(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

seems like quite safe to start BD without protection, as lest for first 3 months if 100% BF.
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/normal/fertility.html

Yuen Yuen,
I'll try to pump at least 2 times, during lunch and after work and if possible, once I reach office. But I think may not be convenient in the morning cos have to pump at my office's medical center and there are a lot of employees seeing the doctor in the morning.

I could pump 100ml from my left breast now if BB latch on at the same time but from my right breast usually lesser, maybe 60ml. So far, using only 1 Avent Isis, I could pump about 120ml - 130ml switching between breasts at 3 hourly interval. I'm hoping when I pump both breasts at the same time with 2 pumps, can get more. Yet to try it out. Will do so next week.

Celine,
I bought the MIM sling.
Find it very useful. Taking care of BB alone now and would use it at home sometimes when my Isaac wants to be carried and I want my hands to be free (at least 1 hand) to do things. Isaac seems to like fall asleep quite fast in the sling. 3 days a week, I'll take the bus with Isaac in the sling to my in-laws' place for dinner cos HB had to attend classes. Once I even BF him in the car while he is in the sling. Quite convenient!

Hi Celine77,

Re Frenugreek
Where do we buy it from? Pharmacy or Nature's Farm?? My MS seems to be getting lesser so bit worried.

Re MIM Sling
It needs a while to get the used to but I find it extremely useful when i bring Baby out especially if i'm alone coz BB immediately goes to sleep once inside n i can shop n walk ard with great ease. So far stroller only used once n that's when when HB is ard also.. i would rather put BB in sling than stroller if alone... hope this helps = )

Yuenyuen,
could it be ur diet? I'm giving my bb TBM but her juandice ok. I eat at most 1 confinement food dish per day only cuz ginger, carrots, heaty (por) foods & vitA containing foods may cause jaundice in bb if u bf them. Try taking less ginger & heaty stuff theen see how. Make sure bb is not heaty & drinking enough BM. I don't feed bb water cuz BM already 90% water!

white tongue
this is milk stain not thrush. I'll try find a picture of thrush & post here.

BD
yday night tried again. getting better & more relaxed. i think its more a physcological barrier we need to hurdle thru. just ask hb check stiches. if healed already, shouldnt be a prob. If you're worried, ask ur gynae for permission
ya, bd should be safe cuz it release homornes that prevent ovulation but still not 100% la but we don't use protection. never used b4 also. haha. we believe children are god sent. if meant to have, protection also will have accidents.

queen
how much is the sling? hands tired carrying bb while she latched on. i using a scarf cover her while i walk ard but i find it quite dumb & hot.. ya, i also bf bb in car so she'll sleep & give us 3+ hrs peace while we kia kia.

Hi Krissie...thanks...am thinking of getting the ameda pump...found out from the website that they have a sole distributor in Singapore...they are selling the pump at $290 and will deliver the pump to our house at no delivery charges...
Will need to get the pump so as to facilitate my bf when I go back to work in March...

Sunny...yupz...he's hitting 5kg...and he's on total BF...but...the downside to it is that he is demanding and I feel like a total COW...there are days that I feel stressed and will take it out on my poor HUBBY...hehe...
Oh and...the white spot once removed...you will not feel such pain the next day when you bf...let me know if it gets better, ya? The removal part is really PAINFUL!!!OUCH!!!

RE: MIM Sling
I had the sling since my elder boy and I find it very very useful...in fact...once you get the hang of it...can BF very discreetly also...hehe...the other day...I was out with hubby at NTUC...then had to nurse my baby...no choice so used the baby wrap to shield the feeding process...this sickening man kept looking and staring...I got angry and glared back...then he paiseh turned away...piang...and guess what...he was with kids and wife...horrible man!!!

Re: Fenugreek
Can get from GNC...however their stock runs out quite quickly...u may wanna call the nearest branch to check if they have the stock before you make your way there.

