(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May

My boy is also same same, very fussy. If not warm enough, have to reheat. I use a cup with hot water, then halfway if he doesn't drink becoz it's not warm enough, i'll put the bottle in the hot water and it'll be heated up very quickly. Take that time to burp him as well.

Re: gathering on 14th April-Good Friday

1) rena + hubby + bb (fish ball + sotong ball)
2) sunny + hubby + bb (Veggie Spaghetti)
3) valerie + hubby + bb (drink)
4) cindy + cindy's mom + bb (assorted fruits) OK if after 12 noon
5) Cookie + hubby + bb (crispy fried chicken) OK
6) sysac + bb (rocky pizza) (NO)
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
8) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
9) krissie + hubby + bb (logan almond jelly)
10) sl+hubby+bb (walnut cake)
11)mongs + hubby + bb (peanut pancakes)
12) serene + hubby + bb (bee hoon)
13) pochacco + hubby + bb
14) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (chicken curry)
15)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom/hb + bb (potato salad)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
8) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
11)mongs + hubby + bb (peanut pancakes)
15)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom/hb + bb NO
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

goin to hk that weekend, have fun mommies!

may,

my gal also like that. she drinks by instalment. i have the avent bottle warmer. It's good for heating up milk - quite fast. after the first instalment, i will put the bottle into the bottle warmer. it works quite well so far.

tabbiesus,

am looking at the mini fridge one. don't need to get the same design - as long as it's within the same order. The cooler bag seems quite good right? which one are you looking at?

Just came back from PD, Ethan took his 3rd mth jab today. Its the 5-in-1 jab. Decided not to take the Rotavirus vaccine. BB weighs 6.14kg. PD says his weight is very good, considering he was a super underweight (1.78kg) bb when born.

Gathering
Seems that quite a few ladies can't make it on 14th Apr. Just a suggestion.....shall we stick to 8th Apr & maybe look for another venue??

Zhimin,
Clarisse looks very sweet in the poohbear outfit. Does she look more like u & daddy?

Rena,
Elijah's thighs look very juicy ley! Can't wait to feel them!
kao_drool.gif

Zhimin
clarisse is so cute.. she can pose somemore..
I remember my gal also has 1 photos same pose as clarisse, so cute...

SSF,
no lah... how to get 550ml per session! I mean 500-600ml in total for 3 sessions about 4 hourly.

Re. Gathering
I'm ok with both dates as well!

7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
11)mongs + hubby + bb (peanut pancakes) (ok)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

SSF,
I don't bring back the pump, motor and adapter. when I reach home, I use the advent manual pump to pump the last time because I will miss Clariss feed time, after that pumping session, I will latch her on 8pm, 11pm, midnight (depends whether she wake up), 6am before I go to work.

since I use advent at home and medela mini plus in the office everyday, I have been comparing these 2 pumps. i find that advent pump is better and not necessary slower. also sometimes, i pumped out more than the medela and its less painful.

Rena,
Elijah looks really mighty! And happy

Saw that his big thigh got only single line, next bb will also be boy hee (old wives tale)

May,
I use the Avent warmer too. My boy's feed takes n hour! Usually of 2 instalments. He always need to burp or get disinterested after taking 60ml. The other 60ml usually fed after 10 mins of 'rest'. Think he has developed a bad feeding habit - either doze off or get too distracted to suck. Imagine, 7hrs a day is spent on feeding!

Anyone tried to implement the Sleep Sense strategies yet?

sy
which brand of pills is it? coz the GNC and Nature's Farm hv diff dosage.

may
my boy also likes warm milk. i bot the avent warmer. It doesnt work like how i thot it wld work. it warms milk from fridge faster than us using the hot water in cup. but, once it's warmed, hv to remove from warmer, else it wld be too hot.

gathering
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
9) krissie + hubby + bb (logan almond jelly) (NO)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

krissie,
i search the web to find out wat's the recommended dosage for taking fenugreek. so it came to 9pills aday(gnc brand). of coz i'm calculating based on the max dosage. KS mummy! :p

btw mummies, need some advice here:

how to transport ebm when we bring bb out? do we:

1)take it out of the fridge, put in the milk bottle, put in a cooler bag then heat up when want to use? if by this method, how many hrs can the ebm last?

2)take it out of the fridge, put in the milk bottle, heat up and then put in a insulating bag? if by this method, how many hrs can the ebm

Also for those mummies who bring their bbies out, how do u cope when bb cry for milk? do u run to the nearest nursery room? i mean wouldn't it be too chaotic if bb is wailing his lungs out. or do u all pre-empt his feeding time and feed him b4 he "asks" for milk?

