(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sandra,
My girl is only 1 day older than urs, 16Jan. I dunno how I'm gonna wean her off the breast cuz she's so addicted to it. Sometimes, if I happen to come home while my maid was halfway through feeding her, she'll stop feeding from the bottle and anticipate latching on with a big grin on her face. How can I reject letting her latch on? I'm also not very keen in weaning her off the breast yet but come next semester, I won't be able to go home at 2pm everyday anymore. So sianz just thinking abt it. The moment I mention I want to take unpaid leave, my husband show me the black face. I'm just so tired...

rena,

so sorry!!! i work till 9pm yesterday and totally forgot abt collecting the bumbo till 12!!! Did you wait long for me?

thanks for offering your pump! aren't you using it? i just sent my pump for repair... the cover replacement costed me $65 and they found some faults with the motor parts which they will repair and charge me!! Btw, those with PIS, the lady told me that the warranty doesn't cover motor - don't know what they warranty then. : (

sl,

I waited till 8 plus.. since you did not call so I went back...

I am not using as I stop breastfeeding three weeks after birth...

RE: gathering

This gathering came as we wanted to celebrate mother's day .. not sure if it is still on? if not I may want to organise swimming for bb instead...

at times i think it is good to have a gathering like this.. mothers especially SAHM should have social life too

1 of my client yest said tt she is feeding her son of 3 mths apples/papaya juices since 2 days ago.....she confirmed w her pd .... v shock! bb so young k drink meh??? any1 going 2 c pd k confirm tis??? thks

rena
k bring bb 2 swim??? me realy 1 2 bring my son along bt a lot of aunties said bb v young shouldnt bring 2 e pool as lot of virus leh esp in public pool.... wher u bring ur bb 2 swim???

wendy
my hubby also gav me black face when i mention 1 2 resign so tt k fully bf my son
tink e guys nvr understand ......

wendy&sandra
better 2 test.....who noe...in another 9mths ur bb hv another siblings :p

Connz,
i'm seeing PD on Monday. Shall ask abt fruit juice. the last time i asked him abt solids, he said if i want, can intro cereal into the milk already. he emphasize "if only i want", otherwise not necessary.

my MIl yesterday pinched a small pc of fish for my gal to taste, my gal jus kept it in the mouth to taste, then spit it out. maybe dunno how to swallow yet :p

Hi Tracy, mine's natural. Got epidural, but didn't work after 1 hour. Apparently, I'm one of the few who's body is resistant to the epidural drug - worse thing is that they injected me with another drug to quicken the contractions and induce the labour thinking that the epidural worked. I almost passed out from the pain... =(

Would like to join the outing but must confirm again. Lemme noe where and when lah.

Really take my hat off to you FTWMs. Amazing people. I already find it quite difficult to cope as a SAHM, really admire u gals. I've been telling myself to start working again but really can't bear to leave my girl with my in-laws. They're so busy with my husband's 2 year old nephew and have not enuf patience with the BB. They find it easier to care for older kids and not infants, so no choice also lah... Social life almost zero nowadays. Kinda miss my freedom...=P

Wendy, u poor dear. Maybe can try asking Hubby to let u do so for a couple of months. He has to see that u r tired no? So unfair sumtimes - the men just don't get it...

Connz, babies can start on juices and puree food if BM is no longer enuf to sustain their growth. Some babies grow alot faster so need more food. I've been doing alot of reading on this so it's practiced. No worries.

sleepingdeeer,

me too! ; ) I like to latch my gal on. no need to sterilise bottles, wash bottles, warm milk ... me lazy mummy...

Wendy

It's supposed to. Suppose to improve the suck yet at the same time, the bb gets nourished. When the bb is stronger/more motivated to suck, then will suck harder and thus will stimulate the breasts to produce more.

I just tried the lact-aid just now. My boy suck a while, then pull away and smile at me! Then he stuck out his tongue and aim for my breast again. I think he's happy that I'm 'breastfeeding' him again.
He looks absolutely delighted and I'm so happy. I think this is one of the driving force to make me continue bf. I haven't latch him on for a long time already (other than night time latch) coz I think he's sucking empty air while on my breasts. He didn't manage to finish his milk just now, and it took like 1hr to finish the whole process. But i think with more practise, we'll be able to succeed together.

wendy,

our gals can become friends ... my mum always complain that when she feeds my gal bottles during the day, my gal cried and drank at the same time as if my mother's bullying her by making her drink bottle.

Wendy
My boy, I think was 2 weeks ago, also kept waking up frequently like almost every 2 hours for night feed, I suspect it could be growth spurt. Or what my pd said when I asked him today could be that they suckle for 10 min only fill half-tank and comfortable enough to sleep and therefore last 2 hours. Maybe before they go to bed feed lots and lots??

Sunny
My boy has sweaty palms and feet. I did check with my PD. COuld be either due to very warm weather which makes them perspire or could be heriditary.

