(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wendy,

I tried to force bb to suck but he simply refuse..

I am coping well.. today I learn to bath him.. luckly my CL is very good.. but am worried as she is leaving soon...

SY
I massaged and then hand expressed to remove the engorgement. Imptly is to express out the milk regularly, either bb suckle or use the pump.

My boy is having Breastmilk jaundice.
Seems that this condition can last 2-3months. sigh. And he hasn't put on a lot of weight, so PD sugg to tandem pump and feed him with bottle after that.

Prob is, my boy doesn't like the bottle. Tried feeding him with bottle, but he refused to open his mouth. When he finally opened his mouth, he refused to suck. He just open his mouth and let the teats stay on his tongue. When we tried to cup feed him, he takes all the milk in his mouth then spit them out! Ai yoh, now no choice, have to feed him constantly and for 1hr each time.
No need to sleep liao.

Yesterday, while drawing blood (diff from usual jaundice test, have to draw from vein in hand), my boy didn't cry a single bit! So proud of him! I see all the blood collected and the blood on the nurse's gloves, i so xin tong.

Mashy
Why must draw blood from vein ? Is the Jaundice seriously? I know from my paed that for breastmilk jaundice can last up to eight months and since the mother refused to give FM, no choice but keep drawing blood from bb for test.

hi mashy
me too feeling very xin tong when my bb admitted to hospital 'cos of jaundice, they drew blood from her hand. but she's not like your boy lah... she cried furiously. haha.... she discharged for few days already. but still have a bit of yellowish. everyday we need to bring her to sun bath. luckily these few days, there are sun light.

SY
try to use hot towel and massage regularly. after massage, try to pump the milk. while pumping, you can still massage, especially those lumpy area. massage it outwards.

krissie (cleo)
Takes abt 10~15 min to pump 60ml from each breast.
The pump really works wonder.
Those interested should consider getting it.
Most impt, it's cheaper than the Medela pump....

Today Mdm Rokiah, my massage lady helped me massage my clogged ducts. Didn't know I had so many engorged ducts.. was painful but after the massage, it felt great. My breasts finally felt like breasts again.

Last few days had been hot so dont feel anyhting. Today raining and quite chilly, can feel the bones chilling and headache.. seems like I gotta stop bathing liao.. never take advice.. got wind in body and head liao

sysac,
i dun think i will use cold cabbage cos my MS not established. scared it will drop. so far i can only express abt 20ml combined. if bb suckle before that, the output is even lesser.

god's child,
i also do hand express cos the pump doesn't seem to get anything and like what u say, sometimes the milk get wasted and so heart pain...every drop is precious

krissie,
so as long as i remove the milk regularly, milk supply won't drop?

sunny,
do i massage the lumpy area outwards or inwards? the lataction consultant massage towards the nipple...

so i shd apply hot towel and massage even when not time to pump yet?

yvonne
thanks.. will seriously consider it. Think I'll call the distributor on Mon.

Mashy
Is it the diet that causes bf jaundice? Did u ask PD? hope your boy will recover soon. My son rejected FM sometimes too. PD says sign of successful bf. So, yours is successful too.

SY
yup, the more we pump, latch, then brain will ask body to produce more milk. For engorgement, dun pump for >5mins (that's what LC told me). IF not, breasts will produce more milk, then engorgement is worse. anyway, engorgement means milk is coming in. jia you, ok.

SY - i also massage twds the nipple... actuali if engorgement reali gets bad, its no harm tryin the cold cabbage. i tried and it did eased the pain. the consultant did say so long as not used frequently, it wont affect ms. for me, i used it twice on the 4th day when it was reli bad and i felt like giving up... but its all ok aft tat...

Rena - hope things are going well for you. if BF reali does exert more pressure for you, then you might want to stop.your health matters as well... take care...

SY
How? Engorgement ok?
I did use cabbage as last resort .... cos no matter wat I did, brs were rock hard....

My gals ah, yeah, look v different....

