Sl,
I'm looking at the mini fridge option... sounds quite good for leaving in office. I don't like the idea of putting my milk in the office fridge cos of all the food inside and dunno how often the fridge gets open and closed.... sometimes, scared if someone kaypoh and look at my EBM... got a friend who had a male colleague mistake her EBM for milk and drank it..*faint*
Wenyl, SYsac
Would love your advice...How did u manage to get your baby to put on weight so well despite lower birth weight? Are u TBF or partial BF or FM? I am having difficulty fattening up my baby... so tired of comments that my girl is so small... I am on TBF for 7 feeds/day (bb can sleep thro nite)and feed 120ml per feed for 3 feeds and latch for the rest.. still so small my girl ~3 mths, 4.3kg only)...
Feeding wise she has no difficulty drinking up 120-150 ml (can finish in 10min). Length wise she has managed to cross percentils from birth, but weight wise still 5th percentile... I guess she is still growing alright cos my PD was happy with her weight gain during 2mth visit, but I'd like to see her a little more pong pong *grins*
Celine,
Re: transporting EBM for feeds
I used to pre-warm up the EBM and feed baby within 4 hours, but then I read on one of the other threads that warmed EBM is a good source for bacterial growth and I checked with my LC that it is best consumed within 1 hour of warming to avoid bacteria growth... ultimately if u prewarm and use later than 1 hour... better test milk and make sure not sour.. its a bit of a risk lor... altho. i have done this a few times, retrospectively i dun want to take the risk for my baby anymore... so now I only prewarm the milk and put in a warmer bag (one with the silver insulation) and feed within 1 hour.
So, what I do now is bring the thawed/ fresh milk in a cooler bag if the next feed is longer than 1 hour, and try and get hot water at either a food court/restaurant/ nursing room to warm the ebm in a small bowl/ container I bring along.
THis is little more troublesome, I usu. latch the baby on a bit to avoid her screaming and get hubby or my mom to prep. the ebm and feed her the ebm when ready...
Latching directly is actually the most convenient, cos don't have to worry abt engorgemnt and don't have to bring barang barang for milk. I don't mind BF in public cos I use a sling or I have a nursing cover that is quite convenient. If there is nowhere for me to sit, I will look for a cafe and get the most secluded corner... that way I can get a drink and relax at the same time...