Weight Issues
I'm secretly hoping to lose even more weight through TBF. Have lost all my pregnancy weight but am still overweight. Hehehe, COz i put on some weight before the preggers. I think I lack discipline in my diet, I keep snacking on chocolates! It's so convenient and comforting, especially when bb gives me a hard time in the day that I can't have my proper meals so I turn to chocolates for comfort

mashy,

you must have faith in yen peng and follow her instructions. It really works. It worked very well for me. Initially I thought that I have no ms and fed my gal FM totally for 8 days after her birth. Then I decide that I shd bf and went to see yen peng. After 2 weeks, I am tbfing my gal already. It's hard work but it's really worth it. Must persever okay? Anytime you need encouragement, let us know.

RE : BUMBO
All the babies look so cute in their bumbos. Really must have a bumbo gathering and take a group foto...so so so cute!!!!

RE : Metro Warehouse Sale
Err..very kiasu, went to the Expo sale this morning at 11am. Nothing fancy. Bought cotton top at 3 for $9 (button type) and a top and shorts set at $3.90. A cheap stroller on sale at $29 but look really lousy. Not much toys or carters clothes. err..i cldnt find them, heard there were some during the last sale.

RE : Perspiring
My boy perspires alot. When i feel him, he's often hot.

Jasmine & JanMom & sl,
Have emailed u the Sleep Sense

Wendy,
i think Ariene's going thru growth spurt too. Well just feed her lah, since she's still so slim right? :p

mashy,
happy for you! continue persevering on in bfding!

Re: pregnant again
wow u mean if baby sleeps thru more than 6hrs then there's possibility of ovulating even though we're TBF?? hmm that's scary...i didn't know that!

Re: weight loss
sunny, i'm like u, also lighter than pre-preggie weight but not so much lighter lah. Just try to eat more. i've been intentionally eating more and eating unhealthy food somemore. A bit concerned i'll get high cholesterol or clogged heart at the rate i eat!

dear mummies,
Janelle has lost her voice! her voice is sooo hoarse when she cries. i have no idea why!? SHe's on TBF...so shouldn't be too heaty right? Is there any use bringing her to see PD at such a young age (4months)? Will PD prescribe any medication or just allow the illness to 'disappear' on its own? If no medication prescribed, then i won't see PD coz no point.

durianlover,
when my gal was discharged from hospital, she also lost her voice. she sounded like a kitten meowing instead of crying. think cry too much in hospital and nurses too busy. we didnt do anything about and the voice gradually came back.

420246.jpg
hungry .. hm.. yummy.

420247.jpg
hm.. dun disturb me

420248.jpg
Food coming??? opps ma ma is here

420249.jpg
huh me sucking finger.. never leh ..

420250.jpg
father and son time

Baby and BottleFeeding:
Yah, mine also. But she got our stubborn nature - she rather go hungry. MIL say that BB cry like someone is torturing her like that, until no voice some more, when she put bottle in her mouth. She went for 5 hours without any milk and would have gone for longer if I didnt come home to feed her (she's the type that need milk every 1 and a half hours without fail). So now I dare not go out for too long already... She's like an extra appendage. =) haha...

Weight Issues:
Whoever said that BF is a natural way of losing weight for ALL mummies is lying... I'm still carrying around at least 6 more kilos...wah liao...so tough to lose... Find it hard to diet cos i get hungry quite often due to BF. Ai yah, tell myself that I will go on strict diet when I stop BF. BUT when will that be, man? =\

Bumbo:
Yup, all the babies look so CUTE in their Bumbos. We've nicknamed it The Throne and Potty for ours. My baby is so chubby, have to squeeze her in some more. So quite funny...=) Group photos would be really fun.

BF and Pregnancy:
Yup, if the interval between feeds is longer than 6 hourly (to all mummies that have babies who sleep thru the night), better start taking precautions... otherwise, u'll end up like me - worrying like mad. I'll go test these couple of days. Hopefully, it's just gastric problems Im having...=)

SL,
haha, no wonder you have no pump, the manual pull is very tiring, but at least still can pump huh? Yah, I find latching on so much easier then making milk, so at night, I still wake up to feed her rather then warm milk etc...

Re: Gathering on 27th May
Where shall we go? any suggestions? any more mummies joining?

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb

Connz,
I've emailed you already, please check, thanks!

kao_welcome.gif
Sandra..

Re : Nepia contact
im sorry to ask this though i know many have posted this before!!! i need to order new diapers for Celeste since my stock of PetPet is finishing. wana try Nepia since so many of you are using it. What size should i irder if bb is 6.2kg?

RE : Nepia
I find Nepia's cutting pretty big. My boy wears Pampers Premium "S" and also Nepia "S". Fits comfortably. He's abt 6.2kg too. Yet to try the "M". Afraid of leaking if too big. M from 6kg i think.