Does anyone experience one side little bm and one ok? I have tat problem ....

styloBB

me too... realised my left side always more milk than right... os rather its so much esier to express from tat side...but i think its ok cos my neighbour who is doing total BF also said the same thing...

yvonne
I also bought the Ameda pump plus storage bag.
But I was wondering... next time go back to work, after sterilise the bottles and equipment seems difficult to put them into the storage bag without letting them touch the bag itself but put them in ziploc bag first then think cannot fit into the stroage bag liao...
u think so?

morning mummies...

yesterday i bot the mendele leak soft shells to contain those leaking milk when sleeping and breastfeeding. and this morning when i check the shells..it contains abt 20ml of milk each side. imagine in the past.. every morning when i wake up with wet t-shirts and those milk gone to waste. so every drop counts..must treasure

btw, metro having 20% sales yesterday. so did a fare bit of quick shopping..also bot the munckin cooler bag(UP:$39..now selling at $31) tat comes with an ice pack so that i can pump and store the milk when we go out. a check in kiddy palace..2 packs of ice bag already cost 15 bucks..so might as well get the bag as can store milk bottles as well and it is very nice and can sling on.

oh I just simply cannot wait for my boy to grow up quickly and go shopping together. hee...

re: grunt noises
does any of your baby makes grunt noise like trying to force his poo out when someone is having constipation after every feed? my boy does that and not sure if he wants to force the wind out or wat. anyone also face the same? he is definitely not having constipation coz he is not drinking FM at all.

Ok, attached a pic of my boy smiling in his sleep.
362948.jpg

krissie,
so as long as i pump MS won't drop? my CL say if i just pump, i might just have no ss after some time.

my breasts are quite sore from the pumping and hand expressing. massage also makes it worse. but can't stop now right. anyway to make it better? now what i do is, hot towel, pump, massage and repeat the process until nothing comes out.

god's child,
i massage until my breasts sore liao. dunno whether i do correct or not but at least my breasts doesn't feel so hard

stylobb
i also seem to have more milk on one side....

SSF,
your boy really contented....your MS is good. how did u increase your MS?

my boy has been crying non stop since fri. he's vert fretful and doesn't sleep even though he wants to. any reason for that? he cry until his voice hoarse liao

can check something with u? the episotomy wound not so easy to burst one right? i m having a cough now and sometimes when i cough, can feel some pain down there. and after pooing yesterday, think my wound felt more painful. but no increase in blood or anything so dun think the stiches burst.

SY
Accrdg to the LC, if bb feeds only one one breast, then u must pump the other breast for 5mins to remind the breast that you still want milk. But, other than pumping shld also direct latch on bb to maintain MS. For me, when i latch, there's much more milk than using the pump. Recently my MS seems to have increased. I drink before and after each bf session, plus, i also try to pump 5mins (only) after each feed to stimulate the breasts.

Re crying
Did u try to suppl with some FM or glucose water. My boy was like that earlier, PD says still hungry plus had concentrated urine, so I suppl 30ml of fluid (can be FM, water or glucose water) after each feed. But, now trying TBF. If after feeding he's still crying non-stop at a certain time of the day, then shld be colic. My boy has colic too.

SY
Just read your qn again. Think for diff pple it's diff. some pple pump out can still maintain MS, some need to direct latch (like me). So, I think u continue both first till MS is established?

SY - i simply pump every 2-3 hrs. and i think most impt is to use warm towel over it, massage it, drink warm drink. it does helps and of coz sufficient rest. i also try to BF in the day so maybe somehow my boy helps to reduce those block ducts with his piranhas bite!

yesterday it surprise me too as i managed to pump 200 ml at one go. i did a facial before pumping..so maybe that relaxation helps and also the 5 hrs that i went missing for shopping and facial. haha.. if can, try to have a warm bath, it helps to clean yourself and relax too

but yes, my nipples are also sore with those pumping and latching. just apply nipple shield to condition it.

hi SY
my outward mean towards nipples. sorry for the confusion.
it's hard to breast feed. but hang in there.... i think through persistency, we will be success.
the bonding factor makes me go on and on every day....

hi SSF
wow... you can pump so much at one go. the amount is collected from both side or 1 side? wow... facial... i miss it. you have finished your confinement period?

hi wendy
did you shower using herbal water? can use the lemon grass (xiang mao) and ginger boil in the water and bath. it's really effective in chasing away the wind in the body.

