(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

re: insurance,
I also bought the healthshield using medisave and childhood critical illness insurance. these 2 are not very expensive. all in all, we will have to pay 2,200 per year. not too bad.

sleepingdeer - so nice to be able to b SAHM... i also wish to do so but din wana stress out my HB ...

Cindy - Celeste cannot nap int he cot, she will wake up easily. for naps, we put her on the netted bouncer and she can sleep for 1-2hours... carrying bb to sleep is actuali bad habit, i used to do tat when i was stil on maternity leave... cos din bear to put her down tat time. but now, i learnt my lesson, put her down or she will always want it this way... and its also very warm to be carried like tat esp now that the heatwaves are returning...

sleepingdeer,
my dad's fren wld also like to get a bumbo. Possible to help get one too? Pls email me [email protected] or call me 93831991 as i'm not sure whether i've time to come online. Thanks so much!!

Re: big poo
haha yes i also stared for some time at the huge amt of poo wondering how on earth to clean her up!

Sept03bride,
yes i bring my baby with me to office sometimes!

valerie & tracy,
such cute babies! my hubby n i love to look at the pics of all the babies

denmy,
yes i can pass the EBM to you, but how to pass ah? it's in packs of 120ml or 130ml. Can contact me at [email protected] or 93831991 to arrange. Thanks!

cindy
we also hv e same problem
my boy wil make noise usualy ard 4am onward....if dnt carry n rock him, he wil scream.....sometimes let him scream n my mum wil start 2 enter my room n scold us
so no choice .... carry him lor
v tiring...my hubby even take leave yest to stay hm n sleep!!!

re: green poo
heard frm sm aunties tt green poo mean 2 muc iron in bb.....is it true????

re: insurance
brought accident & hospital frm aia.....n education frm prudential... tink it impt 2 buy esp education .....nwaday....sch fee v x liao..who noe...in 18yrs time????

Hi Connz,
the supplier I have only stocks green colour, and she is not around already, coz she just delivered her bb yesterday! If you want to wait and want green colour, I can help you ask after she discharge... let me know ok?

God's Child,
yah, my hubby will be very stressed out too, and we will have to really tighten our pockets, but think he feels more reassured that bb is being taken care by me than by anyone else..

Re: Insurance
SSF, yep, my agent also recommending savings rather than life, or Prulink with investment component... anyway, she's ocming over to my home on Friday, so see what alternatives we have... I'll most likely be getting a savings plan so that her uni fees will be settled liao

cindy,
my gal also starting to wake up at 2plus or 4plus in the morning to grumble alittle. as long as its not milk time, i ignore her or jus stuff pacificer. after chatting to herself for awhile, she goes back to sleep.

for afternoon naps, my MIL puts my gal to sleep in the sideway position hugging a bolster and she sleeps longer dat way.

re:insurance
i kiasu parent, bot for her:

1)hospitalization
2) child illnesses which will expire when she turns 5yrs
3)life insurance with critical illnesses

going to buy the endowment one, which is investment-linked. all from AIA.

i bot life insurance cos lesson learnt from my experience. i only bot mine when i turned 18 and already got some illnesses, so i was loaded alot and many illnesses they exclude. so better buy when they are young.

Cindy,
same here, my baby doens't sleep soundly these few days, she will in fact lift both her legs up, let it go, and bang it against the cot mattress, and this is when she is asleep! These few days, she has been waking up at 2am, 3am, and 4am and crying... wahhh, these few days totally zombie... and this is after we introduced a bedtime routine of wiping her down and changing to pyjamas... haha. My hubby wonders whether it's coz of the bedtime routine which causes her to wake up.

juz wanna check what kind of bathtubs do u all use for ur bb? my bb is growing out of his tub (as u can see from the pic). need to get a bigger one for him. also do u all put the bathtub on the floor or on a stand?
419493.jpg

celine,
i'm using a bath-tub about the size of yours. its still okie for my gal, cos she is kept sitting up while bathing. she doesnt like to lie down. i've always bathed her on the floor. recently, no need to carry the bath-tub out anymore. we manage to bath her in the toilet in the bath-tub.

tracy,
ic. my boy still enjoys lying down and looking around. i oso tot of bathing him in the toilet but how to wrap him up after taking him out from the tub? right now, i prepare the towel nicely on the change table, so i can put him down change table and wrap/dry him immediately.

