(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re : baby grunts

think it was SSF or someone who mentioned bout bb grunting... i realise Celeste also grunts and make funni sounds now...at times, it was cos shes trying to pass motion, at times it was purely jus grunting... is it common???
kao_confused.gif

ivory,
can update my bb's name? changed to Jing Heng.

SSF,
i tihnk the warm towel really helps. think all the massaging makes my breasts sore. surprised i haven't see blue black marks. my boy doesn't like to latch so i m hoping to establish supply and flow before i latch him again. or else he really push my breast away...a bit sad when he does that.

your ss really good leh...
how long do u pump each time? my breasts can't tahan half an hour.

sunny,
trying to perserve. seeing some result as milk ss has progressed to beyond 20ml mark.

cookie,
jia you..your turn will come soon...meanwhile must relaly enjoy...

may
did u try to negotiate your bill? i know a fren of mine did that at gleneagles cos their bill aslo came up to 7K + cos of emergency c section. they spoke to a financial person from the hospital and reduced the bill to 5K +

ivory,
congrats and hear from u soon!!

sept03bride,
me like u..suffering from cracked nipples so expressing now. but also supp with FM cos not enough.

Y,
yah i m really happy when i see the milk spraying when i express. my fingers and hands all sore from using strength to clear the milk ducts. me also using the avent isis. if can get better ss, think may get electric. i m drinking a lot of fish soup. at least u manage to get 40ml before. my best is just slightly over 20ml.

Durian Lover,

Cephas makes a lot of stretching noises too. Some updated photos of him. BTW, how abt sharing photos of yourselves instead of just babies' photos. Then, we can tell how much our babies look like us.

363298.jpg

363299.jpg

363300.jpg

durianlover,
congrats!!

god's child,
think it's common. my bb makes sound too when passing motion. so we know when he pass motion..

sysac,
think cephas looks so cute! i haven't manage to get a pic of my boy smiling....

does the nursing tea from MIM help? can we drink during confinement?

also, i din finish my annum 1 milk powder. can still drink or cannot drink already?

NEPIA Diapers
Krissie, u can call them directly at 62262546 / 62262650 or 63241223. Min 4 packs at $14 each. Includes delivery.

MASSAGE
Cookie, u can contact Mdm Rokiah's at 92716091.
Her massage is abt 1+hr per session. Enjoy!

BABY GRUNTING
My baby Ethan also grunts alot....sometimes when he stretches himself, during BF, passing motion. Can be rather loud & quite frightening at times.

Durianlover,
Congrats on ur new arrival! Enjoy motherhood! :p

sysa - cephas sure looks cute, esp the first pic!!! as for mummies' pics, think hav to wait til confinement is over, i think i am looking my worst now... will post a pic of Celeste and myself for her full mth party next week

Hi SY & God's Child,

I shall be patient then. Will wait for pics of you & babies tog when confinement is over. Take during the 1st month celebrations.

Sept 03 Bride,
I was at TMC at that time u are there too. Delivered on 15 Jan. I was at Room 329B. Wat abt u?

RE: Jaundice
I sunbathe my girl in the morning for 15mins with eyes covered with a small towel.PD recommend to put damp cotton pad. PD say 8-9am sun is perfect for baby.

RE: Breastfeeding
I have the same prob as u.Not sure if milk is enough for baby.She is a big drinker. So now I express breast milk out at least can know how much she drink.If not enough then supplement with formula milk.But now I totally use formula milk cos I am worried that the confinement diet (contain wine & ginger) might cause the jaundice to get worse.

any caterers to recommend for bb one month? as is falls during 15 days of CNY, will it be more expensive?

sysac,
me trying to upload my bb's pic now.

re jaundice
bb's jaundice level getting higher. doc say it's normal. is that so?

sysac,
Cephas is more chuuby now....looks sooo cute!

I also din managed to capture any Baby Ethan's smile on camera yet. This is the closest I could get. Haiz!