Re: Mdm Rokiah
Hi...seems like a few mum here uses her service and has good comment.
Can I have her contact number ah?

I haven't tried any massage lady yet... think I got to try calling them already and see if they available... hopefully at least of them is available during my time.

Ariel>> where are u?? pop already... jia you jia you....
ANyway I'm still waiting patiently.

Update :
well well.. lotsa mum already pop and here I am still waiting for my royal highness princess to arrive... she sure taking her time.
ANyway went to visit gyane ytd and everything is fine.
Gynae see no reason to induce and does not want to interfere with my pregnancy so we will all wait for bb natural arrival which is really what I wanted.
Gynae did say of course I can deliver B4 CNY... so he dun have to come back but he will leave things naturally which is what I like to hear.

I wonder if it's becos too many pple ask me abt it... this morn DREAMT that I have "show" hahaha I think /been asked for too many times liao...

Yuenyuen

My boy's jaundice is quite high, 18. But PD said it's ok, so long as didn't hit 20. Coz he's already 3 weeks old, no longer physiological jaundice. Now just need to put him to sun daily.
He needed the vein test coz that one can isolate the causes of jaundice. It's more detailed than the heel one.

Krissie
It's not the diet leh. It's coz of some component in the breastmilk.

You can email to [email protected] to order. It's still $14 per pack. Min 4 packs.

krissie - i tried looking in ntuc for nepia or pet pet also cannot get NB size. in the end i bot huggies NB. not bad. its quite good!

sunny - 200ml is from both side. how i wish is from one side. hehee...

cookie - be patient...your lil princess will arrive soon. so for now, better get more rest!

kriss
EDD 29th Jan... CNY Chu Yi ley...

SSF
Thanks... but I seems like cannot rest... seems like things just couldnt finish doing... read from book it's nesting instinct... all mum will always wanna do the last bit... I will try to be rest and relax as much as I could.

Mashy
sorry to hear abt your boy.. dun worry since PD say it;s ok... plus these days cloudy buy Sunny day... good time to sun your boy.

When I read the nurse glove got blood aft draw blood your boy... I also feel so Aiyooo

Kriss
did u try mamy poko NB... heard they are no bad too.. I bought a pack from NTUC incase u can't find other NB diaper

mashy
thanks.. thot the offer no more liao.. Nepia suits my boy, will order more than. Thanks!

SSF
Pet2's smallest is S. Can get from Kiddy Palace.

cookie
oh i see.. ha ha.. better eat all your CNY goodies now, we cant eat them during confinement. Mamy Poko is same price as PP. Am trying to get a cheaper version. Nepia is slightly cheaper and almost as good. We change >8 diapers a day, so cant afford to use MP or PP. hee hee.. coz I'm trying TBF now, so he either poos or pees after aech feed.

God's Child,
My Pae is Ong WH.. I think... Ong something lar.. can't remember the intial behind..his clinic is at Novena Sq

RE:Jaundice
How come my pae different huh.. he tell me 10 must go back and my girl is having 7.

RE: TMC bill
Wa..going broke liao.. didn't expect it to be that high. Cos my Gynae didn't say bb needs c-sect. Thought bill will be around $2-3K at most (Before CPF). Hubby told me that it came up to $7.5K. But for her...nvm... as long as she is safe and healthy

<center><font size="+2">January 2006 Babies!!!</font></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2"><center>S/N</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Age</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>EDD</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Gender</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Weeks Left!!!</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Hospital</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Gynae</center></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>taka</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>8-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>(2.0)</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr Kowa </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>JaS</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>10-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>(1.7)</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrain </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>el2004</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>(1.6)</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>celine77</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>14-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>(1.1)</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>oinkoink</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>16-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>(0.9)</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>pup pup</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>(0.3)</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>sunny</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>(0.3)</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr CW Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Ariel Low</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>21-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>(0.1)</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Rachel Lim</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>25-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>0.4 </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chan </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Sep03Bride</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>26-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>0.6 </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>durainlover</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>0.7 </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Min Hui</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>0.7 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>cookie</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>1.0 </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Celine (celwong)</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>30-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>1.1 </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>tulips</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>30-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>1.1 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Ivory</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>1-Feb-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>1.4 </TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr KW Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>gingerale</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>2-Feb-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>1.6 </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>Cawaii</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>3-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>1.7 </TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>Jappooh</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>5-Feb-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>2.0 </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr John Tee </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>Etelle</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>11-Feb-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>2.9 </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>Muah</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