Queen...my baby's poo also getting less frequent...when that happens...it means that their digestive system is becoming more mature and absorbing the nutrients better...and if they are on formula milk...they will also poo that amt cos it takes a longer time for formula milk to digest...

sunny, sy, celine,
RE: milk supply
so far i've not drink anything special except lots of plain water but i'm eating papaya everyday cuz i scared constipation. my maid also cook fish for me everyday. dunno if dat helps in increasing ms. also, if bb suck only breast, i'll pump out excess from the breast & the other breast to keep supply going else ur body will think they over supplying & cut down on production.

Yuenyuen,
yap..think u are right. Do rebonding first. When it is nearer to start work then I go colour. I will be starting work on 13 March. So still got time lor.

hi queen, clare,
thanks for ur input. think i shall seriously consider getting one then.

i bot my fenugreek from gnc. today only my 2nd day taking it. so not sure if it's working for me. and oso not sure the amt to take. on the bottle it says 1-2 tablets (650mg each) but the salesgirl told my my hubby can take up to 6 tablets per day. so want to check with u gals here.

Wendy,
MIM sling cost $42.90 - $49.90 (with demo VCD) depending on material. I bought the Cotton Sateen range. Quite nice.

Joanna,
BF in public is still not common here hor...
Sickening man staring....

Wendy,
Wah... not bad man! BD again. I asked my HB whether he wants to start, but he said better get the go ahead from gynae first, which is next Monday. Well, I'm eager to start actually! Haha...

Yuen Yuen / May,
Me decided to do rebonding next week. Now will pump for storage so BB can drink frozen EBM for 1 day, just in case the hair chemicals do get into the blood or something.

RE: MIM Sling
Tot of getting one leh.. but abit expensive. But for the past 3days, Jamie has been crying non-stop at night and only keep quiet once being carried. Hmm...

Queen,
Where u doing ur rebonding huh? Know the price range? Cos I did at normal salon abt $150. Jean Yip's stylist (my usual one) ask me to do but he is charging me $280-$300. My hair is quite long..until elbow there.

queen
other than mim wad other brand is there for sling? also i think to be safe, pump 2 days worth ebm cuz some chemicals may remain in blood stream 4 more than 24hrs. sorry bb latched on & i carrying her with right arm so typing abit problemetic

oh i wanna check with u gals which nursing bra are u wearing? i'm wearing ones from mothercare. but their cups are not the moulded kind. so doesn't look good with tight fitted tops. anyone knows where to get those moulded cup ones? and oso preferably the "hole" is big, so that don't have to "search" for the nipple.

celine: I got the moulded bra from MIM and I like it very much...

Wendy: other sellers are bayb.com and mummysmilk.com

pup_pup: me in 2 bedder too..but I have no roommate during the second day..:p

I use warm water & a hanky to clean Cephas' tongue every morning during bath. Understand that if we do not clean to milk patches away, fungus will grow & it will be painful for them. it happened to a friend & she warned me to clean it away asap.

Remember to clean their cradle cap before it dries up. By then, it will be more painful when you peel it off. Rub baby/olive oil 1/2 hr b4 bath. Use the wet hanky & rub the entire head. The cap will come off easier.

May,
you should check out the SingaporeMotherhood Marketplace as well. There are people selling their slings too. It's actually just a long cloth with 2 rings. Very simple, A good 2nd hand one will do. I wouldn't mind getting a 2nd hand one actually, but never thought of it when I ordered.
I have done my rebonding at Jantzen and Jean Yip before. Jantzen is about $250 including all the hair treatment. Jean Yip more expensive, about $300 or so.

Wendy,
Think BayB Supplies also have slings. http://www.baybsupplies.net/productlist.asp?idcategory=4 but it's more expensive. Some people like it though cos it is more padded.
I was thinking, even if I feed BB frozen EBM, I would still need to pump after rebonding and those milk must throw ah? Wah... what a waste man.
Heehee, I also latch and surf at the same time!

Celine,
I bought a front snap lace nursing bra from MIM. http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/centresnapbra.html Quite good, but not padded. I think wear with breast pad still ok, provided your top is not very stretchable or lycra.
Trying to look for lightly moulded / padded cup nursing bras as well. Already breasts will become C/D cup when full, if wear thick padded bras, boobs will be accentuated under fitted clothes! Thinking of getting from Maternity Mall, cos can't find any light padded nursing bras here so far.

