(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE: pain in the Wrist,

Does any one has pain at the joint of the wrist..
my pain started when I was pregnant and initially it was just mild ..but not due to rapid growing of bb and full time stying at home to look after him without any help..now the pain has worsen.. so pain as if my hands are going to break..

anyone have this experience?

rena
i got the pain also. mine is from carrying bb too much and using my wrist strength and not my arm. very painful everyday

sl,
welcome! my bb spits out milk also despite burping....

re burping
my bb always cry after burping. anyone got this experience?

cookie
my boy also took abt 120ml ard tat time. it was considered a lot for him cos he small size. your gal bigger size so shd be fine.

durianlover
i also find avent isis hard to use and hand very tiring!

wenyl
your bb growing fast! i remmeber he was very small when born right? now at 5+kg!

Rena,
I have pain in the wrist too when I am pregnant. But it recovered once I deliver. But now occassionally will relapse.

tabbisus,
i'm going back to work sometime in April...didn't really keep track of the date but i'm into week 6 of my ML now. Haven't decided who to take care of baby when i go back - prob my mum & MIL will take turns coz both of them are free to take care for me
And honestly at first it was really tough to take care of baby alone at home, but after some time u'll get used to it
Baby keeps me busy whole day!

Re: Avent Isis
oh no, i just bought the Avent pump 2 days ago coz i wanted a good manual pump so i can pump when i return to work (my workplace no plugpoint so i thot no pt getting electric pump). Hmm i shall continue to try using the Avent pump. It'll be such a waste if it really doesn't work well for me!

Rena,
i hv no pain in the wrist but my upper arms will ache due to the increasing weight of my gal. But i read somewhere that it's quite common for wristpain during and after pregnancy - may be carpal tunnel syndrome. Perhaps u can search more on the internet for it. Better take care coz if it's carpal tunnel syndrome and if it's serious, may need to go for op like what my aunt did.

SY,
no my bb doesn't cry after burping leh. Even if she regurgitates out lots of milk she doesn't seem to be disturbed by it. Could it be that there's some more gas in ur boy's tummy that's why he cries? If u cont burping him does he seem more contented?

hi i went to Mum@work in Great world over the weekend and the playtex bags are sold out! went KK yesterday and the shops aren;t open as well. check in kids mall, they dun have playtex. anyone know where else can i get other than online. i need it urgently.

I'm from June05 mommies thread, and helping my friend to look for a confinement lady. She's giving birth in July this year.

If you have a good confinement lady to recommend, can you PM me or leave me her name & contact and her charges here.

Thanks so much for your help, and all the best taking care of your little precious ones!

Durian,
I understand how u feel. I feel really bad letting my girl cry herself to sleep sometimes. When u finally give in and carry them up, they'll look at you with their watery eyes and pitiful look like you don't want them anymore. Make me feel sooooo guilty.. Bad mummy..

Mamachan,
I used to carry Ariene around at home in the MIM sarong too but my back really aches after 4 hrs. Lucky for me, Ariene sleeps quite alot nowadays so I don't have to carry her around much.

Does your babies sleep alot? Mine sleep most of the time. She wakes every 3hrs for milk, then stay awake for abt 10-30min drifting back to sleep again. Night, she'll sleep about 4-5hrs at a go after 12am, wake up for her early morning feed before sleeping again for another 3-4hrs.

Cookie, RE: BOttle teat
You may want to try using the new improved Aprica Teats. If you thought Avent teats are soft, then Aprica teats are VERY soft (I think Avent teats are hard in comparison). They only have the wide neck bottle ones though.

SY,
You baby could be suffering from colic. Try lifting baby up and place baby vertically on your shoulder. Press baby's tummy against your chest and move up and down a few times to bring up the wind in the tummy. After that, you can burp baby normally by patting on baby's back in the same position. However, the disadvantage is sometimes, they posset on your shoulder and clothes.

Oral thrush
Pictures of oral thrush for your reference.
377189.jpg
377190.jpg

wendy
I'm using Bfree teats wide neck too.. and not soft. Are u writing this on my query on the harden skin on upper lips of my baby har?

The thrush photos looks scary.. oh my God.

ssf,
u can try first few years at paragon for the playtex milkbags.

sunny,
i got the sealer from ck tangs basement, household section. cost around $12 if i dont remember wrongly.

cookie,
I remembered reading somewhere in one of the postings by you where u asked if yo ur bottle teat is too hard. My girl is using the Aprica Dr Browne's bottle and loves the Aprica teat. She has no problem latching on even after using this teat for the whole day. Its so soft its the closest to real nipples I can find. Tried feeding her EBM with the Avent bottle & teat before and she rejects it totally.

