(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie / kirssie
sigh... has to accept man as how they are. i agreed that if we have to tell them what to do and help out, its like having a maid lo.

anyway last night my FIL called. told my hb dont come back this weekend coz confirm jam like crazy, not good for boyboy. btw he oso need to go to KL, so... horray! no need to go back this weekend lo.

have thought of getting him to wash the pump for me but worry he any how wash wash and end up not clean. so i rather do the washing myself. bo pian...

412324.jpg
look mummy I am holding well

412325.jpg
412326.jpg
I just love my bumbo

1. Denmy - aqua - Pasir Ris/ Shenton Way
2. Cookie - Yellow(confirm) - Pasir Ris /Beach Road
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua - west/ holland V
5. Cindy - Lime green
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac - AMK
8. Clayre - Lilac
9.God's child - lime green -Clementi/Raffles Plc
10. krissie - yellow
11. Mamachan - Aqua - WEST/RedHill
12. babylon - aqua WEST / BT BATOK
13. Y - lime green East/Bedok
14. durianlover - lilac - Bukit Panjang
15. Zhimin - Lilac - Seng Kang/ AMK also can

Rachel

Re: getting hb to help out

Sometimes when getting hb to help, we also have to trust that they can do a good job. If we kept taking things from them, they'll end up not wanting to do anything, coz can never be 'perfect'.

I let my hb bathe my baby, change, feed, wash bottles & pumps, cook even. Hehe, Anything I've an opinion about, i keep to myself or sometimes just suggest a better way to do it to him but i don't interfere. So that's why sometimes gotta eat horrible food. Haha. But it's a learning experience for him too lah. His cooking skills have improved tremendously. So proud of him. Hehe.

So sian... my boi having a congested nose and can that his throat/chest quite phlegmy. Not sure it's partly the reason why he's waking up so often and not going back to sleep easily. Which results in me not having enough rest too and start to nit-pick at my hb in my head for not doing much around the house.

Sigh... not that my hb doesn't help me out around the house, he just do the basic i.e. washing up the dishes n pot n pans used for cooking dinner, other than that, he has a tendency to leave his stuff lying around. Like whatever available space there is, he'll put things there which made me really fed-up as I'm busy most of the time tidying up after him n putting things away. Like, "hello!! we have a baby here n what happens when bb becomes mobile?" I just wish that he has more initiative without me asking him to do things. It's when bb sleeps for the night, I'll quickly do things that I have no time in the afternoon n hb being a couch potato will ask why i never ask him to do things i.e throw out the diaper bin's trash n replace with new trash bag (which can be unchanged for like 2 days!!!). I'm thinking lor, this kind of thing shouldn't need me to ask one.

Last night after dinner so pai seh, as I invited my MIL over for dinner, ended up she helped me wash up the dishes (which I repeatedly tell her no need)n she's so nice to help me clean my kitchen n stove top which is quite dirty!!!

So sorry, just need an avenue to type out what i want to air out. Just that I feel as a SAHM n my husband giving me allowance (not alot lah mainly goes to household expenses like food), I shouldn't expect so much from him. Am I silly to think this way?

Hi Mamachan,

I totall understand how you feel as i was a SAHM for 5 months and that's all about what i can take.

With housework and baby, can barely cope thus get frustrated easily. Especially so when hubby is not helping much. On the other hand, i felt soory for myself that hubby had a hard time outside so i should try to manage ALL the household things and not bother him too much.... When i didn't meet up with my own expectations, again i get frustrated and vent on hubby over the slightest thing and also end up being a unhappy mum. That's why i decided to work cos i am definitely not a domesticated person.