Hi moms, I'm from the March thread and have been reading your past posts and it really helped me greatly!!

Need to ask a few questions:

Sleepingdeer/durian lover:
i understand that you were on total latching for the begining, likewise I am on total latching too. How do you start to store excess EBM for futher use since baby will latch on about 3hrly?
I only express after feeds and each time it yields only 10-20ml for each breast, sometimes even 5ml! Even if my baby dun feed on one breast and I express out, the amount is not that fantastic.

I remember someone mentioning that a LC ask her to express after every feed and 3hrly, how do one express 3hrly if I am latching on 3hrly?

Sleepingdeer, if you dun mind, can you pass me the contact of the LC that you are seeing? I wonder if I have blocked ducts too, how does one know if we have blocked ducts? My milk flow during expressing is very err miserable

Thank you in advance for your advice.

RE: gathering..

shall we find a new venue? is Tanah merah ok.. if yes then I ask my uncle to book? or anyone else have better offer???

let's do it this way as long as 80% of the PP can make it on 14th then we go ahead , however the major person is still cindy's friend..

RE: feeding

my boy was quit guai for two days only drank at 8pm and 1am then 6am but the next few days went back to the four hour feeding.. so tired..

gathering
2) sunny + hubby + bb (Veggie Spaghetti) NO
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

can't make it on 14th... :*

Re: Gathering
Seems like lotsa mummies cannot make it on 14th April.. maybe should stick to original date.
I'm ok with Tanah Merah location too.

Ginger
If you have block duct, you will feel your breast with lump and when press on them will feel painful. If block duct are not cleared, you may develop fever too.
So when u feel feverish, u have to check your breast if u have any block duct and if you do, must massage hard and push them out towards your nipple until you see milk flow out from your nipple.
hope this help.

Ginger,
I supposed you just gave birth? Milk supply depends on individual. To establish milk supply, you have to be patient. It's good that you are on total latching right from the start. As long as you feed on demand or at least 3 hrly, your milk supply will be established soon and should be able to maintain an adequate supply. if you express after feed, it is not surprising to have only 10-20ml of EBM cos your baby may have done a good job in emptying your breasts. Could also be the pumping techinique. It takes practice to get a good hang of the pump especially if using a manual pump. Also, do you know what is letdown? It is a tingling sensation in the breasts whereby milk is ready to shoot out fast and in jets. When you experience letdown, large amount of milk will come out automatically. During nursing, other than feeling the tingling sensation, you'll know that you have letdown if you can see/hear baby swallowing milk instead of suckling. Don't have to pump hard to get decent amount of milk during letdown. So the key to pumping is to achieve letdown. If you pump after feed, it can be quite difficult to achieve letdown again cos breasts has already letdown when baby suckle. Sometimes have to pump quite long to get another letdown. So pumping before getting a letdown may not give you much especially if your breasts are already not that full after feed.

If you keep to 3 hrly latching schedule, the only way to accumulate EBM is to pump during/after every feed. During feed, baby feeds on one breast while you pump the other breast. This is good if one breast is normally enough for baby. By latch & pump, your baby can help to bring about letdown more easily and you can catch the letdown with your pump at the same time. But this will take some practice to hold baby on one hand and the other to hold the pump. A nursing pillow will help. If baby normally needs both breast, then have to pump after feed. May not have enought EBM from 1 feed. It's ok. Just store the 10 or 20ml in the fridge. Next session's EBM can add on to the previous. But try to freeze the EBM after accumulatig from 2 or 3 sessions. And try not to pump directly into the previous EBM. Store them, in separate bottles and cool before combining them and then freeze.

Don't be discourage if your pump output is miserable. Pump output is not an indication of milk supply. Suggest you read www.kellymom.com for more info. It is a very good website on breastfeeding.

Whatever it is, Jia you!

gathering
Can't make it on 14th/15th.

2) sunny + hubby + bb (Veggie Spaghetti) NO
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
12) serene + hubby + bb (bee hoon) No
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

Queen,
You give very good advice, no wonder your ms so good. I think too late for me to follow, starting work already..sigh

Pumping at Work
SSF, I starting work soon also, have the same concerns as you about pumping, storage, sterilisation etc. at work. I'm using the Medela bag for mini-electric. It has a cooler bag with 4 storage bottles + 1 cooling agent and can also fit in the pump and adaptor. I got it free with purchase of the pump during the baby fair at Expo. Very worth it as the normal retail price is $128 for the storage bag.

Transport EBM
Celine, EBM kept cool and subsquently heat is a better method, can be maintained longer (at least 4 hours). Once heated, EBM can only be maintained for 1 hour.

