(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mongs,
no, it won't happen, the air going in and out of the tube will dry the tube very fast, try it

Sl,
U can just buy 1 pump/funnel from Mums & babes (United Squre / Plaza Sing) for abt $15 (can't remember exact cost but should not be more than that). = )

Just came back from KK.

So happy! Yen Ping said I've hope! Haha, she said got 1 mother only 5ml when see her, then build to 300ml!

Going to get lact-aid to help improve my boy's suck.

mashy
really!! happy for you!
err... what is lact-aid? me going hopeless on my ss leh. your news make me see some light. can explain further??

mashy,

Am sure that if you work hard, you can build up your ss. How did you find your experience with yen peng? She's very encouraging right?

clare,

i broke the part on the motor where you connect the tube to the motor so must send down to the HQ service centre. : (

Don't know how I am going to continue to use hand. Very tiring....

Hi, all - new mum here too baby girl born on 17 Jan. Have been looking for some support group of sorts to discuss baby things. Looks like u girls have got quite a great network going. I actually have some queries - my baby use to be able to take EBM from bottle, these couple of weeks suddenly don't want the bottle only want to drink from me. How to 'train' her again? We keep trying, but she'd rather go hungry than drink from the bottle. We also bought the Bumbo. It's the greatest invention ever. Before this, she likes to be carried upright all the time. Now, i can finally put her in her Bumbo and leave her there for up to half and hour before she starts whining again. *whew*

Hi Sept03 Bride. =) I think my girl is starting to teeth. She's been salivating and chewing her lower lip alot. Do they start so early?My girl still can't roll over though... maybe a little too chubby... hee hee...

Have to run off for a while. Baby girl wants to 'talk'. *sigh*

Btw, Connz if you still need some more EBM, I have quite a few packets to spare. Got plenty and baby not drinking from bottle, so may go to waste otherwise. Let me know lah.

Welcome Sandra! Do join us more often in this thread. I guess we mummies bonded lots through sharing all our problems and frustrations. Do feel free to air your thought/views, etc.

welcome sandra..

SL,

if you need a pump I can lend you mine.. mine is the mini electric.. you can use your own funnel and bottle..

RE: bath tub..

luckly I bought the safety first bath tub.. it allows bb to use till toddler.. can convert into seat..

durianlover,
thank you so much. Will contact you this weekend to collect.

Wendy,
I do not have the glass bottles... I hv always used disposable Avent bags with clips.

Mashy,
Ya, what's Lac-aid? And after 4 mths still got hope ah? I'm so torn... one part of me is secretly happy becos my MS is dipping slowly and surely and that means no more lugging pumps and bottles around with me eventually, but the other part of me is still hanging on to the emotional and physical bonding of direct latch-on with bb... what should I do? Should I just let MS go or go and see a LC? Please gimme your views, mummies.......

Welcome to the thread, Sandra. My elder boy also born in 17 Jan but in 2000.

Rachel,
Thanks for warning us. So is it safe for us to post pics of our bbs here?

sysac
what is the brand of chor bi which you bought from serangoon gardens?

re insurance
may i know what is the premium and payout like? thinking of getting one too.. but I dislike asking the agents as they'll "bug" you. haha...

mongs
your insurance plan souns interesting.

celine,
I dunno wads the brand of my tub leh.. just walk into kiddy palace and bought it. Just grab the biggest one I can find. Its white in colour with pink/blue handles on the side for baby to hold on to when they're bigger.

Re: Yen Ping
I went to see her 2 weeks back to unclog my super blocked breast. Very, very painful and the milk pumped out was super thick, like carnation milk. She managed to push out almost 200ml of milk from the blocked ducts. She also taught me how to massage and unclog the ducts before they become super blocked.

Re: Lact-aid
I think she means lactation aid (short form).

Waking up in the morning for feed
Ariene has been waking up in the morning for feeds recently, something she has not done since 2 months old! She has never had problems sleeping thru from 9pm to 6-7am since 8 weeks old. This morning, she woke up 12am, 3am, 6am for feed! I tried ignoring her but she only end up screaming for my attention (yeah, scream.. not cry..). She'll drift back to peaceful sleep during of after feed. I wonder why... I'm so stoned..

welcome sandra!

denmy
me too have the same thought for BF. really don't know what to do next. think i will still bf my gal till the supply has become really pathetic.... 'cos dont' feel like giving her formula. :p
btw, did you lose lots of weight? me losing weight and the weight is lesser than my pre-preggie by about 3kgs.... kind of worried.

Java,
maybe montior your baby for 1 or 2 days and see whether it continues? Sometimes they do have milk rejection for unknown reasons, and a few days later it will be ok. Like for my gal, there was one period whereby she rejected my right breast for 3 days in a row, the left breast was totally fine, but the moment I switch her to my right breast, she will become rigid and stiff like a wooden board and refuse to even bend at the waist to sit down... haha... after 3 days, she went back to normal, funny...

SL,
you bought PIS right? Doesn't it come with a manual pull-pump? I use my manual pull pump when I leave my PIS at the office...