MH,
The one you got from MIM, it is thickly padded?

my gynae advise not to BD without protection even though you are breast feeding as it does not guarantee you are safe from being pregnant. there is no proof on tat and moreover i did a c sect so he said it is better to wait for 6 mths before planning for the next baby.

Bra for Halter Nursing Top?

Talking about bras... i bought a halter neck nursing top before i gave birth since its on sale but to date i have not found a suitable n convenient bra to wear it with!! is there such a thing as halter nursing bra?? i tried with tube bra but not very convenient also leh... = (

MIM padded nursing bra
i bought that one and it's actually a bit too thickly padded for my liking. Already bust looks bigger and if i wear that bra + bra pads with a fitting top, look a bit oversized at bust area. And i think i shd have bought size 75 instead of 80. Coz the nursing bras from other places i can wear 80, so i bought 80 from MIM but turned out it's bigger than the 80 from other brands. And to think i bought 2 of those MIM nursing bras in the wrong size somemore! Sigh, what to do...

Re: baby choking
yes my baby also chokes while feeding. Very scary n heartpain to see her cough till her whole face turns red n eyes go teary. Not sure why she always chokes. And sometimes after she sucks for a little while, she'll cry and spit out the nipple. Not sure if it's coz the milk flow's too fast for her to handle?

Re: leaking breasts
anyone has leaking breasts? My breasts always leak...super jialat. Somemore sometimes when feeding baby the milk will literally spray out. Creates a huge mess! And baby will reject coz the spray's too fast for her.

Re: MIM sling
i also got that sling & find it pretty useful. But i wonder if it's ok for baby to sleep inside the sling for long periods coz my baby's head seems to be tilted to one side when she's in the sling. Looks uncomfortable to me but she can sleep thru it all...wonder if it's unhealthy for baby's neck to be 'twisted' like that?!

Sunny
My boy only settle down this week and he is into his week6 already so the 1.5-2 hourly feed was from week3-week6.

Queen
Your milk ss very good, me not so lucky and have been working from home, so alittle stress and ss have been dropping.

Wendy
I didn't take any stuff with ginger at all and have been avoiding confinement food due to bb jaundice, mum alittle upset due to that already and kept nagging about clearing the wind in the body etc. bb still have jaundice so should not be due to diet.

bb is definitely getting enough milk as he is bottle-fed with 50% EBM and 50% FM. He is drinking 100ml 10 times aday.

Hi Clare,
I've not seen a halter neck nursing bra before. How about going topless? Buy the pigeon brand breast pads and stick on ur halter neck for leak protection?

Durian,
Many of our babies choke while nursing so i think its no big deal. Initially I also thought my bb coughing or worse, asthmatic. Also, my breasts leak all the time also. When I'm at home I don't wear bra to allow breasts to "air" so reduce chances of getting thrush, so, I have to change t-shirts every now and then if I'm not careful abt the leakage esp when I'm nursing or when breasts are full. Can drip on my pants and t-shirt until shirt and pants wet wet. If don't change shirt, when milk dries, will smell yucky, like bb puke.

re: nose deposit

my boy have been having nose deposit for quite some time and when he breathe, there is some kind of nose stuck kinda of sound. so heart pain but when i try to remove it for him using pump or moist cotton bud, he cries so loud. today finally manage to remove one side after much struggling. not sure if its because of the aircon he sleeps every night. but we do have humidifier as well as open the window.

anyway today gg to bring him to see PD in the evening for his colic. heard frm a frd, there is a medicine that can help to solve the problem. and it works for his baby after 2 times he gave the baby. also will be asking for some nose drop if there is any.

Confirm I'll be buying nursing bras from Maternity Mall. So far, I have 3 other people sharing the shipping cost. If want to join in, let me know soon! I'll be placing the orders by end of the week.

yuen yuen
wah... need to feed 1.5 interval from wk 3 - wk 6... feel tired when think about it... :p

just came back from polyclinic. bb's jaundice level still didn't go down much. but weight increased by 300g!!! so happy...

joanna
you remove the white spot yourself? or LC removed for you? just use the nails? any special technique?

