(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wenyl
I don't bring BB to work. I cannot work if BB around.

Mashy brainz
I agree with you. My BB also cannot sleep during the day without the aircon, even if i only dress him in a short bodysuit and with fan full blast!! So we literally have AC on all day and night except for 2 hours b4 bath... our electricity bill has gone up by $100 at least ever since.... siong....

Sunny,
Just being kaypo here... are you going to feed BB vegetarian food when he's older? My girlfriend has a girl and a pair of twin boys. The whole family is vegetarian. She feeds them soy milk when BB and organic brown rice when older... boy, were they fat when they were BBs and now the twins are toddlers and they are massive.... looks much tougher than other toddlers their age!

denmy
i will feed bb vegetarian food till she would make her own choice of food. need her to take veg food willingly when she knows how to order food for herself.

hehe.. actually being a vegetarian, i find that i m healthier than last time.

so busy at work today... had to stretch my pumping interval to 5 hours! Rushing through the pumping sessions but luckily still manage to pump out 550ml in all, probably cos breasts quite full liao.

Yesterday on leave and brought Isaac to polyclinic for DPT & Polio vaccination. HB did want to opt for those 5-in-1 jabs cos he says no point paying when can get it for free at polyclinic and if really need, just take the hib jab separately. Isaac came down with fever last night. hit about 38.2 deg today. Still having slight fever... hopefully will subside by tomorrow. Poor baby, not as active and talkative.
Isaac is in his 13th week, weigh 5.2kg & 58.5cm. Very small hor, he's only at 25th percentile. but nurse says ok cos he has doubled his birth weight. Weight gain is healthy as long as BB doubles birth weight by 5th month.

Re. gathering
Gathering:
1) rena + hubby + bb (fish ball + sotong ball)
2) sunny + hubby + bb (Veggie Spaghetti)
3) valerie + hubby + bb (drink)
4) cindy + cindy's mom + bb (assorted fruits)
5) Cookie + hubby + bb (crispy fried chicken)
6) sysac + bb (rocky pizza)
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
8) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
9) krissie + hubby + bb (logan almond jelly)
10) sl+hubby+bb (walnut cake)
11)mongs + hubby + bb (peanut pancakes)
12) serene + hubby + bb (bee hoon)
13) pochacco + hubby + bb
14) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (chicken curry)
15)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom/hb + bb (potato salad)
16) Wenyl + bb

mashy
btw, what brand of fernugreek are u taking? Me taking GNC and only 6 pills a day. thot of increasing. Did any LC recommend u to take 9? coz Mrs wong told me to take 6, but i find not enough leh.

today my bb slept from yesterday 10pm + till 6am!! so happy. i think she's too tired already. 'cos i brought her out shop shop and she didn't sleep much during the day. :p then end up, i pumped after 6.5 hours! feeling engorged but after pump, feel lighter. hehe...

yesterday went to c mrs wong to clear bleb. so painful but bearable. she also tested my MS, and she said i got good MS. phew!!! feeling relief after hearing that.

then i went back to office and saw the newly set up nursing room!!! though there are only 2 rooms for pumping, i really appreciate my co's pro-family initiative.

sunny,
me and my hubby wanted to be vegetarians. we tried to start with eating non meat based stuff for a day in a week. then I got pregnant and my MIL moved to my hubby bro place (which is opp us) and cook for us. find it too troublesome to request for vegetarian food. she is pro-fish. everyday have to take steam fish during dinner. I find that i like meat during my pregnancy, not so much before and after that.

hubby coming back from New York tonight. me and clariss going to fetch him. think he will be very happy to see us. kept asking me to send mms of baby.

