(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sysac, SSF
thanks.. i hate doing pap smear, coz there's the "clippers" to open our vagina, which is the painful part for me.

cookie
your girl's eyes are so big. we didnt do anything for the cord.

queen
I'm having these worries now. am thinking whether to get the PIS to increase my supply, but worried that MS will drop when i go back to work. spoke to my colleague yest, seems like office is v busy..
will definitely miss my boy when i go back to work. I'm so fat now, i've totally no clothes to wear too.

re sesame oil on belly button:
my confinement lady oso do dat to my bb. i tot it's not harmful so allowed her to do it.

chenoa,
i find that that both mamypoko and pampers size are quite similar.

tabbiesus
thnink KK got a package at 450. not sure whteher it's 6 in 1 or 5 in 1.

durianlover,
147 does it include consult? i think some PD only charge slight above 100 for the jab but exclude consult.

your bb so big! mine was abt 3.5kg and 53cm long at 2 weeks plus...

sleepingdeer,
thanks....

krissie,
your PD quite cheap for the 6 in 1. where is yor PD?

sysac,
me going for my pap smear in 2 weeks time. is drypers good? i m using pampers premium NB now. already got 3 packs of S for standby.

tabbeisus,
thanks. will ask my hb to buy papaya. so must drink 5X a day...a lot hor...

queen, krissie,
yah i also cannot imagine going back to work and missing my boy. thinking of taking no pay leave already.

i tried my pre preggy clothes and i can't fit any of the bottoms...

re blocked nose.
any effective remedies? my boy can't sleep cos of it and cries non stop. we got a nose drop from PD but doesn't seem to work well...

cookie,
just keep the cord area dry will do. no need appyl anything

Celine,

huggies'c cut is small therefore i am changing to L

Droopy,

If you want good one I can recomend mine to you.. she is very good and knowledgeable..
call me at 97628842 so that I can give you her contacts..

SY,

Mine is same.. but I just leave it but tomorrow got to bring bb to see PD coz got very bad cough.. so sad when I hear him cough badly..
my bb quite cham.. keep falling sick.. just recover from tummy ache now cough...

Hi Krissie,
talking about clothes, I also tried on my clothes on Sunday, cannot even pull up the bottoms, was so upset that I had another crying fit, poor hubby, bb and mummy both crying at same time... so depressing, when i think of how slim I was back then... must start excerising once Dr. Ho gives me the OK, my check up with him on Thursday, also doing the dreaded pap smear... me too, hate the clippers part when they force it open, ouch!

BTW, you using Nepia now right? Is it good? I'm thinking of ordering... is the size similar to Pampers Premium? Shannon is starting to outgrow NB already, probably 2 weeks time have to switch to S, so I unsure what size to get for her?

SY,
was given a pack of Dryers, not too bad, so far, ok... though of course still prefer Pamper Premium, but price is so ex...

Queen,
me starting to think about the same worries as you, but I push them aside and probably start panicking end of Feb... so tempted to take leave to spend more time with bb.. she is getting very attached to me (and my breasts) now..!

Rena,
can PM me your CL contacts as well? My friend is also looking for a good one. Is she pro breast feeding?

back to work now, trying to clear 2000 worth of emails! Imagine 8 weeks only already have 2000 emails. Reached office at 8am and went to pump, could get 180ml! First let-down almost immediate but had to pump for another 15 mins for the next let-down. Was looking at my boy's photo while pumping. So managed to get 180ml in about 20 mins with 2 manual Avent Isis. Feel quite encouraged!
Next pump will be after lunch.

chenoa,
Pampers is longer than MamyPoko.

krissie / sleepingdeer,
I could fit into my old clothes. Just that last time most of the tops are lycra blend so now boobs bigger liao, seemed to accentuate the boobs. I managed to squeeze and button into my jeans this morning, but a bit tight at the belly area. Cos still have some loose flab. I haven't exercise since the 3rd trimester!