Denmy,
I'm stubbornly holding on to direct latch on whenever I am around, or EBM when I'm working... in fact, when I stop work, am going to go back to total latch on, and hope my MS increases. Coz I really enjoy the bonding time I have with Shannon when I latch her, and it is the only thing tat I can give to her exclusively, which MIL cannot snatch away from me.. hee hee... but seriously, I dun mind the night feedings or being a sleep deprived zombie coz I know that in 2 -3 months time, my bb gal probably won't want the cow anymore

sleepingdeer
i tried the manual pump before. wah, really tiring and need longer time.....
actually if no need to work, i won't mind waking up to feed her at night, too. 'cos in day time, i can find time to zzz.... nowadays, after her last feed at night, i always pray that she won't wake up mid night for feedling. haha....

Clare,
thanks for the useful info... very chem, very very good

Wendy Ng,
maybe Arienne is going through growth spurt? My gal has been waking up every hour for the past 3 days, and each time is for milk... my mum says that bbs will go through different sleeping habit as they grow up, and each 3 months will be a different habit or pattern.

Welcome Sandra!

Sunny,
so envy you losing weight, I'm not! In fact I gained weight! Sigh...

Morning Mummies!!

Re BF
I told myself i must BF for at least 6 months and then see how it goes... but i think most likely i will continue to BF her until milk supply becomes patheticaly low or nothing at all... main reason is the bonding we share with our BB which NO ONE can take away from us!!! (Opps psycho-mum surfacing again..) = )

sleeping deer,
i also think maybe she's growing thru another growth spurt. the last time she had a growth spurt, she was latching on every hour too and the suddenly gained 100-200g and grew 1.5cm. She's quite "long" now already.. 63cm but not really growing horizontally much.

sandra
Ariene has exactly the same problem as your baby. She totally rejects the milk bottle even though she had no problems with it before she was 6 weeks old. Till today, she still don't like the bottle, but she'll still drink alittle to ease off hunger and wait for me to come back from work to have her feeds. Yday, my maid was complaining to me that Ariene slapped her hand and the milk bottle away when she tried to feed her. Day before, my mum said she cried so loud during bottle feed, she can wake the dead. But, in the end, after all the fussing and crying, she still drank, just takes longer and patience ba.

sleepingdeer
ya, the weight reduces bit by bit, but the flabby tummy still there. haha.... my mil said i BF bb till face 'green green' and keeps asking me not to BF liao and also keep commenting that BF very ma fan!! grrrrrr.....

eh.. ask a stupid question.. do u think its possible to be pregnant even if u don't have your period yet and you're still breastfeeding? Recently, I've been having bad constipation, extreme tiredness, bad mood swings, growing tummy and sligh loss of appetite again.. my tummy had already shrank to almost flat after birth but recently, it seems to be growing again..

wendy
did you test?
i think it's possible to pregnant even don't have period and still BF leh.

anyone's bb has sweaty palm and feet? did you bring bb to see PD?

I just checked a few websites. the chances are <2% as long as I'm still breastfeeding exclusively, baby is <6mths old and I'm not having my period. Chances are I'm not even ovulating yet. MAybe I'm just getting fat again cuz eat too much.. gotta diet again

argh..early morning kenah scolded by colleague for nothing! so suay!

Sandra,
Welcome!

sl,
use manual pump lah...hands very tiring and takes extremely long!

wendy,
could it be your period coming? i jus had my first period, a week b4 dat i was feeling weird, like crampy, headache, tummy bloated etc. did u test?

sunny,
my gal also got sweaty palm and feet. i tot inherited from daddy so didnt bother. my mum says maybe she often kick and wave hands around so sweaty. like we walk long distance, feet get sweaty.

Denmy,
my colleague knows you
she met u at her friend's housewarming in January this year and she said at that time your boy only 2wks old. wah...u 2 wks only go out already??

re:BF
i'm reluctantly dipping my supply on purpose. really can't keep to expressing time at work. i've stocked up enough for her to last a month so i calculated if i gradually pump less now, still can feed her at least 6mths.

dear Wendy Ng,

It is possible to be BF and still get pregnant...that's hw accidents occur...best to get checked....
eheehee...

Err...I have a blocked duct coming on the left side...can die ah...somemore...in school...no time to really pump...die ah...dunno how...nw gotta massage and keep pumping...and latch bb on....SIGH!!!

hi wenyl,

I had encounter no period but got ovulation.
My last pregency was something like that..
Last menses end Jan 05
Early May 05 afraid that something wrong coz I actually got a miscarriage in Sep 04 so went to gynea for detail scan and found that I was 5 weeks pregnant.

Good Morning Gals!

Lact Aid is a system where u hang the bottle on your neck, then attach tubes to the nipple and let the bb suckle. But you're actually feeding FM/BM from bottle. It helps to relactate even for adoptive mothers! My boy's suck has been very weak. He still likes to suckle on my breasts, but it's more for soothing purpose coz my flow is too slow and weak. So this will encourage him to suck harder and stimulate the breasts to produce more. Bought the Medela one (coz i think Singapore only sells this brand) at Mums &amp; Babes. They're having a 15% discount for mother's day.
Going to try using it later.