Sunny,
How does Mrs Wong test your MS? How much is good MS? I'm wondering whether my MS is good leh... So good that your office has nursing room liao. HR for mine says the room is in process of being set up but they said so since last Dec! I still have to pump in the toilet (the cleanest one that I can find) in the morning, noon and evening I pump in the treatment room at the medical center. By the time the nursing room is up at my office, probably I already wean off liao.

anyone knows that website of taimopi? want to bring clariss there for her haircut and make a brush out of her hair.

mashybrainz,
ic... my shooting pain on the shoulder comes even when i don't move. and yes, like u, i tot i was the only one! kinda glad to know that there's someone like me... :p tot i'm the only weird one... keke...

rena,
think i hv to give the gathering a miss coz i'm not comfortable bringing my boy out yet. as he can be cranky at times... and when he screams, it's really outta this world!

krissie

nope. my boy still drank it up.

I was advised by the gals at le leche league breastfeeding support group. I bought mine at nature's farm. Not fantastic effects for me, but at least can go up to 30ml sometimes. Previously my ms went down so low, almost cannot squeeze out anything liao.

Celine
Haha, yah, good to know that we've the same problems. I think it might be from the pumping position that i take. Coz i have to bend over and squeeze my breasts for the milk. And now my arms and hands are also sore.
Told my ds whether can stop at 3mths, coz pumping really taxing leh, and 1 day pump so many times. Somemore i do manual pump, can die. I find the medela mini electric not as good.

mashy,
i'm really not sure wat's the cause. i oso bend over to squeeze my breasts after it stops coming out when pumping, usually after 10min of pumping then i will spend another 10min to squeeze my breasts while pumping. my hands are oso arching from the squeezing esp my thumbs. i'm using medela PIS advance. feel that it doesn't empty as well as latching bb on. but i guess the same applies to all pumps? how many times do u express a day? I pump about 5times aday. really pei fu u can hand express. i think my thumb will be sprained! but now i try to latch my boy on at least once aday. i realise that if i latch him on for the last feed, i can pump out much more milk at the next pumping session and the milk comes out of the breasts easier. literally shoots out.

fenugreek,
i used to take 3pills 3 times daily. got mine from gnc. think it does help a little but not fantastic. i have an unopened bottle for sale if anyone is interested.

celine

Wah, so good, shooting milk!

I pump abt 4-6 times a day. Yah, all pumps cannot empty properly but now they're better alternatives compared to my boy coz his suck has weakened tremendously. Now he's accustomed to bottle teats, so suck wrongly liao. But I'll latch him on at night and before he feeds sometimes. He still likes to suckle my breasts altho not much milk. So when he cries/screams, my breasts can usually come in handy. He'll stop immediately when he's put to my breast and when he's hungry, he's also ok with sucking my breasts until the real food comes.

mongs
if possible, eat lesses meat lah.
yesterday my colleague said my gal's skin very good mayb 'cos she's taking veg BM. haha... but to me, i can't tell the difference lah. :p
you can go www.taimaobi.com to have a look. i did my gal's taimaobi there.

queen
mrs wong weighed my gal before and after's weight, then compare and see what's the difference. then, she squeezed my areola to see how much milk flow out after feed. then, she concluded that bb is suckled well and my MS is ok.
the nursing room in my office got a mini fridge, hotwater dispenser and bottle detergent, too leh! when i see that, i was so happy. just hope that when i go to pump, my boss is ok with it and the rooms are not occupied.

mashy, krissie
There was also one point in time my MS went down quite low & I got worried that my MS will stop. Only managed to pump 30ml combined. To get back my MS, I latched her on more often and pumped after every feed even if its only 5-15ml. After about 3 days, my MS gradually returned and now, I'm pumping about 90-120ml each side again.

mashy, krissie
There was also one point in time my MS went down quite low & I got worried that my MS will stop. Only managed to pump 30ml combined. To get back my MS, I latched her on more often and pumped after every feed even if its only 5-15ml. After about 3 days, my MS gradually returned and now, I'm pumping about 90-120ml each side again.

celine
can check who recommended you to take 9 pills? I'm also keen to up my intake but not sure if it's ok. thanks