Durianlover,
I wear disposable breast pads 24hrs everyday. If not how? Don't want to keep changing T-shirts leh. Very expensive to wear breast pads everyday actually. I'm getting those washable ones soon.

sunny...i very brave...i removed it myself...like i sd...wait till nipple softer fm hot bath...then use fingernails to pick it out...also use a bit of pimple picking technique...hehe...then once the white spot cmes off...the nxt day wil b fine liao...nt so paibful...then e spot will go off aft that...the LC super duper OUCH!!! hehe

just came back from paed visit, poor Shannon's reflux has escalated, now she also has heartburn... and it seems she may be allergic to cow's milk as well, sigh....

She has been pushing the breast away after 5 min of happily latching on, wailing, and attempting to latch on again, then cycle repeats itself, also need people to carry slanted, throws up milk and cry after being put down in the cot to sleep... my paed says it's heartburn caused by the reflux she has, and gave medication which takes 2 days to take effect... so for now, have to prop her up to sleep and withstand her non stop wailing when the heartburn hits, so heart pain...

Worse is, I cannot feed the thickened milk powder to minimise the heartburn, coz her rash had spread to her tummy, head, arms, and even ears.. so paed suspect she may be allergic to cow's milk, and ask me to go TBF ot give soy milk... chiam ah! Only good piece of news is she has gained a total of 1.3kg from her discharge weight of 2.5kg, so now 3.82kg as at 5 weeks

So mummies, take note if your babies are displaying similar symptoms...

YUen yuen/queen,
OIC for the poo, then not so worried now, thanks.

SSF,
paed will give colic drops, but I got mine coz bb having wind in tummy, and it helps to smoothe her..

thks sleepingdeer, hopefully it works so tat tonight he wont be cranky again.

durianlover - like queen, i am also using avent reusable breast pads. its spfter and more comfy as compared to those bot from mothercare. hate it..so itchy at the sides ..must always trim the edges to make it more comfy.

SSF,sleepingdeer,
think my bb having colic also. i already gave the colic drops but he hates it and will spit out. once he even use the milk we feed him to 'wash' his mouth. he will drink a bit then spit out the milk.

sleepingdeer,
what's the sypmtoms of reflux? wondering whether my boy has it. he has been crying non stop and refusing to sleep though he's so tired.

hi clare,
i know that Perfect Mum sells strapless nursing bra.only drawback is that the hole is abit small. and it's wired, but the wire is not very stiff so still not too bad. i bot it to wear when i was pregnant. u can go and take a look if u are keen.

sleepingdeer
did you try to give bb goat milk powder? my friend's bb who's allergy to cow milk is taking goat milk.

just now i applied lotion at my gal's leg area, when i took off her booties, noticed that her heel and ankle got bruise... so sim tia, must be because of just now the nurse used too much strength when drawing blood for jaundice test...

joanna
wow... you are very brave...
tomorrow i can take shower liao. heeh... so, i will be biting my teeth to remove the white spot... really hope to get rid of it asap...

may
you bb is so cute....
did you swaddle her hands 24 hrs? my gal kept struggling and kept taking her hands out from the wrapping cloth... CL said she's very strong...

Hi Clare,

I wore a halter neck for my baby's one month celebrations. What I did was used one strap & strapped like a halter neck bra & wore it that way. Maybe you can try f your bra straps are removable.

may,
the pic of jamie is so cute!!

sunny
my boy also got bruise at his leg. very long liao. dunno whether is it cos we cut the tag off very late after reaching home.

I let Cephas drink gripe water daily. It helps release the wind in his tummy. I usually let him drink after his baths.

SY
wow... the bruise hasn't gone away after weeks?
my mil said need to hard boil the egg and massage the bruise area. if not, use warm towel also can...

sunny,
My girl is very active too. Arms and legs are always kicking. Especially when she want to sleep and when she is hungry. Tried to cover her with blanket but always end up being kicked away by her.

talk about shaving hair. how many of you are going to shave bb's hair? i plan to shave my gal's hair and do the 'tai mao bi'. anyone doing it?