Sl,

I'm looking at the mini fridge option... sounds quite good for leaving in office. I don't like the idea of putting my milk in the office fridge cos of all the food inside and dunno how often the fridge gets open and closed.... sometimes, scared if someone kaypoh and look at my EBM... got a friend who had a male colleague mistake her EBM for milk and drank it..*faint*

Wenyl, SYsac
Would love your advice...How did u manage to get your baby to put on weight so well despite lower birth weight? Are u TBF or partial BF or FM? I am having difficulty fattening up my baby... so tired of comments that my girl is so small... I am on TBF for 7 feeds/day (bb can sleep thro nite)and feed 120ml per feed for 3 feeds and latch for the rest.. still so small my girl ~3 mths, 4.3kg only)...

Feeding wise she has no difficulty drinking up 120-150 ml (can finish in 10min). Length wise she has managed to cross percentils from birth, but weight wise still 5th percentile... I guess she is still growing alright cos my PD was happy with her weight gain during 2mth visit, but I'd like to see her a little more pong pong *grins*

Celine,
Re: transporting EBM for feeds

I used to pre-warm up the EBM and feed baby within 4 hours, but then I read on one of the other threads that warmed EBM is a good source for bacterial growth and I checked with my LC that it is best consumed within 1 hour of warming to avoid bacteria growth... ultimately if u prewarm and use later than 1 hour... better test milk and make sure not sour.. its a bit of a risk lor... altho. i have done this a few times, retrospectively i dun want to take the risk for my baby anymore... so now I only prewarm the milk and put in a warmer bag (one with the silver insulation) and feed within 1 hour.

So, what I do now is bring the thawed/ fresh milk in a cooler bag if the next feed is longer than 1 hour, and try and get hot water at either a food court/restaurant/ nursing room to warm the ebm in a small bowl/ container I bring along.

THis is little more troublesome, I usu. latch the baby on a bit to avoid her screaming and get hubby or my mom to prep. the ebm and feed her the ebm when ready...

Latching directly is actually the most convenient, cos don't have to worry abt engorgemnt and don't have to bring barang barang for milk. I don't mind BF in public cos I use a sling or I have a nursing cover that is quite convenient. If there is nowhere for me to sit, I will look for a cafe and get the most secluded corner... that way I can get a drink and relax at the same time...

Rena,

I just saw ur baby's photos! I have the My first levis baby girl's version... your son is so cute in the outfit... looking very stylo!! My girl oso suck fist exactly like your boy!! So envious..Your boy is such a good size, i wish my girl can be bigger..

RE:gathering

dear all since this is the case.. we shall stick to 8th April.. I have ask my uncle to check the function room.. however in any case.. is there any one who would wish to open house?

please PM me ok..

Rena,

My colleague prefers 8 Apr. Shall we then conclude to have it on 8 Apr and Tanah Merah as first choice venue? Second choice is open house.

Hi tabbiesus,

ya - agree that the mini fridge option looks tempting. I already have the medela cooler bag but find that with the ice brick, there isn't much room already - can only put 4 bottles of medela milk bottles. that's why interested in the cooler bag. Wanna share and purchase? Any other mummies interested as well?

celine,

I also bring out chilled ebm and heat it up only when needed. Taka, paragon, tangs - all the nursing room have hot water dispenser so only need to bring cup.

queen
my office floor doesn't have medical room. i wd have to use one of the meeting rooms i guess but none of them really ulu..think will have to start asking my boss abt whether i can use the room for pumping.

re mummies using both medela and avent
i had to use the avent manual pump yesterday cos my maid forgot to bring back the valve for my PIS from my mum's place and i found it so difficult to use! i needed a longer time to achieve letdown and it was quite painful.

but i think ym MS a bit better after using it. how to make it less painful? i find it quite painful on the nipple compared to the PIS

re avent bottle warmer
i find it quite useful in getting the temp i wan. i actually will warm it up using either setting 1 or 2 depending on how fast i need to warm it and 5 min before i need it, i will switch it off. if i dun need it too fast, i will just set at a bit below 1. this temp is good enough for feeding immediately after removal.

krissie
i take the GNC pills. take between 6-8 a day is fine.

re gathering
what time is it on 8 apr?

sl,
the cooler bag must order in 3s right? Count me in.