Re:Boss
Me too..role /scope / boss also changed after I come back from maternity leave..feel very unhappy and very insecure. Less responsibility..and I can feel that anytime they can just kicked me out.
Just very disappointed after come back..coz my boss always said got plan for me..but nothing shownhe is always busy.
Duno how to start with him coz he is totally new to me. My exboss went back to states liao..he come back Singapore for business trip last week and knew that I am not happy.
Decided to look for another job after my bb turn 1 yr old..

RE: Green Poo
My boy's poo was green when on Similac. Asked PD she said its fine.

RE : Insurance
I've been sitting on it too.Already seen plans from several companies. I think prudential juz had a new one for children. Higher returns but of cos, higher premium.

RE : 4 months old
Ya, my mum oso says must shave as tai mao is "dirty". wld probably shave as the hair now not nice, patches due to the hair dropping unevenly. MIL says must give him taste food so will not become choosy next time. Just rub on his lips, sweet, sour, spicy, bitter....not very keen but bo bian.

RE : Hubby
Somehow with baby, I'm constantly unhappy with him. Maybe with work stress, its getting worse.

Re: Gathering 27th May
1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb

Let's do a bumbo gathering.. ha ha..

SL,
can you pick up today? please sms me your number mine is 97628842..

RE: flipping ..

haiz my boy also can flip.. so far only manage to filp once...

RE: talking to TV

my boy hor .. talking to the tv again... like towkay sitting on the rocker.. and talking away

mummies using medela dual,
my pump suction power was suddenly reduced. I don't know why. managed to pump only 80ml just now. I think maybe water get into the motor from the suction tube. any mothers experience this before? any idea how long is the warranty? Chiam!

anyone stil have the list of baby items to buy when preparing for baby's arrival? asking this on behalf of fren. had mine deleted aldy... anyone???

THANKS!

celine,
i oso bathe my boi at the toilet. I will close all the windows 1st. I will take off his clothes in the room, and wrap him in a towel. Then when i reach the toilet, i will wash the face and head 1st, wipe dry then unwrap his towel. I will drape the towel around my shoulders. After bathing, i will put the towel on my lap, then lift bb up and place him on my lap. Then cover him and walk back to the room and dress him

Cindy - my boi full time on similac and poo alway green... i will call similac later in the day.

Y - Normal??? my PD previously told me that similac should produce yellow poo... hahaha... so strange..

i check with chinese physician, she said that is becos iron and protein not absorbed into the body???

Sleep at nite - my boi definitely cannot sleep on his own. he need his yaolan... and at nite when deep in sleep in yao lan, i will carry him onto the bed and he will sleep thru... he sleep sideway hugging his pillow. sometime he do wake up in the middle of the nite for his milk.

sept03,
thanks for ur detailed instructions. let me try that tonite. sound feasible! then don't have to be so troublesome, bring the tub to the room and bathe. not to mention it's so heavy!

Re:Boss
I still like my job...the challenge it gives.
Not too sure if I will still like it as more and more difficult request from head office coming

The only thing angry abt is my direct boss style.
He rush to finish but he dun review it immediate, it seems like he just wanna tekan me or what.
Expect me to finish quick quick and OT but in the end he take his own sweet time to review.

For medical insurance using medi save, I used to be under AIA healthshield but as advice by my agent I have changed to AXA becos AXA offer *touchwood* really need to claim will be "as charged" while AIA think got a limit.
And when both parents buy AXA, bb up to 8yr old will be free with same coverage as parents *touchwood* again.
On top of that I bought another Medical insurance which cover the exceess *touchwood* again.
as advice by my agent...better to buy before bb turn 1 yrs.

I will probably buy educational insurance in future, later la but not now... must stablise financial position first.

