(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

have not been in for quite a while... new updates just in case any mummy facing this problem...

Shannon has been having green gassy stools consistently for the past week, we double sterilised everything, and still the same... also she has started rejecting my breasts...in the end I called my LC and from the looks of it, Shannon is drinking too much foremilk and not enuff hindmilk...

So any breastfeeding mummy facing this problem, can read up the internet as what I found...

So sian, another chance for my mum to say my breast milk not good for bb... really feel discouraged... called my LC and got her to come over to see whether can rectify the problem, she and my hubby are the only ones so far who keep encouraging me to continue breastfeeding...

sleepingdeer...dun be discouraged....just keep your cool and continue to persevere....there isn't juz your husband and you In laws...u have US here too...
we will spur one another on...k?

sleepingdeer
i read abt this problem on the internet before. must really make sure bb feed on one breast and empty it before u offer the other breast.

jia you. u can do it.

i just set up my MSN.

cookie,
if you still have the tall slim bottles, please give them to me ok?

Denmy
I just readjusted my sling and moved baby to my right side and held her with the football hold. I had to keep holding her in position though so it was alittle tiring on my right hand. Learnt it from the VCD.

Wenyl
I use the Avent intelli steam steriliser so its quite convenient to sterilise even after every pump. Just pop them in and press on.

tabbie
You can try applying pressure by pressing down different sides of your breast while pumping. I do that to clear blocked ducts too while pumping.

tabbiesus,
my gal also balding like male-pattern balding!! So sad coz she had quite a lot of hair when she was born. But i dun intend to shave coz i know of many many frez who shaved their babies in the hope that hair will grow more, but turned out the babies remained botak till 1 year or older!

re: white stain on bb tongue
Does your baby has the white stain on her/his tongue? I believe those are milk stain..
Does it has any bad implication on baby?
will it go away? will cause infection or not har?

durainlover
baby really will go balding... my baby also lotsa hair when born.. so far so good.. but she is only 3 weeks
...I also dun wanna shave her..let her be natural but her hair pretty long liao.

wendy
I only have 14 of the slim bottles and will be passing to joanna.. no more already...
got a few similac fat bottle.. I think u dun wan la.

For Dr Ho's patients can i ask you
the blue bottle lotion for sterilising the wound do we have to continue using until it finishes??? Thanks.

cookie,
u need to clean the milk stains. not good to leave it there.

durianlover,
it is normal for bb to drop hair actually.

Hi Joanna, SY, and cookie and all,
thanks for the encouragement... have set up appt with LC on Sat, hopefully she can help me, I try to let bb finish one breast before moving on to the next, but she keeps wailing and pushes the breast away, so often out of desperation, I offer the other one, which makes the problem worst right?

When Shannon cries, it's as if someone is torturing her, she can cry until her voice turns hoarse and she falls limply against my chest, too exhuasted to do anything... and this is all because she dun want my breast... many times, try to harden my heart and let her cry until no choice have to take it again, but with my mum and MIL around, they will offer alternatives and suggest I give her FM... once we went to United Square and I tried to nurse her in the nursing room, she kicked up such a temper tantrum that the other mummies in the room were wondering what on earth is going on... aiyoh, my gal seems to have the worst temper I have ever seen in a bb...

Durianlover,tabbiesus, cookie,
my gal also balding, but my mum say it's normal for bb to start dropping hair once they are born.. their new hair will start growing out at about 3 - 4 months...

Etelle,
I'm Dr. Ho patient but did c-section, so sorry, cannot help...

etelle
U mean the bottle given in hospital for clenseing the wound.. i think must throw after 7 days... I never finish using mine.. I throw away the unfinish one after 1 week

Re: how to clean milk stain?
heard from Joanna.. use cotton bud to clean...
any other ways? need to see PD or not har?

sleepingdear,

dun worry, my baby girl also got temper like yours... i understand completely... she will cry until face turn red... and even my mom say she has never seen a baby so angry!!
I have the same problem as you during nursing... I was told that my milk flow is too slow and baby gets frustrated cos too lazy to suck harder so just yell at us poor mummies! What I do is just keep the breast at her mouth and persist with breast compressions. maybe u can read below and try. the slow flow can be due to blocked ducts too.
http://www.kellymom.com/newman/15breast_compression.html

cookie...not cotton bud but cotton wool...moistened with warm water...(mine is heater bath water) and then squeeze dry the cotton wool...wrap around your little finger and then clean the tongue...