363333.jpg

how long does the episiotomy wound pain last? mine not like painful painful but it is quite nagging and sometimes feel a bit sharp. esp after passing motion. is that normal?

RE: Baby Grunt
My baby did that also while she was sleeping too.

SSF,
After deduction, I have to pay about 3.2k cash.

SY,
I didn't know that can neg for the bill leh. My hubby pay according what it says. Think it is too late already.

Durianlover,
CONGRATS. Janelle got lovely big eyes.. u have a long labour like mine too. The first thing I am out from the OP was to ask my hubby how is she?

Hi wenyl...is the nepia diapers good? is it plastic like or like pampers cloth kind of quality? After the sale at TMC for pampers diaper...cant seem to find any other cheaper alternatives for diaper...If nepia diapers good...I dun mind ordering 4 packs at one go..hehe

SSF... I also same situation as you...2 weeks ago...when I tried to pull up my pre-preggie pants...I could only manage to pull up to the buttock...couldn't even go up to the waist...I was DEPRESSED...ahha....then last week...the pants can be pulled up to the waist but cannot button up cos of the tummy...waiting for end of this week to see if I can zip it anot...haha...lost 11kg so far...need to lose another 7kg before I go back to pre-preggie wt...
After feeding James on one side...I can pump abt 100ml from the other breast...however I realised...that even after pumping...when baby suckles...there will still be milk cos when baby falls asleep on the breast...there will still be milk trickling down his mouth...hehe...

Ohh...mummies...just an update...Baby James has put on 1 kg at 3 weeks old...yesterday was his full-month and we will be distributing cakes this Wed...hehe...so happy...Altho I have been going out...it was without license...but as of yesterday...I am FREE!!! hehe

durianlover - are you using mendele pump..if so NUK bottles can fit it and you can pump into it and store in the fridge. Tats what i do. or u can pump into the mendele container and transfer to whatever bottles you are using and just store it in fridge, I went and bot 4 more NUK bottles so that i can store my express milk.

RE:glass bottles

must be careful as my hubby accidentally broke one of the glass bottle and also the silver cover will rust so we decided not to use any of the glass bottles we have unless for emergency use.

god child - yes Caleb grunts a lot esp after a feed. PD said its ok..its normal..but still have to burp him.

re: cord infection

brought Caleb to see PD again coz realise his lower stump is quite swollen and red and it stinks! doc gave a cream to apply and ask to monitor for the next few days. if worsen, have to admit to hospital for fear of infection
also the cord has not drop off despite today is his 13 days.

SY - i pump like 20 to 30 mins for both breast.
I use adobe photoshop software to resize the pic.

SSF...we also brought James to a doctor yesterday cos there was some discharge at the back of the cord...also...altho he is 20 days old...his cord has also not dropped off yet...but after the DR cleaned him yesterday...the cord area looks beta today...Dr gave us pure saline solution to clean the area twice a day and asked us to continue to cord spirit thereafter but to discontinue use of the cord powder...cord powder tends to "clog" up the umbilical cord...Sigh...

May - tat was the same bed i was in when i delivered Celeste on 11th..329B... haha... no wonder it rings such a bell when i read ur posting

Wenyl - Ethan looks so handsome!!!
kao_kiss.gif
wats his weight now? rem he was pretty light at birth...

SY - my wound oni got better after 12days... it was ok on and off... and occasionally, like you, after pooing, the last stitch will have a sharp pain and when i dab wf cotton wool, can see a teenie bit of fresh blood meaning a little tear...
but today is better liao...been faithfulling washing wf warm water after each toilet session and dabbing wf sterile wash. started applying antibiotic cream my gynae gave me last Fri when i saw him for post natal check-up.

Re : Post natal check-up - my gynae oni check the stitches.. any gynae does ultrasound scan for post natal visit?

ANYONE HAS DIAPERS TO DONATE??
Any ladies here have diapers to donate. A mummy from the forum needs it. Her baby is still in KKH ICU. U can read abt her case here.....http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/305349.html?1137605027 under username Pris.