Hi Queen,
wow, not bad for first day back at work... though your mention of the 2000 emails is making me scared of going back to work after 12 weeks!

rena,
sama sama, my bb take a lot of medicine too....for colic, for nose etc.... poor thing.

which PD u going?

krissie,
i got a kidslink near my place at bedok too.... think the charges shd be comparable.

queen,
wah u managed to pump so fast back at work. is there enough time to pump after lunch?

sleepingdeer,
dun be sad. i also cannot pull up my bottoms. got to wear maternity clothes out still...

RE: 6 in 1 jab
My PD is charging $105 (excld consult) think it is cheap. But looks like I am the only one staying in the west so it is abit too far for all of u.

RE: Applying Sesame Oil
Heard this from one of my colleagues too. She say can prevent wind from going in. Jamie's cord drop off when she is 2 weeks old. So far nothing wrong with it.

RE: Old clothes.
Yday was Jamie's first mth celebration. All my pre-preg clothes cannot wear. Went to buy one day before the big event. Was very disappointed. Used to wear size 25 for pants..now 29. Used to wear S/M of T-shirt..now L/XL. No matter what I must slim down by 12 March.

Hi mummies...back...just "collected" my replacement maid on Saturday...now got even more stress...got to reteach everything...like gotta take care of one more person...I'm just bad at delegating lah...sigh...then somemore I'm the impatient type and must be really clean kind...so when she doesn't do it right...I have the urge to take over the job...then my hubby gotta keep reminding me to LET GO!!! SIGH...
Well...at least since this time it's a filipino maid...its beta cos not much communication barrier...the previous one was indonesian but very cunning...sigh...

K...Queen...2000 emails...haha...I check my mail daily as I'm teaching and I get as many as 40 mails a day...so if I don't clear my mails daily...I'll "die" when I start work in March...What's more...I'm taking the 12 weeks maternity at one shot...so my reporting date is 28 March...hehe Ya...my baby can smile at me when I talk to him...he is learning to recognise faces I think...cos everytime I am near and he hears my voice...he will look at my face and my hubby will always ask..."why he keeps looking at you huh?"...hehe...

I also have the same worries as you do when it comes to going back to work...as of now...I can fit into most of my pre-preggie pants although a little tight and with slight bulge...but I still have 7kg to lose leh...all the wt seems to have gathered at my super big thighs and butt...boo hoo...this time like much slower...first pregnancy...I lost wt faster...so...will be going back for my accupuncture slimming session this weekend...
Lost 9kg with the slimming session the last time...eheehee...so very hopeful that it will work again this round...

Re: Immunisation...
I'm still giving baby the usual doses of jab...not too keen to try the 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 jabs...cos worry abt fever...James had his 2nd hep B booster last Thurs and it was okie...no fever thereafter...I'm quite skeptical when it comes to all the many many in 1 jabs...:p

RE: Umbilical Cord
My Baby's umbilical cord dropped at 3 weeks...I didn't do anything except to clean it with cord spirit and now I don't even do anything to it...it has automatically re-engineered itself and has since become a nice belly button...

Re: Pumping...
I also worry about pumping when I go back to work...somemore...no proper pumping place in my school...gotta either do it in the toilet or in the counselling room...sigh...Queen...how you clean your pump in between pumps? As I teach...I have very limited time to pump...and the timing is erratic....so...SIGH!!!
I've been worrying and was thinking that perhaps...I should start pumping end of this month for storage purposes...right now...I have 4 packs of frozen breast milk...dun wanna pump now cos I still want James to feed directly...

sleepingdeer...ya...james can latch on...maybe it is due to the "training" I give him at night...hehe...I normally will just unhook my nursing bra for night feeds and he will just somehow move towards my nipples and latch on for his nite feeds...this way...I can have rest while he is feeding...somedays...I wake up only to realise that he has dozed off to sleep as well...

tabbiesus, SY,
I have been taking the fish and papaya soup for the past few days (think 5 days) but I only take once per day at night. I use the green papaya. my sis was telling me that must use green papaya. 5 x is a lot. tabbiesus, so you took 5x per day for 3 days?

I am taking fernugreek but I don't it's very useful. I take 3x daily. but I heard that KKH lactation consultant recommend a higher dosage. any body tried that dosage and find it useful?

Hi SY,

Drypers is good. I like it.

