(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Mongs,
30ml after 2 hours, my bb gal has habit of feeding every 2 hourly... only with FM can she tahan 3 hours... maybe coz of this, she has also gotten into the habit of snacking, and won;t feed more if she has enuff for the moment... but an hour later she will start crying for more...

SY,
have massaged but only b4 start, I will try massaging throughout the feed and see whether it helps or not, thanks.

Me opening at POSB, yep need birth cert, went down last week without it, and couldn't open one for bb...

sleepingdeer,
think someone posted the massage method sometimes back.

before start, u massage by pressing on the same spot and go round the breast. after that stroke downwards towards the nipple, then shake your breasts. pump for 5-7 min. do the same massage, pump for another 3-5 min. massage again and last pump is about 2-3 min. whole process is abt 20-30 min.

sometimes my boy will snack also. i took down his feeding pattern and realise his 6am feed is always bluff one. he will take half the amt he usually takes and go to sleep. then wake up at 7am for another feed. so i try to make him go back to sleep at 6am and then feed him his full feed at 7am.

Don't log in for the past one week due to shifting house and started work on Monday and there are so many message to read.

Opening of bank account
I pass the form to the staff at GHL and they send the documents for me and the account is open. On need to go to the bank leh.

Sleepingdeer
My boy also had the greenish poo when he is about a week old and that was due to underfeeding. Since than I wanted to monitor how much he drinks so have been giving EBM. My supply also low so supplement with FM and also he has breastmilk jaundice so he is on 30% EBM and 70% FM. I am able to build some reserve before I start work given that he is only on 30% EBM and I pump five times aday. One pump is only sufficient for one feed which is about 110-120ml after 5 hours.

Since starting work on Monday, supply have been decreasing, don't know whether it is due to stress and also difficult to stick to pumping interval. He is still on 2 hourly feed so gotten mum to feed the 2a.m., 4a.m. and 6a.m. feed, otherwise too tired to work the next day.

tulips
mine poos every two hourly after every feed till about week7. Now he poos about 3-5 times aday. I check with the Paed previously and it is normal.

Sleepingdeer
it's okie. Thanks.

Cookie
i also read from the bottle supposed to discard after 1 week of opening. But i have friend who finished using it leh....Think i better stop lah.

Hi cookie
okie Thanks. They never tell me leh. I used all the way until now leh. My friend worse use until finish...gosh.....God bless i be fine...

RE: BB Crying
My gal cry very loudly too but think we have to slowly learn what they are crying for. My mum taught me how to and now much better in handling my gal. Eg. Cry with right hand and left leg kicking means hungry. Cry Once loud and twice soft, means wants to be carry.

I have other ways too..she calms down when she hear me sing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star and Baa Baa Black Sheep. U all can try some nursery songs as well. I sing to her every night when I am pregnant so now she quieten when she hears these. Sing and cuddle her, she will sleep within 5-10mins.

Hi Joanna,
Re: Accupuncture to lose wt
What's the name of the shop? Anyone in particular to look for?

Hi Cookie & Rena,
Re: White stain on BB's tongue
My LC from TMC told us to use gauze for cleaning bb's tongue. Wrap a small piece around your finger, dip in cooled boiled water and clean. Clean every few days to a week.

Re: Shaving BB hair
I just had Keenan's hair shaven last week, for making into a chinese paint brush. They provide BB's 1st haircut FOC. He was 7 weeks.

Just let your BBs finish 1 breast, then switch her/him to the other one to see if she/he wants anymore. In that way, they get both the fore and hind milk. At least 20 mins on each breast is a good gauge. My BB don't get the green poos... only mustards...

SSF,
As long as you empty the breast you are espressing from, you are safe. You can also tell by the col: foremilk is translucent white, hindmilk is opaque white in col.

aiyo.. my baby wake up for feed and never doze back off.. cann;t even pump my milk in peace

Cephas went for his 3rd-mth jab yesterday. It was 5-in-1 & it costs $90 at NUH. Will be going for another dose of 5-in-1 when he turns 4 months. He was good. Flinched & cried for 10 secs as he was woken up from his sleep when the nurse jabbed him. After that, he went back to sleep. Was prescribed medication but he has no fever so far.

He is 6kg already. What a load to carry around now
Happy though given the fact that he was premature & only 2.2kg at birth.

am from feb06 thread but baby came out 3 weeks earlier (jan 23).

would like to find out, where do most of you send your baby for 1st month's 2nd Hep B jab and health screening?

and those delivered at TMC, did you go back to TMC for the 2nd HepB jab? thanks.

Morning mummies...

My MS seems to increase these days..can someone advise how to freeze those milk? can i store using glass bottles? and if i use a bag, how to defroze it since it be hard right after freezing? does that mean i have to defroze the whole pack?

re: Pigeon Steriliser
I realise my steriliser is brown at the bottom. anyone also have the same prob? and when i wipe it with a kitchen towerl, the brown stain comes out. how regularly must we clean the steriliser?
any solution to clean it?