Or anyone wants to chip in some money & we can do a bulk order from NEPIA for her baby?? $56 for 4 packs. Pls PM me if keen to help. Many thanks!

Joanne,
Heard Nepia is good. Somewhat like pampers soft & cottony. I m going to order from them soon. Managed to see a NB sample piece in Seiyu bugis yesterday. They only left L sizes on the shelf.

God's child,
Thanks for compliment! Ethan weighs 3+kg liao. Just had his 1st mth last Fri. Yep, he was only 1.78kg when born.

Wenyl - but babies outgrow the NB size pretty fast wor... Celeste is now using Drypers size S. so if i order from Nepia, which size should i get???

Yvonne HB
Can i check how long can the EB be kept in the fridge?
And will BM affect jaundice?Seem like my jovan getting more yellowish on the facial area after drinking BM

Could it be due to the intake of ginger and rice wine?
Caused my wife wanted to BF and feel very wasted to pour away abt 200ml of BM thrice a day

Worried
Yvonne HB

Anyone taking the Neurogain PB fish oil? I am doing a bulk purchase from a friend and she is able to offer $26.50 for a minimum of 5 bottles. I am from the June 06 thread. :

Anyone keen, pls do hurry email me at [email protected]

Happy Chinese New Year!

wendyl
Thanks, i ordered the diapers already, they're sending tom.

SY
I've checked with a few caterers, all more exp due to CNY. I've checked Chilli Padi, Neogarden, Jack's Place, Lagun Sari Rest.

celcel
my gynae did an ultrasound for me to check that the womb is clean. how heavy is your bb? My bb is still using Nepia NB.

Joanne, Wendyl
Nepia is similar to Pampers, clothlike.

Rachel

Yvonne HB
Maybe can reduce the amt of wine & ginger in the food. We can still consume them & bf, but the amount consumed shld be in moderation. I've been taking rice wine & ginger and am still bf.

sy,
once again congrats. think ur ms is still better than mine.. i m already into my 4th weeks but so far the max i can pump is ard 50ml both breasts.. also right side can pump more tho i can see that left side got more milk ducts.. dunno why..

re. breast milk not enough.
i had tried papaya soup (din drink daily but drank for 2 days) but ms still low.. guess sometimes its really no use forcing on urself.. and i also heard that thread fin fish is good for milk supply. what is that in mandarin.. told my mum and mil but they also dun understand..

re. baby coughing.
i also hear Javier has a few coughs sometimes and this worries me. but have not bring him to any PD yet. do u think we need to bring him to see one? just cough sound and no phlem.. my HB and i are not sick tho.

re. baby crying for more milk immed after a 90ml feed.
Javier sometimes can cry for more after a 90ml feed (eith FM or EBM) and do you think its not enough? but purely he just wan to suckle for comfort? sometimes he looks contented after the feed but he will just refuse to sleep and cry and after awhile, he will start his 'open mouth' action (just like hungry birds) again and if we give him another 60ml, is it too much? Javier does not seems to know when is enough cos whenever we give him milk, he will drink.

re. rashes on chin, cheeks, forehead
javier kept having those mini red pimplish rashes look alike on his face. i kne someone mentioned it might be milk rashes but i see all ur bb photos, they all seems to have nice complexion. and javier seems to have the worst. yst some visitors said it might be due to too hot the weather and i din on aircon for him the whole day.. is that the cause? but i do on the fan.. and if on aircon, do u all on whole day?

just had his full mth celeb yst and just when everyone wans to see him open his eyes, he slept almost tho'out the function and when all the relatives and friends came to his room to see him and touch him, he also slept thro out.. dunno if he is been a good boy or not..