Hi Queen,

I am going back to work in 2 weeks time. Already started to feel the separation anxiety. My parents & HB had to pep talk me. Whenever I think abt it, I will tear. I had to/still am psycho-ing myself that I have to learn to let go when I return to work.

As a result, HB sugg a shrt getaway to Genting. Am going this Wed-Fri. Used to love travelling. This time round, I left everything to him to plan.

SY,
Yep, Take another 30mins to pump & wash and walking back to my desk after lunch. This time also managed to pump 190ml. Hopefully can keep up the MS!

Joanna,
What I do is I pre-sterilised my pumps and bottles last night (using sterilising tablet), remove and seal them in ziploc bag before going to work. After pumping, immediately wash the pump parts and bottles cos the longer. Find that as long as wash immediately after pumping, the oil in the milk will not linger in the bottles and on the pump funnels. So just rinse with water. But I did use a bit of baby detergent to wash the Avent Isis massage cushions and valves cos a bit oily. Also brought a big rectangular plastic container along. So after the morning pump, I'll fill up the container with water, put in a sterilising tablet (good to last 24 hours) and then put the washed pumps and bottles in. Intend to leave pumps in office (direct latch when back home) and change water after the morning tomorrow.
Yes, I think it's definitely a must to start pumping ans storing for reserves! So that you won't feel spo pressured about having to pump enough at work to meet BB's demand cos you know that still have reserves in the freezer. I had 8 bottles frozen. Today first day back at work need to use 4 bottles already. So only left with 4 in reserves. Lucky thing is that I'm working 3 days week for next 2 months by Wed and Fri off. So even if reserves running out I could still try to pump a bottle or 2 on Wednesday or Friday. I'm also direct latch but must somehow try to get a bottle pumped for storage daily during your last 2 weeks of maternity leave.

Sysa,
Are you bringing BB along to Genting?
Oh man, my 1st year anniversary coming end March. And I'm dying to go somewhere...

need to vent my fustrations here....i just had my boy 1 mth last sat and i was hopping mad with the caterer. I engaged from Four Seasons Caterer and it was really my first attempt and regrettable one! first they did not provide any take away containers which i have requested...and next the delivery man came an hr plus late for the collection and insisted he had provided some containers earlier and when i said wait till i contact the sales ppl ..he just simply want to throw away my remaining food saying he got to run to another place. i was so mad as there was another function gg on soon and imagine me getting chase by the condo security. in the end, i just ta bao the prawn with some sushi plates that i manage to find. i was really disappointed with the service and wrote a feedback to their sales ppl. what a memorable 1 mth party!
mummies who want to engage caterer,..i think you better get from recommended one. sigh!

cookie - yes after cord dropped off..just clean with cord spirit will do twice daily. my boy nearly had an infection as we didnt clean it thoroughly enough and went and see PD for that. as for sesame oil, didnt hear before though. yes those myths can be very funny and unbelievable at times. but i guess that time they dun have cord spirit so make do with what they have that works for some. hee.. as for MS, must be patience...i was complaint earlier on reduction of MS. but after persistent pumping every 3 hrs, my MS seems to increase. i can now pump abt 150 ml for both after 3 hrs. So jia you and dun hui xin. your baby is so cute and i love her double eyelids..my boy doesn;t have it. so sad...he doesn;t follow after my eyes.

SY - 6 in 1 package so ex?? mine is only 61 bucks. maybe urs is hospital is it..but why so ex? i got a nose drop from PD today also but have not try yet. PD said if it doesnt affect him when sleeping, just leave it alone and do not try to dig to deep in.

mongs,
Read this from kellymom.com:

Dosages of less than 6 capsules/day (approx 3500 mg/day) produce no effect in many women. One way to determine if you're taking the correct dosage is to slowly increase the amount of fenugreek until your sweat and urine begin to smell like maple syrup. If you're having problems with any side effects, discontinue use and consider alternative methods of increasing milk supply.

Are you taking more than 3500mg daily?

mongs
kkh LC recommend to take 2 capsules 4 times a day...

joanna
i m opp from u. for me my hb is the one who neeeds everything to be cleaned well...i closeone eye...