<center><font size="+2">January 2006 Babies - We are born!!!</font></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2"><center>S/N</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Age</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>EDD</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Birthdate</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Gender</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Age / Days</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Wt @ Birth</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Hosp</center></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Sysa</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD>2-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Cephas</TD><TD>51.0 </TD><TD>2.2 kg</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>klisa</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Rae Chin Yong Yi</font></TD><TD>39.0 </TD><TD>2.95 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD>15-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Aron Chan</TD><TD>38.0 </TD><TD>2.98 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>queen</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD>19-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Issac</TD><TD>34.0 </TD><TD>2.47 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Bao Bao</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>31-Dec-05</TD><TD>20-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>33.0 </TD><TD>3.4 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>wenyl</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD>20-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Ethan</TD><TD>33.0 </TD><TD>1.78 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Clare</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>3-Jan-06</TD><TD>24-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Ashley</TD><TD>29.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>mongs</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>10-Jan-06</TD><TD>25-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Clariss Tan</TD><TD>28.0 </TD><TD>2.85 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>babylon</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Damien</TD><TD>25.0 </TD><TD>2.94 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>edd2jan</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>2-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>25.0 </TD><TD>2.55 kg</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>yuen yuen</TD><TD><center>34</center></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Bryant</TD><TD>25.0 </TD><TD>3.02 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>missyladee</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Russell</TD><TD>24.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Rena</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Elijah</TD><TD>24.0 </TD><TD>3.34 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Shannon</TD><TD>24.0 </TD><TD>2.75 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD><center>31</center></TD><TD>13-Jan-06</TD><TD>30-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Tabitha Kay Shen</font></TD><TD>23.0 </TD><TD>2.4 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>mashy brainz</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>1-Feb-06</TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>21.0 </TD><TD>2.8 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Pochacco</TD><TD><center>23</center></TD><TD>9-Jan-06</TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Reeve Ng</TD><TD>21.0 </TD><TD>3.42 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Joanna</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>James</TD><TD>18.0 </TD><TD>3.3 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>confused</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD>5-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Valerie</TD><TD>17.0 </TD><TD>3.5 kg</TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>krissie</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Gerald</TD><TD>16.0 </TD><TD>3.3 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>styloBB</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girls</font></center></TD><TD>Chara &amp; Julien</TD><TD>16.0 </TD><TD><font size="-1">3.2 kg &amp; 2.6 kg</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Zhimin</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>31-Jan-06</TD><TD>7-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Clarisse Yiow</TD><TD>15.0 </TD><TD>2.85 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Curly</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD>9-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sebastian Kai Jie</font></TD><TD>13.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>god's child</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>19-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Celest</TD><TD>11.0 </TD><TD>2.97 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>MamaChan</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>13-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Daren Chan</TD><TD>11.0 </TD><TD>3.55 kg</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Missy</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>15-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Caleb Lee</TD><TD>11.0 </TD><TD>3.05 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>sunny</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>11.0 </TD><TD>3.12 kg</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>yuki</TD><TD><center>31</center></TD><TD>14-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Megan</TD><TD>11.0 </TD><TD>2.74 kg</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>juliann</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Shermaine</TD><TD>10.0 </TD><TD>3.14 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Y</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>25-Jan-06</TD><TD>13-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Xavier</TD><TD>9.0 </TD><TD>2.7 kg</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Yvonne Lee</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD>13-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Jovan Chia</TD><TD>9.0 </TD><TD>2.99 kg</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>May Wong</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD>15-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>7.0 </TD><TD>3.57 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Wendy Ng</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>21-Jan-06</TD><TD>16-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Ariane Ng</TD><TD>6.0 </TD><TD>2.61 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>sychua</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Li Cheng Jun</TD><TD>5.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

<font color="aa00aa">hi gals...</font>
just an update on my side..

