(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Queen
Supplements
I take the multi-vit from sevens sea. It in gel form which is better for absorption and quite cheap. Can get from watson at less than $10 per bottle. I also try to take calcium pills from Raffles medical (my mum is taking this, so take the same).

Hair Tonic
Will confirm with my friend again, previously used it and it was very good. But not sure whether save for BF mother as I stopped BF at 4 months preveiously before starting on this tonic. Will check and get back to you.

Hi Krissie,
enjoy your last week with bb..times flies so fast hoh... I was really torn and still thinking about quitting my job to take care of bb...

I'm usingthe Combi Egg shock, but think mine is 3.8kg, the red and grey one... NU500

Re: Feeding
I always keep him upright and burp him after his milk or whenever he fusses in between.
But his regurgitate episodes were when he was still drinking and towards the end of it ie. lying down, used tongue to push out teat and merlioned the feed. Prob he wanted to burp already but the milk din settle and everything came out.

SY,
Wow your bb can really drink! That's so good.

Babylon,
I am thinking of trying NUK bottles too, but my mom says should stick with Avent and try size 3 teat instead.

Re: gathering
is the time and place confirmed as 2pm and at tanah merah?

seems like we have lots of food. They are for lunch or tea?

tabbiesus,
my girl is also on the smaller side. she turns 3months last sat. she is 5.1kg. she is drinking 120ml per 3hrs. so far she is happily drinking all of it. my ms not enough so my MIL make sure she drink every drop of my EBM.I also hope that she can gain a bit more. she is long, 63cm when I measure her yesterday.

queen,
thought the guideline is for the babies to double their weight by 3months. my girl can't reach that. her birth weight is 2.83kg. she should be 5.7kg by last sat but she didn't achieve that. sleep at their age actually do affect their growth as well. they need to have enough sleep to grow. they also stretch alot. that is when they are lengthening themselves.

bringing my girl to PD for her jab this thur. will check on her weight gain.

re: regurgitation
this morning.. I feel so lousy..
after feeding my gal..even though with burp and keep uprite, still she regurgitate some milk.
That is a abt 45 mins after feed, she frown her face as if the taste of spit milk in her mouth no good. so I decide to feed her some water.
She was playing with the teat and somehow got choke and next 2 sec... she vomitted the whole lot of milk she drank earlier on...

MIL came and of course comment cannot give water so soon ect ect... well well it's my fault for feeding water so soon.. sigh... feel so lousy, make mey gal suffer

mongs
do let me know what ur pd says about weight gain. you are on TBF? some ppl say that TBF bb are usu smaller, dunno if that is true

tabbiesus,
Ok, will update you on my visit to PD.
no I am not on TBF. I am back to work. everyday pump about 360-420ml for her 4 feeds in the daytime so sometimes feed her between 60ml-120ml of FM perday. about 90% on BM.
are you on TBF? still latching on completely? I heard about TBF babies being smaller but I think it also depends. my sis baby was on TBF and he tripled his weight from 2.5kg to 7.5kg in 3 months. still a big baby now weighing 10.5kg at 8months.

cookie - dun feel sad... babies do vomit once a blue moon... how long do u keep her upright? norm for Celeste, i will do it for 15mins and also i burp up in an upright position. i realise burping her over the shoulder will increase the tendency of regurgitation...

Re : gathering
have we decided on the venue yet? i might be able to go le if my fren does not need me to go wf her for gown fitting...
looking fwd to bringing celeste out to make some new frens!!!

celeste at 2 days old
393670.jpg

celeste at 2 weeks old
393671.jpg

celeste at 2 months old
393672.jpg

RE: gathering..

