went to a different PD at Pasir Ris... He so nice and patient, unlike the previous one. Anyway, Keenan is 8.8kg at 4.5 mths.

re waking up at night
my bb used to be able to sleep thru, then started waking up once each nite at 4/5am since he fell sick that time, then got stuck with the habit. Now, even worse, these few nites started waking at 1+am too.. I really cant take it anymore.. wonder if it's due to the dream feed that we started giving him recently... HELP!! then, i need to get up to pump, only sleep for a few hrs each nite.

sandra
u said sometimes your bb wakes up for feed during growth spurt, does your bb wanna drink more in the day too? my hb also says growth spurt. but, i dun think so leh, coz he doesnt drink much in the day leh.

Cass
congrats.. how long is your hb posted there?

cindy
can try giving your bb water when he wakes up. that's how we train him to drink water.. last time he also hates it.

Good morning, ladies!

Did anyone watch the news last nite? My hb says they mentioned something abt pneumococcal jab. I missed it cos was on the net. Anyone who saw..... care to share wat the news talked about??

Ethan havn't had tat jab yet. I was tinkg of letting him take it after 6 mths or 1 year old.
He is going for his 5th mth jab this sat.

Denmy,
Keenan 8.8kg already? Tats heavy! I tink Ethan still hovering around 7kg. Weight gain has slowed down. Probably due to his lack of interest in milk sometimes.

wenyl
it stated that the jab can prevent 87% of getting pnuemonea. and kids below 2 yr old is at high risk. the viro can cause death within 1 week. so worried...

anyone know how much does it cost to have this jab?

May/Durianlover/Denmy,
I dunno whether I have been losing weight leh...
my last weight measurement was months ago when confinement just ended. That time still have about 4kg to lose to pre-preggy weight. Now dunno got lose more than 4kg or not. Also dunno why I look so slim in that photo, think maybe it's the angle which the photo is shot lah... I don't think I'm that skinny. But might have lost a bit more weight cos TBF and daily food intake has not increased much.

durianlover,
read that letdown is a confditioned reflex. You are right to say that have to train yourself to achieve letdown. What i do is whenever I latch Isaac on, I take deep breaths to bring on letdown and during letdown, keep taking deep breaths. So when I'm pumping at work, if have difficulty achieving letdown, I'll do deep breathing and after a while, letdown will come.

SY,
your boy has really grown!

So chubby. I wish my Isaac can put on a bit more weight. Think he's still below 7kg and already 5 months liao.

Denmy/Wenyl,
Heard from the radio news that the pneumococal vaccine is just being introduced and doctors recommend that babies (especially those who have closecontact with a lot of babies). The virus is something like the flu virus and is spread through droplets. Serious complications can lead to brain damage and death. Think can consider getting the vaccine.

Krissie,
When your bb wakes up, is it for milk or comfort or just maybe stirring?

MOrning mummies,

Y, durianlover,
no lah, I volunteer at the zoo once a month

Durianlover, will pass your 2 tonight, will sms you where to meet...

Y,
can, the carpark right next to the MRT station right? 330pm on this Sunday ok? You have my HP number right? will sms each other k?

Krissie,
hopefully this is just a phrase that our bbs are going through with right now... my mum says that they will change their habits every 3 months. My gal always wants people to rock her to sleep, very bad, I dun even know when it started! My gal also wakes up at about 3am to 4am every night too... we are all panda bears!

Denmy,
wow, Keenan is heavy weight man! 8.8kg! I think my gal is only 7kg max!

SY,
your boi so much hair, and so vivid features! Handsome boi!

i tink the jab cost ard $190 each. Got to take 2 jabs if taken after 6 mths old. 1 jab if taken after 1 yr old. If less than 6 mths, its 3 jabs!
Is it right, Denmy?

May,
Thanks for updating. Can u change Ashley's milk to "BM/Enfalac A+" pls?? Thanks! = )

Re: pneumococal vaccine
Sounds so serious oh... think i'll better check with the polyclinic when Ashley goes for her next 5-in-1 Jab on 1 June.