been having spotting and experiencing bad menses cramps at the pubic area since yesterday afternoon.. so tdy called n asked my staff nurse how? she say mayb early labour so asked me go hosp to do CTG scan...

did the scan n cfm got contractions.. cervix was checked twice.. once by the ward nurse, once by the gynae (he happen to be in the hosp for a surgery ;p)... so painful... but not dilated yet...

gynae say might be 12-16 hrs before i go into labour.. so i choose to come home 1st... nurse oso say better go walk walk n shopping then cervix open faster...

so went to do last min shopping and bought KFC (my last meal... hai...)

so now at home bearing the pain n wait lor... both side parents almost yelled at me cos i went for the scan by myself.. hahahah... think they starting to lose their heads liao..

so its either tonite i give birth.. or i have to go see my gynae if i still not in labour by tmr morn..

pain....

updates...caleb is delivered at TMC on 17th Jan @ 2142hrs.

Birth story
-admitted to TMC on 16th Jan for med to be inserted
-waterbag is burst and put on drip on 17th Jan @ 9.30am. Dilation is only 1.5cm
-strong contractions start to come around 12.30noon. Use Entonox as pain relief.Dilation is only 2cm.
-Dilation was still 2cm at 4pm. Decided to use epidural
-Epidural was adminstered at 5.15pm. Instant relief.
-Baby's heartbeat went weak, so have to use the oxygen mask.
-8.45pm, VE was done and baby's head was visible.
Was given instructions to push. Legs felt numb due to Epidural.
-Gynae arrived at 9.25pm and after 5x3 push, Baby Caleb is out at 9.42pm

Re:Jaundice
baby was discharged with slight jaundice. PD Koey said we should sun-bathe baby. Do u mommies cover the baby's eyes b4 sunning the baby? Also, how long should we put baby under the sun?

Re:Breastfeeding
suffering from cracked nipples and cannot have baby to latch on directly. So now expressing the milk out. Need to ask, if baby does not latch on, will it affect the volume of milk flow?
Baby is a heavy drinker, so my amt of milk cannot satisfy his hunger. So we are supplementing with formula milk.

SY,
I'm in the same situation as you. can only express 20ml max from both side. my best achievement is 40ml. so satisfying to see the milk spraying out. then back to square one. 20ml and sometimes only 10+ml. drank papaya and fish bone soup still no improvement, did u try? I bought Avent manual pump but hand cramp from the pumping. Bought an electric pump and ease my load and not as stress.

Ivory
Thanks for the update &amp; good luck for your delivery.
Soon you can see your little one.

Stylobb
Thanks.. hopefully, the offer from Nepia is still on, then can get at $14.

sep03
antenatal class consultant says to cover bb's eyes before we sunbathe them. my bb also has big appetite. We also suppl with little FM, water, glucose water in the beginning, but after MS is established, then no need to suppl. Jia you!

Do you all use any breast feeding pillow? Useful?

My left breast also seem to have more milk. Already before preggy, left breast is bigger than right. Now, when BB only finished on the smaller right breast and the left breast is full, looks quite lopsided, like orange and lime. Haha.

Do you all try nursing and pump at the same time?
Find that I can pump a lot more by doing that! Cos when BB nurse on 1 breast, the other also letdown at the same time. So much easier to catch all the letdowns. Once BB is sucking on the right breast and I pump the left, wah... can pump 70ml from the left breast alone, like in 5 to 10 mins! But quite difficult to balance BB and pump at first. Have to use the football hold and support BB on pillows.

cookie,
a bit more patience. Soon for you I'm sure!

Think you all very concerned about MS.
Should go read the www.kellymom.com website on breatsfeeding. Very enlightening. I'm sure most of us here have no problems with MS even though we think we have!

sunny - i went for my facial when i was only 10 days into confinement period. my hubby and mum gave the nod. haha...even the thereapist was surprised that i came out before 1 mth. gung ho mummy.

may - how much was your bill after deducting medisave?i did c sect in TMC, stayed 3 nights and thebill amount to 2.9K plus after medisave for both my baby and mine. personally i find the bill reasonable. the baby bonus of 3K will be able to cover everythg but of coz have to wait for 18 mths before the total money is recovered.

sept_03- welcome Caleb! same name as my baby boy

btw, i went hm just now to get some old clothes and realised i cannot fit into any of my bottoms already except for those that i bot during maternity

Ivory,

Both parents are worried thats why..may you have a smooth delivery..