Dear all , gathering date will be as usual 8th April.. Sorry for the confusion.. venue should be at Tanah Merah .. at this moment.. Those who cannot make it please put a (NO) at the side.. thanks

1) rena + hubby + bb (fish ball + sotong ball)
2) sunny + hubby + bb (Veggie Spaghetti)
3) valerie + hubby + bb (drink)
4) cindy + cindy's mom + bb (assorted fruits)
5) Cookie + hubby + bb (crispy fried chicken)
6) sysac + bb (rocky pizza)
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
8) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
9) krissie + hubby + bb (logan almond jelly)
10) sl+hubby+bb (walnut cake)
11)mongs + hubby + bb (peanut pancakes)
12) serene + hubby + bb (bee hoon)
13) pochacco + hubby + bb
14) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (chicken curry)
15)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom/hb + bb
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

Plus these are the things to bring
Things to bring:
1) one big soft towel
2) mattress/exercise mat to lay on floor (optional)
3) Your own preferred lotion/oil if you have. Otherwise, Johnson's Baby Lotion & Oil will be provided

RE: trembling of legs

Are any of the bb experiencing this? accoring to the PD previously... it is normal as they are building the muscles.. but he is already 3 months and still experiencing it..

Cookie,

dun get upset.. when bb frown or when she is uncomfortable .. jsut try to burp her again.. my experience is that never never give water to baby until 2 hours after feed.. as they have not really digest the milk yet..

HI Mongs,
dun worry too much, my bb was 2.75kg at birth, and she was only 5.3kg at her last weigh in at 11weeks... so similar... she is only 58cm, so pretty short some more.

I read that double weight should be in 5 months ley, but think that guide is more appropriate for bigger babies, like 3.5kgs or more... coz they should be about 7kg then. Think the birth weight they started out at makes a difference.

mongs,

I think I am like you, my pump volume is also the same. Have started work too, but still part time so baby only needs 2-3feeds when I am gone, i latch her on otherwise... I am still on TBF becos I previously managed to build up a stock of EBM so when not enough, supplement with that, but I am running out soon...

I still like to latch, after working the whole day.. really like to have her close... any other working mommies feel the same? Or should I stop latching already and pump only?

Hi Tabbiesus and Mongs,
I also just started work on MOnday, but my MS dropped after a long bout of Gastric flu last week, so now can only pump about 300mls a day while I am at work

Yep Tabbiesus, I love latching her on directly after a long day, and she loves it too.. normally come 6pm+, she will start getting cranky and start crying for me... so when I come home, I love the feeling when I can hold her, and seeing that she stops getting cranky and start smiling when she sees that her mummy is home!

tabbiesus / sleepingdeer
Im running out soon too... =(
im back to work since last monday. came back to work earlier n the balance of my maternity leave will take separatly. MS hv drop since working, can only pump once coz my working place really do not hv a proper place for me to pump. so by the time i fly home really love the feeling of holding my boy close n watch him suckle.
should really continue to latch on for as long as i can, in order to maintain the supply as well as enjoying the feeling of our baby close to us.

cold war with hubby:
last sunday my MIL came pay us a visit. it was her birthday too. my hubby decided to have a buffet dinner outside. i told him tat i was vy tired after a long day of taking care of boy boy and ironing tons of clothings n bedsheet. he still insisted that i should go, saying jus a few hour outside never mind. in the end i gave in...
during the whole dinner i did not have a proper meal. boy boy cant get to sleep bcoz the place is really noisy and got really cranky. ended up carry him n went outside which is quieter but he was simply restless. my hubby, MIL, SIL n her boyfriend were happily eating away n chit chatting. when i came back to take a break on the chair they will say eat la eat la. but how to eat when my hands are full from holding a restless baby??? n my boy get even more cranky when other ppl carry him coz not in a comfortable position... at the end of the day i totally lost my mood to eat. i was really vy tired! some more my boy jumped a few times when the ppl at the next table laughed loudly.
when finally its time to go home, my boy is hungry n tired n jus cant fall asleep with all those noise around him. was having such a difficult time soothing him. ended up i breast feed my boy in the car after dropping off my MIL n SIL. sigh........
that night my boy slept for 6 hrs straight, did not woke up for any feed. my hubby still have the cheek to say he vy guai, did not bother us in the middle of the night. that is bcoz boy boy is too tired! sigh....
have not talk to him since came back from that dinner. he oso dun seem to be concern, came back home still can happily watch tv programme while i busy washing bottles n pump n caring for my boy...he will go to bed and sleeping away while i have to wake up everytime boy boy cry... so disappointed n angry

sorry for this long winded post... jus wan to vent my anger somewhere.