Today so sad. My MIL told me that Isaac rejects my EBM suddenly. He took in max 40ml whenever she tried feeding EBM to him. But when she gave him FM, he gulp down 80ml and still want more! Why like that? I thought it could be because my EBm is spoilt or that it could be due to something which I ate. But cannot be leh, cos my MIl tried feeding him 5 bottles of EBM, 3 of which are expressed yesterday and last Friday. Can't be all due to something that I ate right? Another explanation is that the milk is spoilt. But no way to be certain cos my MIL threw away the EBM. And my MIL and PIL keep stressing that he happily drank up all the FM... make me feel a bit angry loh. Maybe I'm too sensitive...

Anyway, I took home 1 bottle of frozen EBM. Wil ltry to feed him tomorrow and see if he rejects. Just now when I got home and latch him on and when letdown comes, he drinks. But towards the end, he made a lot of noise. Dunno whether he's really rejecting my BM or that my milk flow has slowed down. I'll be very sad if he doesn't want my BM anymore. Not easy to squeeze out 500-600ml at work to TBF him...

SY
your boy so cute will sleep in that position.
I also try to put my gal in that position to entertain her.. but she end up doing push up ley..keke

Durain lover
my gal smile also very difficult to catch one but usually I will hold my camera ready and keep calling her until hopefully she smile..

my gal also need to be carry before she nap in the afternoon.. I think she just want some cuddling and when she is in her half sleep state I will put her on my bed, she will yak yak a few times then will fall asleep.

SFF,
It's Tollyjoy, not NUK.

queen,
could it be that the FM you are giving him actually tastes sweeter than your BM? One of my friend realised that was her problem... bbies have quite a sweet tooth and BM is generally more bland than FM.
how abt the temp of the milk? Are they both the same? Some bbies will fuss over that too.

queen

maybe i'm paranoid, maybe your ILs want your boy to sleep longer? Anyway, came across one Dec mom whose MIL threw away all her EBM, gave her bb FM and lied that her EBM not enough. U try out yourself at home and see whether your boy really just drink 40ml. Of course, another reason could be storage problem which will lead to spoilage. Eg storing EBM at the fridge door compartment is no no (due to opening and closing of fridge freqly) and transporting.

Anyway, i disagree with what Cindy said abt FM being sweeter than BM. Actually, BM has a high sugar content. Have you taster your BM? It's definitely much sweerer.

krissie,
I also got that shooting pain on my right breast today after BB emptied it...

mongs,
I did my bb's hair with http://www.babeszone.com.sg/

what do you use for massaging BB? Is anyone bringing their own massage oil for 8th april's massage session?

I've found a few types of massage oil. Which one sounds besst to you?

http://www.ahomeonearth.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=32&products_id=30&osCsid=75b6d999d1bff13b02c4a24b431b8724

http://www.starhealth.com.sg/ProductCatalogue.asp?Rnum=24222054&Code=EA0033

http://www.littledreamers.com.sg/catalog.html (see "massage oils" right at the bottom}

http://www.babiesncream.com/Product.asp?PID=29

http://www.babiesncream.com/Product.asp?PID=21

Queen
Isaac is about 14 weeks now? mine also about that old, I realise that bb will prefer FM as it is more tasty than BM. For bb on TBF, as they can't compare, they will not reject BM. For bb on partial, they know the difference and will prefer FM.

My bb also prefer FM, he will happily drink all up. If we give BM, he will drink enough to fill his stomach and towards the end always can't finish. Have wasted quite alot of my EBM already, I tried to mix with my hot drinks when he can't finish, don't want to waste.

Sometime so sad that I want to stop expressing already, stress at work, during pump and he still prefer FM. Angry.....