Defrosting EBM
Because we keep raw foods in the same fridge as our EBM, its not advisable to defrost milk in the fridge. By experience, its better to heat up the milk for feeding directly from freezer. Our EBM get contaminated easily if left to defrost & stand in the fridge (even if you consume it within 1 day). I've thrown away several bottles of contaminated EBM before I learnt this. Also, if warm up milk directly from frozen milk, the oils (which is where most of the goodness are) in the milk don't seperate, thus the milk is more "fresh" & baby feeds more nutrients. The seperated oils tend to stick to surfaces & the nutrients in the milk will be lost. Therefore, I concluded that freezing milk in bags is not a good solution as it cannot be warmed up frozen. Just my 2 cents worth.

Sunny
If you staying near Bukit Panjang or CCK, you can come down to Durian or my house and we can show you how to use the sling

Wendy,
My gal is also the same. Her sleeping style is like ur gal. Sometime dun even stay awake after feed, she will doze off halfway.

SSF,
you can get playtex bags from MIM! i just went on Sat and saw the bags being sold there. They open Tue - THur 11am-4pm, if you're really desperate to get them can go down. It's at Jalan Penimpin. Can check out their website for more details.
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/showroom.html

Wendy,
wow great that your gal sleeps so much! Means u can hv more time to urself
My gal doesn't sleep as much...

Do you all know what's the guide to how much a baby should drink based on their weight/age? i think my gal drinks a lot a lot...scared my MS won't be enuff for her.

wendy
so are you using the new improved Aprica Teats ?
Bfree bottle also wide neck.. not sure if the Aprica teat can fit in.
I find the Bfree teat quiet tough...

wendy
thanks!! really appreciate it. where do you and durianlover stay? i stay at yew tee, near mrt sation. 700 series.

when will bb start flipping and neck can turn as they want? i let my gal sleep on tummy these few days, she managed to turn her neck to the side that she wants. and so far, she flipped once and i put her at 12 o'clock position, after a while when i went to see her again, she's can be at 3 o'clock position...
she's still not sleep well during day time.... sigh...

SSF,
if you are really in need of the bags, why don;t you go get the Gerber Seal 'N' Go ones first to tide over? Can buy from Robinsons' centerpoint.

Wendy,
How do you know that there is contamination if left to defrost in the fridge? It seems most baby books and websites recommend that BM is best defrosted in the fridge... so which practice is the best? BTW how do you heat up the frozen milk? Will the rapid temperature change break down the cells in the milk? I think we are supposed to swirl the milk gently after defrosting to mix the oils with the rest of the milk.

durianlover,
to stimulate letdown with Avent Isis, you have to do quick pumps in succession. Press down the lever just enough to feel suction quickly for about 6 times. Keep doing this till you get letdown. Was quite fast for me especially if breasts are full. After feed, not so fast lah, need to press for some time to stimulate letdown again.

wendy
thanks.. indeed.. I was asking abt the harden skin on th eupper lip of my gal and wonder if its due to the teat too hard.
thanks will try out Aprica

SSF
before u go down to MIM.. pls call them to make sure they are open.. I even drop by 2 times, eventhough it's their official opening hours they were not open.

durain lover
I also want to know...if u have the chart or guide, please inform me too.
I also think my gal drink alot..
Now she is less than 4 weeks... can drink 120ml EBM at one go and in 2.5 hrs she will cry for food.
I also dunno if it's growth Spur or what...
but anyway.. if she can drink.. I just let her drink...

re: using electric breast pump
Hi mummy who uses electric breast pump...
is it true that.. the stronger the suction is set.. the more milk will be retrieve?
Sometimes I set the suction high until the nipple sore..but may not have better result...

cookie,
I find that it is true only when you are having a let-down. It doesn't help trigger the let down though. In a sense it just helps you get more of the milk out faster so it reduces pumping time

cookie
I started off using MAX setting on the Medela pump when Ariene was 2 weeks old. Although it can suck out more milk than a low setting, it makes my nipples more sore than latching on. However, I suspect the reason for my MS and fast milk flow is because of this & also because I pumped to the max using the Medela manual pump as well. The milk flow from both my breasts is so fast that Ariene chokes everytime she feeds, esp if the breasts are full. According to my hubby, the flow is comparable to sucking from a fine straw, which can be too high for baby.