So you are not wrong to think that way. I guess being asians, we are being 'trained' that woman suppose to take care of household even if the woman is working full time. The expectation is more so when a woman is a SAHM..... Even i myself have such thinking despite being educated etc.....

rena,
ur sumo bb is soo cute! my boy can't really balance his head when he's seated but wat the heck, i still put him in the bumbo seat! keke... let me take a pic of him tonite and post it here tomolo! hee

mashy
maybe i should try to let go abit on the degree of 'standard' i expect from my hb. i like things to be neat and clean and in order, even the color of hanging clips used on the hanging bamboo pole must be in same going color ( use all the yellow first, then follow by orange, then green...) know i abit siao to be so particular by it always make me happy to see things in order. thats why im always mad at seeing things around the house unattended, while hb can see nothing do nothing... sigh...

mamachan
our hb are quite similar. man are like that, to them after a long day at work they will jus want to sit infront of tv set or PC station and rot away... to rest... but what about us? no matter are we mummies SAHM or working mums, we oso need a break mah. SAHM is not easy life woh.

have your boy seem doctor? hope he get well soon, if not mummy wil be worry and tired.

Yuki
So sad isn't it that we have all grown up to think that way. I complained to my mum before and she's like," now you know being a SAHM not easy right? Well, you have to learn to go easy on yourself n housework so won't be so stressed" I'm not so hard on myself bout having to made sure my floors are spick and span or things are superbly clean. I just want both my hb and myself to train ourselves to put away our things neatly so when bb starts crawling and walking, he won't pick up the small bits and pieces n put his mouth or worst, choke on small things.

Re: Part-time maids
Mummies, any recommendations for part-time maids? Am seriously thinking of getting one to come in once a week to help me with the chores.

Rachel
Haha. I think men in general are quite nua. Their motto:Do it when it's necessary. I'm thankful that my hb is understanding that I need certain comforts for the day like sleep, eat properly and most importantly, bathe!!! I brought my boy to polyclinic on Tues (he got no fever so thought maybe can bring there), now monitoring him. If he still don;t get any better by tomorrow or Saturday, will bring him to PD.

You quite cute, didn't know you are even more orderly than me. I can be messy too but I make sure I put things away on the same day. It seems like my hb and myself previously before I had my boy, see who can get the messiest! So terrible right?

mamachan

heehee.. sometime i oso shut off one la. coz sometime is so tired and jus do those that need to be done and those that can wait wil jus leave it there. oso hoping that hb will do something, but most of the time still have to be told to help lo. but one good thing about my hb is that he is in charge of cooking. ever since im pregnant he dont allow me to do any cooking. till now i think i have not cook for 1 year liao!! heehee

I feel so heartache for neglecting my elder boy ever since my bb was born.
There was one morning my elder son woke up and tell me that he prefer papa.

Hi Mamachan and Rachel,

Ha Ha. Right. I realise man cannot multitask when come to housework. I will put the laundry to wash so in the mean time, i can vacuum and mop the floor etc... all these just come naturally. But my hubby sometimes doesn't link them together end up have to wait extra time for the laundry to be washed before we can hang it out.

I am also quite particular about things, my hanger must all face the same way in my wardrobe, clothes facing one side, top to top, bottoms (skirts and pants) on the other side etc. So sometimes even if hubby help out but doesn't do exactly, i will still rearrange them....

Hi babylon,

I was just sharing with some friends about my post natal depression... i felt bad towards both my girls that i can't spend more time with them. I felt bad towards my elder gal cos she was so used to all the attention. On the other hand, i also feel bad towards my younger gal cos she doesn;t have that kind of 100% attention like my elder gal used to have........ Took me awhile to lower my own expectations and just try to balance them.

I try to catch up with my elder gal when the younger one is asleep or maybe i will read my elder gal a book when i am direct BF my gal.... again MULTI TASK..........

RE : Instruction for Man
To get things done. Specific instructions must be given from the beginning to the end. When my sis ask her hub to keep the laundry, he will only take them down from the bamboo. And when asked why din keep in the wardrobe? Ans : "U only say "shou yi" never ask me to keep wat!" That's the usually answer i get from mine too. Why things are not done? You never ask me, tell me, instruct me wat! See...man has no brain!!!

RE : multi tasking
Agree totally. We are so capable of that! Man simply cant. Only one thing at a time! The first thing when reach home is quickly get everything done. He, the first thing is "let me rest first!" by the time he's done resting, I've done everything.

Hello, I am from the February thread. Hope I still make it to order the Bumbo seat.