Sally -no i didnt go back to TMC for second hepb jab. i be gg to my PD in Pasir Ris.

sysac,

I learnt from Child of our Time that premature babies have a tendency to be overweight because there is this chemical in their brain that cause them to want to eat more. my sis baby boy who is slightly premature is also overweight.

SSF

I heard tat it's nt safe to use the glass bottles for long. can only use it nt more than 2 weeks as the glasses might hv hairline cracks which we can't see when it's freeze n sterlize after a few times. it's better to use bag.

I will usually put the bag in water n leave it in the fridge the night before. it'll be thaw by next morning. without the water, forzen milk takes very long time to thaw. I usually store abt 100ml in bags so nt to waste. cos once milk is thaw hv to be consume within a day. so far works well for me.

Hi SSF,
me using glass bottles too, I read about what Yl said about hairline cracks, but not sure whether it happens or not..

I also using Pigeon, and yes there's a stain... hee hee actually instructions say we have to clean after every sterilzering, wipe the bottom dry, but I am pretty lazy, I do it every few days. TO clean, you can use half vinegar hald water solution, and just do a empty cycle.. lemon juice also can..

Hi SY,
thanks for the methods, seems to work better, will keep trying...

Yuen Yuen,
I wish my each pump is as much as yours! I only managed 100ml today...

Sysac,
wow, Cephas is doing well! I can only hope Shannon hits 5.5kg at her 3 month weight in, with average weight gain... she was 2.75kg when she was born.

sleepindeer - oh is it must sterilise every use? gee i didnt do tat. so ma fan if to clean it every use. use vinegar?? won;t it leave a vinegar smell?

re: blister/harden skin on baby upper lips
just wanna check.. does any of your baby has this harden skin on baby's upper lip too?
I think it's come from sucking from bottle..
I just wonder is it common among or the teat I have now is too rough for baby...
My baby dun seems to bothered by the harded skin but I see already... abit heart pain for her and dunno will it go away after sometime.

Hi mongs,

Yep, read abt that too. However, Cephas weight is only in the 10 percentile of weights. Surprising huh, given the fact that he is 6kg!

Hi sleepingdeer,

I m sure Shannon will be. I was also doubtful abt being able to pump Cephas up aft his premature birth but he is also doing well. No worries!

Hi sleepingdeer,

Wow, the shoes look tempting in the website! But I have to refrain. Cephas has 14 pairs of shoes in his shoe cabinet now. Got to wait...but so tempting....

cookie - the hard skin on the lips is normal. do not peel or try to remove it. it will go away by itself. my boy has it before and it just drop out one fine day

I have added u gals in my msn. Hope to have time to login to chat.

cookie,
It is called sucking pad. BB Ethan has it since birth. sometimes the skin will peel. PD say will go away in 4-6mths. giving water will not help. So i just leave it alone.

cookie,
my gal also has hard skin on her upper lip...i think she sucks too hard that's why. But it'll drop off on its own...though my gal's one comes back again if she sucks too hard!

Re: angry baby
my gal is also very fierce!! can cry till face turns PURPLE and very very loud. So i think it's normal lah...most babies all very fierce one i guess

Re: hiccups
i know it's normal but sometimes i give my gal water to soothe her hiccups. But she doesn't seem to like the taste of water! Will always give funny face when i put the water in her mouth n sometimes will let the water spill out.

durainlover
exactly!! the drinking water part...my gal also has funny faces when fed water and spit the water out.
Becos I supplement her with FM so I will give her some water to drink...
it just that.. my PIL whenever she hiccups, always force her drink water.. even when they just fed her water.. and 5 min later hiccup.. they want to give again..

long time no post =) so much to catch up on. I'm now on my own at home started last Sat. Wah seh, so occupied man. Little Daren now doesn't seem to sleep for long in the pm like he used too, which is good coz in the night, he's more sleepy. However, I'm kept on my feet in the pm, he wants to be carried at most times.

Like right now, he's strapped to me in the MIM sling and asleep while I'm typing. Put him down he cries and wails. ANy mums on your own also facing this problem??

cookie
read bout the milk stain posting on bb's tongue. I encountered that with daren too when i clean his mouth every morning before bathing him, doesn't sewem to come off. So I brought him to pd and was told that it's thrush and was given this gel thing to apply after his feed 3 times a day.

mamachan
thanks a lot....
looks like.. i will try cleaning first and probably check Pd when i bring her for jab
hope it's not thrush..
thrush will cause pain in her rite?

Mamachan,
I experienced that for the last few weeks with my bb Ethan. Got to carry & carry whole afternoon. Arm ache like siao! Cannot even go pee! I also use the sling but can get a bit warm after a while.

Now I try making him sleep on his tummy...he seems to be able to sleep longer. Like today...slept from 1-4pm. I was so happy...i can login to the forum...even took a quick shower just now.