Hi Wenyl,

That's a nice pic of Ethan. Looks so cuddly

Hi Durianlover/May/God's child

Your girls have got girls'look
So pretty

wenyl - i have some drypers pampers S and some other brands. i didnt really read the previous thread but what happen to the baby and why are they asking for donation of pampers? can give a quick updates? i would be glad to donate mine.

edd2jan - my boy is also the same. sometimes after a satifying feed, he doesn't sleep and then will get cranky and open his mouth. for me, i think he just want to suckle to sleep. so i bot a pacifier recently and give it to him. and it works. but of coz if he is really hungry, he will spit out the pacifier. haha...

re: finger numbness

anyone still having numbness in their fingers? are they due to water rentention? yesterday i tried putting on my wedding ring but couldnt fit in. so told my hubby i need a new upgrading. haha..and he said OK!
everythg seems to expand even my bottoms. somehow our hips expand like no man business. for the time being, i may need to get some bottoms for the first mth party as well as CNY else i will end up wearing maternity pants. sigh!

re: pampers red and green

wats the difference? i have the red ones given by my frd. but i bot huggies NB as my boy got rashes.

queen/SY
thanks... ya patiently waiting...heehee.,, and trying to relax...

queen >>SO steady let bb suckle and pump at the same time.. u using hand pump or electric pump?
just curious... your bb dun need suckle on both side of breast... just feed 1 side full already?

Kriss
Oh I see...ya pamper and mamy poko very exp hor..

Durian lover
Big Congrat!...thanks for the birth story...
your baby cutie cute!

Wendy
thanks for massage lady info...she provide oil and binder right...
Sorry... can tell me her charges again...

RE :When to call massage lady?
how long before got to call up massage lady?
I think I should delivering anytime or in 1 week time... should I call now to check?

RE :Caps for Hospital bottle
Hi just to share... for those who got the glass bottle and need a cap to screw onto those glass bottle for storing milk.. can get from Chinatown store - that choon store... they selling a cap & sealer 1 set $.80 only according to them can screm on 90% of the glass milk bottle.

My friend at first told me can get medela cap... cost me $5.00/each... after that then I know abt above...felt so lousy to spend so much on 1 cap

SSF
the metal cap that comes with hospital galss bottle not meant to use forlong term... cos they will rust.
So we need to get extra cap for those bottles.
Like I mentioned above... the caps are very cheap to buy from chinatown.
My colleague also recommend when she not enouff cap... she just use those kitchen cling wrap cover over the glass bottle and use rubber band to tighten over it.

may,
i also din know until my fren told me. did u pay the bill immeidately? my bill will be sent to my place so i haven seen it yet.

SSF,
20-30 min for each breast is not at one shot is it? that sounds painful. i pump like 5 min alternate cos only have milk in the first few min. so switch breast before i pump again.

my bb's cord has dropped off on day 5. very fast. my CL only cleans with water everyday.

god's child,
my gynae will only see me in 6 weeks time so i wonder whether my stitches are ok without him checking. he only ask me to use water to wash. no need any sterile wash. hope the pain goes away soon. when can we start to do kegels? heard it helps the wound to heal faster.

krissie,
thanks for the list. my in laws wanted to it on last day of CNY but i think it's quite hard to do on that day. will check out more caterers besides those u mention.

edd2jan,
do u latch or just pump? i only pump and latch like 5 min if he's willing. think the fish u referring to is ngor he....i have been taking that almost everyday. duno how much it helps.

my boy also opens his mouth after feeding. it is his first week and he is taking abt 60 ml already. sometimes i let him suckle and he will go to sleep. he doesn't want pacifier and will spit it out.

SSF
i told hb i need a new wardrobe before going back to work...

think the green pampers is better quality. heard from a fren

Hi Krissie...so the nepia diapers are good I presume? Cos I very scared of those plastiky plastiky diapers...what size did you order? My boy is currently 4.1kg...should I still get NB or should I get S size? pls advise...thanks!

Hi Krissie...I ordered 2 packs of NB and 2 packs of Small for Nepia...then at least can try and see how it is...cos now James poos after every feed and must change...so can easily finish a pack of pampers NB within a week...SIGH...then pampers is so expensive...I bot mine at TMC when they were retailing at $12.50 per pack...shd hv bought more then...sigh!!!