SSF,
dun be too mad. must be really frustrating with the caterer.

which nose drop u got? let me know whether effective....

so your MS really increase? mine still the same....

sysac
enjoy your short break!

queen
u are spreading your ML into 3 day work week is it? that's wat i plan to do....

SSf
where u go for your 6 in 1 jab?

Sy -mine is sodium chlorine..also can use for eye drop. like a saline. yes and my MS do increase. must pump every 3 hrs even when there is no milk. Jia You! i go to Pasir Ris baby clinic at Elias Mall for the 6 in 1 jab.

SSF
that clinic is near me and cookie. maybe i shall call them up to ask abt it. how much is the consultation? so u go to that PD? is the PD good?

Re: 6-in-1 jab
My PD is from Kidslink (choa chu kang branch) and it's $147 for the jab. Hmm i thot all kidslink branches should charge more or less the same price right? Not sure whether it includes consultation...didn't ask.

Sy - personally i find the PD rather good. yeah do call out and enquire first to double confirm on the pricing. not sure if it include consultation but i find their charges rather reasonable.

may i know what's the diff b/w 5 in 1 and 6 in 1?when do we need to bring bb for jab?

joanna
i realise the that white spot on my nipple has gone!!! so happy...

it has been real long since i last log on.. really busy cos i m now taking care of Javier myself now. when he is sleeping, i will try my best to catch some sleep too.

re. stretching sound during sleep at night.
wonder if any of u face this when ur bb is sleeping at night. he has been making this stretching sound and some other weird sound (abit like forcing shit out)at night and when i tot he is awake, his eyes are actually close. it is pretty tiring for me as i will always go to him to check if he is awake or asleep. anyone of you have the same prob? is it normal?

re. crying after feed
also anyone face this? the cry is v diff from his hungry cry tho.. its softer and sound more sa jiao.. sometimes i wonder if he does not have enough or what but after we burp him and cuddle him to sleep, he is ok.. right now he is at wk 6 5 days.. and drinking 3 and half scoops of FM milk.. normal also?

can i check where do u all buy ur baby cot? i need to get an extra one to put in my confinement lady's room. i remember some of u bot from robinsons before. was is daniel cot or johnson cot, something like dat?

edd
ya, my gal when she sleeps, she sometimes will stretch, make noise... normally, i ignored and continue my sleep unless the noise is continuous. then i will wake up and check. your javier is very cute...

celine
i bot it from bb kingdom. don't know what's the name of the cot. it can be adjusted to 3 or 4 levels. i find it useful 'cos it's high enough to be a changing table after my bb's bath. and at the same time, i don't need to bend to much to get her out from the cot... this reduces the chance of getting backache.

edd2jan

my baby girl loves to stretch and sometimes she will also make grunting noises.. but i found out that when that happens sometimes she's trying to poo poo cos then will hear her pass motion or gas. She also cries after shes full cos she likesto latch on longer for pacifier effect

mongs
i tried the papaya milk for one day and got some
improvement... dunno if it is psychological... i guess the only thing is to persevere witn pumping or nursing often

queen
re: frozen milk
what volume are you storing your milk.. and what are you using to store. do you put the ebm in the office fridge or just in your own cooler bag? I going to work part time in March too, so worried too. have separation anxiety!

sleeping deer
hmm.. nepia NB seems slightly smaller than PP NB. yup, i'm using nepia now. it's qt comfy and the cutting suits my boy.

queen
wah, u v slim leh. i'm so fat now, cant wear all my clothes.

SSF
when u say pump till no milk, how long do u pump?

celine
mine is johnson cot.

edd
my son also sometimes cry a bit after feed.

SY, Queen,
ya, I called up KKH lactation consultant and she told me the same thing. need to take 8 capsules per day and finish about 1 bottle before the effect can be seen. must take till sweat and urine smell like maple syrup. BTW, there is an article about a boy named Sage in today Straits Times and he has a genetic disorder and his urine smell like maple syrup. His birthday is the same as my daughter, last Christmas. He is very poor thing.

tabbiesus,
for the green papaya and fish bone soup. 5x per day, do we just drink the soup or we must eat the papaya and the fish meat as well (there are some meat on the fishbone)?