RE: milk stain,

May I ask how does it affect the bb?

RE: Pimples

Thank to all who reply to my SMS.. bb pimples has dried up .. but its still there...

rena
my maid wash bb's mouth during bathe times. just open his mouth. my bb likes it in fact...

sleepingdeer,
think bb nowadays have fiery temper! mine also like that. cry until everyone scared of him...

cookie,
I use a cloth to clean her tongue but normally can't reach the back part. she wailed when being cleaned everyday but still have to do it. I use boiled warm water. this piece of cloth should not be used for cleaning her body.

tabbiesus and sleeping deer,
my girl is the same. cry until her face very very red, no voice coming out of her big open mouth. as if someone hit her very hard or torture her. but the diff is that I think she cry so hard because she wants my breast and there is no more milk or the stored milk are gone and the rest of the milk trickled too slowly for her. I did breast compression but still can't keep her quiet. ended giving her FM and she is happy like a bird. now have trouble trying to stay off FM.

cookie,
I use a cloth to clean her tongue but normally can't reach the back part. she wailed when being cleaned everyday but still have to do it. I use boiled warm water. this piece of cloth should not be used for cleaning her body.

tabbiesus and sleeping deer,
my girl is the same. cry until her face very very red, no voice coming out of her big open mouth. as if someone hit her very hard or torture her. but the diff is that I think she cry so hard because she wants my breast and there is no more milk or the stored milk are gone and the rest of the milk trickled too slowly for her. I did breast compression but still can't keep her quiet. ended giving her FM and she is happy like a bird. now have trouble trying to stay off FM.

RE: Shaving BB hair
My mum told me to shave Jamie's hair only at 4th mth. Cos by then her skull will be harder and will not cause any harm to her. Right now, there is some area on her head that is still very soft and there is no bone there. Not sure if u all notice. Jaime's soft portion is near the front centre.

no dun use cotton wool...use a gauze instead. mrs wong told us tat as cotton wool is too fluffy. wrap damp gauze tightly round index finger n do a quick entry n out. do not reuse it.

Hi Tabbiesus, and Mongs,
yeah, think I also have same problem, she keeps quiet for first 5 min, then after that, she starts wailing as if she is being wacked...problem is most of the time she finishes the fore milk, but not the hind milk, that's why she is having green stools and hence the problem I am facing... I also tried doing breast compression, sometimes works, sometimes doesn't...

Mongs,
am trying to limit the FM I am giving, though sometimes, I am so tired that I give in... but if the problem cannot be solved, may have to give more FM...

SY,
funnie ah, how come all our bb so terrible temper...

tabbiesus
i asked the person who do 'tai mao bi' to come n shave my gal. we use her hair to make mao bi.

sleepingdeer
mayb you can try to burp your gal when she rejects your breast half way thru drinking?

Thanks all mum on the milk stain removal issue..
Will try out the cleaning method tomorrow.
My MIL suggest get some "solution" from PD to get rid of the stain.. but I didn't think it's good idea since it's still medication.

Sleepingdeer
u r not alone.. my gal also cry very hard and face red red and no voice come out...seriously I can tahan... but not my MIL.. she heartpain to see her grandy child cry until like that...

SSF
gauze.. not too rough for her tongue ah...

Re: same issue.. bb cry.. I dun seems to be able to calm her down.
Think I mentioned to some of u before.. I have this prob..when my bb in bad temper, I dun seems to be able to calm her down.
but when MIL took over, she can calm down.
I feel so incompetent as a mummy and somehow even jealous over my MIL...when my MIL rush in to take over her, I feel upset too..
I dunno how can I overcome this...

my msn id is [email protected]
added all of you.

sleepingdeer,
my baby also have green stools sometimes, it's very strange, she will have it mostly at night but sometimes the stool before the green stool is yellow and the ones after that is also yellow. I thought it's due to the FM that I have been giving her. now that you mention, maybe it's due to too much hind milk.
explosive stools means it shoot out. most of the time, my baby push out her stool very hard and it shoot out straight. does it means it's explosive?

sleepingdeer,
because of the temper that my girl has and her messy feeding pattern, we have not bring her out to shopping centres at all. we bring her out everyweek to my mother place on sunday, other then that, there was some visits during the chinese new year and that is about it.
my girl is not on routine at all and I supplement her with FM only when she wailed (very bad mum) so I don't know when she will cry very hard. don't dare to bring her out. I am going back to work in another 3 weeks time. will go for total EBM 2 weeks before going back to work and then maybe will bring her out then since there will be better control.
really envious u girl who can go shopping. did a quick shopping when I open my girl bank account a few weeks ago. that's about it.