DIAPERS NEEDED
SSF - Baby still in KKH ICU since birth. Due to high hospital bills, the mummy is appealing for diapers donation. Here's the thread asking for appeal.....http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/359412.html?1137515973. You may PM her to pass her ur diapers. She stays Seng Kang. Anyone wants to chip in $ to help, pls PM me. If can collect enough cash, I will order 4 packs from NEPIA to deliver directly to her. Many thanks!

NEPIA
God's Child/Joanna - Nepia NB size for 0-5kg & S size for 4-8kg. The NB size is slightly smaller than Pampers NB. Hope that helps. They do allow exchange during your next order.

MASSAGE
Cookie - Mdm Rokiah charges $300/5 sessions & $400/7 sessions. I engaged her for 6 sessions & paid $350. She uses lemongrass oil & cloth binder is included. You can call her after you deliver.

SY,
ur baby has got nice, jet black hair.

edd2jan,

clariss also has her full month celebration yesterday and she almost slept throughout. I think it's normal because she was being carried around. babies like the comfort when being carried so they sleep very well. she was too hungry and woke up but luckily she didn't scream for milk. my hubby found a place for all the mommies who breastfeed to do so in peace at the Singtel Recreation Club. quite a nice place to hold party. plenty of seats.

re:rashes
my clariss also has rashes on her cheek, forehead, even the ears and is spreading to the neck. I think those are heat rash and not milk rash. milk rash are in patches and will be itchy. I dun think those rashes that clariss has are itchy. my MIL said that it's alright. dun need to see PD. edd2jan, think ur boy is having heat rash. don't layer him too much but have adequate cover.

SSF,
I still have finger numbness in my right hand. it's one month already. don't know how to make it go away.

re:baby grunts,
it's quite normal for baby to grunt a lot. we were a bit surprised during the first few nights and kept waking up to check if Clariss is ok but she is fully asleep. they make a lot of sound when stretching. babies need to stretch to grow so you will be seeing your babies stretching more and more often. my clariss stretch in during her feeds. very strong already, have to hold her properly.

SY,
Your boy has a lot of hair and strangely, he looks a bit like my girl. I guess somehow most babies look quite the same. my girl changed a bit from her initial looks.

Yvonne HB,
please ask Yvonne not to waste the BM. every drop is precious. for me, my MIL still cook with sesame oil and ginger but I don't eat up the ginger though I drink the soup cook with ginger. Jaundice cause by BM is ok, it should be quite mild. my niece has BM jaundice for 2 months, her eyes are yellow but PD never say say stop breastfeeding.

Sy - i mean 20 - 30 mins for both breast. max i can can is 210ml so far. not sure if its because of the longan drink and warm milo i drink everyday. basically must massage lor. perservere ...surely ur MS will increase.

ur baby very cute.hair also quite alot

Thks Wenyl -- do u have her mobile no? i drop her a message in her thread with my mobile no. hopefully she will call me soon. i have quite a lot of diapers from other brands. i will pass all to her and send to her seng kang hm. so poor thing. this is the least i can do.

SSF,
Ur PM not activated. Can u PM me instead? I will email u her no. Not sure if she ok I put up her hp no. here. Thanks!

edd2jan,
My baby also has those rashes/pimples around his side face, neck due to sweat & milk.
Remember to wipe baby's face with warm boiled water after every feed, esp after BF.

wenyl i dun noe how to PM. My mobile no is 96666 334. Can you ask her to call me so that I can have her address and pass her the diapers.

SY,
TMC needs us to pay everything before discharge. So had paid liao. BTW, ur boy kooks like a Jap, must be very handsome when he grow up.

edd2jan,
My girl had that too. I rub some "snake powder" on hand and rub on her arms and legs. After awhile then ok liao. Dun dare to try on face. I use fan during daytime to circulate the air, at night aircon at 26degrees.

Hi SY,

Baby has nice jet black hair. Cephas' hair is light brown and short. That's y he looks bald.
Can only see his hair in person & not in photos. Many pple thot we shaved his head when he turned one month.