Re Routine
Mummies who have started BB on routine... HANG ON!!! It is only natural that BBies will not get used to the routine immediately... it may take days or weeks but once they realised that its gonna be a consistent routine they'll get used to it... consistentcy is the key!

Re Waking up at night
Ashley sleeps through the night most of the time but if I realised she has "signs" of waking up in the middle of the night I will quietly walk over, stick her choot choot back into her mouth n place my hands on her chest n arms to calm her down... very fast she'll just drift back to sleep. Try not to switch on the light, talk to her, carry her or let her see you. Sometimes she will also cry a little bit but her eyes still closed so i figured she must be having nightmare hee hee... hmm... i wonder what do they dream?? Milk bottle empty?? hahah...

need advice/ encouragement for dipping MS..

If my MS dipping quite a bit recently cos of work and stress, so was wondering what I should do to tahan a bit more till baby 6 months. But each time can only pump very little, so each day only have enough for 1-2feeds excluding direct latch. I usually need to top up with previous Frozen EBM.

If I increase my pump intervals, I can usually pump more, but in the long run this will affect my supply right? So, I'm at a dilemma about whether to pump longer and fewer times and slowly just let my breast dry up...

Those of u feeding formula/ with low MS, if I stop pumping do I need to do it gradually or must cut down the pump frequency bit by bit..

Good Morning!

ystrday started my gal on 180ml per feed and as expected, she dropped the night 'dream' feed. so basically, the total amt she drinks stays the same. (180ml x 4feeds vs 140mlx5feeds)

her last feed ystrday was 6.30pm. and she could sleep from 9pm till 7am this morning b4 asking for milk. good for me that dun ve to feed her at night. but my plan of increasing her weight by increasing the amt of milk will prob not work. but i'll try this 180ml feed for a month, weigh her then see how b4 intro cereals. maybe with longer period of sleep she will increase more weight.

durianlover,
you must find another way to achieve let-down. wat queen suggested was good. for me, my let down is take out bra. once i take out bra, it rains milk, which means i cannot try bras before buying!

last night my gal was acting cranky b4 going to sleep at 9pm. my hb volunteered to carry her, but she kept crying and spitting out her pacifier. the sad thing was my hb lost his temper at her. when she spit out her pacifier for the 4th time, he raised his voice at her and said,"how many times you wanna do this!"

i told him calmly to pass her to me then ask him go take a bath. he stomped off angrily. when he return, he tried to make-up for it, talk to me while i was still carrying bb to sleep. i jus shook my head and signal him to go away. once baby was put back into the cot, i told him that she's only a baby, that's no way to treat her no matter how frustrated you are. the more angry u r, she will also feel frustrated. besides, if u lose your temper at her, later u will regret n feel so bad but u can't undo wat u ve done.

SY,
how do u not pump during work hours? i'm thinking of doing that too and jus pump in the morning and night at home.

wendyl
welcome back.. wish I could go perth too!

Sleepingdeer
Very interesting.. you volunteer to do what with the Zoo har? kaypo kaypo
next time when kaelyn bigger think I wanna let her be "friends of Zoo" heehee... let her see more animals

tabbiesus,
I think my milk supply is dropping as well. the worse thing is that most of the time I am already pumping at 3hrly interval in the office so I really don't know how to increase my ms. probably I will go back to fernugreek.
Personally I think you should increase the frequency if possible to increase your ms. anyway, it's just another 1 and half months before your baby turn 6 months old, right?
another thing, to let your breast dry up is to pump out only half of the amount and gradually reduce the amount pumped. stretching the frequency but still pumping the same total amount will affect the ms but the weaning will be slow.

shall we carry on with the gathering at 27th may? let me know you interest so that I can book the place.. mostly will be ath phenoix hotel..