3. SL - Lilac
5. Cindy - Lime green
6. SY - aqua
8. Clayre - Lilac
10. krissie - yellow
16. Sunshinekid - Lilac

RE: Multi-tasking

Haha! My hb accuses me of not being able to multi-task i.e. respond to him when he talks to me while I'm doing something. I admit, sometimes abit laggy my respond time, but overall, I get things done faster and better than him. While he, can only do one thing at one time. Quite square at times.

Y
Haha! I know what you mean!!! My hb also like that,"wait lah, let me cool down 1st!" while he plops himself on the sofa and in front of the fan while turning on TV and channel surfing - their ideal of multi-tasking.

But since we've married them, gotta learn to close one eye. What to do?

MamaChan,
My hub has extremely good timing. He will often appear(wake up, return from work) when I'm already completing or completed the task. Dunno I suay or he heng!

Yah...sometimes even close 2 eyes!!!

Rachel

Haha, even clothes peg same colour? Wow!

I think i'm more nua than my hb. Hehe, tidiness is not my forte. Like my table, i just dump everything on my table and my hb has to tidy for me. Then I will scold him for tidying coz now i can't find my things. Hahaha!

Yesterday, i scolded my hb. In the morning b4 his work, I asked him what he's doing, coz he was taking such a long time outside in the living room. He said read newspapers. How come didn't take breakfast? He said no breakfast coz my stepmom will buy breakfast in the morning, but that day she was late. Ai yoh, why did i buy ham, cheese, cornflakes and milk? So that he can have breakfast and he even forgot to take his medicine! He can retort me and say cannot read newspapers huh. Fed up!

re: baby suck thumb
HI mummies wanna ask for advice.
My gal likes to suck her finger and thumb...
my MIL say her thumb will rot with too much sucking.
And my HB insist to let her wear mitten when she sleep to prevent her from sucking and making lotsa noise...
What should I do har?.. I scare let her wear mitten will hinder her from learning ley.
But if just let her wear during sleep at nite.. will it be ok?

cookie,

its ok for them to suck their fingers n thumbs since they are at the stage of exploring their body. in time to come, they will suck their little toes even...

my inlaws din say anythin bout the fingers rotting leh. i think it will only affect older children should it become a trend...

Mashy,
me too, I am the lazy messy one in the house, my hubby can get so fed up with me that he will rearrange my dresser with all the make up in it... haha...

Anyone think of stopping BF? Very sian to pump in office and always miss timing due to meeting etc and no proper lunch and sometimes dinner.

Not sure due to stress and me drinking coffee that affected the BM, bb sometimes reject BM and prefer FM.

so busy in the office today... wow, so many posts to catch up.

mamachan
i second the idea!

yuenyuen
i haven't thought of stop BF though it's really tiring to pump in the office.
how many times did you pump in the office and interval?
i try to make it for 3-hr interval, if not, then 4 hrs. pump about 3 times a day in the office.
nowadays, during lunch time, i can't go for window shop anymore. 'cos after lunch, got to go back and pump. some sacrifices here and there. initially, felt sian like you... now, feel ok, maybe i have got used to it already.

if you still have supply, don't give up. ok? jia you!

Mamachan,
My HB is similar to urs. I also tinkg of getting part time maid to help me with the cleaning, at least once a week. But till now, its been 3mths on my own cos I told HB I will try to do it myself to help him SAVE $$. But he doesnt appreciate. Instead, he keep saying I m spending too much nowadays on bb stuffs. Urghhh! Now, I tinkg wat the heck! Maybe just get a fulltime maid....then I can sit & play with bb wholeday. At least I wont feel so sweaty & sticky everyday from doing the chores.

Rena,
Ur boy very clever. So fast can hold bottle liao! Ethan just learned to hold pacifer with one hand & suck his other fist. Faintz!

412546.jpg

sleepingdeer, Rena, Celine77,
I hv dropped u an email regarding the Baby Einstein DVDs. I just realised someone has removed the thread.

Durianlover,
Was it u.... no. 9 on the list? U also interested? Pls PM me. Tks!