SY,
I use 2 Avent Isis pumps at work. Make sure that your nipples do not rub against the funnel and press down enough for a suction conforatable for you. There is no need to press down too much. If you press hard and yet feel little suction, then it could be that the parts are not fitted tightly and properly (especially the small white valve).

just wanna to check how much much does you bb drink every feed...how many feed per day...

my son start to reject drink milk..he only drink around 80 ml every feed that was 4 hourly...and sometime even up to 6 hours..abt 6 feed per day..i am afraid that he is not drinking enough for his growth..

Babylon,
My bb also started having milk behaviorial problem when he reached 6 weeks old. He is 10 weeks now. We need to coax and at times force him to drink as he is drinking only between 650ml to 800ml per day below his required qty of 900ml. He is now sleeping more in the night, feeds have been reduced to 6-7 times. I feed him 120ml each time which takes me an hour as we need to coax and at times force him to finish. I am the one who usually give up after he takes about 90ml. My mom is more patient and would try to make him take more.

And yes, he doesn;t seem to be hungry anymore. 60ml can last him from 7pm to 12 midnight (5hrs). In his first mth, he could down 110ml in 20 mins.

How long has this been? It could be just a one-off for you?

Well, PD says as long as he is putting on weight its ok, but I still cannot help but worry as he may become a slow feeder, or what if this situation persist...

There is a thread regarding babies who are drinking little milk...

sunny,
1) PD's formula of 150ml per kg of weight. He is 6.2kg now. So, 930ml.
2) Milk tin is also 900ml, but we know this is just a gauge.

RE: gathering

the time would be 2pm.. and the venue should be at tanah merah.. but still waiting for reply.. any one who wish to offer are welcome

Hi Rena,
What's the programme for the gathering? Just potluck? Got baby massage session is it?
Where in Tanah Merah?

babylon
your baby's milk intake sounds low. did u check with PD? most impt is to seek their advice. think they will check weight gain etc.

cindy
actually sleep is also very impt so if your bb starts to sleep more, i guess that's fine as well. my fren told me her CL said that sleep more impt that drinking milk.

my boy keeps crying when drinking milk nowadays. think i need to change to no 3 for his teat already

queen
i m actually using PIS at home but thinking of using avent at work cos it's easier to bring ard. think i shd start practicing how to use it. did u use the let down cushion? i feel like not using that but dunno whether that helps in acheiving let down.

tabbiesus,
Ethan was on Similac Neosure since birth for the 1st 3 weeks. During this time, I did try to supplement him with EBM. When my milk supply came in, it was TBM till to date, latching him on 3-4hrly. I do standby FM (Similac Excellence) & ask hb to feed him if I m tired or couldn't make it back in time for his feeds. That only happens rarely or the most once a week. I really thank God for his good weight gain, despite having a poor start.

PD did mentioned that once bb hit 3mth, they may reduce their milk intake. So we may need to adjust to demand feeding again.

Rena,
I also hv the exact "My 1st Levis" set of rompers & jeans for Ethan. It was his 1st mth bday gift. Hvnt got a chance to wear the jeans yet. Weather has been hot hot hot!

I m ok with 8th Apr 2pm (Tanah Merah).

Cindy,
If ur colleague teach us the baby massage, do we need to bring a towel or mat to lay bb on the floor? What abt the massage oil/gel....Do we need to bring our own??

Re: what to bring for baby massage
Same questions as wendy.. wondering what do we need to prepare? becos I do not have any massage oil or gel for baby.

babylon,
I'm not sure how much my boy drinks cos I direct latch whenever I'm with him every 3 hrly. But my MIL says he cannot finish the 110ml EBM per bottle most of the time. Sometimes when I'm home after work, I seem leftovers of about 20-40ml... So I guess he drinks about 70ml - 90ml of EBM every 2.5 to 3 hrly. My MIL says if he's in the mood can finish the 110ml, but rarely. So far he's kind of small compared to the rest of the Jan 06 baby. Only 5.2kg measured at 13+ weeks. How's your baby's weight gain? Your boy really seems like he's not eating much... but according to the doctor, as long as weight doubles birth wwight by 5th month, weight gain is still considered healthy.

SY,
How come your friend's CL says sleep more important than milk? Sounds illogical leh...
I use the letdown cushion. Never tried without. Since it's patented and supposed to help with letdown. Just use it loh. My letdowns come quite fast... within 1 or 2 mins. Dunno if it's due to the letdown cushion or due to breast fullness cos my pumping interval is about 4-5 hours. Milk very ready to come out liao...
Is it uncomfortable to not use the letdown cushion?

Do you feel that your hair is dropping more nowadays, especially due to BF? My hair drops a lot, even before preggy and during preggy. Now worse! Scared will hair will thin out fast and worse still, start getting wider parting line!

RE: Milk Amount
My Gal seems to drink 110ml is her max..