Queen
You are very slim, can still fit into your pre-preg clothes, I can't even pull them past my hips.

Sleepingdeer
I also can't wear any of my pre-preg clothes, now waist is 31 inches. Very fat. Today went out to rebond my hair, went home to pump milk and went out to buy clothes. So sad have to buy L/XL and felt so fat. Kept calling my friend and HB as I need them to console me when I tried to wear clothes in L/XL sizes. Some rude salegirls are not helping at all.

Pumping in office
I also worry about pumping in office. Not sure how my bosses will react if he see me walking around with the EBM. I will be starting to work from next week after 8 weeks of ML. Called my office and it seems that there are alot of things waiting for my attention. STRESS.... intend to pump once in the office as I will be working half-day from next week till end of April but will stay for full day if necessary. Boss quite flexible but I hope that I need not stay for the full day for the first two weeks. Trying to get back to working life after such a long break.

This week will try to let my mum take care of my boy. Yeh.. having separation anxiety as I kept calling home today when I am out.

Joanna
Breast feeding can do accupuncture slimming session? Can share where U go as I have another 7Kg to lose and can't fit into any of my pre-preg clothes. Need to lose a few inches from waist, hips, thigh etc.

tabbiesus
Frozen EBM
I am keeping them in 120ml slightly more than what my boy is currently drinking, so far only have 3 bottles and I am starting work next week but my boy is on partial FM so if not enough I will just supplement with FM so not so stress if can't pump in office or if MS decrease.

SSF,
i will call them up. thanks. which doc do u look for?

edd2jan,
your boy so many diff faces...looks very different from birth! my boy makes a lot of noise when he sleeps too n sometimes even half open his eyes but will go back to sleep.

krissie,
KKH LC says pump min 30 min even if no milk comes out.

mongs
she say may take one week for the fenugreek to work. yah i read the article on bb sage..poor thing n he's so cute too!

i realise my bb sleeps very little. think less than 10 hours a day. is that ok? he sleeps like from 10pm to abt 6am n the rest of the time depends on whether we manage to coax him to sleep. if lucky, he will sleep once or twice in the day btwn feeds.

hi sunny & krissie,
thks for ur input. krissie, can i check how much did u pay for the cot and where did u buy it? bb kingdom is abit out of the way for me.got any photo to see?

sy and krissie,
u guys are really on, posting at 3+am in the morn, must b waking up for bb feed butarent u all tired and can still online to post? pai fu pai fu..

sy,
ya javier looks abit diff from birth.. he is now 4.27 kg, increase from 2.55kg when he is born.. we r quite surprised from his wt gain too but o guess most r from the FM he drank.. i m beginning to b lazy n reduce my BM feeding..

as for the noise at night, sometimes his eyes r also half open.. n will go back to sleep.. so we just ignore n go back to sleep.. n only feed him when its time..

so all mummies.. the feeding interval for FM n EBM is still 3 to 4 hrs apart?

anyone have a gd PD to recommend in the west? m staying at senja n i think some of u are also staying ard this area..

tabbiesus,
re. Frozen milk
I use the Avent 125ml bottles, will store up to 125ml, cos I think my boy only take in at most 110ml so far. At work yesterday, I also use milk storage bags (Gerber) cos used up all the 125ml Avent bottles already for reserves. But I bought a bigger 260ml Avent bottle, will use it to store the EBM in office instead of using bags as it is more econimical. Two 260ml bottles should be able to store all the EBM for 1 working day. Milk storage bags are expensive!
I use a cooler bag and put a lot of ice packs. No fridge available in office to store my EBM.

Re. pumping in office
This morning could only pump about 130ml in the treatment room (no proper nursing room in my company yet) medical center at work cos the nurses stressed me out by saying that I have to stop if any sick employees need to use the treatment room. So was under pressure to finish expressing ASAP. Sigh...

SY,
I think no strict rules on how much sleep BB needs. But typically, they should be sleeping 12 - 16 hours a day. But if BB can sleep a through a stretch of hours like yours (10pm to 6am), should be enough to get the rest he needs.