Mamacha,
I assure you that you are not alone! Sometimes I put him in the sling at home too cos he falls asleep easier that way. Then I'll be on the PC postig and surfing!

Re. water
my boy doesn't like water too! so i hardly give it to him. But sometimes will give him a few spoonsful.

Re. hiccups
perfeectly normal and doesn't bother BBs. So no need to do anything.

re drinking water
u can try using syringe to give. that is the only way my boy ever drinks water but he hates it. the nurse at the PD clinic say must train them to drink water from young or they may not drink when older.

sleepingdeer
no prob on the technique. just sharing what works after trial and error.

my boy also likes to carry and i cna say that my arm is breaking. ym right arm ache so much and my wrist hurts. n my fingers also numb cos think blood circulation not good

hee, just now brought him out to my mum's place. he really likes going out (except for crowded places). slept in the car and at her place but woke up the minute we reach home! but it helps to keep my sanity

mamachan, wenyl, queen & SY,
yes my gal is also like that!! gotta carry ALL the time when she's awake! Crazy man...can't do anything in peace. Now i'm reading this book Babywise which is very helpful. Hope to get her settled into a routine n that she won't need to be carried all the time. Usually i type on the forum with 1 hand coz the other hand i'd be carrying her.

cookie,
Yes it's my mum who keeps saying must give my gal water when she hiccups!! Even though i didn't agree, but i thot no harm giving some water so just gave lor. Since then it's been almost like a 'habit' that we give her water when she's got hiccups. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. But i'm quite sure my gal doesn't like to drink water! It's quite amusing to watch her face when the water goes in her mouth...haha. Btw i feed using a small teaspoon.

Re: crying baby
Upon the advice of some pple, i tried to let my gal cry when i knew she was just fussing before taking a nap (coz i just fed her n just changed her diaper). Wah, really must harden heart man! She cried non-stop for like 20mins! ANd in the end i gave in coz her cries became really really pitiful. When i picked her up, her whole face was full of tears and the tears even soaked the bed. When i saw that i felt so terrible as a mummy and i myself cried! i think i cannot tahan this 'hardening' of heart thingy to let baby cry...
Oh, and when i picked her up, she immediately stopped crying. And coz she had cried for sooo long, she couldn't stop sobbing - know what i mean...those kind of sounds u make after crying for too long? So poor thing!

SSF,
u may store more than 100ml in the bag. it's up to u. but nt too much cos need to leave some space for freezing.

I'm using Gerber milk bags. it's nt cheap, $23+ a box of 25 bags. but needs it urgently so got them. u may get from BMSG, they hv DR milk bags, 125pcs $20. but need to reserve. I'm still waiting for their shipment. The info can be found http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/indexshoppingcorner.html

if nt can try http://www.babetitude.com/lansinoh.html i might get from them if i used up my current gerber milk bags.

another alternative is Avent VIA cups but find then ex although easy to pour out.

those who use the sling, initially did your bb like it? i tried to put my gal into the sling for practise, she kept yelling and till now, i still don't know how to use it though watched the vcd few times. can anyone teach me how to use it correctly?

re: storage bag
i bought playtex storage bag. haven't opened to use it yet... anyone bought this brand?

sunny,
same here.. my gal cry when I put her in after awhile. Think she finds it hot inside. I intend to wait till she is older then use leh.

SSF
re cry halfway thru feed and refuse to continue
my boy has this too, my PD says it's due to the wind in the stomache.have to keep burping, then feed, cry, then burp, then feed. i also tried to give colic drop before the feed. seems better.

sunny/maywong
U may want to try to feed your kid before putting them into the sling, alternatively, u may oso try when they are asleep. I tried to put my BB Jovan after i fed him & when he's in a semi conscious state & it works. Usually after a while Jovan will fall asleep in the sling. But the sling does get abit warm after a while...

which brand of washable breast pad is good. wah, i change my breast pads 3 times a day, coz afraid of thrysh, so exp. used 3 boxes liao.

cookie
re hiccup, i also just leave it alone.

durianlover
ha ha.. my boy will also give funny face when he drinks water and spit it out.

durianlover

Oh, where did you buy the book Babywise? Think I briefly read somewhere in this thread that it's from Kinonuniya??

durianlover/wenyl/queen
I guess I'm not that alone afterall. Looks like really gotta take household chores in my stride. At least today I was successful in preparing lunch, but I didn't have the luxury to enjoy it. You ladies have anyone helping you out with bb?

celine,

do you have to double bag the playtex milkbags? do they leak? They are the drop-in liners right with the twist ties? Or do you have to use the clips to seal?

Re: milk storage
the gerber bags are also found at metro, now having 20% for this weekend.

celine
for playtex storage bag, wat did u use to seal it? does it work like zip log bag?

mamachan
i order bb wise from kino online. no time to travel there n to travel to n fro, the delivery charge by kino is abt the same.

durianlover
which chapter in bb wise talk abt regulating bb's schedule?