Rachel,

you are not alone...my hubby is also like that.. for me I just tell him off.. there were times i just close one eye.. but most of the time I can't .. as an SAHM.. he feels that Iam very free.. doing nothing at home... but what does he know.. I am always so busy that sometime I do not have time to take lunch...

RE: gathering..

ok function room confirm.. place at east meadow condo.. time avalible is from 12-5pm only.. anywau I am not sure if 2-5 is too short as some one has book the 6pm slot .. but if every one help to pack up later on I think there should be no problem. or if you want to come ealier to swim also can... just let me know..

rena,
I think most of us understand how busy we are when we are at home with baby. after returning to work, I realise that I have more free time to myself. although I really love my girl but sometimes her crying can really make us very mang zhang. I think u should ask your hubby to take care of baby alone. maybe u should really try that since your boy is on bottle feed. go out for a few hours and see how he take care of your boy.

rachel,
I also dislike going out too much esp when I know baby is going to be tired or unhappy but guess we have to manage that because we can't be controlled totally by the baby. think u should talk to your hubby about helping out.

I also love latching her on. so adorable. of coz provided she don't yank at my nipple when my flow goes slow.

rena
y man r like that?? they may think that taking care of baby is easy, coz most of the time its we mummy who care for our baby when they cry or jus wanting a cuddle. SAHM is not easy, i truly understand. now with me back at work, all the nights and weekends its me who care for our boy. my hubby will read newspaper, watch tv programme, play computer games... even when boy cry n im busy with housework he oso dun attend to him, only when
boy start howling then he will comfort him... there are so many things to do and take care of. they think its easy. always tell me to go rest, but how to?? if he really want me to rest, then he shouldnt insist me on going out for that dinner when i already told him im tired...

mongs
i had asked him to take care of him when i take a bath or catch a short nap. but most time he will get impatient and start rising his voice which make boy cry even louder. he jus lack of patience...... in the end i have to drag myself up n attend to boy instead.

krissie,
Called Abbott and checked. Well, i agree totally that its riduculous to throw after just 15mins.

Rachel,
can understand your frustration. I'm still on ML but looking after babies are not easy task. I'm totally flat everyday and was worse last 2 weeks when my hub was sick and unable to help. Told him so many times how stress I am but wonder does he take me seriously. Cant imagine when I gotta go back to work and yet to try bringing my baby out. Only to mums and in laws plc. Oh..he's going to be 11wks.

storing for ebm:
thks all mummies who gave me their input. someone mentioned that frozen ebm can only be stored for 1mth?? i tot it's up to max 6mths?? i have lotsa frozen ebm in the fridge dated in feb.does it mean i have to throw those away?? hope not, coz damn sim tia leh...

sealer:
i'm quite sure c k tangs sells it. maybe can ask one of the sales girl for assistance? another place i have seen it is at a stall cart at caltex hse in raffles place. it's the first cart which sells gifts...

ginger,
ya it's double work. but can save up my clips. coz i have ard 100 bags of frozen ebm in my freezer. and it's still growing by the day.

krissie,
the slimming package is very flexible.u can go down and they will do an analysis and recommend suitable program for u. i'm really desperate to sell it off! hopefully someone's interested!

wah, so many postings this am..

sleepingdeer
is this the one? 4.3kg leh. this is the one I'm eyeing.
how is it? any complaints? where did u buy it & how much?

celcel
I like the first pic of cel. so sweet. how did u do it like a wallpaper with the backdrop? v nice.