mong
what to bring to open bank account of our baby?
Just birth cert? and in case need withdrawal, will be done by mum since baby so young?

yesterday went for back massage at Wan Yang. Gee massage until my back got a cluck sound when he try to straighten. was having backache earlier as my boy is now 5kg plus and likes to be carried over the shoulder. and i now tends to hunch so bad due to all the carrying, changing of diapers etc. and after yesterday massage, i felt so much better. also sign up the package and pass the bill to my hubby. haha...he so shocked to recv a $280 bill but i told him tats part of my reward for conceiving him! More to come...

Mongs,
me too, know exactly how you feel! I always want to bring her out, but always so scared she may start wailing, and worse still, I can't calm her down... even now, my breasts which used to be my most 'powerful' weapon has failed on me... really upset about it.

Yah, initially my gal's stools was green only in morning... so I thought was something in diet, then suspected it was the FM we gave her at night, now it always green and can't be FM, so has to be my BM, too much fore milk, not enuff of the fat hind milk.

just tried to feed her, again after 5 min, she just started wailing halfway through the feed... no drama mama action, one min she was suckling, the next she just open her mouth and wailed like sky falling down... my mum came in and kapo kapo and carry her, by the time she calmed down, that was 10 min later and all my hind milk has turned to foremilk again, and after crying just refuse to eat somemore... just know my mum is going to question me when she wakes up 1 hour later looking for food... really tempted to switch to FM

ethan is having a lot of stools these 2 days, almost every 2 hours. any mummies have that probs. i am wondering if i am eating any food that causes that.....

sorry does this hindmilk things apply to EBM? my boy is also the same lately. cry halfway thru feed and refuse to continue. now i am thinking if i shld stopped him halfway for burping or not.

sleepingdeer,
wow, that is exactly the same reaction from clariss esp in the afternoon when my milk supply is low. that is when we will supplement her FM.
what I intend to do is to switch to total EBM in another week time because I believe the reason for her wailing is my low MS and slow flow. I plan to express 2 hrly first then stretch to 3 hrly. for my baby, I hope she can stomach a 3 hrly feed so that my MIL won't find it too tiring feeding her. she has been feeding on demand so hopefully she won't find a 3 hr feed too much. I know that direct latch on is the way to go to keep the supply going but with her crying, I think both of us will be better off that way.

sleepingdeer,
are you doing anything to boost your supply? I tried papaya soup and fernugreek. it seems to be taking effect. she didn't wail just now at her last feed. I expected her to do so but she didn't. phew!

Hi Sunny,
we can't know for sure, but to check, what you can do is after your bb finishes her feed, squeeze a little milk out with your fingers, the colour should be pure white, or rich looking, a sign that your bb has reached the hind milk, not watered down and thin, like diluted milk which is fore milk... normally if bb feeds for at least 10 min, she should be getting the hind milk liao...

SSF,
not enuff hind milk in EBM will only happen if you dun pump long enuff, like 5 min pumping... normally if we pump, we can see the colour of the milk change from watery thin to pure white slowly, so if you stop pumping b4 you reach the hind milk, then your EBM is mostly fore milk... but it doesn't effect bb who drinks by bottle leh, most probably he needs to be burped and feeling uncomfortable.

Hi Mongs,
yep, am taking fenugreek and payaya soup also to boost it, MS improve slightly, but still not good enuff, after Shannon refused the last feed, I have been pumping, and my right breast which was untouched can only pump 30mls... left one which she was latched on only 10ml, makes me so bewildered how can she can suck enuff to get by, but I can't pump out the requiste amount that she is drinking (90mls)..

Yep, same thing, I am trying to switch to EBM now, since no choice, cannot tahan any more questions from my mum about why she only wails when she is at my breast and ok with bottle... but my pumping quite dismal hoh? Looks like I am stuck...

which bank r u opening acct for your bb?

sleepingdeer
yah man the bb all bad tempereed. my mum thought only my bb like that n when she asked her neighbour abt her grand daughter who was born one day before mine, she found out that the bb equally bad tempered too.

SSF
i also having back ache due to feeding posture... very sian

sleepingdeer
pump is only supposed to be able to get about 70% of the milk (heard from BSMG counsellor). maybe that's why

did u try the method of massage, pump, massage, pump and massage and pump again? i find that this gives more output.