Re. weight loss
Mummies don't feel disheartened! Just watch your diet and keep yourself busy taking care of your BBs! I'm also surprised that suddenly can pull up and button up my jeans liao (even though have to suck in my tummy to do so!). Maybe cos I haven't been taking a lot of those fattening confinement food and been taking care of BB myself for the past 4 weeks, can hardly have a good breakfast or lunch everyday.

Yvonne22 HB

My Jovan is 33 days old and his intake of FM is abt 80~90ml for FM and abt 100~120ml for BM.
However, the FM intake of 90ml can only tahan for 150min nia......then will cry for milk again.
We tried making him drink 110 FM so as to lesser the feeding interval but he will stop at 90ml max....along the way, we have wasted alot of FM money...hiazzz....
Can check with the mummies here...how much is urs bb intake for FM especially when the bb is abt 30 days plus old?
And how to increase the bb intake...any advise?

Yvonne HB

queen
he doesn't sleep thru the stretch. he will wake up in btwn. the most we can get him to sleep is 2 cycles. the rest of the time he close his eyes like 10min n wake up. or he will keep awake from 5am till like 8am.

edd2jan
hee i woke up to pump so read postings to pass time faster.....

Morning mummies...Happy V Day!!!!

edd2 - yes my boy also give out those stretching sound. just ignore them,..they will go back to sleep soon. normally i only wake when he cries.heee..javier's hair is so cute like David Beckham. haha..did you style for him?

celine - you can actually buy mattress..coz anyway when he can learn to crawl or kneel, its kinda dangerous. i only have one cot at my mum's place. at my place, he is sleeping on the floor on a cot's mattress.

krissie - i pump abt half hr for both breast. even when no milk, i will still pump and stimulate it. try to pump more frequently to tell your body you need more milk. and drink lotsa of water before you pump a hot drink and a good massage helps!

yuen yuen - i also cannot pull up any bottoms up my expanded hip
. but the strange thing is i am back to my pre pregnancy weight. sigh!

Sy - what i understand there is only one doc in Pasir ris baby clinic. i always go in the morning..so not sure if there is another doc for the night.

re: dry skin

my baby skin on legs and arms are rather dry and scaly. not sure if it the warm water at bath or air con. any of your baby also the same? i am currently using avent moisturizer. any good brands to recommend?

re: lochia
anyone still having discharge after one mth? mine is not bloody but more of a creamy discharge. not sure if its infection or not but its not itchy.

edd2jan,
It is normal to have that noise I think. My girl is making that kind of noise too.

RE: Drinking time
My girl takes very long time to finish a bottle of milk (90ml). She will take 30-45mins and if I burp her, she will take another 15-30mins to burp. Is this normal? Any of ur babies is taking such long time too?

edd2jan,
i stay jelapang and go to the PD at Kidslink (CCK), just beside Lot 1. i find him not too bad and detailed...he'll explain things in detail readily and usually when i go i ask him as many qns as i can remember to make my money's worth! haha

my girl also makes lots of sounds when she sleeps!! i think she even snores in her sleep. Heh. Usually i'll ignore the sounds she makes unless she carries on making those sounds...means she's waking up or hungry or uncomfortable - then only i'll tend to her. If i'm gonna wake up at her every sound i'll be up the whole night!!

SY,
my girl also seems to sleep quite little leh...wish she'd sleep more! Sometimes at night she sleeps less than 8 hrs...then i'd despair when she wants to wake up at like 6am in the morning coz i'm still sooo sleepy!!

Re: weight loss
yeah i think that bf helps u return to ur pre-preggie weight. Have been eating super unhealthy confinement food but am back to pre-preggie weight, though not figure. Can fit into my bottoms thought a bit tight coz of spare tyre round my tummy! Oh well, what to do...

SSF,
i shall call up the clinic to check with them. is it Dr Sim u seaw?

my bb also has dry skin but think it's quite common. i din use any lotion on him.

i still have some discharge. on and off will be red.

may - check the teats size. for my boy, i am using avent with two holes. he finished 120ml within 15 min incl 2 burps in all. he is one mth 3 days old.

sy - yeah it was mr sim.