But I do agree with Celine... it's seems logical to get parent well covered so that *touchwood again* should anything happen bb will be taken care off.

celine
I just bought a big baby bath tub for my girl as she totally outgrew the standard size baby bath tub. Ariene's head was always knocking on the tub whenever she stretches her legs as the tub was too short for her (she's 63cm). Now with the big tub, its got alot more space for her to kick water and stretch her legs without knocking her head. Got it from Kiddy Palace at $29.90 (comes with bath net but I don't use it and non-slip mat). Its quite big, much bigger than a standard size one so U should be able to tell just by looking at it.

mongs,
check see if the membrane is closed properly. I just changed both my membranes as they have bent outwards and did not close the valve so couldn't suck. You can buy extra valves and membranes from The First Few Years at KK. They got quite a range of medela spares there.

sleepingdeer
lime green is fine...pls order 4 me. thks

re: bathtub
im using e bathtub smaller than celine....it part of my weddg dowy.... e small red 1..... already let my son bath at e toilet liao....im using e same method as sept03bride :p

re:contributg EBM
understand sm of mummies hv abundent milk, k contribute som 2 me???? my milk supply getg lower n lower
k contact me at 96949695 as i nt online all e time .... thks a lot!

Hi All...

My personal view... most import to cover critical illness & hospitalisation. For Critical illness, if possible get those which list specificaly for children's illness instead of the standard 30 for adults. This is to provide a lump sum to cover the huge medical costs involved in any unfortunate event. AS for hospitalisation, if you/HB's company is already providing some form of hospital cover, then just get any shield plans (using medisave to buy) should be sufficient.

While it seems silly to buy Life coverage for BB it is still good to buy cos (i) lock in the cheap rate when they are technically still age 0/1 (eg. $100k sum assured cost only less than $100 as compared to our age now easily cost $150-$200) so that they can continue in future for their savings/retirement (it takes approx abt 20-25 years to breakeven) (ii) to guarantee their insurability while they are still perfect health. Important to add rider to waive all future premiums should the breadwinner parent met with any mishap.

As for saving for education, it is always good to start early as you'll have longer time ahead to plan / cater to any shortfall. Traditional endowment would be very good for discioplined savings but because the time horizon is also longer (at least 18-20 years), can also try some investment in unit trusts or Insurance Linked Pdt for higher potential growth.

Very important also pls look into your OWN insurance... good to buy term cover for high sum assured at cheap premium but of coz no cash value la...

Sorry if i sound too technical.. as I'm from the insurance industry but not an agent... hee hee

Who needs EBM? I can spare abt 10bottles but I need u to exchange the bottles I'm going to give u with empty glass bottles (no similac bottles pls cuz they're too fat and take up too much space. S26, Friso bottles preferred, otherwise, NAN or dumex also can) as I need them and my caps for storage. Been throwing away 3-4 bottles of milk everyday to make way for newly expressed milk cuz I don't have enough glass bottles to store all my milk. Those who need, PM me.

Wendy

Ai yah, you should have said earlier, i just threw away all my empty S26 glass bottles which i kept for EBM, but in the end due to low supply, didn't use.

wendy,
wat brand is the tub which u bot? my boy is oso like ur gal, like to kick his legs. dat's y i tot of changing to a bigger tub.

sleepingdeer,

thks! i can't help thinking that my gal is too fat therefore can't flip...

i already took the second dose of rotavirus for my gal

hi wendy.... wil appreciate if u cld spare sm EBM.... me oni hv NAN or dumex bottles .... k gav u if u 1 .... me hv a lot cos get it frm hospital....nw no muc milk supply....tinkg of throwing them away....wil appreciate it if u cld beep me at 96949695 as im logging off soon ... dnt noe these few day wil log in again. thks a lot!!

cindy,

my gal's like that sometimes at night. She would toss and turn her head around. I would just nurse her in bed then she can continue sleeping liao.

re: insurance

we just took a rider on my hubby's existing policy for accident and medical lor. Still considering abt life and education.

cindy,

my gal used to be like that. cannot put her down but the PD warned us that it's really very bad for her. so we tried training her lor. Put her down first, then she cries then pacify her but don't carry. Only carry when the cries get louder. Try to prolong the time that you don't carry the baby. It works. Now she can sleep for 1 - 2 hours on the bed. If we put her in the sarong during the night, she can nap for 3 -4 hours straight.

mongs,

i think for water into the tube, can just hang and dry the tubes. mine worse - i broke my pump on my way to office today. For the last pump, I have to manually express. hands very tired now.