rachel
after reading... know what, I guess maybe your HB dun even know you are angry or if he knows he doesn't angry abt what thats y he can continue to watch tv and sleep as usual
Hmm.. men are generally more insensitive I feel, this happen to my hb too. When I'm angry over things and although he might know I'm angry, 80% of time he has no idea what I'm angry abt until I tell him clearly.. sigh..
Maybe u must tell your hb abt how u feel for him to be more sensistive.
When my mil not around for pass 2 weeks, I tell my hb clearly to skip his golf and come back to help me in the evening. I will shower and pump my milk while he take care of the baby for at least 1 hr plus... only then he will know how difficult it is to eat his dinner or even to the loo.
I believe he more or less know what I go thru in the day when I'm frustrated abt not able to do much.
heehee.. of course I skip the details of naping with my bb in the afternoon in case he think I'm having a good time at home :p

does anyone of ur bbies don't know how to reject the breast when they are full?? when i feed my boy using bottle, he will stick out his tongue when he is full. but when i latch him on directly, he doesn't know how to reject my breast when he is full. instead he will suck and yank, suck and yank and start fussing, as if damn hungry. but in actual fact, he's full already. then when i release him from breasts, he will fuss also. only until i give him the pacifier then he will stop. then after a while, will smile... that's when i know he's full and satisfied. is this normal? really can't tahan his yanking, i c my nipples being "tortured" by him! damn painful sia!

celine
that was what a friend of mine who is a mother of 2 kids told me. unless u r storing your EBM in a separate freezer which you seldom open the door. if not, it is better to feed our baby within 1 to 2 mths coz with the opening n closing of the freezer door when taking and putting of frozen food actually reduce the coolness in the freezer...

cookie
i confirm he know wat i m angry about. coz that night back from the dinner after putting my boy to sleep he said i faster go drink a cup of dom and sleep coz i look tired, i reply him "so you know im tired?" he kept quiet after that. yesterday he even msn me thanking me for giving face to go to that dinner...
think he is simply guilty and dun know what to say bah...

celine
yah same same! my boy oso like that! he will arch his back while still having my nipple in his mouth! *PAIN* then will start kicking and fuss and making noise. at first thought i dun have enough milk for him or my flow is slow but after sometime discover that he is actually full, only that he dun wan to lay down. he wil only be happy when i hold him up straight. cant tahan him!

rachel
sound so typical of men...or also for my hb, sometimes they dunno what to say or do, they will sleep over it and hope things will be fine and great the next day.
Good your hb at least thank you and appreciate your effort

Just came back from PD. Got the 5-in-in jab. He's very guai. Just cry once, then ok liao.

I asked my PD regarding the rotavirus. He said to hold it first coz it's still a very new vaccine. It was withdrawn once before. With the 2nd introduction, it was given free to polyclinics as a trial. Then two of the babies whom his colleague treated (they took the jabs at polyclinic but realised something very wrong with their babies after the jabs) died from the vaccine. The vaccine company denied it's gotta do with their vaccines and said it was due to other causes.

mashy
that sound so scary!
you went to private clinic for the 5-in-1 jab? heard that after the jab baby might get fever. did your PD mentioned that. my boy have yet go for that, heard from pple that its abt the same price between polyclinic and private...

cookie
true! think he hope that after a good night sleep of his everything will be fine. but this morning he dun dare talk to me and i completely shut him off. bad of me too but really want him to know my feeling...

Mashy brainz,
wow there are even babies who died from the jab? that sounds really serious. luckily ur PD is good enough to tell you that.

by the way just wondering is the 5in1 jab provided by the polyclinic free of charge? i read from somewhere that it is. if not, how is the charges like? Javier will be going for his jab this thur and hopefully he will be fine like most babies here.

yes, i m going back to work nxt monday too and the tot of it really sucks.. firstly worried that he cant get used to my mum's care and secondly the envirnment. and of cos the time at work and away from Jav,... oh.. i really dunno how man.. but still got to work cos need the money.