My girl have been wearing Pampers 'M' since she was around 6.6kg. Quite comfortable fit I think. The smaller size always kena leakage, now no more leak. I think she's around 7kg now.

tracy

haha, coz me n hb oso curly hair one. so dylan cant be spare from this =p

yah yah, really cant wait to our little ones first dating! seem like me the mummy is more excited than him heehee

durianlover

dont worry, your janelle will recover on her own for sure. mine oso lost his voice before, did not do anything about it. the next moment he can scream full plus at the top of his voice =p

just came back from pumping. discover the suction power is not as strong. in the end spent longer time to pump and hand express. sian.... im using avent manual. does that mean its time for me to change the rubber thingy le?

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb

Hmmmm should we still want the gathering at Phoenix hotel? or any mummie know of any places for high tea?

count me in...think i'm the only one not bringing hb...

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) Celine + bb

rena,
the pic of ur bb and hb, is it taken at the Thomson chicken rice place?? hee hee..jus kaypoh.

god's child,
i've been using Nepia M for my gal since she turned 6.1kg one mth ago. it fits better than Pampers Premium S. Once she was wearing Pampers Premium, the urine came shooting out at the side, but the pampers not wet at all!

rachel,
my avent manual pump these days also suction not so good. think its the rubber petal, cos sometimes i have to use other hand to press the funnel on breast to get better suction. then sometimes it leaks from the funnel too, think rubber not tight already

Tracy - ok, in that case i shall get M size, cos i scared the S might b alittle tight on her. wld rather have sometin loose. is the material reli very soft? my HB insist tat he check it out first before ordering 4packs at a go! and i dunno if the NTUC at Bt Panjang hav samples to show...

Rena - Sumo looks so cute!!!

durianlover - i think can give janelle more water so that her voice can come back faster.. the last time when celeste had phelgm and was alittle hoarse, i drowned her wf water after every feed and it got better.

tracy
yah yah, for my case it oso leaks from the funnel...angry... have to keep wiping my breast coz kena wet from the leak...
same here, have to press real hard against breast to get better suction. you know where to get spare rubber petal. the packing does not come with extra rubber petal leh

god's child

think ntuc at bt panjang dont sell leh... nv come across before. oso want to have a sample to see see touch touch.

or maybe any mummy using nepia let us touch one piece during the gathering? =p

god's child,
the material is really soft like pampers but thicker. sometimes got sample at NTUC.

rachel,
maybe ve to buy from avent office. i jus tried calling, its closed at 5pm..will try again on sat.

rachel - i saw from the other thread tat NTUC ia now selling it at $14.95. i might get one later to try out first before ordering 4 packs.

Tracy - ok, im set to buy it for a trial!
hope she likes it...

tracy
me now using petpet on dylan. want to get better ones for night wear. coz have a few times of leaking le. looking at mammy poko, but dont know if nepia is better or not.
thanks =D i buy some from you to try out first. yes, think he can wear M size now. had tried a few sample pcs of mammy poko S size, its good but abit tight on his fat thigh. so think M size will do better. btw, which cutting is bigger? mammy poko or nepia?

rachel,
no need to buy from me lah!! i give u samples. i used to use mamypoko M, i like it, but when i wanted to replenish stock, couldnt find the M size anywhere! so tried nepia. i must say nepia's quality is comparable with mamypoko, yet cheaper. cutting wise, nepia is longer.

RE: Nepia
just one thing to note, I just realise that Nepia L is only 48 pieces, compared to Pamper Premium which is 68 pieces... so if you divide accordingly, actually their price about the same loh... think for M size, I will continue to use Nepia coz per piece still cheaper, but when my gal moves on to L, I will switch back to mama poko... since I find all three pretty comparable...

sl & durianlover

Thanks for your encouragement!

Rachel
Good for you! She told me to call her before 4.30pm. Coz after 4.30pm, she doesn't answer calls.

God's child
From my findings, gals wear a bigger size diaper coz of big hips. Can be same weight, but the gal will wear the bigger size. My boy should be 6kg+ liao, but can still fit into the Nepia S comfortably while a daughter of a friend is already using M since 5kg.

sleepingdeer

noted =) thanks for highlighting.

tracy

yeah! happy happy going on date this sat. although now im abit stone zzzz... looking forward.
hopefully dylan dont keep waking up a few time i the night, if not you will see me zombie zombie liao. haha

rachel,
me very excited too! i'll bring camera to take photos. i sms u tomorrow to confirm time n place to meet. me quite blur abt KK, nvr venture there except go mothercare.

mashy

yah, know that she is super busy. always pack with appointment. me going to kena press till face green green again heehee

you have my moral support!! jia you!

tracy,

you are right about the place.. have you been there before?

that is my parents shop I go there every wed with sumo..

RE: diapers
nepia's cutting is slighter bigger than mamy poko..

Rena,
Sumo looks so cure sucking his thumb in the Bumbo! Nice pic with his dad too.

Tracy/Rachel,
My Avent pumps are also losing some suction. but not sure what is the problem? Don't think it's the letdown petal leh... For spare parts, I think can purchase direct from Avent Singapore.

Mashy,
Jia you! Glad that you persevere!

Re. pregnant while TBF
I'm also worried about this... keep thinking that chances are so low. Nowadays BD rush rush job, where got time to think about using protection... Always after BD then worried about getting pregnant again.