hi mummies .... u may 1 2 chk tis website
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/health/view/208539/1/.html

it on birth spacing...... if u 1 a 2nd or 3rd child soon :p

cracky bb
my son thes 2 nite... wil wake up ard 4+am screaming n screaming .... cnt pacify him .... hv 2 kep rocking him til he quiet....dnt noe whether he having nitemare or nt

sleepingdeer
wil collect e bimbo frm u at clementi any day.... juz let me noe e timing.... pls beep me at 96949695 as may nt cm in ltr. thks

durianlover

Try using hot towel before pumping. I find that it helps. Also massage as you pump. Squeeze your breasts.

Yen Ping taught me how to get let down by massaging.

1) Use both hands and cup the top and bottom of breast and massage sideways.

2) Use both hands (thumbs up) and massage breasts up and down.

Repeat.

3) Use fingers shape to U and squeeze and rub nipple. Very painful hor. Then shape C and do the same thing.

Repeat

3) Use fingers shape to U and rub the areola. Change to C.

Repeat.

4) Thumb on top, finger at bottom of breasts, rub and push out (like Mamet hand express)

5) Do sideways

Repeat.

The nipples should be clear and the milk should shoot out. If not, repeat.

hi may,
my son's DOB shld be 19 Jan, not 14. Paiseh, blur mummy here, gave the wrong date! :p

tracy77,
so envious that u bb can sleep thru. my boy still can't. wonder when can i have a peaceful nite....

celine,
hang in there..he will eventually sleep thru the nite, jus a matter of time. my bb sleeps thru the nite cos she doesnt sleep in the daytime, the most only 1hr of nap. so daytime have to spend time entertaining her.

advise pls! dylan been having serious rashes! it started from his neck, now its been spreading to his chest, left side of his cheek and this morning discover his scalp also kena! so heart pain to see the redness, like vy itchy and raw..... observed he also started to scratch his ears, then realise there are also rashes behide his ears!!

have been applying powder as often as we could. earlier had tried applying nappy cream and it helps but thinking he might touch the areas with his hands and suck his hands. in th end stopped the nappy cream but its been getting worst.

think its also due to the super hot weather... how??

Rachel,
I think it's best that you bring dylan to see a PD. my baby also used to have very bad rashes. need to apply 3 types of cream and take antibiotics. if your baby scratch too much, may break his skin and get infection. better stop it soon.
did you start giving him solids? or other stuff that is besides his norm?

anyone's bb kena running nose b4? other than seeing doc and give bb med, what are the things we can do to relieve their blocked nose?

pneumococcal jab
I remem my pd only charged me abt 130+ for it. rotavirus is 95, 5-in-1 is 80+. on top of this, he didn't charge me consultation. Just charged for jabs & panadol only.

Sunny,
I've never experienced it before but My aunt said she put some vicks on her "upper" breasts so that when latching BB on, BB will also smell the vicks n help to clear the blocked nose... i also remember bathing time my mum will add few drops of "eculypus" (aiyo dunno how to spell) oil into my bath water whenever i have flu/cold. Smells quite strong but quite nice actually... mum already bought 1 bottle stand by during my confinement days but till now still haven use before hee hee...

mashy / mongs / tracy

dont think its allergy. bcos beside his milk and water, nothing is given to him. and im very careful with my diet too, did not take crab or sotong etc. so cross my finger hoping its just heat rash... or is there any cream i can buy off shelf that is safe to use on baby?

will be going to PD this saturday for his jab. so have to ask him to tahan for another few days... me bad mummy...

tracy, did not use the baby oil after last sat massage session leh...

cookie, where can i get lactacyn? me sotong no idea what is it. how to go about using it? drop a few drop into the bath?

sept03bride
wow, your bb is really big man.

Tracy
400gm seems qt a lot leh.. how much then is enough to not need to feed solids? Friscream has sucrose. Pic of dylan and megan is so cute.. like dating.. haha..