RE: Clothes,

I will not be buying new year clothings but will be wearing back my old clothes ..
hm... It seems quite fast for me to slim down.. in just three weeks I am already fitting into my old clothes..

RE: Massage..

can massage firm up the flabby tummy?

dear mummies,

It's been a long stay at Mt Alvernia for me and i've missed up on so many of your postings! i gave birth to baby Janelle Lee on 19 Jan 8:03am. She weighs 3.959kg (ie. 3.6kg) and is 50cm in length.

My birth story...

17 Jan
11:15pm Lying in bed trying to sleep, then suddenly felt a trickle of something from vagina. Thought it might be show but went toilet check saw nothing. Realised it's water slowly slowly coming out. Waterbag leaking! But no contractions no pain so continued to try to sleep till next morning.

18 Jan
8:00am Called gynae told him my situation. He said to check in to hospital immediately.

10:45am Reached Mt A. Changed to hospital attire and checked for dilation. 3cm dilated! Was so happy! Thought dilation would be fast, but well...

11am - 4pm: No pain from contractions at all despite me walking around the hospital, trying to get cervix to open up. Didn't feel any pain...

4:15pm - Put on oxytocin drip to speed up contractions.

4:15pm-10:30pm Contractions came but not painful. Just feel tummy hardening very very hard at short regular intervals, but no pain.

10:30pm Gynae checked cervix and still only 3cm dilated. Says if it still continues this way till next morning 6am then will have to go for C-section coz scared baby gets infection.

11pm - 6:30am 19 Jan: Pain started to come and got a bit more painful. Felt like menses cramps just that more painful, but still bearable. Made me wonder if the pain was enough to cause the cervix to dilate? Coz i thought labour pains would be much more painful. Only used laughing gas to relieve pain. It helped quite a bit for me! Made me high and sleepy! Hee

But couldn't sleep the whole night coz of the pain.

6:30am Nurse checked cervix. Only 4 cm dilated. Super disappointed. And felt very scared coz not really prepared for C-section!
Gynae recommended me to go for C-sect at 7:30am, so had to sign consent form.

6:45am - 7:40am Took me off oxytocin drip, got shaved, inserted urine catheter (super painful!! worse than contractions pain), and wheeled into operating theatre. All happened so fast my poor hubby didn't even have time to say bye to me or to be by my side

7:40am - 8:30am Was in OT sleeping under GA....

8:30am Nurse called me to wake up. Super sleepy n drowsy...kept shaking my head n slapping my face coz i really wanted to see baby but my eyes couldn't open!! Nurse told me not to shake my head so hard..hehee.

8:40am Finally wheeled to my ward! Saw hubby and family. They showed me pictures of Baby Janelle unwashed. She looked TERRIBLE!! Lips and whole face looked swollen and didn't look like daddy or mummy. Almost felt like i had post-natal blues already...

Couldn't see baby immediately as she was under the warmer waiting to be bathed and cleaned.

10:00am Finally got to see her and thank God she looked so different from the photos! Think the swelling went down. Put her beside me on the bed...it was love at first sight

Sorry for super long-winded sharing! I stayed in Mt A from Thurs to Sun (yesterday).

Hardly slept last night. Baby woke up so many times to feed! Each time lasting only about 5-10mins. Hv got serious eye bags already...

363228.jpg

Sorry now in desperate need for advice. Breasts feeling engorged and need to pump. But have nothing to pump my milk into! Where to store milk? In milk bags? Or milk bottle? Store already then put in freezer or fridge? Coz i intend to direct latch on for all feeds for now.

durianlover - you can pump into milk bottle and seal it wf the cap. put it in the fride if you r gona feed Janeele the milk within a few hours... just warm it up b4 feeding...

and last of all - - - CONGRATS!!!

durianlover
did u get any glass bottles from Mt A? Can use them to store the EBM too. Congrats and all the best!