Chenoa,
I'm currently using the new Aprica teats I recommended to Cookie. Have not tried out Pigeon teats before cuz I think they're all standard sized teats? Have not seen a wide neck Pigeon teat before.

Queen,
I also read that we can defrost frozen milk in the fridge and consume it within 24hrs but I noticed milk clumps (sign of coagulation) in the warmed up milk in certain bottles that I've left in the fridge to defrost, esp those that were left in the fridge >8hrs. These clumps (actually, they've turned into yogurt already) unlike the frozen fats in your milk, won't go away no matter how u shake or how long u heat the milk. If you smell the milk, it'll smell bad. In fact, I noticed all the milk that were left to defrost in the fridge seperates & smells bad. This does not happen to the bottles that I warm directly when frozen cuz the milk is not allowed to stand & seperate. Currently, I'm warming up milk by immersing the bottle in hot water. Still waiting for my bottle warmer to arrive.

Sunny,
Durian & I are staying at Bukit Panjang, Jelapang LRT station. We staying opposite each other. Maybe one of these days you can bring ur baby here & we show u how to use the sling (but I'm not exactly an expert in it). Just take MRT to CCK and change to LRT to Jelapang station.

Ariene also likes to turn herself around with her legs. Nowadays, I have to put lots of pillows & bolsters around her and lift up the drop side of her baby cot to prevent her from falling off my bed or her cot as she tends to kick alot & her sleeping position can go way off. When placed on her tummy, she'll move her head left center & right & prowl forward backwards few times until she finds herself a nice comfortable position to lie on. Now, she can left her head up from this position for >20sec, esp when she don't want to sleep on her tummy. She'll lift her head up, kick her legs (like trying to crawl) and cry.

wendy & tabb
thanks...
tho I never set my Ameda pump to max..3/4 only.. my nipple already sore... not exactly the nipple, it's the surrounding area right outside the nipple is cracking maybe due to the high suction.. saw crack line and blood stain on my breast pad..
Maybe I should just lower the suction for a day or 2 to wait for the crack line to heal..
Sigh...

Mashy,
Room temperature here is 27deg scientifically. In certain places, room temperature can be 25deg.

Durian,
Maybe one of these days, you can bring your baby to my place and we'll have lunch together. I ask my maid to cook so u can have a break

thanks! I was quite worried for a while.

Hi cookie,
Initially I also pump at the max but nipples are sore after a while. Now I just set to a comfortable pressure. For me, I realise that the amount I pump out depends on whether I experience a letdown or not. During my night pumpings when I feel very tired and not in the mood to pump, I don't get a lot of milk cos no let down.

Any mummies has tips to share on pumping? I find that I can only pump on average 50ml for both sides despite this being my 5th week already.

SSF
my gf says that Changi general hospital sells playtex bags. but u call before going, in case info is wrong.

sl
thanks..for me..the low period is always in the afternoon.. the milk supply is just pathetic in the afternoon dunno why.

I'm now setting at a comfortable pressure... c how things goes...if nipple continue to be sore.. lagi no mood to pump

sl
the following what other mum has posted before, hope it help u :

before start, u massage by pressing on the same spot and go round the breast. after that stroke downwards towards the nipple, then shake your breasts. pump for 5-7 min. do the same massage, pump for another 3-5 min. massage again and last pump is about 2-3 min. whole process is abt 20-30 min.

need a bit of advice here..can i check for those that had pigeon steriliser,can avent bottles fit in? coz if i didn remember wrongly,pigeon's is free space.theres no fixture inside. because my neighbour just now told me that avent's bottles cant fit into pigeon's.i am intending to get it from the JL 20% sale tomorrow,thus need some clarification.

cookie
i posted this

sl
i also pump abt 50ml each time. the best pumps won't be able to draw out all the milk. this is what a BSMG counsellor told me.

wendy
i thought most books recommend defrosting in fridge? anyway i dun freeze cos my MS low and not enough. usually i just put the EBM in the fridge and use it within 2 days. sometimes i see osme coagulation but it disappears after shaking. does that mean it spoil?

it's ok to mix EBM from different pumping session right?

SY and cookie,
I am staying at st.12.
BB quite enjoy the gym. He kicks with excitement everytime i put him on it.

re: sleep
my boy slept for 7hr 45min on Sunday nite(from 12am)... guess he must be soooo tired from our outing during the day.

re: baby einstein
cookie,
I have the set. It's a gift. I have yet to play it to BB. Think he's too young now (8.5 weeks). Might try when he is about 3 months.

re: milk bags
SSF,
I saw the playtex bags ($13+)at The First Few Years at Paragon level 5. They even have Medela and Avent. I bought the Avent Disposable System and Liners($16.50) and clips. Checked with the sales assistant if Avent is discontinueing the liners and they say Avent UK is but Avent US is still producing... so mummies, those who are using Avent don't have to worry...

re: teat
Cookie,
I am also using Bfree teat but I find it quite soft as compared to Avent cos Bfree teat will collapse when BB feeding on it...