Rena,
wah, ur boy using the big avent bottle already? so cute, can hold his own bottle. my gal now starting to recognise the bottle and her mouth will "tu tu" when the teat goes near.

Rachel,
u are really very orderly. the most i go is make sure that the 2 pegs used for for the same clothes must match. i do like to pack my cupboard though, like take all my clothes out and refold them when i'm stress or troubled. that's my therapy. so when my hubby sees me sitting in the cupboard, he knows i'm troubled.

thanks for the info on the bumper mat BP!

mamachan,
my p/t maid is from firstcare agency. tel: 64648466 (ricky). once a week, min. 3hrs @ $10 /hr, but sometimes aunty only work 2hrs then nothing to do already. she's ok with it. having a p/t maid really helps to keep our house clean, only drawback is every sat we ve to wake up early cos she comes at 8plus.

cookie,
my gal also luvs to suck her hands now. at night i still let her wear mittens when sleeping cos she likes to rub her face b4 falling asleep.

those using avent bottles, ve u changed to teat for 3mths+ ? i still using the 2-hole one, wondering if should change already, cos she struggles when drinking milk now, but dunno if its becos she's distracted.

must change pacifier also?

Tracy
Thanks for the info! Is this cleaning aunty reliable? She'll come weekdays too right? So if she works for 2 hours, she's paid only for the 2 hours? I think I'll only need once a week, mainly to clean the floor and wash toilets. I'll call to find out more. Thanks once again.

Wenyl
I know the sweaty and sticky part. Really ultra gross! Nowadays, baby quite good, can seat for long in his rocker chair so I'll bring him in to sit in the dry area while I take my bath so we can each other. heee... the things that we SAHM do.

re: gathering

the pix are so cute ...

re: swimming

ya - i also intend to send my gal for swimming when she's 6 mths.

mongs,

i think i know which ec you stay... : )

rachel,

no probs - very busy recently so didn't log in daily. But the thing is the price is not confirmed. I don't feel comfortable buying or confirming if the price is not confirmed leh. you going to email susan?

I am still waiting for some mummies to give me their location.. I have already confim the color with the supplier...some colors may have to wait for a while.. Kindly transfer 68.50 to my account. POSB savings- 148-11345-9

RE: gathering

lets organise the gathering with daddies or not?

dinner or high tea? I prefer high tea ..

well me can organise..

rena,

location update:
3. SL - Lilac - amk/hollandv
5. Cindy - Lime green
6. SY - aqua
8. Clayre - Lilac
10. krissie - yellow
16. Sunshinekid - Lilac

Sunny / SL
I pump only 4 times aday and very sian already. pump only twice in office he...he.... very lazy mum here.

my bb supplement with FM since 2nd week due to BM jaundice and low ss so there is already FM in the house.

pump every three hours must be tiring. is the interval the same at night?

sl
Haha! Is it all the time that your gal wants to play? My boy does it occasionally. Like what Rachel advised, avoid eye contact with them while feeding. In fact, I have a night light on in the night so can't really see much clearly, only enough for me to briefly see my surroundings (actually more for baby). So the eye contact I think won't be there. I read somewhere to keep the night diaper changes n feedings as boring as possible so that bb will go back to sleep.

Rena
Ok. I'll transfer money to your account tmr k? Will keep the transaction reciept so on the day of collection I show you as proof of receipt? Heh heh

Have been soo busy these 2 days with work so hard to catch up on the post... tomorrow gonna be another busy day but TGIF!!! Can;t wait!!

Rena,
I dun mind collecting at 1 common point too so babies can take a group pic!! Maybe as a Mother's Day celebration as well. = )

Anyway my location update:
5. Cindy - Lime green
6. SY - aqua
8. Clayre - Lilac - Farrer Park/Anywhere Central
10. krissie - yellow
16. Sunshinekid - Lilac

5. Cindy - Lime green
6. SY - aqua
8. Clayre - Lilac - Farrer Park/Anywhere Central
10. krissie - yellow
16. Sunshinekid - Lilac - Anywhere Central

yuki
me still taking papaya soup abt 3 times a week. fish oil everyday.

cindy
finally hv time to open letterbox, thanks for the CD.