Re: Gathering

Bad news, mummies... Wanted to post this for the whole day but server got problem...
kao_frustrated.gif
The function room is not available on 8 Apr afternoon, but is available on both 14 and 15 Apr. Should we change the venue or the date?

queen, how do you store the expressed milk from work to home? Could it be not cold enough? I used a bag before which doesn't insulate heat very well and the smell becomes very strong after only 2 hours although I was in an aircon environment most of the time. Your boy may reject the strong smell? And don't be too hard on yourself if your worst fears come true. Just remember that whether FM or BM, as long as your boy grows up healthy and strong is the most important. Some BM is better than none at all.

Cindy,
I dunno. Don't think it's the sweetness problem. Cos Isaac very rarely drinks FM.
And for the past 3 weeks, no FM fed to him at all. Not sure of the temp though... Can't be all 5 bottles temp he also cannot accept right? And suddenly today only, yesterday he is still drinking as per normal. And my MIL has been the only one preparing EBM for him since I'm back at work. Think temp control should be there already. Today since he rejected all the EBM, my MIL had no choice but to feed him a bottle of FM else he'll be underfed the whole day.

BM vs FM
My BB also behaves differently with both milk. For FM, he'll just down the whole bottle without complain. When it comes to EBM, we need to coax him for at least 10 mins to take to the bottle. Then when he is on it, he doesn't really drink properly. He will suck a little, smile, yak a little, then suck a little...and sometimes will have leftover...

Mashy,
I don't think my ILs will go to the extend to do such a thing lah. My MIL so far has not been too discouraging on BF except sometimes make insensitive remarks due mainly to ignorance of the goodness of BM. I believe she always feed my boy EBM. I always places the EBm away from the door but not sure if MIL will shift it near the door to maximise space cos she has a lot of stuff in the fridge. But I don't want to ask her that now in case she thinks I'm accusing her of spoiling the milk. Will go feed my boy frozen EBM to test first.

Yuen Yuen,
Yah, my boy in his 14th week now. But he has been on TBF. Only feed FM to him when absolutely necessary, like when I didn't thaw enough EBM to last till I'm back from work. That has only happened twice since I'm back to work since mid Feb.

Valerie,
I store in 2 big bottles with plenty of ice packs and will remain chilled enough by the time I reach ILs' place at 7 plus. Ok, yesterday I was working OT, so only reach home at 9pm. But it's not like the milk has become lukewarm. It still feels cool. And it doesn't explain the 2 bottles expressed last Friday which Isaac rejected as well. I know, ultimately as long as BB grows weel, doesn't really matter whether it's FM or BM. But I'll still feel bad cos it's not like my MS is very low and I can't manage to TBF, my MS is adequate and I make so much effort to squeeze time out to express even though I was so busy at work. So unless really no choice I will still TBF till he's at least 6 months. Just that I don't want my ILs to have any leverage to start pressuring that I stop BF before 6 months even though I know they are just concerned for Isaac.

think server got probs - have been trying to post as well.

Brought my gal for the 6-in-1 jab today. Thankfully she seems okay - no fever except that she's exceptionally tired. slept for almost the whole day. Any babies like this as well? The PD also asked us to consider taking one prevenar jab - any mummies did that?

re: cooler bag
Found a cooler bag on this thread that seems pretty good. Any mummies wanna share orders? I can consolidate and order to get the discount. I can also send the attachment details and pricing to mummies who are interested. The thread is http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/389461.html?1143167123.

sunny,

the nursing room in your office sounds fabulous. I am racking my head over where to pump when I return to work on mon.

queen
is there any change in your diet? else wld be milk might be spoilt. so far, hv not heard of bb reject EBM leh.. I personally like my own EBM to FM.

Denmy
mine is also right breast.

Gathering: Can't make it on 14th. Got to go Church on Good Friday. Can't make it on 15 th either. Already have an appt. Go ahead if the date is fine for most of you. Will meet up with you all another time

Hi all I disappeared again haha...

I dun think I can join the gathering cos i do not have any transport and hb not free on that day.