Cindy

My boy sleeps on his tummy during naps. And i find that he sleeps better when on his tummy. I only let him sleep on his back at night. maybe you can try. From birth, we don't practise carrying/rocking him until he sleeps. At most pat pat a bit nia. Nowadays, I flip him to his tummy, he'll fall asleep quickly. Sometimes just need 3 pats and he's off to dreamland. Hehe, maybe that's why he took such a long time to lift up his head. Coz every tummy time = nap time. Now, he'll 'tell' me when he wants to sleep. He'll make the same 'aik aik' sound to me. Then i'll put him on the bed and he'll sleep. It's a breeze in the afternoon.

But when night time comes, hiaz, still need to work out something to let him sleep early and stop him from waking up at 4am. But at least he doesn't have problems taking afternoon naps. i suspect it's becoz my hb is at home, so he wanna stay awake to 'talk' and play with my hb.

mongs,
i read somewhere (sori forgot where), can use a few drops of alcohol to run thru the tube, then rinse and let it air dry. but then hor, wonder how long it takes to air dry cos u need to use the pump.

when i used my SIL's medela, i caused some droplets inside the tube too. so b4 returning to her, we used a long soft wire to push a piece of rolled tissue paper thru. but u need someone to hold the other end of the tube real tight. quite difficult cos sometimes the tissue get stuck in the middle. need patience.

sl,
which pump are you using? think yours is PIS right? is it still under warranty?

Wendy,cookie,
I pumped the 2nd time just now, I dn think it's the membrane. it's should be the motor, the sound is very loud. I turn the suction strength to the highest but the suction is still not good. electric pump is good when they are ok but in times of this, very chiam.

mashy brainz,
your boy is so obedient but I guess you have trained him well.
we rock, sing, walk around carrying my girl since day 1. now need to teach her to unlearn those habits is really a uphill. my hubby is esp scared of hearing her cries. there was once when we tried to let her sleep on her own. she only fuss for 5 mins and my hubby can't stand already. very heartache.
actually, there is a chinese saying,
there are no children who can't be taught only have parents who can't teach them well. they learn whatever we teach them so in a way, their bad habits was created by parents. sigh!!

My son went for his 2nd 6-in-1 jab last friday, since then his appetite reduce and he sleeps more. Although he is back to his normal self last Monday, overall he still drinks lesser than usual. He seems more interested in his newfound mobility (he can sit up now) and whenever I try to feed him milk, he will squirm on my lap. Now whenever he sees me he phobia of me. This morning when I bring him to my MIL place, he smiles at my MIL. He seems happier at my MIL place coz she doesn't force him to drink milk. I feel so depress and jealous! Anybody face this also? This is what they call milk rejection?

mongs,
ya ya, when i looked after my gal myself the 1st 2 mths, i could jus put her into her cot and she will fall asleep herself.

nowadays with my MIL, my FIL likes to carry her to rock her to sleep so now i have the problem at night putting her to sleep!

wow mashy, so envious, ur boy can sleep so easily. my boy usually needs alot of patting or sometimes even worst, gotta put into sarong then can sleep.

I bot Healthshield Gold & Life (Guarantee 15) for Cephas recently.

For the Life one, it is in USD (shd be the same as Mongs). I pay for 15 years. After that, I will just need to maintain the rider for the hsp part. This is to start it early for Cephas. When he takes over the paying, he just nds to pay $16.

Mongs,
the lady at mum and babes where I bought my PIS told me to plug in the tubes into the motor, and just run it without any bottle or flanges attached... the tube will dry very fast then... it works, try it.

celine, sleepingdeer,
thanks for the suggestion. I should really look at the manual but won't the water in the tube get suck into the motor? I think the prob with my pump is water getting into the motor. it's slightly better now. hopefully it can last me till I stop breastfeeding.

mongs,

ya - mine's PIS and i think there's no warranty for what i did. I dropped the pump onto the floor and spoilt the jutting out part so now can't connect one tube to the motor. Otherwise, the motor is still working.