Yuenyuen
My boy is also like your boy, wakes at 1+am and 4+am.
Last nite, my boy woke up 2x again.
sob sob... how much do you give him each time? 120ml each feed?

Hi SY,

Yr handsome baby still has a lot of hair! Cephas is still growing hair

Hi Conz,

Thanks for the interesting article

Those who are feeding their babies Similac, how is it. I was given a small can by the company to try when Cephas turns 6 mths. However, he is drinking Nan (by NUH) now, I was thinking of continuing with Nan 2 when he turns 6 mths. Dun know if I shd try how Similac. Nowscouting around supermarts of what FM for him to con't on.

Cephas took his 1st dose of the Pneumoccocal jab in Apr. He has 2 more doses to take. If rem correctly, it was $155.

Hi Rachel,

Cephas has some rashed 2-3 weeks ago becos of the weather. On top of putting the Milderma powder (bot at Chinese Medical Hall), we asked a Pharmacist & was recommended Derma-aid. U may wish to try the cream.

tracy

megan so guai. can sleep through the night =)

dylan been getting up twice, somethime even more than that! try giving him more during his day feed but the most he want to take is still 120ml per feed... sigh. daytime he also dont sleep much leh.

had print out and even go bind the sleepsence book durianlover email me. its hundred over pages! last night only manage to finish 8 pages before Z monster came attacking me again. dont know when i can finish reading and start applying the sleeping method on dylan...

krissie,
i dunno if 400g is considered alot or not, cos i based on her previous weight gain, it was 1kg per month. i also dunno wats the ideal weight gain, but i'm thinking of delaying the cereals till 6mths. in the meantime, i will monitor her weekly weight see if got increase. i guess as long as got increase is ok?

oh frisocrem got sucrose? then i guess i'll get the Healthy Times, Heinz of Gerber. these dun ve sugar. i wanted to buy one pack to standby but my hb said no. haiz..

rachel,
i guess can go pharmacy ask them to recommend a cream for temporary relief of the rash to tahan before going to PD.

i tink someone mentioned if the baby starts to have more wakeful nights means time to start solids? maybe thats why most of the babies here starting to wake up at night. should check with your PD this sat.

sysac,
Cephas has started on solids right? can share how u started it?

is it mix with every feed of EBM and one feed of the cereal itself in the afternoon? with intro of cereal, will they drop one feed of milk?

Extracted this from the baby centre. Info for mummies who are eager to start babies on solid foods.

Starting solids later may cut down on possible allergic reactions, and ensures that breast milk or formula won't get crowded out of your baby's diet. And if you're hoping that eating solids will help your baby sleep through the night, studies have shown that you can't count on that happening.

flipping
Nowadays, my gal keep flipping about, its hard to keep her on her back cuz the moment I turn around for a sec, she's on her tummy already. She gets tired after a few minutes and start crying and keep kicking her legs to flip back but cant, so I turned her back on her back. But, when she's back on her back, she flips around again and start crying again. So funny.

Reminder to lower cot
Just lowered my cot to the next step last night as I'm afraid my gal will fall off her cot while flipping cuz her legs are really long and can go over the edge of the cot at sides. Mummies who have not lowered their cots yet, better do so before any accidents happen. Better be safe than sorry.

Cot mobiles
If your cot is not lowered, you may want to consider removing ur cot mobile so I caught my gal pulling and kicking the mobile as she is tall enough to reach it already. You wouldn't want your moblies to fall off and let your baby start chewing and swallowing it as the parts are quite small and may choke the baby.

sunny,
Eucalyptus oil is an essential oil but it is supposed to be administered with care as it is poisonous if ingested as essential oils are 100% pure essense. In fact, it is best to avoid using such oils for babies as the concentration is too high.

Also, if you're seeing Dr Ng at kidslink as your PD, you can ask for the pneumococcal jab from him. His charges are comparable to my GP downstairs so, I still bring Ariene to him if she needs to see a doc.