All the babies photos are soooo adorable!

re: menses
I think mine one really menses not lochia, cos it lasted 3 days same as my normal menses. This means I have not breastfeed my girl effectively??? oh no

queen,

you are not the only one.. my bb reject my BM when he was 3 weeks old.. I check with PD .. mainly is because 1) the flow too slow 2) FM has much stronger taste..
I give my bb FM when he had jaundice..lor so bo bian have to accept the fact..

RE: gathering..

Cindy, could you kindly check with your friend if she is available on the 14th April.. if she is ok then we will update to see who can't attend..

if not then I will book the function room at my uncle's place but hor very far leh.. at tanah merah.. East side..

Re: gathering
Gathering : to be held on 14th April ( please put a NO if you are unable to come on that day..)

6) sysac + bb (rocky pizza)
(NO)
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
8) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
16) Wenyl + bb

6) sysac + bb (rocky pizza) (NO)
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

queen
i used to have the probl of bb rejecting BM and pref FM. i think it was due to the following reasons

1. diet. i ate something sour and affected the taste of the BM. ( was eating grapes and mango)
2. Temp. BM is slightly warm from the breast so must make my EBM slightly warm
3. Taste. FM got stronger taste than BM. wat i did was to latch him on to let him get used to taste of BM again. since u latch on at homwe think he will get use to the taste in no time.

dun be discouraged. i know how u feel. i was really upset with my boy at that time too.

durianlover
u can bring bb to work? so nice....but where will bb sleep most of the time?

re nursing room
my ofice doesn't have one too..dunno where to pump when i go back to work.

krissie
KKH LC say can take 8 pills of fenugreek a day.

4) cindy + cindy's mom + bb (assorted fruits) OK if after 12 noon
6) sysac + bb (rocky pizza) (NO)
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

Rena,
I'll ask my colleague again for 14 Apr.

sl,
can email me the details of the cooler bag?

SY,
Yah, I thought it could be due to my diet. But I can't think of anything that I have consumed that is out of the ordinary... no spicy or sour food. When I latch him on now, he will drink as per normal. Dunno where is the problem. Anyway, have to monitor loh. Hopefully next Monday Isaac doesn't do that again.
Do you have a medical center with a resting bay or treatment room in the office? Can go there to pump. Else can try to find one of those ulu and small conference room.

This is the first week I am back to work. Very busy and by the time I go back, I spend all my time with Jamie. That's why didn't have much time to post. Missed Jamie very much during work. For the first few days feel like quitting and be a SAHM. Now getting more used to it already.

Those bb's photos are soo cute..I haven't taken any new photo for Jamie yet. Will post maybe these few days.

RE: Temp of milk
Complaints from my mum that my gal is always drinking milk halfway and she refused to drink after awhile. My mum will have to warm up the milk again then she will finish it. Any one alsoo encounter this prob? How do u all warm the milk? Pour hot water into a small bowl and place the bottle inside for awhile? I feel like buying a bottle warmer..but scared but the time I switch on the warmer to warm it... my gal has already fallen asleep. Any one using bottle warmer can advise how to use ?? Once switch on, it is warm up very fast?

To: mummies who pump @ work

how do you transport your EBM back hm? i am preparing my bag to start work soon and realise i need a big bag to store the pump, adapter, ice pack, batteries as well as the storage bag. also the storage bag i have is from munchkin and its pretty big. anyone has any better recommendation? i saw one from avent(purple colour at 26 plus. gee seems tat my bag will be pretty heavy. also how many ice pack do u bring? how long can it be kept?

queen - wow..u got good MS.. 550ml per session? gee the max i can pump is also 250ml after 5 hrs. your MS is really really good! as for ur bb rejecting ur milk, u try not to eat spicy, oily food these days and see if he still reject.

Cindy,

sorry for the trouble.. thanks

RE: gathering..
the timing will be 3pm.. is it ok.. as some of us have church services..