Hi Angeline,

I am using Pigeon Steriliser and using avent bottles and it fits! not sure who have been spreading that it does not fit for avent. initially i also heard the same but confirm with the sales person. so go ahead and buy it

thks Krissie! Changi is nearer my hse ..will go check it later.

thanks cookie! Will try out during pumping.

Hi Angeline,
I also use the pigeon steriliser. I think all kinds of bottles can fit inside.

Angeline,

Some how I found that Pigeon Sterliser has free space but the basket on top keeps dropping after some time.. that's wjat happen to my SIL's .. I think since you are using the avent bottle why not invest in the avent sterliser.. now they free the milk bottles and cups too..its worth it.. plus I thinks taka seems to have offer on it..

RE: sling..

I would like to learn how to use the sling too as I have a hand me down sling.. but do not know how to use it and really hope that bb will like it as me wrists are really in pain especially of his growing weight..

RE:TRIP to thailand

I am so happy that I will be leaving tomorrow for my trip but kind of miss bb already.. worried that he may not get use to my MIL place and worried that my SIL BB(very roudy and no one can control her) will bully mine.. I am also worried that my bb will forget me..haiz..

Angeline,
I'm using the Avent intelligent steriliser. Can fit all bottles & it comes with free bottles & training cup. You may want to consider it.

I read somewhere that to defroze frozen milk, we can immerse the whole bag into a cup of water and then leave it in the fridge overnite. this is faster than just leaving in the fridge alone. Is this true?

Also, wat do you mean by consuming within 24 hrs? At which point of time do we consider the start of 24hrs? I bring down from the freezer the nite before.. till the next day noon, still have lumps/clots leh, not fully defrost.

is it OK to store EBM in glass bottles? i remember someone mention of hairline cracks. does it applies to glasses?

wendy/durianlover
just now i tried the sling after bb was fed. managed to put her in without making her cried. but when i released, she kept crying....

and don't know how to use it to bf her...
my friend is coming this thursday to teach me. if she couldn't make it, then i need you gals' help liao....

ssf
i store ebm in glass bottles gotten from hospital leh...

casey
i don't have dry skin at the breast. mayb you can apply lotion (not sure if it's safe for bb) or olive oil to moisture it?

sunny - wat did you cap the glass bottles with? those silver caps that i had are all rusty. my frd says can use the ziploc film over the opening. did you use that? also now i have a few bottles in the fridge tat i pumped out this morning. can i pour them into the glass bottles and froze them? or must they be freshly pump milk?

SY
like you.. I also see some milk fat stick onto the side of the bottles... after readying wendy also wonder if its ok.
I smell the milk too and seems ok to me.

I also combine 2 session of milk together.. I read somewhere is ok to combine as long as they are consume fast...
I hope it is..

Demny
this morning.. manage to feel AVENT teats and u are rite.. Bfree teats are softer then AVENT ones..but I probably bring the bfree teat to compare with Aprica teats.

Since u also using Bfree.. when you bb drink from Bfree bottle.. do u find sometimes the teats will "sunk in" after sometimes...then got to remove from bb mouth anyway they not comfy to suck and the teats will get back to original shape and then feed again... wonder if u have this thing happening too.

SSF
i also using the glass bottles from hospital to store EBM.

Glass bottles to store EBM
I'm using glass bottles from the hospital to store my EBM. When defrosted, the milk has 2 kinds of milk fats. One type is soluble when u swirl the milk after you've warmed it up. Another type will not dissolve no matter how u swirl it. Milk with those kind of clumps are spoilt and smell rancid. Maybe its because I did not screw the cap tight enough so the milk got spoilt. I've already bought the caps from Cheong Choon and will continue to monitor the EBM for spoilage.

Cookie,
Bfree bottles
Yes, the teat does "sinks in" at the part where BB's lower lip is. Also, he makes loud sucking sound when he sucks on it. I think he is sucking air. What is the point of having a anti-colic device in the bottle when the teat is badly designed? That's why I think a harder teat is better than a soft one.

I will try using the Bfree bottle with Avent teat later and let you know if it works better this way.

Here's a pic of my boys: Ethan & Keenan
377861.jpg