Rachel
I think you should go and see her coz everyone's prob are diff.

Sl
Yah, she's very nice. She massaged and squeeze my breasts to clear some of the ducts and then, got some sprays.
She also taught me how to massage myself before I pump. It's unlike Mrs Wong who gave me the death sentence. Mrs Wong said I'm hopeless liao and told me to continue pumping until runs dry which will happen probably in May.

Denmy
If you want to continue breastfeeding, then you should see an LC. It's difficult. I've been through many months of super low ms. But something in me makes me wanna continue breastfeeding, maybe it's the bonding with my bb, maybe it's coz i wanna keep him healthier for as long as I can. Maybe that's why I've persevered for so long despite the difficulties and discouragement.

Anyway, I'm a SAHM, so all the more I feel that I should bf if i can. It's not like I'm working and it's difficult to find time to pump.

Denmy
i think its ok to post photo of our bb here, but never know whether some crazy people might use them to do what......

i have the same thoughts as you! one part of me want to let go BF, so life will be abit easier. another part of me still want to held on.... especially these 2 days this thought been getting stronger since my boy start to woke up many times in the night... making me totally crazy due to lack of sleep and still have to drag myself to work. nowaday when looking at myself in the mirror is like, "oh man, im looking like a old woman with dark eye ring, messy hair and big tummy...."

sunny,
dun need to spend $$ lah, i'll ask my PD on monday then let u know. seems like a common thing cos some other babies also have it. not to worry!

lact aid
I've heard of the lact aid system u're talking about before. Its used mainly by mothers of premature babies who are too weak to suck from the breasts. Does it help in improving ms?

sweaty feet
my girl also has sweaty feet and head. Her head can be covered in sweat after latching on. Sometimes, I smell her feet, got the HK foot smell cuz sweat too much so I stopped letting her wear socks to sleep. But, she keeps kicking off her blanket and hanging her foot outside the cot, exposing her feet on top of the blanket, so her foot always cold cold.. sigh..

wendy
you had super blocked ducts.. then it must be vy painful. you can tong so long then go see yen ping?

think like what other mummies mentioned , do a self test to confirm. since if there is no protection during BD, chances are still there.

re: weight loss
seem like some mummies weight are dropping further then what they are before they are pregnant. envy but oso worry for you gals leh. coz one of my gal friend she is oso like this. she TBF for full 8 months, her weight is like drop till nobody's business. when i meet her is like so shock! she is so skinny that wind blow can carry her away.. and she dont look good in terms of color. vy tired looking... till now her girl is 14 months, but she still look the same. vy weak...

so mummies, especially mummies who TBF must really take good care of yourself!!

Hey good morning, thanks for the warm welcome girls. =)

Wendy, it's quite funny - but you and I have almost the same problems with BF and the baby. I think Ariene is waking up for milk at night more often, because she's not getting enuf during the day - maybe cos she's rejecting the bottle? If u can get her to drink larger amounts during the day, maybe she won't wake up as often during the night. Otherwise, no choice - hang in there. *jia you*

I'm also wondering if I'm preggers again. Haha... (In reality not funny at all cos I haven't gotten over the trauma of giving birth yet...) Been getting the symptoms too. BF is NOT a form of contraception if BB sleeps through the night - you need to BF bb not more than 6 hourly within the 24hours for it to be effective. I did not know this until I spoke to my gynae. Keeping my fingers crossed till I go get a kit to test. But, I've been feeling extremely nauseous lately... bummer...

tracy
ok. thanks.. you ask liao then let me know hor. if possible, pls pm me 'cos recently quite busy to come to forum to chat.

wendy
ya loh. her hands and feet always cold cold. my mil said wanna bring her to see sinsei... i dont' feel quite comfortable 'cos she's still so young, if she's older liao, i will surely let her see sinsei....
your PD said anything about it?

sunny,
no probs, will PM u on wat my PD says.

rachel,
part of the reason for my stopping BF is the dropping of weight. once i dun ve enuf sleep, my weight will drop like crazy. b4 preg, i'm those who sleep 10hrs a day kind. now only 5hrs a day very siong! and i dun ve habit of snacking. i dun eat anyting after dinner even if hungry.

my hubby encouraging me to stop BF cos he see me always blocked ducts so pain, and lack of sleep. i've been supplementing my gal FM since birth, so its not so painful for me to stop BF.

so mummies, i'm not discouraging BF, but its really difficult for working mums. i tink we have done our best to BF till 6mths. we must also tink of our own health. so give ourselves a pat on the back for doing so well already.

sandra,
urs natural birth or c-sect? we're trying to organize a gathering on 27th may, venue not confirmed yet. do join us if u r avail:

1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb

tracy
agree with what you said.. my hb oso support and encourage me to stop. see me lack of sleep and vy worry of my health, somemore withnessing the struggling moments of breast feeding my boy. he even commented that our little fellow is fortuate enough to have till now 4 mths of BM... Im oso supplementing FM since his birth.

really no life...everyday lunch time is packed with locking myself up in a small toilet cubical to try my vy best to squeeze out every single drop of BM... keep telling myself its worth it its worth it...