Here's the latest pic of Jamie:

392821.jpg

She can turn half way already. That's the max she can go. She tried very hard to slip over but guess doesn't have enough strength yet. And she will get fedup if she tried many times.

392822.jpg

i also find my BB taking lesser BM nowadays. I latch him on but find he will stop drinkn after abt 10-15 mins...and will refuse the other side...

Queen, are you still taking ur supplements? I hear that you shd continue else all the stores of nutrients will go to BB and you will experience all these hairloss etc....so i am still taking the supplements i took during pregnancy days.

Queen
I think your bb milk intake is o.k. My bb about the same age as yours, weights 6.4kg but take in about 70-90ml per 2.5-3 hrs interval. Previously used to down about 120ml. Recently weight gain is slower but since he is still gaining weight every week, Paed thinks it is alredy.

Hair
After birth hair dropping is normal not because you are on TBF. Those feeding FM will have the same problem. The important thing is that after dropping, they grow back. After having my daughter previously, I started dropping hair after the third month and after that can see there are alot of new baby hair that replace the hair that have fallen off.

I apply some hair tonic after 4 month as I stopped BF. This time will apply tonic after I stop BF. I can't remember the tonic name already, must go and ask my friend again and I am not sure whether it is safe to use while BF.

Krissie
Your bb feeds only 7 times aday which is very good, mine still 8-9 times aday.

may
Jamie so cute, can turn to the side liao. my boy still cant do it.

yuen yuen
ya, not bad. sometimes he wakes at 6am, but pass 2 nights at 4 am, like now..

hi queen,

just emailed the seller regarding the ice pack. will let you know when i got reply from her.

my baby also drinks lesser - i give her 100ml of ebm, she can't finish most of the time. think it shd be okay as well as she's gaining wt.

my hair didn't drop much but agree with ak that your intake of nutrients is very impt cos a lot of the nutrients will go the baby? must drink more milk as well - heard from fren that we lose a lot of calcium when breastfeeding.

may
your gal so cute!
how do you train her to turn?

i heard from my hairdresser and other aunties that normally mummy will drop hair from 4th mths onwards... i am so worried.

Re: milk feeding amt..
my gal has been feeding on 120ml for sometime and recently seem not enough so I feed more 130ml.. but I notice she also regurgitate more after feeding.
I'm worried I'm over feeding her or what.. but the thing is she can finish 130-140ml..heard bb is very smart, they will know when to stop when they are full but I'm still concern if I over fed my bb since she regurgitate after almost every feed.
Anyone has this problem too?
Think I'm going to give her 120ml and monitor.

today first day back at work, so miss my little gal... only managed to pump out 50ml at 8am after feeding her at 7am... alamak, think have to supplement more FM already....

morning mummies...

yesterday went to Choa Chu Kang Kiddy palace. they are having 30% renovation sales storewide. bought some clothes for my boy. yesterday was last day and almost all the items are gone. also went to natas yesterday and book a 3D2N stay at Bintan Nirwana Garden..and will be bringing bb along. hee..hopefully to enjoy myself before i head back to work in a couple of weeks time. anyone know where can i get the waterproof diaper for swimming? i remembered someone mention abt this before. also where can i buy it? bb is not 3 mths yet..is it advisable for him to swim?

sl, queen - is there a grp buy for ice pack? if so, i am interested.

re: milk feeding amount
i used to feed my boy at 120ml but nowsaday i try feeding him more and he actually drink it all up. so i am increasing his milk qty to 130ml and last night last feed(11p.m) gave him 150ml and he slept thruout till 6a.m. so i told my hb i will wake up for pump and he will wake up for feed. in that case, both of us have fair share of sleep.

re: hair loss
i dun take any supplements and i do not have any hairloss. but seriously i am thinking of buying some supplements off the shelf as i am worried abt calcium loss and especially now that i am breastfeeding. any recommendation? anyone buying any off the shelf?

rena - ur boy look so cute with his levis outfit. very hippy! hee..

Hair Loss / Supplements
When we are breastfeeding, must increase intake of calcium as well as iron. As iron is heaty, remember to drink more water. Those multi-vit with high calcium is good. Calcium is impt as we lose alot while BF and if we do not supplement you will realise that your nails, hair will not grow as well and your teeth might also not feel so strong.

As for multi-vit supplement, those in soft gel form is better than capsule. Not sure as I hear say from friend.

Sleep through and feeding
My bb not sleep through yet infact he is back to 2.5 hourly feed at night. Not sure why, anyone have the same problem?

Milk supply
My mense is back and I realise there is a drop in the supply, is there any connection?