SY,
hey ur boi is really cool man.. so much hair!!! how i wish Javier has some of them. his hair is dropping like dunno whose biz and i m really looking fwd to shave him botak which is 4th mth (ard 28 apr). what most pple recommend.

Re: Gathering
Sorry, won't be able to attend. Agent just informed that my maid will be coming next week. Need to train and monitor her. You guys have fun!

7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
8) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
12) serene + hubby + bb (bee hoon) (NO)
14) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (chicken curry)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

SSF, this week I finally saw hidden double eye-lids on my boy. Heard sometimes that it takes a few months to appear. Got hope!

Mashy,
I read that the rotavirus vaccine is an oral one, not a jab. Is it the same one? Also wanted to have the vaccine but having 2nd thoughts now after seeing your post.

Celine, Rachael
My boy also like that. He will suck, yank and cry. Put him down also cry until I give him pacifier. That's why sometimes I prefer to feed him EBM.

celine,
I also have the same experience as you. she was crying and fussing yesterday and I thought my milk not enough, then when I put her down, she played happily with her father. I thought she dont like me. previously I thought she don't have enough milk and even make 60ml of FM to feed her but she rejected the milk by pushing out the teat.

Re: mittens
understand that most of your babies are not wearing mittens liao. I am trying to cut my girls fingernails once a week during weekend (coz my MIL eyesight not very good) but her nails grow very fast. my MIL and hubby kept insisting to let her wear her mittens coz she kept scratching herself but I am afraid that she won't have a chance to practise grabbing things, not so good for her development. what to do? is it ok for her to be still wearing mittens now that she is 3 months? my sis-in-law babies stop wear when they are 1month old.

Hi Krissie,
I like it so far, no complaints, except that it faces front and the handles cannot be reversed so that bb faces you...think there is another model that can do that, but it's not egg shock loh.. I like the weight which allows me to sling it over my shoulder easily, bought it for $388 at Baby Kingdom, but you can try Seiyu Bugis, they carry Combi prams too... that time have 15% discount somemore...

Mashy,
really! And my hubby and I had more or less decided to let Shannon take the Rotavirus jab next week as she already had a fever and diarrhoea due to a virus 2 weeks ago! NOw undecided again...

HI Mummies,
since Serene can't make it, and no bee hoon, I'll change my food item form chicken curry to spring rolls, then we won't have so much food..

7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
14) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (spring rolls)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

krissie - tat was done by my bro-in-law who's a freelance photographer...

Re : Jabs
can someone enlighten me on the jabs? when exactly are they to go? i thought it was at 1,3,4,5 months. how come Mashy's bb juz got jab only yest? i thot Caeden was born on new year's day??? i oni brought Celeste for her 2nd hepB at her one mth... am i missing out sometin? *worried*

mongs,

many times he will tell me to sleep and he will do the feeding but end up I am the one feeding bb.. coz he can't hear bb's cries.. when I scold him he just say why can't you wake me up.. haiz.. what is the point since I am awake..especially during times when I am sick .. I still have to look after baby.. my hb is the same when bb cry he will just ignore and say this time he wants you I carry still cry one...

RE: gathering.. (UPDATE ON FOOD AND ATTENDANCE)

Dear all , gathering date will be as usual 8th April.. Sorry for the confusion.. venue should be at Tanah Merah .. at this moment.. Those who cannot make it please put a (NO) at the side.. thanks

1) rena + hubby + bb (Pizza)
6) sysac + bb (rocky pizza) (NO)
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
14) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (spring rolls)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

Plus these are the things to bring
Things to bring:
1) one big soft towel
2) mattress/exercise mat to lay on floor (optional)
3) Your own preferred lotion/oil if you have. Otherwise, Johnson's Baby Lotion & Oil will be provided

Please confirm your attendance by friday 31st March..